Meyer: We can’t throw Morne away

Heyneke Meyer says dropping Morne Steyn from the Springboks’ squad was not the solution to remedying his struggles.

Steyn has been the central villain in what has been a nightmare Rugby Championship campaign for the Springboks. His ball-in-hand play is widely perceived to be average, while his tactical and goal kicking has lacked its trademark accuracy.

There is a sense that a large portion of the South African rugby fraternity has lost patience with Steyn, the tipping point coming in their most recent Test against the All Blacks in Dunedin, where he missed kicks which were decisive in the final analysis.

Meyer has consistently voiced his view that Steyn’s heavy workload over the last three years has compromised him and reiterated this after the Dunedin defeat once more. He intimated then that he would rest Steyn for the home leg, but said those plans were shelved in light of a ruling that requires Springboks players to compete in the Currie Cup if not in the squad.

‘We need to look at how we manage our players but it was best that he stayed involved,’ Meyer said. ‘There is a lot of criticism [directed] at Morne, but you’re still working with a human being. If you look at when Bryan [Habana] was struggling, as a coach you can’t just throw a guy away and expect him to come back stronger. I’m not the type of coach to just throw a guy away.

‘Obviously if you do stupid things there’s no sympathy [Meyer would later suggest that Dean Greyling wouldn't play Test rugby again because of his cowardly assault Richie McCaw]. But Morne’s general play was good, it was his kicking that was poor and we have to work on that. It is great to have him in the group, especially with Johan Goosen not being 100% fit [bruised heel]. I can already see being back home has helped him.’

Meyer continued to defend his gameplan, which is thought to be too conservative, stressing that his belief in its effectiveness hasn’t diminished. ‘There’s been a lot of talk about the gameplan but I thought we played the All Blacks perfectly,’ he said.

‘We had more scoring chances than them but we finished poorly. We didn’t convert pressure into points. The teams are so close in Test rugby that that is costly. It frustrated me today in training because when we broke the line guys didn’t show an instinct to finish. They almost appeared to stop. We have to finish better. There isn’t a lot to change in the gameplan, we just have to finish better.’

He also suggested that expectations need to be tempered in keeping with his infancy in the role. ‘I’ve checked the stats, Steve Hansen has been with the All Blacks for 100 Tests. Robbie Deans has just surpassed Bob Dwyer’s 65 Tests as coach. The Argentinian coach has been there for four or five years. I’ve been with the team for seven weeks,’ he said.

‘When you take over a new team with new coaching staff and players and take on the top sides in the world there will be a bit of self doubt for everybody. The players know they could have beaten Australia and New Zealand. But I sense the self-belief is growing. That comes with experience and we’re short on that. But we’re home now and the lessons from those defeats must show in our performances.’

By Ryan Vrede, in Pretoria

Follow Ryan on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter

432 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 » Show All

• 301.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Gone one hour past the witching hour… safe to go to bed I reckon.

• 302.JohnPierre: Reply to this comment

I dont believe SA had more scoring chances than NZ, so not sure what HM is saying. All up the only SA stand-out piece was Bryan’s try – brilliant – but as HM says the Boks have not yet learned how to finish and I doubt they ever will. To say SA played the AB’s perfectly, not sure what game he was watching. I actually think the AB’s are just superior in their fitness and just run teams off their feet, HM alludes to this with is comment: “The teams are so close in Test rugby that that is costly. It frustrated me today in training because when we broke the line guys didn’t show an instinct to finish. They almost appeared to stop. We have to finish better.” well that just about says it all for Bok rugby. No ticker, no resilience. So the AB’s will continue to win their games whilst still trying to achieve the ‘perfect’ game, they are not far away from that and pity the poor team who is on the receiving end – I hope it is SA in Soweto – AB’s have huge support there.

• 303.JohnPierre: Reply to this comment

I have just looked at the Poll re – will the Boks beat both the Wallabies and the AB’s – what a joke – 52 say yes – I DOUBT it, I am backing the Wallabies even though the game is at Loftus – Wallabies have too much intelligence and nous for the Boks to win this one and then come Soweto – it will be bye bye SA. I just wish some of the SA supporters would open up their other eye about who will win….go the Wallabies and AB’s…yeeeeeha!

• 304.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

John Pierre you sound like a mindless fool with your rantings. Shut it. We left 15 points worth of kick on teh park and would have won if we sank the easier one, nevr mind the two butchered tries. if you look at te gme again, the AB’s were stuck in their half, and resorted to desperate measures like running to get it out. I have not seen an AB pack that stumped in a while.

Normally they win the kicking game with other teams, and apply pressure themselves. We had them pinned back ,and this resulted in them giving away penaltie sin their hal- which we never finished. Our game was pressure based, and we did it bloody well with a rookie pack.

• 305.Druk a Drie: Reply to this comment

WHY NO TALK OF LAMBIE !!!!!!!!!

• 306.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@JohnPierre-303: seems youve already got one of the “sense of entitilement” neanderthal supporters champing at the bait

coulda, shoulda, woulda

DIDNT…

• 307.JohnPierre: Reply to this comment

@SjamBok-304: yeah right jappie…whatever…your team lost because it cant play the full game…end of story mate. you say pressure based and yet the AB’s still put 2 tries on you….jeez now I have heard it all…and you left 15 points on the park – well the AB’s have left twice that amount on tries alone…so you still think SA had the upper hand…twit get a life or go build a bridge…

• 308.JohnPierre: Reply to this comment

Hey Poppa – you know I am quite prepared to have an intelligent debate with Saffers but I doubt I will get one, they are always – blaming, finger pointing, and any other excuse they can find to excuse their poor showing. I agree the Ab’s arent playing the 100percent perfect game, but sweet jeezus it’s 80pct better than what the Boks are playing. And what a boring game plan they have, if I wanted to go see a game where the ball is kicked alot, I’ll watch Liverpool anyday. The Ab’s are building nicely, sure Soweto will be hard, but our Aussie cousins will do as the favour of belting the ***** out of them and we will just breeze through, after all we have won at Soweto before…..go the mighty Wallabies and AB’s

• 309.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

I cannot believe that the Messiah is still hinging the Boks success on Morne. TIf the Boks win on Saturday, Lord have mercy on us. Nothing will change. It is going to be a long and painful tenure for the messiah.

Where is TACITUS when you need him most to clear up a lot of questions re the Messiah non-performance. What happened to him? Did he take a GREAT trek to Talk Rugby site. Cannot believe I am saying this but I miss reading his posts. Always enjoyd even though disagreed, While at that subject: is Tacitus the same as the old TIGHTHEAD? The mannerism seem the same.

• 310.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@JohnPierre-308: you want intelligent, reasoned debate with Saffas, then I suggest you go to another site…
    I have chatted with many decent Saffas on other rugby sites, seems the ones here are the toxic kind that emanate from yesterdays SA..

one even posts about Racism in NZ rugby as if SA is a utopia and it never existed in the republic, let alone their rugby… sad fact is, racists exist in every corner of the globe, something this utter fool doesnt have the capacity to comprehend

delusional– is it any wonder they are now ready to lynch Meyer, it’s the fact they think they are superior on the rugby field, and the last twenty years has been the most bitter pill for them all to swallow..

• 311.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-310: Hypocrites! The both of you. The only difference between SA and NZ/ OZ is that the minority is the Maori/ aboriginal population. Do you think the world would give a **** if SA oppressed the minority? Both OZ and NZ were/ are racist governments, only difference is that there isn’t enough ‘natives’ to make you think twice. SA is no utopia, but we are dealing with our problems, how much land has been given back to the Maori’s or the Aborigines?

One of the most pathetic things I’ve ever seen was an all white AB’s team in the 50′s or 60′s doing the Haka, was so pathetic, they looked like a bunch of poofters in tights. So why don’t we forget about political issues and focus on rugby huh?

Oh, the boks beat themselves mate, the AB’s just enjoyed the ride.

• 312.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-311: you mean the whites in NZs team in the 50/60s at that stage were doing a minorities challenge? how racist of them..,why was it an all white AB team in the 50s or 60s?

because your racist government wouldnt allow the dark skinned fellas visas.. it wasnt until 1971 that they decided to offer “honorary white” status..

please outline to me how the “racist NZ government” has ever stopped anyone of any colour entering NZ? the only time they will stop someone is because of criminal records, never the colour of their skin

talk about hypocritical indeed… casting stones while living in the biggest fcken glasshouse ever…

• 313.David: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-312:
    “the only time they will stop someone is because of criminal records, ”

Was that to keep out the Aussies? :lol:

• 314.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@David-313: :lol:

• 315.garth: Reply to this comment

Where is the voting button for neither?

Also,this is the funniest statement so far on this site “There is a sense that a large portion of the South African rugby fraternity has lost patience with Steyn”

• 316.Jeez: Reply to this comment

Ug, why o why is it so difficult to just make rugby decisions?

HM shouldnt get sentimental and MS wont break into two pieces if he gets dropped. What does this poor guy have to do to get a break from it all? This cant be good for the player…

Goosen and Jantjies/Lambie are the future. They are better flyhalves and should be receiving the encouragement and belief from their coach by awarding them the responsibility going forward.

By keeping Steyn, HM is neglecting Jantjies and is wasting time to help the player at top level.

They are better and Steyn is past his prime. He had a great test career he can be proud of. He’s out of form and currently not the best 10.

Its not that big a deal or it shouldnt be.

• 317.garth: Reply to this comment

@Jeez-316: I bet once both players finish proving themselves, one will be split to fullback, i.e. Lambie

• 318.Jeez: Reply to this comment

@garth-317:
    I dont think Lambie will ever be the number one test fullback… Taute will probably be the longterm answer if Kirchner ever gets dropped… Imo Lambie is a brilliant flyhalf, but Jantjies is better due to his superior kicking game…

So its sad to say that he probably wont be a regular bok. But like i said thats just the way it goes and just proof that we have quality depth in SA.

• 319.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-312: Sorry, my mistake, it was 1973 in Cardiff ( see youtube link, so your argument about SA does not apply), pathetic how white New Zealanders claim the culture of the Maoris; who by the way they blame for all their problems.

My point was not that there was no Moaris in the team but rather that Europeans who have oppressed all natives of every country they have colonised can think they can claim the oppressed peoples culture. It’s like an Afrikaaner doing a Zulu war dance, doesn’t make sense.

The glass house you are talking about is all broken boet, South Africa is making a concorted effort to right the wrongs of the past, hence all the quota issues in sport. I doubt NZ ever tried to correct the wrongs of the past. In SA the oppressed are now the oppressors; even to the extent that they are oppressing their own people. My point was that if the Moaris were the majority then you can bet your *** that NZ would be whole different kind of country.

• 320.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-312: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=emJyEa4z2Ec

• 321.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

30 tests in a row, 16 wins
    his form over his whole bok career has been poor
    if just over 50% win record is good enough for us
    shoot me now

• 322.Jeez: Reply to this comment

Quote from the Australasian tour:

“I’m a guy who backs the players, will give them continuity and once we’ve played away from home then I’ll look at the combinations and be ruthless.”

HM doesnt seem to be too ruthless….

When is he going to start to back the right players?

• 323.Brads: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-319:
    Quit while you are only a mile behind, because you are making comments that are clearly devoid of the basic research a 10 year old would know where to look.

Stick to Rugby, we are all geniuses on that topic.

• 324.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Brads-323: These NZ’s and Aussies are so bloody full of themselves. Just thought I should get them excited, as they only come here to make a noise. One doen’t go to the opposition pub and brag about how **** they are, that would result in gettting hospitlized, but because this is the internet they can come here and spout their windgat **** whitout getting clapped!

• 325.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

If the Boks keep improving on their effort in dunedin, they’ll put 40 up on the wobblies.

I could play flyhalf.

• 326.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

oh, and i still fancy the argies by 8.

• 327.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-324:
    it makes it easy to understand how they can support such a dirty team.

• 328.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

So Morne will start on Saturday then. Looks like Meyer has made his decision.

• 329.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri-328:

morne will be on the bench I think.

• 330.SuperStirrer: Reply to this comment

@JohnPierre-308: I agree with a lot of what you say but please, when refering to the Aussies, dont call them your cousins, use the proper terminology ie replace cousins with superiors.

• 331.Hondo: Reply to this comment

The odds are now 1:3 on the Boks to win at Loftus
    Down from 1:4 yesterday, it means the odds makers put the Boks ahead anyway for a win but MS’ inclusion reduced the margins slightly.
    The Wallabies are woeful and HM knows it so no risk sticking with Styen, he will score a big credit if proves his detractors wrong, it’s obvious that HM knows damn well the result on Saturday decided by the paid referee.

• 332.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@SuperStirrer-330: The educated Aussies went to NZ. Explains why Poppa went back to Aussieland :-)

• 333.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

This is pathetic, I feel sorry for Elton, been stuffed around by Meyer the whole year. Also feel sorry for Morne who should have been given a chance to find form in the Currie Cup.

SINCE WHEN IS TEST RUGBY THE PLACE TO FIND FORM??? SPIES, HABANA AND MORNE HAVE ALL BEEN STUFFED AROUND IN THIS REGARD

• 334.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-319: look up treaty of waitangi reparations dckhead..

then try to comment on something you actually know about

like burning tyre necklaces
    or carjacking
    or murder
    or showering to cure aids
    or corrective rape

@mikeybrass-332: hahaha says the boy trying to be a man..
    run along boy, havent you got a lot of old skeletons to dig up? start with apartheid, Im sure there would be years of material there for you to work with, you could check out your old mans and your uncles handiwork huh?

• 335.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Bok fan-333: i for one have been vociferous about all three of them! FFS morne got his chance at Loftus and in Bloem because the incumbent coach at the time decided to yank ruan off the field as his kicking (and not his general play, which was WAY superior than anything morne has ever done in his whole playing careers) was off!

at halftime in Bloem against the All Blacks ruan was off and MSteyn played from that day onwards…

why can’t meyer make the same call?

why show BLATANT favouritism?

• 336.maximus1: Reply to this comment

Morne Steyn is useless how many chances does he need, he adds no value.
    Plenty of water under the bridge, uselessness, is identifying with medkocrity .

• 337.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

you actually believe that treaty of waitangi kak?

how much of new zealands land do you still own?

you are smarter than this pops

dont be an idiot

• 338.RL: Reply to this comment

@Druk a Drie-305: HE IS A UTILITY BACK AND AT BEST A FULLBACK. WE ARE TALKING ABOUT FLYHALVES LIKE THE GOOSE AND ELTON – NOT STEYN AND LAMBIE.

• 339.katman: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-334: Why do you always go there? Is there a name for this psychological condition?

• 340.Pepe: Reply to this comment

Oh damn expect to see Morne and Zane in the starting 15.

• 341.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@katman-339: because the state of your country abhors me, and of the 20% who actually have access to the internet, many of them are quick to point fingers in others direction while remaining completely oblivious to their own problems..

just pointing it out to them..,

• 342.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

like many indigenous and native peoples the world over the maori/polynesian inhabitants of nz were colonised and their lands taken from them by the newly arriving european settlers to nz.

mind you the maori/polynesian peoples/tribes were themselves invaders and colonisers of an even earlier melanesian people/tribe.

this is the story of life and if it makes a difference it can be noted that european peoples too suffered from invasions and colonisations of/by non european peoples/tribes.

• 343.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

dont make a fool of yourself or us with this larfable treaty of waitangi kak.

• 344.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

treaty of waitangi…?..

you make me larf sometimes

• 345.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-335: I know. Makes the blood boil. RIDICULOUS

PS Had Pienaar not had the kicking duties, he would be another Larkham by now. Morne should have come on at 15 to kick

• 346.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-343: enlighten us on your expertise about the treaty Bakkies..

you seem to know so much about NZs history and how inconsequential the treaty is, apparently?

• 347.grant100: Reply to this comment

New Zealand has the highest rate of RAPE in the world

Only 9 percent of rapes [and sexual crimes] are reported [registered by the police] in New Zealand according to government figures. Of the reported cases, only 13 percent end in a conviction.

91 percent of the rapes either go unreported, or the victims are intimidated by the police to drop complaints.
    Avoid having your sweethearts raped and robbed! Don’t take them to New Zealand!

• 348.grant100: Reply to this comment

http://newzeelend.wordpress.com/raped-in-nz/

• 349.grant100: Reply to this comment

also i heard the word “pokokohua” are shouted 5 or 6 times during the NZ haka…. go google the word ….

• 350.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-346:
    i am no expert pops, but a fool could tell you that the maori’s have been shafted royally as far as the land and wealth of new zealand is concerned.

if you want i can dig up some stats..?..

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.