Meyer: We can’t throw Morne away
25 Sep 2012
Heyneke Meyer says dropping Morne Steyn from the Springboks’ squad was not the solution to remedying his struggles.
Steyn has been the central villain in what has been a nightmare Rugby Championship campaign for the Springboks. His ball-in-hand play is widely perceived to be average, while his tactical and goal kicking has lacked its trademark accuracy.
There is a sense that a large portion of the South African rugby fraternity has lost patience with Steyn, the tipping point coming in their most recent Test against the All Blacks in Dunedin, where he missed kicks which were decisive in the final analysis.
Meyer has consistently voiced his view that Steyn’s heavy workload over the last three years has compromised him and reiterated this after the Dunedin defeat once more. He intimated then that he would rest Steyn for the home leg, but said those plans were shelved in light of a ruling that requires Springboks players to compete in the Currie Cup if not in the squad.
‘We need to look at how we manage our players but it was best that he stayed involved,’ Meyer said. ‘There is a lot of criticism [directed] at Morne, but you’re still working with a human being. If you look at when Bryan [Habana] was struggling, as a coach you can’t just throw a guy away and expect him to come back stronger. I’m not the type of coach to just throw a guy away.
‘Obviously if you do stupid things there’s no sympathy [Meyer would later suggest that Dean Greyling wouldn't play Test rugby again because of his cowardly assault Richie McCaw]. But Morne’s general play was good, it was his kicking that was poor and we have to work on that. It is great to have him in the group, especially with Johan Goosen not being 100% fit [bruised heel]. I can already see being back home has helped him.’
Meyer continued to defend his gameplan, which is thought to be too conservative, stressing that his belief in its effectiveness hasn’t diminished. ‘There’s been a lot of talk about the gameplan but I thought we played the All Blacks perfectly,’ he said.
‘We had more scoring chances than them but we finished poorly. We didn’t convert pressure into points. The teams are so close in Test rugby that that is costly. It frustrated me today in training because when we broke the line guys didn’t show an instinct to finish. They almost appeared to stop. We have to finish better. There isn’t a lot to change in the gameplan, we just have to finish better.’
He also suggested that expectations need to be tempered in keeping with his infancy in the role. ‘I’ve checked the stats, Steve Hansen has been with the All Blacks for 100 Tests. Robbie Deans has just surpassed Bob Dwyer’s 65 Tests as coach. The Argentinian coach has been there for four or five years. I’ve been with the team for seven weeks,’ he said.
‘When you take over a new team with new coaching staff and players and take on the top sides in the world there will be a bit of self doubt for everybody. The players know they could have beaten Australia and New Zealand. But I sense the self-belief is growing. That comes with experience and we’re short on that. But we’re home now and the lessons from those defeats must show in our performances.’
By Ryan Vrede, in Pretoria

432 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All
24 Sep 2012, 19:53 pm
@TASSIES-39:

Nou smaak ek somma vir ‘n nogge dop.
24 Sep 2012, 19:54 pm
@Dusky-41:
see, this is the kind of thinking that will get you to a final time and again and no further.
seriously
of course there was a plan
and before there was a plan
there was a man
Morne is/was a great kicker. Currently out of form definitely but one can regain one’s form. But(and this is a looming large but…) he is not a great pivot/flyhalf. Never has been. He sits too deep in the pocket to do the overall job to full effect. He’s a kicking flyhalf for sure but his inclusion makes the Bok backline one-dimensional. And that doesn’t work at this level. We’ve seen that all to recently.
@TASSIES-45: He does ? Seem a decent person ? Maybe….but have you seen him shouting liking someone possessed into the handset in the coaching box ?
This is the impression I get about Heyneke. I think he has favourites that he coo’s over. I think he stands like ‘blue daddy’ next to Morne at kicking practise, encouraging him to the point of begging kick after kick.
I think after the game, he k@ks out guys like Mvovo, Daniel etc. and sends them home after one or two average (not even poor) performances.
So – nice person ? Depends how you define that.
24 Sep 2012, 19:55 pm
i still think morne will sit on the bench keeping it warm for 80 minutes.
24 Sep 2012, 19:56 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-55: i think he’s too out of form to even warm the bench properly
24 Sep 2012, 19:57 pm
Protectionisme. An apartheid habit. Wakker skrik, HM. Elton raak wys.
24 Sep 2012, 19:58 pm
@KeurboomPark-57: Elton is in great form! This guy deserves a proper chance!
@Dusky-49: If you are right boet, and I sincerely hope you aren’t, then we are in for a stressful period. Hope you have your meds ready just in case.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-52: Listen, bringing up 2007 is a classic, ou blou ‘exit from an uncomfortable argument’ strategy. Isn’t going to work here.
I hear what you are saying. My opinion is that Heyneke was lucky. He had his failures before he went to the Bulls and by an incredible coincidence managed to pull a group of young world class players together at the Bulls.
Now he just looks like he is grabbing straws. Clueless if you ask me. I would even have Nick Mallet back…and that is saying something from me.
24 Sep 2012, 19:59 pm
@Dusky-41: Meyer exposed himself when he went up north to the UK. They too bought into the ‘BRAND’ that is Heyneke Meyer……(Derick Hougaard was dragged north by default clinging onto the Messiah’s croc straps). That on it’s own told me all I needed to know about this so-called “Rugby Man”. His entire brand is built and WILL always be built on a specific type of 1o, hence the NEED to have his Liefling follow him north. No kicking 10 = no Meyer.
Meyer really doesn’t have anything else to offer.
I feel so fuckingsorry for Morne Steyn, I honestly do. He doesn’t deserve any of this sh y te. Meyer however, deserves plenty.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-48: Bakkies, I think those who DO have the team’s (and individual player’s) best interests at heart, are those who are questioning just whatthefuckitis Meyer is doing.
24 Sep 2012, 19:59 pm
@TASSIES-59: Ag nee wat. Doesn’t stress me out that much. I know this has to happen for the greater good.
24 Sep 2012, 20:00 pm
just becauae elton is a cc legend doesnt count for much in my book.
superrugby he is nowhere so far.
24 Sep 2012, 20:00 pm
@Dusky-50:
is this one of those ‘i promise you, you wont feel a thing’ moments..?..
because if it is, i can only say:
Why can’t you see
What you’re doing to me
When you don’t believe a word I say?
We can’t go on together
With suspicious minds
And we can’t build our dreams
On suspicious minds
24 Sep 2012, 20:01 pm
@Dusky-54: well we don’t actually know mate. Sure one can speculate but then it’s well….speculation. Not fact. But who am I to argue because I know just a little about the man. That mike = pure emotion/passion. That’s what I see.
24 Sep 2012, 20:03 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-63: Neither was Morne Steyn.
24 Sep 2012, 20:04 pm
@Dusky-66:
true but he is a super rugby legend
24 Sep 2012, 20:05 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-61:
by all means, question away.
this is not new territiory for meyer
been there bought the t-shirt
24 Sep 2012, 20:05 pm
@Dusky-54: No, he doesn’t seem to be a nice person. The manner in which he has hung certain players out to dry in press conferences and post match ‘chats’ is deplorable.
So far he has lied to/fuckedup/and mistreated the following: de Jongh, Lambie, Daniel, Mvovo, Bekker, Hougaard, F Steyn and JDV, Habana, Brussow, Jantjies, Kolisi, Aplon, JJ Engelbrecht etc etc etc etc etc…….
Most notably though (in my case for saying he doesn’t seem to be a ‘nice’ person), is the fact that to this point, not ONCE has he admitted to making mistakes re: gameplan and selection. According to him, it has all been: inexperience/player injuries/a team that doesn’t travel well/execution/the centres and him being a new coach…….
Totaltotaltotalbullshitfromaprizebullshitter.
24 Sep 2012, 20:06 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-67: No he is not. Only in Heyneke and your minds. Thats the problem.
24 Sep 2012, 20:06 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-61: notwithstanding your anti-sharks bias
your posts are pretty spot on! but maybe that’s just because we agree meyer is a fuckindoos!
24 Sep 2012, 20:07 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-68: This time round Bakkies, there is ONE huge difference. We don’t have 5 years for Meyer to get it right……
24 Sep 2012, 20:09 pm
@Dusky-60: I don’t think it’s as simple as that. You can have an incredibly talented bunch of players and screw them up with poor coaching methods. Meyer didn’t. This is not to say that he doesn’t have the same situation here with the Boks. He just lacks the FdP to execute his specific game plan. He was a one off I think. No, Meyer needs to learn to coach a rugby team and not a one trick pony game plan, is what I believe. He’s missing the pony and failing. Pony’s gone.
24 Sep 2012, 20:09 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-72: Zibi moet in ‘n noordelike rigting vertrek…
24 Sep 2012, 20:10 pm
@Dusky-60:
“and by an incredible coincidence managed to pull a group of young world class players together “…hehehe you are a funny one…
and when the magic trick is repeated what then?
will you crow in awe at the mesmerising sleight of magical hands manoeuvre ..?..
no
dont answer it
its rhoterical
24 Sep 2012, 20:10 pm
There are too many NikNaks in the potjie.
24 Sep 2012, 20:12 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-75: if he manages to get things right i’ll happily admit i was wrong. i’m happy to make this statement because i don’t believe he’ll get it right though!
24 Sep 2012, 20:13 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-69: well I’d say that was a bit harsh. Its not what I’ve seen but no matter. If Meyer appears to have a major fault(as you correctly point out) he simply refuses to take responsibility or admit a cockeyed gameplan that simply doesn’t work. We have proof. On this score I agree with you entirely. He’s a coach. He has to be hard-arsed or he wont succeed.
24 Sep 2012, 20:15 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-69: I am all for giving the guy a shot. When he selected Zane Kirchner as his starting 15 I was a little surprised to be honest but when Zane played really well against England in the first test and Lambie had quite an average game in the second I thought perhaps he does see thing we dont.
I was prepared to give him the benefit of the doubt for leaving out Juan de Jongh and favoring the deplorably poor Wynand Olivier and I was even ok to stand by and watch how he selected ‘the pick of the weekend’ from the Currie Cup week in and week out, indiscriminately creating Springboks left, right and centre in some random approach that he doesn’t bother justifying. ‘F*k hulle…ek is die coach’
What I cannot abide is the obviously poor form Steyn is in and Meyer’s shameless turning the blind eye and clear favoritism which was definitely the reason we lost a test against the All Blacks that we should have won. All the rest I can eat up.
Heyneke must lie awake at night imagining what a victory in Dunedin could have done for him….and despite that he remains loyal to the player that lost that game for him. Some call it noble….I still call it stupid.
24 Sep 2012, 20:15 pm
@Dusky-70:
you are joking right?
Most drop-goals in a Super Rugby season (11).
Most drop goals in a Super Rugby game (4) (in the 2009 Super 14 semi-final against the Crusaders).
Most drop goals in Super Rugby (22).
Most drop goals in a Super Rugby season (11 in 2009).
Most penalties in a Super Rugby season (51 in 2010).
Most points in a Super Rugby season (263) – Beating Dan Carter’s record of 221 set in 2006.
Most points by a Bulls player in Super Rugby history (1,201).
Most points by a South African and first South African to reach 1,000 points in Super Rugby (1,201).
Biggest points margin in a super 14 final (61–17).
Biggest win in a Super Rugby match vs the Reds (92-3).
Biggest points margin in a super 14 final (61–17).
Biggest win in a Super Rugby match vs the Reds (92-3).
The only franchise from South Africa to have won the Super Rugby trophy – and on three occasions
24 Sep 2012, 20:16 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-75: If the magic trick is repeated (extremely unlikely from current affairs) I will gladly humbly recant my words.
It isn’t going to happen. Meyer & the Bulls were lucky. End of story.
@shark4life-77: ditto to that. He needs to change that plan.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-72:
absolutely right.
this time next year is life and death.
24 Sep 2012, 20:17 pm
@Dusky-79: Mate, you’re much more patient than i am! I lost faith the minute i saw Sideshow Bob and Timotei run out in the Bok jersey! But that’s me…i like instant gratification
24 Sep 2012, 20:18 pm
@shark4life-77:
good
because he will
@TASSIES-73: The pony will be back soon. I believe Spies’s finger is all but healed……**maythegodsofrugbyhelpus**
@shark4life-71: Notwithstanding your anti-WP bias – ditto.
@trupisero-74: No such luck for us. Even if Meyer is dismal, SARU won’t be able to afford to get rid of him. So all that is left is for us to hope he has a Damascus moment
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-80: All those stats suggest is that he could kick…
As in past tense…
Time for the glue factory…
24 Sep 2012, 20:19 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-80: Bakkies, you left out 16 wins from 31 games as Bok flyhalf?
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-80: Morne Steyn is no legend. Sorry. Bakkies, Victor, Fourie….those are all legends I will give you that.
Morne Steyn ? Had his purple patch, won some very important games for both the Boks and the Bulls. Legend ? Only in Pretoria and Heyneke Meyers head.
Average runner of the ball, very average to borderline poor defender and now poor kicker of the ball. Right now….Meyer Bosman would be a better bet at 10 for the Boks. He is just as average in normal play, but at least he is converting his kicks.
@Dusky-81:
good
i will be here to remind you of your words
24 Sep 2012, 20:20 pm
@TASSIES-82: Tassies, yip that would be a great start! One or two personnel changes might elevate my faith to slightly hopeful
24 Sep 2012, 20:21 pm
If Goosen injury prevents him from playing on Saturday then Jantjies is next in line.
But if Morne starts and we lose ………
24 Sep 2012, 20:21 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-80: what’s missing Bakkies? Spot it yet? No Test records. Super Rugby is not Test rugby. He might have the wood over Carter and Co at Super Rugby level but here we are talking Meyer and Test rugby. He’s an abject failure in the Meyer/Test context. And most of the rest of us couldn’t give a ******’s scrotum on the Bull’s performance history. We’re South Africans. Not Tswaneans.
24 Sep 2012, 20:22 pm
@trupisero-87:
he’s hardly past it.
@shark4life-88:
no, this is discussion on his super rugby career.
as compared to elton’s non existent one.
24 Sep 2012, 20:22 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-86: ha-ha, where have you ever seen me show anti-WP bias? Or was it inferred merely because i’m a sharks supporter?
24 Sep 2012, 20:23 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-86: Ooops, 2nd answer meant for @Dusky.
24 Sep 2012, 20:23 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-90: I wont be holding my breath. Although I might as well, Meyer wont be around for too much longer. I reckon he’ll be gone after the Boks get massacred in the end of year games.
Do we have a year end tour this year ? With clueless bang gat Morne at 10, we are going to see our gatte so badly on those wet fields. Could be embarrassing. I just hope we aren’t playing Scotland. I mourned for a week when we lost against them convincingly in 2002 at the hands of Rudolph Straueli.
24 Sep 2012, 20:24 pm
@TASSIES-93: Houston just wants to prove Stain is a SR legend…..he’s not fussed if he’s a test bellend
24 Sep 2012, 20:24 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-94: Bakkies, okay, in the context of his SR rugby career point taken! But test level not so great?
24 Sep 2012, 20:25 pm
i really dont understand why you people need to pull others down in order to lift yourselves or your favourites up.
if they are good enough they will come through.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All