Folklore has spoken … Boks by 15
27 Sep 2012
MARK KEOHANE, in Business Day Sport Monthly, writes it will be the Boks by 15 against the Aussies at Loftus on Saturday. At least that’s what history says.
Perception too often is accepted as fact. The perception of excellence in Springbok rugby is an illusion. The fact is the Springboks lose a lot of Test matches and have done so consistently over the last century.
They have a win percentage that has on occasion threatened 65% but is closer to 60%. It has always been this way. There have been some magnificent teams. Equally there have been some shockers, who have taken beatings abroad and been humiliated at home.
Time dulls the memory. Results are forgotten, folklore ensures only the good times are remembered and the good in one era become very good. The 30 metre kick to beat the All Blacks is now 60 metres. The tough men of the early 1900s were man mountains and when the current pretenders deliver a depressing result, the obvious is to hanker back to the days when Bok midfielders were more imposing than town marshalls – all 76 kilograms of them.
The modern player would not survive the amateur era. ‘In my day,’ says a player, who forgets he ever lost a Test.
‘Steak, chips and a bottle of wine,’ says another. ‘That was the pre-Test meal.’ Those were the days apparently when men were men, the Springboks were something mystical and pasta was something only the Italians ate.
And so we romance the game, listen to the stories told by those who were there, who saw the 60 metre kick, although it could have been 70 metres and take comfort that the Springboks, if not today, then most days were destroyers of opposition dreams and the ultimate challenge in world rugby.
‘You win in the Republic. Then you can call yourself a rugby player. The South African public acknowledges you can play … boy then you can play.’
You’ve heard them all …
‘A wounded Bok is a dangerous animal … There is nothing as imposing as a Bok team written off … Beware the mighty Boks … Wait till you get to altitude …’
Then we recall a glory moment when the Boks were given no chance of victory and won; when the world dismissed the challenge of those giants in green and gold and were forced to concede the greatness of those rugby men from the Republic.
The storytelling goes beyond rugby. Historically, it has been a life identity. A Springbok … it is what every white boy dreams to become. Post apartheid it is what every South African boy wants to be.
In sporting isolation the legend rose more than it grew. Mortals were immortal and no team could claim anything until they had proved it in the Republic.
Thus, for 20 years, the Boks were the best team in the world. Our rugby was of superior quality; our players dominated every South African media World XV.
Our boys kicked 70 metre penalties (forget the small matter of altitude). Those blokes overseas, they can’t even knock them over from 50 (forget the small matter of sea level).
The television images don’t lie.
The rugby media, be it in print, on television or radio, reinforce the legend.
‘You can’t call yourselves the world champions until you beat the Boks.’ That’s our response to New Zealand’s claim to have won the first ever World Cup in 1987.
And then we hosted the 1995 World Cup final and beat the All Blacks 15-12 in a final that went into extra-time. Andrew Mehrtens, ironically born in Durban, had the chance to win it for New Zealand with a drop goal attempt from 20 metres out and right in front. His kick, with less than a minute to play of normal time, missed and the game ended 9-all.
It was God’s will, said the older folk. It was written in the stars said the team management. There was no way we could lose, said the players. A greater force was guiding them.
And don’t forget that when a Jew plays for the Boks, that’s even greater confirmation defeat is never a consideration.
The All Blacks, a year later in 1996, beat the Boks four times in five, with three of the wins in South Africa. They won in Cape Town, Durban and in Pretoria.
But when they lost the last of the five Tests in Johannesburg, order was restored and the Boks had again shown the Kiwis and the world just who was the best.
As the legend grew, so too did the belief that nothing but an emphatic victory every Saturday would suffice. A failure to deliver was treated with disgust; apparently such was the rarity.
‘How? We are the Boks … We don’t lose.’
But we do, too often when reality is measured against perception.
‘Not in my day,’ screams a newspaper headline. Another of yesterday’s heroes has given up on the jersey he once wore as symbol of superiority in everything rugby and most things generally.
‘I don’t watch the kids of today. They’re soft. I’d rather mow my lawn.’
The media fuels the frenzy. Another of the all-time greats, with a Test record of nine wins in 17, says he is embarrassed to call himself a Bok if the lot that just disgraced the jersey are still called Boks.
He is so disgusted at the Boks losing to Scotland he tells the media he is considering giving back his Bok blazer.
‘Scotland!’
Our game is in crisis. Legends want to mow the lawn and give back their prized green and gold Bok jersey.
‘It’s the blacks,’ say some. ‘They’ve destroyed everything and now they’ve even destroyed our rugby.’
Another of those giants of yesteryear is inspired to let the nation know there won’t be a future for the Boks by the year 2000.
The team will be black, they will be called something else and they will play in another colour jersey is his prophecy. But he no longer objects because at least the legacy of the green jersey, the Bok and the King’s crown won’t suffer more embarrassment.
‘This lot … in my day … when the game still had scrums, when a punch sorted the kings from the queens and when players could run, pass, dummy, side step and tackle … In my day.’
Bok rugby is again in crisis, screams another newspaper front-page lead story.
Apparently another legend of yesteryear is embarrassed. He is even thinking of moving to Australia because if he had ever produced such a passionless display he would have fled out of fear for his life; alternatively he would have done what men of those days did and claimed himself unworthy of the jersey and all things South Africa. He too would have fled the country, but the measure of his quality is that it would have been before they kicked him out.
The great grandfather is sullen. The grandfather tells the son it is because of the hurt at the Boks losing to Australia.
The blacks and ANC government are no longer to blame. It’s the cash. Professionalism and money are the evils.
The players are spoilt and greedy. Then the grandfather tells the eight year old. ‘Ah you would have loved it … Victor Matfield (paaaaleeeeeese). He wouldn’t have lasted a minute. Frik du Preez, now that is a lock. A giant of a man. Taller than anything these days, stronger, heavier and quicker than Habana. He could run, tackle, kick and pass. And boy could he scored tries, and he could drink.’
The boy logs onto the internet and wishes it was Frik out there earlier in the day.
The Boks he believed could not lose were not the real Boks.
The headline demands change. The coach must go; those imposters in green and gold must go. Alternatively, rugby in South Africa, as it was once known, will be dead.
Another of yesterday’s heroes says he fears the rest of the world thinks of us as Wales. He says there is no future for the game and he gives his 10 point plan to restore order the next week. It involves kicking out half the team and replacing the coach.
‘In my day,’ he tells the reporter. ‘Doc Craven would not have tolerated this. That guy’s career would be over. Those were the standards Craven demanded. This legend then boasts about the physicality of the Boks of his era and the brutality of the tackles and the magic ways of the wings and the length of penalty goals our flyhalves used to have to kick … in the wet, with a heavy leather ball, into a wind (not the breeze we get today … a wind) and in conditions that were mudbaths … not the carpets you call a rugby field.
Oh, and in those days you played for 80 minutes, he adds. You got up after being knocked out and you played. You broke your collar bone and you played. That was what the jersey meant to him and his teammates.
Now guys last 50 minutes and even that is too much because it is so easy to play club rugby in Japan for outrageous sums of money. It’s rugby’s blasphemy.
This legend too is thinking of heading to Australia where rugby union’s not even the first choice sport; yet those okes still beat us. What next?’
The national coach fronts the media, as if on trial for treason. A nation has been lied to, betrayed and insulted.
The coach promises the players will work harder, restore credibility and be true to the history of the jersey.
We hold our breath, we pat ourselves on the back that even in these foreign and dark times we can show such loyalty and we vow to watch the Boks the following week.
The grandson asks the grandfather if we can win.
‘We are the Boks,’ he says. ‘We don’t lose.’
And the grandson smiles. Order has been restored.
The legacy of the Boks is not dead. The game apparently is no longer in crisis and we will not be the Wales of rugby.
He logs onto the Internet and smiles even more. The legends of yesteryear won’t be going to Australia after all and one of the finest legends has laughed off reports that the Boks are a team that historically loses 40 percent of their Tests.
‘Not in my day,’ he has told the reporter. ‘And definitely not on Saturday. Boks to take it by 15 because we never lose.’
– This article first appeared in the October issue of Business Day Sport Monthly. The magazine is distributed free with Business Day newspaper on the second last Friday of each month.

703 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 » Show All
27 Sep 2012, 15:07 pm
…And he sang as he watched and waited till his billy boiled…
27 Sep 2012, 15:08 pm
BlRugby |
Quade won’t play for Aus without improvements
——————————————————————————–
27 September 2012, 14:39
Wallabies flyhalf Quade Cooper said he would not play for Australia unless changes were made to the “toxic” environment surrounding the team, which he felt was “destroying” him as a “player and as a person”.
The 24-year-old has been sidelined for Australia’s last two Rugby Championship tests in South Africa and Argentina because of a knee problem but sparked huge controversy with tweets and comments made over the weekend.
Offered the chance to clarify his position on Thursday in an interview with Fox Sports, with whom he has a contract, Cooper said he would not play for Australia or sign a new deal with the Australian Rugby Union (ARU) unless improvements were made.
“I’m just trying to be the best that I can be and that’s why I don’t want to be involved in that environment,” he said.
“For me to improve as a player and as a person, you want to be in the best possible environment. I feel that environment is destroying me as a person and as a player so I can’t do my best to represent myself, my country and my friends to the best of my ability.”
Cooper attacked the lack of a dedicated training facility for the Wallabies and reiterated his criticism of the defensive gameplans of coach Robbie Deans.
“If you are going to pick an attacking player, especially at 10, you sort of want to work on playing attacking rugby,” he added.
New Zealand-born Cooper initially alluded to his criticisms in two tweets, now erased from his feed @quadecooper.
In a brief statement on Thursday, the ARU said it had written to Cooper “in relation to social media comments” but had “no intention of conducting those discussions with Quade in the public arena”.
At his best a mercurial talent whose unpredictability can unpick the game’s increasingly tight defences, Cooper helped Queensland Reds to their first Super Rugby title and Australia to a first Tri-nations title in a decade last year.
He had less success at last year’s World Cup in New Zealand, where he was vilified as the host country’s “public enemy No 1″ and ended the tournament with a serious knee injury.
REDS DEAL
Cooper has signed a new three-year contract with the Reds but it will not be ratified until a Wallabies deal is completed. His current deal runs out at the end of the year.
“I want to play for the Reds, but the next component is out of my hands,” he said.
“If there’s no change to the current environment, I don’t what I’ll have to do then …
“What I mean by the environment being toxic is that you expect it to be like a family environment,” he added. “You want to have a happy environment, more so like we do at the Reds.”
Cooper said the issue had come to a head after Australia’s narrow 23-19 victory over Argentina on the Gold Coast two weeks ago, where the Wallabies had to overcome a 13-point deficit in the last quarter.
“We won the game (but) the way it was spoken about by officials and stuff it was like it was a loss,” he said.
“You don’t need that as a player and as an environment, you want to walk off the field and believe that you have the confidence of the coaches and the players.”
Queensland Rugby chief Jim Carmichael was moved to release a public statement on Wednesday in an attempt to ease the fears of the province’s fans.
“Let me reassure you that Quade has no interest in leaving the Reds,” it read. “He … has reaffirmed his commitment to our organisation on several occasions, and again as late as yesterday afternoon.”
Cooper’s recent comments along with another saying he wanted to play with Sonny Bill Williams – the All Black who has been linked with rugby league’s Sydney Roosters – has further fuelled rumours that Cooper might be preparing to quit the code.
“I want to play with Sonny, if nothing is changed and my hand is forced … it’s not about money, it’s about being happy in what I’m doing,” he said
bloody hell…this feud between Cooper and Deans hitting all time lows …
27 Sep 2012, 15:08 pm
@David-532: Actually played a test
with a type of leg brace.Didn,t affect his speed.
27 Sep 2012, 15:09 pm
@cane-521:
to be fair though, the last i ever wanted to see carlos do was kick.
flip, he was so cheeky with the ball in hand i quite liked it.
quade couldn’t tie carlos’ boot laces if he wanted too.
27 Sep 2012, 15:10 pm
the last thing i ever wanted to see carlos do was kick
27 Sep 2012, 15:11 pm
Nothing much happens here while I’m working, I see.
Thought I would be entertained during my strike action
27 Sep 2012, 15:11 pm
It’s offical. Gat has Poppa’ed
27 Sep 2012, 15:12 pm
@Dawn-556:
Are you following up your DTCs?
@ryecatcher-553:
Tough little bugg*r. I’ll always remember him in the classic ’73 BaaBaas v. ABs getting tackled into touch by two forwards and leaping up to grab one of them by the shirt and lift (not help) him off the ground.
quade cooper can go ***** himself to be honest
i do not tolerate that kind of attitude
he must fokkok to play soccer with that italian queen.
@cane-548: Thanks Cane.Please post
me the comments(Good ones)
@Heavens Game-549: hahaha uyalithanda gqithi igolo! udla abo magogo lapho ePitoli!
HG aka Deon Helberg…
@Dawn-556: Working hard on striking eh
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-554: The best was Hendrik Gerber’s hit on Carlos and asking him who is king now
27 Sep 2012, 15:13 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-560: With Toti ?
27 Sep 2012, 15:13 pm
@David-532:
I do David.
I do.
Batty seemed to like punching people, he had to look up to.
And Talking of little guys!
Malta vs the 3rd Reich.
27 Sep 2012, 15:15 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-560:what attitude?
quade kneed richie on the head boet, hy vat nie kak nie!
27 Sep 2012, 15:16 pm
@WP-Forever-558:
OK
So you read my facebook stuff.
27 Sep 2012, 15:17 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-555: and for Bakkies the last thing I wanted to see him do was pass the ball – it would have been an act of cowardice.
27 Sep 2012, 15:18 pm
What many people around the rugby world forget is that the Springboks (more than any other rugby nation) do not play to their full potential. This is why we have such passionate and even aggressive supporters.
South Africa has had every single obstacle that could possibly be thrown at us to make our rugby path more challenging. Here is a small snippet of what we have to endure that no other rugby nation does:
- Quotas
- Political instability
- Majority of our population is poverty-stricken
- Social tension and racial barriers
- The SARU administration (no further comment needed)
- Springbok emblem taken away
- Coaches selected on skin colour rather than credentials
- We play a very physical, aggressive brand of rugby and this does not play in our favour with referee officiating.
- We lose more players to foreign countries than any other rugby nation (by miles)
- Disadvantageous travel schedule for trinations (admittedly this has been corrected now)
- isolation in the past etc.
- lots lots more
The Springboks have always had a much bigger cross to bear than any other rugby nation and as a result, we are never given the chance to play to our full potential. Many Springbok supporters can feel this and it is the reason we are so aggressively passionate about the Springboks.
Things are slowly moving in the right direction and we will click soon.
The path to success is to keep our traditional Boere muscle and aggression, but to harness the indigenous talent we have at our disposal too…. Not only will this be good for social unity, but our rugby will improve drastically as a result.
Go Springboks!
27 Sep 2012, 15:18 pm
@mikeybrass-563:

ja, he knocked the shitt out of him and the blues lost that game 50 something to 20 something? they should have subbed imo.
@mikeybrass-564:
no, that one with the looks.
27 Sep 2012, 15:19 pm
Strange that Spies wont be at Test….
Converting pressure into points
2012-09-27 14:17
My recovery is going very well. My pin is coming out of my finger on Friday. It’s been six weeks so far, and I’ll have to wait and see how much longer it will be from here. I have to be patient through the healing process.
While watching the game from the sidelines is always frustrating, the rest has been really good. The only time you get to rest nowadays is when you’re injured.
I won’t be at Loftus this Saturday, but will definitely be watching from my guesthouse. I prefer viewing the game from home, and plus watching it on TV, the angles are much better!
While the Wallabies have never beaten the Springboks at Loftus, statistics prove something about the history, and are not necessarily an indicator to the future.
I don’t think the Quade Cooper controversy is something the Wallabies can ignore; obviously, they have had their own problems to sort out. However, those issues are part of the game and I think the Wallabies will have focused on putting that behind them.
Equally, I have no doubt the Springboks will focus on their own job. We are now back on home soil and hungry for victory. I think that the Boks’ focus point this week would have been on the importance of finishing off our opportunities. We have tended to create and not finish. Against the Wallabies, it’s key we capitalise on the opportunities we create and put them under pressure.
While the forwards have been playing really well of late, we must keep in mind it’s a team performance. I think that the backs would like to improve their conversion rate, and turn pressure into points. It will be great if the backs make a good impression this weekend, but again the pressure rests with the forwards to lay a solid foundation.
I feel it might well prove an open, fast-paced game with both sides looking to play with width. I think Australia are keen to play more of an attacking brand of rugby, and the Boks are intent on converting pressure into points. I think we may see some exciting rugby this Saturday.
It’s exciting changes for both teams at flyhalf. Johan Goosen has shown what a good player he is. He will come out in his run-on debut full of fire and excitement. His opposite number, Kurtley Beale is a world class player and will keep the Boks guessing the whole game. Therefore, it will be key that our defence remains intact.
Morne Steyn has been under some pressure, but I think the break will do him well. Now that I’ve been injured, I realise how much it means to take some time off from the game mentally.
It’s not easy dealing with all the pressure when you’re in the situation, but it’s part of the game and something you have to handle. You need a strong character and most importantly, you need to know where you’re headed. You also really have to decide who you want to listen to. It’s key to stick to the people close to you and focus on your own goals.
The breakdown battle always has a huge influence on the outcome, so if we can force a few turnovers and be clinical in our execution, I feel we can get the upper hand in the game.
I think Duane Vermeulen’s been doing really well. I felt sorry for him coming into the side straight after injury, but he is a quality player and has slotted in well. I think he will make big impact for the Boks.
I don’t know where the game will be won or lost. My guess is on the scoreboard! But jokes aside, I think the Boks will win by more than six points.
Turning to the other clash this weekend, I think it’s going to be an uphill battle for the All Blacks in Argentina. It’s going to be a very tight affair, and it would be great if the Pumas could knock the All Blacks over.
The Pumas are really going to come out firing and if they can get ahead quickly on the scoreboard, they can really make life difficult for the All Blacks like they did for us in Argentina.
I don’t think the All Blacks have the edge upfront. I think the packs are evenly matched. I also wouldn’t say New Zealand is the dominant forward pack in the competition. Our pack enjoyed the upper hand in Dunedin.
Coming back from injury, Dan Carter brings a lot of experience and composure to the side, but if the Pumas are able to get under the All Blacks’ skin, they will make life difficult for them.
I would actually like to put my money on Argentina to sneak home by two points!
27 Sep 2012, 15:20 pm
Silly little rant by keow and confirms my poor opnion of him. Looks like it was held in reserve for when his imagination failed him. Also shows that keow is someone who has never really played a hard game of rugby, sneering at the older players, offering nothing to the new. Driving his coke fuelled car by looking in the rear view mirror.
I’m worried about Heineken. He reminds me of Strooli, Muir, and a string of other boneheads we’ve had “coaching” the Boks. Why does Tac blindly support him? We dominated the AB’s (lol). Looks at the scoreboard boet. If Heineken didn’t know Steyn was off form and his coaching “team” couldn’t bring him back; he isn’t up to much. The new lightie missed at least one snot at goal as well. ffs.
Seems to me that the only thing Heinie can analyse is a scale. I hope I’m wrong.
27 Sep 2012, 15:21 pm
@Transformation-566:
no, this ‘i dont want to play if the situation doesn’t suit me’ kak.
show him the door and give a kid who wants to be there a chance.
27 Sep 2012, 15:21 pm
Fark….hope Spies is correct about Argies / Kiwis
27 Sep 2012, 15:22 pm
Quade Cooper, like most Kiwis, are welcome to quit rugby.
27 Sep 2012, 15:23 pm
@WP-Forever-558:
Do you feel like a big important person now?
27 Sep 2012, 15:24 pm
@RL-568:
i liked bakkies more when he didn’t even hit back at an oppostion player taking cheap shots.
when he was cool as a cowboy, playing mind games with them.
just that wry smile that said it all…’so you think you can dance?’…
27 Sep 2012, 15:26 pm
the world deserves to see bakkies botha a few more times.
27 Sep 2012, 15:26 pm
The Black Caps brought it back, WTF !!, I had stopped watching thinking its over rover!!!
27 Sep 2012, 15:27 pm
kiwis and sri lanka tie!!!!!!!!
Super over coming up!
27 Sep 2012, 15:28 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-577:
Sharpe will probably target Etzebeth again.
Hope his able to keep his cool.
27 Sep 2012, 15:29 pm
@Dawn-576:
Nope.
27 Sep 2012, 15:30 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-570: Totti is a magazine model too back in Italy. A real mamma’s boy to boot.
Yeah the Blues got snooted
And King Carlos was left looking for his crown jewels
27 Sep 2012, 15:31 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-577:
Bakkies, had/has the brain of an ant.
(Apologies to any ants out there.)
Playing mind games was not Bakkies forte.
27 Sep 2012, 15:35 pm
@Dawn-576:
I hope you are back at work soon Dawn.
It is nice to flex the proletariat muscle. But we all need the dignity of useful employment.
27 Sep 2012, 15:36 pm
@cane-585:
Not likely
Will go back when Comrade Vavi says it’s OK
We all need dignity of living wage!
27 Sep 2012, 15:36 pm
@cane-584: Five-test lock Luke Romano is likely to be a prime target and gained an appreciation of what to expect when watching the Primera division football game between River Plate and Racing Club on television a day after the All Blacks arrived.
“It was only 12 minutes in and there was a riot in the stands, security guards were getting bashed up. If it only takes them 12 minutes to get into that sort of frenzy it’s going to be interesting,”he said.
kakking their broeks?
27 Sep 2012, 15:37 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-560: Please excuse my ignorance but which “Italian queen”?
27 Sep 2012, 15:38 pm
@Jeraldjay-581:
i’m sure he will after the trumped up kiwi coordinated suspension kak but i think he’ll get outthought in any case.
@mikeybrass-583:
ja ok, that’ll work.
@cane-584:
god i wish that ant will be back to teach you a lesson you long deserve.
27 Sep 2012, 15:39 pm
@Transformation-587:
Dont think rugby is gonna start any riots in Argentina
27 Sep 2012, 15:39 pm
Excellent article Keo-dragon! A lot of Muppits dont like it cos it forces them to think about this subject.
Although, my view is that it is a good thing though – that we demand those standards, that we look to the legends of yesteryear and that we BELIEVE at all times that the Boks should never lose.
I have too many English friends and colleagues who are too “pragmatic” about it. They will bet on the other team, they will openly call the game as a loss for their country.
NEVER may South Africans do that!
You might say “it will be tough”, “Im not sure” etc etc. but always believe the Boks CAN do it because they are always able to beat anyone, anywhere!
This extends to SA sport as in general and to the country a whole – we should always demand the best from ourselves, our public servants, the govt and so on.
What I agree with that is NOT good is ex-Boks rubbishing the current players.
27 Sep 2012, 15:40 pm
@cane-585: it is striking “season” in SA at the moment…i saw a comment on FB that said “if khaya doesn’t win SA Idols, we STRIKE”
27 Sep 2012, 15:40 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-577: Totally agree! He was the best at just laughing at the pathetic attempt to hurt him
@cane-584: Dont be a d1ckhead your whole life Cane.
27 Sep 2012, 15:41 pm
@grant10-574: me too, but his reasoning is off, if NZ are the equal of Argentina’s pack then surely by virtue of their superior backs NZ will win.
The Argentinian forwards need to be better than NZ’s, they need to take their 3-point opportunities and score at least one try.
27 Sep 2012, 15:41 pm
@Transformation-592: Saffas are becoming like the French
27 Sep 2012, 15:42 pm
@Transformation-592:
Mal cowntry right or wrong!!!
(Apologies to Midnight Oil)
27 Sep 2012, 15:43 pm
This Southie fellow can bowl, I hope we don’t give Parnell the super over!!!, don’t fancy chasing 30
27 Sep 2012, 15:43 pm
Hey Bakkies: “Knock, knock.”
27 Sep 2012, 15:44 pm
@XhosaKid-597:
Waseem to you
And SA not playing
27 Sep 2012, 15:45 pm
@Sharksgirl-588:
the kid who cried in the european nations football cup final.
quite the playboy and the ladies love him but i wouldn’t say he’s the prettiest player to grace a football pitch.
Pages: « 1 … 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 » Show All