Goosen’s time comes

Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer has selected Johan Goosen at flyhalf for the Rugby Championship Test against the Wallabies on Saturday.

Keo.co.za reported yesterday that Goosen would start but Meyer surprised by completely omitting Steyn from his 22, selecting the uncapped Elton Janjties as pivot cover.

Asked about his decision to leave Steyn out, Meyer said: ‘This was very difficult, but I looked at what the team needed first and then at the impact on the individual. At Loftus, where he has played well, it is a big call. But he accepted it graciously. I feel it is in his best interest that he doesn’t play. He’ll fight back.’

Meyer said he had contemplated including Steyn’s on the bench but was dissuaded from this course of action because of the potential to expose an already under pressure player. ‘It isn’t going to help him to bring him on with 20 minutes and he ends up having to kick the game-winning or game-losing goal. I either back him 100% or not. That’s the decision I had to take,’ Meyer said.

Meyer also dispelled the perception that Goosen’s natural attacking instinct would be reigned in to come in line with a game plan that is widely perceived as conservative. He explained that a sharp assessment of the state of the defensive line was key in determining what action to take.

‘There’s a misconception that Goosen must fit into a rigid structure. He has the freedom to play the situation as he sees it,’ he said. ‘But this is not Currie Cup rugby where you have space and time. I’ve said to him to go out and express himself, that’s why I picked him. He must determine when it is on to go wide or take the safer option.’

He added: ‘People have to be realistic though, you can’t expect a 20-year-old to win the game on his own.’

Elsewhere Frans Steyn (who’s struggling with an ankle injury) is bracketed with Jaco Taute in the midfield. The Lions youngster will make his debut in the No 13 jersey if Frans Steyn fails to recover, with skipper Jean de Villiers taking over at inside centre.

‘I want two experienced guys on either side of Johan. Jaco was very good at 13 in Super Rugby,’ Meyer said in explaining this move.

The medical staff were highly optimistic about Steyn’s availability on Tuesday evening but he rolled the same ankle in Wednesday’s training session. A call on his availability will be made after the captain’s practice on Friday afternoon.

In other changes Andries Bekker and Eben Etzebeth unseat Juandre Kruger and Flip van der Merwe in the second row. ‘There is great competition at lock now,’ Meyer said. ‘Flip played his best Test ever against the All Blacks and Juandre was very good as well.

‘It was a horses for courses change there. Australia are very good at lineout time and we want to exert pressure on them there. I feel that Eben, Andries and Duane is a good combination to achieve that, as well as a little more mobile which is crucial as Australia will play expansively. Also Andries is a little more experienced and in 50-50 calls like this I always go with the more experienced guy.

Probed on why Taute had leapfrogged Juan de Jongh in the pecking order, Meyer said: ‘Jaco would have been in the squad earlier had he not been injured. He is 106kg and runs the 100m in 10.7. So I looked at the way Australia defend and thought we could exploit that [better with Taute]. I can’t elaborate on that because we’re talking game plan then. It’s a tough call on Juan.’

Coenie Oosthuizen comes onto the bench after a neck injury in the only other change to the bench.

Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jean de Villiers, 12 Frans Steyn/Jaco Taute, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermuelen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Coenie Oosthuizen, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Marcel Coetzee, 20 Elton Jantjies, 21 Jaco Taute/Juan de Jongh, 22 Pat Lambie.

By Ryan Vrede, in Johannesburg

Follow Ryan on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter

582 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1112 » Show All

• 101.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami-87: Thats what i cant stand about HM he picks his favourites even if they are match fit or there are other replacements who have been playing regularly and are match fit. He did the same thing with J.Potgieter in June.

But this squad is much better!

• 102.Pietie: Reply to this comment

Looking better, interesting – only 2 BBs in the run-on team, 5 WP, 2 overseas, 4 Sharks, 2 Free State – kind of reflects the standing of the home conference log this year in SA. Good to see all the Bulls B team and U21 passengers gone.

• 103.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

dit is bitterlik onregverdig wat hier aan suid afrikaanse rugby gedoen word

bitterlik onregverdig

• 104.bokgat1: Reply to this comment

If we can get our back to gel with the inclusion of lambie, we’re set. The only weakness remaining is our 9. Or injured forwards will further strengthen the first 8

• 105.nama1: Reply to this comment

Meyer probably saw in the practice runs that a JdV/Taute combo work better than a JdV/JdJ combo. :lol:

• 106.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-103:
    Gaan speel in die hoofpad, jou ****** ou suurgat

• 107.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@RL-91: ahhahhahha brilliant.

• 108.Mongril: Reply to this comment

Can’t wait for a couple of the injured players to return – then we’ll be cooking!

15 Lambie , 14 JP, 13 Taute, 12 F Steyn, 11 Habana, 10 Goosen, 9 Hougaard, 8 Vermeulen, 7 Alberts, 6 F Louw, 5 Bekker, 4 Eben, 3 Jannie, 2 Bissie, 1 Beast

16 Adriaan, 17 Coenie, 18 Flip, 19 Marcel, 20 Ruan, 21 Elton, 22 W Le Roux

• 109.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok-95:
    he will
    and so will the team

and once the boks lose to oz their will be the quandry of sticking with goosen/elton or bringing morne back for the nz game.
    of course this will have its effects within the team and whether he brings back morne or not it wont matter.

both goosen and morne will be a little head screwwed which will affect their performance.

and once again we will lose at home to these filthy anzacs

this time not for their doing alone, but for ours

@Transformation-97:
    i am saddened at this turn of events because it means we will lose at home to them, transie
    what a start to meyers tenure… i only hope next year will be better…

• 110.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Taute selection at 13 is the only strange one for me.

Not entirely convinced he is an outside centre.

Other than that, our best 22 so far.

Best front row under the circumstances
    Best lock pairing( just hope Bekker is over his niggles)
    Most balanced loose trio at the moment.
    Half back pair is new but something had to change and this is a good change.
    Wings are fine
    Centres are fine if F Steyn is fit. Not convinced its the best if Taute plays.
    Full back….Taute or Lambie for me.

• 111.Mongril: Reply to this comment

@Mongril-108: Vermeulen or Bissie to captain

• 112.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

this is too much for me

• 113.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

Finally common sense prevails

Now we just need a few backup fetchers in the squad

• 114.RL: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-79: Andries Coetzee and le Roux can play anywhere from 10 to 15.

• 115.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Too many Stormed in that team.

• 116.David: Reply to this comment

@nama1-105:
    Interesting that Vrede (I think) mentioned that Goosen ran at 10 yesterday, but no mention of the 12/13 combo.

• 117.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-109:
    Shut up man.
    At least HM is finally trying something.

What possible benefit would it be to have MS on the bench even?
    To come in and kick a few penalties if Goosen is off target.
    Fark, Mornes kicking has been is WORST attribute this year. jaintjies on the other hand has hardly missed.

• 118.nama1: Reply to this comment

After starting off the international season with 5 starting players and another 2 on the bench (a whopping 14 in the squad), the Bulls no only boast 2 run on players and 1 reserve in the match 22. Both in the back line and no forwards. A brown takhaar and a tattoo’d, mullet wearing hippie from the Cape.

No wonder Bakkies and The Brig are so pissed off with this team.

Enter Tacitus!!! :lol:

• 119.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

I agree this doesn’t make up for some of Heyneke’s poor selections earlier or his mismanagement and double standards and of course the outdated playing style.

But we’re stuck with him for a while so best we continue to apply the pressure as we have and the coach will hopefully grow and change with the team.

• 120.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@RL-114: Oh forgot about him. I am a big fan of Le Roux he should have been in the squad from the get go.

• 121.JustShat: Reply to this comment

Great stuff mates! Last time De Villiers and Alberts missed the easy tackles to give us the momentum try. Vermeulen couldn’t get over the gain line, knocked on and gave us a lot of turn over ball. Louw did nothing but stand at the back of rucks looking around. Your back line never looked like scoring thanks mostly to your pedantic 12 and 13. Wonder boy Goosen kicks away possession with 3 min left. All in the Bok side, awesome -so glad they are not bulls. Good to see the panic and bull bashing. Aussie, Aussie, Aussie – famous win coming up the weekend!

• 122.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-112: And what you asked me yesterday dear Bakkies, I now ask of you. What IF the Boks win and manage to play some good rugby in the process?

(Footnote: Personally I don’t believe simply changing the flyhalf solves the bigger issues at play here – those of strategy, mindset and Bok blueprint……so I wouldn’t be opening any bubbly or leaping up and down on any couches just yet.)

• 123.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@Mongril-108: Lambie is not a 15, he is a 10 at best.. not enough speed to join a line from 15..
    Would love to see Kolisi in there as well when he is fit again

• 124.seamus: Reply to this comment

Oh brilliant… Jean at 12 means he will have even more field position from which to crab across the field.

HTF has he escaped the criticism being levelled at Morne and Zane?

• 125.garth: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-120: I agree 100%. He offers so much on attack and link fantastically with Goosen.

• 126.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Disappointed at the axing of Steyn.

• 127.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@JustShat-121:

Julle gaan slae kry die naweek, boet.

• 128.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

In Pretoria they’re crying about the culling of M. Steyn while the rest of SA celebrate the potential re-birth of Bok Rugby.

• 129.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok-119: Hopefully

• 130.PielNeus: Reply to this comment

Heyneke Meyer, ok now I wont release the tape, well done, goed gedaan.

• 131.nama1: Reply to this comment

@David-116:
    True that…now that you mentioned it.

I mean, Frans did not take part in the practice, arriving there still on his crutches. Vrede should’ve seen this.

• 132.blik: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-77: Not sure, just read the article on rugby365

• 133.Mongril: Reply to this comment

@Provvas-123: But he does have vision, which is something we are direly lacking on counter attack. If the likes of JP, Habana and Taute falls back with him he’ll put them into space all day long.

• 134.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@JustShat-121: You clearly looked through those blue tinted glasses. For me Vermeulen had a solid game vs NZ, so did Flo.. Morne had a shocker again and people cant understand him being dropped?

JDV is my biggest concern as he kills every momentum given by the forwards..
    Vermeulen to have a huge game and so Flo.. watch this space!

• 135.Lions_Soutie: Reply to this comment

@RL-70: I’m not saying he can’t play there, it just seems a bit of a waste. Was very quite on Saturday

• 136.garth: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-126: Why?

• 137.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

Spare a thought for the Aussies who are now going to get thrashed on the w end. James Horwill, Moore, David Pocock, Quade Cooper, Will Genia and is O connor back? Thats a lot of starting players out

• 138.theOracle: Reply to this comment

Meyer likes big centre’s hence his preference for Frans/JdV/Taute…

Taute is a big lad and runs nice angels but my only reservation with Taute is his ball handling skills… quite a few knock ons during the S15 and knocked the ball at least once the past two weeks… hopefully he can work on this aspect of his game..

• 139.RL: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-126: we are implementing our plan to axe all the kak players – Werner Kruger, Dean Greyling, Jacque Potgieter, Morne and Kircher are deserving victims of this ingenious plot. They must all be taken out and their Boks contracts ripped to shreds. The fact that they are all Bulls is just coincidental. :cool:

• 140.Provvas: Reply to this comment

Laughed at the way Barnes backed MS in the media… he would have loved to play against the predictable I guess.. and Dean would have loved the boks having a 13% kicker in the Bok team.. Well done HM, now they will panic a bit more about Saturdays game..

• 141.thesiener: Reply to this comment

Awesome!! I really didn’t think HM would have the balls to drop Steyn… I think it will be close but the Boks can take this one especially with an out of form Beale at 10 and Moore is out again which means Polata Nau will be concussed at some stage…

• 142.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Heyneke learnt a hard lesson…..dont pick bull kak.

• 143.nama1: Reply to this comment

@seamus-124:
    He is the captain and is probably going to play his last two tests for the Boks over the next two Saturdays.

@wpstormerbok-128:
    I wonder if that will reunite the BullShark alliance.

Some Shark supporters (read HG) were not too pleased with the axing of Keegan Daniel either. :lol:

• 144.garth: Reply to this comment

@RL-139: Not really coincidental. That fact they are Bulls is the only reason they were there to start with.

• 145.Gazelle: Reply to this comment

A pretty strong team, thanks heyneke.

• 146.Maljan: Reply to this comment

Thank the Pope that M Steyn is out. Long live Goosen!

Kirchner butchered a gift try against the AB’s, missed a vital tackle which let in a try and kicked like an amateur and he’s still in the team. Can Meyer not see that he offers zilch to the team!?

I hope he has the decency to give Lambie more than 4 minutes on the field this time! He’s too scared to be proven wrong me thinks!

• 147.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

Whatever people say or don’t say, there really is no better time to ‘throw’ a youngster like Goosen to the ‘wolves’, than against a woefully depleted Australia, at altitude……
    There will be room for error and nerves, something a start against the AB’S doesn’t always allow for.

But anyone here ONCE AGAIN writing off the Aussies and gleefully giving the Boks a 15 point win margin, might be a little premature.

But looking more like a team than wants to do a bit more than skop and jag? Hell yes.

• 148.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Provvas-140: True. They will panic because they dont know what to expect now. We have a real flyhalf who can take charge and mix things up. Not a one trick pony. I wonder if this is the last we will see of M.Steyn and Spies?

• 149.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@nama1-143: Only after this weekend when they get to klap the bulls out of the CC….

• 150.kwensie: Reply to this comment

@Maljan-146: Does the word QUOTA ring a bell?

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1112 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.