Meyer: We can’t throw Morne away
25 Sep 2012
Heyneke Meyer says dropping Morne Steyn from the Springboks’ squad was not the solution to remedying his struggles.
Steyn has been the central villain in what has been a nightmare Rugby Championship campaign for the Springboks. His ball-in-hand play is widely perceived to be average, while his tactical and goal kicking has lacked its trademark accuracy.
There is a sense that a large portion of the South African rugby fraternity has lost patience with Steyn, the tipping point coming in their most recent Test against the All Blacks in Dunedin, where he missed kicks which were decisive in the final analysis.
Meyer has consistently voiced his view that Steyn’s heavy workload over the last three years has compromised him and reiterated this after the Dunedin defeat once more. He intimated then that he would rest Steyn for the home leg, but said those plans were shelved in light of a ruling that requires Springboks players to compete in the Currie Cup if not in the squad.
‘We need to look at how we manage our players but it was best that he stayed involved,’ Meyer said. ‘There is a lot of criticism [directed] at Morne, but you’re still working with a human being. If you look at when Bryan [Habana] was struggling, as a coach you can’t just throw a guy away and expect him to come back stronger. I’m not the type of coach to just throw a guy away.
‘Obviously if you do stupid things there’s no sympathy [Meyer would later suggest that Dean Greyling wouldn't play Test rugby again because of his cowardly assault Richie McCaw]. But Morne’s general play was good, it was his kicking that was poor and we have to work on that. It is great to have him in the group, especially with Johan Goosen not being 100% fit [bruised heel]. I can already see being back home has helped him.’
Meyer continued to defend his gameplan, which is thought to be too conservative, stressing that his belief in its effectiveness hasn’t diminished. ‘There’s been a lot of talk about the gameplan but I thought we played the All Blacks perfectly,’ he said.
‘We had more scoring chances than them but we finished poorly. We didn’t convert pressure into points. The teams are so close in Test rugby that that is costly. It frustrated me today in training because when we broke the line guys didn’t show an instinct to finish. They almost appeared to stop. We have to finish better. There isn’t a lot to change in the gameplan, we just have to finish better.’
He also suggested that expectations need to be tempered in keeping with his infancy in the role. ‘I’ve checked the stats, Steve Hansen has been with the All Blacks for 100 Tests. Robbie Deans has just surpassed Bob Dwyer’s 65 Tests as coach. The Argentinian coach has been there for four or five years. I’ve been with the team for seven weeks,’ he said.
‘When you take over a new team with new coaching staff and players and take on the top sides in the world there will be a bit of self doubt for everybody. The players know they could have beaten Australia and New Zealand. But I sense the self-belief is growing. That comes with experience and we’re short on that. But we’re home now and the lessons from those defeats must show in our performances.’
By Ryan Vrede, in Pretoria

432 Comments
24 Sep 2012, 18:51 pm
Meyer is such a clown.
24 Sep 2012, 18:51 pm
Same ish, same DRAGONS!
24 Sep 2012, 19:08 pm
So Meyer is still poncing about. No Brussouw, but the Stain remains (and will probably start at Loftus contrary to reports that indicate otherwise). Whatacrockofkak.
Jantjies in – great (but he should get a start at 10 FFS)with Goosen off the bench.
Alas, that will not happen. The Stain will start (and have an average game but kick better in front of his faithful Loftus maatjies) become a hero once more – and thenwebefucked.
Where is Taccy? I need his sound guidance here as I must know what Meyer’s reasoning is…….
24 Sep 2012, 19:18 pm
Nee Heyneke….YOU can’t…..YOU can see past your favoritism. Don’t put it on us please. We can all see which player cost us the game against the All Blacks.
Your time is limited anyway meneer. If you were to be long term Bok coach, you would have had to perform right from the beginning. You dont have 7 years or a 100 tests to get it right. You should know that about coaching a Springbok team.
So doen maar wat jy moet – keep ou Mornetjie in the team. Its the Afrikaner mentality – sacrifice all for loyalty – even yourself. Some might call it a noble attitude, I call it stupid.
So we lost that test because we didn’t score tries ? The 1 from 6 meant nothing ?
You wont last long. Unfortunate because I thought you would be a great Bok coach. I really respected what you got right at the Bulls, but you seem like a rabbit in the light at the Springboks.
And, two new Springboks ? Really ? 13 new Springboks in your 5 months !? You are reactive – not proactive. Not the coach to take us to the world cup unfortunately. I hope 2012 will be your last year as Bok coach.
24 Sep 2012, 19:20 pm
WTF is this *****? Has Heineken got a farking man crush on Stain? His general play was ***** as was his kicking! Drop the dunce! The last comment is flexible and can be used for the coach, Stain, Greyling, Pienaar, Sideshow Bob or all of them preferably!
24 Sep 2012, 19:23 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-3: We can only hope we lose the two home tests as well. That way, Meyer’s exit will be sped up. He is busy doing irrevocable damage – all these youngsters he is bringing into this scenario could come out permanently scathed. The sooner he gets off the bus, the better.
If he showed one little bit of creativity, I would say differently but Meyer’s modus operandi is so transparent and simplistic, it still amazes me that he brought the Bulls back from being the clowns of super rugby to the only South African title holders.
After seeing how he grasps at straws, and the 13 new Springboks he has created over 5 months, I think it was just a fortunate turn of events that he had Victor Matfield, Bakkies Botha, Danie Rossouw, Fourie Du Preez, Bryan Habana, Johan Roets, Gary Botha and a few others all in the absolute prime of their careers mid to late 2000′s. He was just lucky it seems.
24 Sep 2012, 19:27 pm
Pofkop. Just retire. Do us a favor, ou pellie.
24 Sep 2012, 19:27 pm
Do i remember correctly that he said, when he was appointed, that he wants to win every test? Now he’s saying it’s too soon to judge him! Farking backtracking clown!
24 Sep 2012, 19:28 pm
@shark4life-5: Leave him….its like a zit…..if Heyneke loses these next two tests, it will have a ripe white head…..ready to pop.
I just cannot understand the mentality. It was the same with Derick Hougaard. For some reason the Bulls develop some form of sense of indebtedness toward some players for no apparent reason and they will endure with that player no matter what.
When Derick Hougaard exited his brief prime the Bulls fans and coaching staff refused to see it. Instead they continued to serenade him at Loftus. A boy from the Western Cape nogal.
Loyalty before self preservation. The kind of guys that you send into battle first as cannon fodder, and once the enemy has used up all their bullets you trample over their minced bodies to go finish it off. Met ander woorde – die f#kken dom troepe.
24 Sep 2012, 19:29 pm
victor said meyer was tge best coach he ever played under…i am sure the others would say the same
24 Sep 2012, 19:30 pm
@KeurboomPark-7: Fark me…we should be so lucky! This dunce is ruining my enjoyment of Springbok rugby!
24 Sep 2012, 19:30 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-10:
He was drunk on mampoer at the time.
24 Sep 2012, 19:32 pm
‘I’m not the type of coach to just throw a guy away. ‘
What a load of absolute ****. What about Lwazi Mvovo (back with the Sharks), Patrick Lambie (getting bench splinters), Keegan Daniel (back with the Sharks)…..?
Its not you cant just throw a player away…..YOU (Heyneke Meyer) cant just throw your blue eyed, blue jersied teachers pet away…..you should be more specific.
Luister Heyneke….’JY PRAAT K@K !’
24 Sep 2012, 19:32 pm
@shark4life-11:
Are they trying to convert us to “rugby as religion”?
24 Sep 2012, 19:33 pm
@Dusky-9 True. Probably the best approach. In the meantime i’m just gonna have to suck it up watching my beloved Boks getting beaten knowing there is a greater good sometime in the future!
24 Sep 2012, 19:34 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-10: Heyneke Meyer praat meer k@k as Piet Snor.
I simply cannot believe it. I mean we have another Harry Viljoen or Rudolph Straueli on our hands here. I just dont get it. I just think he was lucky at the Bulls. I mean he did end up there during an era when the Bulls would have the worlds two best locks, the worlds best wing and the worlds best scrumhalf. Its getting clear now.
The Bulls won in spite of Heyneke – not because of him.
24 Sep 2012, 19:35 pm
@KeurboomPark-14 Mate, i don’t know WTF they are doing besides driving my blood pressure to dangerous levels!
24 Sep 2012, 19:35 pm
Meyer’s stubbornness to the point of disbelief (or is it maybe stupidity) is ultimately going to be his downfall. There seems to be no flexibility (creativity) in his thinking. Not even a hint of, maybe I should look just a little wider than my current plan.
24 Sep 2012, 19:36 pm
@shark4life-15: Exactly. Meyer is making himself cannon fodder through his blind loyalty to Morne Steyn. I have seen more than one example of this, in more than just rugby amongst the Afrikaner population.
Its endearing to see the selfless show of loyalty, but still stupid in my opinion. ‘Ons vir jou Pretoria….’
So he’ll sacrifice himself and go off and write a book about how unfair it was.
24 Sep 2012, 19:36 pm
also, reading between the lines meyer is keeping steny in the squad but will not play him he wants him to get a decent break from rugby altogether but sending him back to his union means he has to play cc. i dont think we will see steyn play i think it will be goosen. elton is there as 3rd choice in case goosen goes down wereby he will move onto the bench again. otherwise its goosen to play with morne on the bench and only if the goose gets injured will he get onto the park.
24 Sep 2012, 19:37 pm
@Albert-18: Reminds me of Nick Mallet near the end of his time. Unbelievable stubbornness and a refusal to listen to any advice. Cost him in the end as it will Meyer.
24 Sep 2012, 19:37 pm
well there you have it mense
morne to sart against oz and nz
done and done
sensible if you ask me
24 Sep 2012, 19:38 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-22: I am pleased with that too.
24 Sep 2012, 19:38 pm
@Dusky-6: Must be honest…..I realised the minute he announced his assistant coaches (bar de Villiers the scrum coach), that we were in serious sh yte.
Then came his arrogant statements, followed by some utterlyfuckingbizarre selections in his 1st squad.
Add to that MORE arrogant and bizarre statements, blatant lies, and terrible mismanagement of extremely talented players and the writing was on the wall – in blue.
And this was before a ball had been kicked in anger
The 40 minutes of ‘awesome’ rugby against England (looks to the heavens), would mean zero in the grander scheme of things, as predicted a false dawn.
And from there: A backline suffering from such serious neglect that social welfare should be informed/ More player mismanagement and downright cruelty towards some/MORE bizarre and fuckedupstatements…..plus another bizarre squad with a few criminal selections.
I am really struggling (and have been since the man was appointed) to find ANY long term positives.
24 Sep 2012, 19:39 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-22: The more game time Morne Steyn gets, the better for Springbok rugby in the medium to long term.
24 Sep 2012, 19:39 pm
and at the same time a good mind game for morne om sy kop reg te kry.
24 Sep 2012, 19:40 pm
HM needs to take a boskak and in the process releeve himself of his Covenant with Morne.
24 Sep 2012, 19:41 pm
No time for sentiment HM.
A coach cannot be emotionally attached to his players. Just won’t work.
Meyer created the monster. So he feels responsible for Morne’s demise.
I say shoot the horse ’cause the pain and suffering will eventually kill him.
@Dusky-23:
when you hit rock science bottom, the only way is up
and i think morne will go up
insurance is having goosen on the bench or lambie for that matter.
@Dusky-19 I’m happy to chip in for his UIF contributions in the meantime as long as i have a guarantee that he’ll be unemployed in the near future
24 Sep 2012, 19:42 pm
Morne steyn is kak, even if he is making his kicks. The man cant do anything else…he is so one dimentional…what would be there point keeping him when, we got gitano like goosen and jantjies, seriously HM.
24 Sep 2012, 19:43 pm
Here we go again.
It really is a circus.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-24: Yep…he was lucky at the Bulls without a doubt. I think my dead ouma could have coached the Bulls to a Super rugby trophy with the players they had. How I didn’t see that as a possibility in my blind support for Meyer, I dont know. But by his actions now it is clear.
He is no Bok coach unfortunately and certainly not the guy to take us to a world cup. 13 new Springboks in 5 months while leaving some established Springboks playing Currie Cup.
Unbelievable. Simply unbelievable. My dad always used to say ‘Kyk noord en f*k voord….’
warming to the subject; I think Meyer will eventually require a rethink in terms of his support staff. Much like White did with Jones(at the last minute) HM should take a leaf and bring in some creative specialists to inform the backline. Right now they might a well not pitch for the game.
Guys like goosen and jantjies***
@Dusky-16:
no, heyneke meyer built that machine, from scratch.
most of those players were his juniour picks and always last word on selections.
24 Sep 2012, 19:44 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-29: Morne hasn’t hit rock bottom yet. Meyer however is going to take the gamble that he has, which suits my agenda.
24 Sep 2012, 19:46 pm
@Dusky-37 Morne has hit rock bottom……and started digging!
24 Sep 2012, 19:46 pm
@Jeraldjay-28: I’m sitting in this man’s corner with the sponge soaked in Glen Morangie 18 year old.
24 Sep 2012, 19:47 pm
@Dusky-33:
where do you think those players came from?
they did not grow on the trees.
24 Sep 2012, 19:47 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-36: Nah….I think if one wrote a book about the the Bulls resurgence of the late 2000′s it would be called ‘A fortunate series of events’
The doff – selfless loyalty approach is not going to make a great Bok coach.
Personally, it seems to me he was lucky….winning the lottery level lucky.
24 Sep 2012, 19:48 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-40: Of course not…and he might have brought them in, but by poor coincidence. See post 41.
24 Sep 2012, 19:49 pm
@shark4life-38: I dont think so. I think Morne’s time to fall apart completely is still coming which is quite scary – for Heyneke at least.
24 Sep 2012, 19:49 pm
@Dusky-42: Make that ‘pure coincidence’…..but ‘poor coincidence’ works too.
24 Sep 2012, 19:50 pm
If HM picks Morne for the Aus Test then it reveals the stubborness of the man. I hope that doesn’t happen because he seems a decent person who deserves respect. But hell man, if that stubborness prevails then he should be shown no mercy. Its not his asset to play games with.
The Test at Loftus is in the bag, regardless of whom HM picks
There will be a short lived euphoria till the ABs Test
Morne Styen thus is destined as the winning Fly Half on Saturday, everything will be forgotten, forgiven
Simple
@Dusky-43 ha-ha, agreed! kind of what i was referring to when i said he was starting to dig i.e. deeper!
@Dusky-37:
oh
and here i was thinking you had the player and the teams best interests at heart…
24 Sep 2012, 19:51 pm
@TASSIES-34: Meyer has all his Pretoria gat gabbas with him. His ‘klippies en coke om die potjiekos pot’ buddies. And he is sticking with them.
24 Sep 2012, 19:51 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-48: I absolutely do. This is the only way.
24 Sep 2012, 19:53 pm
@TASSIES-39:

Nou smaak ek somma vir ‘n nogge dop.
24 Sep 2012, 19:54 pm
@Dusky-41:
see, this is the kind of thinking that will get you to a final time and again and no further.
seriously
of course there was a plan
and before there was a plan
there was a man
Morne is/was a great kicker. Currently out of form definitely but one can regain one’s form. But(and this is a looming large but…) he is not a great pivot/flyhalf. Never has been. He sits too deep in the pocket to do the overall job to full effect. He’s a kicking flyhalf for sure but his inclusion makes the Bok backline one-dimensional. And that doesn’t work at this level. We’ve seen that all to recently.
@TASSIES-45: He does ? Seem a decent person ? Maybe….but have you seen him shouting liking someone possessed into the handset in the coaching box ?
This is the impression I get about Heyneke. I think he has favourites that he coo’s over. I think he stands like ‘blue daddy’ next to Morne at kicking practise, encouraging him to the point of begging kick after kick.
I think after the game, he k@ks out guys like Mvovo, Daniel etc. and sends them home after one or two average (not even poor) performances.
So – nice person ? Depends how you define that.
24 Sep 2012, 19:55 pm
i still think morne will sit on the bench keeping it warm for 80 minutes.
24 Sep 2012, 19:56 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-55: i think he’s too out of form to even warm the bench properly
24 Sep 2012, 19:57 pm
Protectionisme. An apartheid habit. Wakker skrik, HM. Elton raak wys.
24 Sep 2012, 19:58 pm
@KeurboomPark-57: Elton is in great form! This guy deserves a proper chance!
@Dusky-49: If you are right boet, and I sincerely hope you aren’t, then we are in for a stressful period. Hope you have your meds ready just in case.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-52: Listen, bringing up 2007 is a classic, ou blou ‘exit from an uncomfortable argument’ strategy. Isn’t going to work here.
I hear what you are saying. My opinion is that Heyneke was lucky. He had his failures before he went to the Bulls and by an incredible coincidence managed to pull a group of young world class players together at the Bulls.
Now he just looks like he is grabbing straws. Clueless if you ask me. I would even have Nick Mallet back…and that is saying something from me.
24 Sep 2012, 19:59 pm
@Dusky-41: Meyer exposed himself when he went up north to the UK. They too bought into the ‘BRAND’ that is Heyneke Meyer……(Derick Hougaard was dragged north by default clinging onto the Messiah’s croc straps). That on it’s own told me all I needed to know about this so-called “Rugby Man”. His entire brand is built and WILL always be built on a specific type of 1o, hence the NEED to have his Liefling follow him north. No kicking 10 = no Meyer.
Meyer really doesn’t have anything else to offer.
I feel so fuckingsorry for Morne Steyn, I honestly do. He doesn’t deserve any of this sh y te. Meyer however, deserves plenty.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-48: Bakkies, I think those who DO have the team’s (and individual player’s) best interests at heart, are those who are questioning just whatthefuckitis Meyer is doing.
24 Sep 2012, 19:59 pm
@TASSIES-59: Ag nee wat. Doesn’t stress me out that much. I know this has to happen for the greater good.
24 Sep 2012, 20:00 pm
just becauae elton is a cc legend doesnt count for much in my book.
superrugby he is nowhere so far.
24 Sep 2012, 20:00 pm
@Dusky-50:
is this one of those ‘i promise you, you wont feel a thing’ moments..?..
because if it is, i can only say:
Why can’t you see
What you’re doing to me
When you don’t believe a word I say?
We can’t go on together
With suspicious minds
And we can’t build our dreams
On suspicious minds
24 Sep 2012, 20:01 pm
@Dusky-54: well we don’t actually know mate. Sure one can speculate but then it’s well….speculation. Not fact. But who am I to argue because I know just a little about the man. That mike = pure emotion/passion. That’s what I see.
24 Sep 2012, 20:03 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-63: Neither was Morne Steyn.
24 Sep 2012, 20:04 pm
@Dusky-66:
true but he is a super rugby legend
24 Sep 2012, 20:05 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-61:
by all means, question away.
this is not new territiory for meyer
been there bought the t-shirt
24 Sep 2012, 20:05 pm
@Dusky-54: No, he doesn’t seem to be a nice person. The manner in which he has hung certain players out to dry in press conferences and post match ‘chats’ is deplorable.
So far he has lied to/fuckedup/and mistreated the following: de Jongh, Lambie, Daniel, Mvovo, Bekker, Hougaard, F Steyn and JDV, Habana, Brussow, Jantjies, Kolisi, Aplon, JJ Engelbrecht etc etc etc etc etc…….
Most notably though (in my case for saying he doesn’t seem to be a ‘nice’ person), is the fact that to this point, not ONCE has he admitted to making mistakes re: gameplan and selection. According to him, it has all been: inexperience/player injuries/a team that doesn’t travel well/execution/the centres and him being a new coach…….
Totaltotaltotalbullshitfromaprizebullshitter.
24 Sep 2012, 20:06 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-67: No he is not. Only in Heyneke and your minds. Thats the problem.
24 Sep 2012, 20:06 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-61: notwithstanding your anti-sharks bias
your posts are pretty spot on! but maybe that’s just because we agree meyer is a fuckindoos!
24 Sep 2012, 20:07 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-68: This time round Bakkies, there is ONE huge difference. We don’t have 5 years for Meyer to get it right……
24 Sep 2012, 20:09 pm
@Dusky-60: I don’t think it’s as simple as that. You can have an incredibly talented bunch of players and screw them up with poor coaching methods. Meyer didn’t. This is not to say that he doesn’t have the same situation here with the Boks. He just lacks the FdP to execute his specific game plan. He was a one off I think. No, Meyer needs to learn to coach a rugby team and not a one trick pony game plan, is what I believe. He’s missing the pony and failing. Pony’s gone.
24 Sep 2012, 20:09 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-72: Zibi moet in ‘n noordelike rigting vertrek…
24 Sep 2012, 20:10 pm
@Dusky-60:
“and by an incredible coincidence managed to pull a group of young world class players together “…hehehe you are a funny one…
and when the magic trick is repeated what then?
will you crow in awe at the mesmerising sleight of magical hands manoeuvre ..?..
no
dont answer it
its rhoterical
24 Sep 2012, 20:10 pm
There are too many NikNaks in the potjie.
24 Sep 2012, 20:12 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-75: if he manages to get things right i’ll happily admit i was wrong. i’m happy to make this statement because i don’t believe he’ll get it right though!
24 Sep 2012, 20:13 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-69: well I’d say that was a bit harsh. Its not what I’ve seen but no matter. If Meyer appears to have a major fault(as you correctly point out) he simply refuses to take responsibility or admit a cockeyed gameplan that simply doesn’t work. We have proof. On this score I agree with you entirely. He’s a coach. He has to be hard-arsed or he wont succeed.
24 Sep 2012, 20:15 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-69: I am all for giving the guy a shot. When he selected Zane Kirchner as his starting 15 I was a little surprised to be honest but when Zane played really well against England in the first test and Lambie had quite an average game in the second I thought perhaps he does see thing we dont.
I was prepared to give him the benefit of the doubt for leaving out Juan de Jongh and favoring the deplorably poor Wynand Olivier and I was even ok to stand by and watch how he selected ‘the pick of the weekend’ from the Currie Cup week in and week out, indiscriminately creating Springboks left, right and centre in some random approach that he doesn’t bother justifying. ‘F*k hulle…ek is die coach’
What I cannot abide is the obviously poor form Steyn is in and Meyer’s shameless turning the blind eye and clear favoritism which was definitely the reason we lost a test against the All Blacks that we should have won. All the rest I can eat up.
Heyneke must lie awake at night imagining what a victory in Dunedin could have done for him….and despite that he remains loyal to the player that lost that game for him. Some call it noble….I still call it stupid.
24 Sep 2012, 20:15 pm
@Dusky-70:
you are joking right?
Most drop-goals in a Super Rugby season (11).
Most drop goals in a Super Rugby game (4) (in the 2009 Super 14 semi-final against the Crusaders).
Most drop goals in Super Rugby (22).
Most drop goals in a Super Rugby season (11 in 2009).
Most penalties in a Super Rugby season (51 in 2010).
Most points in a Super Rugby season (263) – Beating Dan Carter’s record of 221 set in 2006.
Most points by a Bulls player in Super Rugby history (1,201).
Most points by a South African and first South African to reach 1,000 points in Super Rugby (1,201).
Biggest points margin in a super 14 final (61–17).
Biggest win in a Super Rugby match vs the Reds (92-3).
Biggest points margin in a super 14 final (61–17).
Biggest win in a Super Rugby match vs the Reds (92-3).
The only franchise from South Africa to have won the Super Rugby trophy – and on three occasions
24 Sep 2012, 20:16 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-75: If the magic trick is repeated (extremely unlikely from current affairs) I will gladly humbly recant my words.
It isn’t going to happen. Meyer & the Bulls were lucky. End of story.
@shark4life-77: ditto to that. He needs to change that plan.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-72:
absolutely right.
this time next year is life and death.
24 Sep 2012, 20:17 pm
@Dusky-79: Mate, you’re much more patient than i am! I lost faith the minute i saw Sideshow Bob and Timotei run out in the Bok jersey! But that’s me…i like instant gratification
24 Sep 2012, 20:18 pm
@shark4life-77:
good
because he will
@TASSIES-73: The pony will be back soon. I believe Spies’s finger is all but healed……**maythegodsofrugbyhelpus**
@shark4life-71: Notwithstanding your anti-WP bias – ditto.
@trupisero-74: No such luck for us. Even if Meyer is dismal, SARU won’t be able to afford to get rid of him. So all that is left is for us to hope he has a Damascus moment
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-80: All those stats suggest is that he could kick…
As in past tense…
Time for the glue factory…
24 Sep 2012, 20:19 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-80: Bakkies, you left out 16 wins from 31 games as Bok flyhalf?
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-80: Morne Steyn is no legend. Sorry. Bakkies, Victor, Fourie….those are all legends I will give you that.
Morne Steyn ? Had his purple patch, won some very important games for both the Boks and the Bulls. Legend ? Only in Pretoria and Heyneke Meyers head.
Average runner of the ball, very average to borderline poor defender and now poor kicker of the ball. Right now….Meyer Bosman would be a better bet at 10 for the Boks. He is just as average in normal play, but at least he is converting his kicks.
@Dusky-81:
good
i will be here to remind you of your words
24 Sep 2012, 20:20 pm
@TASSIES-82: Tassies, yip that would be a great start! One or two personnel changes might elevate my faith to slightly hopeful
24 Sep 2012, 20:21 pm
If Goosen injury prevents him from playing on Saturday then Jantjies is next in line.
But if Morne starts and we lose ………
24 Sep 2012, 20:21 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-80: what’s missing Bakkies? Spot it yet? No Test records. Super Rugby is not Test rugby. He might have the wood over Carter and Co at Super Rugby level but here we are talking Meyer and Test rugby. He’s an abject failure in the Meyer/Test context. And most of the rest of us couldn’t give a ******’s scrotum on the Bull’s performance history. We’re South Africans. Not Tswaneans.
24 Sep 2012, 20:22 pm
@trupisero-87:
he’s hardly past it.
@shark4life-88:
no, this is discussion on his super rugby career.
as compared to elton’s non existent one.
24 Sep 2012, 20:22 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-86: ha-ha, where have you ever seen me show anti-WP bias? Or was it inferred merely because i’m a sharks supporter?
24 Sep 2012, 20:23 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-86: Ooops, 2nd answer meant for @Dusky.
24 Sep 2012, 20:23 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-90: I wont be holding my breath. Although I might as well, Meyer wont be around for too much longer. I reckon he’ll be gone after the Boks get massacred in the end of year games.
Do we have a year end tour this year ? With clueless bang gat Morne at 10, we are going to see our gatte so badly on those wet fields. Could be embarrassing. I just hope we aren’t playing Scotland. I mourned for a week when we lost against them convincingly in 2002 at the hands of Rudolph Straueli.
24 Sep 2012, 20:24 pm
@TASSIES-93: Houston just wants to prove Stain is a SR legend…..he’s not fussed if he’s a test bellend
24 Sep 2012, 20:24 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-94: Bakkies, okay, in the context of his SR rugby career point taken! But test level not so great?
24 Sep 2012, 20:25 pm
i really dont understand why you people need to pull others down in order to lift yourselves or your favourites up.
if they are good enough they will come through.
@shark4life-95: Sorry, that was aimed at Dusky, I clicked the wrong answer link
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-96: apology accepted
24 Sep 2012, 20:26 pm
eveyone seems to know whats best for sa rugby but cannot do it at home wit htheir provinces.
the last guy who seemed to know was mallet and even he couldnt win a wc
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-94: Damn you autocorrect!
I’m sure you meant he’s hardly passed it
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-100: No they wont. Not with Heyneke Meyer there. Goosen is quite obviously a huge improvement on Steyn. Every time he has come on he has made a difference immediately.
So, with a reasonable coach that hasn’t been blue washed it would be so – but not with Heyneke Meyer. He just cant help himself – like a moth to a flame unfortunately. Wont be around for much longer.
24 Sep 2012, 20:27 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-101: ha-ha, was quite offended initially
no harm done though!
24 Sep 2012, 20:28 pm
@shark4life-91: don’t make he reach for the bottle mate. Far to depressing to contemplate. The return of Spies and the presistence with Morne will drive me to soccer, heaven forbid. Next in comes Wynand O. What a spectacle to look forward to.
24 Sep 2012, 20:29 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-100: No Bakkies, it is BECAUSE a fellow like Morne Steyn HAS been such a good servant to the Boks, it is really distressing seeing the oke struggling like this, and having to take literally ALL the flak for the Boks woes. It isn’t RIGHT.
And the only one to blame for this state of affairs is Meyer……
It’s not Morne’s fault he has to endure this wave of protest and hatred, and he doesn’t deserve it.
24 Sep 2012, 20:31 pm
@TASSIES-93:
this IS about the springboks, sir
@shark4life-99:
thank you, but i think he will come good.
@Dusky-97:
dont fool yourself, meyer has a four year contract, which he will see out.
and for that i blame the bleeding heart lilly liberal soutie and transformational/poc lobby groups.
its goose and gander stuff, what was good for white and de villiers is good for meyer too.
four more years it is.
we reward mediocrity too easily in this country.
24 Sep 2012, 20:32 pm
@TASSIES-107: ha-ha! i don’t mind a dop mate but i prefer to reach for the bottle out of choice
if he selects Britney and Timotei as well as Stain and Sideshow Bob i’m gonna start supporting Dangerous ******* or Amazulu! Not even the decent soccer…just the local drivel!
24 Sep 2012, 20:32 pm
Why is everyone being so melodramatic?? Can a player not be dropped due to lack of form?? That doesn’t equate to throwing them away, jeez, you aren’t “flyhalf for life” or something like that. You go back to provincial level and work on your game, and then if you are good enough and you can displace the current player then you deserve to be there,
Jislaaik all this throw away talk gets my blood boiling. The faqct is that Morne doesn’t deserve his place at the moment and others (depending on your choice) deserve a chance. The honor of representing your country should go to the best player in his position. Simple. Morne isn’t that and unlike Brian, who even when out of form never cost his team the match, like Morne has. Simple.
You’d think we were sending the guy to the gallows or something.
Stop being such a petulant child Heynecke. This isn’t a tenure system where people are guaranteed jobs. What sort of message are you sending???
Mediocrity rules??/
Seriously.
24 Sep 2012, 20:34 pm
@stormersboy-111: Forced mediocrity.
@trupisero-104:
haha
morne’s criticised for a lot of things, i dont think passing the ball is one.
@Dusky-105:
categorically incorrect and dont fool your hopes up with such thoughts.
heyneke meyer will coach the boks until the wc.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-109: fair enough Bakkies. I guess time will be the ultimate judge…let’s wait and see. In the meantime we’ll all voice our opinions and agree to disagree
24 Sep 2012, 20:35 pm
Seriously; I expect the Wizzards to get mashed at Loftus on saturday but only at forward. We’ll splill plenty of scoring opportunities and probably win by a small margin. Unless….there are major changes in the backline personnel and permission granted for the guys to give it a go once they cross their own 10m line. Not kick every goddamed ball down the opposition’s collective throats. The Oz forwards wont like Roftus. They rarely do. Damned hard turf.
24 Sep 2012, 20:36 pm
@stormersboy-111:
finally…some sensible non emo posting…
thank you
24 Sep 2012, 20:36 pm
@stormersboy-111: And even when Habs was kak he was better than just about anyone else….nobody was exactly knocking the door down.
24 Sep 2012, 20:37 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-108:
well it certainly doesn’t seem that way.
#justsayin
24 Sep 2012, 20:38 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-116: And that from a stormer…..
He “threw away” Keegan Daniel after just 1 game.
@TASSIES-115: Agreed Tassies. Unfortunately the victory will be more due to the weakness of the current convict squad and their key missing players and will mask the inadequacies of the Bok gameplan and certain personnel.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-101: Dude, my anti ‘whatever union’ bias is usually reserved for Currie Cup and Super rugby and then mostly it is just for fun.
When it comes to the Boks I think I can be quite objective. I have no problem admitting that any union including the Bulls have their stars. Morne Steyn is not one of them.
24 Sep 2012, 20:40 pm
@shark4life-114:
agreed.
and for all our sakes i hope he comes good.
i really dont want to see those filthy kiwis stay on top of a ranking we deserve.
24 Sep 2012, 20:40 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-120: apparently you can do that if the player isn’t from the bulls! #doublestandardsmuch?
24 Sep 2012, 20:41 pm
@trupisero-119:

lmao
24 Sep 2012, 20:41 pm
@willievz-112: Ja sometimes I just dunno.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-116: He he not that sensible now that I read it but I think I made my point.
@trupisero-117: And that saved his bacon, if he had been dropped no one would have complained. It would have been well deserved. The fact is, he played his way back to form not on the international stage but on the Super Rugby stage. Where, had the wind blown in a different direction, he may have been dropped too. Lucky for him he wasn’t
24 Sep 2012, 20:42 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-123: ha-ha, re the kiwis we definitely agree! i will happily take the top ranking irrespective of who’s in the team! #bokbefok!
24 Sep 2012, 20:42 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-113: Don’t fool yourself buddy. You think other coaches weren’t on termed contracts ? Meyer will be gone come this time next year.
And winning the next two tests at home is going to prove nothing. With 3 of the Super 15 top 6 to choose players from, Meyer has no excuses – the Boks should have done better instead we have performed miserably with the insisted, hard headed inclusion of a way below average flyhalf.
24 Sep 2012, 20:43 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-125: Ja. Sies.
Skaam vir jou.
24 Sep 2012, 20:44 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-116: second that. I too abhore denigrating players. Yes its a free world but it doesn’t make it right. Morne should be dropped. Not sent to the slammer like some would have.
24 Sep 2012, 20:46 pm
@TASSIES-130: If Morne was a true sportsman he would denigrate himself I am sure. I would like to ask him (I will even allow him to reply in his squeaky voice) whether he would select himself if he was the Bok coach. He looks like a reasonable chap so I get the feeling he would answer correctly.
24 Sep 2012, 20:46 pm
@shark4life-121: sad but true. Deja Vu.
24 Sep 2012, 20:48 pm
@Dusky-131: I’m sure he’s not enjoying his time at the office just now. And yes I don’t believe he’s a fool either.
24 Sep 2012, 20:50 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-116: That gives exactly the same message. Are you desperately looking for allies here ? I doubt you will find too many. There are not many around that are so blinded by blue that they cant see how patently k@k Morne Steyn is at the moment. It couldn’t be clearer. The only place they still think he deserves to be a Bok is in Pretoria.
Even in his home town, Cape Town they are calling for his head.
24 Sep 2012, 20:50 pm
now if only you people has allowed the bulls to fire jake white in 2006
you wouldnt be crying in your rooibos today
so in short, who’s really to blame for this kak..?..
24 Sep 2012, 20:53 pm
@TASSIES-133: Then there is nothing wrong with a little break. I wonder if Morne himself wouldn’t actually appreciate that. Why can’t he go play Currie Cup ? I dont get it – Mornetjie is too special for some reason but other players can be returned to their unions to play Currie Cup without a second thought ?
Goodness knows – the Bulls could do with him because even as k@k as he is, he is still better than any other player in the Bulls backline at the moment.
24 Sep 2012, 20:53 pm
and that times me out vrouens. Got a good book lurking. Great company you guys. Enjoyed. Have you noticed the usual scum left us in peace for once. What a pleasure. Cheers.
24 Sep 2012, 20:54 pm
goosen must be selected – morne can play off the bench but it’s well overdue for goosen
24 Sep 2012, 20:55 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-135: The Bulls can only fire their own staff. I know when you think of the Bulls you imagine some demi-god like deity interbred with a super hero but in all honesty they are really not all that. At the moment they are definitely not all that – not even close.
24 Sep 2012, 20:55 pm
@shark4life-127:
agreed
@Dusky-128:
will never ever happen, dont be ridiculous.
the english speaking soutie got his four years
the transformation candidate got his four years
and all the while there were serious reservations about their handling of the boks.
believe me, its written in stone
from gods lips to my ears
heyneke meyer will get his four years
24 Sep 2012, 20:56 pm
@cab-138: hullo and goodnight Cab. Chat another time. Ciao.
24 Sep 2012, 20:56 pm
@cab-138: Morne can play off the bench, you’re right. For the Currie Cup Bulls. That’s about where he belongs at the moment.
24 Sep 2012, 20:57 pm
@Dusky-136: HM is scared that if Morne goes back to CC and looks ubercrap there as well then he’ll have no chance of keeping him in the Bok picture. Much lower risk approach by HM to just keep him in the Bok squad.
24 Sep 2012, 20:57 pm
@TASSIES-137: Cheers Tassies. Nice chatting.
24 Sep 2012, 20:58 pm
What value would Morne Steyn offer from the bench?
None.
24 Sep 2012, 20:58 pm
@stormersboy-129:
@TASSIES-130:
we dont need to lower other just to lift ourselves, i always say.
unless you’re a kiwi
24 Sep 2012, 20:59 pm
Night Tasmeneer
24 Sep 2012, 21:00 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-146: the convicts are pretty good at that as well!
24 Sep 2012, 21:00 pm
@shark4life-143: I think you’re exactly right. I think there are Currie Cup flyhalves that could show Morne up at the moment. I mean he spiraled downward in ever decreasing circles until he disappeared up his own poephol in the closing stages of the Super rugby season. Fred Michalak showed him up for the sloth that he has become.
24 Sep 2012, 21:01 pm
@TASSIES-137:
enjoy your book and cheers
poppa is always lurking, i can feel it
24 Sep 2012, 21:03 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-146: Who is lifting themselves ? Are you a mental case ? Do you honestly think that Free Staters have ‘lifted themselves’ if Goosen gets selected ahead of Steyn ? Is jy van jou kop af ? Het jou ma die Cortina se deur op jou kop toe gemaak ?
You guys have suiped too much brandewyn…..way too much.
24 Sep 2012, 21:03 pm
@Dusky-149: jokes aside, morne’s confidence is so low right now i don’t believe he even has the form to warm the bench. will probably try and sit on it and miss
i think he probably would be shown up at CC level against the better flyhalfs with his confidence being where it is right now!
24 Sep 2012, 21:04 pm
@Dusky-139:

that sounds like a scene from a hindu music video.
no, i’m referring to the 2006 episode when the bulls led a motion to recall white from england. if that had come off then it would have been a lot easier to ifre meyer in the present circumstance.
@shark4life-152: Think about it the Currie Cup flyhalves……you can’t choose one that Morne is an improvement on at the moment……Not one….
Thats me too. Got some hunting to do on the Ipad
24 Sep 2012, 21:05 pm
@Dusky-151:

lmga (lag my gat af)
24 Sep 2012, 21:06 pm
well the sa rugby public are certainly baying for mornes blood.
poor guy.
but heres the thing:
yes, goose should get his start against aus.
but what if he folds under pressure?
throw elton into the fray in a pressure situation like that?
no, not a good idea imo.
rather have goosen start and morne on the bench in case goose folds or is injured.
elton has obviously been drawn in in case goose is unable to play and in that case i guess morne will start and elton will get gametime much the same way goose did. i think the reason heyneke was noncommital about wether steyn would start is simply because he is waiting for goose to be cleared of injury.
the fact that elton is there means that he is in heynekes plans for the future but you cannot expect a bok coach to have two rookie 10′s in the 22 for tests against the top two teams in world rugby surely?
As for heynekes comments regarding morne, what exactly should he have said?
“ag morne is k u k and has blown it and must go back to cc but ja, we might need him on the weekend?”
no man, people are not thinking clearly and the mob mentality is taking hold. chill people, its all gonna be ok.
p.s. if morne had been dropped to cc and got injured this weekend and heyneke had been forced to select goose as starting 10 with elton as backup, with a total of 3 tests between them, sh i t would have got real.
it would have been even worse if morne had got injured, goose was declared unfit and elton was thrown in the deep end.
smart management by heyneke.
respect.
24 Sep 2012, 21:07 pm
@shark4life-148:
lowering others?
agreed
24 Sep 2012, 21:08 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-153: Jake White has fokkol to do with how Heyneke Meyer will get fired. Heyneke will take increasing pressure in the media etc. until he leaves by himself skulking out the door with his tail between his legs like those before him. He will be subjected to ‘meetings’ where performance will be discussed etc.
That is why I said – in South Africa you cant afford to be biased because if you are, and you lose…..its only a matter of time before you’re out.
I know okes from Pretoria think they are invincible. Meyer is about to learn the hard truth that he is not.
24 Sep 2012, 21:08 pm
@Dusky-154: no arguments there mate!
24 Sep 2012, 21:09 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-158: yip, that’s what i was referring to. convict cheats!
24 Sep 2012, 21:13 pm
@Dusky-159:
go back in time, that is exactly what white felt like and what the country wanted for him. the same for de villiers too.
you can scheme blue murder all you want, it wont happen.
the precedent was set in white’s tenure.
the last time saru had balls to fire a coach was mallet, and even that they screwed up.
24 Sep 2012, 21:14 pm
@rangerman-157: Ranger, it’s the best, lowest risk solution for a bad situation. As much as we don’t like it, you can’t enter an important game taking those kind of risks and not having an insurance policy. but he created the situation by persisting with morne when he could have been blooding new talent. and it’s not as if he only has rookies to call on. he could use lambie if necessary. he’s got quite a few tests under his belt including some good ones at the WC.
24 Sep 2012, 21:16 pm
if goose is unable to play and morne got injured playing cc this weekend then elton would have been jettisoned intot he boks with very little time to run the plays etc etc.
if he bombed (understandably) in such a scenario it would be a fkup of note as this kid has talent, real talent, and should be blooded carefully imo.
but you cannot blood both elton and the goose at the same time so morne will be there for a while yet as a backup to either elton or goose.
thatsafact so everyone swallow that pill and get used to it.
24 Sep 2012, 21:17 pm
@rangerman-157:
morne will start with goosen on the bench
all sensible really
24 Sep 2012, 21:17 pm
@rangerman-157:
Off course, there’s always Lambie, who isn’t a rookie. Or have you forgotten about him?
24 Sep 2012, 21:20 pm
ok
i’m out too
cheers folks and good chatting
@shark4life-163: you are right bud and rightly or wrongly he views pat as a fullback so we have to accept that morne will be around until at least one of goose or elton is fully relied on or trusted by heyneke.
he did give goose almost 40 mins vs the abs bud, in dunedin! and goose stood tall imo. so maybe we arent that far off.
but the fact is that goose is also quite injury prone so he cannot publicly denigrate morne as he needs the experience to give him breathing room whilst he bloods elton and goose.
its all so clear but i fully expect transie or some other wiseass to muddy the water for me shortly
@rangerman-164: Then we will keep losing games until we end up in a scenario where we have no choice but to make a radical change.
If your car gets a hole in its radiator, do you just keep going because if you stop you’ll be stranded on the side of the road so you really have no option ? So – what carry on until the engine seizes ? At what point do you stop ?
Your reasoning sounds sane, and makes sense but at some point we have to start making changes. They will come with their risks and ‘collateral expenses’
24 Sep 2012, 21:21 pm
@David-166:
no, he’s just come round to believing in the coaches thinking
24 Sep 2012, 21:23 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-170: The doff coach.
24 Sep 2012, 21:24 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-165: goose to start with morne on the bench.
thats non negotiable imo.
if goose is injured then morne to start and elton to get meaningful gametime (20 mins imo given his late arrival into the squad).
@David-166: covered that in post 168 bud. i think he is missing a trick with pat but he doesnt seem to rate pat as a 10.
he is the coach so thats his perogative and i am simply trying to explain how i see heynekes thinking playing out.
i also hope rhule gets a call up for the eoyt. that kid is electric demmit!
24 Sep 2012, 21:26 pm
@Dusky-169: ja bud, it is a bit of a damned if you do damned if you dont scenario isnt it?
if morne is dropped and goose bombs with elton thrown tot he wolves, the knives will be out quicker than ever.
if goose is injured then morne has to start imo but elton must also be given gametime.
its clear to me that morne is not heynekes long term option though.
24 Sep 2012, 21:28 pm
Jeepers Heyneke…..no one is saying send M Steyn to the farken gallows ?
Just treat him like you treated Brussow, Keegan, Aplon, De Jongh etc…..like a normal rugby player…..
Why is it so different with an out of form M Steyn?
FFS man….this is getting so childish….
24 Sep 2012, 21:28 pm
As some players look great at super rugby level (such as Wynand Olivier or even Keegan Daniels) but dont make good test players, the same may be true for coaches. Lets see how HM learns and adapts of the next two games. We will soon know if HM is the a super or international level coach.
24 Sep 2012, 21:31 pm
@Dusky-171:
he’s been called worse
@rangerman-172:
i really dont see it happening. if he does start i can only say it would be out of the box.
elton and goosen to feature eoyt.
cheers, again.
24 Sep 2012, 21:32 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-176: And it seems he deserves it.
24 Sep 2012, 21:32 pm
we are so farken scared in this Bok set up
cowardly in the extreme…..
Just give Goosen, Elton or Lambie the chance man….
Jirre fok.
24 Sep 2012, 21:35 pm
There are too many people at the moment chanting “Good enough is old enough”… Ive heard this slogan far too often now and people seem content to write it in their posts without thinking the situation through.
I agree that good enough is old… But only sometimes. All players are different and a one-size-fits-all approach should never be used. Each player needs to be managed on his own unique set of circumstances.
Its true, when Burger hit the scene he was amazing, Habana too… And Brussouw, but these are all different positions from flyhalf and dont demand the technical precision or mental strength that flyhalf does….
Johan Goosen is potentially world class and might very well be ready to start for the Boks on Saturday, but his circumstances are unique. There is a huge amount of public pressure on him to perform, he has just recovered from a bad injury and his predessesor has been eaten alive by an unhappy South African public… It might be smarter to keep with the gradual process of blooding him slowly and let him start during the end of year tour…
Instead of starting Morne, we have Lambie who is a very capable 10. I would prefer that set of circumstances than risking an implosion on Goosen.
@rangerman-173: I dont actually agree completely. I think if Heyneke tried something – made a decisive move – there would be a greater tolerance if things dont go exactly according to plan.
I tell you what – without Francois Steyn there to protect him (Francois might be injured) we might see the longest 50 or 60 minutes Morne Steyn has ever had if he starts in the next test. The oke gets the ball and is clueless. He can catch a rugby ball and that is about the extent of his skill at the moment.
With Frans Steyn out they better maar tell Willem Alberts to hang around near Morne all the time for when he gets sacked while making decisions on what to do with the ball.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-176: maybe you are right but goose will get more gametime against the abs if he does pass muster vs aus.
24 Sep 2012, 21:36 pm
@Kaizan-179: I dont mind that option. Lambie would be more capable at 10 and I even believe his goal kicking would be better. I mean you dont get much worse than 1 from 6.
24 Sep 2012, 21:39 pm
Here comes a F up……I can just feel it. I just get this nasty feeling that the Boks are going to take a rogering this weekend. A rogering that rivals anything ever seen in a Stormers/WP changeroom ! And that is quite something !
24 Sep 2012, 21:44 pm
playing a totally inept M Steyn over and over again is a huge insult to the other 3 10 s…..a farken huge insult.
24 Sep 2012, 21:49 pm
@rangerman-168: no arguments on any of your points there mate. as i said earlier, it’s the lowest risk approach to a bad situation.
24 Sep 2012, 21:53 pm
i’m outta here! have a good evening all.
24 Sep 2012, 21:57 pm
@grant10-184: 100% Meyer now being stubborn… This is not fear playing out, this is a middle finger.
Most Bok coaches make a mistake on favourite players… But Steyn now is not a mistake…
Agree with you on it being an insult to the other 10′s, but further than that, it is an insult to all the other players dropped due to poor performance, perceived or otherwise…
Bad…
24 Sep 2012, 21:58 pm
play goosen play elton if needed play lambie…they wont bomb..kids all got talent, skill and heart.. dumbass scared conservative midset of SA coaches…what if.. what if the sky falls on our heads.. dont be reactive be proactive .. make the good plays happen.. my five cents like 1000′s out there.. morne should go play CC.. get back to form and if he does the he can be called on when needed..
24 Sep 2012, 22:02 pm
@Heavens Game-187: Yes HG….this is now absolutely soul destroying for most level headed supporters, so imagine how the young Elton, Pat and Goosen must be feeling….
Fair is fair…..Keegan , Aplon, De Jongh and others were unceremoniously dumped…..but the mediocrity is simply allowed to continue ad nausseum with this M Steyn?
Double standards hypocrisy……the fans are not stupid Heyneke……your last vestiges of credibility is on the line…you better do the right thing…
24 Sep 2012, 22:04 pm
@Dusky-182: Chances are Lambie will be playing for the Shaarks on Saturday
24 Sep 2012, 22:07 pm
Morne Is A Quality Player. The Only Way To Regain Form Is Through Playing & Nothing Else. You Guys Are Just Hating On Him Just Coz He Plays For The Greatest Super Rugby Team In SA And Hate The Fact & Idea That HM Will Eventually Forge A Winning Team Playing Bulls Rugby. Goosen Is Ok, But Think About It, Even If The Goose Made One Side Step & Then Knocked On The Ball, You’d All Give Him “Messiah” Status All Because You Want Morne Out Of The Bok Setup, No Matter How S HITTY Goosens Move Was. You’re All Looking For An Excuse To Crucify Morne, Even If He Hit A Drop Goal With 1 Minute Left And Won Us The Match, You’d STILL Complain With Statements Such As , “Aaw, He Should Have Crossed Kicked, Habana Was Free” . Get The F Outta Here
24 Sep 2012, 22:10 pm
Sooner or later Steyn will have a decent game, and then Meyer will sing praises about sticking with a player… Whether Steyn can maintain a string of decent games is another question… I dont think he can at all…
All these Steyn records that the Blind Bulletjies like bandying about happened in 2010…
That is almost 3 seasons back now… Heck the 3 S15 titles that these Bulletjies point to in order to reinforce their sense of superiority happened a 3 seasons back too… 3 seasons is a farken long time in rugby especially considering law changes…
Heyneke and his protege totem Steyn are becoming trapped by history…
Loyalty to players is commendable but that means loyalty to all your players… A pity this loyalty to Steyn was not extended to others who have been dropped…
24 Sep 2012, 22:17 pm
@cab-138: Did ou ever find out why a Tutu
is superior.?Please keep us informed.
24 Sep 2012, 22:21 pm
@grant10-189: Other than with the Bulls players and some “chosen” players from other Provinces in the Bok squad – I can bet that trust is eroding rapidly with others…
If a player starts feeling that no matter how well he performs, he will never replace an incumbent despite his lack of form, or if a player starts continually fearing he might get dropped for relatively smaller technical mistakes as an excuse for a “favourite” to take his place… Eventually these players end up with a fuckit attitude.
24 Sep 2012, 22:24 pm
@ryecatcher-193:
because they are racists apparently.
24 Sep 2012, 22:26 pm
@Heavens Game-194:
How long before the cracks become chasms…..?
Already we have heard rumblings from Elton and Lambie……
I want Heyneke to succeed….we are stuck with him for 4 years….but if he persists with this baltant hypocrisy we are well and truly farked and in for a very kak few years….
24 Sep 2012, 22:27 pm
@thegreatanubis-191: No. Morne Steyn WAS a quality player in a different era, now nearly 3 seasons past already, where the Bulls ruled the roost… The Bulls dont rule the roost now, and Morne Steyn is NOW not consistently good enough for Test rugby…
His poor defence, standing too deep and not taking on the advantage line have been exposed by 4 teams now… England last test, Argentina 2nd test and both Aus and ABs have analysed him to death and are exploiting him continually as a sure fire way to beat the Boks.
24 Sep 2012, 22:28 pm
I have not seen so many clever coaches on one website since Rudie Straueli had the team, or when Harry met Sallie Skoppie.
Every man and his dog can coach the Bokke, what a punch of plonkers.If I was coach of the Boks, I would not care less what Tannie Salie thought about my kick or kick and pass tactics
24 Sep 2012, 22:31 pm
@grant10-196: I also wanted him to succeed… The honest truth about whether I still want him to? I farken don’t know… Not in this manner.
24 Sep 2012, 22:31 pm
What should he say about Morne?
24 Sep 2012, 22:34 pm
@Heavens Game-199: 2 players will be back for the Shaarks this weekend
P Lambie and PSDT, Bulls to get a sklasp
24 Sep 2012, 22:36 pm
as half wracked prejudice leaped forth
“Rip down all hate,” I screamed
Lies that life is black and white
Spoke from my skull. I dreamed
Romantic facts of musketeers
Foundationed deep, somehow.
Ah, but I was so much older then,
I’m younger than that now.
Meyer is stuck fast in the ditch of denial of no return
Your Cadillac has got a wheel in the ditch and a wheel on the track
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HIGb5qb6G-Q
I doubt he has the capacity for self introspection.. if not this dude gonna blow and blow big.. then it going to be too late to cry about stiff necked unrelenting blues.
24 Sep 2012, 22:38 pm
@JL1-200: Nothing needed to be said… How about releasing him to play CC rugby like he has with Potgieter, Daniel etc or keeping him in the squad but dropping him like he has with Kruger, Mvovo and others…
24 Sep 2012, 22:40 pm
@fitz1ella-202:
I see Bob Dylan’s got a concert in Seattle on Oct 13, with Mark Knopfler nogal
24 Sep 2012, 22:41 pm
there is a bit too much emotion surrounding this debate but its what we saffas feed on.
as always, a rational discussion is impossible in an emotional debate.
24 Sep 2012, 22:42 pm
cab don’t know a tutu from hisanus .. he don’t even know wtf a tutu from an orangutan is.. the ultimate dumb fck ignorant scientist pretending to be what he ain’t.. that is cab the rigid non scientific idiot carrying on up the Kyber looking for his chimpanzee roots.
24 Sep 2012, 22:43 pm
@victoriabok-204: you better go.. I been following the Dylan / Knopfler tour.. you better go because it the last time you ever going to get the opportunity to see a real live genius at work.
24 Sep 2012, 22:44 pm
@thegreatdoofus-191: Jirre fok, please tell me you didn’t type all that drivel by holding down the shift key each time you started a new word! Who has that much time?
24 Sep 2012, 22:44 pm
@sharks_lover-201: About time Lambie gets back to the Sharks if that is true… At least he can get back to playing more than a 10min cameo…
Feel for him and others like JdJ…
Now its going to be Jantjies turn for frustration – at least Jantjies got the transformation thing going for him… Lambie doesn’t.
24 Sep 2012, 22:45 pm
@Heavens Game-209:
24 Sep 2012, 22:45 pm
To Jewboys in Seattle singing the blues.. they in the wrong city they should be in Tswane Town so that this dumb fck backward idiot Meyer get a little bit of reality through his dumb deluded closed shop brain.
24 Sep 2012, 22:47 pm
Two jewboys in Seattle rather than to jewboys .. wtf the difference according to Darwin everyone was Jewish once upon a time.
24 Sep 2012, 22:47 pm
@rangerman-205: I noticed earlier that you said Goosen got nearly 40 minutes in Dunedin. That’s bollocks – he got 20 minutes, 60 minutes too late.
24 Sep 2012, 22:49 pm
@fitz1ella-202: Old shy.te.. Stale… Like the old stale tactics used by the Boks…
More contemporary like the Sharks:
The streets of persuasion
Are plated with gold
Your heart’s in the right place,
But you travel down the wrong road
Like so many before you
The gates open wide
Here come the rising tide
24 Sep 2012, 22:51 pm
With your pitchfork tongue, you licked your lips and lied
We’re never gonna know how hard you cried
When you petitioned and your access was denied
‘Til the venom in your veins is satisfied
‘Til you suffocate and swallow down the pride
24 Sep 2012, 22:51 pm
@kaksioek-213: was it only 20 mins?
sorry,my bad.
the rest of my sentiments remain the same.
24 Sep 2012, 22:52 pm
An ode to Heyneke, following the others:
They say I’ll adjust
God knows I must
But I’m not sure how
This natural selection picked me out to be
A dark horse running in a fantasy
24 Sep 2012, 22:53 pm
Oh well here we go again comparing mediocrity with genius.. Springsteen ain’t nowhere nearly in either Young or Dylan’s stretch of the universe not by at least about 6 hundred million light years.. but then who’s counting.. I guess only the catch up backstreet boys.
24 Sep 2012, 22:54 pm
Meyer better catch a wake up or else the wake up gonna catch him…
24 Sep 2012, 22:54 pm
@fitz1ella-207:
I did see a genius at work (and a Jewboy to boot
) two years ago, Leonard Cohen played here
The modesty of the man was inspiring
24 Sep 2012, 22:56 pm
@rangerman-216: Yes, and wasn’t it obvious to everyone that the game could have been won with Goosen on the field rather than Morne? It’s a little bit hard to take. It was obvious to most that Goosen should have started ahead of Morne before the game began. It was obvious to everyone that Goosen should have at least started the second half. But it took Meyer until halfway through the second half, when the game was well and truly lost, to make the substitution. That is criminal – surely?
24 Sep 2012, 22:57 pm
@fitz1ella-218:
@fitz1ella-211:
Didn’t know Knopfler was Jewish, doesn’t matter anyhow, he’s a brilliant musician
@fitz1ella-218: Not Springsteen… Naah, not at all…
Springsteen’s lyrics consistently better than some of Dylans shy’te… Not all… Some. But fark me his music and band 10 times better than ALL of Bob’s…
The Boss, truly… No surrender.
24 Sep 2012, 22:59 pm
Them lyrics aint Springsteen… Why… They from them Killers… New album Battle Born.
Farken apt for Meyer now.
24 Sep 2012, 22:59 pm
@victoriabok-220: That’s very nice you very fortunate to have experienced at least one Jewish genius at work.. go catch another two before they too peg off into the vast dissolving wilderness
24 Sep 2012, 23:00 pm
@Heavens Game-224:
Backstreet boys?
If Skoppie’s correct you’re on the slippery slope past the point of no return
24 Sep 2012, 23:02 pm
I am beginning to feel sympathetic towards Morne’s plight, it seems he was the one who needed to be managed carefully and to be gradually brought into the 2012 test arena under the Meyer tenure, which sounds totally idiotic, as he should be the man. Meyer has riches at first five that are the envy of all Rugby Nations, yet for some weird reason he is stuffing up the most important position on the Rugby field. His being drawn to the security blanket of the familiar is a weakness that he needs to address or he unfortunately will perish because of it.
24 Sep 2012, 23:02 pm
Hi gents. Howzit?
24 Sep 2012, 23:05 pm
@victoriabok-223: with a name like Knopfler he should be Swedish or Spanish I guess.. did you know Jimi Hendrix was also Jewish .. twice removed when his Cherokee Grandmother had an affair with Abe Lincoln’s grandson .. according to Darwin anyway all musicians are Jewish if you scratch back at the roots of their chimpanzee heritage.
24 Sep 2012, 23:06 pm
@fitz1ella-230: Skop, what is with the Jewish fixation? Isn’t this a rugby blog?
@victoriabok-227: Backstreet Boys WTF…? You still got too much memories of Pretoria shopping mall music… Its farked you for life… You probably still hum Tarzan Boy to yourself… or one two Belinda Carlisles on your way to work every day in memory…
(You can take an oke out of Pretoria, but you cant take
@stodders-229:
Hey Stodders, how ya been?
Saw you posted a bit the other day, still have not lost it.
24 Sep 2012, 23:07 pm
@Heavens Game-232: Pressed submit too soon dammite…
You can take an oke out of Pretoria, but you cant take the pretoria out of an oke… not even in Canada.
24 Sep 2012, 23:08 pm
@Hurricane-233: Hi mate. Been busy. Wife and kids are keeping me on my toes and studies are using up any extra time I used to have. All good this end though apart from not catching much rugby these days. How are you?
24 Sep 2012, 23:08 pm
@fitz1ella-230:
So i am a Jewish Maori?
Hell i might be able to claim some land in Israel or even the water
24 Sep 2012, 23:09 pm
@Heavens Game-234: I thought they only have Jacaranda trees in Pretoria?
24 Sep 2012, 23:09 pm
@Heavens Game-224: that first ditty you sang sounded very suspiciously like that streets of Philadelphia moffie twang garbage.. are you trying to actually be serious.. Springsteen more musical or more genius than Dylan or Young.. you gotta be somewhere in the twilight zone because Springsteen is like karma chameleon kinda blue suede shoes commercialism garbage in comparison.
24 Sep 2012, 23:10 pm
@Te Rangatira-228: The worst part is that everyone knows Meyer is wrong, and this only makes him more stubbornly determined to dig his heels in and prove himself right. It’s a kind of psychosis.
24 Sep 2012, 23:11 pm
@stodders-235:
Family first Stodds.
Still studying? I thought about 2 years ago you were studying as well.
Anyways all good here in Christchurch, things are looking better for this little city
24 Sep 2012, 23:12 pm
@fitz1ella-230: Farkoff man… Israel’s most famous musician is Dana2000… A tranny.
I reckon Wagner, Mozart would take exception to any Darwinian bulldust story about musical roots…
What a load of tosh…
24 Sep 2012, 23:12 pm
@Hurricane-236: yup trace them roots boyo trace em roots .. you never know where you find yourself landing up… all the way back to Africa under King Solomon and Queen of Sheba’s merry making hay while the sun was busy shining bright in the desert sky.
24 Sep 2012, 23:14 pm
@fitz1ella-242:
24 Sep 2012, 23:14 pm
@Heavens Game-241: Mozart was 100% Jewish just like Beethoven and Wagner oomph papa oomph papa oomph papa was the first blues man who blew his flugelhorn upside down.
24 Sep 2012, 23:16 pm
@fitz1ella-238: The Jester did one or two iconic ditties… But both Springsteen and even Dave Matthews have a catalogue that is on average better than some of the absolute farken garbage that emanated from Dylan…
Sounded like a caterwauling cat on farken acid at the best of times….
24 Sep 2012, 23:18 pm
@stodders-231: howdy Stodders .. we discovered that Dylan and Hendrix came from the same rugby genetic genius heritage.. its called the be all and end all of everything .. chimpanzee style. Ask Bonny Prince Charley.. he should set you straight around that.. or Mel Gibson.. after showing his blue backside to the English he was convinced that JC was actually Catholic in his previous birth.
@fitz1ella-244: Pure Teutonic aural precision… Not farken jungle music. No hebrew in sight there.
@Heavens Game-232:
No, Skop said it on this post
@fitz1ella-218:
24 Sep 2012, 23:19 pm
@stodders-231: skop is ashkenazi jew.
24 Sep 2012, 23:20 pm
@Heavens Game-232:
You’ve asked fot it…..
Oh oh oh oh oh oh oh oh oh oh…
Jungle life
I’m far away from nowhere
On my own like Tarzan Boy
Hide and seek
I play along while rushing cross the forest
****** business on a sunny afternoon
Jungle life
I’m living in the open
Native beat that carries on
Burning bright
A fire the blows the signal to the sky
I sit and wonder does the message get to you
Oh oh oh oh oh oh oh oh oh oh oh…
24 Sep 2012, 23:22 pm
No hebrew in Waters, Vedder, Browne, Morrison at all… None whatsoever.
24 Sep 2012, 23:22 pm
@Heavens Game-245: Please man Springsteen at his best is like Sting singing Maybelline on Marylebone High Street compared to Dylan at his absolute worst.
24 Sep 2012, 23:23 pm
@victoriabok-250: Fuckit…
24 Sep 2012, 23:24 pm
@Heavens Game-234:
Yip, Bulle en biltong
Speaking of biltong, I’ve shot my first deer two weeks ago, the biltong is very nice
Different from hunting in SA though, spent two hours getting it out of the mountain (definitely not the Magaliesberg)
Tough terrain where the Blacktailed deer live, nearly popped a vein in my a-ss
24 Sep 2012, 23:25 pm
Billy Ray Cyrus is the one and only King.
24 Sep 2012, 23:28 pm
@fitz1ella-252: Rubbish man… Springsteen got the lyrics, the music AND the stage presence…
No live concert better than the Boss…
Dylan got about 10 iconic classics… Lets be honest, much of the rest is overrated at best, and nothing more than a farken downright up yours to the rock snobs…
He takes thepiss out of the fools looking for redemption, signs and wisdom in some of his downright wailing…
24 Sep 2012, 23:29 pm
@victoriabok-254:
24 Sep 2012, 23:29 pm
@Heavens Game-256:
What about this one?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_7VsoxT_FUY
24 Sep 2012, 23:30 pm
@victoriabok-258: Lol… Farken Gauteng rockabilly
24 Sep 2012, 23:31 pm
@Heavens Game-251: I thought Darwin taught you all life emanated from the backwaters of the garden of Gethsemane .. not down that little stream called the Danube.. better get your facts straight boytjie because you paddling up the Rhine in reverse…
Jackson Browne is half Cherokee and half Jewish just like Jimi .. so too Van the Man half Celtic genius and half Ashkenazi . not that other dismal freak his namesake Jimbo… and the only Beatle who wasn’t remotely any kin to Abraham was Ringo Starr who sold his soul to his half brother Paul for a pocket full of Marjorie jam juice
24 Sep 2012, 23:35 pm
Liewe Luiperd is ou Groot Wit Naai under another alias.. no wonder Billy Ray Cyrus is his hero in waiting.. ai foei tog liewe arme luiperd.. die ou is darem deur die geroomde piesangs brood.
24 Sep 2012, 23:37 pm
@fitz1ella-260: “half Cherokee and half Jewish”… That your new PC term for a black man? Fark me what a load of bulldust…
Here’s a lyricist without an ounce of ashkenazi… farkall river jordan either
He floated back down ’cause he wanted to share
His key to the locks on the chains he saw everywhere
But first he was stripped and then he was stabbed
By faceless men, well, f.uckers
He still stands
24 Sep 2012, 23:38 pm
If Herr Goebeldy reckons Springsteen is the Boss then that about sums up his musical appreciation.. what can we say the poor dude is almost as deluded as Heyneke drinking Heineken and thinking its Glockenspiel Gluwein.
24 Sep 2012, 23:39 pm
@victoriabok-258:
Much better than sokkie, fo-kkie bokkie eh?
24 Sep 2012, 23:40 pm
@Heavens Game-262:
Ring the bells that still can ring
Forget your perfect offering
There is a crack in everything
That’s how the light gets in.
24 Sep 2012, 23:43 pm
The ashkenazi is on drugs tonight.
24 Sep 2012, 23:43 pm
@fitz1ella-263: Shout and scream as much as you want to… But I actually reckon the Joker got the last laugh on all you high rock royalty music snobs who think you might know the absolute of what is good music and what is not…
Jim Fogherty even penned a good few than some of the Zimmerman shy.te… And not an ashkenazi bone in his Up around the bend body…
24 Sep 2012, 23:44 pm
@Heavens Game-267: John Fogherty not Jim…
Morrison is Jim and he could pen a few words in anger too…
24 Sep 2012, 23:46 pm
ha haa
Its amaising or is it that everyone is excited. Ist its Dippy Dissie Divvie ,now its the Cheetahs coach are having their says.
HM has alot of “chooners” out there I hope he is able to block it all blank. Sounds like everyone wants to be the Bok coach these days…Everyone knows how to be a coach better than HM.
Which makes me start to wonder, is he going to reach the heights no other coach in this country has had before?
This could be a watershed moment…
Other coaches(DDD aint a coach) should keep their noses out. HM should play whom he wants as he is the coach. If he messes up, then he’ll learn
24 Sep 2012, 23:49 pm
Morne Will Get Better. Whats The Use Of Getting A Flyhalf Who’ll Make Us Play Like The ABs? There’s Only One NZ. Ask Aus & The Islanders What Happens When You Try To Beat The ABs At Their Own Game. Just Like In Football Where There Is Only One Barcelona
24 Sep 2012, 23:50 pm
The new Dave Matthews Band album (Away from the World) is magnificent.
24 Sep 2012, 23:51 pm
you know your Teutonic vorsprung durch technik hangup is precisely whats holding Heyneke back.. he should enroll some clear sighted visionary capacity .. like Mallet and Christie did.. cut the Teutonic rigidity some slack and let the sunshine in…
Jim Morrison was a raucous raving rebel not a musician.. and Van Morison is the real music man…like Neil Young.. Bob Dylan .. Steven Stills etc.. Fogherty is pure hump the pump bootlegging balderdash like Billy Ray Cyrus and his ilk.
24 Sep 2012, 23:53 pm
@victoriabok-265: Sheezus, don’t tell me you bought into this ashkenazi cherokee half half skop skiet and bulldust….
Now here are blood, sweat and tears translated into words and music… And no soppy softcock ashkenazi highfaluting in sight:
In the day we sweat it out on the streets of a runaway American dream
At night we ride through the mansions of glory in suicide machines
Sprung from cages out on highway 9,
Chrome wheeled, fuel injected,and steppin’ out over the line
h-Oh, Baby this town rips the bones from your back
It’s a death trap, it’s a suicide rap
We gotta get out while we’re young
`Cause tramps like us, baby we were born to run
24 Sep 2012, 23:56 pm
@Heavens Game-268:
CCR rocks!
24 Sep 2012, 23:57 pm
@fitz1ella-272: Fark me, next you probably going to reckon that Dippy is half cherokee half ashkenazi too… a symphonic rugby genius…
Fark that… I reckon maybe a couple of morning glory seeds got mixed up in your lentils tonight…
25 Sep 2012, 00:00 am
@Heavens Game-273:
Nope, but I was impressed by seeing Leonard Cohen live
You’re just scared that it might mean they’ll cut a piece off something…;-)
One of my favourites
I remember how rough your hand felt on mine on my wedding day
And the tears cried on my shoulder I couldn’t turn away
Well so much has happened to me that I don’t understand
All I can think of is being five years old following behind you at the beach tracing your footprints in the sand
Trying to walk like a man
By Our Lady Of The Roses we lived in the shadow of the elms
I remember ma draggin’ me and my sister up the street to the church whenever she heard those wedding bells
Well would they ever look so happy again the handsome groom and his bride
As they stepped into that long black limousine for their mystery ride
Well tonight you step away from me and alone at the alter I stand
And as I watch my bride coming down the aisle I pray for the strength to walk like a man
Well now the years have gone and I’ve grown from that seed you’ve sown
But I didn’t think there’d be so many steps I’d have to learn on my own
Well I was young and I didn’t know what to do
When I saw your best steps stolen away from you
Now I’ll do what I can
I’ll walk like a man
And I’ll keep on walkin’
25 Sep 2012, 00:05 am
@victoriabok-276: Was trying not to mention the name but now Skop all over this like a half cherokee half ashkenazi banshee with his hebrew music theory…
25 Sep 2012, 00:06 am
@Heavens Game-277:
We need to get him date with Rossoni or Dawn
25 Sep 2012, 00:10 am
@victoriabok-276: Yeah… Nothing conveys that sense of nostalgic regret but at the same time making it uplifting like the Boss does…
Decent song.
25 Sep 2012, 00:12 am
An I’ll stand on the ocean until I start sinking
there is no such thing as genetic supremacy or imaginary rockabilly genius when it comes to music or art or sport or rocket science
the highway is for gamblers better use your sense.. take what you have gathered from coincidence.
every sapient being is born with similar genetic conditioning.. only couple strands of common DNA this way or that way strung out on a limb in extraneous limbo
come together.. right now .. or let Jojo get back to where he once belonged.
25 Sep 2012, 00:14 am
Although Miley is probably better as a musician than her old man Billy ray. Miley Cyrus is a great in the making, the female Bob Dylan.
25 Sep 2012, 00:15 am
@Heavens Game-279:
Have you see this before:
HOW TO SING THE BLUES
by Lame Mango Washington
1. Most Blues begin, “Woke up this morning.”
2. “I got a good woman” is a bad way to begin the Blues, ‘less you stick something nasty in the next line, like ” I got a good woman, with the meanest face in town.”
3. The Blues is simple. After you get the first line right, repeat it. Then find something that rhymes … sort of: “Got a good woman – with the meanest face in town. Got teeth like Margaret Thatcher – and she weigh 500 pound.”
4. The Blues are not about choice. You stuck in a ditch, you stuck in a ditch; ain’t no way out.
5. Blues cars: Chevys and Cadillacs and broken-down trucks.
Blues don’t travel in Volvos, BMWs, or Sport Utility Vehicles.
Most Blues transportation is a Greyhound bus or a southbound train.
Jet aircraft an’ state-sponsored motor pools ain’t even in the running.
Walkin’ plays a major part in the blues lifestyle.
So does fixin’ to die.
6. Teenagers can’t sing the Blues.
They ain’t fixin’ to die yet.
Adults sing the Blues.
In Blues, ” adulthood” means being old enough to get the electric chair if you shoot a man in Memphis.
7. Blues can take place in New York City but not in Hawaii or any place in Canada.
Hard times in St. Paul or Tucson is just depression.
Chicago, St. Louis, and Kansas City still the best places to have the Blues.
You cannot have the blues in any place that don’t get rain.
8. A man with male pattern baldness ain’t the blues.
A woman with male pattern baldness is.
Breaking your leg cuz you skiing is not the blues.
Breaking your leg cuz an alligator be chomping on it is.
9. You can’t have no Blues in an office or a shopping mall.
The lighting is wrong.
Go outside to the parking lot or sit by the dumpster.
10. Good places for the Blues:
a. highway
b. jailhouse
c. empty bed
d. bottom of a whiskey glass
Bad places:
a. Ashrams
b. gallery openings
c. Ivy League institutions
d. golf courses
11. No one will believe it’s the Blues if you wear a suit, ‘less you happen to be an old ethnic person, and you slept in it.
12. Do you have the right to sing the Blues? Yes, if:
a. you’re older than dirt
b. you’re blind
c. you shot a man in Memphis
d. you can’t be satisfied
No, if:
a. you have all your teeth
b. you were once blind but now can see
c. the man in Memphis lived.
d. you have a retirement plan or trust fund.
13. Blues is not a matter of color.
It’s a matter of bad luck.
Tiger Woods cannot sing the blues. Gary Coleman could. Ugly white people also got a leg up on the blues.
2010 update : Tiger can nowadays sing the blues.
You know like this:
I got a good woman,
but she beats me with iron seven
Im f$^%ing everything whats moving
and I will not go to heaven.
and then some rhymes about stress – mistress etc.
14. If you ask for water and Baby give you gasoline, it’s the Blues.
Other acceptable Blues beverages are:
a. wine
b. whiskey or bourbon
c. muddy water
d. black coffee
The following are NOT Blues beverages:
a. mixed drinks
b. kosher wine
c. Snapple
d. sparkling water
15. If it occurs in a cheap motel or a shotgun shack, it’s a Blues death.
Stabbed in the back by a jealous lover is another Blues way to die.
So is the electric chair, substance abuse, and dying lonely on a broken down cot.
You can’t have a Blues death if you die during a tennis match or getting liposuction.
16. Some Blues names for women:
a. Sadie
b. Big Mama
c. Bessie
d. Fat River Dumpling
17. Some Blues names for men:
a. Joe
b. Willie
c. Little Willie
d. Big Willie
18. Persons with names like Sierra, Sequoia, Auburn, and Rainbow can’t sing the Blues no matter how many men they shoot in Memphis.
19. Make your own Blues name (starter kit):
a. name of physical infirmity (Blind, Cripple, Lame, etc.)
b. first name (see above) plus name of fruit (Lemon, Lime, Kiwi,etc.)
c. last name of President (Jefferson, Johnson, Fillmore, etc.)
For example, Blind Lime Jefferson, or Cripple Kiwi Fillmore, etc.
(Well, maybe not “Kiwi.”)
20. I don’t care how tragic your life: you own a computer, you cannot sing the blues. You best destroy it. Fire, a spilled bottle of Mad Dog, or get out a shotgun. I don’t care.
25 Sep 2012, 00:17 am
@Liewe Luiperd-281:
She’d be good for a few things…. not even including singing
25 Sep 2012, 00:25 am
@fitz1ella-280: Sheezus… come now…
I’ll take you all out to where the gypsy angels go
They’re build like light
And they dance like spirits in the night
Before I blow up the chicken man on Keo tonight,
And then I blow up his house too…
25 Sep 2012, 00:26 am
@victoriabok-282: Outstanding.
25 Sep 2012, 00:28 am
@Heavens Game-285:
How’s the Banshee?
Still keeping the Pretoria milf’s off you?
25 Sep 2012, 00:30 am
@victoriabok-282: well that means I got all the credentials to sing the blues.. I got every one of them back alley blind man traits that allow me to identify with Muddy Waters, Memphis Slim, Son House or Blind Lemon Jefferson .. shows you its true.. Darwin musta been right all roads lead back to Africa where Abraham and Gabriel decided that to kill a son on Highway Sixty One was a bad idea to begin with.
25 Sep 2012, 00:31 am
@Heavens Game-284:
He’s got one stuck in the chamber, we should get Dawn to help him out
25 Sep 2012, 00:32 am
@victoriabok-286: Banshee is away… Wekking velly hardt.
25 Sep 2012, 00:32 am
@victoriabok-282:
Great one.
@Heavens Game-256:
Bruce is great but Bob is farkin incomparable
Check what Bruce had to say about him:
“Dylan was – he was a revolutionary, man, the way that Elvis freed your body, Bob freed your mind. And he showed us that just because the music was innately physical, it did not mean that it was anti-intellect. He had the vision and the talent to expand a pop song until it contained the whole world. He invented a new way a pop singer could sound. He broke through the limitations of what a recording artist could achieve, and he changed the face of rock and roll forever and ever. Without Bob, the Beatles wouldn’t have made Sergeant Pepper, maybe the Beach Boys wouldn’t have made Pet Sounds, the *** Pistols wouldn’t have made ‘God Save the Queen,’ U2 would not etc..etc…..
So I’m just here tonight to say thanks, to say that I wouldn’t be here without you, to say that there isn’t a soul in this room who does not owe you their thanks. And to steal a line from one of your songs, whether you like it or not, ‘you was the brother that I never had.’ Congratulations.”
25 Sep 2012, 00:35 am
@Heavens Game-289:
Who are you working hard?
25 Sep 2012, 00:36 am
Humble is as humble does.. when a disciple knows who’s the master then he’s grown humble enough to step into the masters shoes…even if only for a couple steps before he needs the next crutch along the line.
25 Sep 2012, 00:40 am
@fitz1ella-292:
Do you have his new album?
25 Sep 2012, 00:41 am
These were the icons
Huddy Leadbetter
Robert Johnson
Son House
Muddy Waters
Howling Wolf
Chuck Berry
John Lee Hooker
Elvis Presley
Bob Dylan
Jimi Hendrix
Bob Marley
and then it all died round about then
nuthin much came after…
less you got a crowded house full of smashed up pumpkins or laughter
25 Sep 2012, 00:41 am
@Robzim-290: The Boss is humble to a fault…
Great words about the Joker… But even greater words about his friend Clarence Clemons…
A Eulogy:
From the first time I saw my pal striding out of the shadows of a half empty bar in Asbury Park, a path opening up before him; here comes my brother, here comes my sax man, my inspiration, my partner, my lifelong friend.
Standing next to Clarence was like standing next to the baddest *** on the planet. You were proud, you were strong, you were excited and laughing with what might happen, with what together, you might be able to do. You felt like no matter what the day or the night brought, nothing was going to touch you.
Clarence was big, and he made me feel, and think, and love, and dream big. How big was the Big Man? Too f.ucking big to die. And that’s just the facts.
You can put it on his grave stone, you can tattoo it over your heart… Clarence doesn’t leave the E Street Band when he dies. He leaves when we die…
25 Sep 2012, 00:42 am
@fitz1ella-294:
Hey Smashing Pumpkins were ok, saw them at Centurion Cricket ground
25 Sep 2012, 00:45 am
@victoriabok-293: which ? nope I don’t I doubt.
You should go see if you can catch Dylan and Knopfler in concert it should be a pretty extraordinary encounter. Knopfler is a genius in his own right almost as much as his elder brother Bob.. far more musically endowed where Dylan is the genius of the lyric Knopfler the genius of the fret board.
25 Sep 2012, 00:51 am
@fitz1ella-297:
Dylan’s new album “Tempest”, do you like it?
25 Sep 2012, 00:51 am
@victoriabok-291: Them Pretoria milfs… Work them hard, but they not very hard work…
Just say South African without it sounding Seffrican.. Sharks without sounding Shorks and then its the “jislaaik, I like foreign”… Easy peasy
25 Sep 2012, 01:00 am
@Heavens Game-299:
If the Banshee finds out she’ll cut off your “shork”
Die tannies is nie lui nie, hulle laai daai dêng kwaai
25 Sep 2012, 01:04 am
Gone one hour past the witching hour… safe to go to bed I reckon.
25 Sep 2012, 01:36 am
I dont believe SA had more scoring chances than NZ, so not sure what HM is saying. All up the only SA stand-out piece was Bryan’s try – brilliant – but as HM says the Boks have not yet learned how to finish and I doubt they ever will. To say SA played the AB’s perfectly, not sure what game he was watching. I actually think the AB’s are just superior in their fitness and just run teams off their feet, HM alludes to this with is comment: “The teams are so close in Test rugby that that is costly. It frustrated me today in training because when we broke the line guys didn’t show an instinct to finish. They almost appeared to stop. We have to finish better.” well that just about says it all for Bok rugby. No ticker, no resilience. So the AB’s will continue to win their games whilst still trying to achieve the ‘perfect’ game, they are not far away from that and pity the poor team who is on the receiving end – I hope it is SA in Soweto – AB’s have huge support there.
25 Sep 2012, 01:39 am
I have just looked at the Poll re – will the Boks beat both the Wallabies and the AB’s – what a joke – 52 say yes – I DOUBT it, I am backing the Wallabies even though the game is at Loftus – Wallabies have too much intelligence and nous for the Boks to win this one and then come Soweto – it will be bye bye SA. I just wish some of the SA supporters would open up their other eye about who will win….go the Wallabies and AB’s…yeeeeeha!
25 Sep 2012, 02:30 am
John Pierre you sound like a mindless fool with your rantings. Shut it. We left 15 points worth of kick on teh park and would have won if we sank the easier one, nevr mind the two butchered tries. if you look at te gme again, the AB’s were stuck in their half, and resorted to desperate measures like running to get it out. I have not seen an AB pack that stumped in a while.
Normally they win the kicking game with other teams, and apply pressure themselves. We had them pinned back ,and this resulted in them giving away penaltie sin their hal- which we never finished. Our game was pressure based, and we did it bloody well with a rookie pack.
25 Sep 2012, 02:35 am
WHY NO TALK OF LAMBIE !!!!!!!!!
25 Sep 2012, 04:17 am
@JohnPierre-303: seems youve already got one of the “sense of entitilement” neanderthal supporters champing at the bait
coulda, shoulda, woulda
DIDNT…
25 Sep 2012, 05:34 am
@SjamBok-304: yeah right jappie…whatever…your team lost because it cant play the full game…end of story mate. you say pressure based and yet the AB’s still put 2 tries on you….jeez now I have heard it all…and you left 15 points on the park – well the AB’s have left twice that amount on tries alone…so you still think SA had the upper hand…twit get a life or go build a bridge…
25 Sep 2012, 05:40 am
Hey Poppa – you know I am quite prepared to have an intelligent debate with Saffers but I doubt I will get one, they are always – blaming, finger pointing, and any other excuse they can find to excuse their poor showing. I agree the Ab’s arent playing the 100percent perfect game, but sweet jeezus it’s 80pct better than what the Boks are playing. And what a boring game plan they have, if I wanted to go see a game where the ball is kicked alot, I’ll watch Liverpool anyday. The Ab’s are building nicely, sure Soweto will be hard, but our Aussie cousins will do as the favour of belting the ***** out of them and we will just breeze through, after all we have won at Soweto before…..go the mighty Wallabies and AB’s
25 Sep 2012, 06:17 am
I cannot believe that the Messiah is still hinging the Boks success on Morne. TIf the Boks win on Saturday, Lord have mercy on us. Nothing will change. It is going to be a long and painful tenure for the messiah.
Where is TACITUS when you need him most to clear up a lot of questions re the Messiah non-performance. What happened to him? Did he take a GREAT trek to Talk Rugby site. Cannot believe I am saying this but I miss reading his posts. Always enjoyd even though disagreed, While at that subject: is Tacitus the same as the old TIGHTHEAD? The mannerism seem the same.
25 Sep 2012, 07:00 am
@JohnPierre-308: you want intelligent, reasoned debate with Saffas, then I suggest you go to another site…
I have chatted with many decent Saffas on other rugby sites, seems the ones here are the toxic kind that emanate from yesterdays SA..
one even posts about Racism in NZ rugby as if SA is a utopia and it never existed in the republic, let alone their rugby… sad fact is, racists exist in every corner of the globe, something this utter fool doesnt have the capacity to comprehend
delusional– is it any wonder they are now ready to lynch Meyer, it’s the fact they think they are superior on the rugby field, and the last twenty years has been the most bitter pill for them all to swallow..
25 Sep 2012, 07:19 am
@poppa69-310: Hypocrites! The both of you. The only difference between SA and NZ/ OZ is that the minority is the Maori/ aboriginal population. Do you think the world would give a **** if SA oppressed the minority? Both OZ and NZ were/ are racist governments, only difference is that there isn’t enough ‘natives’ to make you think twice. SA is no utopia, but we are dealing with our problems, how much land has been given back to the Maori’s or the Aborigines?
One of the most pathetic things I’ve ever seen was an all white AB’s team in the 50′s or 60′s doing the Haka, was so pathetic, they looked like a bunch of poofters in tights. So why don’t we forget about political issues and focus on rugby huh?
Oh, the boks beat themselves mate, the AB’s just enjoyed the ride.
25 Sep 2012, 07:29 am
@goodstuff-311: you mean the whites in NZs team in the 50/60s at that stage were doing a minorities challenge? how racist of them..,why was it an all white AB team in the 50s or 60s?
because your racist government wouldnt allow the dark skinned fellas visas.. it wasnt until 1971 that they decided to offer “honorary white” status..
please outline to me how the “racist NZ government” has ever stopped anyone of any colour entering NZ? the only time they will stop someone is because of criminal records, never the colour of their skin
talk about hypocritical indeed… casting stones while living in the biggest fcken glasshouse ever…
25 Sep 2012, 07:34 am
@poppa69-312:
“the only time they will stop someone is because of criminal records, ”
Was that to keep out the Aussies?
25 Sep 2012, 07:36 am
@David-313:
25 Sep 2012, 07:43 am
Where is the voting button for neither?
Also,this is the funniest statement so far on this site “There is a sense that a large portion of the South African rugby fraternity has lost patience with Steyn”
25 Sep 2012, 07:48 am
Ug, why o why is it so difficult to just make rugby decisions?
HM shouldnt get sentimental and MS wont break into two pieces if he gets dropped. What does this poor guy have to do to get a break from it all? This cant be good for the player…
Goosen and Jantjies/Lambie are the future. They are better flyhalves and should be receiving the encouragement and belief from their coach by awarding them the responsibility going forward.
By keeping Steyn, HM is neglecting Jantjies and is wasting time to help the player at top level.
They are better and Steyn is past his prime. He had a great test career he can be proud of. He’s out of form and currently not the best 10.
Its not that big a deal or it shouldnt be.
25 Sep 2012, 07:54 am
@Jeez-316: I bet once both players finish proving themselves, one will be split to fullback, i.e. Lambie
25 Sep 2012, 08:09 am
@garth-317:
I dont think Lambie will ever be the number one test fullback… Taute will probably be the longterm answer if Kirchner ever gets dropped… Imo Lambie is a brilliant flyhalf, but Jantjies is better due to his superior kicking game…
So its sad to say that he probably wont be a regular bok. But like i said thats just the way it goes and just proof that we have quality depth in SA.
25 Sep 2012, 08:21 am
@poppa69-312: Sorry, my mistake, it was 1973 in Cardiff ( see youtube link, so your argument about SA does not apply), pathetic how white New Zealanders claim the culture of the Maoris; who by the way they blame for all their problems.
My point was not that there was no Moaris in the team but rather that Europeans who have oppressed all natives of every country they have colonised can think they can claim the oppressed peoples culture. It’s like an Afrikaaner doing a Zulu war dance, doesn’t make sense.
The glass house you are talking about is all broken boet, South Africa is making a concorted effort to right the wrongs of the past, hence all the quota issues in sport. I doubt NZ ever tried to correct the wrongs of the past. In SA the oppressed are now the oppressors; even to the extent that they are oppressing their own people. My point was that if the Moaris were the majority then you can bet your *** that NZ would be whole different kind of country.
25 Sep 2012, 08:22 am
@poppa69-312: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=emJyEa4z2Ec
25 Sep 2012, 08:56 am
30 tests in a row, 16 wins
his form over his whole bok career has been poor
if just over 50% win record is good enough for us
shoot me now
25 Sep 2012, 09:14 am
Quote from the Australasian tour:
“I’m a guy who backs the players, will give them continuity and once we’ve played away from home then I’ll look at the combinations and be ruthless.”
HM doesnt seem to be too ruthless….
When is he going to start to back the right players?
25 Sep 2012, 09:49 am
@goodstuff-319:
Quit while you are only a mile behind, because you are making comments that are clearly devoid of the basic research a 10 year old would know where to look.
Stick to Rugby, we are all geniuses on that topic.
25 Sep 2012, 09:59 am
@Brads-323: These NZ’s and Aussies are so bloody full of themselves. Just thought I should get them excited, as they only come here to make a noise. One doen’t go to the opposition pub and brag about how **** they are, that would result in gettting hospitlized, but because this is the internet they can come here and spout their windgat **** whitout getting clapped!
25 Sep 2012, 10:06 am
If the Boks keep improving on their effort in dunedin, they’ll put 40 up on the wobblies.
I could play flyhalf.
25 Sep 2012, 10:08 am
oh, and i still fancy the argies by 8.
25 Sep 2012, 10:09 am
@goodstuff-324:
it makes it easy to understand how they can support such a dirty team.
25 Sep 2012, 10:09 am
So Morne will start on Saturday then. Looks like Meyer has made his decision.
25 Sep 2012, 10:11 am
@rossoneri-328:
morne will be on the bench I think.
25 Sep 2012, 10:14 am
@JohnPierre-308: I agree with a lot of what you say but please, when refering to the Aussies, dont call them your cousins, use the proper terminology ie replace cousins with superiors.
25 Sep 2012, 10:25 am
The odds are now 1:3 on the Boks to win at Loftus
Down from 1:4 yesterday, it means the odds makers put the Boks ahead anyway for a win but MS’ inclusion reduced the margins slightly.
The Wallabies are woeful and HM knows it so no risk sticking with Styen, he will score a big credit if proves his detractors wrong, it’s obvious that HM knows damn well the result on Saturday decided by the paid referee.
25 Sep 2012, 10:26 am
@SuperStirrer-330: The educated Aussies went to NZ. Explains why Poppa went back to Aussieland
25 Sep 2012, 10:28 am
This is pathetic, I feel sorry for Elton, been stuffed around by Meyer the whole year. Also feel sorry for Morne who should have been given a chance to find form in the Currie Cup.
SINCE WHEN IS TEST RUGBY THE PLACE TO FIND FORM??? SPIES, HABANA AND MORNE HAVE ALL BEEN STUFFED AROUND IN THIS REGARD
25 Sep 2012, 10:43 am
@goodstuff-319: look up treaty of waitangi reparations dckhead..
then try to comment on something you actually know about
like burning tyre necklaces
or carjacking
or murder
or showering to cure aids
or corrective rape
@mikeybrass-332: hahaha says the boy trying to be a man..
run along boy, havent you got a lot of old skeletons to dig up? start with apartheid, Im sure there would be years of material there for you to work with, you could check out your old mans and your uncles handiwork huh?
25 Sep 2012, 10:46 am
@Bok fan-333: i for one have been vociferous about all three of them! FFS morne got his chance at Loftus and in Bloem because the incumbent coach at the time decided to yank ruan off the field as his kicking (and not his general play, which was WAY superior than anything morne has ever done in his whole playing careers) was off!
at halftime in Bloem against the All Blacks ruan was off and MSteyn played from that day onwards…
why can’t meyer make the same call?
why show BLATANT favouritism?
25 Sep 2012, 10:47 am
Morne Steyn is useless how many chances does he need, he adds no value.
Plenty of water under the bridge, uselessness, is identifying with medkocrity .
25 Sep 2012, 10:48 am
you actually believe that treaty of waitangi kak?
how much of new zealands land do you still own?
you are smarter than this pops
dont be an idiot
25 Sep 2012, 10:49 am
@Druk a Drie-305: HE IS A UTILITY BACK AND AT BEST A FULLBACK. WE ARE TALKING ABOUT FLYHALVES LIKE THE GOOSE AND ELTON – NOT STEYN AND LAMBIE.
25 Sep 2012, 10:49 am
@poppa69-334: Why do you always go there? Is there a name for this psychological condition?
25 Sep 2012, 10:53 am
Oh damn expect to see Morne and Zane in the starting 15.
25 Sep 2012, 10:58 am
@katman-339: because the state of your country abhors me, and of the 20% who actually have access to the internet, many of them are quick to point fingers in others direction while remaining completely oblivious to their own problems..
just pointing it out to them..,
25 Sep 2012, 11:00 am
like many indigenous and native peoples the world over the maori/polynesian inhabitants of nz were colonised and their lands taken from them by the newly arriving european settlers to nz.
mind you the maori/polynesian peoples/tribes were themselves invaders and colonisers of an even earlier melanesian people/tribe.
this is the story of life and if it makes a difference it can be noted that european peoples too suffered from invasions and colonisations of/by non european peoples/tribes.
25 Sep 2012, 11:02 am
dont make a fool of yourself or us with this larfable treaty of waitangi kak.
25 Sep 2012, 11:04 am
treaty of waitangi…?..
you make me larf sometimes
25 Sep 2012, 11:04 am
@Transformation-335: I know. Makes the blood boil. RIDICULOUS
PS Had Pienaar not had the kicking duties, he would be another Larkham by now. Morne should have come on at 15 to kick
25 Sep 2012, 11:08 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-343: enlighten us on your expertise about the treaty Bakkies..
you seem to know so much about NZs history and how inconsequential the treaty is, apparently?
25 Sep 2012, 11:09 am
New Zealand has the highest rate of RAPE in the world
Only 9 percent of rapes [and sexual crimes] are reported [registered by the police] in New Zealand according to government figures. Of the reported cases, only 13 percent end in a conviction.
91 percent of the rapes either go unreported, or the victims are intimidated by the police to drop complaints.
Avoid having your sweethearts raped and robbed! Don’t take them to New Zealand!
25 Sep 2012, 11:09 am
http://newzeelend.wordpress.com/raped-in-nz/
25 Sep 2012, 11:12 am
also i heard the word “pokokohua” are shouted 5 or 6 times during the NZ haka…. go google the word ….
25 Sep 2012, 11:12 am
@poppa69-346:
i am no expert pops, but a fool could tell you that the maori’s have been shafted royally as far as the land and wealth of new zealand is concerned.
if you want i can dig up some stats..?..
25 Sep 2012, 11:13 am
@poppa69-341:
do you also have “an eel up your bum”?
i believe it’s all the rage these days in nz.
25 Sep 2012, 11:17 am
@grant100-348: Is that even a proper site you are referencing. As someone who has spend a few years in each country, I don’t think you even start comparing the immoral **** that takes place in SA to NZ or anywhere else in the world for that matter.
25 Sep 2012, 11:18 am
@poppa69-341: You are so fcked in the pip, mate. Beyond help.
25 Sep 2012, 11:18 am
garth … stats don’t lie …. also per population, NZ have a higher crime rate.
25 Sep 2012, 11:20 am
@katman-353:yawn… you keep turning a blind eye to it all Katman…
25 Sep 2012, 11:21 am
@grant100-354: stats dont lie huh? read this then
Rape South Africa
Rape is an occurrence which, according to official statistics occurred approximately 16,000 times annually during the 1980s. By 2006 the official figure for rape was over 55 000 , unofficially, based on the premise put forward by the National Institute of Crime Rehabilitation that only one in twenty rapes are reported, the figure is over 494,000 a year.
This means that on average approximately one thousand three hundred women can be expected to be raped a day in South Africa.
A study by Interpol, the international police agency, has revealed that South Africa leads the world in rapes.
A woman was raped in South Africa every 17 seconds. This did not include the number of child rape victims. It was estimated that one in every two women would be raped.
Between 28 and 30 percent of adolescents reported that their first sexual encounter was forced.
Of South African men who knew somebody who had been raped, 16 percent believed that the rape survivor had enjoyed the experience and had asked for it. According to a recent study police estimated that only one in 36 rape cases was reported and of those only 15 percent culminated in a conviction.
25 Sep 2012, 11:22 am
@grant100-354: Hahaha! That’s crazy talk. NZ has many problem, but nowhere near the scale of SA. All the stats prove is that the cops in NZ can count.
25 Sep 2012, 11:24 am
@poppa69-355:
can we agree on the treaty being bogus then?
25 Sep 2012, 11:25 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-358: in your limited opinion maybe….
25 Sep 2012, 11:36 am
@poppa69-355: See what I mean? You’re completely fcked in the head.
Turning a blind eye? What does that even mean here? I’m talking about your obsession to win some kind of one-upmanship contest by gloating about our social problems. That’s mentally sick.
Am I supposed to compete with you? Would that mean I’m no longer turning a blind eye?
Take some time off and go sort your sht out. You’re an embarrassment.
25 Sep 2012, 11:41 am
@poppa69-359:
good man, my respect for you is being sincerely reevaluated as we speak.
european dominance is a relatively new phenomenon in the story of human civilisation, for the most part it was the preserve of african, middle eastern and asian societies.
25 Sep 2012, 11:49 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-361: you have respect for that t u rd?
the man is foul inside and out man, look at him going on about rape as though that kind of one-upmanship actually wins some kind of moral high ground?
there is no excuse for poopsies rants but then again life is filled with people who try to drag others down to their level.
25 Sep 2012, 11:51 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-361: poops is probably just short of 1/8 maori so he cant get the benefits designed to enslave the mind.
hence he is in aus.
we only have to deal with him on a blog, imagine actually working in the same building as this oke?
25 Sep 2012, 11:51 am
@katman-360: Poopsicle is stuck on the bottle, but that’s quite common there no?
@poppa69-356: Keep at it…..I told you yesterday that insults are going to become far more personal if you carry on with this line of shi.t and Fernly’s insults to you will be seen as plain banter. So carry on dishing it out, its gonna fly back and it won’t be politically, socially or anything correct.
25 Sep 2012, 11:53 am
from a chat with Pops’ ex-employer:
“but I can confirm that he is no longer in our employment. We asked him to clean the lifts and he spent four days on the job. When I asked him why, he replied: ‘Well, there are forty of them, two on each floor, and sometimes some of them
aren’t there’. Eventually, we realised that he thought each floor had a different lift, and he’d cleaned the same two twelve times. “We had to let him go.”
25 Sep 2012, 11:56 am
@grant100-349: Sorry Grant100, that word is not in either haka.
25 Sep 2012, 11:57 am
@trupisero-364: thats what he wants though bud, he isnt looking for polite conversation.
its all too easy for him to dress it up as “returning serve” based on comments by a few on this site when what he actually seeks is hate because it feeds the hate inside him.
he is an object of pity trupi, nothing more.
25 Sep 2012, 11:58 am
@trupisero-365:
25 Sep 2012, 12:00 pm
@trupisero-365: Thats Pooper… Keo’s very own Pasifika “bro”… Lifts dont reach the top floor.
25 Sep 2012, 12:00 pm
@rangerman-367: ja, also true. moetsekerdiedompoesjammerkrysmiley
25 Sep 2012, 12:06 pm
My son from partial bonehead heritage will be doing his kapa-haka tomorrow in front of hundreds. I think it’s awesome, but think Verwoed would be turning in his grave.
25 Sep 2012, 12:06 pm
@rangerman-362:
i meant my respect with regard to this specicific point of contention is being ‘reevaluated’.
pops and i still have along way to go.
@rangerman-363:
he is complicated, our pops.
hehe i wouldn’t want to work in the same bulding as pops but i would enjoy going to pubs with him and watching the odd spectacle of pk’s flying this way and that once he pisses some big boytijes off.
25 Sep 2012, 12:10 pm
@garth-371: its all good bud, its good that he has taken the culture of his homeland to heart imo.
after all, migration has been a constant throughout human history and “die volk” are nothing more than an engineered nation consisting of european and inigenous bloodlines.
think of your son as one of the new trekkers.
25 Sep 2012, 12:11 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-372: hehe, poops would have you in a bit of trouble for sure.
25 Sep 2012, 12:13 pm
@rangerman-373: Ja, ‘n dapper draadtrekker.
25 Sep 2012, 12:16 pm
@katman-375: Nice
25 Sep 2012, 12:19 pm
@garth-376: I forgot to add the smiley. I meant no real insult to your offspring.
25 Sep 2012, 12:27 pm
@katman-377: and if Garth was ‘n trekker he’d have no offspring…
25 Sep 2012, 12:30 pm
@trupisero-378: Or if he used an oortrekker.
25 Sep 2012, 12:46 pm
This thread is funny.
But why is it that mainly Sharks supporters are unhappy?
25 Sep 2012, 12:50 pm
@PissAnt-380: Because they’re still hurting from Saturday afternoon.
25 Sep 2012, 12:55 pm
@PissAnt-380: keegan “the christian cullen of lossies” daniel is not in the team and jacque “dom kamikaze” pottie is in.
25 Sep 2012, 12:59 pm
With Frans possibly injured and Morne out of favour, this could be a stainless steel Bok team, come Saturday!
25 Sep 2012, 13:02 pm
@katman-381: good win on sat, back to back currie cups would be sweet..
25 Sep 2012, 13:03 pm
@PissAnt-380: its mainly non-bull supporters.
25 Sep 2012, 13:05 pm
@PissAnt-380: i am happy, very happy.
25 Sep 2012, 13:07 pm
@BuckTrendy-384: Ja, was a tense game. Not always pretty, but see-sawed all the way.
I’m not counting this particular chicken just yet though.
Got my tickets at the company suite for Saturday – will be taking my boy again. Should be good.
25 Sep 2012, 13:09 pm
@katman-387: should be classic between the 2 premier teams in the currie cup!
25 Sep 2012, 13:10 pm
@katman-387: was a great game and congrats to the lions.
so much for the cc being a dead comp.
i have loved this years cc.
@BuckTrendy-388: Ha ha. Every week we play a different team, but it’s always a top-of-the-table clash. Go figure.
@BuckTrendy-388: the lions are playing the sharks again this weekend?
25 Sep 2012, 13:11 pm
I see Ryan is in Pretoria
I wonder where he is staying, I want to take him 12 koesiestis and reprimand him for writing such ugly stuff about PdV and such nice things about Meyer
I want to say to him what Gio Appels said to JP Petersen when they had an altercation: DJY!!!!!
25 Sep 2012, 13:12 pm
arent the sharks still ahead of the stormers?
yes, yes they are.
and wp cannot in any shape or form be considered a premier team given their abscence from the silverware table for over a decade
25 Sep 2012, 13:14 pm
the all blacks team will be interesting next year sans mccaw, carter and nonu
McCaw: Will resist big-money offers from Europe
Dan Carter and Ma’a Nonu are both taking a break from international rugby next year and will play for Perpignan and Ricoh Black Rams respectively.
McCaw could expect to be offered a hugely lucrative package, particularly from a French club, but the flanker says his battered body needs a rest if he is to be fit to play in the 2015 World Cup.
“The body takes a pounding regularly,” said McCaw, who is likely to sit out next year’s Super Rugby season. “But it’s when you lose that desire to get yourself over that and ready for the next week, that’s when you start to have enough.
“The big thing I want to make sure is there is not a perception I’m just hanging in there and just being around for the sake of it.
“I still want to do it right and having that break is going to hopefully invigorate the next couple of years.
“Sometimes having a break here and there reminds you how much fun it is when you put the jersey on. I still absolutely love it.”
25 Sep 2012, 13:14 pm
@Sheriff-392: gio actually said “n..aaaaa…..y!”
what the audio didnt pick up was the “baaaas” part.
25 Sep 2012, 13:16 pm
@Transformation-394: ah well, the boks are missing fdp and jaque fourie so i guess it all evens out.
25 Sep 2012, 13:21 pm
@rangerman-374:
lets just say it wont be pretty, and would probably cost me a few pk’s myself but for every one i’d get he should about four or five.
or i could go for the smart humane strategy and give him a moerse pk myself on the oke who’s about to moer him’s behalf and then just apologise.
always a nifty strategy to pull when you ‘know’ you’re about to get your lights put out and its your doos drunken buddy’s fault
25 Sep 2012, 13:23 pm
@rangerman-395:
Appels is ‘n yster; hy sal vir JP swak maak
25 Sep 2012, 13:26 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-397:
poopsies not gonna like that at all.
cue:
tongue pulling throat slitting chest beating from the escape artist.
@Sheriff-398: appels will get hammered into the ground like a tent peg by JPP.
it will make what JPP did to the little welsh hobbit williams look like party time on loveboat.
25 Sep 2012, 13:33 pm
@rangerman-399:
Djy vat nogals vi Appels virri pop my bru
Appels gat vi hom stiek
25 Sep 2012, 13:38 pm
I’ve checked again, Elton Jantjies has the perfect kind of hairstyle that I would like all Bok players to switch to
Even Heyneke
If that happens then Hannon can become the Boks’ preferred hair products supplier
25 Sep 2012, 13:40 pm
I’m sorry Meyer, you’ve lost any respect I had for you, Obviously provincialism in ingrained in your DNA and favouritism even more so.
Take a hike buddy, make way for Mallet or Carel Dup.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-372: LOL nah he’s definitely a keyboard warrior, that one
All p*ss and vinegar online, in real lfe wouldn’t say boo to a mouse. I know the type well.
I wish he would sort out his mommy issues elsewhere, the guy needs serious professional help, he’s crazier than a bag full of ferrets.
Keo, Why is ‘none’ not an option on the poll today?
25 Sep 2012, 13:42 pm
@Sheriff-400:
nah, they are probably mates off the field.
25 Sep 2012, 13:43 pm
@logie_Jumpbuck-402: I agree with Dusky, I also thought he would be better than this, thought he had more integrity.
I hear what he says about not discarding a guy like Steyn, but for goodness sakes, what’s wrong with dropping him to a few Currie cup games to get his head right? Especially given how much pressure he will be under if he does start
25 Sep 2012, 13:45 pm
@rangerman-399:
incidentally, the nifty ‘give your buddy a pk to save us both getting a hiding’ get out of jail card is one i’d like to pull on transie too, someday
25 Sep 2012, 13:48 pm
@Atreides-406:
he’s a special one old pops.
and dont think reading about himself when we discuss him doesn’t get his motor going….
i bet he lives for this, like a junkie
25 Sep 2012, 13:53 pm
@rangerman-405:
I’m sure they are
25 Sep 2012, 13:55 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-408: Yea i sometimes wonder if he realizes what a despicable creature he actually is, but then I have to remind myself that trolls don;t think like normal people
Someone should let him in on the secret about the socioeconomic and demographic breakdown of rape occurences in SA too…he’s barking up the wrong tree on an internet blog
25 Sep 2012, 13:57 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-350:
So a south african is now telling us all about the treaty of Waitangi.
You telling us the Maoris have been shafted yet not a whisper about your own country.
Bring up your stats. Bring up the stats for each tribe as they have been given different land settlements etc.
I for one dont think its in anyway a discussion point on a rugby blog.
When a South African talks cr@p about something that has nothing to do with them especially if they think the internet and the stats on there are gospel, i suggest shuting up.
25 Sep 2012, 14:00 pm
@rangerman-396:
So we will miss Carter, McCawsome and Nonu and you think FDP and Fourie evens it out.
lol, those players are not even in the same calibre as the ABs.
25 Sep 2012, 14:02 pm
@Sheriff-401:
i wanna cut that laaities hair so badly every time i see him play
he should go for a mohawk like mastriet’s it would look a lot better than that terible wet whatever he’s got going there.
does he cut his own hair? it really is an unusual style.
25 Sep 2012, 14:03 pm
@Atreides-410:
well, if pissinng in the wind’s your thing then be my guest
25 Sep 2012, 14:04 pm
@Atreides-406: Exactly! He’s acting like a father protecting his sons…..or worse, a Sheppard protecting his sheep. Who does he think he is?
25 Sep 2012, 14:04 pm
@Hurricane-411:
stick around hurri old chum.
i’m putting you back in school here boet.
25 Sep 2012, 14:09 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-416:
I know exactly.I am a Maori. I know what my tribe has got and what is coming.
You go find your stats from the internet. I live here and am into Maoridom.
There is alot going down as we speak. But again you have no place in what NZ does when your own country is not any better.
I wont go down the road of throwing all your bad stats around as i dont really get a kick out of it.
But you seem to love it.
25 Sep 2012, 14:10 pm
@logie_Jumpbuck-415: I don’t disagree with Meyer that players need to feel secure and know that a coach trusts them and won’t boot them at the drop of a hat, but Meyer should have the guts to explain to him that he is being dropped for his own good, play a few cc games to get his form back and his head right, and that he needs to make his claim for the 10 jersey through his playing…not through some sort of right to the jersey as the incumbent
25 Sep 2012, 14:20 pm
@Atreides-418: It’s sport ffs! If you’re not good enough you get dropped. That’s how it works.
25 Sep 2012, 14:21 pm
Pops had another meltdown?
25 Sep 2012, 14:23 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-413:
Be careful now.
We have moved from ‘eendrag maak mag’ to ‘unity in diversity’
It’s a way for him to express himself, in other words: this is me, world. I like that about him. Some guys wear expensive watches and then make sure that they put it on display there for you and me to see (not just juju)
Do you think Heyneke discriminate him because of hi unique hairstyle?
I dont see him doing that with Francois Yoghurt. The only stat of him that has improved is the number of tattoos but that’s ok with Heyneke…
25 Sep 2012, 14:26 pm
By the way, I see Meyer suggested that DeHan Greyling will not play for the Boks again.
1stly – why call him DeHAN when his name is clearly ‘DEEHN’; why create that type of confusion in world rugby?
2ndly – why choose him in the first place? You need not be a rocket scientist to see that this is the type of ‘betrek klap’ Loftus bloke
Why, I ask you: why??
25 Sep 2012, 14:28 pm
@Dawn-420: Where does one end and the next one start?
25 Sep 2012, 14:39 pm
@Sheriff-422: want hy is n buffel….n bakkies botha tipe. we needed one, only not so dom.
25 Sep 2012, 14:53 pm
@Hurricane-417:
no, no kicks hurri.
we dont have to talk about it.
@Sheriff-421:
look, there are a number of ridiculous hairstyles out there, even hair colouring going on. i just think it could be made to look a lot more appealing if it was professionally done. for me it does not suit him at present.
the same or at least similiar look suits mastriet and blommetjies the way they have done it.
and no, its not about his hairstyle its about his style of play and some or other seemingly negative (or at least lesser) perceptions meyer has about him.
its the same for lambie, who meyer does not rate as a flyhalf
or hougaard, who meyer does not think is up to bok scrumhalf ability at present.
or daniel
or potgieter
or brussow
25 Sep 2012, 15:03 pm
So Meyer soek buffels in sy span?
Met ander woorde: hy is ‘n buffel coach
G’n wonder dit gaan so sleg met ons nasionale rugbyspan nie
Wa’ het jy nou al gehoor van ‘n buffel coach?
25 Sep 2012, 15:32 pm
Im probably repeating what has already been said here, but I dont think anyone is talking about “throwing away”.
We ARE talking about giving a tired, struggling player a break.
HM’s reasoning that Morne would play for the Bulls anyway is flawed cos Currie Cup is not Test and Morne would be able to get his groove back.
We ARE also talking about picking players on form and trying to win every Test (both aims that HM himself announced).
If someone like Spies suddenly hits amazing form (I hope it will happen!) then play him at 8 again.
If Morne gets back his metronome for kicking, then bring him back.
Right now, there are better options for the team. That is sport, that is trying to win, and that should be the Springboks.
25 Sep 2012, 15:35 pm
“when we broke the line guys didn’t show an instinct to finish. They almost appeared to stop.” – this is because they are not used to breaking the line! Esp with a kicking fly-half (and usually a kicking scrumhalf!).
Bryan Habana WAS struggling and shouldve been dropped to play Currie Cup. He is still not 100%, but he is better.
If Goosen is injured, then Elton can start (he should be starting IMO). Morne on bench even if must be
25 Sep 2012, 21:48 pm
To be fair to Morne, we should kick him away.
25 Sep 2012, 21:53 pm
@garth-429: If HM soo truely worried abt MS workload and fact that if dropped out he’d still end up starting in Currie Cup…he really could just not have him in match 22 and he’d get the rest he needs!
Win win
25 Sep 2012, 22:21 pm
As an all black fan, I find all the hand wringing about protecting this that or the other no10 extremely perplexing.
NZ rugby lore is that the no10 is the most important player on the field.
Morne steyn singlehandedly lost the bold the game in Dunedin. If he had kicked his kicks you would have won. It would be irrelevant to an AB coach that others also blew try scoring opportunities – morne himself could and should have won the game for you, or on a bad day would have kept you within a single penalty of the win and earned you field position in the AB 22. To fall so short of those requirements would mean only one thing for an AB No10 – immediately dropped.
It would not matter who was coming up behind, or how inexperienced they were, they would be dropped and someone else tried.
Poor form is less clear cut, but without a doubt morne’s extended run of poor form would have seen him dropped from the ab’s before Dunedin.
All of this would happen without consideration of who the alternatives were – the assumption being that trying someone new has to be better than the status quo.
It astounds me that book rugby lacks this ruthless commitment to performance. But what astounds me even more is that you worry about dropping steyn for fear of the pressure this will put on either goosen or janties. This is ridiculous – you have frans steyn to kick the goals if need be, and two good no 10′s in the team already in the form of pienar and lambie their presence can be used to take pressure off the new guy (eg taking kick offs, doing more of the kicking in general play etc).
The all blacks used this system so effectively with weepu and cruden at the wc, until weepu injured his groin in the warm up for the final.
To put it in perspective, the bols have far better cover for no 10 in the match day 22 at Dunedin than the all blacks had available in Te whole of the World Cup. This is even excluding janties who wasn’t at Dunedin.
Honestly, it is beyond bizarre that you don’t drop steyn and start working with he incredible depth you have in the rest if the team.
Change isn’t a guarantee of immediate success, and this strategy has resulted in some terrible 10′s playing for the Ab’s (bachop, Donald),BUT overall this strategy has served the all blacks incredibly well over the last 20 years.
25 Sep 2012, 22:35 pm
@corporal punishment-431: This must be thee most astute comment I’ve seen on this blog in sometime and needs to be framed
We need to summon Transie to archive this along with his other transcripts!
Its beyond me that we feel we can’t drop MS and not back of the other youngsters, his performance singe handedly cost us the game, not Greyling and performance wise he should be dropped…End of story!