Goosen’s time comes
26 Sep 2012
Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer has selected Johan Goosen at flyhalf for the Rugby Championship Test against the Wallabies on Saturday.
Keo.co.za reported yesterday that Goosen would start but Meyer surprised by completely omitting Steyn from his 22, selecting the uncapped Elton Janjties as pivot cover.
Asked about his decision to leave Steyn out, Meyer said: ‘This was very difficult, but I looked at what the team needed first and then at the impact on the individual. At Loftus, where he has played well, it is a big call. But he accepted it graciously. I feel it is in his best interest that he doesn’t play. He’ll fight back.’
Meyer said he had contemplated including Steyn’s on the bench but was dissuaded from this course of action because of the potential to expose an already under pressure player. ‘It isn’t going to help him to bring him on with 20 minutes and he ends up having to kick the game-winning or game-losing goal. I either back him 100% or not. That’s the decision I had to take,’ Meyer said.
Meyer also dispelled the perception that Goosen’s natural attacking instinct would be reigned in to come in line with a game plan that is widely perceived as conservative. He explained that a sharp assessment of the state of the defensive line was key in determining what action to take.
‘There’s a misconception that Goosen must fit into a rigid structure. He has the freedom to play the situation as he sees it,’ he said. ‘But this is not Currie Cup rugby where you have space and time. I’ve said to him to go out and express himself, that’s why I picked him. He must determine when it is on to go wide or take the safer option.’
He added: ‘People have to be realistic though, you can’t expect a 20-year-old to win the game on his own.’
Elsewhere Frans Steyn (who’s struggling with an ankle injury) is bracketed with Jaco Taute in the midfield. The Lions youngster will make his debut in the No 13 jersey if Frans Steyn fails to recover, with skipper Jean de Villiers taking over at inside centre.
‘I want two experienced guys on either side of Johan. Jaco was very good at 13 in Super Rugby,’ Meyer said in explaining this move.
The medical staff were highly optimistic about Steyn’s availability on Tuesday evening but he rolled the same ankle in Wednesday’s training session. A call on his availability will be made after the captain’s practice on Friday afternoon.
In other changes Andries Bekker and Eben Etzebeth unseat Juandre Kruger and Flip van der Merwe in the second row. ‘There is great competition at lock now,’ Meyer said. ‘Flip played his best Test ever against the All Blacks and Juandre was very good as well.
‘It was a horses for courses change there. Australia are very good at lineout time and we want to exert pressure on them there. I feel that Eben, Andries and Duane is a good combination to achieve that, as well as a little more mobile which is crucial as Australia will play expansively. Also Andries is a little more experienced and in 50-50 calls like this I always go with the more experienced guy.
Probed on why Taute had leapfrogged Juan de Jongh in the pecking order, Meyer said: ‘Jaco would have been in the squad earlier had he not been injured. He is 106kg and runs the 100m in 10.7. So I looked at the way Australia defend and thought we could exploit that [better with Taute]. I can’t elaborate on that because we’re talking game plan then. It’s a tough call on Juan.’
Coenie Oosthuizen comes onto the bench after a neck injury in the only other change to the bench.
Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jean de Villiers, 12 Frans Steyn/Jaco Taute, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermuelen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Coenie Oosthuizen, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Marcel Coetzee, 20 Elton Jantjies, 21 Jaco Taute/Juan de Jongh, 22 Pat Lambie.
By Ryan Vrede, in Johannesburg

582 Comments
26 Sep 2012, 12:33 pm
Yay
26 Sep 2012, 12:35 pm
Taute is no inside center. Can you ever imagine Jaque Fourie at 12? Nope. He is a runner, not distributor.
26 Sep 2012, 12:35 pm
YES!!!!!!
26 Sep 2012, 12:36 pm
M Steyn not even in the 22.
Strange that Taute has been bracketed at 12.
How many games has he played there?
Great move by Meyer.
@Lions_Soutie-2: De Villiers will move to 12 if Steyn pulls out.
26 Sep 2012, 12:37 pm
Sny nog net vir Zane, Heyneke.
So lyk ‘n Bok span mos.
Why is Tiaan there ???
Glad to see that HM views Taute as a midfielder.
moerse pressure on the boy, sjoe
if it goes heywire hope morne’s radar works if subbed.
Hmmmmm…mixed feelings!! Stoked That Morne out (not even on the bench)..cant quite understand how Taute seems to have leapfrogged both De Jongh and lesser extent Lambie!! Surely if Frans out – Div goes inside and Juan to outside!! Better side though without Morne Steyn….Boks by 8 -10!!
Taute has played 10 before, so prob has the skill-set.
Would like to see him at 15
26 Sep 2012, 12:38 pm
@wpstormerbok-7: Verseker!
Dis ongelooflik hoe een of twee keuses hierdie span beduidend verbeter.
Go Bokke!!
Hoop net bankie onthou hy is nr 5 nie 13 nie.
We needed hougi with goosen other wise impressive side make use of jantjies please please please
what? morne not on the bench?
wow!
For the first time this year there’s not much to moan about a Bok team.
Sharkies are gonna be pissed about Lambie but fear not his turn is around the corner.
@Lions_Soutie-2: I tend to agree… FB 1st and outside centre 2nd. 12 and 13 are very different positions.
Anyway good luck to him – he is talented.
I just want to see frieken Lambie on the field! Wake up HM.
Bekker and JDV need a big games too.
big mistake meyer
big mistake
26 Sep 2012, 12:39 pm
Flip gets dropped after his best performance…
26 Sep 2012, 12:39 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-10:
Morne isn’t in the 22.
Vergeet van Morne.
Goosen, Jantjies is the future.
26 Sep 2012, 12:40 pm
boks to lose this game
which is a pity
15-kirchner
14-de villiers
13-taute/de jong
12-steyn/taute
11-habana
10-goosen
9-hougaard
But still, I like the make up of the site
@Lions_Soutie-20: Flip is injured
26 Sep 2012, 12:41 pm
Lots of young names. Should be a great team in 3 years time
26 Sep 2012, 12:42 pm
@wpstormerbok-21:
we’re going to lose the oz home game, which is a pity really.
only question is whether meyer will reinstate morne for the nz game.
sa to lose all its home championship games this year, fark
i hope next year goes better
26 Sep 2012, 12:42 pm
@wing_14-24: oh. Thanks!
26 Sep 2012, 12:43 pm
@willievz-13:
Ons is op die regte pad.
Ek voel vir J. De Jongh met Taute wat bo hom inkom maar ten minste weet ek Taute kan ‘n spesiale speler word en dis nie nog a geval van ‘n JJ of Wynand Olivier bo De Jongh nie.
26 Sep 2012, 12:43 pm
Remember for how long Jake persisted with Barry at 12….LOL. Drove me nuts
26 Sep 2012, 12:44 pm
Great side. So so so so so pleased Morne Steyn is gone. He needs a break.
Lambie at fullback would have been nice , but its still a much improved selection.
26 Sep 2012, 12:44 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-22: rubbish!!!!
26 Sep 2012, 12:45 pm
@capebull-14: You just don’t like any WP players do you? At least you are consistent. I wish I could be more consistent in my dislike of all players BULL, but I really do rate a few of them………
(Funny though, the Bulls players I really rate aren’t liked much by your Messiah, bar Hougaard)
On a sporting note, this Bok team should give the injured Wallabies a good workover.
Taute ahead of JdJ after the latter being with the Boks for nearly 4 weeks now.
Makes no sense at all.
We’ll stand up to the Aussies at the break down with our loosies which will free up the T5 to do their basics well. That’s where we’ll beat them imo.
With our game plan I guess it does not matter much who plays in the back line, just a pity that JdJ will not get any game time for the 4th week in a row now.
I think it’s possible De Villiers will go to 12 and Taute to 13 if Steyn is not fit in time. Thanks Heyneke for dropping the Steyn creature. Please drop that Kirchner critter in due time as well. Sincerely BOK FAN.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-26:
Nope, only Zane still needs to be cut.
Pienaar has another shot as well and I think Goosen will bring out the best in those around him.
@Lions_Soutie-29:
And Jaco VdW at flyhalf. Those two were hard to watch at times.
26 Sep 2012, 12:46 pm
@wing_14-24: @Lions_Soutie-27: Would liked to have seen:
4. Flip
5. Etzebeth
Bekker on the bench
But Flip coming on with 20 to go and work too.
26 Sep 2012, 12:47 pm
I am surprised that M Steyn is out of the 22!! I would have definitely had him on the bench, but it does look like his game has gone very bad, interesting!!!!
Atleast Lambie and Jantjies are there!!
Well done HM! Finally our best 22
26 Sep 2012, 12:47 pm
The Goose will be broken by the end of the game
Aussies to send their big boys through his channel all day long
With Frans and JDV in the centres, I still dont see any bok tries..
26 Sep 2012, 12:48 pm
@blik-12: when has Taute ever played 10, let alone 12?
@nama1-33:
Feel for him as well.
But I’ll give Meyer some rope on that one.
Juan’s chance will come, JdV is on his last legs.
@wp_boytjie-36: haha. Remember his knock on “drop kick” in 49-0
OK great choice but would have started Janjies – then Goosen to come on.
Why keep Kirshner on the side, would have put in JDJ first before Taute. and Lambie again must keep the bench warm.. unbelievable – Lambie will soon get fed up, and will leave SA – You can’t blame the kid, and rightly so!!!!!!!
26 Sep 2012, 12:49 pm
37. Might well still see flip and etsbeth. Tough on flip going to the bench after his last game and bekker starting after his last game.
26 Sep 2012, 12:49 pm
@poppa69-39: aren’t you a ray of sunshine
26 Sep 2012, 12:50 pm
@wpstormerbok-35: Pienaar will need to pull his socks up. He has been fairly kak to say the least. JdJ is no international though as per your previous post. S15 at best but too one dimensional and reading the last couple of blogs is that n ot exactly what we are trying to get away from?
Would still have gone for Flip with Eben.
This team is a step forward for the Boks.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-19: what is the big mistake? HAHAHHAHAHA
@pattyfries-34:
HM said that’ll happen if Frans doesn’t play.
Brilliant, good side.
Boks by 10-15
@blik-37: Coaches are quite strict these days with the definition of a no.4 and no.5 lock …. Eben looks more like a no.5 yet plays enforcer. who knows!
26 Sep 2012, 12:51 pm
@poppa69-39: They can run at him all day long and he’ll keep putting them where they belong, on the green greeen grass of Loftus
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-22: No, it’s not!!!
@Transformation-40: Taute played 10 for the Lions: http://www.rugby365.com/article/49807-taute-ready-to-be-the-bok-bolter
26 Sep 2012, 12:52 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell-45: how much game time has goosen had back from injury?
The messiah’s player management stinks
How does Taute leap frog JDJ?
From persisting with Morne to totally out of the match day squad
And also list other poor examples of player management: JJ Engelbrect, Daniels, Potgieter,Kruger
In, out, left, right, up, down
Nee wat, the Messiah is a square plug in a round hole
SA will win this week then wolloped next week
@Transformation-40: U/21 if I am not mistaken.
26 Sep 2012, 12:53 pm
average age still half a year older than aus for first 15. fewer caps though. That’s what happens when you flog a dead horse
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-46: If Pienaar just lets the flyhalf kick more often it will be fine
@wpstormerbok-41: JDJ and Lambie should both be playing Currie Cup if this Meyer mannetjie doesn’t rate them or want them there.
26 Sep 2012, 12:54 pm
@poppa69-55: can we not just momentarily enjoy the fact that Goosen is playing in place of Morne? or are you only satisfied when we are in a perpetual state of anxiety?
@capetown-56: His player management really is bottom drawer condom kak.
@capetown-56: Fokking Kapenaars. Kan julle ook nie tevrede hou nie. First he is one dimensional then he goes and tries something new and it is still not good enough.
26 Sep 2012, 12:55 pm
@blik-54: He also played 12 in the S14. That season when the Lions didnt win anything. Transie needs to brush up on his facts.
26 Sep 2012, 12:56 pm
@poppa69-39: jees you talk **** sometimes, no sorry – you just talk ****
@Lions_Soutie-51: Etzebeth is capable of playing 4 or 5. Bekker is a 5 and Flip a 4, Kruger a 5.
why the big surprise that Steyn is dropped? Get rid of Kirchner and replace with Lambie / Taute. Put Hougaard back to scrumhalf. Drop JdV he is creating nothing….and will not be around for next RWC. HM is still far too conservative.
26 Sep 2012, 12:57 pm
@Bokbafana-31:
just wait, boet.
@wpstormerbok-35:
its going to blow up so badly and then all you kenners will say ‘ag but its for the best’ and kak like that.
fark
i am shaken by this
@poppa69-39:
jeezuz pops
i am afraid for our rugby right now
so afraid
@Transformation-48:
this is shocking transie
shocking
i cannot believe it
sjoe!
we are gonig to get belted at home by the the farking anzacs
i’m at sixes right now
@Lions_Soutie-59: Needs to give faster service to Goosen or they’ll nail him.
@Lions_Soutie-2: my Lion brother – Taute has played 12 and 13 in superrugby – on Saturday he played inside centre againt guppies. He has played both wings and 15 as well. He beats Coetzee and Le Roux based on sheer size and talent.
@BrumbiesBoy-53:
lucky you
26 Sep 2012, 12:58 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell-61: setting yourselves up for the fall is fine by me… this is the first test Goosen has started and already there is talk of you guys beating Aussie? I hope your players think and feel the same way.. its not to say you wont beat them, but should the unthinkable happen and you do lose, then what?
he has looked good against tiring teams, but is he match fit for even 60 minutes?
26 Sep 2012, 12:58 pm
Great team. Goosen in for Morne is already 50% improvement. Would like to see JdJ get a run with JDV if F.Steyn is injured. Makes sense seeing that they are centre partners for the stormers.
26 Sep 2012, 12:59 pm
I reckon Ruan’s there to provide experience and take the pressure off of Goosen.
Now let’s go moer those Ozzies by 16+
Well done HM…
Credit where it is due…..
You stepped up to the plate with F Louw…..
Now you done the right thing by putting M Steyn out of his misery….
well done …
@blik-54: which Lions, the senior side or the juniors?
what year was that?
26 Sep 2012, 13:00 pm
sjoe
i cannot talk right now
sjoe
26 Sep 2012, 13:00 pm
@RL-70: Coetzee?
26 Sep 2012, 13:01 pm
@wpstormerbok-41:
Njaa boet.
Meyer has proved once against that he speaks with two tongues.
He said throughout his short tenure that the player who is there from the start will get preference when another player comes in.
JJE ahead of JdJ comes to mind.
Going forward(after JdV leaves), Meyer will go with a Frans/Taute combination, it seems.
In any case, it is not about JdJ being left out per se, it is about Meyer who cannot be trusted to be consistent.
26 Sep 2012, 13:01 pm
what a capitulation
sjoe sjoe sjoe
26 Sep 2012, 13:02 pm
This is a good Bok Team, and this should be a very interesting match.
Goosen has earned his place.
26 Sep 2012, 13:02 pm
@poppa69-72: Most are cautiously optimistic, and I think that is a fair reaction to the team news. Jantjies is obviously there to cover if Goosen doesn’t last. There is no need for you to be on here to keep everyone’s expectations to a realistic level, unless someone is paying you to fulfill the role. Maybe spend some more time with your family or contribute something positive to the world instead.
26 Sep 2012, 13:03 pm
You Keolings will NEVER be satisfied unless you are given the bok job!! It is a great improvemnt from Meyer to Drop Steyn… and people saying he is not consistent.. BS!! He realised MS is off form so he dropped him… get on with the programme.. .wholesale changes will not help the teams as a whole….
Happy for Taute, but he would not have been my first choice right now. why do some players immediately get a chance and other have to perfrom for 2-3 season before given an oppurtunity?
Good team, looking forward to the game really!!
O and Zane is there to make up the rainbow colour of the boks..
@grant10-76: But it’s so slow. We all know which players should be there and which not. We all know that Jean and Zane are passengers and should be left at home, that’s a fact. I’d personally leave Brian out as well as there are better players in the CC.
thats our win ratio for the year
over rover
six love
good night nurse
Some better selections,some diabolical ones
Better: Goosen at 10 to start
Jantjies into match day 22
Diabolical:
Pienaar retained at 9
Flip dropped after his best game in a Bok jumper
De Jongh has seemingly been leapfrogged by Taute.If Meyer doesn’t rate De Jongh he must just tell the bloke and sa public.let the kid play CC rugby and maybe go overseas to go make some money.Taute has played a handful of games this year and hasn’t played 13 since 2010.
26 Sep 2012, 13:04 pm
Playing at Loftus and with Australia missing possibly their best five players, this should be a comfortable win.
Looks like a good team to me. And the Aussies are missing key players (genia and cooper) so goosen will have some latttitude. The Aussies will try to avoid a forward confrontation, but I still reckon boks to win by 5-10 by the end.
@Transformation-77: He played 12 when **** Muir was in charge in 2010.
26 Sep 2012, 13:05 pm
@Bokbafana-11: it is easy to leapfrog Lambie and De Jongh – they be short little fellas.
9- Hougaard
13- De Jongh
14- De Villiers
15- Taute
Would have been perfect but fantastic to see the back of Morne finally! Now Vermuelen needs to nail down his 8 position so we dont have to ever see Spies in the starting line-up again. Bismark and Pietersen to come back; Meyer needs to come to his senses and select Brussouw; Kirtchner to never be heard from again and then, selection wise, we’d be on a distinguished path.
Francois Louw will be the difference between the two sides
Whadda player!!
26 Sep 2012, 13:06 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell-83: so, how much of a combination are Pienaar and Goosen ? what about if Taute plays, him and JDV?
but fine, you guys have got the changes you want, all good this end…
Aussies will target the Goose like crazy, be silly not to..
at least theres no expectation on him, thats a good thing I guess..
26 Sep 2012, 13:07 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-68:
Chances of Goosen’s selection coming unstuck are slim.
My only hope is that after this weekend Heyneke will be ‘enlightened’ (in the words of willie) about the possibilities of Bok Rugby.
You can already see a few Kiwi’s and a Pom twitching uneasy around here…
@wpstormerbok-21: Morne is having a mental break.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-68: are you suur cos morne got dropped?
Etzebeth to headbutt Sharpe in the first five minutes and get sent off. Fortunately the Aussies are already pulling the food poisoning excuse so the Boks will take it by a point anyway
http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-union/union-news/stephen-moore-out-of-wallaby-test-squad-20120926-26k07.html
26 Sep 2012, 13:08 pm
Bok team for the future:
15. Taute
14. JPP
13. Jordaan
12. Frans Steyn
11. Rhule/ Habana
10. goosen / Lambie
9 Hougaard
8 Vermeulen
7. Alberts
6. Kolisi/ Flo
5 Bekker
4 Etzebeth
3. JC Van rensburg
2. Bissy
1. Beast
My flyhalf and openside flanker will depend on the oppo for the day..
In any case, this is probably the best team of the year. All we need is for our forwards to come to the party like they did against NZ, our players to use the opportunities that come their way and we can beat this below strength Aussie side by about 20.
@mshiniwami-87: Thats what i cant stand about HM he picks his favourites even if they are match fit or there are other replacements who have been playing regularly and are match fit. He did the same thing with J.Potgieter in June.
But this squad is much better!
Looking better, interesting – only 2 BBs in the run-on team, 5 WP, 2 overseas, 4 Sharks, 2 Free State – kind of reflects the standing of the home conference log this year in SA. Good to see all the Bulls B team and U21 passengers gone.
26 Sep 2012, 13:09 pm
dit is bitterlik onregverdig wat hier aan suid afrikaanse rugby gedoen word
bitterlik onregverdig
26 Sep 2012, 13:10 pm
If we can get our back to gel with the inclusion of lambie, we’re set. The only weakness remaining is our 9. Or injured forwards will further strengthen the first 8
26 Sep 2012, 13:10 pm
Meyer probably saw in the practice runs that a JdV/Taute combo work better than a JdV/JdJ combo.
26 Sep 2012, 13:11 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-103:
Gaan speel in die hoofpad, jou ****** ou suurgat
26 Sep 2012, 13:12 pm
@RL-91: ahhahhahha brilliant.
26 Sep 2012, 13:13 pm
Can’t wait for a couple of the injured players to return – then we’ll be cooking!
15 Lambie , 14 JP, 13 Taute, 12 F Steyn, 11 Habana, 10 Goosen, 9 Hougaard, 8 Vermeulen, 7 Alberts, 6 F Louw, 5 Bekker, 4 Eben, 3 Jannie, 2 Bissie, 1 Beast
16 Adriaan, 17 Coenie, 18 Flip, 19 Marcel, 20 Ruan, 21 Elton, 22 W Le Roux
26 Sep 2012, 13:14 pm
@wpstormerbok-95:
he will
and so will the team
and once the boks lose to oz their will be the quandry of sticking with goosen/elton or bringing morne back for the nz game.
of course this will have its effects within the team and whether he brings back morne or not it wont matter.
both goosen and morne will be a little head screwwed which will affect their performance.
and once again we will lose at home to these filthy anzacs
this time not for their doing alone, but for ours
@Transformation-97:
i am saddened at this turn of events because it means we will lose at home to them, transie
what a start to meyers tenure… i only hope next year will be better…
26 Sep 2012, 13:14 pm
Taute selection at 13 is the only strange one for me.
Not entirely convinced he is an outside centre.
Other than that, our best 22 so far.
Best front row under the circumstances
Best lock pairing( just hope Bekker is over his niggles)
Most balanced loose trio at the moment.
Half back pair is new but something had to change and this is a good change.
Wings are fine
Centres are fine if F Steyn is fit. Not convinced its the best if Taute plays.
Full back….Taute or Lambie for me.
26 Sep 2012, 13:15 pm
@Mongril-108: Vermeulen or Bissie to captain
26 Sep 2012, 13:15 pm
this is too much for me
26 Sep 2012, 13:16 pm
Finally common sense prevails
Now we just need a few backup fetchers in the squad
26 Sep 2012, 13:16 pm
@Sasuke-79: Andries Coetzee and le Roux can play anywhere from 10 to 15.
26 Sep 2012, 13:17 pm
Too many Stormed in that team.
26 Sep 2012, 13:17 pm
@nama1-105:
Interesting that Vrede (I think) mentioned that Goosen ran at 10 yesterday, but no mention of the 12/13 combo.
26 Sep 2012, 13:18 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-109:
Shut up man.
At least HM is finally trying something.
What possible benefit would it be to have MS on the bench even?
To come in and kick a few penalties if Goosen is off target.
Fark, Mornes kicking has been is WORST attribute this year. jaintjies on the other hand has hardly missed.
26 Sep 2012, 13:19 pm
After starting off the international season with 5 starting players and another 2 on the bench (a whopping 14 in the squad), the Bulls no only boast 2 run on players and 1 reserve in the match 22. Both in the back line and no forwards. A brown takhaar and a tattoo’d, mullet wearing hippie from the Cape.
No wonder Bakkies and The Brig are so pissed off with this team.
Enter Tacitus!!!
I agree this doesn’t make up for some of Heyneke’s poor selections earlier or his mismanagement and double standards and of course the outdated playing style.
But we’re stuck with him for a while so best we continue to apply the pressure as we have and the coach will hopefully grow and change with the team.
@RL-114: Oh forgot about him. I am a big fan of Le Roux he should have been in the squad from the get go.
26 Sep 2012, 13:21 pm
Great stuff mates! Last time De Villiers and Alberts missed the easy tackles to give us the momentum try. Vermeulen couldn’t get over the gain line, knocked on and gave us a lot of turn over ball. Louw did nothing but stand at the back of rucks looking around. Your back line never looked like scoring thanks mostly to your pedantic 12 and 13. Wonder boy Goosen kicks away possession with 3 min left. All in the Bok side, awesome -so glad they are not bulls. Good to see the panic and bull bashing. Aussie, Aussie, Aussie – famous win coming up the weekend!
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-112: And what you asked me yesterday dear Bakkies, I now ask of you. What IF the Boks win and manage to play some good rugby in the process?
(Footnote: Personally I don’t believe simply changing the flyhalf solves the bigger issues at play here – those of strategy, mindset and Bok blueprint……so I wouldn’t be opening any bubbly or leaping up and down on any couches just yet.)
@Mongril-108: Lambie is not a 15, he is a 10 at best.. not enough speed to join a line from 15..
Would love to see Kolisi in there as well when he is fit again
26 Sep 2012, 13:22 pm
Oh brilliant… Jean at 12 means he will have even more field position from which to crab across the field.
HTF has he escaped the criticism being levelled at Morne and Zane?
26 Sep 2012, 13:22 pm
@Sasuke-120: I agree 100%. He offers so much on attack and link fantastically with Goosen.
26 Sep 2012, 13:23 pm
Disappointed at the axing of Steyn.
26 Sep 2012, 13:23 pm
@JustShat-121:
Julle gaan slae kry die naweek, boet.
26 Sep 2012, 13:25 pm
In Pretoria they’re crying about the culling of M. Steyn while the rest of SA celebrate the potential re-birth of Bok Rugby.
@wpstormerbok-119: Hopefully
Heyneke Meyer, ok now I wont release the tape, well done, goed gedaan.
26 Sep 2012, 13:26 pm
@David-116:
True that…now that you mentioned it.
I mean, Frans did not take part in the practice, arriving there still on his crutches. Vrede should’ve seen this.
@Transformation-77: Not sure, just read the article on rugby365
@Provvas-123: But he does have vision, which is something we are direly lacking on counter attack. If the likes of JP, Habana and Taute falls back with him he’ll put them into space all day long.
@JustShat-121: You clearly looked through those blue tinted glasses. For me Vermeulen had a solid game vs NZ, so did Flo.. Morne had a shocker again and people cant understand him being dropped?
JDV is my biggest concern as he kills every momentum given by the forwards..
Vermeulen to have a huge game and so Flo.. watch this space!
@RL-70: I’m not saying he can’t play there, it just seems a bit of a waste. Was very quite on Saturday
26 Sep 2012, 13:27 pm
@wnbb-126: Why?
26 Sep 2012, 13:28 pm
Spare a thought for the Aussies who are now going to get thrashed on the w end. James Horwill, Moore, David Pocock, Quade Cooper, Will Genia and is O connor back? Thats a lot of starting players out
26 Sep 2012, 13:28 pm
Meyer likes big centre’s hence his preference for Frans/JdV/Taute…
Taute is a big lad and runs nice angels but my only reservation with Taute is his ball handling skills… quite a few knock ons during the S15 and knocked the ball at least once the past two weeks… hopefully he can work on this aspect of his game..
26 Sep 2012, 13:30 pm
@wnbb-126: we are implementing our plan to axe all the kak players – Werner Kruger, Dean Greyling, Jacque Potgieter, Morne and Kircher are deserving victims of this ingenious plot. They must all be taken out and their Boks contracts ripped to shreds. The fact that they are all Bulls is just coincidental.
26 Sep 2012, 13:30 pm
Laughed at the way Barnes backed MS in the media… he would have loved to play against the predictable I guess.. and Dean would have loved the boks having a 13% kicker in the Bok team.. Well done HM, now they will panic a bit more about Saturdays game..
26 Sep 2012, 13:31 pm
Awesome!! I really didn’t think HM would have the balls to drop Steyn… I think it will be close but the Boks can take this one especially with an out of form Beale at 10 and Moore is out again which means Polata Nau will be concussed at some stage…
26 Sep 2012, 13:32 pm
Heyneke learnt a hard lesson…..dont pick bull kak.
26 Sep 2012, 13:32 pm
@seamus-124:
He is the captain and is probably going to play his last two tests for the Boks over the next two Saturdays.
@wpstormerbok-128:
I wonder if that will reunite the BullShark alliance.
Some Shark supporters (read HG) were not too pleased with the axing of Keegan Daniel either.
26 Sep 2012, 13:33 pm
@RL-139: Not really coincidental. That fact they are Bulls is the only reason they were there to start with.
26 Sep 2012, 13:33 pm
A pretty strong team, thanks heyneke.
26 Sep 2012, 13:34 pm
Thank the Pope that M Steyn is out. Long live Goosen!
Kirchner butchered a gift try against the AB’s, missed a vital tackle which let in a try and kicked like an amateur and he’s still in the team. Can Meyer not see that he offers zilch to the team!?
I hope he has the decency to give Lambie more than 4 minutes on the field this time! He’s too scared to be proven wrong me thinks!
26 Sep 2012, 13:35 pm
Whatever people say or don’t say, there really is no better time to ‘throw’ a youngster like Goosen to the ‘wolves’, than against a woefully depleted Australia, at altitude……
There will be room for error and nerves, something a start against the AB’S doesn’t always allow for.
But anyone here ONCE AGAIN writing off the Aussies and gleefully giving the Boks a 15 point win margin, might be a little premature.
But looking more like a team than wants to do a bit more than skop and jag? Hell yes.
@Provvas-140: True. They will panic because they dont know what to expect now. We have a real flyhalf who can take charge and mix things up. Not a one trick pony. I wonder if this is the last we will see of M.Steyn and Spies?
@nama1-143: Only after this weekend when they get to klap the bulls out of the CC….
26 Sep 2012, 13:38 pm
@Maljan-146: Does the word QUOTA ring a bell?
26 Sep 2012, 13:39 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-147: don’t worry dog breath, Elton will be there as cover.
26 Sep 2012, 13:40 pm
On another note: Will Taute be the 12th new Bok player since HM took over (a mere 7 games into his tenure now) and will Jantjies become the 13th during the game?…that is, if/when they come on.
26 Sep 2012, 13:41 pm
@kwensie-150: Exactly!1 Mentioned this in a previous post! It is straight forward. Habs, Kirchner and Beast are players of colour.. .so HM does not have a choice but retein Niknaks..
I personally would have opted for JDJ in the team to get the quota system right and then put Taute at full back maybe.. Mvovo on the wing with Hougie at 9 would also help…
@Maljan-146: Was that Kirchners fault? Didnt Habana over run the pass? Just asking dont shoot me.
@Provvas -134 Granted they were a lot better against NZ but 1game doesn’t mean much. Your Boks will always be doomed to boring rugby with the current centre pairing. Gooseneck might be the real deal , a couple of decent runs in the dying min of a game is meaningless – the weekend will tell. Kirschner is ok but might as well be replaced by a fullback with more flair. Maybe Lambie but all I remember of him is a very poor performance in the Sharks last SR game. Habana gives 100% but has forgotten how to side step. We have the thinking game to take this Bok side apart – staying up to watch this one!
Glad to see Zane still in the team.He has been executing Meyer’s game plan brilliantly and doesn’t deserves the unfair criticism
26 Sep 2012, 13:42 pm
@RL-139:
@garth-144:
@Provvas-149:
26 Sep 2012, 13:43 pm
@Provvas-149: I expect a Bullshark reunion so dramatic and emotional, it would be more suited to Dallas.
What the Bulls and Sharks tend to forget, is that Meyer has now fuckedover players from every province in SA, not just the WP as with his 1st squad
If Bulls fans start walking out on him…….lonely times for the messiah.
26 Sep 2012, 13:43 pm
@Provvas-153: Dont get me wrong though!! Both Mvovo and JDJ are derserving of starting places regardless of colour!!
26 Sep 2012, 13:45 pm
I think the boks have a big game coming and it seems like the ‘trials’ are over and the planning is coming together.
Still work in progress, but I think the Wallabies are in for a serious hiding.
If they do not get it this weekend, then it will be next week in Argentina.
Aussies have to many players missing and have been hanging on by a thread for too long. Something needs to give.
@wnbb-156: I see. Should we whisper-smile to the special kid?
@RL-151: Well, I feel Elton should have been given a start at 10. With Goosen on the bench – but I guess this will do.
But if I see Goosen, Pienaar and Jantjies (when and if he comes on) putting ball on boot every 35 seconds – do be aware that we are still in sh y te.
26 Sep 2012, 13:46 pm
@theOracle-138: As i was corrected HM wants players with x factor .. we now have established – Bissy, Coenie, Flo (missing Bruss), Alberts, Goose, FSteyn, FH, JPP, Habs and Taute .. missing JPP and one lock … Vermulen is still growing but will offer Read type play to no8. No more Spies, Pottgieter and MS pls ..
Watch this space, Goose and Taute will bring an edge to the backline. I only hope Kirch and JdV can keep up.
26 Sep 2012, 13:46 pm
To all the guppies out the – look at this.
Jersey 20 Elton Jantjie
Jersey 22 Pat Lambie
Yes your eyes are not blurry – the Lambster is NOT a 10 and will never be with the Goose and the amazing Elton around.
End of debate – I win and you lose.
26 Sep 2012, 13:47 pm
@Mshiniwami-87:
JdJ is only there to keep the politicians happy. HM has no intention of giving him any game time… Not sure Jantjies will make ut past the bench either. Don’t think Meyer believes they’re good enough…
Pollard will probably be Goosen’s understudy next year
26 Sep 2012, 13:48 pm
@Sasuke-154: Yes to my mind. He should have straightened the line and executed a better pass.. but instead they ran like backs coached by Fleck.. like crabs across the field becasue they never get to play some backline moves ever!!
@JustShat-155: Some players get one game others get plenty.. Vermeulen is coming back from a long lay off so I expect him to just get better with time.. I remember his influence for Stormers in Sr.. immense!! As for Flo, he will also get better with more games in the 6 jersey..
26 Sep 2012, 13:49 pm
@Provvas-159: eh ? Mvovo single handedly lost us the Oz game … too small and lacking guts. Aplon anyday for me ..
JdJ i dont get the hype, he is a known quantity who is weak in his passing .. rather put him on bench and give him game time in 2nd half.
26 Sep 2012, 13:51 pm
@poppa69-55: What about Carter?
26 Sep 2012, 13:53 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-60: AMEN!!!!! SEND LAMBIE BACK to the Sharks!!!! But he wouldn’t send him for this weekend we are playing against the Bulls, he will keep him away for another week release him next week to ensure the Sharks beat the Cheetahs and ensure that the Bulls get in the semis albeit just
I know a conspiracy theory but its the only sense I can make of Lambie’s continued splinter collection.
26 Sep 2012, 13:53 pm
@nama1-152: Why not this is a new squad, new coach and a new system when are you supposed to blend in new players ?? If HM tries a player and he fails then yes move him on and keep going … Our big complaint is he has been slow to turf out Bulls players …
26 Sep 2012, 13:54 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-68: You and Brigadier are the only two on the entire blog who would have picked Morne again.
26 Sep 2012, 13:55 pm
@RL-164:
Two Lions players in the match 22 despite the Lions being so kak in the S15, says a lot about their individual talent.
So unlike some of the average Bulls players who played for the Boks just because they were part of a very good team.
26 Sep 2012, 13:55 pm
The two form flyhalves in world rugby in the Boks’ 22.
Schweet!!
26 Sep 2012, 13:57 pm
150 – good point, hadn’t thought of that, but I thought that we were kind of over this.
154 – good question. At the time though, it didn’t look as though Habana had over-run. Will have to look at the recording again.
156 – Kirchner simply doesn’t offer the attacking potential that Lambie has and Lambie is absolutely no worse at offering what Kirchner does (which is very little). Even PdV didn’t think much of Kirchner and saw the value of Lambie. Besides, surely now, we should be grooming the young talent we have, not holding on to has-beens and rejects!?
26 Sep 2012, 13:58 pm
@poppa69-55: Best 10s in world rugby at the moment:
1. Goosen
2. Jantjies
3. Lambie
4. Carter
26 Sep 2012, 13:59 pm
@willievz-173: Did Cruden make the bok team?!
Just kidding – also rate these two youngsters. Hope they get plenty time to develop their skills at this level.
26 Sep 2012, 14:01 pm
Ok so we all got what we wanted.
Though i want to sound ungreatful but how did tuate (as good as he is) jump jdj on the depth chart
It must b frustrating to b jdj
26 Sep 2012, 14:03 pm
@Sharksgirl-169:
blub-blub blub-blub blub-blub blub-blub blub-blub blub-blub my guppy.
26 Sep 2012, 14:03 pm
Yes please Meyer next time pick Mvovo and put Hougaard on the bench, then it will be a real walkover for us. Now just hope Deans play Barnes at 10 and not Beale and we’ll be home and dry.
26 Sep 2012, 14:04 pm
@mxhosa-165:
I agree.
Meyer will have to convince me otherwise.
@Doughnut-167:
“Mvovo single handedly lost us the Oz game…”
It had nothing to do with the kickers (Morne the main culprit) leaving more than 20 points on the park then?
@Doughnut-170:
Man, it just seems a bit over the top.
Too many players making their debuts in such a short space of time. Granted, there were extraordinary circumstances in some positions like lock but the point is, if he made the correct selections from the start he would not have been in this situation where he has to select new players every 2nd test.
26 Sep 2012, 14:04 pm
@Maljan-146:
“missed a vital tackle which let in a try”
Can’t really blame Kirchner for that try.
Blame the prop for missing Smith at the break down.
26 Sep 2012, 14:05 pm
the fact that zane is still picked is evidence that quotas are still enforced. Zane is the kakkest backline player in SA atm …. shocking!!!!!
26 Sep 2012, 14:06 pm
@JustShat-179:
a) You will not be HOME for you- it’s Pretoria mate…
b) If he needs to defend in 10 channel against Alberts and Frans Steyn, Beale will most definately not be DRY
26 Sep 2012, 14:07 pm
@TooMuchRugby-106:
hou asseblief sulke kommentaar vir jouself, tmr.
@John Galt-117:
excuse me for feeling strongly about losing tests at home.
what has our rugby become….
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-122:
see, the footnote is really where the information is, isn’t it. the rest is just noise,.
the meduim is the message….
Ladbrokes Plc of London suspended all bets on the Wallabies- Boks Test at Loftus
Any idea why?
don’t know what is worse Boer genocide or quotas in rugby! BOTH are HUGE problems!!! kak country this!
Wouldn’t mind seeing a little Goosen, Hougaard, Steyn, Taute and Lambie operating in the same backline for a bit.
Come on Heyneke, don’t you want a little taste of the glory?
Just to see what it tastes like?
@Mongril-176: Hehehe, I’m just winding up the old scheepschagger
26 Sep 2012, 14:08 pm
@JustShat-179: Yup you are spot on, mvovo is simply not good enough. He has had a few chances and offered zip ..
26 Sep 2012, 14:09 pm
Really stoked for Flo, he was so adamant on making a comeback.
26 Sep 2012, 14:11 pm
181 – OK, the prop is also to blame too (whoever it was), but there is no way that the second tackle should be missed. Kirchner cannot be excused for that. When last did you see Lambie miss a one-on-one tackle?
26 Sep 2012, 14:12 pm
If Bekker and Kruger is competing for the same spot, it means that Bekker will play 80 minutes and Flip will replace Etzebeth in the 2nd half, not so?
26 Sep 2012, 14:13 pm
@willievz-171:
sad thing is we’re gonna lose, willie
then what..?..
26 Sep 2012, 14:13 pm
Taute ahead of De Jongh? Pathetic
26 Sep 2012, 14:14 pm
This man Heyneke didn’t even give us a honeymoon period at all.
Now he’s come to his senses but the public’s turned sceptical
26 Sep 2012, 14:14 pm
After being a match winner for the Boks , a badly out of form Morne Steyn has nowbeen dropped . He should have been dropped a lot earlier but HM stuck with him – for far too long IMHO. It is his demotion against what one could call a background of hysteria in SA to bring on Goosen which concerns me . Morne must have accumulated a lot of emotional baggage along the way . An earlier exclusion would have been less painful for him , given him time to rebuild and have given Goosen or Jantjies a chance to get some experience in the RWC . These two now have their chance and what must be an emotionally shattered Morne has been sent packing. Not only by his coach but by the SA public. It has been handled badly and HM has a lot to answer for . I fully agree that Goosen should be there . But the way this has happened is a disgrace .
26 Sep 2012, 14:16 pm
@Rhys7-194:
Attempt to save JdJ’s test tenure from an early extinction
26 Sep 2012, 14:17 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-193:
Then we’ll keep on picking different people at 10. After Oscar Pistorius has had a chance WE MIGHT give Morne another go.
No, just kidding – only after Casper de Vries really.
26 Sep 2012, 14:18 pm
I still hate this kak that Hougaard is regarded as the best left wing in the country even though he did not play there for the Bulls.
He (or his coaches) must really decide now, is he a wing or is he a scrum half?
For a player apparently so indispensable, he has not done much so far during this international season. Good moments at SH in the 2nd test against England awa a good game against the Argies in the away game but that is about it.
Time to specialize, Hougaard.
JDJ was never the same after WO killed him …. i remember in 1 Super Rugby final and 1 CC semi were JDJ only lasted 30 mins or so… HM remembers that very well .. thumbs up HM!!!!
@147: I agree. Let’s not get agead of ourselves. The Wallabies never give up and the Springboks seem to find it easier to lift their game against the All Blacks. They will wanting a win at Loftus after winning in Bloem in 2010.
26 Sep 2012, 14:19 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-193:
Then we die with a smile on our face.
We would have died if Morne started anyways.
Short-term sacrifice for long-term gain.
26 Sep 2012, 14:20 pm
@willievz-173: I want some of what you are smoking.
26 Sep 2012, 14:20 pm
@willievz-202: Amen to that Willie !!
26 Sep 2012, 14:22 pm
@Mongril-183: Deans will hopefully not be so stupid to play Beale at 10 when Barnes can fill the position. Beale had a shocker last time out so can only improve. With so few bulls in the team Loftus might be empty so homeground advantage will not be a big factor. Ae the stormers and sharks going to fill the stadium?
26 Sep 2012, 14:24 pm
@Doughnut-189:
Really???
Apart from the mistake/s he made against the AB, where has he let us down previously?
He has less than 10 tests behind his name, it should be easy to come up with evidence.
26 Sep 2012, 14:25 pm
I magine when the boks get Bismark, JP and Fourie du Preez back, then we just need Jaque Fourie
15. Taute
14. JPP
13. Fourie
12. Steyn
11. Habana
10. Goose
9. F du Preez
8 Vermeelen
7. Alberts
6. Flow/Brossouw
5. Bekker
4. Etz
3. Jannie Dup/Coenie
2. Bismark
1. Beast
Coeine/Jannie, Strauss, Flip, Coetzee, Hougard, Jantjies, Lambie
26 Sep 2012, 14:27 pm
@Mongril-198:
well expect to hand out a lot of caps, because lose we will.
which is a shame really.
springbok rugby is better than this.
26 Sep 2012, 14:29 pm
Jeesus, some of you will never be satisfied. I feel sorry for your waiter.
This is a vast improvement, with the only notable problems still at 15 and 2. There is a big gap between Bismarck and Chilliboy at the top, and the rest of the hookers. And our fullback choice is just inzane – should have been Aplon, Lambie or Taute.
But other than that, we’re looking very good. I even predict that Pienaar is going to have a blinder. So please shut the fck up if you don’t have anything positive to say here.
@willievz-202:
why lose home tests just to prove a point we know?
maybe next year this time morne will have a genuine competitor at 10 but to throw our home records away like this,,?,,
how far we have come…
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-208: Would you honestly have kept Morne?
And if so, why? Serious question.
Do you think Goosen isn’t ready, or isn’t as good?
26 Sep 2012, 14:30 pm
that prediction has been a long time coming
26 Sep 2012, 14:30 pm
@Maljan-191:
That would be De-haan, All Black man of the match.
90% of the time the attacking player will beat the last defender in that situation. Smith should’ve been stopped at the origin of his run…the break down.
26 Sep 2012, 14:34 pm
@Maljan-191: Kirchner was coming across so difficult for him. Having said that, it’s not the first time he has been awol in defence of a try. Generally speaking I think he has been good in this RC.
26 Sep 2012, 14:38 pm
@londonshark-211:
at the minimum we should have kept morne on the bench as insurance in case things dont go to plan, which they wont.
this isn’t about morne, it’s winning… its about the boks…
26 Sep 2012, 14:39 pm
For the most part this is the side most of us have been calling for. I would rather have seen Pat start ahead of Zane and Coetzee ahead of Alberts for his pace but this is a side that is a good step forward. Come on the manne!
26 Sep 2012, 14:39 pm
@katman-209:
Wie’t jou pap gesteel?
Almal stem saam dat dit die beste span is wat HM sover gekies het, maar daar is nog steeds ruimte vir verbetering. Dink jy nie ook so nie?
26 Sep 2012, 14:40 pm
Lambie must be frustrated out of his skull. What must he do to get the nod. Surely Meyer must tell him what the issue is.
26 Sep 2012, 14:40 pm
@grant100-200: HM obsession with size is a weakness .. we are missing Brussow, Lambie, Aplon and Daniels as a consequence …
However I dont get the rave about JdJ .. he is ok just no Mossie
26 Sep 2012, 14:41 pm
@rossoneri-218: his issue is he runs with the ball
26 Sep 2012, 14:41 pm
And so we have to ask again: will Jantjies get enough time on the field or will his coach continue to doubt him?
And if he does not give him game time, what will the excuse be this time?
26 Sep 2012, 14:44 pm
@Big Hit-214:
Agree.
Can’t for the life of me understand how anybody can blame a full back for letting in a try in a situation like that. A few things happened before Smith beat kirchner to score his try:
*The fly halves have just been changed. New FH probably not in the right defensive position.
*No pillar and post defenders at the ruck.
*Scrum half mia.
*Dean missing the tackle
213 – Exactly, its that 10% that makes the difference between good and great. I agree it wasn’t an easy situation. As I said in an earlier post – now’s the time to be giving the youngsters the opportunities, and not hold onto has-beens and rejects. The Championship 2012 is a lost cause for the Boks, so what is Meyer trying to prove holding onto Kirchner. You will never convince me so let’s just agree to disagree and move on.
214 – ‘good’ is not good enough I’m afraid. We want the Boks to be great – to beat them consistently, not every-so-often. Hell man, we have the talent – its not being recognised in this particualr instance. It could be better with Lambie, who in respect of overall ability has much more to offer in attack, defence, kicking out of hand (maybe on a par with Kirchner but no worse) and for poles, positional play and simply a rugby brain. We are not after mediocrity or good!
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-215:
I hear you, but how can you keep Morne, when he’s been out of form for almost a year now? Goosen, Lambie and Jantjies are all in better kicking form, and have been for quite some time. Morne’s all round game is way behind them as well.
I’m not understanding why you would want Morne in the 22?
26 Sep 2012, 14:45 pm
Ok. To All You Morne Bashers. You’ve Got What You’ve Wanted. Lets See If Your Goose Will Win Us These Last Two Games. Hahahaha, I’d Laugh We Lose By Big Margins, What Then. Who Will You Blame?. You Nutsacks Won’t Be Satisfied Until Every Bull Is Out Of The Boks.
26 Sep 2012, 14:46 pm
Goosen has so much talent…. I just hope he is ready.
26 Sep 2012, 14:48 pm
@willievz-173:
Last time I looked Willie, Cruden & Barret aren’t named in the Bokke at Loftus on Saturday
26 Sep 2012, 14:48 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-22: Get a grip son. Morne has lost the confidence even of Meyer, that must tell you how much better off we are without him. Ruan can pass it to Zane if we need someone that deep in the pocket and Goosen can kick with his other leg if we need someone to miss 5 from 6.
26 Sep 2012, 14:49 pm
@thegreatanubis-225: It’s idiots like you that give the Bulls a bad name.
Not one person would care if there were 15 Bulls in the team, or 15 Sharks or 15 Stormers. We want the best players.
When Matfield and co were on top, the Bok side was mainly made up of Bulls. No one cared because they were the best.
Your argument falls flat.
@thegreatanubis-225: Straightjacket please nurse.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-215:
“‘It isn’t going to help him to bring him on with 20 minutes and he ends up having to kick the game-winning or game-losing goal. I either back him 100% or not. That’s the decision I had to take,’ Meyer said. ”
Keeping in mind that Morne missed easy kicks, early on in the games so far without any pressure, do you really think he should be the go to man in case things don’t work out with Goosen?
Remember the opportunity that he had against the Argies to put over the “game winning kick?”
Let me remind you, he could not kick it over and we draw.
26 Sep 2012, 14:50 pm
@londonshark-224:
Becuase his replica Spingbok jersey with “Steyn 10″ on the back will now lose value.
Jinne people really struggle to think up good nics nowadays.
I mean “JustShat” … really now.
@thegreatanubis-225: Who taught you the rules of capitalisation? I hope you kept the receipt.
Yes Yes Yes! Dankie Dankie Dankie Heyneke!
Die span word stelselmaatig n briljante span.
Lambie moet nou net 15 speel.
Ek hoop Elton kry bietjie game time ook!
Ek sou Juandre weer gekies het, al hou ek van Bekker, dit lyk asof hy nog sukkel en Juandre was baie goed.
Bekker het ook goed gelyk toe hy as n sub aankom…
maar stappe in die regte rigting! Bokke bo!
26 Sep 2012, 14:51 pm
@Dawn-233: HAHAHAHAHAHA
26 Sep 2012, 14:52 pm
@Maljan-223:
I think we can agree that replacing Kirchner would be the right move.
What we disagree about is you putting the blame on Kirchner for letting in that try. I think that is unfair.
26 Sep 2012, 14:53 pm
@stormer in a teacup-228:
26 Sep 2012, 14:54 pm
In an ideal world we’d have Bissie back at 2 with Ralepele on the bench. We’d have JPP back on the wing with Hougaard to the bench. And we’d make up our minds about a long-term replacement for InZane – Lambie perhaps? I’d also have Eben, Bekker and Juandre as the three locks in the match 22. Then we’d be cooking with gas.
26 Sep 2012, 14:55 pm
Here’s what can potentially happen to Meyer:
Now because of his archaic thinking that big boers must run over the opposition, he can potentially lose every single game going forward but have one or two moments where someone is smashed into the ground like Willem Alberts’ tackle on someone (I forget the player)
Being naive he will walk away thinking that we are making progress because last week we had 1 big smash and this week we had 2. All the opposition has to do is to score 2 quick tries at the end of the game for Meyer to say: we shoulda,woulda, coulda, buddha
Say 2 wins out of 20 and he will still be optimistic because after 20 games we have 5 really sensational big hits on the opposition; the bloke is a closet disciple of Jan Wilkens
@Sasuke-90: so he last played 12 in 2010 and leapfrogs de jongh who made his debut at 12 against jamie roberts…
well i’m just grateful that msteyn is not in the team.
taute vs pat mccabe.
@Mongril-232:
Odd guys. The hardcore Bulls fans are different from the hardcore fans from other teams. They honestly believe every Bull should be a Bok.
I have a mate who’s like this. In 2011 I asked to name his Bok backline, he named the entire Bulls backline without even realizing it. Very weird.
And by hardcore, I mean horns and nose rings hardcore. 95% of all fans from all teams are objective.
26 Sep 2012, 14:56 pm
Liking the sounds coming out of Meyer about giving Goosen freedom to express himself. Hopefully he means it and he’s not just trying to placate the media and fans. Next step incorporating quick distributing nippy guys at 9- Hougaard, Van Zyl and anyone BUT Kirtchner at 15… Le Roux, ACoetzee, Lambie, Taute, JPPietersen, Aplon. Quite a few POC who actually have merit and value to take his place if quotas come into it.
26 Sep 2012, 14:56 pm
There’s still a chance that Goosen will kick them over with his “wrong” leg.
26 Sep 2012, 14:57 pm
@thegreatanubis-225: And if he does win the games? Will you change your attitude?
26 Sep 2012, 14:57 pm
Heyneke ou perd, jy gaan runnike
26 Sep 2012, 14:58 pm
@thegreatanubis-225: Most of us have that useless Bull Kirtchner in our sights. If we lose it will all be on him.
26 Sep 2012, 14:58 pm
@nama1-206: Exactly .. he toed the ball vs Oz and conceded a 5m scrum … then allowed a fat prop to run down his wing and score. That was one test …
So if you back him list the tries and good things he has pulled off for Boks over 10 tests ..
26 Sep 2012, 15:00 pm
@katman-239: With you all the way there.
26 Sep 2012, 15:01 pm
@londonshark-229: Thats not quite true , supporters has always complained about players from other sides, its not right but its a fact.
26 Sep 2012, 15:01 pm
@Spiesisworthless1-243:
In his mind for the player to ‘express himself’ means: kicking very high up and unders
He is even encouraged to kick it with his left foot; so don’t get too excited too quickly
26 Sep 2012, 15:02 pm
@Spiesisworthless1-247: Dont forget the knock onn king , highlight number 8
26 Sep 2012, 15:04 pm
Just looking at the 3 male contributors here on Keo TV
They will actually make 3 good klopse
Keo looks like a guy that can do a lot of akkeltjies
26 Sep 2012, 15:04 pm
@JustShat-205: The Lions fans will. They have 2 players who will both game time on Saturday, and they are but a short trip over the Jukskei away.
Stormer and Sharks fans living in Jozi and Pta might also pitch up, as will the many Cheetah folk, who will be delighted to see Goosen there…..
26 Sep 2012, 15:05 pm
214 and 222 – Look at the try again – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JITX9dbAoPY
Let’s not look at the tackle in isolation which I agree was a difficult situation, but wtf was Kirchner doing in the corner when the play had moved into the middle of the filed. Had he been in position (middle of the field at the time) he could very well have cut Smith’s time down significantly (and not had to sprint across the field – which then is easy to side-step – and he could have forced smith into his tackle zone and controlled the situation and not the other way around. I know – easy in hindsight I know but Kirchner made a mistake before that tackle situation! Simple as that.
26 Sep 2012, 15:06 pm
@katman-209: Tried the a similar post two Saturdays ago and got told to ‘farkoff’……….Transie gaan nou op jou neerdaal soos jagse posduif…..
26 Sep 2012, 15:06 pm
@transformation-241: it doesn’t make sense, his pretty solid is jdj, i’ll never forget his try against the tahs in the 2010 super semi, one of the best tries ever!
26 Sep 2012, 15:07 pm
@londonshark-224:
the ozzies are gonna fold these kids, and so are the kiwis.
our pack will put up a fight but fold in the end.
its gonna be something like the 40 (or plus) nz put on the boks with lambie at 10 last year and when it becomes to much for them to hold their nerve it would have been wise to have had morne on the bench to take some of the heat ffrom these kids.
what a way to get introduced to test rugby…
26 Sep 2012, 15:07 pm
@Transformation-241:
“The Lions youngster will make his debut in the No 13 jersey if Frans Steyn fails to recover, with skipper Jean de Villiers taking over at inside centre.”
Jean will move to inside centre to crash it up Transie. If he has a kak game, I don’t think one would be allowed to blame Goosen.
26 Sep 2012, 15:09 pm
@thegreatanubis-225: China, its less about bashing Morne than a desire to have a kicker in the team that can slot the penalties.
No one is expecting Goosen to win the game for us (well at least i hope not!).
Frans, Ruan, Lambie, Goosen whoever needs to kick it can kick it, but its a basic requirement of a rugby team to have a good kicker.
Morne’s situation is different in that he is not amazing at running, passing, tackling and doesnt get the backline going as much as other SA Flyhalves.
But if he is kicking 90-95% then he is worth having in the Test team.
But currently he is far from it, and is a liability. He needs 1. a break, 2. to rebulld confidence, 3. work on his kicking
The draw against Argies (arguably the forwards fault) was not a win because of his kicking
The Wallaby game was lost due to BAD kicking in play and missed -penalties
The ABs game was a golden chance THROWN AWAY due to missed kicks.
How long must we suffer with under-performing Bok teams? How long must they/we keep messing up these chances they/we have? (I use “we” because we are all emotionally involved and love the Boks, even if we are not all on the field).
Kirchner must go. We all know it. Its not anti-Bulls, its plain to see.
If Ruan continues with his cr@p kicking we will also all lobby for him to be replaced!
I have posted above that I would choose Juandre over Bekker right now – and Juandre is a Bull (and ek is WP).
I just want the Boks to start winning and live up to their potential! Not living on 2004, 2007 and 2009!
So I checked when the next Boks public training session will be as I missed Monday’s
None, only Mondays.
I promise you I would asked very LOUD: SO ELTON WILL YOU GET GAME TIME ON SATURDAY?
Well I never…didn’t expect Morne to miss out on slection altogether. HM, this a step in the right direction. Not to sound “suurgat” but why come to a different conclusion this week to what the team needs than 2 weeks ago? The writing’s been on the wall for quite some time now. I will not fall in the same trap as my fellow bloggers in predicting the result but anticipate better attacking play. That would do it for me…no matter the result. Let’s just start with asking a bit more tougher questions than usual and take it from there. No pressure on Goosen either. Not expecting him to win it all on his own. Just his natural game will do. Pity about Frans as a whole new look to the backline might end up in a disjointed affair in the 1st half. Let’s hope it’s disjointed because of the dropsies due to supporting runners arriving late or individual angles not read properly and they can put it right later in the game. Which all comes down to a constructive game of rugby. Anything but the same drivel of late. Just give the laaitie the ball. He’ll know what to do with it
26 Sep 2012, 15:10 pm
@Sheriff-251: “He has the freedom to play the situation as he sees it,’ he said. ‘But this is not Currie Cup rugby where you have space and time. I’ve said to him to go out and express himself, that’s why I picked him. He must determine when it is on to go wide or take the safer option.’ (And I hope this counts for Elton as well, because he SURELYASFOK has to get some decent game time on Saturday…..)
I’m holdingthefucker to this….his word
**notthatitscountedmuchbefore**
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-254: To be very honest I could’nt care if they come from the faking moon, they just need to produce the goods.
The highveld will mean anything from 60 meters out the aussies better watch their step or Goosen will nail them!! Good luck to the young man. I he survives this, imagine what he will be worth in experience come 2015!
@Katman-239:
The only way we’ll have Chilli on the bench is if Strauss is injured…
26 Sep 2012, 15:11 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-258:
But Morne has been ‘folded’ all year. So again, I’m not understanding you.
You have JDV, Frans, Habana, Beast, Jannie, Alberts etc, all who are experienced Boks.
So to say Morne would help the ‘kids’ is crazy. He’s no leader, and I doubt his kicking average of 60% would give any ‘kids’ any confidence.
26 Sep 2012, 15:11 pm
i’ll be here to remind you of your ideas on saturday.
@nama1-231:
this is as much about these youngsters as it is about morne.
when the ozzies break their confidence then what?
of course i hope they have dream debuts but my gut feeling is this will blow up on them and us and then what should meyer do?
26 Sep 2012, 15:14 pm
@bokfan1-260:
“If Ruan continues with his cr@p kicking we will also all lobby for him to be replaced”
And lobby we will – no player is safe from people power.
26 Sep 2012, 15:15 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-258: Agh for f.ucks sake!! Go cry me a river!!
Your coach decided to drop Stain, that is it, plain and simple. He has being k@k the whole season. Only the Loftus faithful was still pushing to give another change. Rather get behind the team and support the youngsters, and pleeeease stop your whining!!!
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-267: Nonsense. The young players have old heads Like JDV, Bekker, Duane, Habs etc to steady them, Morne is not and has never been an on-field leader. His absence will have no effect on either Elton or Goosen
@londonshark-266:
this may sound funny, but morne has mental strength.
also he is old enough and has been through worse at the right age, these laaities are gonna find out the hard and ugly way that life is not roses.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-263:
If Meyer does not give him game time on Saturday I will do a ‘SKOPPIE-ON-JAKE-WHITE’ on him
26 Sep 2012, 15:17 pm
Yeah. Finally the Goose gets his opportunity to shine.
But surely JDJ has to be Fransie’s backup.
In any team their always has to be a pecking order and JDJ was next in line.
He has played next to JDV all season so as a combo it makes sense.
Don’t think this farken oke will ever come right.
HM just log onto Keo and find out what the popular opinion is and select your team based on bloggers advice.
26 Sep 2012, 15:18 pm
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-256: ha ha, ‘n jagse posduif…
26 Sep 2012, 15:18 pm
Heyneke’s the type to bang a virgin with no foreplay or lubricant
26 Sep 2012, 15:19 pm
@nama1-244: At least he’ll have a better record than 50% with his wrong leg.
@bofh-269:
@Atreides-270:
maybe we should save our talking for after the game.
i hope they win, but boy oh boy do i have reservations.
the kak thing about this is that saying ‘i told you so after the match’ is a set back for all of us.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-271:
Im convinced you are a Keo employee. Hired only to post on this blog to drum up a few extra hits like mine now.
There’s no way you can be this farking thick in real life.
26 Sep 2012, 15:20 pm
@Maljan-255: A bit harsh! Play went left before that ruck and with the complicated defense stucture employed nowadays, you dont require your 15 to patrol the centre of the field anymore. It’s about trusting any fellow teammate to make the tackle which Greyling didn’t. In short, I think Kirchner was exactly where the structure needed him but for the miss tackle by ‘you-know-who’
@Doughnut-248:
His debut game vs England on the EOYT where he scored a try. Played very well.
Look, he is still fairly young (26) and there is still room for improvement on some aspects of his game. But to write him off just like that after a few mistakes, is wrong imo. Also remember that HM dropped him unceremoniously after the Argies test where he was one of the better back line players. We don’t know what kind of influence that had on him psychologically.
He now has 8 tests to be precise….only 4 as a starter. You really going to write him off after so few chances playing in a team that does not really use its back line?
I virtually put R50 in this guy’s hat; you can do the same or better it
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PDgZvhT9Nj8&feature=related
26 Sep 2012, 15:21 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-267: I’m more confident about this game than I have been about any other in the last three matches. All of these guys have played against all their opponents already, with one or two possible exceptions. Our forwards will provide a lot of ball and the backs are better equipped to use it well than any other time in recent history. Be confident. These boys are up for it. And with Beale out of position at flyhalf our chances just got better.
@Jeraldjay-273: We definitely have the players to develop a fearsome backline, no question….if you get JPP back you could have Habs & JPP on wing, get back J Fourie, JDJ/Paul Jordaan at centre, Goosen or Elton at 10 and Hougaard at 9 playing their natural games….with Taute/Lambie at FB…..if these guys are coached well there isn’t a defence on earth they couldn’t tear to pieces
@mxhosa-265: Ralepele is twice the player Strauss is. He and Du Plessis are streaks ahead of the rest of the hookers in SA.
26 Sep 2012, 15:22 pm
@John Galt-278:
there is no need for insults, john.
i am free to my opinions as much as you.
26 Sep 2012, 15:22 pm
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-264: I honestly believe we have 2 very gifted young 10′s in both Goosen and Jantjies. Both so young, that IF they get enough decent game time (and build up some good international experience) they could lead us to infinity and beyond for years to come. Usually we sit with the “who is backup for Morne” question.
Now for ONCE, we have 2 fellows I believe could play roles on the ‘big stage’, with youngsters like Pollard and the sort all coming through as well (And Lambie as an alternative, although I believe he might need to find an alternative position).
No, our 10 stocks are looking good – it’s just NB that every player gets a little game time. If Goosen turns out to be as injury prone as what some seem to fear – no FEAR, as Elton, who is a playmaker of note (en behoort nou wragtig sy kans ook te kry!!!!) is there.
Funny….10 no longer worries me
We be having them.
26 Sep 2012, 15:24 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-277: You should stop wringing your hands like a blue-rinse tannie. Steyn cost us the AB game and was largely responsible for Aus too. Let him take a break and find some form. The young guys will do fine.
@UptheGuts-279: In fairness, Greyling arrived late at that ruck but I don’t recall why? Maybe he made a tackle earlier and that gap should’ve been stopped by someone else?
@stormer in a teacup-282:
i fear you are in for a rude awakening, we shall see then.
i honestly wish them well but have a bad feeling about this.
and dont tell me its all been for the best at the end of it.
26 Sep 2012, 15:26 pm
@Atreides-283:
With the young talent at our disposal we should walk the RWC 2015.
26 Sep 2012, 15:27 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-289: Would you rather a rerun of the last game?
26 Sep 2012, 15:28 pm
@Maljan-255:
A ruck forms in the middle of the field in your 22. That suggest to me that you have all your forwards attending the ruck with the defensive players around the ruck taking up positions to stop any sniping break by an opposition player through the middle or around the fringes.
You FB take a up position somewhere in the back line (between O/C and wing) to help defend in case the attacking team bring in their FB or the other wing in order to create an overlap. So, Kirchner was at the right place imo.
The players at the ruck did not do their defensive duties properly.
@UptheGuts-288: Nope he just came lumbering in like a pregnant sow and completely missed his man
Just wait untill this ****** team starts to fire.
Not long now….
They know its coming.
Boks forever.
@stormer in a teacup-282: I actualy would prefer Barnes at 10 than Beale. He kicks as much Steyn. Beale might run it more
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-285:
Ja daai ou lyk om aftebreek.
But I must admit your obsession with Morne is a bit over the top.
26 Sep 2012, 15:29 pm
@Jeraldjay-290: Some of the other sides have great youngsters as well.
26 Sep 2012, 15:30 pm
@Atreides-270: Funny how you talk about old heads will steady the young ones and you mentoin all the WP names…..they sure did a good job in the S15………
Bekker cannot steady his own bloody head let alone his team mates.
Goosen shoud be just fine next JdV and if Pienaar stops his kak the youngster will nail this big time.
@viewer-275: Wow that was insightfull.
26 Sep 2012, 15:32 pm
@UptheGuts-295: Beale is a great individual player and runner, but not a good director of play.
@stormer in a teacup-297:
True but we have a lot of players in their early twenties that should be experience and streetwise by then.
Argies I feel will also throw a spanner in the works.
@Jeraldjay-290: Dunno if we’d walk it but we could definitely become a real force again. All depends on how these guys are nurtured and developed.
I’m a bit worried about Meyer’s player management, he’s pretty erratic with his decisions on dropping or retaining players.
26 Sep 2012, 15:34 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-289: Bakkies, what is better in the long term for Bok rugby?
Living in the past and being too sh y te scared to make ANY changes for fear of losing – YET STILL LOSING….
OR
Living for the future, making a few changes, being brave and taking a fuckingchance on actually winning, in a manner which would bode well for the future?
Is a loss with Morne Steyn at 10 somehow BETTER and more admirable than a loss with ANYONE else at 10?
26 Sep 2012, 15:34 pm
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-298: I’d love to see Hougie and Goosen developing into a combination
26 Sep 2012, 15:35 pm
@Atreides-287:
@stormer in a teacup-291:
i had resigned myself to expecting the boks to win their home test against the anzacs, as being non negotiable.
well, negotiations are firmly back on the table now. and i dont think we are bargaining strongly.
@Jeraldjay-296:
my obsession is with the boks doing well.
and we’ve just taken a step backwards i fear.
@viewer-275: Did he at least buy you a drink?
I owe these guys a lot
Thank you guys
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S9khCXkWaJA
@nama1-292: My thoughts exactly! You can’t realy blame the 15 if he is off covering space somewhere else, but it was the 2nd time in as many weeks he got beaten like that though. Out of position, beaten on his inside. There must be something wrong with the plan itself then. Why was no one covering midfield if Kirchner was on the wing somewhere? Higgenbotham was more or less the same
26 Sep 2012, 15:37 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-304: You are turning into the Grant10 of the north. Pull yourself towards yourself.
26 Sep 2012, 15:37 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-302:
we should build and win at the same time. its simple.
i am sick and tired of the jake white instituted judge me at the world cup kak that we have accepted for the boks.
this, in a nutshell is really what you are saying isn’t it, only you dont know it.
26 Sep 2012, 15:38 pm
@Atreides-301:
This is the teething phase were his sussing out what works and what doesn’t.
By next year their should be consistency in selection.
But their have been a few unnecessary selections like, Wynand Olivier, Dean Greyling and Jacques Potgieter that could have been avoided.
@Atreides-303: That would be super! Hougaard needs to sort out one or two issues though but if they click I can see them carrying on for many a year to come. One thing that does bother me is our depth at 9 if you exclude overseas based players who will most probably be over the hill come WC time.
Decent side with 2 exceptions:
1. Sideshow Bob – with a bit of luck he’ll slip and twist an ankle running out of the tunnel!
2. Ruan Pienaar – if I see this fvckwit kick one more ball back into the ruck while standing there with that dom, vacant look on his face I’ll sh1.t myself!!!
26 Sep 2012, 15:39 pm
@Katman-284:
That may be true Katman, but as long as HM is the coach, he will remain third choice. That’s just how it is.
26 Sep 2012, 15:39 pm
@UptheGuts-279:
YES!!!
@UptheGuts-288:
He was standing in the back line not realizing that there was no FH on his inside. Remember, that play took place right after Goosen came on for Morne.
Why you sub players when you are on the defensive in your 22, is beyond me. Let the players on the field deal with that situation first and bring on the subs when the pressure is released.
WP did the same on Saturday (subbing the two props 5m from the goal line). The end result was a penalty try for “Kwas.
26 Sep 2012, 15:40 pm
@shark4life-312: Speak to Justshat. He’s been there already.
26 Sep 2012, 15:41 pm
@Jeraldjay-310: Common my man surely it is not only bulls players responsible for the slump? Did someone in Pretoria park a snot in your milkshake?
Think Bakkies is having all of you on. No way can it be real anyone bemoaning Steyn’s ommision.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-304:
How can you say that by selecting ” the Sachin Tendulker of rugby” we taking a step backwards.
The worst thing that could’ve happened on Saturday is Morne missing his first kick and Loftus turning against him. That would be tragic.
26 Sep 2012, 15:42 pm
@Jeraldjay-290:
Hold them horses boet.
It’s not as if the other nations don’t have youngasters coming through.
NZ has been grooming Cruden for two years now. We are only starting with Goosen now. By 2015, Cruden will be way more experience that Goosen with possibly as much talent.
26 Sep 2012, 15:42 pm
The guys from Keo TV team looks like they have just had chisa nyama
And keo has the mokaba to back it up
26 Sep 2012, 15:44 pm
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-316:
Sorry Kwagga. Hardly realised it was all Bulls players.
So it’s good I didn’t mention Spies and Kirchner.
26 Sep 2012, 15:46 pm
@stormer in a teacup-315: Ha-ha! What a farking nic!!!
26 Sep 2012, 15:46 pm
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-311: Yea bud, I still think Sarel pretorius was a big loss…if they could lure him back he’d be great cover for Hougaard or Pienaar
26 Sep 2012, 15:47 pm
@nama1-319:
Cause Goosen is more talented than Cruden, Nama.
But time will tell.
26 Sep 2012, 15:48 pm
@nama1-319:
youngasters = youngsters.
Fern will not mind.
26 Sep 2012, 15:48 pm
@Atreides-323: And Van Zyl looks promising
26 Sep 2012, 15:50 pm
@stormer in a teacup-299: the Aussies trying to direct play would drastically increase our chances. Meaning they would go for the percentage play most of the time. It’s the Cooper-like something-out-of-nothing play that worries me.
26 Sep 2012, 15:51 pm
@Jeraldjay-321: O bliksem ja…hehehe
@Atreides-323: Huge. Still remember watching the Super 14 final 2007 with him and Riaan Viljoen. Down to earth good boytjies.
26 Sep 2012, 15:51 pm
@Jeraldjay-324:
Time will tell.
NZ players always beat us in the area where it matters most….the top three inches.
@Atreides-323:
He is back.
Playing for the Cheetahs again next year, I think.
26 Sep 2012, 15:52 pm
@RL-268: hahahaha just an example
We all love all the players and if they perform then no problem. Even when they dont perform, fans support them to find form again (eg Habana).
When there are better options
or young players who deserve a chance (when the incumbent is not performing – Morne, or is a known quantity – Spies)
Or, in this case, the tournament is a write-off, then changes must be made!
26 Sep 2012, 15:52 pm
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-316: Nope. Andries Bekker was kak in Argentina. Ruan Pienaar was SUPER kak (and I don’t think he is our answer at 9 at all) in Dunedin. Jean Div has done fukkall and also needs to be retired.
Jannie du Plessis and Beast were kak in Perth, as was Mvovo.
Eben was kak in Argentina, and caused kak in Perth.
Frans Steyn has been absent….
Alberts has also gone walkabout at times.
Duane was missing on debut.
Marcell Coetzee looked burnt out and confused about what his primary role was at times.
etc
etc
etc
etc
26 Sep 2012, 15:53 pm
@UptheGuts-327: And remember how the Aussie commentators bemoaned the chipkick that Barnes seem to overdo? More of the same tyvm…
26 Sep 2012, 15:58 pm
@Jeraldjay-324:
That beauden barrett guy from the hurricanes looks pretty useful too.
26 Sep 2012, 16:01 pm
@nama1-329: I believe so. I read somewhere that the aussie coaches had a problem with his passing skills…wonder if this is being addressed? Seems like a common problem, didn’t Rathbone also get sent to the juniors to brush up on his passing when he went to Oz?
26 Sep 2012, 16:02 pm
Taute to fullback if F.Steyn is fit please
26 Sep 2012, 16:03 pm
Taute to fullback if Frans Steyn is fit please
26 Sep 2012, 16:03 pm
So now JG is selected at flyhalf. What good is that going to be if the same kick chase game plan is employed?
26 Sep 2012, 16:06 pm
Once JPP and Chilliboy are injuiry free, Heyneke will have a few more options. He can then replace Zane with a whitey.
26 Sep 2012, 16:08 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-331:
Agreing mostly..
26 Sep 2012, 16:08 pm
@Pot Blou Gevaar-339:
“agreeing”
26 Sep 2012, 16:09 pm
Meyer said: ‘Jaco would have been in the squad earlier had he not been injured. He is 106kg and runs the 100m in 10.7. So I looked at the way Australia defend and thought we could exploit that [better with Taute]. I can’t elaborate on that because we’re talking game plan then. It’s a tough call on Juan.’
What does he mean? Taute is big and strong just like Div so why wasn’t Jean (Taute’s direct replacement) brought in the game to exploit this ‘way Aus defend’ in Perth? Hap ok ma lekke babbels… I don’t think there was/is a gameplan to be honest. Or not to exploit defenses. Try and run over them yes!
26 Sep 2012, 16:10 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-60: Both players being treated like cra p.
26 Sep 2012, 16:15 pm
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-63: Well said Kwagga.I still have issues on man management-ie.Lambie_
I dont believe that HM succumbs to views raised on this site.Generally
a very good team which deserves our full suppor t.
26 Sep 2012, 16:17 pm
@ies-337: Guess that is a possibility if they’re still going to try and run the game from scrumhalf. No other scrumhalf we tried since, can do it like FdP. Best to give Goosen the ball and let him decide what to do. Chances are we’ll run the ball more. There was a noticeable difference in the way we played when Goosen came off the bench. We still kicked high but never overdid it imo
26 Sep 2012, 16:17 pm
@AssassinWP-336: I second that – and if JDV gets tired then Taute to centre and Lambie on for the last 5min.
26 Sep 2012, 16:19 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-81: Bakkies
You sound so weary..
26 Sep 2012, 16:21 pm
@Atreides-334:
YUeah…Rathbone was withdrwa from rugby for a full year while they were teaching him some basic skills.
This was a year after he led the Jong Bokkies to become world champs. Says a hell of a lot about our coaching wrt skills at a junior level.
@AssassinWP-336:
Too late for that man. Kirchner will play at full back this Saturday.
Best make peace with it and try to judge him OBJECTIVELY on Saturday.
@DumbSupporter-338:
At the start of the season Kirchner, Habana, JPP and Beast were in the Bok team against England and some on here said that the “magic number is “4″.” Now we’ve been playing with only thee POC’s for the last few tests without any problem.
Why, in your mind, does HM have to wait for Chilli or JPP to be ready before he can drop Zane? Maybe he just rates Zane.
26 Sep 2012, 16:22 pm
So Juan De Jong makes his debut against the biggest inside center in world rugby, Jamie Roberts, sores a brilliant inside center try ( Robbie Fleck style against the AB’s ), yet an untried player like JJ Engelbrecht is picked ahead of him, then another untried center in Jaco Taute is ahead of him?.
Lambie is also chowing bench behind a redundant, imagine-less Kirchner, now Jaco Tute is also ahead of him, WTF???. The inconsistency coming out of Heyneke Meyer’s mouth is p*ssing me off. He says whatever comes first in his month just like PDV used to, but calmer or with less animation, but sh*t is still the same just packaged nicely ( White Afrikaner)
26 Sep 2012, 16:22 pm
As good as this team is, there’s room for more improvement.
SA is covered in the following positions: locks, hookers (if you consider returning injured players), loose forwards (one, or two players can still add value), fly-halfs for the first time ever, outside backs (one, or two players can still add value).
Where we do lack is tight head prop, midfield options, half-back (not yet satisfactory) and full back.
The lucky guys still there;
5. Andries Bekker - Juandre shaded him all of 2012. Bekker however commands at least the back-up role, until he reaches the heights of 2009, 2010.
13. J. De Villiers - Juan De Jongh to hold fort, until the young turks pitches up, Jordaan, Serfontein, etc.
15. Niknaks - solid, without being spectacular. FB being a primary source of attack for all leading sides around the world, any of Aplon, Taute and JJ should get the nod before Sideshow and Lambie.
** If an expectation could be made for Flo, how ‘bout getting the likes of BJ Botha, Guthro Steenkamp and Brian Mujati involved? We’re still lacking at scrum-time…
26 Sep 2012, 16:23 pm
@RL-96: I Thought that it was the
females domain to b e bitchy.
26 Sep 2012, 16:25 pm
Nama1 and UptheGuts: sorry guys, can’t agree with your Kirchner’s missed tackle comments, so let’s just move on…. good debate anyway!
26 Sep 2012, 16:26 pm
@stormer in a teacup-308:
right then, i’m done on the subject.
consider it closed
@UptheGuts-317:
genuine concerns here, guts.. genuine concerns.
if this goes pear shaped then what? effectively meyer is now gambling with the last two chances for pegging out ration back with oz and nz. that’s this year in its moer, is next year going to be any better?
to say i am unsettled is an understatement.
@Jeraldjay-318:
again, i hope for all our sakes this works out, i really do.
before you know it (considering the squad will be everyone but a bull) all the kenners will be saying lets judge him at the world cup, mostly because their favourite players are there.
26 Sep 2012, 16:27 pm
@nama1-347: Good that you mention the Rathbone issue, what many missed was that Dewey Swartbooi was the key man at center with Rathbone, in fact Jean De Villiers was behind these 2, yet Jean De Villiers made it to that year’s Springbok end of the year tour, not Dewey Swartbooi.
That’s how SA Rugby treats black players.
26 Sep 2012, 16:28 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-103: Blokkies.Jy klink beswaard.Soos die ou oom in Ko-operasie Stories.
26 Sep 2012, 16:28 pm
@ryecatcher-346:
you’ve hit me on the head there
i am
my emotions are running on empty
and i dont have many of them to begin with
26 Sep 2012, 16:29 pm
@nama1-347: Exactly what I tried to tell you the other day wrt HM and hidden agendas as far as selection is concerned. If HM had a colour bias it would be blue not white. I also firmly believes he rates Kirchner but maybe its only because he is from the Bulls.
Apart from letting those 2 tries in (as discussed earlier not his fault entirely), Zane has done nothing wrong to be dropped. He is safe otherwise, which is good. A tweak in the defensive lines when he is out of position should help with that
26 Sep 2012, 16:31 pm
@Pot Blou Gevaar-349:
What don’t you get about Mujati not being available to play for the Boks anymore?
I don’t think we are really covered at lock. Only Etzebeth who are looking like the real deal.
Bekker…injury prone and tend to play in the back line.
Kruger…good in the line out but after that he is nowhere.
Flip…one good game but not really a solution. Average at best.
Agree with the other positions where we lacking. Big problem at TH and SH especially since the should form part of your spine.
26 Sep 2012, 16:34 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-331: can you tell me why is it that:
The Lions are playing the rugga that you all are asking for; yet they failed in S15 , Stromers failed with their defence approch, Bulls had sucsess with different team , Sharkies failed with their approach so how should we play ?
26 Sep 2012, 16:37 pm
@nama1-357: Flip is better than what you give credit , he must sort out his dicipline. Eben must work harder at ruck time and Bekker is nowere, yes we are thin, not as bad as nr 3 though.
26 Sep 2012, 16:37 pm
@gunther-333:
Yes Barrett looks awesome.
But he doesn’t have a mentor like Goosen has……. Johan Van Graan.
26 Sep 2012, 16:38 pm
@Sharksgirl-169: Conspiracy???
Fiendishly Machievellian.
26 Sep 2012, 16:39 pm
@Maljan-351:
No probs.
26 Sep 2012, 16:42 pm
@nama1-357:
Flip had one good game.
Maybe he’ll have another.
26 Sep 2012, 16:43 pm
Juandre Kruger. Good at line out time – invisible everywhere else. We need locks who can put in the hard yards. Not tackle like sissies. I have never seen Kruger take the ball up once for the Bulls or Boks. Hy boer heel blerrie dag in die backline. Sorry but Bok material he aint. I’d have Flip over him any day. The way Kruger steers clear of the rough stuff is cringeworthy!
You only make changes if they will strengthen the team.
And right now Heyneke Meyer has done just that. He has said that he will make the hard calls and he has dropped one of his favourite sons. He has finally realised that Morne is down on confidence and out of form.
Got to give him credit for that. And for people to get behind him.
@nama1-347:
I believe Aplon is the latest WP player to hurt his finger?
26 Sep 2012, 16:44 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-352:
BS! It’s already gone pearshaped with Morne. This is a chance to try something different. Someone different. If we still lose, it won’t be because Goosen missed all his kicks at goal AND stymied our attacking play. We’ll have something to work from then. With Morne it will always have to be the same ***** gameplan because he can’t play any differentlyor maybe just horribly out of form. Do you agree that once his reliable boot had deserted him, he no longer warranted a place in the side and became like someone said before, ‘a liability’?
@Maljan-351: What debate? We only just fired off the opening salvo.
26 Sep 2012, 16:44 pm
@ryecatcher-354:
ek is emosioneel verpletter op die oomblik, rye
ek is op my laaste jong
my hart kan dit nie meer uit hou nie, ek vat liewers n stappie
26 Sep 2012, 16:45 pm
@Jeraldjay-360:
You sound jaloers?
26 Sep 2012, 16:45 pm
@capebull-359:
No man.
Flip is average. Looked good when playing in a very good team (Bulls 2010) or when his forwards dominate (Boks vs AB). When playing at the Cheetahs, he was just average. Granted, he improved over the years but he is still not real international quality.
His boet was much better than him back then.
@Jeraldjay-360:
Joke of the day!!!
26 Sep 2012, 16:46 pm
@UptheGuts-367:
i cant think straight, guts
i will respond later
cheers for now
26 Sep 2012, 16:47 pm
@stormer in a teacup-308: lEAVE ME OUT OF IT…..
I am as happy as can be…
26 Sep 2012, 16:47 pm
I’m off the gym ladies – smell you later.
Heineken thanks for making my day – dropping Morne starting with the Goose and with the Elton bonus!
Just two or three more changes then bang, selection sorted. Then we can talk game plan, tactics and execution.
26 Sep 2012, 16:48 pm
@nama1-357:
Must have been on Mars re Mujati’s, I do apologise sir.
Re our lock stocks, I’d say that the selected quartet is currently our best. Not much else going around at the moment.
26 Sep 2012, 16:48 pm
359 @ Capebull
When Bekker came on Kruger against the AB he did more in 10min than what Kruger did all game.
26 Sep 2012, 16:49 pm
@gunther-363:
26 Sep 2012, 16:50 pm
@gunther-363:
What about a string of good games without getting a yellow somewhere along the line.
@Hondo-366:
Well, at least we know that it is not because he was trying to pull it out of his arse,……. like Spies did when he injured his finger.
@nama1-292: You know your rugby.
it is time to look to the lord people
when you have nowhere left to go
what is there to lose
my prayers are with all of you
but mostly with the boks
26 Sep 2012, 16:51 pm
god help them now
26 Sep 2012, 16:51 pm
Well done Heyneke….
You crossed the Rubicon today in my estimation….
Just a tweak or 2 and those Kiwis will be looking anxiously over their shoulders…..for damn sure….
26 Sep 2012, 16:52 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-368:
Be strong, pel.
Just remember it is the Boks playing at Loftus this weekend. Not the Bulls.
Heyneke needs your support more than ever.
26 Sep 2012, 16:52 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-371: Now you know how I been feeling since 2010 !!!!!
26 Sep 2012, 16:53 pm
@UptheGuts – 367: you came in late, Nama1 and I have had a good go at each other today!
26 Sep 2012, 16:53 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-379: Now you’re taking the piss, surely!
26 Sep 2012, 16:54 pm
HM – Taken the wind out of the sails of most critics in one day.
And i’m not talking about Bakkies here.
Lol. HM will never pick Jantjes………………………..
I bet my house Morne will start at Loftus……………….
HM only picks Blue Bulls………………………………
and misconcetions like …………………………………….‘There’s a misconception that Goosen must fit into a rigid structure. He has the freedom to play the situation as he sees it,’ he said. ‘But this is not Currie Cup rugby where you have space and time. I’ve said to him to go out and express himself, that’s why I picked him. He must determine when it is on to go wide or take the safer option.’
26 Sep 2012, 16:54 pm
@nama1-377:
Well he’d have to be selected to have a string of good games no?
The only Bulls player you haven’t bashed today is Zane.
I’ll leave you to it.
26 Sep 2012, 16:55 pm
359….
flip only looks good when his forwards dominate.
flip playing flyhalf now is he.
or was flip one of those dominant forwards.
26 Sep 2012, 16:57 pm
@ryecatcher-378:
Thanks.
Im happy with the team, I think Coenie will come on at TH and really push the hell out of the Wallaby scrum. He’s also a strong carrier and adept at stealing.
This is a powerful pack. If we can give Goosen fast flat ball to work with, I am smelling a pasting for the aussies. Hulle gaan klippies kak.
@I am a stormer-365: he should’ve dropped him after mendoza! no credit from me!
why do we have to lose in perth and dunedin for the penny to drop for him?
26 Sep 2012, 16:59 pm
@nama1-377:
26 Sep 2012, 16:59 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-368: En nadat
jy die stappie gevat het vat ,n dop of tw ee.Dit verrig wonders vir
beswaardheid
26 Sep 2012, 17:00 pm
@shooter-386: He said the same thing when he picked Gio v ENG. That was actualy one of Gio’s worst games in a Bok jersey.
26 Sep 2012, 17:00 pm
@XhosaKid-353: Fakme, are you still pining for Dewey? Your “poor blek me” chip grows by the day. Next we’re going to hear about how white singers get multiple shots at the anthem while Ras Dumisani got booted out by the racists after one try.
26 Sep 2012, 17:01 pm
@grant10-383:
26 Sep 2012, 17:02 pm
Gone are the days of Martin Johnson, Victor Marfield, John Eales, Abdelatif Benazzi, David Giffin, Krynauw Otto, Ian Jones etc.
The Bok locks nowadays faces the likes of James Horwill, Brody Retallick, etc.
26 Sep 2012, 17:05 pm
@gunther-387:
You call that “bashing”?
Jeepers, I think you are a bit over sensitive here Gunther. What’s wrong? Not enough Bulls players in the team to your liking?
@Brigadier Van Zyl-388:
OK, Brig.
Compare his performance against the Argies (in Arg) vs his performance against the AB.
Keep in mind that his lock partner against the Argies was the best forward in that game. What happened there with Flip?
26 Sep 2012, 17:06 pm
@Pot Blou Gevaar-397: Mark Andrews?
26 Sep 2012, 17:06 pm
@Pot Blou Gevaar-397: everyone has to start somewhere…eales and jonno didn’t just become household names on debut!
26 Sep 2012, 17:07 pm
@nama1-398: how many caps does flip have? and of those how many decent games has he had?
i count dunedin as 1
26 Sep 2012, 17:08 pm
@gunther-387:
Enough people out there on the bash-kirchner-wagon already.
Not enough space for me to get on as well.
26 Sep 2012, 17:10 pm
So why can’t they play deJongh at centre and Taute at fullback? It makes no sense hanging on to Zane who is average at best and offers nothing on attack. I’d rather have two attacking players in deJongh and Taute. And both of them are sound on defense.
26 Sep 2012, 17:11 pm
@Transformation-391:
He persisted with Morne a game too long. Besides the goal kicking and the non-performance of Greyling, there were positives to be taken from the Dunedin game. Players now realise that every test is important. Especially some like JDV who is not a long term captain and also running out of road as a Bok when it comes to form.
26 Sep 2012, 17:13 pm
@kwas-403:
We couldn’t expect too many changes.
One bombshell was enough today.
26 Sep 2012, 17:13 pm
@nama1-398:
Agh we all know where you are coming from buddy.
The mix is about right I’d say.
Zane will probably be the next to go.
Bulls are nowhere right now.
26 Sep 2012, 17:14 pm
@Transformation-401:
He played his 18th test against the All Blacks.
So, make that 1 good performances in 18 appearances.
I guess it is still better than Wynand, who had 1 good performance in 37 appearances.
26 Sep 2012, 17:15 pm
@UptheGuts-399:
I really find it strange that people forget about Mark Andrews when they talk about great locks of the past.
26 Sep 2012, 17:17 pm
@gunther-406:
You do???
Maybe you’re wrong.
26 Sep 2012, 17:19 pm
@UptheGuts-399:
Yup, another great lock.
@Transformation-400:
True sir..
26 Sep 2012, 17:21 pm
@nama1-409:
What do you think of HM’s statement that “there’s a misconception that Goosen must fit into a rigid structure. He has the freedom to play the situation as he sees it.”
Goosen and Morne are poles apart as players and Goosen will bring something totally different to the party.
26 Sep 2012, 17:21 pm
@nama1-407:
26 Sep 2012, 17:24 pm
@gunther-406:
Don’t think Zane will be dropped.
HM wants him at FB. In his 1st three matches as coach, he played Zane, Lambie and Aplon at FB against England.
When the RC started, Zane was his 1st choice again. Zane is there to stay unless he becomes just as bad as Morne. Something not even the most ardent objector to his inclusion can claim right now.
26 Sep 2012, 17:25 pm
I think it will be the first time many non-cheetahs will see Goossen playing more than 60 minutes.
But they’re all in agreement we should start with him. I think ‘t was them that came up with Goose/ Goossen nicknameconnection
26 Sep 2012, 17:28 pm
he thinks meyers telling fibs he talking expansive to the press and telling the players vokmaarvoor
26 Sep 2012, 17:32 pm
@nama1-413: Zane will be subject to the horses for courses management plan.
Zane will be OK. I’m fine with him there in any case for the time being. At least he does things on pace with ball in hand. Not a classic classic player, but loads of heart and plenty skill.
Now that most of the supporter selection anxiety has died down, HM can take his time to pick and choose players he feel he is comfortable coaching through the next weeks and months.
HM will make the decisions in time… When he feels it is time.
Haha. Still laughing at everyone’s suprise because they had HM boxed square and sorted in their minds….haha.
26 Sep 2012, 17:34 pm
@nama1-407: and it was the first test that he started…
heavyweight boxers also take time to mature..
although, I’ve had my doubts in the past… maybe old Flippie is turning into the hard man after all…
26 Sep 2012, 17:35 pm
@I am a stormer-411:
To be honest, Meyer says a lot of things and then do the opposite.
He has been saying, since coming back from NZ, that “the game plan is 100% the right one.” Now I don’t have to tell you that the “game plan” entails a lot of kicking, whether by the FH, SH or FB. Not once in the 7 tests so far have we seen our back line execute a planned move from 1st phase. I don’t know if there were even planned moves from 2nd or 3rd phase by them. Our tries comes from broken play or individual brilliance or luck.
So, I would be very surprised if we veer of the game plan and if Goosen brings our back line into play that much more and that much more effective. Even if Goosen are to try and bring them into play, how ready are guys like Frans (if he plays) and JdV after playing stampkar rugby for so long now. They are conditioned by now to run into the nearest opposition player or kick for field position. I would like nothing more than for Habana and Hougaard to just receive the ball after a back line move but alas, I won’t hold my breath.
We’ll win this test, with our forwards moering the Aussies.
26 Sep 2012, 17:38 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-415: remember the keolings are all MENSA material. they get 100% at work, in bed and in their version theory is final.
26 Sep 2012, 17:39 pm
Hoekie toooooeeeeee!!!!
26 Sep 2012, 17:40 pm
@nama1-418: At the set piece, the ABs sent most of the back line right back to diffuse the inevitable kicks, almost daring the Boks to run it. But they never did. Hopefully with Goosen there he may even have a go once in a while or at least make the opposition think twice
26 Sep 2012, 17:40 pm
LMAO. Those were the days
26 Sep 2012, 17:42 pm
@shooter-417:
I’m always up for a player proving me wrong and maybe Flip will too.
Wasn’t it just last year that a lot of Bulls supporters called for his head? That after his great 2010 season.
Fickle Bulls fans.
26 Sep 2012, 17:43 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-415:
Exactly.
You thought the same when you read that the 1st time. Be honest.
26 Sep 2012, 17:47 pm
Zane Is Our Best Fullback & He Can Tackle Hard As Hell. Taute Doesn’t Shine In The S15 So Suggestions About Him As A Possible Replacement For Zane Are Stupid, Lambie Would Be The Better Suitor, You Guys Haven’t Been Bashing Ruan Hasn’t Been Setting The World Alight With Crisp Passes & Service(Think About It). Bring Back Hougie @Scrummie And Play Basson On The Wing (I Mean Goosen Was Called Up In Similar Circumstances). On A Side Note, I Type Like This Because I Can.
26 Sep 2012, 17:47 pm
@gonzo-421:
That’s all we can do, Gonzo.
Hope that we at least play differently from the rubbish that we have been exposed to the last few months. Just do something different than kick and chase or bash it up, every now and then.
26 Sep 2012, 17:48 pm
@shooter-419:
Just some of us.
26 Sep 2012, 17:58 pm
@thegreatanubis-425:
Anubis: is the Greek name for a jackal-headed god associated with mummification and the afterlife in ancient Egyptian religion. He is the son of Nephthys and Set according to the Egyptian mythology.
And Dawn says people don’t know how to pick nics anymore.
26 Sep 2012, 17:58 pm
@David-427: O yes, I forgot the Stormers are not
26 Sep 2012, 18:00 pm
Lambie still on the bench.
He got less than 5 minutes last time out, when the game was already over….
26 Sep 2012, 18:00 pm
Please tell me a few of you fellows listened to this?
Ohmygreatness.
http://www.sport24.co.za/Multimedia/Rugby/Rugby-Championship/Steyns-the-guy-HM-20120926
26 Sep 2012, 18:02 pm
Maybe De Jongh danced himself out of the squad.
anyway.
It’s good to have competition for spots. That’s what a few hard choices do for you.
Not this bleating about who is no 1 picked for now.
26 Sep 2012, 18:08 pm
Jissus….Heyneke Meyer must have wept and then ran to the loo to vomit in grief a few times when this decision was made. Give him a break….he has dropped Morne you cant expect him to drop Zane so soon.
After Zane we will need to focus our energies on getting him to see Pierre Spies for the player he is.
And rather dont mention the name ‘Wynand Olivier’ because it wont be long and he will be back. Another blou oog Loftus seuntjie. Only Bulls fans rate him. The rest can see how uber k@k he is.
26 Sep 2012, 18:10 pm
@shooter-432: I can’t believe Meyer would consider Taute at center ahead of Juan de Jongh. Shows how ludicrously stupid he is.
Toilet seat cover head Kirchner should have sat on the bench for this game. Taute should have played fullback, and either Lambie or de Jongh should have been moved to the centre. Probably de Jongh.
Instead he brings in a complete novice to a position he didn’t earn his reputation from.
Meyer is clueless. Further evidence that what happened at the Bulls was pot luck.
26 Sep 2012, 18:12 pm
@fever-430: Meyer should send Lambie home to the Sharks. He is wasting the kids time. He dropped a whole bunch of other (non Bulls) players. Why doesn’t he just drop Lambie ? The Sharks could do with him.
26 Sep 2012, 18:13 pm
@thegreatanubis-425: Clearly a Bulls fan.
26 Sep 2012, 18:13 pm
@nama1-428: This guy is a complete dingbat. Have you read his posts ?
26 Sep 2012, 18:19 pm
Yes Dusky, Im A Bulls Fan, But I’m Also A Massive Bok Fan Too. Im Sorry If I Don’t Agree To Everything 85% Of The People On Here Say
26 Sep 2012, 18:22 pm
Something to think about for everybody who hails Goosen as the next Messiah (after Hougie, after Morne, after Fransie, after FdP, after Liefling, after Bobby, etc, etc.)
In the game against the All Blacks the score was 8-8 when Goosen replaced Morne Steyn. Immediately thereafter, Smith scored his try breaking through an area where the FH should’ve made the tackle after Smith was missed by the forwards.
In the 20 minutes that he was on the field, the All Blacks also got four kickable penalties at goal (65min, 73 min, 79 min, 80 min) of which they converted two. Now I am not saying that it is his fault but my point is this: In the 1st half the AB had no shot at goal because we were mostly in their half of the field.
So the question now is this: Will Goosen be able to keep us playing in the opposition half for most of the game?
26 Sep 2012, 18:24 pm
Ruan Pienaar still there??
Jano or Sarel should be there instead.
I hope Goosen wears blue one day
26 Sep 2012, 18:24 pm
So another ‘messiah’ being hailed?
Get a grip on reality you bunch of empty-headed wumps. This inaugural Rugby Championship is all but dead and buried; it is a dead rubber(1 pt. out of a possible 10) and the Aussies are clearly treating it as such with their selections. No risking O’Connor, Pocock, Horwill, Genia, Cooper etc. against a bunch of thugs as all the yellows, reds and bannings strongly suggest.
If the Wallabies cannot be beaten at ‘Kamp Staaldrad Loftus’ then it truly is a rugby case of catastrophic proportions.
Personally all I am looking out for is which of the new ‘messiah’s’ drug affected joints have been compromised enough to land him in an ER.
Always good to ruffle the feathers at the end of a day of a short work week.
26 Sep 2012, 18:25 pm
So much of warra warra
26 Sep 2012, 18:26 pm
Patric Lambie is a great talent wasted
should be in the starting lineup more consistently even at wing if need be
26 Sep 2012, 18:27 pm
@Neilanate-441:
Goosen is Special talent…look at his performances so far
reminds me of a young Honiball but better placekicker
26 Sep 2012, 18:28 pm
@nama1-439: No my friend
Now is not the time to come with these questions and paranoid tendencies. That ship has left the harbor…….
You will have Bakkies back here in a flash wailing and pulling his chest hair out.
So the question is actually this: Who do we blame if it all goes wrong?
26 Sep 2012, 18:30 pm
@thegreatanubis-438: I could see that you are a Bulls fan though your posts. Zane Kirchner the best fullback !? Audi R8 Hougaard was moved from 9 specifically because of his poor service at 9, and Ruan Pienaar has done nothing wrong yet.
Basson is a decent option. That much I will give you, but has disappeared in green and gold in his appearances so far.
@Dusky-437:
Yes I did.
I thought an Anubis may have something to do with poepol, that’s why I looked it up.
Consider also that these Aussies are not playing for this Kiwi coach as they are working him out of that job and Cooper has surely show-cased that scenario. You have no excuse but to win but it will be hollow.
26 Sep 2012, 18:31 pm
Bakkies breakdown?
26 Sep 2012, 18:32 pm
Personally I hope we shunt the Aussies by 40 points so that (whether they are playing a dead rubber team or not), it underlines Steyn’s departure. It would be the best thing for Bok rugby at the moment.
@nama1-418:
Well let’s just see how this pans out. We’ve all seen Goosen take the ball flatter than Morne who likes to stand 10 -15m behind his 8th man. In Dunedin for instance, the Boks at one stage were pressing the Ab’s inside their 22 – and where was Morne standing, that’s right, on the 10m line sorting out a drop kick that didn’t happen. I can’t see Goosen doing that. That guy is a try scoring attacking flyhalf that the Boks need right now. Something Morne will never be.
Goosen will play what’s in front of him.
Morne will play to instructions.
There lies the difference.
@greatest13gerber-444:
Do you deny his joints are drug affected? Explain then his banning from rugby about 18 or so months ago?
26 Sep 2012, 18:33 pm
@nama1-447: Ah ok – I understand. It does sound like a malignant anal gland.
26 Sep 2012, 18:36 pm
@I am a stormer-451: I dont think Morne plays to instructions. I think Morne plays to avoid as much physical contact with the opposition as possible. Personally I think of all players, Morne has the greatest fear issues.
Hence the reason the Bulls created the idea of the ruck caterpillar. Morne needs a second to think and then he can execute something good like a long kick that bounces out in the 22 or something (I agree he is capable of that).
But if he has defenders in his face, 9 times out of 10 he is going to make a screw up. The All Blacks ate him up a few times last weekend. The one time he ran around in little circles two or three times before he got sacked.
@greatest13gerber-440: The ‘blue’tried a few times, he isn’t interested. Rumour has it the kid grew up supporting WP – how’s that for a greatestgerber passion killer?
@Neilanate-441: “Always good to ruffle the feathers at the end of a day of a short work week.” ???? Is that what it’s called? Why not just say you are pleasuring yourself in a sock?
@Neilanate-452:
no ideal!
as for all this Zane bashing..I believe he is selected becase Meyer gameplan. Offers stability at the back. No flasher stuff
Zane is very underrated.
26 Sep 2012, 18:37 pm
Who’s on drugs now
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-445:
The problem when everybody more or less agree with the coach is that the site gets boring very quickly.
Only Skop left to come and ridicule HM for selecting Pienaar at SH ahead of Hougie…and HG to cry about Keegan not being in the team. Other than those two, everybody has said his/her piece.
Who to blame when things go wrong?
That’s easy: Zane Kirchner.
@Brigadier Van Zyl-415:
And this coming from a Bulls supporter.
You’re a funny guy.
26 Sep 2012, 18:38 pm
@greatest13gerber-444:
En ‘lat’ ek net een keer vir jou vertel dat jou Despatch was nie naastenby so vuil as die Parks rugby klub(met Kierie van Straaten en Theo Schonken en ou Amos DuP.) nie.
26 Sep 2012, 18:39 pm
@greatest13gerber-456: Zane actually hasn’t played that badly in his last few games so I will back off him a bit. In the past he had NO OTHER tactic in his arsenal than the up and under. If he starts that k@k again, he must go.
26 Sep 2012, 18:40 pm
@Dusky-454:
fair tactical analysisss but Morne thru his career has being consistenly being a match winner. His strike rate is amongst best in world.
26 Sep 2012, 18:41 pm
Not sure where Lambie will come on as replacement. Would have started him above Goosen as more experienced. If he replaces FB means Taute to replace JdV so playing out of position. Lambie great talent but almost forgotten as we don’t see him play. Absolute waste.
26 Sep 2012, 18:42 pm
@greatest13gerber-456: Zane is kak and totally one dimentional
Id rather have Odwa there and i say it with Shock!!!
Atleast Odwa varies his game
26 Sep 2012, 18:42 pm
@nama1-458: I dont think Zane has had any undeserved criticism to date actually. I watched Boots n All where they evaluated Zane’s game and one has to admit there was a time when Zane was very one dimensional with his constant kicking away of the ball. There was one example where there was a huge gap in the All Black defense and instead Zane kicked the ball away. These are aspects that one needs a fullback to be good at. You need to be able to recognize opportunities for the running attack. You cant kick every ball that comes to you. He seems to be better at the moment, but one cant help but wonder when that cr@p will return to his game.
26 Sep 2012, 18:43 pm
@nama1-458: Nah, unlike many others, I have absolutely zero issues or problems with Zane.
I will have to find another scapegoat on the field……All of my faves have been retired from active service….BUT: Spies should be returning soon, so then I guess I’ll blame him again.
Speaking of HG, where is the Christian Cullen of bloggers?
26 Sep 2012, 18:44 pm
@FrenklyMuDeah-463: Lambie should be dropped to go play CC
HM is Stuffing up that young mans career big time,, same with JDJ who has been very good at 13, Taute has one match back from a long layoff has an OKish game and is ahead of him???
I was one of those prepared to give HM a chance?? proof is in the eating and he fails hands down
26 Sep 2012, 18:44 pm
Bladdy coloureds
26 Sep 2012, 18:45 pm
@Neilanate-460:
Parks..but Despatch were Kings!
26 Sep 2012, 18:45 pm
@I am a stormer-451:
I’m all for it and will be 100% behind him.
Let’s hope he gets the back line going.
@Dawn-457:
He’s talking about Goosen who was banned as a junior for using illegal substances.
The same stuff that Basson and Chilliboy apparently used. I think it is off the list of banned substances now.
26 Sep 2012, 18:47 pm
@greatest13gerber-462: This is not NFL. You can unfortunately not have a player there just for his kicking. There are kids at school level that also kick 85% of their kicks over. Does it mean they must play for the Boks ?
Morne’s kicking has been very good. Both out of hand and at posts. At the moment out of hand is average, and at posts is awful. Its time for him to step aside until he has sorted that out.
And Morne does not defend well. There have been several times when tries have been scored against the Bulls and Boks where Morne was involved in missed defense. He is scared to go in from the front, and tries the side on tackle all the time. Keegan Daniel scored a try against the Bulls in the Super 15 because Morne tried the ‘side on’ tackle a few meters from the Bulls try line. So if he hasn’t got the balls, adrenaline and commitment to tackle hard and straight when the opposition is in his red zone – then he simply does not have it.
Morne needs to get his head right. Until that happens – he should be out altogether. There is NO other player that Meyer would accommodate like he has Morne. You can see that by him wielding the axe and adding players after each game. His bias is so clear, it stinks.
26 Sep 2012, 18:48 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-455:
Goosen will wear Blue one day I put money on it!
@sharks_lover-464:
Odwa??…what a joke
@Dusky-465:
fair enough but he fits into Meyer gameplan. end of story.
26 Sep 2012, 18:48 pm
Juan de Jong for center. All this talk of experience from HM? He is a bullshit artist.
26 Sep 2012, 18:49 pm
@nama1-439:
I think so. I even think Goosen has got a bigger boot than Morne. Playing in the opposition half of the field isn’t a bad game plan. It is what you do with the ball when inside the opposition half. Goosen will offer different try scoring opportunities than a static Morne Steyn.
26 Sep 2012, 18:50 pm
@Dusky-471:
that is fair especially about defence
but I give you my unbias personal opinion..Morne experience is a major factor in his continue selection. This is my experience. But I agree, he has had patches of bad form.
26 Sep 2012, 18:51 pm
@greatest13gerber-472: yeah well thats a joke and so is Kirchner.
Right now Odwa plays far better rugby then Kirchner, He runs the ball, runs into spaces just to name one or 2 area’s of FB play, please try explain to me where Kirchner does any of this????\
maybe only on his PS game
26 Sep 2012, 18:51 pm
@greatest13gerber-472: Buddy….he will only fit there until the next round of calls for Meyer’s head. If Meyer could drop his love child, Morne Steyn from the team…..then Zane should take something out of that and make sure he plays above himself.
If Morne Steyn can get dropped…..anyone can !
26 Sep 2012, 18:52 pm
It is abundantly clear that Frans ‘Stain’(aka Frankie-Stein) will start this game and the slotting of JdJ with Taute on the bench is merely a potential pleaser to the “quotas” (3/15 or 4/22 or now 5/22).
26 Sep 2012, 18:52 pm
@Jinx2-473:
Juan de Jong…lets look at facts, Meyer does not like small player
26 Sep 2012, 18:53 pm
@greatest13gerber-475: Have never had an issue with Morne. I have always called for him to be the first choice Bok 10 – even with Lambie emerging since 2010.
At the moment, Morne is terrible. End of story. There are no good aspects of his game, and his experience doesn’t count for much while he is playing like a decapitated chicken.
26 Sep 2012, 18:53 pm
hahahahaha
Guppies throwing their toys out of the cot – saying that the Lambster is being overlooked because he is a Jock from the highlands of mother Scotland.
pfffffft what kak – Heineken just does not rate him as a 10 and with good reason – the Goose and Jantjies were both superstars for the baby Boks – as as Jake said if you are good enough to dominate at u20 level then you can do it for the senior team.
Lambie was the plodder running at fullback eating Jantjies dust6.
26 Sep 2012, 18:54 pm
@greatest13gerber-469:
Parks were the originals and won the league too, many times. Old Collegians and Swifts were next dirtiest.
26 Sep 2012, 18:54 pm
@sharks_lover-476:
yes But Zane is a fail safe at the back. Defensively he is better. He lacks the x factor and range of skill of Lambie but he is defensively sound and Meyer knows what he gets from him.
26 Sep 2012, 18:55 pm
@greatest13gerber-479: He doesn’t ? de Jongh is no lighter than Ettienne Botha ?
26 Sep 2012, 18:57 pm
@greatest13gerber-479:
That’s his problem. Mannetjies Roux was small, and a legend.
26 Sep 2012, 18:58 pm
didn”t know Taute was that big
@nama1-439: no no no….
Actually. If you watch the game again.. funny now that no-one mentioned this – or I haven’t seen where they have.
10 seconds after that ruck started, Francois Hougaard was standing in the no 9 position. then he downed tools there and jogged off to the no 11 spot. leaving a massive hole for the Oz 9 to run through..
@Jinx2-473: agreed
@shooter-487: 5 seconds after he left
26 Sep 2012, 18:59 pm
@Dusky-465:
That’s all good and well to blame the full back for not running the ball back at the opposition but to do that, there need to be players in position to assist him. The Boks don’t have a culture of counter attacking from deep unlike the All Blacks.
Watch what happens is Kirchner field the ball in his 22 near the touch line. The wing on that side will fall back but the other players will wait in front of the ball expecting him to kick it. Now what is he to do? If he takes on the defenders and gets tackled, there is only one player to help him from conceding a turn over which can lead to a try.
On the other hand when the All Black FB field a ball close to the touch line, he’ll immediately pass it to the wing who will already be in a position behind him. He in turn will pass it to the opposite site of the field where at least three players (centre, wing and maybe a forward or the SH) will be waiting for it. The players, who were in front of the ball, will fall back in numbers to support their team mates.
Counter attacking from inside your 22 needs to be practiced just like any other move from 1st phase ball and I don’t think our players do that.
26 Sep 2012, 19:00 pm
@sharks_lover-476:
hahaha.
You really thought Heyneke was going to drop both Morne and Kirchner at one go?
I think HM had a stiff dop and a sleepless night before deciding in dropping one of them.
@Neilanate-482:
Old Collegians ? I agree with that
@Jinx2-473: but is it art?
26 Sep 2012, 19:02 pm
@Dusky-484: JDJ does not stand 1.9m tall and does not weigh 106kg – like Taute. He is following the exact same footsteps as that other Lions from the west of Joburg who also played 15 for the Lions before moving to outside centre – yes Taute and Mossie are in the same league.
Taute has the advantage as he played 13 at u20 level – and for the Bulls next year (on loan) – and he is only 21 years old.
So fellas accept it Taute = Mossie
and JDJ = Jordaan = pygmy.
26 Sep 2012, 19:03 pm
@Jinx2-485: Myself and a South African mate here where I live were talking about this the other night. It’s the hardekop nonsense that the Springboks should be a team associated with physical dominance.
When you look at the players that the All Blacks have at their disposal there is a reason why the best South Africa can ever do is Nr 2 in the rankings (with the occasional and very rare appearance at Nr 1). To try and compete against the New Zealanders physically is just stupid.
South Africa do however have the players to play a technical, flair orientated game and perfect it. But instead the bonehead ‘stampkar’ stuff is about as far as the reasoning abilities extend in most parts of our rugby loving country. That’s why Taute is in at 12 instead of Lambie.
26 Sep 2012, 19:04 pm
@Dusky-484:
fair good comparison similar style players
@Dusky-480:
that is a fair statement. I think we are focussing too much on individual players and not looking at true problems of why we are “losing” games. We should have ebaten the ABs.
anyway, time for work.
26 Sep 2012, 19:04 pm
@RL-494: Dude I wish him the best. I got nothing against Taute and think he is one of the brightest prospects in SA rugby but I just think to play the kid in a position that isn’t his best in his very first test kind of makes a mockery of the reasons Heyneke gave for not selecting Goosen at 10 doesn’t it ?
Heyneke Meyer is a hypocrit. Unfortunately he is not that good at covering his tracks. He backs and forths all the time.
26 Sep 2012, 19:05 pm
@Jinx2-485:
Mannetjies Roux
prince of centres
26 Sep 2012, 19:06 pm
@RL-481: Just when I thought you were going to debate intelligently today.
26 Sep 2012, 19:09 pm
@Dusky-497: I think Meyerhad in his mind his ideal match 22 that he would select to win the RWC – he is just moving the pieces around until he gets that to that match 22. Following in Jake Whites footsteps – remember he selected his RWC match 22 in his first month as Bok coach and had his match 22 on the field for the final minus Spies and JDV.
I wonder who his ideal match 22 is.
26 Sep 2012, 19:11 pm
@Jinx2-473:
Agree.
Meyer speaks with a forked tongue.
@shooter-487:
So, there was no SH to defend. Let’s blame Ruan then as the main culprit or did he form part of the ruck.
Where should the FH have taken up his defensive position in your opinion?
26 Sep 2012, 19:15 pm
@RL-500: I certainly hope that is not Meyer’s strategy. Jake White was in a completely different scenario and was fortunate to be Bok coach in an era that included Bakkies Botha, Victor Matfield, Jacques Fourie and Fourie du Preez.
Also the emergence of in form JP Pietersen, Francois Steyn, Jean De Villiers and Bryan Habana.
If Heyneke is closing his eyes hoping that a new Bakkies, Victor etc. are going to come around, hoping that another Os Du Randt and John Smit will peel from the woodwork as experienced players coming into the best form of their lives – he is in trouble already in my opinion.
@Dusky-499: no it is for real- check Keohane on Twitter – check SW. The language excuse is flying around.
Did gerber say “unbiased”??????
26 Sep 2012, 19:16 pm
@RL-500:
Who cares?
RWC come and RWC go.
The most important thing Meyer wants to instil in the players is a winning culture. If you ain’t going to win a test match for him then you’re in for the chopping block. No matter who you are. Morne lived a charmed life for too long.
26 Sep 2012, 19:17 pm
@sharks_lover-467: Still think Meyer needs some time but this decision baffles me. Believe Lambie can become one of the greats. Unlucky to get injured whenb due for Bok selection now he’s not being given opportunity. His kicking game is brilliant out of hand, distance might not be great but Frans is there. And he can didtribute. Jantjies is good but younger and inexperienced at this level. Had Lambie been given opp first Aus or Puma’s game where we had no pressure he’d probably have stayed there. One good thing for Goosen is that Cooper and Genia are injured massively reducing pressure
26 Sep 2012, 19:17 pm
I would have dropped Pienaar too.
26 Sep 2012, 19:18 pm
@I am a stormer-505: Also not the correct approach. You cant give some players more chances than others, and then chop and change,bringing in and creating 13 Springboks in 5 months based on the weekends Currie Cup results. That is mental as well, as is living in the past.
26 Sep 2012, 19:20 pm
@FrenklyMuDeah-506: Lambie must be released to the Sharks.
26 Sep 2012, 19:22 pm
Dusky why you chattering so tonight.
You making me dizzy
26 Sep 2012, 19:22 pm
@Dusky-495:
Playing to our “traditional strength.”
Moer hulle manne!!
Maak dood daar voor!!
Agro manne!! Agro!!
Hardloop hom in sy moer/vrek!!!
26 Sep 2012, 19:23 pm
@Dusky-502: I think that he has most of his team selected.
I can see it now with the forwards.
Beast/Coenie, Bissy/Chilli and Jannie/Cilliers
Estebeth/Flip, someone/Kruger
Flouw/Coetzee, Burger/Alberts, Vermeulen/Spies
The backs are not settled at all.
9. scrumhalf/scrumhalf
10. Goosen/Jantjies
12. F Steyn/someone
13. Taute/someone
11. Hougaard/Habana/someone
14. JPP/someone
15. someone/someone
26 Sep 2012, 19:24 pm
@stormersboy-507: Meyer is a stupid chop. Can I provide evidence ?
When the discussion about Steyn comes up, he says he cannot just throw Steyn away (despite throwing away a bunch of other players, including seasoned Springboks after one or maximum two average performances).
Now he puts Taute in as a possible replacement for Francois Steyn – in a position where Taute did not earn the respect that got him a possible Springbok jersey. Can you see the reversal ?
Is it only clear to me ?
26 Sep 2012, 19:24 pm
@nama1-501:
One thing Meyer said when I heard him speak. You remember when I mentioned to you that Brussow didn’t make the squad.
He also said “Taute will be a Bok”. Because it was in Gauteng the roof nearly took off. Unfortunately, Taute was injured at the time and took longer than expected, even for Meyer, to make it back onto the field. So he settled for Juan as a replacement who still happens to be in the mix.
26 Sep 2012, 19:25 pm
Fie on all the Kirtchner apologists claiming that he has the goods at this level. There isn’t a test playing fullback anywhere that offers less than Kirtchner. Not Halfpenny, not Beale, not Dagg, not Foden, not Kearney, not Hogg, not Masi, not Potrenaud. All of these players have a balance to their game and are are stars in their respective teams (great era of fullbacks) They arent selected to make as few mistakes as possible and hoof the ball a mile.
Kirchner got nothing- no skill, no vision, no pass even. Had to laugh when he panicked and threw that premature tracer bullet to Habana vs the AB’s. He truly is a bottom of the barrel product that occasionally manages to kick the ball like the donkey he is.
26 Sep 2012, 19:26 pm
@Dawn-510: That’s the booze. Not me.
If you could see my package from where you are, I would have said that could possibly have made you dizzy but as you cant it has to be the booze.
26 Sep 2012, 19:27 pm
@Spiesisworthless1-515: Potential Bok fullbacks that should be selected before Kirtchner: Le Roux, ACoetzee, Taute, Aplon, JPPietersen.
26 Sep 2012, 19:29 pm
@Spiesisworthless1-517: Lambie
26 Sep 2012, 19:30 pm
@Dusky-508:
The players that Meyer is selecting right now are the ones that were injured when he made his first squad announcement. And some that he placed his faith in – read Bulls players – just happen to be underperforming right now.
The jigsaw is taking longer than expected to fall into place.
Yes, Meyer’s game plan is kak. Yes, Meyer’s selections are up the pole at times.
But he is moving in the right direction.
26 Sep 2012, 19:30 pm
@Dusky-509: agree, time for the SA public to realise how talented he is
26 Sep 2012, 19:31 pm
@FrenklyMuDeah-506:
“Jantjies is good but younger and inexperienced at this level.”
Younger than who?
Goosen is 20… Lambie is 21…how old is Jantjies?
His inexperienced “at this level” is due to what/who?
Lambie has 14 tests behind his name. Goosen going to play his 3rd on Saturday. Starting for the 1st time.
You call that experience?
Jeez, people need to think before they post.
26 Sep 2012, 19:31 pm
You drinking already Duskeee?
26 Sep 2012, 19:32 pm
@Spiesisworthless1-517:
There’s another Pietersen you can add. Initial J as well.
26 Sep 2012, 19:34 pm
@I am a stormer-523: Noted
26 Sep 2012, 19:38 pm
@I am a stormer-514:
But did he actually mean “this year already” when he said that?
It’s about crying about inexperience on the one hand but then he goes ahead and select new players, while there are players with test experience at his disposal. That’s what my forked tongue comment was about.
26 Sep 2012, 19:40 pm
@I am a stormer-519: Don’t worry. Spies will soon be fit and ready to take up her rightful position on the EOYT, not only as 8th man, but as Bok captain. Right direction or an extreme u turn?
26 Sep 2012, 19:43 pm
@nama1-525:
Yes he did mean this year. At the time Taute was injured during Super 15 and no-one realised how long he would be out for. And remember, at the time JDV was only selected as captain for the 3 England tests. Only after winning that series and with Taute still out was JDV’s tenure as captain extended for the Rugby Championship.
26 Sep 2012, 19:44 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-526: You’re taking the p!ss right ?
26 Sep 2012, 19:45 pm
@Dawn-522: Not me Dawneeee…..I am still working. But I bet you are well on your way through bottle number 3 already for tonight.
26 Sep 2012, 19:47 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-526:
Chill. Britney is slipping out of favour as we speak.
If CJ Stander was staying in SA, Britney might be the 4th ranked Bulls no.8 after Arno Botha, Stander and Dewalt Potgieter.
True story.
26 Sep 2012, 19:48 pm
Not so Duskeeee!
26 Sep 2012, 19:48 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-526:
“…to take up her rightful position on the EOYT,…”
26 Sep 2012, 19:53 pm
Fine Goosen is in. Great! A step in the right direction. But what the hell is Krusty the clown still doing at 15 when you have Lambie warming the freakin’ bench?!? It’s astounding, baffling and downright infuriating that Lambie is has played 10 minutes in 4 matches!! I mean what the hell is HM and co getting paid for??? Every respected rugby journo, ex player, you name it can see that Kirshner is not international material – I’d struggle to put him in my Dirt Tracker team!! Can’t HM see that?? I mean lets get real here gents (and ladies if there are any) – why?? Can anyone give me a real answer? Is it a quota thing? I feel for Lambie, I really do – and now to leap frog Taute into the team?!? It’s disgusting the way he is being treated. Lambie can play 10, 12 or 15, and even his mediocre game would be better than Zane. I predict we will lose him to an overseas club after next years Super 15 rugby…
26 Sep 2012, 19:56 pm
@TheDeleted-533:
You’re not a Sharks supporter are you? Ahfuck. Not another one.
26 Sep 2012, 19:59 pm
@TheDeleted-533:
Taute is going to play 13.
How did he leap frog Lambie, who YOU say can play 10, 12 or 15?
26 Sep 2012, 20:00 pm
@I am a stormer-534:
26 Sep 2012, 20:03 pm
@Dusky-528: It’s a prophecy
(orafuckingtimburtonnightmare, depending on where you come from and what you team you support)
26 Sep 2012, 20:05 pm
@TheDeleted-533: blub-blub blub-blub blub blub blub
blub-blub
26 Sep 2012, 20:12 pm
@I am a stormer: Sorry boet, I’m afraid I am! But be honest – this goes beyond provincialism… Lambie is a talented player and for Krusty to be ahead of him is just ridiculous!
@nama1: Yes I appreciate Taute coming in at 13, but it’s still ridiculous when you have Juan de Jong in the squad. AND Zane starting! It’s borders on the insane actually…
Taute should go to the bench and De Jongh start with Lambie a 15. That is the only decent and logical thing to do in my humble opinion.
Nobody has answered my real question though – is it quota that Krusty is in or is HM just a well paid fool?
26 Sep 2012, 20:16 pm
Very eloquent RL… I’m afraid I don’t understand ******
26 Sep 2012, 20:17 pm
r e t a r d is a banned word?! Interesting…
26 Sep 2012, 20:17 pm
@nama1-458: Hey Nama.I always try to be provocative.(Not in the sexual sense)I am 73 after all
26 Sep 2012, 20:21 pm
@TheDeleted-539: Once a Bull always a Bull maybe?
26 Sep 2012, 20:23 pm
Sharks blub re Lambie
Dunno why
He has dandruff infested hair
26 Sep 2012, 20:24 pm
@TheDeleted-540: it is not **** it is fish! ask Lambie or any guppy to translate they know what I said, they know.
26 Sep 2012, 20:35 pm
@TheDeleted-541: Only a re-tard would make it one.
26 Sep 2012, 20:35 pm
@Dusky-513: I hear you slugger.
26 Sep 2012, 20:40 pm
Hope Sundays headline would be something like: ” The mother of Goose(n) steps!”
26 Sep 2012, 20:44 pm
Yaaaaaaawn….**** ****…… buuuuuuuuuurp. Long day.
26 Sep 2012, 20:46 pm
Bwaaaaahahahahaha so is ****.
Yaaaaaaawn….poep poep…… buuuuuuuuuurp. Long day.
26 Sep 2012, 21:07 pm
@greatest13gerber-498: Michael Du Plessis prince of centres. Boetie prince of wings.
26 Sep 2012, 21:52 pm
Probably the best 22 he has selected thus far!!!
Unfortunately if they play the skop and jaag then it doesn’t matter who he picks…
Glad Morne has gone and I hope for good too. I read how certain people were commenting that we were going to lose now, but we have been losing with him anyway. I hope Goosen makes a statement and a name for himself. He is a super talent.
If I were Lambie, I would leave and play overseas. He has become another bench warmer and is way better than Nicknaks… Taute also better in 15 jersey…
26 Sep 2012, 22:03 pm
Poor Kirchner. First it was Spies, then Steyn and now Kirchner. Who will be next? Will the Cape biased media turn against their captain de Villiers or Bekker or will they go for the last Bulls player in the team, Hougaard.
Must say I am glad Steyn and Spies is gone, and Kirchner should be next. Will not even pick him for my Bulls team. Ralepele, Juandre Kruger, Arno Botha, Hougaard, Venter and Serfontein and a string of others is the Bulls future and we are now playing with heros because they played with Matfield, Bakkies, Fdp, etc and not because they played on the same level.
Hopefully Sharks keep backing Lambie as their flyhalf and Stormers get Jantjies then the Bulls can go for Goosen. The province that signs him will dominate SA rugby for the next 5 years.
26 Sep 2012, 22:11 pm
@Gumboots-552:
Howzit Bill. Things are slowly taking shape in the Bok set-up. The guys in the team now know that there is serious pressure on their places. Especially after another of their favourite sons got dumped on the scrap heap.
I’ve been saying for a while that if you give a Bull enough rope, he’ll hang himself. That was after the first squad announement. The good news is that HM has seen daylight. And with Goosen there at 10, I hope it’s a great new dawn. Goosen is not Morne in disguise. He will play his natural game. There will be more Bok changes along the way. and the players now know it.
The thing is, the players on the field could’ve won both away matches against Aus and NZ.
The next 2 saturdays are no different. The players have got to go out there and perform. And not make crucial errors. That is why HM is going through the walkie-talkies at a rate of knots.
26 Sep 2012, 22:31 pm
Juan smith set to sign a lucrative contract in franch… Reportedly playing for top 14 side bayonne from next year… They are hot on his achilles heels to sign him and he is eager to go albeit cheetahs can match his multi million rand offer?
26 Sep 2012, 22:32 pm
This is brilliant, haven’t taken this much interest in a starting debut of a young prodigy player since Jonah. Then Jonah took a few tests to find his feet so just hoping Goosen does the basics well for starters, but its great to see him get a start.
26 Sep 2012, 22:40 pm
@I am a stormer-554:
Howzit Boet! I hope Goosen goes and plays his natural game. I feel for the Bull supporters and understand their concern. They are not like Stormer supporters who support through thick and thin. Loftus gets very empty if they are not performing. They have been great in the past and have shown to be a champion side. Unfortunately, there is something wrong at Loftus but I’m sure the brains trust will fix it…
26 Sep 2012, 22:40 pm
@Te Rangatira-556:
And Jonah never ran a try passed the Boks. My money says Goosen will – eventually. Over time.
A lot of us are talking him up because he is a breath of fresh air and should bring a new dimension into Bok play. The Bok outside backs need good front foot ball and by Goosen taking it flatter it will bring them into play. As they say, a change is as good as a holiday. And i’m up for that.
26 Sep 2012, 22:47 pm
@Gumboots-557:
Are you going on Sat? I’m there like a bear. We’re doing the warm-up routine at Eastwoods before the game.
Last time I was at Loftus, it wasn’t empty. There was blue and white everywhere.
By the way, I think Heyneke is doing ok with the current Bok loose trio. Flo makes a difference. But Brussow i reckon needs a bit more game time after his injury.
26 Sep 2012, 22:48 pm
@I am a stormer-558:
Well if Goosen can excite the fans as much as Jonah did then I’m all for that and if he brings an improvement to the Bok set-up which undoubtedly I believe he will , therefore Rugby in general is the winner
26 Sep 2012, 22:49 pm
I am the happiest oke o the Planet with this M Steyn axing….
Been sying for 2 years the main problems with Boks were M Steyn, Spies and Smit…..
Thank heavens they gone…..
Time for a bright new era…….it can only get better…the drivel Boks have played since 2010 has been an embaressment…..
Love the changes…….a few more subtle tweaks and Kiwis beware….!
26 Sep 2012, 22:55 pm
@grant10-561:
I listened to one of your heroes a couple of weeks back.
The one and only John Smit.
One thing John said was that Francois Louw was in the form of his life. And soon after that, Flo got a phone call.
Who you gonna thank?
26 Sep 2012, 22:56 pm
@I am a stormer-559:
No I’m not going. Have family down and need to entertain. Would love to have gone…
You must enjoy and the last time I was there it was really fun too…
26 Sep 2012, 22:59 pm
@grant10-561:
I think you are right, all the ingredients in terms of players is beginning to come together, now just have to see what method of cooking Meyer will use to produce the complete dish.
26 Sep 2012, 22:59 pm
@I am a stormer-562: Go read the blog about 2 to 3 weeks before F Louw was called up….
See who called for his selection here on keo…
who you gonna thank?
26 Sep 2012, 23:03 pm
@Te Rangatira-564: I reckon Heyneke is getting it right slowy but surely….I am still not convinced at 9….13….
We will be helleva strong when Bissy [ future captain I reckon ] is back as well….throw in JP Pietersen as well……
Goosen will never be a M Steyn clone…..not in his DNA…..
Exciting times ….I am enthusiastic for the first time since 2010 about Boks….and it really is a relief…
26 Sep 2012, 23:04 pm
@grant10-565:
Did you also have breakfast with John? Take any photos?
26 Sep 2012, 23:08 pm
@I am a stormer-567: LOL
I am sure both John and I would rather have root canal treatment than spend time in each others company….
26 Sep 2012, 23:08 pm
@grant10-566:
I’m happy for you Grant,Meyer has been a little slow on the uptake with his player selections and is starting to find his feet. I think playing at Loftus has given him that security he needed to make the necessary adjustments to his starting 15. Yes exciting times for you and BOK supporters.
26 Sep 2012, 23:48 pm
@RL-481:
Goosen and Jantjies were hardly superstars at u20 level… They were both average in piss poor baby bok teams.
Goosen’s team included:
Jaco Taute (who got bumbed by the English midget en route to the winning try)
Paul Jordaan (who dropped the ball in the last move of the match)
Francois Venter (the star of the show)
Arno Botha
Siya Kolisi
Nizaam Carr
Eben Etsebeth
one of the Marais at the Sharks
27 Sep 2012, 01:43 am
****** One change and the whole of SA feels like it is a new era. What we should take from the change is that HM didnt just put Morne on the bench which is what I thought he would have done with all he emotions attached, but he has smartly taken it a step further, and thought of the possiblity,
What happens if he comes on as a sub, and has a pressure kick and fails? What detrement would that cause on the guy? Brilliant questions. So to leave him out is the most logical solution and to do that with all the emotions of having that relationship at club rugby, takes serious but important gonadies decissions.
I think that shows tremendous strength from the coach and we might have a great in the making. Morne is not ****, He is a result of his club and national team abusing him for years, simply to save their own skins. No player can keep it up year on year and with these unprofessional organisations….! He has saved the Boks many a time, and letting him fight back for the position is as fair as it gets. Inform is key and who knows, what these next two kids will really be like, they could be poo for all we know. Time will tell. A true decision on them cant be until next yr at test level, so from the next two games question marks should still remain.
I am not sure on the lock change as the other 2 did tremendous, a second outing together would help their solidarity. Bekker doesnt do it for me. Something there i need to put my finger on. But maybe being injury prone, it may be better to replace such a player than to use as a replacement. That Rrrrussian fella whats his name ,”Eben…ptttth…Etzebeth” .He so far didnt seem match fit.
It appears Lambie has been given the cold shoulder, like so many others hyped by the media so such heights, the only way is crash, tumbling down. A very sad story. Who really knows, Jantjies might be the quota player that has excluded Lambie from playing on Sat thanks to some recent racial political **** from our belovered polititions and their puppet. Lets all hope not and its all merit.
Lambie is still a child he can hang around SA for another year, then as people have mentioned, leggit where the dosh is. The whole Michalak scenario seems to have messed Lambies chances no doubt. Another beautiful reason why i think a Zero tolorance for teams should be implemented. The Sharks club can pat themselves on the back for this, sticking the chap at fullback certainly didnt help Little Lamb Chops chances.
But the strongest message is certainly the dropping of Steyn. Thee old boys neeed this wake up call, Jon Smit and Co got far too comfortable which should never have happened. Hungry young players do set standards.
As Magic Jonhson once said while preparing for the “Dream Team” @ 92 Olympics, ” theres a new kid on the block” admitting that Jordan had supassed him. God bless that man… A true Ledgend
27 Sep 2012, 02:40 am
@Dawn-233: Sorry Dawn was done in a moment of anger against our rubbish ex Kiwi Cooper who should not get near any rugby Union team. He is just ****!
27 Sep 2012, 02:54 am
@nama1-439: Noticed the same thing, makes one wonder. Strange that over here M Steyn is not seen as a player without heart or a bad defender. He is solid in the basics much like Kirchner. But every team needs a reliable goal kicker and he has not been that lately. I would pick him in our team before Cooper – but then I would pick anyone before Cooper.
27 Sep 2012, 07:24 am
@Greenies-571:
i dont know who magic jordan or johnson is..?.. legend?
i would bet very few people know these guys.
27 Sep 2012, 07:52 am
@mxhosa-570: Like most things in life, it doesn’t matter what happened before, but only what you do now that matters. Most of those players have become great players, Jordaan is white hot in terms of his form, Siya has become an exciting talent, Taute has come into his own, and who the hell is Froncios Venter? Just goes to show, doing well at u/20 doens’t mean you will rock at senior level.
27 Sep 2012, 07:54 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-574: Stop living under a rock…
27 Sep 2012, 07:55 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-574: Do you not know who Magic Johnson is? He was a great basket ball player before Jordan became a star. Was an amazing passer of the ball.
27 Sep 2012, 07:59 am
@goodstuff-575: Francois Venter is the only one in the current Bulls backline worth a damn.
@mxhosa-570: I don’t really agree with that. Etzebeth, Kolisi and Carr were the stars in that team. Francois Venter, the most hyped of the lot, was really average. Taute suffered because he got horrible ball, except for when Venter was skipped. Venter was doing crash-and-bash-no-brains rugby.
27 Sep 2012, 08:02 am
@lepel-578: Now that I think about it, I do recall a venter popping up during that game this weekend.
Etzebeth will be a rugby great if he stays clear of serious injuries and learnes from a senior player. We need Bakkies to teach this kid the ropes!
27 Sep 2012, 08:07 am
@lepel-576:
just sayin
one mans legend is another mans nobody.
@goodstuff-577:
ok thank you,
i do not think many people would know anything about this guy. basketball is not a popular sport and probably only played in america by the looks of it.
27 Sep 2012, 08:37 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-580: Nah, basket ball is just not popular with rugby fans as it is in my oppinion a lesser sport, but it is popular world wide with countries like russia, china, countries europe and south america playing it as well. It is one of the Olympic games competitions.
But there are few superstars in sport history like Micheal Jordan, a player who dominated everybody he played against. His team the Chicago Bulls won the NBA like 7-9 times or something while he was there.
27 Sep 2012, 09:02 am
@W.P-364: you are so provincially biast you are actually completely unaware that you are describing Andries Bekker while talking about Kruger. Do your self a favour go and check the stats Krugers workrate is far far higher than Bekkers. He was also the best 5 lock from SA in this years S15 tournament, but I guess someone like you would not know this because you only watch stormers games and not the rest to be able to actually make a true comment. Kruger played a fundamental role in the forwards charge against NZ so anybody who would like to point out that he is scared of the physical go watch the games again and then ou go watch the games Bekker played and then you will clearly see who’s the p#ssy!