Folklore has spoken … Boks by 15

MARK KEOHANE, in Business Day Sport Monthly, writes it will be the Boks by 15 against the Aussies at Loftus on Saturday. At least that’s what history says.

Perception too often is accepted as fact. The perception of excellence in Springbok rugby is an illusion. The fact is the Springboks lose a lot of Test matches and have done so consistently over the last century.

They have a win percentage that has on occasion threatened 65% but is closer to 60%. It has always been this way. There have been some magnificent teams. Equally there have been some shockers, who have taken beatings abroad and been humiliated at home.

Time dulls the memory. Results are forgotten, folklore ensures only the good times are remembered and the good in one era become very good. The 30 metre kick to beat the All Blacks is now 60 metres. The tough men of the early 1900s were man mountains and when the current pretenders deliver a depressing result, the obvious is to hanker back to the days when Bok midfielders were more imposing than town marshalls – all 76 kilograms of them.

The modern player would not survive the amateur era. ‘In my day,’ says a player, who forgets he ever lost a Test.

‘Steak, chips and a bottle of wine,’ says another. ‘That was the pre-Test meal.’ Those were the days apparently when men were men, the Springboks were something mystical and pasta was something only the Italians ate.

And so we romance the game, listen to the stories told by those who were there, who saw the 60 metre kick, although it could have been 70 metres and take comfort that the Springboks, if not today, then most days were destroyers of opposition dreams and the ultimate challenge in world rugby.

‘You win in the Republic. Then you can call yourself a rugby player. The South African public acknowledges you can play … boy then you can play.’

You’ve heard them all …

‘A wounded Bok is a dangerous animal … There is nothing as imposing as a Bok team written off … Beware the mighty Boks … Wait till you get to altitude …’

Then we recall a glory moment when the Boks were given no chance of victory and won; when the world dismissed the challenge of those giants in green and gold and were forced to concede the greatness of those rugby men from the Republic.

The storytelling goes beyond rugby. Historically, it has been a life identity. A Springbok … it is what every white boy dreams to become. Post apartheid it is what every South African boy wants to be.

In sporting isolation the legend rose more than it grew. Mortals were immortal and no team could claim anything until they had proved it in the Republic.

Thus, for 20 years, the Boks were the best team in the world. Our rugby was of superior quality; our players dominated every South African media World XV.

Our boys kicked 70 metre penalties (forget the small matter of altitude). Those blokes overseas, they can’t even knock them over from 50 (forget the small matter of sea level).

The television images don’t lie.

The rugby media, be it in print, on television or radio, reinforce the legend.

‘You can’t call yourselves the world champions until you beat the Boks.’ That’s our response to New Zealand’s claim to have won the first ever World Cup in 1987.

And then we hosted the 1995 World Cup final and beat the All Blacks 15-12 in a final that went into extra-time. Andrew Mehrtens, ironically born in Durban, had the chance to win it for New Zealand with a drop goal attempt from 20 metres out and right in front. His kick, with less than a minute to play of normal time, missed and the game ended 9-all.

It was God’s will, said the older folk. It was written in the stars said the team management. There was no way we could lose, said the players. A greater force was guiding them.

And don’t forget that when a Jew plays for the Boks, that’s even greater confirmation defeat is never a consideration.

The All Blacks, a year later in 1996, beat the Boks four times in five, with three of the wins in South Africa. They won in Cape Town, Durban and in Pretoria.

But when they lost the last of the five Tests in Johannesburg, order was restored and the Boks had again shown the Kiwis and the world just who was the best.

As the legend grew, so too did the belief that nothing but an emphatic victory every Saturday would suffice. A failure to deliver was treated with disgust; apparently such was the rarity.

‘How? We are the Boks … We don’t lose.’

But we do, too often when reality is measured against perception.

‘Not in my day,’ screams a newspaper headline. Another of yesterday’s heroes has given up on the jersey he once wore as symbol of superiority in everything rugby and most things generally.

‘I don’t watch the kids of today. They’re soft. I’d rather mow my lawn.’

The media fuels the frenzy. Another of the all-time greats, with a Test record of nine wins in 17, says he is embarrassed to call himself a Bok if the lot that just disgraced the jersey are still called Boks.

He is so disgusted at the Boks losing to Scotland he tells the media he is considering giving back his Bok blazer.

‘Scotland!’

Our game is in crisis. Legends want to mow the lawn and give back their prized green and gold Bok jersey.

‘It’s the blacks,’ say some. ‘They’ve destroyed everything and now they’ve even destroyed our rugby.’

Another of those giants of yesteryear is inspired to let the nation know there won’t be a future for the Boks by the year 2000.

The team will be black, they will be called something else and they will play in another colour jersey is his prophecy. But he no longer objects because at least the legacy of the green jersey, the Bok and the King’s crown won’t suffer more embarrassment.

‘This lot … in my day … when the game still had scrums, when a punch sorted the kings from the queens and when players could run, pass, dummy, side step and tackle … In my day.’

Bok rugby is again in crisis, screams another newspaper front-page lead story.

Apparently another legend of yesteryear is embarrassed. He is even thinking of moving to Australia because if he had ever produced such a passionless display he would have fled out of fear for his life; alternatively he would have done what men of those days did and claimed himself unworthy of the jersey and all things South Africa. He too would have fled the country, but the measure of his quality is that it would have been before they kicked him out.

The great grandfather is sullen. The grandfather tells the son it is because of the hurt at the Boks losing to Australia.

The blacks and ANC government are no longer to blame. It’s the cash. Professionalism and money are the evils.

The players are spoilt and greedy. Then the grandfather tells the eight year old. ‘Ah you would have loved it … Victor Matfield (paaaaleeeeeese). He wouldn’t have lasted a minute. Frik du Preez, now that is a lock. A giant of a man. Taller than anything these days, stronger, heavier and quicker than Habana. He could run, tackle, kick and pass. And boy could he scored tries, and he could drink.’

The boy logs onto the internet and wishes it was Frik out there earlier in the day.

The Boks he believed could not lose were not the real Boks.

The headline demands change. The coach must go; those imposters in green and gold must go. Alternatively, rugby in South Africa, as it was once known, will be dead.

Another of yesterday’s heroes says he fears the rest of the world thinks of us as Wales. He says there is no future for the game and he gives his 10 point plan to restore order the next week. It involves kicking out half the team and replacing the coach.

‘In my day,’ he tells the reporter. ‘Doc Craven would not have tolerated this. That guy’s career would be over. Those were the standards Craven demanded. This legend then boasts about the physicality of the Boks of his era and the brutality of the tackles and the magic ways of the wings and the length of penalty goals our flyhalves used to have to kick … in the wet, with a heavy leather ball, into a wind (not the breeze we get today … a wind) and in conditions that were mudbaths … not the carpets you call a rugby field.

Oh, and in those days you played for 80 minutes, he adds. You got up after being knocked out and you played. You broke your collar bone and you played. That was what the jersey meant to him and his teammates.

Now guys last 50 minutes and even that is too much because it is so easy to play club rugby in Japan for outrageous sums of money. It’s rugby’s blasphemy.

This legend too is thinking of heading to Australia where rugby union’s not even the first choice sport; yet those okes still beat us. What next?’

The national coach fronts the media, as if on trial for treason. A nation has been lied to, betrayed and insulted.

The coach promises the players will work harder, restore credibility and be true to the history of the jersey.

We hold our breath, we pat ourselves on the back that even in these foreign and dark times we can show such loyalty and we vow to watch the Boks the following week.

The grandson asks the grandfather if we can win.

‘We are the Boks,’ he says. ‘We don’t lose.’

And the grandson smiles. Order has been restored.

The legacy of the Boks is not dead. The game apparently is no longer in crisis and we will not be the Wales of rugby.

He logs onto the Internet and smiles even more. The legends of yesteryear won’t be going to Australia after all and one of the finest legends has laughed off reports that the Boks are a team that historically loses 40 percent of their Tests.

‘Not in my day,’ he has told the reporter. ‘And definitely not on Saturday. Boks to take it by 15 because we never lose.’

– This article first appeared in the October issue of Business Day Sport Monthly. The magazine is distributed free with Business Day newspaper on the second last Friday of each month.

703 Comments

• 1.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Ja no well fine?

• 2.RL: Reply to this comment

Keo your last 3 or 4 articles were brilliant. Worth the read. It was like the old Keo, you were on fire.

This contribution is a kak piece of work – what happened. Did you fall off the wagon, back on the powder. Pffffft.

• 3.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

What I take from this is that Keo has grown weary of making predictions, and that is understandable – unlike some of his “prose”.

• 4.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

One of the finest written pieces from your pen I’ve read, Mark.
    Very enjoyable.
    Has a Dana Snyman type of feel to it.

• 5.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Jews whites blacks granpa grandson

• 6.Dawn: Reply to this comment

When men were men and whatever

• 7.trupisero: Reply to this comment

WTF Keo?

How many lines did you do before you spewed out this drivel?

• 8.RL: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah-4: fine piece of work – I have to ask, is that you Mark?

• 9.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

Found myself rereading the same statments which I have never heard said in SA, I have never heard any bok seporter say “…we never lose.”, the article just went on and on and on. A never ending tirade. Was just giving insight into upcoming game for this weekend too much for you Keo?

• 10.Stormtrooper: Reply to this comment

We have won two World cups. That is what legends are made of. We also sent out some of the most feared packs in the world. They may be bigger, faster, fitter and have more skill now but nobody fears them anymore.

• 11.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@RL-8: :lol:

No.

I did enjoy it though.

• 12.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-9: I gave up after the 4th paragraph. By then it felt as though I had taken a double hit on the bong…

@Stormtrooper-10: Apparently HM doesn’t share your view ;)

• 13.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-12:

• 14.poppa69: Reply to this comment

a bok legend with 9 wins from 17 games?

lmfao

seems about right. 60% throughout history, a stat on the decline for the last twenty years.

definitely not the Wales of rugby, more like the Italy.

Stormtrooper – hahaha two world cups is legendary? what do you watch in between the twelve years?

98 test wins in 110 tests is legendary

• 15.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-14:

Watsup Pops

Look forward to your crime stats for the day

• 16.goforthegap00: Reply to this comment

a shorter..much shorter article would have said the same thing.. attention spans are short these days

• 17.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

i dont feel the gees

• 18.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-14:

Or THAT question directed at a blogger of your choice:

“Did you rape anyone today”

• 19.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-14: ah, here comes the legendary wit.

Well, half of it.

• 20.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Aha

Two breakdown kings in the house

• 21.poppa69: Reply to this comment

more Dawn

the only crime today is keos article. biggest load of w@nk ever.

Aussies by 12

• 22.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-18: Don’t confront him. Makes him hot under the collar. Will be sweating like a rapist soon.

• 23.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

Good article.

• 24.Lee: Reply to this comment

Maybe a bit rambling at times but good article.

• 25.katman: Reply to this comment

Come on, keo. You’ve been there yourself, with the “we cannot lose this one” bravado. While the gusto with which you make your point is commendable, it would help a lot if this point were consistent from week to week.

• 26.Dawn: Reply to this comment

HM Keohane wrote this at 3am while listening to the rain pelting down outside and considering the bong.

• 27.WestAussieBok: Reply to this comment

What a load of pretentious drivel.
    What exactly is your point? That Bok supporters have rose-tinted goggles? No ****, tell us someone we don’t know. That’s a characteristic of every sports supporter worldwide.

• 28.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

he’s a snivelling heyena

lurking around the fringes

waiting, hoping for the easy meal

• 29.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Trupisero

classic

plagiarism is a crime though.

• 30.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Business Day monthly is about filling the column inches.

Short just doesn’t cut it.

• 31.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

One of your better written pieces Keo. A page turner.

It is true that because of isolation we as Bok supporters placed the Boks on the proverbial pedestal without challenging anybody over our boarders.

In our minds we were the best and after isolation we won the RWC at our 1st attempt which further confirmed our greatness.

In all honesty the AB’s have been better than us since readmission.

But in my mind Goosen will change everything. He will be the catalyst for a new generation of Bok TRUE greatness.

Really hopes he fulfills his potential.

• 32.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-30: hi angie :D

• 33.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-29: so was your conception

• 34.papaown: Reply to this comment

WOW…what a rant!

• 35.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-33: keep em coming trupi. how do you do it?

is this the legendary saffa humour we hear of?

just brilliant…

you do go on son, my sides are splitting here..

did you pass your matric?

• 36.iceman: Reply to this comment

South Africa has all the talent in the world to become an absolute power house of world rugby, however we always seem to be our own worst enemy.

Other than all the other challenges we have to face such as, racial quota’s, provincialism, favouritism, ill discipline problems and other political pressures, we do not do everything in our power to bring the best out of every single rugby player.

This is very evident when players go over seas. Some of these players are very average players when they leave our shores but soon emerge as top class players in a more productive environment.

We also do not seem to have the coaches who can bring the best out of the players and come up with any sort of game plan. We always seem to be following the rest of the world, perhaps only when Jake White was coach, were we ahead slightly. But what I’m saying we should be the leaders by far and the rest of the world should be trying to match us.

If Australia had out talent pool they would be invincible. Even with the very limited player base that hey have they are still very competitive and are two time world champions.

I just think that if we truly want to be the best in the world i.e. like New Zealand, we must change allot from the top down and we will see the results.

• 37.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-32:

Good day!

• 38.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-35:

And so it begins …………..

• 39.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-35: indeed I did – need some tips to get there?

• 40.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

After some positive movements in the Bok camp this week this is all you could come up with?

A whole lot of glass half empty.

Maybe Keo penned this article two weekends back already.

• 41.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-39: so what are you going to do now that exams have finished?

• 42.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-32:
    Transie, I hope you don’t pull a Tac on us a disappear after the Kings lose a few games next season.
    Now the Bulls supporters know how we as Stormers fans felt after HM 1st team selection.

• 43.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

This is a very good article. Sums up exactly what I have been trying to tell those fellows who refuse to believe the Boks are not what ‘legend and folklore would make them out to be’.
    Isolation gave us the alleged superiority we so desperately needed to feel ‘part of the world’.

It’s always easy to be and STAY superior when your ‘alleged superiority’ is never being tested where it counts….on the field.

Yes, there were some fabulous Bok teams of old, and some world class players – but legend, folklore and the fact that we lived in a ‘bubble’ do not Bok history make.

Great read Keo.

• 44.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-42:
    dont kid yourself, bulls are in the running as much as any other team.

• 45.viewer: Reply to this comment

Folklore? African folklore or Indo-Chinese folklore

• 46.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-33:
    i like your work :grin:

he’s right about the outcome though, i think the ozzies will take us.
    not enough experience to see us through.

• 47.Horings: Reply to this comment

To compare SA rugby to NZ rugby of the 1950s you have to pick an all white SA team and an all white All Black team and compare it with each other. Point is the Maoris have given NZ a lot of extra depth and quality and our 40 million non whites is not at the level they should be. This is why I am all for a strong Eastern Cape rugby team. They should however first qualify for the Currie Cup and get a an extended run in the Super 15 and not at the expense of our biggest city’s team.

• 48.viewer: Reply to this comment

If Morne Steyn was playing it would Fucklore

• 49.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Horings-47:
    no, its the cheating in the present and the stitched up judicials.

• 50.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-42: me? my name is not Tac or HG.

• 51.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-44:
    Bakkies, I know you a bit over sensitive since the team was announced which is understandable.
    Goosen’s selection can back fire but we both don’t want that to happen.
    But lets get behind the Boys this Saturday ’cause we can let these Aussies beat us 6 times in a row.

• 52.viewer: Reply to this comment

* would be

• 53.Horings: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-43: Some of our teams were legendary before isolation. 44-0 against Scotland at Murrayfield at a time when you got 3 points for a try tells a story. The All Blacks and the Boks were equal in strength BEFORE isolation. Then you go and watch some clips of Naas, Gerber and Carel du Plessis and you will understand why we think we were good in the 80s. The problem is when we got back into international rugby some of these legends were at the end of their career and the new talent was not up to the standard of those before them.

• 54.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

The Boks will add to the folklore on Saturday.

• 55.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-43: Bok team of yore were not the best the country had to offer.

• 56.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-55:

“Of yore”

Now you doing it too!

• 57.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Horings-53: The teams pre-isolation are not those I’m having a dig at. All those teams did was set the standard for an adoring public to cling onto. We really DID believe that EVERY Bok team that COULD have played during isolation (if permitted) would have been unbeatable. That might have been the case with 1 or 2 of them – but as we saw post isolation, a lot of what we as a nation took to be a ‘given’: “that the Boks would dominate world rugby until kingdom come” – was built not on the reality, but on the ‘safety’ isolation gave us.

Some still refuse to accept that our beloved Boks have not dominated anything for any length of time since readmission. Hard to take yes, but the truth usually is.

• 58.Horings: Reply to this comment

Goosen and Serfontein gives me hope that we can again play the rugby we played in the 1980s. Heyneke will ensure that our pack is very effective and ruthless and then our young backline will shine. I will go as far and say the Sharks should sign both Goosen and Serfontein if the Bulls cannot change their way of play. Serfontein will not develop as quickly as needed if he plays alongside Steyn and Fouche. I am also not convinced Pollard will be the answer.

• 59.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-56: ;)

• 60.Dawn: Reply to this comment

So what makes Saturday’s team the stuff of folklore

• 61.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

Poppa69 is a South African pretending to be a kiwi.

• 62.poppa69: Reply to this comment

The Springbok head, given to the first provincial team to beat the touring South Africans, had long been a prized possession.
    Canterbury won it in 1921, Waikato in 1956 and Wellington in 1965.

Otago had beaten the Lions four times but victory over the Springboks had eluded it – until July 27, 1994.

Munster being the only irish team to ever beat the ABs

Januaries try in Dunedin to seal the Boks first win at the venue..

Sleeping at Eden park during the 1981 tour..

Chester Williams, Madiba with Pienaar

these are true Folklore legends..

• 63.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-57: it’s the blacks :razz:

• 64.fever: Reply to this comment

Keo, what about Lambie?????

• 65.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Horings-58: Would have been the best for SA rugby if Meyer stayed at the Bulls to develop the best youngsters in the country. SA rugby is in danger of losing a potential golden era if these youngsters do not develop properly.

• 66.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-60: zane kirchner :D

• 67.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Liewe Luiperd-61: i heard Poppa was Transformation!

• 68.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-67: :lol:
    Transformation IS Poppa.. when hes not Rossi, or Cane, or any of the many

• 69.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Liewe Luiperd-61:

eish boet, jy uitgepluis het my uit ..

• 70.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-63: :) It’s actually the whites……… expectation based on legend is afucker when it backfires – BOOM. :) Speaking of, I am getting seriously worried about the Christian Cullen of bloggers. Wherethefuckishe?

• 71.viewer: Reply to this comment

Finally I “read” this “article”. An utter dog’s breakfast written on no sleep

• 72.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-67: There are in fact only 6 bloggers on this site. Tis true. :)

• 73.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-69: R50 randjies met die komplimente van ABSA for that attempt :)

• 74.papaown: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-31: how can people believe 1 player will change EVERYTHING??? Sure we’ll play better and I believe we will beat these Wobblies

but it will change EVERYTHING?

seriously guys

• 75.papaown: Reply to this comment

@Horings-65: its just that with HM’s unexpected failings soo soon, who else do we have that could possibly have taken over the Boks?

its not as easy to get it right as we thought it would be…as seen by the Mesiah

• 76.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-73: :) perhaps if I spent less time remembering which nic I am currently using and didnt spend so much time at the gym I could improve my usage of die taal…

• 77.papaown: Reply to this comment

@Horings-53: the All Blacks never use that excuse as there is always someone new they can back to take them forward..while we fail to develop other options when we feel we’ve found an decent incumbent

• 78.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

Transformation and Poppa are two different people.

Poppa is a disgruntled Saffa living in Aus, like so many others.

He left because of the “rape stats” and is now bitter and spends his days “returning serve”.

Transformation is a disgruntled Saffa living in SA, like so many others.

• 79.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-42:

Why do you say Bulls supporters should now know what Stormers supporters felt like with Meyer’s first team anouncement?

I really like the team for this Saturday. By all accounts, Stormers supported hated Meyer’s first team.

So I don’t get the comparison.

• 80.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-73:
    Ahh, we have a “Noot vir Noot” fan amongst us.

• 81.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-66:

• 82.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-70: the Boks are in Pretoria, he’s been stalking Heyneke Meyer to ask him about Keegan! :D

• 83.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-68: multinic bastardo! :razz:

• 84.Kietzphat: Reply to this comment

Sounds like Keo was writing this to Frik du Preez.

• 85.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-79: you like everything meyer does, even if he stole your Fortuner, you’d like that :roll: :D

• 86.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Kietzphat-84:

Ja, Keo doesn’t like Frik. Hasn’t for some time.

• 87.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Poppa-83: I even talk between my nics… just to keep everyone guessing like..

• 88.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-51:
    ***** i hope so, jerald.
    my heart watns them to win, more than anything
    but my head’s got other ideas..

fingers crossed

• 89.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-79:
    I’m painting all Bulls supporters with the same brush. Forgive me for being overly presumptuous.

I know you have on numerous occasions slammed Morne’s form during the Super Rugby season.

Next time I’ll exclude you. I thought you had gone AWOL.

But you must admit the wheels have come off in Blou Bull country.

• 90.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-79:

Where on EARTH have you been.

• 91.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-76: hahahahahaha :D

• 92.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-54:

• 93.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-90:
    dont you know..?..

the EARTH came falling down :lol:

• 94.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-90:

Brooding.

You know my interest in rugby waxes and wanes depending on the performance of my teams.

• 95.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-79: So it is only Bakkies who hates this team and now all Bulls supporters hate this team. Another perception is the love for Meyer from Bulls supporters. I think he is the best coach in SA, but he is the reason for the Bulls sad record since he announced his support staff. Many Bulls supporters that supports the Bulls and then the Boks do not like Meyer at all.

• 96.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Horings-95:

“Many Bulls supporters that supports the Bulls and then the Boks do not like Meyer at all”.

So 99% of Bulls supporters don’t like Meyer at all.

• 97.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Horings-95:

Morne should have been given an extended break about 12 months ago already. He cost the Bulls about 4 victories in the S15, and he cost the Boks another historic win in NZ two weeks ago.

He’s a great guy, and I won’t write him off for the future, but he is not the player he was in 2009 at the moment.

Goosen is indeed the future, as I’ve been saying for some time now.

• 98.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Horings-95:
    i do not hate this team
    i just have very uneasy feelings about what should have been a walk in the park.

its starting to look like a walk on a plank

cant believe we losing our home games with meyer

• 99.Kietzphat: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-86:

Ja, but Frik is one of those “In MY day….” types.

• 100.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-98:

Come on. Surely you cannot be in favour of retaining Morne at the moment.

• 101.katman: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-94: Welcome back then. When you say brooding, do you mean being pensive, or producing babies?

• 102.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

Agg maar vokit.

Keo has gone all Shakespear on our asses.

• 103.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-100: Id have liked to have seen Morras being given one more shot at Loftus.

But Im not crying myself to sleep at night about his omission either.

• 104.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-100:

Tacticus you hendsopper you.

you left me, bakkies and the katman to fight it out with this wp/shark cabal.

that is not cool.

• 105.katman: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-104: Ons het hulle wel opgefok. Maar ja, nie baie cool nie.

• 106.shooter: Reply to this comment

@Liewe Luiperd-61: unles they have ‘matric’ in NZ too? :lol:

• 107.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@katman-101:

Hehe. I did delay on that sentence for a few seconds, considering the possibility for misinterpretation of the word. Should have known you’d be the one to pick up the potential ambiguity the quickest.

Definitely being pensive, p*ssed off, disgruntled, carrying a pitchfork with a burning Blue jersey impaled on it etc. was the intended meaning.

Those guys need to sort their sh*t out. Heyneke left. And he took three quarters of our coaching team with him. Deal with it. The pathetic excuse for rugby that they’re currently producing in Pretoria is not acceptable, no matter the excuses.

• 108.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@katman-105:

fighting the good fight and all that jazz.

• 109.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-104: “hendsopper”

Ooh.

Fighting words.

• 110.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-107:

do you know if the bulls have replaced any of the coaching staff that left yet?

ironically, i really rate our players on the field in the cc team but we have been getting nothing out of our locks and defence has been a huge problem.

• 111.katman: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-107: And then there’s my lot, who are playing fantastic rugby but will be sent to a Siberian Gulag for most of next year. Funny old game this.

• 112.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-107: True, fact is all the teams have excuses. Lions have the best excuse of them all as all their players are looking for contracts. Sharks have lost the most players to the Springboks. WP are playing with a hooker and Canadian in their loose trio. Cheetahs, Griquas and the Bulls probably have good reason to be 1,2 and 3, but they are 4,5,6.

• 113.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-100:
    i would have kept him on the bench at the very least, tac.

this isn’t about morne, it’s about the team standing a chance of winning in the event things dont go to plan (which i believe it wont).

goosen has tons of potential and talent and so too does elton (only shown it at cc so far but thats another debate) i just do not trust they will not fold under pressure and cost us the oz game.

and if we lose the oz game then meyer’s in the quandry of sticking with them for the nz game or recalling morne.

cant believe we giving our home tests away.

• 114.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@katman-111:

unfortunately your lot are always the goods at CC, once again they bombed in superrugby.

….and then when the players hang their coach, that, in my opinion, is also not cool.

• 115.Jeez: Reply to this comment

This team is becoming far too white…or still just as white…

If Taute lands on the bench (JdJ drops out) then Jantjies will be the only player of colour on the bench… So if Kirchner gets injured/subbed Habana and Beast will be the only players of colour on the field..And if Beast gets injured/subbed… Just Habs.

I dont care who plays for the boks, but it has such a positive effect on SA and the supporters view of the boks if players of colour get support and backing from the coach… There arent quota players anymore, and players of colour reach the highest level and become quality players at their franchises…But there is a trend that just does not seem to go away…

Jantjies (the best 10 after Goosen, who was injured) missed out on 5 caps due to Steyns numerous lifelines…why? This was a great opportunity to give a coloured player a deserving chance to represent his country…

Chilli ( the number 2 hooker ) would have hopefully landed the leading role, if not injured. And should be the first choice hooker (when back from injury) and stay the number 2 hooker if Bismark returns… Will he though?

JPP,if not injured, would have been wing…but Hougaard should never start at wing if we have gifted black players like Mvovo playing great rugby and just happens to be a specialist winger…

Aplon should be in the mix some how, be it at 15 or off the bench…but isnt apparently due to his size…His selection would have been a huge improvement if he was selected ahead of Kirchner…

I personally dont rate JDJ but he should be pissed that he’s not even considered as a sub after being in the mix for so long and with no game time. But Taute is bigger so sorry Juan here’s a tackle back to carry.

Kolisi (when back from injury) and Coetzee imo can be rotated. They are on par in my mind, different players in some ways, but Kolisi definitely bok quality…but will he get more opportunities in the green and gold? Or will HM just give Coetzee all the opportunities? If HM can rotate locks so easily why not rotate Kolisi and Coetzee?

It seems that players of colour are not really getting much opportunities to prove themselves and poor Lambie is also in Limbo, probably to keep the only backline player of colour HM seems to trust in the starting line up, apart from Habs…

And I know some will not agree but its a shame to lose a player like Johnson who is also a quality player…he might not be the first, second or third best at 8 but then again where should Spies really land in the pecking order…??

And a player like Steenkamp, another guy who can still be in the bok setup but isnt… why not ? The great players who happen to be players of colour should not be let go so easily, because they represent the country in a much more important way…

What will happen to a guy like Rhule in the future? Will he struggle to get an opportunity like the other players of colour who have performed brilliantly for the past 4/5 seasons but are discarded and struggle to break into the starting lineup?

Imo its not a very important goal to get players of colour to represent the boks and it should be because we have quality players who will make the country proud…they just need more opportunities…

Wake up HM and smell the black coffee…

• 116.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@katman-111:

Ja. That’s a travesty of justice, if there ever was one.

Nice to see Kevin de Klerk giving Cheeky the finger when asked to loan them their players in the S15.

• 117.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-94:

Love it when you get all brooding and mysterious like

• 118.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@katman-101:
    nee man, hy bak brood

one brood many broods

to be making broods = brooding

• 119.shooter: Reply to this comment

Ke O getting it wrong again,,,,, Boks by 20.

• 120.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-107:

No little blue bulls then?

• 121.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-113:

To what purpose? So that he can come on and kick 40% of his kicks at goal? Not good enough.

My argument in Morne’s favour during the World Cup was always based on his superior goalkicking, and with that having gone to sh*t, there’s nothing left.

Until he sorts that out, Elton is a better option than him on the bench.

• 122.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@shooter-119:

Whatsup Shooter

Tell me about your guns

• 123.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-110: Forward dominance. All our teams are brought up with the forwards dominating. The crash ball inside centre works brilliantly from quick front foot ball. The one-off runners work brilliantly if the ball is quick and the defense cannot organise itself quickly. This is our biggest worry. We have the youngsters, now we should spend the money on getting world class forwards back to Loftus. Guthro, Bakkies and Danie Rossouw will make a huge difference to this team and if WP get Jantjies and with the Sharks playing Lambie we should target Goosen even if we have to pay the Cheetahs a R2m fee to buy him out of his contract.

• 124.Dawn: Reply to this comment

What’s a hendsopper

• 125.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-104:
    i dont know which is worse, them or the kiwis

dirty water indeed

• 126.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Horings-112:

In my view, we have **** players on top of **** coaches.

Kruger and Greyling have been average for years, and yet we don’t buy a guy like Coenie or whoever?

Locks I’m satisfied with, given that Flip and Juandre are away at the Boks.

Loosies are ok for Currie Cup, but it is unacceptable that we don’t have at least two international quality loose forwards in our team. Dewald Potgieter and Stegman are long past their sell bye dates, sadly, and should have been replaced by new starts long since. Letting CJ Stander go while keeping those players is simply unacceptable.

Ironically enough, loyalty seems to be killing us at the moment.

• 127.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-120:

No new ones recently, no.

• 128.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I’m on strike today so will be blogging and abusing people at will.

• 129.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-121:
    fair enough.
    we will find out on saturday just how good these options are.

for me

the feeling is

there’s a storm comin…

• 130.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-129:

Change it

i_love_you_mornesteyn

• 131.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-126: Hi Tac, Juan Smith seems to be in the market. If he does not receive a huge offer from a local franchise, he’ll be joining Bayonne in France sometime during next season

• 132.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-104: The WP/Shark cabal? :) This has made my day. If the day, the week, the month, the year or for that matter the world, ends right now – I will be smiling.

• 133.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-124:
    its hensopper

and is basically a guy who had the biggest mouth for a cause and argues for a certain course od actions but once the doodoo hits the fan and bullets start flying he pulls out and sits on the sidelines making up excuses for why its suddenly not the best thing to do

kinda like whats happened with meyer and his coaching spell so far.

there were a lot of cheerleader who were nowhere to be found when the kak got real.

• 134.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-131:

Yes, that’s what we need. Experienced veterans to give our youngsters some backbone.

• 135.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-126: Werner Kruger is really disappointing. We are getting van der Merwe from the Cheetahs, who seems to be a meneer and we should also get Guthro back. Probably the best loosehead in the world. Loosies are okay if we bring through Botha, Cooke, Liebenberg, Adendorff, etc, but Botha, Stander and Marnus Schoeman would have been a brilliant combination and we let two of them go.

• 136.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-130:
    ag come now dawn… what is love…?.. :lol:

• 137.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-133:

Well that’s just silly.

If you don’t agree with something, why should you continue supporting it?

I disagree with Meyer’s loyalty to an off-form Morne Steyn. I could have told him the guy wouldn’t improve after half time, and that Goosen should have come on after 20 minutes in the first half.

Did he not watch any of the Bulls Super Rugby games this year?

Meyer is loyal, that much you can’t take away from him. But in Morne’s case it was misplaced, in my view.

• 138.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-131: I would sell my home and give the proceeds to the WPRFU in order to assist them with the purchase of Juan if this was a few years back. At this stage, it might be risky spending plenty moolah on what had become an unknown entity.
    My fave Bok of all time – and the fellow I hoped would captain after Smit went, BUT, at this stage, a risky buy for about 2/3′s of your new player ‘budget’ for the next 3 years IMHO.

• 139.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Horings-135:

No offense, but Liebenberg and Adendorf look like midgets to me. Good at junior level, but will probably fade at senior level. I hope I’m wrong.

Arno Botha is a star in the making. So too is CJ Stander. We needed both of them. Now that CJ is gone, we need to shop around for someone like Marcell Coetzee.

And that Grant Hattingh is a pansy. Send him back where he came from.

• 140.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-120: No, little blue balls instead.

• 141.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-134: I agree about Stander. There was a long discussion on this site about him – some said he was chasing the big bucks too soon. It has sinced surfaced that HM regards him as a future hooker – to which Stander obviously objected. (Once again I suppose being too “small”). Stander still has a big future IMO. I have to admit the little I have seen of Arno Botha, he seems to be a great prospect. Like you have said the young players need mentors: Kolisi for instance said that Schalk and Duane helped him a lot. Maybe Juan Smith can be the man for the mentoring of the young guns

• 142.RL: Reply to this comment

@fever-64: why are you asking Keo? :lol:

• 143.katman: Reply to this comment

@Jeez-115: That’s a lot of kak, to put it mildly.

You seem to want to make an angry point about racist selections, but never really get there. By your own admission, the “players of colour” that should have been selected are either injured (Chilli, JPP, Kolisi) or considered too small (Aplon).

I find it’s best to spend a little time figuring out whether I really have a point before wading in and trying to make up a point as I go along. Use it / don’t use it.

• 144.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-141:

Never heard the hooker idea about CJ Stander before. But I was concerned about his lack of height, I must admit. 1.88m or something is a bit short for any but your fetcher flank.

Anyway, we need a new Pedrie Wannenburg at the Bulls. Was much maligned by the fans of other provinces, but he didn’t play around 100 games for us during our most successful era for nothing.

Big, hard player, and surprisingly mobile. And better skills than Jacques Potgieter, that’s for sure.

• 145.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-137:
    hehe i’m kidding tac,

fair enough agreed on morne, but i think these are two different situations.
    i too would have given goosen more game time in the nz test as well the oz game once it was clear morne’s boot had gone to ****.

but to go from replacing a failing kicker (who you know has the ability when he’s on form ) with a another kick who’s on the bench to a situation where you have two youngsters neither of whom has shown anything yet..?.. i think is a little rash

its either gonna work for us or its not, especially as i do not think the pack will have it their way or be able to win it without the kicker.

• 146.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-138: I suppose whoever signs Juan, will first insist on a thorough medical check-up. An Achilles is a bad injury. Hopefully this extended break from rugby assisted in healing it properly. I suppose it will only show once he starts playing again.

• 147.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

**** = t u r d

• 148.rangerman: Reply to this comment

wtf? :lol:

this article was hilarious.

• 149.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-129:

The storm’s been over since 12.30, 26 September 2012.

• 150.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-145:

We’ve got Lambie and Frans Steyn in the team as well. And Ruan Pienaar. More than enough flyhalf cover.

I honestly don’t think Morne offers anything special at the moment that the others don’t. Please note, this is assessing Morne currently, not when he was in top form during 2009.

• 151.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

“And better skills than Jacques Potgieter, that’s for sure.”

Not setting the bar very high there, are you?

• 152.Charging Rhino: Reply to this comment

Okay Keo….
    But the pre 1992 stats against the All Blacks reads
    37 games played
    SA wins 20
    NZ wins only 15
    2 draws.

That’s good enough for me to know that the Boks were better than the All Blacks head to head for 71 years of rugby since the very 1st Test match between these two countries in 1921.
    Perhaps NZ had better winning percentage against all the other nations in that time period but not against SA.

Nuff said

• 153.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-144:

Pedrie could play a bit.

Was bagged by other provinces mostly because of his weight & drug habit.

• 154.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-139:
    @CharlesM-141:

arno botha is pure class.
    came on as sub in the cheetahs game to show potgieter how tries are scored.

no frills no fuss
    just straight hard running
    there is the line, go over it

• 155.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@katman-143: its an emotional rationalisation but i agree, its pretty tenuous.

we know JPP and chili would be there.

we know kolisi will get his chance.

as for JdJ and aplon, toughies imo.

aplon is not gonna replace JPP, Mvovo, kirchner or habs anytime soon so where exactly does he fit?
    (never mind the fact that he is being touted to replace another POC).

now rhule from the cheetahs is a player who will make it imo, and he bleck! imagine that.

• 156.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

or was it stander?

• 157.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah-151:

I’m comparing him to the current “big, hard man” in Pedrie’s role at the Bulls. Potgieter doesn’t cut it, in my view.

@wpstormerbok-153:

Yes. That was in the latter part of his career.

• 158.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

oh well, it was one those two
    and it was a good try

• 159.Jeez: Reply to this comment

@katman-143:
    Relax Katman, its just a view point that it doesnt seem to be a high priority to get players of colour to represent the boks, nothing more. If you dont agree I dont mind. I always forget to add the ‘IMO’ at the end…

• 160.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-154:

It’s also about timing, reading of play and running lines. Potgieter has little clue of any of that.

• 161.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-126:

I’m sorry but i have to disagee with you.
    Greyling played his first full season of superrugby.
    Kruger, I read has played 76 superrugby games on the bounce.

If we miss something in the frontrow it is gary bothas scrummaging power, chilli is light in this regard.

I rate our locks but they both need to start turning in some dominant performances more regularly. Our backups are kak. How we miss Danie.

Our backrowers, stegman and potties are only 25/26. They are not to old but need to shake off their recent spates of injury. We have some good backrowers coming through.

Scrumhalf is a position that is still up in the air for me and will be interesting to see what happens at 10.
    Our outside backs will be awesome though with a very young group with plenty of size and pace as well as steppers in jj, blommetjies and mastriet.

I would be very concerned but many of the games we have lost this year we have dominated field and possession and as we see, morne being below his best cost the bulls as well.
    Some slight tactical rethinks proper rehabilitation and pre-season could be all that is needed.

• 162.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-156: I think Botha started at 8 with J Potgieter 7 and Dewald 6. Stander came on as sub

• 163.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok-149:
    eye of the storm, boet… eye of the storm….

• 164.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Jeez-159:

Probably because the priority is to get the Boks to win.

Any other considerations, such as a pretty style of play, more fashionable looking jerseys, the colour of the team bus, or the ratio of non-white players in the team will get attention later.

• 165.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-157: Pedrie was a big hard man amongst bigger, harder men.
    Danie Rossouw. Jacques Cronje. Bakkies.

Those were the days…

• 166.Jeez: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-155:
    Hougaard and Steyns selection ahead of Mvovo and Jantjies probably the best example of wasted opportunity for players of colour to represent the boks…
    IMO IMO

• 167.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

While everyone goes happy bejaysus about Meyer’s new selections I sink further into despair about Coach Meyer and his vision for the Boks…

It is quite clear that Meyer is a supremacist…

His Boks are a vision of brutal superiority in the name of Afrikanerdom… The new Voortrekker Monument incarnated on a rugby field in bottle green and gold…

His Boks are a neo eugenic exercise in exclusion… exclusion based on size, “family attitude” and language… However these exclusionary principles are never static – they morph when his hypocrisy is exposed or when a player is needed for a time to dissipate public pressure.

He values creativity, but only creativity in obedience… Unity is and will be his watch word, “family” is and always been his mantra. But this unity is NOT in DIVERSITY, this unity is in sinister SUPERIORITY.

Meyer actually might succeed with this… He has been successful in the past… But byGod almighty I no longer want him to succeed… Not this way. Not with a definite anti soutie slant… Not with an anti creativity slant… not with a sinister new agey classification of player psyche or body type..

No, for the first time I really do not want to support the Boks… They are exclusionary… For the first time, I am considering ditching my Bok jersey and donning another Green and Gold jersey for my trip to Loftus…

Fuckthis.

• 168.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-161: Greyling needs to get his head inside the scrum and not on the outside of the opposing tighthead: whenever he is struggling, look where his head is.

• 169.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-164: ” more fashionable looking jerseys”

So its not just me then!

• 170.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-161:

Put aside loyalty for the moment. That’s what’s taking us under at a rate of knotts.

Werner Kruger can’t scrum. He has never been able to scrum. Greyling is a strong ball carrier, but an average scrummager and his handling is seriously suspect, decreasing his primary strength- his ball carrying abilty – dramatically.

Potgieter and Stegman may not be old, but they have a ceiling, and they’ve reached it. They are hard grafters, but they are never going to be Richie Mccaw’s, Ruben Krugers, Andre Venters or Juan Smiths.

Time to cut our losses and admit the facts.

It’s that or ploeter aan for another few mediocre seasons.

• 171.Brads: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-97:
    Interesting.
    I assume you say Morne lost all those games because of his poor kicking, particularly the ones aimed at the post.
    If that is the case I have no sympathy. A one trick pony can’t be expected to win the game for you day in day out.

Has any of his coaches actually tried to expand his skills?

• 172.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-160:
    agreed.
    potgieter needs more coaching
    lots more.

@CharlesM-162:
    yes, sorry.
    stander came on for botha and scored in about the 75min about one or two movements/phases after potgieter had attempted the same thing and gone to ground in contact short of the line.

• 173.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-167:

You could have saved all of us having to read through that long piece of drivel, by just coming out and saying you’re p*ssed that he hasn’t picked Lambie.

• 174.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-148:

my only concern is on whether we have any jews in saturdays team..?. :lol:

• 175.RL: Reply to this comment

@Horings-95: I hav been saying for years that Ludeke is kak – now here is a Bully admiting that the Bulls are shitee without Meyer and his support team that he built. :grin:

• 176.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-167:

Furthermore, seems like your precious Plum has an “anti-Soutie agenda” then as well, because other than Lambie, I count precious few “souties” in the team from the so-called last British Outpost.

Face it, lots of the souties have left, and of those that remain, precious few are playiing rugby these days.

• 177.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-167:
    come now hg, supremacist is a rather strong turn of phrase i think….

pedigree was right about you

(rolling eyes smiley)

• 178.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-167: Shame, het Keegan en Pat by jou kom kla?

• 179.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@RL-175:

Ludeke is not involved in the Currie Cup.

My concern is the Bulls full team, because the Boks we have at the moment are average Boks for the most part, and even when they’re back, we aren’t world beaters.

We need to sort out our recruiting fast, instead of recruiting just talented youngsters who will be of no use at senior level for 3 years.

• 180.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-173:

classic tac
    back with a bang

• 181.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-168:

i agree but there is no reason why these players will not improve.

• 182.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-167:

didn’t read to the end…but it is about lambie,isn’t it?

• 183.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-167: Just pinched myself!!!…I never thought this day would come, were such an explanation of the obvious is made so obvious, WELL DONE HG, give this man a Bells, no, park the Bells, this calls for Lagas…

• 184.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-173: Yes I am p*ssed he hasn’t picked Lambie… and discarded Daniel…

Not only that, I am p*ssed at the manner he has done it…

A fundamental dishonesty, which I see as light as day…

But the non selection or discarding of the above players due to nothing more than their differing soutie culture and outlook is not the only reason

I am as disgusted with myself, as an anorexic in a mirror, with how I really was a supporter when he was finally made coach… I lied to myself.

Fuckthat…

• 185.Horings: Reply to this comment

Interesting that Warren Brosnihan admires Meyer as he is both a soutie and not the biggest loosie ever.

• 186.Brads: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-167:
    I nice addendum to the anonymous quotes in Keo’s article.

• 187.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Horings-178:
    hy’s die einste hensopper :lol:

• 188.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Brads-171:

personally, kicking wise….Morne was in even better form in 2010. holds the record for test kicks at goal. 40 something without a miss.

and to think how many he has missed lately.

• 189.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-184:

look, we can’t just make all the sharks boks,right?

especially shortarses like daniels. And,yes….I am english speaking.

• 190.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-188: whats this about a wp/sharks cabal?

• 191.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-189: keegan should have been given a bit more of a shot imo.

but i am actually pretty happy with the team at the moment.

• 192.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-184:
    get over yourself,
    lambie is not rated as the top fh and daniel is not rated as the best no.8.
    where did you get this idea?

besides, they’ve both had chances to prove otherwise.

• 193.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-161:
    That’s what I’ve observed since the end of 2010 season
    With Gary Botha the Bulls pack was dominant and destructive, even if they carried a fairly light weight in Derrick Kuun,

• 194.shooter: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-122: you mean vulcan and equilibrium? nothing to tell….

• 195.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-184: Not to mention JJ Engelbrecht ahead of both JDJ and Aplon, yet JJ Engelbrecht left WP because of these 2 players who were better than him either at center or at fullback.

JDJ made his international debut against the biggest center in world rugby Jamie Roberts and scored a brilliant inside center try on debut, now he finds himself behind Taute?, WTF??, there can never be logical justification for that other than the Afrikaner superiority mentality, Taute and Engelbrecht offer NOTHING better than JDJ and Aplon in their respective positions.

• 196.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

I’ve been pretty impressed by Vermullet.

Now Duane, don’t go and make me eat my words by having a shocker on Saturday, please.

• 197.Brads: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-188:
    I don’t know about the 40 in a row, that seems obscene. However, I don’t know, so you may be correct.

However, what has occurred is an awareness by opposition teams (at least by those capable of such a discipline) penalties should be avoided inside the mans comfortable kicking range.

At test level for sure, the important kicks have been outside his comfort zone, and with each missed kick, that comfort zone has shrunk.

• 198.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-190:

cabal = a group of people united in some close design together, usually to promote their private views or interests.

wp/sharks = the collection of shark and wp supporters who find solice together on this blogg.

what part is tripping you up?

• 199.Provvas: Reply to this comment

Keo Article is spot on… we seem to always remember the wins and not the losses..

To everyone saying Morne should have been given another chance.. WTF!!!? Becasue it is Loftus? So whenever we play at Newlands should we not give Aplon a chnace then? And in Kings Park give |Daniels another chance? How Many Fakkin chances do you want to give him? I know bulls supporter are contend with only winning at home but geese!! You need to perform no matter where you play mate!!

Morne should not get anymore more chances than any other player in the boks squad. Let him play CC and kick consistently 90% and then get him back.. not before then!! If ever again

• 200.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Brads-197:
    its true
    a can vouch for that.

• 201.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

I’d have had Aplon at fullback (prior to him being injured). Out of the current squad, Lambie at fullback. Duane was always Meyer’s first choice and rightly so, so bye bye Daniels.

Glad Flo is in. Wish Gurtho was part of the squad though.

• 202.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Brads-197:

His comfort zone is up to about the halfway line. All the kicks he missed against the All Blacks were well within this range.

Sorry, it’s got nothing to do with an “awareness by the opposition teams” and all to do with him kicking like sh*t for the last 12 months or so.

• 203.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-196: Glad to see you back?

Feelings on Saturday? I think we are gonna smoke this Aussie side!
    Vermeulen is only gonna get better me thinks… Anf FLO? Like his game?

• 204.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

Tac’s been meditating for the last few weeks.

Going by his posts today it has worked.

• 205.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-198: the part where wp and the sharks are put together in a cabal?

• 206.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-170:

we’ll see.

look, kruger and greyling may not be international standard but kruger has proved that he is good enough to get the job done to win superrugby.

And mccaw and reid still get blown off the ruck stats when they play at loftus.

there is also always a natural progression of events. Young players start replacing the older ones in the starting 15 this does not mean that you need to get rid of all the more experienced ones.

You mentioned Pedrie van but fail to mention that he was a bulls backrow starter in the early part of his career, then he became a very useful bench sub when he was replaced in the starting group by dewie potgieter.

I can see the same happening albeit with a different group of players.

• 207.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-198:

Rubbish

• 208.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Provvas-203:

Agree. Fact is, Meyer’s plan against the All Blacks worked. We dominated them.

But for Morne kicking like 1 out of 5, we would have beaten them in NZ in Meyer’s first year in charge.

The loose trio also looks better now with Vermullet and Flo there (although I’ve never rated Louw, but he seemed to do ok in NZ).

Our pack of forwards is almost where it needs to be. Now with Goosen, let’s see how the backs can improve.

I’m very hopeful for the future of this team. Just a pity that we threw away the chance to beat NZ in NZ, by hanging on to Morne for a few games too long.

But what’s done is done, and at least we are moving in the right direction.

• 209.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-190:

possibly it should read…

the wp/heavensgame kabal

• 210.Brads: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-202:
    50 metres is within his comfort zone?

Where at Loftus?

• 211.katman: Reply to this comment

@Jeez-166: It’s not about “seeing how many players of colour we can include in the Boks”. Apart from a brief period when Khompela and Stofile were given a soap box, it never was either. It’s only about selecting the best Bok team. Full. Stop.

All the non-selections you mention are as subjective and possibly irrelevant as, say, the non-selection of Brussow or Willie Le roux or Josh Strauss (who are white – I mean that’s the point I’m trying to make).

• 212.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Brads-210:

lol….wait to you see this goosen kid, his comfort zone is 60 meters even further than fransie with twice the accuracy.

it is scary

• 213.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-176: Thank you for exposing your deceit, in the same way Meyer is exposing his on a national stage… Yours and his deceit… Yours and Meyer’s “Folklore”…

Plum is no anti soutie… Neither is he anti any other grouping because they do not fit a “glorious” vision of superiority… A glorious vision of superior body type, superior attitude, superior obedience…

Players of all sizes, colours and language types are picked by him – from a pious Christian Black Beast to a farken trendoid skirt chasing/possibly bi Ross Skeate… From a massive Alberts to a smaller skilful Daniel… They all have room in his team…

He has room for Chadwick, Daniel, Lambie, Burden… Room for old veterans like Peter Dixon, but also room for youngsters coming through like Monde Hadebe…

I call you on your comfortably arrogant bullshitting superiority obviously rooted in exclusionary legends of the past… Same as I call the SA National Rugby Coach…

I see you… and I through you, and Meyer too.

• 214.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-201:
    abso(bloody)lutely agreed on gurtho.

@rangerman-205:
    come now ranger, dont be coy
    you guys have become serious gatgabbas over the last month or so.
    singing the same tunes
    claiming you’ve all ‘seen this movie before’ wrt the boks and meyer.

@Dawn-207:
    really dawn…?..

some serious sharing of wavelengths going on at the moment between durbs and ct.

• 215.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

Oh dear, where have all the good men gone and where are all the gods?

“Well done Boks… And HM…

Knowledgeable, Proud and Honest fans can see glory portals of where he wants the Boks to be… And it looks frighteningly, ominously good….

BOKBEFOK…

512.Sharks fans are genuine Bok supporters. said:
    17 Jun 2012, 10:36 am
    Hehe!

508.Treehugger said:
    17 Jun 2012, 09:32 am
    Fantastic game, loved it !!!!!!!

Love this team, love the new coach.

• 216.katman: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-213: Which is probably why the Lions kicked his arse on Saturday.

• 217.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-207:
    save for the sharkies you hate :grin:

• 218.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-190: I too nearly coughed up my muesli when I read that.

• 219.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-215:
    pull some of HG’s early love letters to meyer
    i love those :grin:

• 220.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-213:

sorry dude…but we see this “deceit” in all sports.

how many 5ft linebackers do we come across.
    or 5ft central defenders

hell dude, the reality is in most sports that require a level of physical stamina……the bigger you are the more likely you are to go further.

having “skill” is only half of the equation in modern sport.

keegan daniels and pat lambie are no lionel messi.
    sorry.

• 221.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-195: JDJ, Aplon, Lambie, Daniel… What do they share in common?

Not language… Not colour… But they do share

- Lack of size : a bad fit to visions of physical superiority
    - abundance of creativity : danger to visions of obedience
    - Possibly free spirits on and off a rugby field… (contrary to visions of unity)

Too free in spirit by the looks of things…

No fuckit… Better go buy me a Goldcoast Gold and Green jersey and go practice “Tie me Kangaroo Down, Sport”, the more I think about it…..

• 222.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

First half of the article was reasonably good, I thought it was going to end with a key conclusion but in an attempt to make a point without actually making the point it just fizzled out into repetition and nothingness.

• 223.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-209: fair enough.

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-214: i am nobody gatgabba buddy.

wake up.

• 224.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

and in all honesty, which bok supporter cannot say that it was embarrasingly scaring watching a bok forward get caught in a maul as if it was some southeast asia tsunami screaming for a life jacket.

• 225.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

We are too obsessed by size. See ol’ Matt Giteau, Breyton Paulse etc etc etc

• 226.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

where are Transie and Willie this morning.
    sleeping in late?

watching deal or no deal reruns?

• 227.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-214: Its been all a Sharks Bulls love afair on here since the first bok team was announced.. and Wp supporters were told to shut up or fear being called Bok haters etc etc because so little Stormers were selected even though we knew the likes of Bekker and Vermeulen were on the injury list… since the sharks and bulls started to be whittled doen, now all the sudden you wanna call foul and class us with the sharks? No siree!!

I believe from day one Meyer is the right guy.. .and we will get better with the likes of Bissy back and JPP back and Goosen and Kolisi etc…

Hippocrates in the making you bulls lot

• 228.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit-222: Have to agree.. .was waiting for the crushing stats of the last five years or so.. or how many times we lost to NZ in previous years home and away etc etc…
    But no real journalism at the end..

• 229.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-220: How many 6 ft or below opensides do we come across… Quite a few.

How many opensides/no 8′s as skilfull as Daniel – not many…

No imagination this farken ideal phenotype obsession…

Talking about NFL – Troy Polamalu fits no mould of a superman – until he actually farken plays the game… He is then farken Superman…

His physical stats: 1.78m, 94kg… He is 5ft 10

• 230.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-225:

we are not “obssessed” with sized, everyone is.

but it is not exactly if we have lionel messi or giteau playing for us. Oh, and oz won squat with gits in nearly 8 seasons.
    so maybe……

• 231.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-94: fairweather fan

• 232.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-223:

@Provvas-227:
    there’s always one or two exceptions sure, but the general theme has been one of unity in opposition to meyer’s coaching by most sharks and wp people in the face of difficult results.

i commend you for your stand.

• 233.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

I am afraid your piece will have little affect on South African readers Keo.

You forget, the fans owns rugby in this country.

• 234.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-229:

so you say.

(yawn)

• 235.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-229:

The brutally honest truth:

Keegan Daniel punches way above his weight, he has a lion heart, terrier-like tenacity and give shis all on the field.

But he is too small to be a top class international loose forward. Dewald Potgieter has the same problem, which is why he hasn’t featured in Heyneke’s Bok team – even in the greater squad – despite not being a “soutie” and playing for Heyneke’s Bulls.

There’s no room for these players in the new, improved, more powerful, more physical Bok pack of the next 4 years. And rightly so.

• 236.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Provvas-227:

and even better when pierre spies is back…

yes, you know it.

• 237.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-198: I find no solace, especially with the masses of emotional obvious WP hypocrites on this blog…

I post as I see it… And what I see I don’t like…

• 238.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

Allfuckingrightythen :) Bulls and Sharks at war….

• 239.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-221: Afrikaner Calvinism is the word that all those blokes do not conform to.

• 240.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-230: We are. We’ve been obssessed with big, strong, dumber than an ox players for a long long time.

Australia made a WC final with ol’ Gits. Better than our lumbering oxes in ’03. Small skillful players have their place.

• 241.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

OH dear. HG is having a Poppa-like meltdown.

• 242.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

serious rugby talk question!

now that we have seen all our locks in action.
    I think it is fair to say that kruger and bekker are okay…at best.
    Is it beyond the realm of possibility to get either flip or eben calling the lineouts and having them both on the park starting?

i would have thought this would be the obvious route.

• 243.Delki: Reply to this comment

Oh well, Keo is an entertaining writer, good read.

Boks have awful coach, awful selections but still ALMOST beat the best team in the world on their home patch. Shows you what could be but probably never will be. I agree with Keo various factors will ensure the Bok win ratio remains at about 60%. ABs will remain at about 85%. World Cups could be anyone, a lot of luck comes into it.

• 244.rangerman: Reply to this comment

there is just too much anger around here.

bad karma.

all started by the little poison dwarf.

• 245.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit-231: Unapologetic, fairweather.

• 246.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-240:

yes they did, but finally they lost, at home nogal.

but eddy was lucky enough to get involved with the lumbering oxes 4 years later and win big.

• 247.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Delki-243:

This Bok coach got our pack of forwards to dominate the All Blacks at home.

He is an excellent coach. His loyalty to certain out of form players has come around and bitten him in the arse, but he has to carry the can for that.

That has now been rectified, hopefully.

• 248.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-232: HM did not win anything in his first few season at the bulls.. I know the Boks is no time for building.. at least he is not preaching the 4 year plan like P Divvy

@PissAnt-233: We wish… we fans have no say in how our rugby is run.. if only!! The admin mess would be sorted.. I really wish for the day the fans actually stop going to stadiums to have an effect on the administrators.. that will be a day to remember in our country!!

@Brigadier Van Zyl-236: Spies is forgotten my friend!!

@Heavens Game-237: After this weekend the Bulls Sharks alliance will be strong again..

• 249.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-221: cmon bud, ease up.

the boks look pretty solid to me and getting better.

players like chili and JPP will be back to add a bit of diversity to the mix and as for JdJ and aplon i simply dont see any space for them.

lambie will play this weekend, i am sure of it.

• 250.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-235: It is farken obvious that there is “no room for these players in the new, improved, more powerful, more physical Bok pack of the next 4 years”. That is until Meyer changes his mind yet again due to what he perceives as pressure… or some sort of New agey evidence base he makes up as he goes along…

From no fetcher – to fetcher…

From Steyn is my man – to out of the 22…

Nothing wrong with changing his mind… Its the farken overall picture I see which I dont like… And I actually dont support…

The philosophical underpinnings…

They are fascist without a goddamn doubt…

• 251.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

The team has gradually moved to being very close to what most people were asking for all along.

Only Kirchner really remains as a bone of contention, and to be honest, I wouldn’t mind seeing him go either.

Other than for the Dancing Midget Duo supporters, everyone should be happy with how the team looks now. Finally.

• 252.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-237:
    well i will agree with you, but only because i dont like what i see for very different reasons.

• 253.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-244: “dwarf” as in a short person or as uTikoloshe??

• 254.katman: Reply to this comment

Gimme the good big oke ahead of the good little oke any day of the week.

Alberts over Daniel
    Taute over Apoln
    Bismarck over Burdon

It’s easy to talk big here, but if you were the coach, chances are you’d feel this way too.

• 255.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-239: Afrikaner Calvinism is a choice that people have a right to choose… I respect that choice.

• 256.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-221: “JdJ – abundance of creativity”. Does he reinvent his step every game? Just because he is small does not mean he is creative.

• 257.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

fascists.?. supremacists..?.. :shock:

some strong words being bandied about this morning.

@Tacitus-251:
    i’m still partial to a short term consultant for attack/backline play.

@Provvas-248:
    agreed.

i suppose my failing was to believe he could do it in his first season.
    i really thought an 80% win ratio was possible.

oh well

• 258.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-246: Did the lose against the giants that were Jonny Wilkinson, Neil Back, Jaso Robertson et al, I remember those English monsters…… what a fecken joke. Serge Btsen is a legend of the game, he was no monster loose-forward.

• 259.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-257:

Barring his loyalty to Steyn we could have been very close to that target now.

• 260.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@katman-254:
    what does the rule say for two medium sized players over one another?

• 261.katman: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-260: Sies man, that’s disgusting.

The rule says keep that sht off the blog.

• 262.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-251: So is the team being closer to what most wanted an admission by Meyer that he was smoking his socks initially and that we were right all along?

• 263.Horings: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-258: Players are bigger and better. Even NZ only pick big ball carrying inside centres these days and Meyer did pick Goosen who is not big. Hougaard is not big either and neither is Kirchner, maar ‘n goeie grote wen altyd ‘n goeie kleintjie.

• 264.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-249: Maybe I am too harsh… Maybe I am misguided…Maybe I am completely farken wrong…

But farkit, something quite sinister is going on, and I’ll be farked if I like it.

Because I don’t…

Its incremental… disguised in b.ullshit and competency… and Meyer is nothing if not competent… And fark me as a coach he is a damn sight improvement on the last little madman farkup that was Bok coach…

But here iets is nie heeltemal reg nie…

• 265.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-259:
    true treu
    its crazy to think he cost us three games with missed kicks.

• 266.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@katman-261:

no, not wp players :lol:

• 267.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-258:

what rubbish….back survived in a pack that carried him because he excelled in a specific role. And there were non better in an english jersey. Interestingly enough, I do not remember him having any Lions tests caps under his belt or does he? Does that mean there was a “bigger” and by default better 6 availible?

Robinson was a freak in much the same way as messi is.
    And Wilkenson likewise who dominated games with his boot but wouldn’t exactly call him the creative sort like carter or larkham.

• 268.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

This thread is too farking funny.

• 269.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-268:

good morning.
    before proceeding can you please inform us if you are part of the wp/heavensgame kabal or neutral or bulls/therealsharkfan kabal.

what is it
    no more frikken hennsoper here.
    1 is enough.

• 270.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@katman-254:

I’m really excited at the prospect of Taute in the Bok squad.

I believe he can make the step up.

• 271.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-251:

Hey Tac! Good to see you back.

I told you friends will become very few on here if you look to defend the coach.

Let me know if you want some tips, been doing it for 8 years now.

• 272.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-269:

Ek is ‘n Springbok-ondersteuner, Brig, finish en klaar.

• 273.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-237:

Feckoff then

• 274.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@Horings-256: He is the undisputed evidence of this creativity at inside center, find us clips from any inside center in South Africa better than the below links.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=btDuZ94TDqY

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3jJq5usPIOQ&feature=relmfu

• 275.Dawn: Reply to this comment

“And what I see I dont like”

Howveryfuckingprecious

• 276.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-267: He mentions 3 smaller players, but do not mention how big the other 12 were. Woodward also believed in size i.e. Greenwood, Tindall, Cowen in their backline.

• 277.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Provvas-248: No, a respect for the Bulls out of aspiration for success… You want to be the best, you got to beat the best… The Bulls were and have been historically, recent and distant, always been the best… Dominance interspersed in the distant past by a sporadic, stuttering rise and then fall of WP and in the recent past by the Sharks, The Johnny come latelies, the not quite there yets…

But fark me if next year is not the Black and White year… and fark me if a good few players have a point to prove in order to shove preconceptions of superiority straight down the ex SWD and Leicester Tigers coach…

• 278.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-273:

Hallo Dawn, het jy gedroom oor jou Bike Man?

• 279.katman: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-270: Taute and Steyn together in the midfield. That would be sweet. Add JPP and Habana on the wings, train Hougaard to clear the ruck effectively and team him up with Goosen, and add Andries Coetzee at 15. Then this backline will shred anyone.

• 280.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@katman-254: Lets take Paulse VS Lomu.. Lomu Never Scored against the boks and Paulse scored against NZ plenty.. is smaller now better than Bigger?
    Wilson not a giant himself was brilliant vs Dean Hall…. whi was the better player? Now you see this can be argued in so many ways.. .Brent Russel VS a Big Pieter rossouw? I think people like to stereo type players too much on their size rather than their goal in a team….. JPP is brilliant not due to his size, but because of the Type of rugby he plays… not trying to run over everything in his way.. nothing to do with his size..

• 281.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@katman-279:

I’ve actually started salivating at the prospect of that backline you proposed.

• 282.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-269: Heavensgame is not part of any WP cabal. He is a flip flopping dwarf, and can be likened to the fat kid with glasses during a ‘select your team’ exercise in primary school.

No. He hasfuckalltodowithanyWPgathering.

He is sitting with a daisy, pulling off delicate little petals as he chants: “I love Heyneke”,”I love him not”, “I love Heyneke, I love him not”.

HG is just too inconsistent.

• 283.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-253: definately malicious therefore mark is a tokoloshe.

• 284.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@Provvas-280:

I think the argument he is trying to make is if you have two players of more or less equal ability, you’ll always end up selecting the larger one.

That’s the way it’s always been in rugby.

• 285.Horings: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-274: Oh ja, his step in 2010 and since then? Everyone worked him out. I can show you clips of Morne Steyn winning us games pretty much from the same time period, but has he done it since? Only team de Jong’s step works against are Rebels and in the Currie Cup on some occasions.

• 286.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-277:

it must really hurt to think that back in 2007 in the last 5 minutes of the game, it was heyneke’s 3 smallests players on the park that stole it.

Wako Jaco
    derrick kuun
    habs

lol…preconceptions indeed.

• 287.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Provvas-280: Yes… You speak truth here… 100% pure unadulterated truth…

For that you cannot remotely the typical WePee, familiarity breeds contempt, getalong gang, groupie so common on this site…

• 288.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-271:
    PA, I’ve been trying to defend HM for a while but its hard.

I tried to explain to someone the other day that Meyer is in the “wax on, wax off” stage of his coaching tenure.

Once the players start to buy into his ideals and strategies and are willing to do the hard graft i.e. get the basics 100% right, then we can start to broaden our horizons and do the fancy stuff.

But we have to win over the next two week-ends to get the buy in from the public and the media, otherwise we in for a turbulent time.

• 289.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-282:

well, to be fair….you WP okes do have Skoppie.

the biggest flipflopper ever in the history of flipflopping.
    the quan of the flipflop

and also chairman of the “i told you so” consortium.

• 290.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-274: bud i have to agree with horings on this, his step is one way only.

• 291.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-282:

To be honest, it has been a very traumatic year for him.

As you well know, people have different approaches to accepting change.

We would do well to refer him to a change consultant.

• 292.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-287:

Stop your WP whinging already

Whine whine whine whine

fokkit

• 293.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@katman-279: Too many katte in that wetdream.. Coetzee have plenty SR to play before you make him a bok.. but wait… he wont be able too… sorry my bad!!

• 294.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-267: You’ve tried but unsuccessfully to move your argument about big players, now lets focus on the fact that all these midgets were world class regardless of their size, in fact I’m battling to come up with guys who just were big daft okes and were world class in modern times.

Professional sport has evolved to an extent were size is normal, not an advantage, all players at international level big and those that are not big have other values they bring in, which in this particular regard Heyneke Meyer and you lots are missing.

• 295.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-286: Don’t forget the pace Heini Adams brought into the game. Oh the memories. WP supporters, and to a lesser extent Sharks supporters really do not like channel 231 on supersport. Do they? I mean they always show finals on that channel.

• 296.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-289:

And he’s busy examining his latest stool as we speak, trying to divine the future.

• 297.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-290:

ja, he stepped his way out of the bok squad into the cc.

no defenders there…

• 298.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@Horings-295:

It’s fantastic when they show reruns from the 80s, though.

• 299.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Regarding Woodward and size, he had some monsters in his teams but also a number of smaller, skilful players. I don’t think he was interested in anything other than who could get the job done.

• 300.katman: Reply to this comment

@Provvas-280: That argument has more holes that the average Poppa onnerpant. You can’t just pick any two players that suit your point, regardless of their quality. I said a good big trumps a good small, always. Next you’re going to “kill” my point by pointing out that Matt Giteau was better than Dries Scholtz.

Also, are you really suggesting that Paulse is better than Lomu based on the arbitrary stat of who scored against whom? Because that has the potential to make you look very silly.

• 301.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Horings-295:

lol, 231 is going bull superrugby final balistic at the minute.
    even better when you listen to the kiwi commentary from 2009. Those poor okes had to get subbed from the commentary box by half time they were so fcked up and out of ideas.

• 302.katman: Reply to this comment

Fck it, who needs his post to be number 300? Here it is again.

@Provvas-280: That argument has more holes that the average Poppa onnerpant. You can’t just pick any two players that suit your point, regardless of their quality. I said a good big trumps a good small, always. Next you’re going to “kill” my point by pointing out that Matt Giteau was better than Dries Scholtz.

Also, are you really suggesting that Paulse is better than Lomu based on the arbitrary stat of who scored against whom? Because that has the potential to make you look very silly.

• 303.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-286: Wrong. It wasn’t stolen… It was given away…

Funny that none of those players are now involved with the Bulls… They left soon after… wonder if there was a clearing out of “different” thinkers…

Those that dont conform…

Those that aren’t “family”?

Because a couple years later the Bulls were a lot better and more value for their 2009 and 2010 wins… And without those players you mention playing a huge part or any part at all.

Ag, maybe I’m just seeing Blue tinged shadows everywhere…

But then again maybe those shadows are really being cast…

• 304.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-294: size is always an advantage in a game based on collisions bud.

what you are trying to say is that small players can be incredibly skilfull and make up for their lack of size.

this is indisputable.

but the counter is that large players can also be incredibly skilful AND big.

taute is clearly viewed this way.

i also dont get the constant hand wringing over aplon?????? the oke is the wrong side of 28 and who would you have him replace? kirchner, habs or mvovo/JPP?
    therefore my suspicion is that the whole black player argument is simply a provincial argument dressed up as a race discussion.

busted!

• 305.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@Horings-285:

This guy was probably the best backline player I have ever seen:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hf9Elzj7ZPU

• 306.Horings: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-298: The only reruns from the 80s I have seen is either the 1987 World Cup or the 1981 Bok tour to NZ. I would love to see more clips of Currie Cup rugby from the 80s. I watched “In conversation with Naas Botha” the other day and have also seen a couple of great tries from the WP team in that era.

• 307.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-305:

Here’s another length-of-the-field try by Cullen:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wyydzjjg_-U&feature=related

• 308.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@katman-300: just so happens all the small players being touted are from the cape.

the fact that they are bleck just adds sauce.

• 309.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@Horings-276: FFS!!! apply your brains, I didn’t say rugby is a game of midgets, I’m saying rugby is a game of all sizes, Richard Hill, Joe Worsely, Lewis Moody were all bigger players than Back, Back was first choice, as small as he was, even the English back line had 3 “big” players the rest were smaller than what you guys want or expect, now argue with that fact.

• 310.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-294:

didn’t bother reading, I would rather not argue with you.

you are a nutjob in my opinion who is all to serious, massive chip and limited humour.

lets just agree to disagree then, no wait, in fact, lets just settle this.

You are right, we are all biggotted racist afrikaaners with no skill or anything of any use to anyone ever.

okay
    you happy now?

• 311.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-289: He too has no permanent position in our cabal.
    In fact he and HG – now there’s a delightfullywickedfuckingcombo, in the Mel and Kim, Sonny and Cher, Kylie and Jason Donovan mould :)

@WP-Forever-291: All he needs is for Lambie to get 35 minutes game time and all will be soooooperwooooper in his world again.

• 312.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-309: and imagine how much better back would have been with an extra 5 kilos?

• 313.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@Horings-306:

Here’s a short clip with highlights from the 1989 Currie Cup final between NTvl and WP at Newlands:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hlzwn80ObnA&feature=relmfu

• 314.katman: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-308: Ja, the Province bunch have a lot of growing up to do, in more ways than one.

• 315.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-303:

listen lunatic,
    habana moved to wp and has won fokol since leaving.
    kuun and waco retired.

you and your maddass theories

• 316.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-310: blerrie calvanists!

luckily you arent muslims because if xhosakid had chirped them he may arrive home to an angry mob torching his entire neighbourhood.

• 317.rangerman: Reply to this comment

dawns gonna have my liver for that one.

• 318.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-308: Not all the small players…unless Keegan and Lambietjie are really WP boys at heart.

• 319.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-184: ‘I am as disgusted with myself, as an anorexic in a mirror, with how I really was a supporter when he was finally made coach… I lied to myself. Fuckthat…’

• 320.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Stuff me Mark! Just write a normal article!! Stop trying to be clever and/or witty and just write about the game.

Poor poor writing.

• 321.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@Horings-306:

And here’s one showing the highlights of the 1988 Currie Cup final between Province and NTvl at Loftus:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CWhL9y9Z4qY&feature=relmfu

• 322.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@Horings-285: I didn’t bother with the Currie Cup clips, because he does those blindfolded, now now me a clip of another SA inside center cutting defenses to pieces.

• 323.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-313:

i was at that game, bulls were by far the better side, the kakky weather stopped us crushying you. And you okes even got a shot at winning the game with that last kick. That was also at the time when everyone got a shot at hosting the final. Final should have been at loftus.

if memory serves correctly we wiped the floor with you okes a few weeks earlier in the lion cup final.

• 324.cane: Reply to this comment

Mark Keohane,

What has gotten into you Bro.
    Over the last couple of months your articles have been first class.

Rehab seems to agree with you.

Kind Regards,
    cane.

(better than 1st class actually).

• 325.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-290: at least he has a step, now show me a SA inside center with a step, let alone what direction its going.

• 326.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-323:

Your memory serves you wrong, Province won that Lion Cup final in 1989.

• 327.katman: Reply to this comment

@cane-324: You mean Class A?

• 328.gunther: Reply to this comment

the Christian Cullen of keo and Xhosaskid have been drinking the same bee koolaid.

very emboerit.

• 329.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-325: Well if he answers you with the name, “Frans Steyn” I am going to spit out my coffee in laughter for the 3rd time today…..

• 330.katman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-328: The Christian Cullert? You talking about Boesak?

• 331.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit-299: Regarding Woodward, the emphasis was who can get the job done NOT who can get the job done with bulk and brute force, the latter seems to be HM’s emphasis.

• 332.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-316: What you talking bout?

My muslim friend is the bomb…

• 333.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-326:

you sure? I was at one of the lion cups around that time. We killed someone. maybe it was natal?

• 334.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-309: Richard Hill… Now there is the bravest sonofagun I ever saw on a rugby field other than Ruben, Buck and JP Rives…

Hellsteeth, I reckon him and Ruben could have been separated at birth (Twins – now thats enough to get the Blou Ballas faithful choking in their Klippies, and the Twickers stalwarts, their G&Ts)

But none of them were these visions of physical grandeur… These ideal phenotypes indicating genetic superiority…

But they were all greats… No doubt all in most loose forward top 10s ever.

• 335.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@gunther-328:

Who’s the Cullen of keo?

• 336.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

doubt dejong would make any starting 15 in international rugby.

and i include fiji,samoa and scotland in that.

• 337.gunther: Reply to this comment

@katman-330:

boom

@Taahirah-332:

boom

you two keep going like this and khakibollox is going to be unleashing his chemical arsenal upon you.

• 338.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@katman-330: :-)

• 339.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-304: Jaco Taute skillful?, that’s an oxymoron, clearly did watch Lions Super Rugby games or the recent CC, let alone the U/20 World Cup, he must have developed this skill in the past week, the number of dropped balls from Taute is astronomic for modern day standard.

• 340.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-333:

It was the next year, 1990. Your boys klapped Natal 62-6 in that Lion Cup final.

• 341.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-315: Exactly… nothing like a new broom sweeps clan and all that…

• 342.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@katman-330:
    Boesak and Eugene Terblanche are the greatest orators of our generation and that includes Martin Luther King and Obama.

When Boesak speaks he makes your whole body tingle.

• 343.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-340:

Wait, it could have been 1991. Will double-check.

• 344.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-198: Bakkies.Your s econd paragraph.Post 198.Hell will freeze over.

• 345.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-333:

Of course, that was just before most of your team moved to the Lions…

• 346.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-308: Johan Goosen is no monster, nor is he from the cape, nor is a he black, lets argue on merit.

• 347.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-339: meant to say, “clearly didn’t watch”

• 348.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-339: it was good chatting to you bud, we can continue another time as i must go.

have a good day all!

• 349.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-345:
    ja,,,the lions under luydt.

if we can’t beat the bulls, just buy them all.
    bit like chelsea of a couple of seasons ago.

• 350.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-342: you clearly never saw the great rattray (RIP) in action.

he made you sway like a zulu warrior or stand like durnford on the kopje holding all at bay til he was cut down by the foe.

bygones.

tjorts.

• 351.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-310: Defeated and shown up with facts and videos, now you resort to insults and sulking, what a way to go champ. I’m still awaiting a video clip of a bigger SA inside center cutting defenses to pieces with stepping or am I gonna wait forever cause it doesn’t exist?

• 352.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-349:

Indeed, I think it was 1992 or 1993 that Transvaal won the Super 10, the Currie Cup, the Lion Cup and the Night Series all in one year.

• 353.David: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-331:
    Neil Back wasn’t Woodwards first choice as he considered him too small for his game plan. It was only injuries that opened the door for him.

• 354.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-340:

who was the bloke for wp who missed the conversion in 89. I was kakking my pants at the thought of losing that game after dominating for long periods and not getting any points on the board.
    what was the final score…19-19?

• 355.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-312: now, imagine how much those extra 5 kilos would have taken away from waht he was good at.

• 356.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-354:

Riaan Gouws

• 357.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-336: Funny that… I seem to remember him making the starting XV for the Boks against Wales not too long back… Back when Stormers actually let him play as no 1 inside centre before an ideal phenotype of blonde physical superiority returned from a not too entirely successful sojourn in the Emerald Isle…

His little midget undercarriage seemed to do a farken good job on Jamie Roberts. Better than the fatty who took the field against BI Lions as one of the madman coach’s more “inspired” picks, certainly and at least as good as the current Bok Captain subsequent to that…

• 358.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-354:

Riaan Gouws. It was 16-16.

• 359.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-351:

i have asked you politely to ignore me as i have nothing whatsoever in common with you. Starting off with “small willey syndrome”.

i will say that you should go and youtube Ettienne Botha, a remind yourself that he too was never a bok and thrice the player dejong could ever hope to be. the color of his skin and culture had nothing to do with it.

regrefully i must now be blunt…fokof

• 360.cane: Reply to this comment

@David-353:

And what a soldier Back was.

115% everytime.

By the end of his career, it looked like someone had smashed his face with a brick.

• 361.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-316: Pardon me, I didn’t know Afrikaner Calvinism is insulting. I thought its something to be proud about, hence I don’t follow your Muslim jibe…

• 362.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-342: “When Boesak speaks he makes your whole body tingle”… Chrissakes man.

• 363.RL: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-356: there are some fossils on this site – giving away your age – I know about Naas and Mallet and the du Plessis and not much more. :razz:

• 364.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-246: Ahem, not all big players are lumbering oxes and not all small players should be discarded on the basis of height. Both extremes are plain stupid.

• 365.Horings: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-339:
    Have JdJ scored as good a try as the following. There was not only a step, but a couple of other special moments in this try.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rpHaQZV-n6s

I can also show you numerous Ettienne Botha clips, btw another player Meyer picked.

• 366.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-264: I said 2 weeks ago
    that my love affair with SA rugby was over.Although I approve of the
    changes,I will be true to my word On Saturday will buy a bottle of
    good whisky(An improvement on my usual boxed plonk) and enjoy
    watching the game with a dispassionate eye.No anger,no excitement.

• 367.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-336: Besides Habana, who would make a starting 15 in that Bok backline.

• 368.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@RL-363:

I wasn’t even in high school at that stage…

But it is something WP supporters will never forget.

• 369.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-368:

It would have given Province 6 Currie Cups in one decade…something that’s never been achieved.

• 370.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-362:
    You wouldn’t understand HG.

Only experienced it once during the early 80′s before he embezzled that money.

• 371.nkqo6: Reply to this comment

ndikhona ndigcwele ndingumgqutsho, ndiyazibulisela othandayo avume andinicengi kaloku

• 372.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-267: Yes Black does have Lion caps.
    Xhosakid is right in what he said. Jonny was the number 1 flyhalf in the world. Jason was awesome.

Paulse did well. Chester Williams wasn’t exactly the Tower of Pisa. And so the list goes on.

Size is not everything. It depends on the player.

• 373.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-349: Plenty of which learnt their rugby outside of Pretoria anyway.

Uli’s the only “local” I can think of right now; maybe one or two more.

• 374.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-284: “I think the argument he is trying to make is if you have two players of more or less equal ability, you’ll always end up selecting the larger one”

only in heyneke meyer’s tortuous mind is dropping daniel, shifting alberts to 8 and playing potgieter at 7 with marcell at 6 a brilliant plan -“The Pumas also mauled quite well in Cape Town and we were not happy with the defence of their mauls, so with the extra weight Jacques brings, we will have to ensure we stop their drives.”

who is the better 8th man, keegan or alberts?

what was the rationale for choosing alberts over his sharks captain who is a starter @ 8 in the regular season?

• 375.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-374:

Clearly Meyer does not rate Daniels…

• 376.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah-332: very LOL

• 377.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-247:
    “This Bok coach got our pack of forwards to dominate the All Blacks at home”

Actually, one can probably put that down to the fetcher in the team by the name of Francois Louw.

His selection made all the difference in how the Bok forwards performed.

To think that HM never believed in fetchers. :wink:

• 378.cane: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-366:

“No anger,no excitement.”

With half a bottle of Chivas Regal down your gullet?

I think not somehow Catcher.

• 379.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@nama1-377:

Hoe’s die weer op Steinkopf vandag?

• 380.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-359: He !! he!!!, Ettienne Botha, I remember him playing outside another midget Adrian Jacobs for the Falcons under PDV, what a player, so reckon it was ok not to pick him for the Boks as well?, you are battling to line up your facts correctly,…. I can see that smoke coming out of your over-working brains. :-) !!!, relax the pain of humiliation will be over soon….. don’t come under prepared here, know your rugby before spewing forth your ill-informed, blatant ignorance…. class is in session.

• 381.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-366: Bok rugby is, has been and will be great… It always has elements of greatness… But much of its greatness comes from players that break the mould, not conform to folklore fantasies of “traditional ways” that are now getting shoved down everyone’s throats by the netjies, structure and hankering after the “traditional powers” of the past that both Heyneke and Rassie seem to be obsessed about…

Greats like Morne Du Plessis, Mannetjies Roux, Francois Pienaar, Tobias, Claasen, Bedford, Coetsee and many many more… They all broke the mould whether physically or by their different thought patterns/outlooks or both…

• 382.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-366: A nd no great expectation.

• 383.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-281:

“I’ve actually started salivating at the prospect of that backline you proposed.”..

sjoe!
    you wp okes really have a way with words.. :lol:

• 384.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-381: The mavericks.I have said this here before.Love mavericks.

• 385.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-370: I wouldn’t understand? Exclusionary… No?

Is it because I am too Eenglish… Not brown enough… Not Cape Mala enough… Not cullert enough, that I wouldn’t understand?

Or is just because I wasn’t there?

• 386.gunther: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-384:

me too.

• 387.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-384:

Especially the platinum lounge.

• 388.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-344:
    well look around you…. only devils and a cold blue sea…

• 389.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-385:
    All of the above.

It was a comment posted in jest HG.

Chillax.

• 390.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-370:

he sounds like someone removed his adenoids with a serving spoon.

• 391.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@cane-378: Correct on all counts except the voluue of liquor.Since my wife will be joining me it will be more
    than half a bottrle.Good luck to your team in the Pampas.Regards.

• 392.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-391: voluue = volume.

• 393.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-387: Dont know it but enjoy your work here.

• 394.Provvas: Reply to this comment

Katman, So give me someone who is a good Big oke vs a good Small oke? you will find you will do exactly what I did.. pick someone your reckon to be better than the other,no matter the size..
    \What is the threshold? When is one “big” and when is a player small in stature? 1,75? 85kg?

Where would you fit Percy Montgomery for instance?

• 395.gunther: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-387:

you mean the boom boom room?

• 396.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-384: I ask myself more and more, everytime I see a new rapidly changing Bok squad this one question… WWHP…

Who will Heynek pick? And the answers are getting predictable… not due to a players experience but more due to his “character”…

What is not predictable is whether Heyneke had the choice and these players were, say the undoubtable best in their positions now… Would he pick the following:

- James Small
    - Hennie Le Roux
    - Henry Honiball
    - Mark Andrews
    - James Dalton
    - Rob Louw

etc.

I say not a fark… There would be a “he is too…” [insert reason] or it would be a “horses for courses selection”….

None of the above fit a mould… They are either too small, can’t kick far enough or too farken mal… i.e. They have “questionable” characters… Character flaws.

• 397.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@gunther-390:

Looking forward to tomorrow’s game. I see it starts at 12h00.

Think Gary will have to drop Faf. Don’t know who the backup is though. Maybe push Albie up the order.

• 398.nama1: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-379:
    Reenerig en koud.

• 399.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-389: I reckon even Juju is a better orator…

Heard this on the radio the other day him commenting about something or other that didnt turn out as expected…

“Sanitation [sanity] has been restored”…

Priceless…

Now that is oratory…

• 400.nama1: Reply to this comment

“n Goeie, slimmer kleintjie sal altyd beter wees as ‘n goeie, dom grote.

• 401.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-396:
    look its really simple, hg.
    the first thing you do before you bracket a players name in a possible position is ask yourself one simple question:

does the player in question have mental stregth?

everything else flows from there.

• 402.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-399:
    Fark he called JZ an illiterate yesterday……

Don’t know if that fire will ever be extinguished.

• 403.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-399:
    lmao :lol:

you’re joking

• 404.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-397:

We’ll see.

Him or Levi to go.

@Heavens Game-396:

They are too old.

And half of that list would fail multgiple drug tests.

• 405.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-402:
    correct me if i’m wrong but can you be AN illiterate or should it rather be that you ARE illiterate?

• 406.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-396: None of them.He made his conservative outlook known from the outset.I was prepared
    to accept him.In fact only the Pedigree lady saw through him.I soon changed
    my opinion as,to your credit did you.
    Who else? Mallet screwed up roya lly with the ticket price issue.
    Certainly not Coetzee who took a pos sibly great team into the
    dark ages Solomons ??Never took to him after his WP bias with
    Mallet. Plum will never be a contender..Maybe our guy coaching Irish
    forwa rds.

• 407.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-399:

more like lavoratory.

• 408.cane: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-399:

“Sanitation [sanity] has been restored”…

This could be brilliance.

Reminds me of Katman. (and that is a compliment, of the highest order).

• 409.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-399:
    Heard the one where the spokesperson of the cabinet, Jimmy Manyi said:

“It is the prerogative of the president to appoint or disappoint people if he so wish.”

…after he was asked about the appointment of someone in some government department.

Prophetic words actually. :lol:

• 410.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-402:
    i do understand that its realy about one supposedly illiterate guy calling another illiterate. which by the way i dont think the president is because i’ve seen reading speeches (unless he was recounting a radio transmission? :shock: ).

• 411.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-405:
    Fark, I don’t know both sounds right.

• 412.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nama1-409:
    lmga
    ag nee here man, nou lag ek my flenters

• 413.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@gunther-404:
    Rather drop the Titans player, the Cobra’s player will find form in the middle.

• 414.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

coach heyneke meyer has (dis)appointed quite a number of players thus far into his tenure.

• 415.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-402:
    I’m more worried about the fire between HG and the rest of the BullShark cabal. :lol:

Now, there’s a rift that will take time.

I mean, HG is still trying to heal the rift between him and ET and now this!!! :lol:

• 416.gunther: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-405:

Both will suffice Bakkies.

• 417.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

Before isolation, the Boks was the only team to head the NZ All Blacks in their head-to-head stakes – games played until 12th September 1981 (** re-admission: 15th August 1992).
    So, played until 1981;
    Games played - 37 tests
    SA Won - 20 tests
    NZ Won - 15 tests
    Draw - 2 tests
    My conclusion:
    1. The Boks were, and indeed is still legends – ask any NZ rugby fan who they historically see as the old foe. No Bledisloe Cups needed, NZ vs. SA is still the biggest test in world rugby (Ryder Cup proportions).
    2. Pre isolation – our winning ratio looks way better then claimed by Keo. Given, it has regressed since ‘91.

• 418.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-406: Fark, I hanker after Kitchie like never before… The more and more we see the egos come and go in Green and Gold the more and I more I realise how farken special that oke was as a coach and a man…

• 419.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

this (dis)appointment of players has left many provincial supporters feeling hard done by.

• 420.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@Jeez-115:

@Heavens Game-167:

When I read rubbish like that I can’t help but day dream that the Germans had won. Oh well guess we will have to wait for the next time. In the meantime I will just have to remind myself not to read posts by your types.

• 421.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-413:

He’s hasn’t yet.

He was kak in the IPL to.

Whereas Faf was pretty good.

Also gives you a spin option.

But you knew that.

• 422.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gunther-416:
    thank you gunner, juju knew better than me in that instance.
    this blog is a sauce of wisdom indeed.

• 423.nama1: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-414:
    :lol: :lol:

• 424.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-401: Yes… And this is a problem… because it seems mental strength is in the eye of the beholder…

• 425.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

to appoint or disappoint, that is the question…

• 426.willievz: Reply to this comment

Looking forward to the weekend.

The 3 best flyhalves in world rugby are in the Boks’ 22.

• 427.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

@willievz-426:

• 428.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@gunther-407: Yes.. a longdrop… Was on 702… counter revolutionary.

@nama1-409: Beyootiful :lol:

• 429.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-422: what flavour is this wisdom “sauce”?

• 430.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-424:
    no at all, it is on the other hand one of those things you just know the moment you see it in an individual.

case in point edrich lubbe and even gaffie du toit… this wont come as a surprise to you because you may have picked up by now that i am actually quite good at seeing these things.
    i tell you the moment i laid eyes on those two i knew thet did not have it.

edrich especially.

• 431.willievz: Reply to this comment

Longdrop Botha (in Sweet & Short) is still the best 10 ever produced by South Africa.

• 432.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-405: Both right Bakkies.With same spelling can be an adjective or a noun.
    BTW my wife who is a purist for the Taal said “dit verrig wonders” should be “wondere”

• 433.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@gunther-421:
    And Faf is a better fielder probably THE best.

If we play Afridi as an inswing bowler then we’ll be fine.

Ajmal is a concern though but a farken brekgat or his just got that face that you would want to PK.

• 434.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-429:

its actually quite apt because this place is a sauce of ideas and people most days but yest, its a typo :lol:

• 435.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@STBUR-420: “day dream that the Germans had won”… What do you mean by that?

Come explain… If you dare…

Is it because I speak English… Is it because my ancestors ran around the country in pith helmets and red necks… ?

• 436.cane: Reply to this comment

@Pot Blou Gevaar-417:

Cream rises to the top sooner or later Potty.
    Hang in there, have faith. the wheel turns.

We are now of course, in The Professional Era. So I would expect the competition to even out some.
    Just look at Argentina for example.

• 437.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

This not a bad Aussie side

Barnes, Shipperly, Ashley-Cooper, McCabe, Ioane, Beale, Phipps is not a poor back line

and Samo / Higgenbotham, Hooper / Gill, Dennis, Sharpe / Simmons, Douglas

is by no means a poor back row / 2nd row combo

So don’t simply expect a Bok walkover although everything is pointing directly to a Bok renaiscence this weekend at long last

• 438.cane: Reply to this comment

@willievz-431:

Honiball.

• 439.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Pot Blou Gevaar-417:
    How many games were played in SA and how many in NZ?

• 440.David: Reply to this comment

To a great extent, I agree with HG. Talking about a big guy with the same skills as a small guy being the better choice misses the reality. Generally the 2 have different skill sets determined by their body size and shape which affects what they rely on during their development. The smaller guys don’t have the advantage of size so they develop more agile skills to gain advantage.
    As HG alludes to, when a coach starts off by looking for a specific physical speciman as a backline player especially, he’s displaying a total lack of understanding of the role that different skills add to a team. It’s the safest and also laziest route to building a game plan. When one considers two of the finest 13s in the modern game for instance, BOD and Conrad Smith, they are certainly don’t fit the big is better category.
    During their development years in SA, big guys don’t need to learn how to avoid tackles in the same way that smaller ones do. Probably a weight rather than age group approach might ensure that our bigger kids would be forced to add more skills to their repetoire.

• 441.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-418: Strong TVL bias
    but country accepted it as the best team.(Except perhaps Tiaan)
    BTW if you read Gary Teichmans book you get the feeling that Solomons
    was the dark force behind his sacking.

• 442.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@willievz-431:
    a true professional in an ameture era.
    he could teach the kiwis a thing or two.

@ryecatcher-432:
    ah
    thanks rye

• 443.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

This not a bad Aussie side

Barnes, Shipperly, Ashley-Cooper, McCabe, Ioane, Beale, Phipps is not a poor back line

and Samo / Higgenbotham, Hooper / Gill, Dennis, Sharpe / Simmons, Douglas

is by no means a poor back row / 2nd row combo

So don’t simply expect a Bok walkover although everything is pointing directly to a Bok renaissance this weekend under a decent running 10 at long last

• 444.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-434: Its typo, of “cause”, just pulling your leg. :-) !!

• 445.willievz: Reply to this comment

@cane-438: @i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-442: Have you seen the movie, Sweet & Short?

Longdrop Botha is a mythical player which represents a kicking flyhalf (but what a kicking flyhalf) in the movie.

• 446.David: Reply to this comment

@STBUR-420:
    So you don’t believe that a jew should be in the Bok side?

• 447.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@willievz-431:

I love that movie!

• 448.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-441:
    Obviously Solly would push for Skinstad’s inclusion.

• 449.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-438:
    no, a poor second to botha.
    honiball was more a carlos spencer than a dan carter.

• 450.grant10: Reply to this comment

It has been a bloody long time since I have so looked forward to a Bok Test match….

Since 2010 it was with a sense of trepidation….

now some excited anticipation….

lekker man!

• 451.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-449:
    Was Jannie De Beer closer to Carter.

• 452.willievz: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-447: “Jislaaik, oom George! It’s a car just like Anneline Kriel’s!”

• 453.grant10: Reply to this comment

Hope Argies moer the Kiwis 6 love as well….

• 454.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@willievz-431:

The actor who played Long Drop Botha, Rufus Swart, played in other film classics like Dust Devil, Cyborg Cop and Captive Rage.

• 455.cane: Reply to this comment

@willievz-445:

My apologies Willy.

I thought you referred to Nasty Botha.

• 456.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@David-440: Been preaching that since the days when the original posters here were still posting on Super Sport rugby chat, in the early ’00 before Keo created this site. Your average poster really believes that players can be of equal ability therefpr the bigger one is better, what nonsense!!!, its ok when posters have this misguided belief but its sh*t scary when a national coach also believes it.

• 457.willievz: Reply to this comment

@cane-455: Wish I could see him in full flight, Cane.

I also missed out on Grant Fox.

@WP-Forever-454: What a legend!!

• 458.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@willievz-452:

Sweet: (pointing to statue of a rugby player) “Who’s that?”
    Short: “I don’t know, but it’s definitely not Naas Botha. This man is running with the ball.”

• 459.David: Reply to this comment

@willievz-457:
    You didn’t miss much with Fox.

• 460.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@cane-438: Even before my time,but there was a guy called Bennie Osler.Supposedly a genius.You might ask Terry
    MacLean but he is probably dead too.

• 461.willievz: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-458:

“That was the All Blacks and the Haka. Now the South Africans, and the SHAKA”

“Jy kan nie pale toe skop vir ‘n poep nie, ou seun”

• 462.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-424: It’s Meyer’s perception of what mental strength is, that is at fault here.

• 463.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@willievz-452:

En natuurlik: “Nee man, jy kan mos nie pale toe skop vir ‘n poep nie!”

• 464.nama1: Reply to this comment

@STBUR-420:
    You sound angry.

• 465.willievz: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-463: Is my gunsteling Leon-fliek van alle tye.

Loshande.

• 466.RL: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-396: why is Lambie missing from that list – let me help you here. Elton and Lambie are actually the same height.

What people do not know is that Heineken made all the players he had one on one sessions with stand against a wall, if your head was below the mark then tough.

Lambie failed the test but Elton passed because he had his hair standing up lekker with a ramp doo that day – let just say thay Elton passed the mark. :cool:

• 467.grant10: Reply to this comment

My day just got made

Spies wont play again this year

——————————————————————————–

by Brenden Nel 27 September 2012, 13:35

Springbok no8 and Blue Bulls captain Pierre Spies will not play rugby again this year, even though surgery to his injured finger was successful.

There was hope that Spies would be able to play again in the latter rounds of the Absa Currie Cup, after being ruled out for between 8-12 weeks at the beginning of August, and if not that, would be able to make an appearance if needed on the end of year tour.

But those hopes have been squashed by Spies himself, who told supersport.com he was unlikely to play again this year.

“I was hoping to, but the finger is healing slowly, so next year is more likely,” he told supersport.com.

Spies sustained the fracture to the joint in his finger while playing Super Rugby for the Bulls, but only realised the full extent of the injury before the start of the Castle Rugby Championship.

He underwent surgery while the Boks were in Argentina and has been on a rehabilitation programme ever since.

While Spies has been running at Loftus and working hard to ensure his fitness levels don’t drop, the Bulls captain is not likely to push the injury.

Bulls team doctor Org Strauss agreed it was unlikely Spies would play this year again.

“It looks that way,” Strauss told supersport.com.

Bok coach Heyneke Meyer currently has Duanne Vermeulen at No 8 with Spies and Schalk Burger out with injury, and Ryan Kankowski plying his trade in Japan

• 468.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@willievz-461:

Hahahahaha – “En Dawid het vir Goliat op die kop getref, net hier…”

• 469.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-458: @The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-462: @Jeraldjay-451: can you folks enlighten me as to why this deal never materialised :lol:

EP star heading to Stormers?
    2009-11-16 06:54

Port Elizabeth – Promising Eastern Province flank Jacques Potgieter may play for the Stormers next year.

Potgieter (23) confirmed on Sunday that he is leaving for Cape Town on Wednesday for tests with other Stormers candidates.

“Rassie Erasmus (Stormers coach) contacted me a while ago about going there,” said Potgieter.

“I signed a two-year contract with Eastern Province, but got the green light from the union to play for the Stormers for the first part of the season.

“It can only be good for me to play with the likes of Schalk Burger and to be coached by a former Springbok loose forward in Rassie.

“I cannot wait and am very excited about the opportunity.

“We have already been training for two weeks at Eastern Province, so have not just been sitting around since our last game.”

Potgieter played his junior rugby in Eastern Province before a spell in KwaZulu-Natal. He has been impressive since returning to Port Elizabeth.

He is a fiery ball-carrier that can also be used as a lineout forward.

• 470.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@willievz-465:

Wel, ek het nogals There’s a Zulu on my Stoep ook geniet. Dit is tussen daardie twee.

• 471.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-463:
    Is this a Schuster movie.

Only made in SA rugby movie I can remember is the Bill Flynn /Paul Slabolepszy movie.

• 472.cane: Reply to this comment

@willievz-457:

Grant Fox was a tactician, a chess player. A sharp mind. NZ’s version of Nass.

Not the whole caboodle like Honiball, Carter or Larkham.

But then again, few are the whole caboodle, are they?

• 473.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-469:

It appears sanitation prevailed.

• 474.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@willievz-452: “Anneline Kriel” isn’t that the MILF who was married to Sol?

• 475.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-469: ***shriekkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk***. How I celebrate the fact that it DIDN’T work out. Closefuckingcall it seems?

(I can take a guess as to why the deal didn’t work out though? He tested – he was kak – Rassie told him to pissoff?)

• 476.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-471: heel against the head?

• 477.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-475: @WP-Forever-473: :lol:

• 478.grant10: Reply to this comment

kiwis cricket team getting on their moer …

• 479.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@grant10-467: I will rather keep quiet, as lady karma is a nastybitch when she’s in the mood and I have a dentist appointment at 3.30….. (any relief/happiness at anothers misfortune might not go down well the universe.)

• 480.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@RL-466:Son… Elton, probable future Shark I might add, has had even less playing time than Lambie under Meyer…

Elton is only there because of PdV’s statements referring to black mechanics and Mr Jantjies senior whining like a stuck pig…

Otherwise Elton would not even smell the Bok squad…

Lets be clear here.

• 481.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-473: @The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-475:it seems rassie bagged siya around the same time then but look who is a Bok and who is not.. :roll: makes you think neh…

• 482.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-474:
    She was very hot when she was younger.

Farken realities of life pisses me off.

But men seem to look more distinguished as they get older.

• 483.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@willievz-445:

• 484.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@STBUR-420:

What “types” are you talking about.

• 485.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-451:
    well lets just say he was closer to carter than he ever was to spencer.

• 486.grant10: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-479: Yes….true that. Been a great week for me so far…..now just need HM to look at the 13….9 …and restore Brussow to the squad and 2010 and 11 may fade into the mists of time….

• 487.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@grant10-467:
    i’m surprised you act this way, grant

you think pulling another man down lifts you up..?..

pathetic

• 488.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@cane-472: Preferred Frano Botica, rest in peace, to Fox myself…

But I forget, you probably hate him for the money grabbing shyster he was, eh?

• 489.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-469:

Dont make me skrik please man

• 490.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-481: Makes one do more than think.

• 491.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-474:

She was the 1st Princess at Miss World in 1974…

http://www.oocities.org/televisioncity/9699/mcmw70.htm

• 492.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-469:
    fark!
    i dont think i ever want to see him used as a lineout option.

@cane-472:
    cant believe you dont rate spencer, caner

@WP-Forever-473:

• 493.grant10: Reply to this comment

I see AC hinting at some new player signings….says he will release details soon….

Hope 1 of them is Elton….and another F Louw….

Then its Xmas come early for me….

• 494.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-481:

Ja neh

• 495.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-491:

(of course Helen Morgan resigned four days later, so our Anneline was then elevated to Miss World…)

• 496.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@cane-472:

Watsup in the lower Hutts

• 497.grant10: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-487: Read the column you sensitive pansie….he is fine….but will not play again…..not like he has cancer or something you little wally….

Stop crying like a baby here all the time man….you set a bad example ….would hate the wallabie and kiwis okes on here to think all Saffas a real little whiney whinger like you are….

HTFU wally.

• 498.cane: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-460:

My Local Library was selling off old books a few months back.
    And ……………………for the princely some of about 5 rand. ($1.00).
    I purchased Keith Quinns, “A Century of Rugby Greats”.

There, he listed his Top 10 Boks of ALL TIME.
    1………………………….Craven.
    2…………………………..Frik du prick.
    3…………………………..Francois Pienaar.
    4………………………….Bennie Osler.
    5………………………….Naas.
    6………………………….Hennie Muller.
    7………………………….Gerard Morkel.
    8………………………….Morne du Plessis.
    9………………………….Boy Louw.
    10………………………..Chester.

• 499.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-487:

Regtig bloubuldoos

• 500.cane: Reply to this comment

@cane-498:

The Period under review was 1900-2000.

• 501.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@cane-500:

I asked you a question

• 502.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@grant10-497:
    @Dawn-499:
    you guys are chops.

bygones then

• 503.gunther: Reply to this comment

@grant10-493:

Elton’s going to the sharks.

Time for the smelling salts you old queen.

• 504.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Ooo jirre my Windies are gonna get klapped later

• 505.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-502:

If I am I wanna be a crumbed one

Lekker fried in oil

• 506.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-437: do you still want heyneke meyer to lose?

• 507.cane: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-496:

Drizzel.
    But hey it’s spring Dawn.

things are looking up.

And that’s a Capital on the “L” by the way.

• 508.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Mark these words,

Only a matter of time before Beast gets dropped for Coenie…

Couched in the guise as performance issues, Beast’s ability to communicate properly in Afrikaans may have become a problem..

He is now, along with Lambie, the only English speaking player in the Bok 22.

• 509.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@gunther-503:

Wat nou!

• 510.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-508:

Are you serious?

Serious question.

• 511.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@cane-507:

I’m on strike today

• 512.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-489: hahahahaha did you :shock: skrik? ;)

• 513.David: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-508:
    Isn’t Flo english speaking, although he has an Afrikaans background?

• 514.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-512:

Ja

I skrikked until I saw the date

• 515.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-505:
    i’ll fry your oil

• 516.willievz: Reply to this comment

@David-513: He spoke a very delicious English on Sky Sports the other day. Think he is English.

• 517.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-474: The one and only.

I would too.

• 518.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gunther-503:
    stop gunther
    he’s going to storm off and wont come back for months again

• 519.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-189: just for the record its Daniel not Daniels! :)

• 520.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-508: Beast is Shona speaking!

• 521.cane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-492:

I loved Carlos.

Carlos loved rugby.

And in a Team going forward, he was simply magical.

But he neglected his kicking game. And his AB Coach’s “Mitch and Dingo Deans”, neglected to develope this part of his game as well.

May they rot in hades. ( or perhaps Australia and SA anyway).

• 522.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Sharksgirl-519: Hi Sharksgirl,

Good on you for educating these muppets :)

I can’t believe how many bloggers make that mistake!!

• 523.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Yup, I will probably be singing Waltzing Mathilda at the top of my lungs (would love to say with beer in hand, but alas it is Loftus, you have to be discreet even in a suite)…

Heck the Wobblies even have more propensity to actually play English speaking southern africans than the Boks do…

Fark, I can relate to that… More representative.

“Once a jolly swagman…”

• 524.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Players chosen on language now?

• 525.willievz: Reply to this comment

@cane-521: The Boks won in Wellington in 1998 because of Carlos’ misses.

• 526.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@cane-521:

Is Joanne advertising Pirhana 3DDD now?

• 527.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-271: why have you defended ALL the coaches for 8 years, surely at least some of them were not up to it?

• 528.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-523: I count no less than 3 Sharks players in the starting XV.

Considering injuries, surely that is enough?

• 529.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-523:

Listen ou man

I asked you a question

• 530.cane: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-511:

“On Strike”.

You mean like a Unionist, No Work Strike?

• 531.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-520: So am I… Now my little fetcher, go fetch me my chibooli the other side of the gomo…

• 532.David: Reply to this comment

@cane-521:
    Re the discussion of big v. little. Do you remember Grant Batty. About the size of Shane Williams he was prepared to take on any forward who got in his way. Talk about attitude. :lol:

• 533.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@cane-530:

Indeed

• 534.Nikita: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-526:

No she is not :mrgreen:

• 535.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Nikita-534:

Do you have some red light on your desk that goes off every time someone says joanne

• 536.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit-527: because according to pissant, all the coaches are good rugby men who are put under the kosh by the perpertually incompetent SARU machine. Pissy was crying for Meyer even before Morne missed his first kick at goal…

• 537.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@willievz-528: Ja, but one’s not even Seffrican… one is a refugee from north of the Limpopo…

The other 2, well they getting knocked off, one by one… like green bottles.

As in
    “There were 9 green bottles sitting on the wall…”

• 538.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@cane-498: Thanks

• 539.cane: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-526:

Not sure………………………………………………….but those double D’s in the advertisement. They are not for real……………………………………..for sure.

• 540.nama1: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-491:
    Wasn’t she given the crown when it became known that the original queen had an abortion or something like that?

She was in a bit of trouble with the volk a few years later (1978 or there about) when she dared to kiss a very young Jonathan Butler on his lips after he won some music award for his song: Please stay. (Artes or Saries or something)

• 541.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-531: hey Funnygalo is not Shona you plick…

• 542.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

…. And he sang as he shoved that jumbuck in his tucker bag…

• 543.nama1: Reply to this comment

@cane-498:
    No Danie Gerber in the top 10?

Pienaar and Chester probably there not for rugby reasons alone.

• 544.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@nama1-540:

Morgan resigned when it came to light that she had an 18-month-old son.

Anneline Kriel was in even more trouble in 1976 when the Sunday Times published photos of her where she had been sunbathing nude next to the Vaal.

Die kerkvaders was baie ontsteld.

Toe gaan Anneline nog en slaan oor na die Joodse geloof in Switserland… ;-)

• 545.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@nama1-540: nc nc nc stupid volk…

• 546.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-541:

Is he right?

Players picked on language?

• 547.Nikita: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-535:

Why red? It is called name recognition.

• 548.cane: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-538:

I will have to read the chapter on Benjamin Louwrens Osler (the little master) now.

I wasn’t going to.

• 549.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-541: Golo wakho… That funnygolo enough for you?

• 550.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-535:

• 551.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

…And he sang as he watched and waited till his billy boiled…

• 552.grant10: Reply to this comment

BlRugby |

Quade won’t play for Aus without improvements

——————————————————————————–

27 September 2012, 14:39

Wallabies flyhalf Quade Cooper said he would not play for Australia unless changes were made to the “toxic” environment surrounding the team, which he felt was “destroying” him as a “player and as a person”.

The 24-year-old has been sidelined for Australia’s last two Rugby Championship tests in South Africa and Argentina because of a knee problem but sparked huge controversy with tweets and comments made over the weekend.

Offered the chance to clarify his position on Thursday in an interview with Fox Sports, with whom he has a contract, Cooper said he would not play for Australia or sign a new deal with the Australian Rugby Union (ARU) unless improvements were made.

“I’m just trying to be the best that I can be and that’s why I don’t want to be involved in that environment,” he said.

“For me to improve as a player and as a person, you want to be in the best possible environment. I feel that environment is destroying me as a person and as a player so I can’t do my best to represent myself, my country and my friends to the best of my ability.”

Cooper attacked the lack of a dedicated training facility for the Wallabies and reiterated his criticism of the defensive gameplans of coach Robbie Deans.

“If you are going to pick an attacking player, especially at 10, you sort of want to work on playing attacking rugby,” he added.

New Zealand-born Cooper initially alluded to his criticisms in two tweets, now erased from his feed @quadecooper.

In a brief statement on Thursday, the ARU said it had written to Cooper “in relation to social media comments” but had “no intention of conducting those discussions with Quade in the public arena”.

At his best a mercurial talent whose unpredictability can unpick the game’s increasingly tight defences, Cooper helped Queensland Reds to their first Super Rugby title and Australia to a first Tri-nations title in a decade last year.

He had less success at last year’s World Cup in New Zealand, where he was vilified as the host country’s “public enemy No 1″ and ended the tournament with a serious knee injury.

REDS DEAL

Cooper has signed a new three-year contract with the Reds but it will not be ratified until a Wallabies deal is completed. His current deal runs out at the end of the year.

“I want to play for the Reds, but the next component is out of my hands,” he said.

“If there’s no change to the current environment, I don’t what I’ll have to do then …

“What I mean by the environment being toxic is that you expect it to be like a family environment,” he added. “You want to have a happy environment, more so like we do at the Reds.”

Cooper said the issue had come to a head after Australia’s narrow 23-19 victory over Argentina on the Gold Coast two weeks ago, where the Wallabies had to overcome a 13-point deficit in the last quarter.

“We won the game (but) the way it was spoken about by officials and stuff it was like it was a loss,” he said.

“You don’t need that as a player and as an environment, you want to walk off the field and believe that you have the confidence of the coaches and the players.”

Queensland Rugby chief Jim Carmichael was moved to release a public statement on Wednesday in an attempt to ease the fears of the province’s fans.

“Let me reassure you that Quade has no interest in leaving the Reds,” it read. “He … has reaffirmed his commitment to our organisation on several occasions, and again as late as yesterday afternoon.”

Cooper’s recent comments along with another saying he wanted to play with Sonny Bill Williams – the All Black who has been linked with rugby league’s Sydney Roosters – has further fuelled rumours that Cooper might be preparing to quit the code.

“I want to play with Sonny, if nothing is changed and my hand is forced … it’s not about money, it’s about being happy in what I’m doing,” he said

bloody hell…this feud between Cooper and Deans hitting all time lows …

• 553.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@David-532: Actually played a test
    with a type of leg brace.Didn,t affect his speed.

• 554.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-521:
    to be fair though, the last i ever wanted to see carlos do was kick.
    flip, he was so cheeky with the ball in hand i quite liked it.

quade couldn’t tie carlos’ boot laces if he wanted too.

• 555.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

the last thing i ever wanted to see carlos do was kick

• 556.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Nothing much happens here while I’m working, I see.

Thought I would be entertained during my strike action

• 557.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

It’s offical. Gat has Poppa’ed :-)

• 558.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-556:

Are you following up your DTCs?

• 559.David: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-553:
    Tough little bugg*r. I’ll always remember him in the classic ’73 BaaBaas v. ABs getting tackled into touch by two forwards and leaping up to grab one of them by the shirt and lift (not help) him off the ground.

• 560.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

quade cooper can go ***** himself to be honest

i do not tolerate that kind of attitude

he must fokkok to play soccer with that italian queen.

• 561.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@cane-548: Thanks Cane.Please post
    me the comments(Good ones)

• 562.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-549: hahaha uyalithanda gqithi igolo! udla abo magogo lapho ePitoli!

HG aka Deon Helberg…

• 563.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-556: Working hard on striking eh :-)

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-554: The best was Hendrik Gerber’s hit on Carlos and asking him who is king now :-) :-)

• 564.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-560: With Toti ?

• 565.cane: Reply to this comment

@David-532:

I do David.
    I do.

Batty seemed to like punching people, he had to look up to.

And Talking of little guys!

Malta vs the 3rd Reich.

• 566.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-560:what attitude?

quade kneed richie on the head boet, hy vat nie kak nie!

• 567.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-558:

OK

So you read my facebook stuff.

• 568.RL: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-555: and for Bakkies the last thing I wanted to see him do was pass the ball – it would have been an act of cowardice.

• 569.Kaizan: Reply to this comment

What many people around the rugby world forget is that the Springboks (more than any other rugby nation) do not play to their full potential. This is why we have such passionate and even aggressive supporters.

South Africa has had every single obstacle that could possibly be thrown at us to make our rugby path more challenging. Here is a small snippet of what we have to endure that no other rugby nation does:

- Quotas
    - Political instability
    - Majority of our population is poverty-stricken
    - Social tension and racial barriers
    - The SARU administration (no further comment needed)
    - Springbok emblem taken away
    - Coaches selected on skin colour rather than credentials
    - We play a very physical, aggressive brand of rugby and this does not play in our favour with referee officiating.
    - We lose more players to foreign countries than any other rugby nation (by miles)
    - Disadvantageous travel schedule for trinations (admittedly this has been corrected now)
    - isolation in the past etc.
    - lots lots more

The Springboks have always had a much bigger cross to bear than any other rugby nation and as a result, we are never given the chance to play to our full potential. Many Springbok supporters can feel this and it is the reason we are so aggressively passionate about the Springboks.

Things are slowly moving in the right direction and we will click soon.

The path to success is to keep our traditional Boere muscle and aggression, but to harness the indigenous talent we have at our disposal too…. Not only will this be good for social unity, but our rugby will improve drastically as a result.

Go Springboks!

• 570.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-563:
    ja, he knocked the shitt out of him and the blues lost that game 50 something to 20 something? they should have subbed imo.

@mikeybrass-564:
    no, that one with the looks.

• 571.grant10: Reply to this comment

Strange that Spies wont be at Test….

Converting pressure into points
    2012-09-27 14:17

My recovery is going very well. My pin is coming out of my finger on Friday. It’s been six weeks so far, and I’ll have to wait and see how much longer it will be from here. I have to be patient through the healing process.

While watching the game from the sidelines is always frustrating, the rest has been really good. The only time you get to rest nowadays is when you’re injured.

I won’t be at Loftus this Saturday, but will definitely be watching from my guesthouse. I prefer viewing the game from home, and plus watching it on TV, the angles are much better!

While the Wallabies have never beaten the Springboks at Loftus, statistics prove something about the history, and are not necessarily an indicator to the future.

I don’t think the Quade Cooper controversy is something the Wallabies can ignore; obviously, they have had their own problems to sort out. However, those issues are part of the game and I think the Wallabies will have focused on putting that behind them.

Equally, I have no doubt the Springboks will focus on their own job. We are now back on home soil and hungry for victory. I think that the Boks’ focus point this week would have been on the importance of finishing off our opportunities. We have tended to create and not finish. Against the Wallabies, it’s key we capitalise on the opportunities we create and put them under pressure.

While the forwards have been playing really well of late, we must keep in mind it’s a team performance. I think that the backs would like to improve their conversion rate, and turn pressure into points. It will be great if the backs make a good impression this weekend, but again the pressure rests with the forwards to lay a solid foundation.

I feel it might well prove an open, fast-paced game with both sides looking to play with width. I think Australia are keen to play more of an attacking brand of rugby, and the Boks are intent on converting pressure into points. I think we may see some exciting rugby this Saturday.

It’s exciting changes for both teams at flyhalf. Johan Goosen has shown what a good player he is. He will come out in his run-on debut full of fire and excitement. His opposite number, Kurtley Beale is a world class player and will keep the Boks guessing the whole game. Therefore, it will be key that our defence remains intact.

Morne Steyn has been under some pressure, but I think the break will do him well. Now that I’ve been injured, I realise how much it means to take some time off from the game mentally.

It’s not easy dealing with all the pressure when you’re in the situation, but it’s part of the game and something you have to handle. You need a strong character and most importantly, you need to know where you’re headed. You also really have to decide who you want to listen to. It’s key to stick to the people close to you and focus on your own goals.

The breakdown battle always has a huge influence on the outcome, so if we can force a few turnovers and be clinical in our execution, I feel we can get the upper hand in the game.

I think Duane Vermeulen’s been doing really well. I felt sorry for him coming into the side straight after injury, but he is a quality player and has slotted in well. I think he will make big impact for the Boks.

I don’t know where the game will be won or lost. My guess is on the scoreboard! But jokes aside, I think the Boks will win by more than six points.

Turning to the other clash this weekend, I think it’s going to be an uphill battle for the All Blacks in Argentina. It’s going to be a very tight affair, and it would be great if the Pumas could knock the All Blacks over.

The Pumas are really going to come out firing and if they can get ahead quickly on the scoreboard, they can really make life difficult for the All Blacks like they did for us in Argentina.

I don’t think the All Blacks have the edge upfront. I think the packs are evenly matched. I also wouldn’t say New Zealand is the dominant forward pack in the competition. Our pack enjoyed the upper hand in Dunedin.

Coming back from injury, Dan Carter brings a lot of experience and composure to the side, but if the Pumas are able to get under the All Blacks’ skin, they will make life difficult for them.

I would actually like to put my money on Argentina to sneak home by two points!

• 572.husky: Reply to this comment

Silly little rant by keow and confirms my poor opnion of him. Looks like it was held in reserve for when his imagination failed him. Also shows that keow is someone who has never really played a hard game of rugby, sneering at the older players, offering nothing to the new. Driving his coke fuelled car by looking in the rear view mirror.

I’m worried about Heineken. He reminds me of Strooli, Muir, and a string of other boneheads we’ve had “coaching” the Boks. Why does Tac blindly support him? We dominated the AB’s (lol). Looks at the scoreboard boet. If Heineken didn’t know Steyn was off form and his coaching “team” couldn’t bring him back; he isn’t up to much. The new lightie missed at least one snot at goal as well. ffs.

Seems to me that the only thing Heinie can analyse is a scale. I hope I’m wrong.

• 573.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-566:
    no, this ‘i dont want to play if the situation doesn’t suit me’ kak.
    show him the door and give a kid who wants to be there a chance.

• 574.grant10: Reply to this comment

Fark….hope Spies is correct about Argies / Kiwis

• 575.willievz: Reply to this comment

Quade Cooper, like most Kiwis, are welcome to quit rugby.

• 576.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-558:

Do you feel like a big important person now?

• 577.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@RL-568:
    i liked bakkies more when he didn’t even hit back at an oppostion player taking cheap shots.
    when he was cool as a cowboy, playing mind games with them.

just that wry smile that said it all…’so you think you can dance?’…

• 578.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

the world deserves to see bakkies botha a few more times.

• 579.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

The Black Caps brought it back, WTF !!, I had stopped watching thinking its over rover!!!

• 580.grant10: Reply to this comment

kiwis and sri lanka tie!!!!!!!!

Super over coming up!

• 581.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-577:
    Sharpe will probably target Etzebeth again.

Hope his able to keep his cool.

• 582.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-576:

Nope.

• 583.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-570: Totti is a magazine model too back in Italy. A real mamma’s boy to boot.

Yeah the Blues got snooted :-) And King Carlos was left looking for his crown jewels :-)

• 584.cane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-577:

Bakkies, had/has the brain of an ant.

(Apologies to any ants out there.)
    Playing mind games was not Bakkies forte.

• 585.cane: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-576:

I hope you are back at work soon Dawn.

It is nice to flex the proletariat muscle. But we all need the dignity of useful employment.

• 586.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@cane-585:

Not likely

Will go back when Comrade Vavi says it’s OK

We all need dignity of living wage!

• 587.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@cane-584: Five-test lock Luke Romano is likely to be a prime target and gained an appreciation of what to expect when watching the Primera division football game between River Plate and Racing Club on television a day after the All Blacks arrived.

“It was only 12 minutes in and there was a riot in the stands, security guards were getting bashed up. If it only takes them 12 minutes to get into that sort of frenzy it’s going to be interesting,”he said.

kakking their broeks? :D

• 588.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-560: Please excuse my ignorance but which “Italian queen”?

• 589.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-581:
    i’m sure he will after the trumped up kiwi coordinated suspension kak but i think he’ll get outthought in any case.

@mikeybrass-583:
    ja ok, that’ll work.

@cane-584:
    god i wish that ant will be back to teach you a lesson you long deserve.

• 590.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-587:

Dont think rugby is gonna start any riots in Argentina

• 591.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

Excellent article Keo-dragon! A lot of Muppits dont like it cos it forces them to think about this subject.

Although, my view is that it is a good thing though – that we demand those standards, that we look to the legends of yesteryear and that we BELIEVE at all times that the Boks should never lose.

I have too many English friends and colleagues who are too “pragmatic” about it. They will bet on the other team, they will openly call the game as a loss for their country.

NEVER may South Africans do that!

You might say “it will be tough”, “Im not sure” etc etc. but always believe the Boks CAN do it because they are always able to beat anyone, anywhere!

This extends to SA sport as in general and to the country a whole – we should always demand the best from ourselves, our public servants, the govt and so on.

What I agree with that is NOT good is ex-Boks rubbishing the current players.

• 592.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@cane-585: it is striking “season” in SA at the moment…i saw a comment on FB that said “if khaya doesn’t win SA Idols, we STRIKE”

:lol: mal cow-ntry

• 593.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-577: Totally agree! He was the best at just laughing at the pathetic attempt to hurt him :-)

@cane-584: Dont be a d1ckhead your whole life Cane.

• 594.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@grant10-574: me too, but his reasoning is off, if NZ are the equal of Argentina’s pack then surely by virtue of their superior backs NZ will win.

The Argentinian forwards need to be better than NZ’s, they need to take their 3-point opportunities and score at least one try.

• 595.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-592: Saffas are becoming like the French :-)

• 596.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-592:

Mal cowntry right or wrong!!!

(Apologies to Midnight Oil)

• 597.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

This Southie fellow can bowl, I hope we don’t give Parnell the super over!!!, don’t fancy chasing 30

• 598.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

Hey Bakkies: “Knock, knock.”

• 599.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-597:

Waseem to you

And SA not playing

• 600.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Sharksgirl-588:
    the kid who cried in the european nations football cup final.
    quite the playboy and the ladies love him but i wouldn’t say he’s the prettiest player to grace a football pitch.

• 601.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-592:
    That chick will win, she’s got the Idols “Look”.

Sad but true.

• 602.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I have to admit

Vettori looks more and more like a schoolmaster every day

• 603.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-598: “Klop weer op my deur dan p oes ek vir jou jou klein skaapnaaier”

• 604.cane: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-587:

It’s got to good for him.

• 605.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-563: I think Gerber actually called him “queen Carlos” and Carlos was livid !!! But it was a huge hit !!

• 606.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Lotta drama over superover

Just get it done

Chris is waiting

• 607.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@bokfan1-603: Ag, gaan speel met jouself, kleinkind.

Bakkies: “Knock, knock.”

• 608.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@bokfan1-593:
    bakkies was just the best :grin:

@BrumbiesBoy-598:
    is this for me or for bakkies botha?
    who is there?

• 609.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-608: For you…

“Morne.”

• 610.cane: Reply to this comment

@bokfan1-593:

Too late Bokfanny.

I……………………….like you…………………………..am a lost cause.

• 611.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-609:

morne who?

• 612.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-611: “You see, you’ve forgotten him already.”

• 613.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-611: did you see this part of quade’s interview?

“If you are going to pick an attacking player, especially at 10, you sort of want to work on playing attacking rugby,” he added.

meyer better take heed :D

• 614.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

i only noticed the cover now and i see they’ve got lance armstrong on there.
    boy, is his a story to beware.

• 615.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-601: There’s a look? How did Karin Kortje win it then?

• 616.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-614:

“A story to beware”

What kinda English is that

• 617.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Fun being on strike

Can be a grammar nazi

• 618.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-612:
    lmao

@Transformation-613:
    pfffft to him.

besides, johannes lodewikus goosen would never, ever behave in such a way. not in a million years. you can take that to the bank.

• 619.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Silly kiwis cant bat a superover

• 620.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-605: I think so too but wasn’t sure and didn’t want to be accused of anything but some melodramatic people here :-)

• 621.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-616:
    you know, to be wary of his life story and use it to validiate your moral upright beliefs.

you know…

losers do drugs

winners never quit

that sort of thing

• 622.Dawn: Reply to this comment

So this is the early hour at which most bloggers go home from there hard day’s “work” here?

• 623.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

I suppose many have heard the news but I haven’t read through the whole thread: 3 Zimbabwean nationals have been arrested for the Corrie Sanders murder – apparently the police responded after receiving a tip-off

• 624.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-618: ek weet, goosen probably listens to meyer and responds like “ja Oom, ek luister Oom”

Lambie on the other hand either says “Coach or Heyneke” and that infuriates meyer :D

• 625.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-622:
    pffft
    most of the people here would not know the meaning of hard days work even if you hit them over the head with a bat which has ‘hard days work’ scribbled all over it in big bold letters.

• 626.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-623: HG?

• 627.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-624: Hahahahahaha! You are a gem Transie

• 628.nama1: Reply to this comment

1. Ockie Oosthuizen
    2. Willie Kahts
    3. Hempies du Toit
    4. Theuns Stofberg
    5. Louis Moolman
    6. Burger Geldenhuys
    7. Rob Louw
    8. Wynand Claassen (c)
    9. Divan Serfontein
    10. Naas Botha
    11. Carel du Plessis
    12. Danie Gerber
    13. Willie du Plessis
    14. Ray Mordt
    15. Johan Heunis

Reserve
    Henning van Aswegen

• 629.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-624: :lol:

• 630.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-625:

I do

That’s why I’m enjoying my strike today

• 631.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-624:
    good manners, a clean set of clothes, shining shoes and a decent haircut has never hurt nobody, transie :grin:

• 632.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-607: Rustig ou maat, dit was net n grappie

• 633.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-631:

Disagree

It fecked you up good and solid

• 634.grant10: Reply to this comment

no news about F Steyn ankle?

• 635.logie_Jumpbuck: Reply to this comment

Keo, good article, albeit a bit pessimistic

• 636.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-626: I don’t understand. Did you mean Heavens Game ? If so, no

• 637.logie_Jumpbuck: Reply to this comment

And they were giants! have you SEEN the size of oom Frik Du Preez?

• 638.David: Reply to this comment

@logie_Jumpbuck-637:
    Yeah, too small for Jake or HM. :lol:

• 639.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-630:
    well, i cannot say i am an avid supporter of strikes, especially illegal ones, but good luck to you all the same.

as jy my vra sal ek se mense werk nie ****** hard genoeg in die land nie. kan jy glo dat die werksure gedaal het van 40 tot 35 ure per week as jy middagete in tel?

dis vir my skokkend

• 640.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-633:

no dawn, its these dirrty kiwis who have pushed me over the edge.
    and now we giving away home tests too … :shock:

• 641.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

somedays, i really think the world is falling apart.

• 642.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-631: dude, i know all of that, i was raised with it and then came Hip Hop music/culture…

• 643.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-639:

Wat die vok maak jy die hele dag

• 644.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-636: never mind it was below the belt in anycase.

• 645.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-642:
    ok, so are you telling me hip hop cost lambie a place in the team?

interesting fact: did you know that lambie lists christian rock as his favourite music?i bet a lot of the lambie kenner didn’t know that.

• 646.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-643:

• 647.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-644:

(Dont think he made the connection)

• 648.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-639: Hahahaha – **** nou! Net soos die stories van Oom Frik-hulle!

Jy spandeer meeste van jou tyd op keo maat ! :-) alhoewel ons kla nie want jou kommentaar verskaf ons vermaak.

En wat sou die kiwi mafia doen sonder jou? Daai arme skaapies sal heeldag gejaag word

• 649.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-647: No I didn’t, care to enlighten me?

• 650.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-647: nah…currently load shedding

• 651.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

@bokfan1-648: **** = h o o r

is dit nou n vloek woord?!
    Oh yes in (old) English it is

• 652.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-649: it’s fine charles, nothing important, i promise.

• 653.Transformation: Reply to this comment

i’m looking for Afrikaans classes, the more i learn this language the funnier it gets…

• 654.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@bokfan1-648:

die lewe is maar somtyds n snaakse ou reis jong, bokfan.
    sometimes you just have to sit back and enjoy the drive :lol:

• 655.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-649: HG is originally from Zim.

• 656.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-653:

You come to me.

Ek sal jou leer.

• 657.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-654:

And for you, do some work along the way

• 658.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@bokfan1-648:
    fok, ek het nou so lekker gelag

• 659.bokgat1: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-624: better than ya baas. small steps

• 660.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-653: Jissie Transie! You can say not to @Dawn-657 mfuwethu!

• 661.bokgat1: Reply to this comment

@bokgat1-659: jammer engels man left in `86. half duiz

• 662.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-653:
    its funny transie.
    but i suppose i’m actually an idiot too, which makes it funnier when my words catch me out :lol:

@Dawn-657:
    you’re riight, i’m off then have deadlines and a microsoft project presentation i have have to make look cool, with lots of effects, showing how the deadlines will be met.

as my baas my nou kon sien..?.. :lol:

• 663.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-658: Eks bly ou maat!
    Jy laat my gereeld lekker gelag – veral as jy daai Kiwis gas gee.

Ek sal enige dag in d sele rugby span as jy speel met daai gees!

• 664.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-662:

Jy lieg

Jy doen vokkol

• 665.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-656:
    Klink gevaarlik…

• 666.RL: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-613: if Meyer does not heed then we lobby through the blog and force his hand – using people power. :grin:

• 667.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

totsiens vir nou almal

en onthou, die kiwi mafia haat julle soos skape mense….

wakker slaap :lol:

• 668.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

@RL-666: And then we strike! ;-)

• 669.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-667: Lekker dag meneer!

ek hoop hulle haat my MEER as die skape – want hulle is DOL oor skape ;-)

• 670.bokgat1: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-667: ek onhour maar vergeert mafia – lag

• 671.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

So Keo – Folklore aside then – what do you reckon the final score will be on Saturday ?

• 672.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@bokfan1-663:
    tjeers bokfan, en die selfde vir u ou maat :lol:

@Dawn-664:
    true story dawn, i’ve got to make a moerse big microsoft project presentation.
    i might have to wing it :lol:

• 673.nama1: Reply to this comment

Graeme Smith ponders lucrative Surrey offer

Surrey have offered Graeme Smith, South Africa’s Test captain, a lucrative long-term deal that could potentially require him to give up international cricket.

ESPNcricinfo understands that Smith has been identified by Surrey as the perfect man to lead their rebuilding process after a season that saw the retirement of senior batsman Mark Ramprakash, the death of the talented Tom Maynard and the departure of former captain Rory Hamilton-Brown. Smith would open the batting and lead the side.

While it is possible that Surrey would consider signing Smith simply as an overseas player and be happy for him to continue his international career, it is understood that the club are looking for a long-term option and would be reluctant to accept a situation where a player comes and goes according to the international fixture list. (cricinfo)

England already trying to break up the Proteas in a bid to become no. 1 again.

• 674.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Up jumped the swagman and sprang into the billabong…

• 675.David: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-672:
    You might as well wing it. Nobody believes these project timelines anyway. :lol:

• 676.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-674: HG – what the hell are you doing? :-)

• 677.Dawn: Reply to this comment

He’s watching his billy boil

• 678.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@nama1-628: great team

• 679.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@logie_Jumpbuck-637: wOULD BE AN AVERAge scrumhalf today.

• 680.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-653: Speak to Bakkies.He is good.

• 681.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-655: Who cares?.He is a Bok supporter.

• 682.David: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-679:
    Frik du Preez? Have you started on your bottle of good scotch already? :lol:

• 683.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@David-682: Starts tomorrow David.

• 684.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@David-682: Still on the boxed plonk.

• 685.David: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-684:
    Same here. :lol:

• 686.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@David-685: Been on the Oz rugby site”Green & Gold”Lot of speculation as to w hether Quade could spell
    “toxic enviroment”let alone uderstand the term
    If we think that HM is under siege,hear what they have to say about Deans.Vitriolic.

• 687.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-686: meyer ain’t ‘under siege’ he’s just stubborn. he must just show versatility & he’ll be alright

• 688.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-674:
    Interesting…….use of subliminal messages

• 689.UptheGuts: Reply to this comment

Very good read. Not only have you described the fanatic Bok supporter to the tee, but probably every fanatic supporter of any sports team, anywhere in the world. You only have to look at the crying faces come relegation time in the EPL to know this is true.

The Springbok results immediately after isolation was always on the cards. Against NZ and Aus at least. It would have been interesting to see the results had Kitch stayed healthy and remained the coach. Imo, it would not have turned out too differently. It took us close to 10 years to restore our homegrounds as a fortress and Aus to their rightfull place, which is below us. The reason for a decade of searching (we still are today actualy) could be a combination of any or all of these…we were still trying to make up ground since isolation, our players getting to grips with the era of proffesionalism and travel, ditto our coaches (in many ways they are still struggling as can be seen from their comments and gameplan) and of course trying to find our identity as SA’s, ie the political issues surrounding everyday Saffa life let alone the composition of a Bok team.

In this time NZ widened the gap considerably. At first they came to SA hoping for a win then it became so common place they probably expected one. Games in NZ invariably ended in heartache. As a sidenote, NZ getting the benefit of the doubt on most occasions from referees because they are/were considered the best, might have something to with it but that’s another issue. Beating NZ almost became a mental block. The last game was yet another example of a game we realy should have won but lost. I still believe PdV showed GH the way in 2008, albeit with disastrous results. I think it made him sit up and take notice if we actualy got that gameplan right, they would realy be in trouble. Hence they copied it with similar disastrous results in 2009. What did we do? Ultra conservative, we went back to what seemed to work before and we knew best. They stuck with it. End result…once again they are ahead of the game, noticable to all including referees. Status quo is yet again achieved in their favour. Obviously we were left chasing once more, pegging our hopes on individuals like FdP, Matfield and co, completely ignoring the fact its the holistic gameplan that insures lasting success.

So, although our players initially had to come to grips with adapting to way the rest of the world ( read the best ie NZ) does it, they have largely done that imo. Probably around Jakes time. Still to this day though, our coaches struggle to make the step up. They’re just not brave enough and resort to the conservative far too often, allowing Aus to not just make ground but actualy surpass us winning the last 7 from 8 or something similarly daibolical. One of the positives PdV gave SA rugby is to get the political honchos off our backs. HM should heed his warning otherwise they’ll be back!!! BUT he won’t and we will have started yet another cycle wrt that because of conservatism. It is true! WE ARE OUR OWN WORST ENEMIES!!!!

Long and winded, I know but my 2c worth…

• 690.UptheGuts: Reply to this comment

@UptheGuts-689: In a perfect world, HM would have asked any of the previous coaches to assist him. With every new appointment we lose that experience and it seems the new coach has to learn the ropes all on his own. Untill we are all fed up with the consequently dire results and he is fired and we start from scratch. YET AGAIN!!! I do this every time I wash my hair. Wash, rinse, repeat. Wash, rinse, repeat. WASH, RINSE REPEAT!!!! Fck. It’s enough to make you sick. And we have the audacity to think of HM as a student of the game or put JW or NM on a pedestal. They have failed SA rugby!!!

• 691.corporal punishment: Reply to this comment

@689 uptheguts – great post. I would interpret 2008 as pdv copying the AB attack from everywhere style that we played from late 94 onwards. In 2009 pdv changed tack dramatically, and the boks ruthlessly e plotted the AB’s over emphasis of attacking play. The ABs adapted to that in 2010 with a much more defensive orientation in selection and tactics, and this has been very successful for us. Added to that, 2009 was an incredible vintage of bin players at the peak of their game, but unfortunately injuries and age saw the boks decline from those heights in 2010 and 2011.

The boks need to vary their 2009 tactics against the ABs, because the changes we made in 2010 (plus rule changes) have weakened the effectiveness of the Bok game plan. It doesn’t need to be wholesale change (just was it wasn’t for the ab’s in 2010).

The Bok team is now looking very strong, apart from perhaps in the props, locks and sh where you are average (but certainly not weak). There is no reason why you shouldn’t compete with the ABs and ozzies on a strong footing over the next few years.

• 692.UptheGuts: Reply to this comment

@corporal punishment-691: True. He said as much, didn’t he? Wanting the Boks to play the AB’s game? But I do think it made GH think of how they they need to raise their game and not just go through the motons which they, as a coaching team, probably were at the time. Thinking back now to 2008 and comparing it to the drivel served up after that, 2009 excluded of course for obvious reasons, makes it kinda hard to take PdV made out to be a complete idiot at the time.Personally, I’ll take that “headless chicken” over the kick chase any day. Div sold out.

As for our current team and coach’s chances…we will be competitive but unless Hm sees it for what it is and make the mindshift, it will be more of the same. As Keo states above. Certain things has happened to be the cause for some optimism, like Goosen (still unproven but such is our desperation), our scrum etc but HM comments in the media sounds to much like whats gone before. Braun over brain for eg…Ai yai yai!!! The joys of a BOk supporter….

• 693.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@UptheGuts-689:

” It took us close to 10 years to restore our homegrounds as a fortress and Aus to their rightfull place, which is below us”

this part of your post caught my interest..

Aussie have won 6 of the last 7 matches between your two sides, how the fck does that make them below you?

ahhh excuse me, its that Saffa arrogance we’ve all come to love and admire..

as you were

• 694.UptheGuts: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-693: Did you read the last paragraph? Mate, honestly. You need to give up this site. Not only is it making you paranoid, yu’re getting overly argumentative. You probably should’ve stuck to your decision the last time. So, no…it’s not Saffa arrogance but Kiwi dimwittedness

• 695.UptheGuts: Reply to this comment

@UptheGuts-694: Dumb as s!

• 696.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-693: More pisgesiggie.

Comprehension skills still need development I see. You should get it when you reach the 6th grade.

• 697.DEE DAH: Reply to this comment

Great article! The Boks have always been a team of great potential but very rarely one of substance. I often chuckle when I and many others get carried away with expectation when the reality is any coach who gets a 70% win record has exceeded what can be realistically expected.
    As for Frik du Preez he is a legend but too often likes to criticize from the sidelines, what happened to the Bok ethos of not criticizing each other publicly? Are legends exempt or were these pledges not taken in the Jurassic era. As for him being better than Matfield ……ridiculous!

• 698.Ian: Reply to this comment

Instead of unsubstantiated drivel, give us some stats. What is SA’s win percentage in SA. What is their total win percentage prior to 1992? What would this stat be (i.e prior to 1992), at home?

Once you produce these figures, then we’ll talk. I do know prior to 1992 their win loss record against the All Blacks was 21-15 in their favour!

• 699.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

When we came out of isolation, and our record was positive against any other team in teh world, WERE legendary. Unfortunately, a collective mishmash of uselss incompetent halfwits at SARu have seen fit to hire a collective mishmash of incompetent halfwit coaches for a number of years, and have never seen fit to try and improve on the handover of structure or retention of intellectual property from coach to coach by instituting decent prcedures or steering committees. Instead, the have rejected and insulted what few good coaches they had, and lurched from embarrassment to embarrassment like a drunk lurching from doorway to doorway in a back alley.

i think this is good coac. Will they keep him or will they find a way to get rid of him because of
    1) quotas,
    2) politics
    3) personality issues
    4) other dumb reasons

Will they ever try and put in a collection of genius rugby brains to help guide and offer creative input? Probably not.

Now we have agood coach, we need a SARU to go professional and get a decent management – then we will return to our place at the top. In the meantime, the BA’s have done all teh things that I have talked abot, and have a80% record to show for it. They have teh drop on us fo rnow.

But we have a few things in our favour:

1) a larger rugy playing population
    2) we are just as mad about rugby (if not madder)
    3) a generally big populace for churning out forwards

• 700.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@UptheGuts-694: the statement I highlighted was still just plain arrogance… the fact youve added alittle addendum at the end stating it has ALLOWED Aus to surpass SA is still arrogance masked in “its our fault rather than Aussie deserve it:” but good to see you used that other political angle, just to cover your bases like..

wjhen will the tough , hard, physically superior SA’s stop using excuses and comprehend that maybe you arent as good as you all think you are?

@trupisero-696: hey mamparra..
    I think its you who needs a little comprehension lesson..

but hey, good to see you using the same joke I used yesterday ( I do like the way you changed it from matric to 6th grade though), true intellectual giant you are… couldnt you come up with something all by yourself? :lol: :lol:

what a mamparra…

• 701.Delki: Reply to this comment

#699 Sjambok ” lurched from embarrassment to embarrassment like a drunk lurching from doorway to doorway in a back alley.”

Hilarious – well written squire.

• 702.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@SjamBok-699: Good evocative prose.

• 703.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-700: You have deliberately mis-quoted what UptheGuts wrote and used it out of context. You know you have done this, and we all know you have done it. But you trawl through all the comments looking for opportunities like that. How sad are you? How miserable is your life?

You know you’re doing it, we know you’re doing it. Its not clever.

you are the epitome of an @rsehole

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.