Goosen’s time comes
26 Sep 2012
Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer has selected Johan Goosen at flyhalf for the Rugby Championship Test against the Wallabies on Saturday.
Keo.co.za reported yesterday that Goosen would start but Meyer surprised by completely omitting Steyn from his 22, selecting the uncapped Elton Janjties as pivot cover.
Asked about his decision to leave Steyn out, Meyer said: ‘This was very difficult, but I looked at what the team needed first and then at the impact on the individual. At Loftus, where he has played well, it is a big call. But he accepted it graciously. I feel it is in his best interest that he doesn’t play. He’ll fight back.’
Meyer said he had contemplated including Steyn’s on the bench but was dissuaded from this course of action because of the potential to expose an already under pressure player. ‘It isn’t going to help him to bring him on with 20 minutes and he ends up having to kick the game-winning or game-losing goal. I either back him 100% or not. That’s the decision I had to take,’ Meyer said.
Meyer also dispelled the perception that Goosen’s natural attacking instinct would be reigned in to come in line with a game plan that is widely perceived as conservative. He explained that a sharp assessment of the state of the defensive line was key in determining what action to take.
‘There’s a misconception that Goosen must fit into a rigid structure. He has the freedom to play the situation as he sees it,’ he said. ‘But this is not Currie Cup rugby where you have space and time. I’ve said to him to go out and express himself, that’s why I picked him. He must determine when it is on to go wide or take the safer option.’
He added: ‘People have to be realistic though, you can’t expect a 20-year-old to win the game on his own.’
Elsewhere Frans Steyn (who’s struggling with an ankle injury) is bracketed with Jaco Taute in the midfield. The Lions youngster will make his debut in the No 13 jersey if Frans Steyn fails to recover, with skipper Jean de Villiers taking over at inside centre.
‘I want two experienced guys on either side of Johan. Jaco was very good at 13 in Super Rugby,’ Meyer said in explaining this move.
The medical staff were highly optimistic about Steyn’s availability on Tuesday evening but he rolled the same ankle in Wednesday’s training session. A call on his availability will be made after the captain’s practice on Friday afternoon.
In other changes Andries Bekker and Eben Etzebeth unseat Juandre Kruger and Flip van der Merwe in the second row. ‘There is great competition at lock now,’ Meyer said. ‘Flip played his best Test ever against the All Blacks and Juandre was very good as well.
‘It was a horses for courses change there. Australia are very good at lineout time and we want to exert pressure on them there. I feel that Eben, Andries and Duane is a good combination to achieve that, as well as a little more mobile which is crucial as Australia will play expansively. Also Andries is a little more experienced and in 50-50 calls like this I always go with the more experienced guy.
Probed on why Taute had leapfrogged Juan de Jongh in the pecking order, Meyer said: ‘Jaco would have been in the squad earlier had he not been injured. He is 106kg and runs the 100m in 10.7. So I looked at the way Australia defend and thought we could exploit that [better with Taute]. I can’t elaborate on that because we’re talking game plan then. It’s a tough call on Juan.’
Coenie Oosthuizen comes onto the bench after a neck injury in the only other change to the bench.
Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jean de Villiers, 12 Frans Steyn/Jaco Taute, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermuelen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Coenie Oosthuizen, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Marcel Coetzee, 20 Elton Jantjies, 21 Jaco Taute/Juan de Jongh, 22 Pat Lambie.
By Ryan Vrede, in Johannesburg

582 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 12 » Show All
26 Sep 2012, 12:50 pm
@blik-37: Coaches are quite strict these days with the definition of a no.4 and no.5 lock …. Eben looks more like a no.5 yet plays enforcer. who knows!
26 Sep 2012, 12:51 pm
@poppa69-39: They can run at him all day long and he’ll keep putting them where they belong, on the green greeen grass of Loftus
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-22: No, it’s not!!!
@Transformation-40: Taute played 10 for the Lions: http://www.rugby365.com/article/49807-taute-ready-to-be-the-bok-bolter
26 Sep 2012, 12:52 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell-45: how much game time has goosen had back from injury?
The messiah’s player management stinks
How does Taute leap frog JDJ?
From persisting with Morne to totally out of the match day squad
And also list other poor examples of player management: JJ Engelbrect, Daniels, Potgieter,Kruger
In, out, left, right, up, down
Nee wat, the Messiah is a square plug in a round hole
SA will win this week then wolloped next week
@Transformation-40: U/21 if I am not mistaken.
26 Sep 2012, 12:53 pm
average age still half a year older than aus for first 15. fewer caps though. That’s what happens when you flog a dead horse
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-46: If Pienaar just lets the flyhalf kick more often it will be fine
@wpstormerbok-41: JDJ and Lambie should both be playing Currie Cup if this Meyer mannetjie doesn’t rate them or want them there.
26 Sep 2012, 12:54 pm
@poppa69-55: can we not just momentarily enjoy the fact that Goosen is playing in place of Morne? or are you only satisfied when we are in a perpetual state of anxiety?
@capetown-56: His player management really is bottom drawer condom kak.
@capetown-56: Fokking Kapenaars. Kan julle ook nie tevrede hou nie. First he is one dimensional then he goes and tries something new and it is still not good enough.
26 Sep 2012, 12:55 pm
@blik-54: He also played 12 in the S14. That season when the Lions didnt win anything. Transie needs to brush up on his facts.
26 Sep 2012, 12:56 pm
@poppa69-39: jees you talk **** sometimes, no sorry – you just talk ****
@Lions_Soutie-51: Etzebeth is capable of playing 4 or 5. Bekker is a 5 and Flip a 4, Kruger a 5.
why the big surprise that Steyn is dropped? Get rid of Kirchner and replace with Lambie / Taute. Put Hougaard back to scrumhalf. Drop JdV he is creating nothing….and will not be around for next RWC. HM is still far too conservative.
26 Sep 2012, 12:57 pm
@Bokbafana-31:
just wait, boet.
@wpstormerbok-35:
its going to blow up so badly and then all you kenners will say ‘ag but its for the best’ and kak like that.
fark
i am shaken by this
@poppa69-39:
jeezuz pops
i am afraid for our rugby right now
so afraid
@Transformation-48:
this is shocking transie
shocking
i cannot believe it
sjoe!
we are gonig to get belted at home by the the farking anzacs
i’m at sixes right now
@Lions_Soutie-59: Needs to give faster service to Goosen or they’ll nail him.
@Lions_Soutie-2: my Lion brother – Taute has played 12 and 13 in superrugby – on Saturday he played inside centre againt guppies. He has played both wings and 15 as well. He beats Coetzee and Le Roux based on sheer size and talent.
@BrumbiesBoy-53:
lucky you
26 Sep 2012, 12:58 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell-61: setting yourselves up for the fall is fine by me… this is the first test Goosen has started and already there is talk of you guys beating Aussie? I hope your players think and feel the same way.. its not to say you wont beat them, but should the unthinkable happen and you do lose, then what?
he has looked good against tiring teams, but is he match fit for even 60 minutes?
26 Sep 2012, 12:58 pm
Great team. Goosen in for Morne is already 50% improvement. Would like to see JdJ get a run with JDV if F.Steyn is injured. Makes sense seeing that they are centre partners for the stormers.
26 Sep 2012, 12:59 pm
I reckon Ruan’s there to provide experience and take the pressure off of Goosen.
Now let’s go moer those Ozzies by 16+
Well done HM…
Credit where it is due…..
You stepped up to the plate with F Louw…..
Now you done the right thing by putting M Steyn out of his misery….
well done …
@blik-54: which Lions, the senior side or the juniors?
what year was that?
26 Sep 2012, 13:00 pm
sjoe
i cannot talk right now
sjoe
26 Sep 2012, 13:00 pm
@RL-70: Coetzee?
26 Sep 2012, 13:01 pm
@wpstormerbok-41:
Njaa boet.
Meyer has proved once against that he speaks with two tongues.
He said throughout his short tenure that the player who is there from the start will get preference when another player comes in.
JJE ahead of JdJ comes to mind.
Going forward(after JdV leaves), Meyer will go with a Frans/Taute combination, it seems.
In any case, it is not about JdJ being left out per se, it is about Meyer who cannot be trusted to be consistent.
26 Sep 2012, 13:01 pm
what a capitulation
sjoe sjoe sjoe
26 Sep 2012, 13:02 pm
This is a good Bok Team, and this should be a very interesting match.
Goosen has earned his place.
26 Sep 2012, 13:02 pm
@poppa69-72: Most are cautiously optimistic, and I think that is a fair reaction to the team news. Jantjies is obviously there to cover if Goosen doesn’t last. There is no need for you to be on here to keep everyone’s expectations to a realistic level, unless someone is paying you to fulfill the role. Maybe spend some more time with your family or contribute something positive to the world instead.
26 Sep 2012, 13:03 pm
You Keolings will NEVER be satisfied unless you are given the bok job!! It is a great improvemnt from Meyer to Drop Steyn… and people saying he is not consistent.. BS!! He realised MS is off form so he dropped him… get on with the programme.. .wholesale changes will not help the teams as a whole….
Happy for Taute, but he would not have been my first choice right now. why do some players immediately get a chance and other have to perfrom for 2-3 season before given an oppurtunity?
Good team, looking forward to the game really!!
O and Zane is there to make up the rainbow colour of the boks..
@grant10-76: But it’s so slow. We all know which players should be there and which not. We all know that Jean and Zane are passengers and should be left at home, that’s a fact. I’d personally leave Brian out as well as there are better players in the CC.
thats our win ratio for the year
over rover
six love
good night nurse
Some better selections,some diabolical ones
Better: Goosen at 10 to start
Jantjies into match day 22
Diabolical:
Pienaar retained at 9
Flip dropped after his best game in a Bok jumper
De Jongh has seemingly been leapfrogged by Taute.If Meyer doesn’t rate De Jongh he must just tell the bloke and sa public.let the kid play CC rugby and maybe go overseas to go make some money.Taute has played a handful of games this year and hasn’t played 13 since 2010.
26 Sep 2012, 13:04 pm
Playing at Loftus and with Australia missing possibly their best five players, this should be a comfortable win.
Looks like a good team to me. And the Aussies are missing key players (genia and cooper) so goosen will have some latttitude. The Aussies will try to avoid a forward confrontation, but I still reckon boks to win by 5-10 by the end.
@Transformation-77: He played 12 when **** Muir was in charge in 2010.
26 Sep 2012, 13:05 pm
@Bokbafana-11: it is easy to leapfrog Lambie and De Jongh – they be short little fellas.
9- Hougaard
13- De Jongh
14- De Villiers
15- Taute
Would have been perfect but fantastic to see the back of Morne finally! Now Vermuelen needs to nail down his 8 position so we dont have to ever see Spies in the starting line-up again. Bismark and Pietersen to come back; Meyer needs to come to his senses and select Brussouw; Kirtchner to never be heard from again and then, selection wise, we’d be on a distinguished path.
Francois Louw will be the difference between the two sides
Whadda player!!
26 Sep 2012, 13:06 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell-83: so, how much of a combination are Pienaar and Goosen ? what about if Taute plays, him and JDV?
but fine, you guys have got the changes you want, all good this end…
Aussies will target the Goose like crazy, be silly not to..
at least theres no expectation on him, thats a good thing I guess..
26 Sep 2012, 13:07 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-68:
Chances of Goosen’s selection coming unstuck are slim.
My only hope is that after this weekend Heyneke will be ‘enlightened’ (in the words of willie) about the possibilities of Bok Rugby.
You can already see a few Kiwi’s and a Pom twitching uneasy around here…
@wpstormerbok-21: Morne is having a mental break.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-68: are you suur cos morne got dropped?
Etzebeth to headbutt Sharpe in the first five minutes and get sent off. Fortunately the Aussies are already pulling the food poisoning excuse so the Boks will take it by a point anyway
http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-union/union-news/stephen-moore-out-of-wallaby-test-squad-20120926-26k07.html
26 Sep 2012, 13:08 pm
Bok team for the future:
15. Taute
14. JPP
13. Jordaan
12. Frans Steyn
11. Rhule/ Habana
10. goosen / Lambie
9 Hougaard
8 Vermeulen
7. Alberts
6. Kolisi/ Flo
5 Bekker
4 Etzebeth
3. JC Van rensburg
2. Bissy
1. Beast
My flyhalf and openside flanker will depend on the oppo for the day..
26 Sep 2012, 13:08 pm
In any case, this is probably the best team of the year. All we need is for our forwards to come to the party like they did against NZ, our players to use the opportunities that come their way and we can beat this below strength Aussie side by about 20.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 12 » Show All