Frans fails late fitness test
28 Sep 2012
Frans Steyn has been ruled out of Saturday’s Test at Loftus having failed to recover sufficiently from an ankle injury.
This means Jean de Villiers will shift to 12, Jaco Taute will make his Test debut at 13, and Juan de Jongh will warm the bench.
Coenie Oosthuizen also failed a late fitness test and has been replaced by Pat Cilliers.
‘Frans went for a number of scans and X-rays this week and after specialist consultation it was decided that he should rather not play against Australia,’ said Springbok team doctor Craig Roberts. ‘Coenie, who played 35 minutes of rugby for the Free State Cheetahs last weekend, had stiffness in the neck and shoulder area after the game.
‘After sitting out training on Monday, he felt much better and took part in the field sessions on Tuesday and Wednesday, but based on the nature of his injury and the initial symptoms early in the week, we felt that it would be better to withdraw him from the Test. Coenie is a young player who has a lot of rugby ahead of him and with injuries like these it’s always better to gradually build him back to full match fitness.’
Springboks (revised) – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jean de Villiers, 12 Jaco Taute, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermuelen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Pat Cilliers, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Marcel Coetzee, 20 Elton Jantjies, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Pat Lambie.

267 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 » Show All
28 Sep 2012, 14:18 pm
I can see a great era for bok rugby if Heyneke Meyer can “fine tune” his gameplan ie: forget kick and chase and use the players strenghs to form a gameplan, instead of crowbarring players to fit his game plan which is dated.
28 Sep 2012, 14:19 pm
I hear that Suzie has shown her face again….a few players have been stricken with food poisoning.
28 Sep 2012, 14:19 pm
@Chris4Lions-38:
No.
I said that Frans Steyn is not at his best and JdV is a better 12 than he is a 13.
Wake up.
28 Sep 2012, 14:25 pm
So lets understand this
JdJ is in the test squad before Taute
JdJ is JdV’s provincial partner
JdJ has test experience
Newbie Taute leapfrogs JdJ into the starting 15
Fluck me, what next
All hail the Mad Messiah!
28 Sep 2012, 14:25 pm
@John Galt-53: No player who played outside Morne Steyn will be at their best. Morne made things hard for de Villiers and he did the same to Frans.
Morne doent know how to use or create space for his outside players. Select Juan or Frans outside Goosen and they will get their mojo back.
28 Sep 2012, 14:26 pm
SA will win this week against a vrot Wallabie team
Say by 8-14
It will be hailed as the “Belated Dawn Of The Messiah”
And then the AB’s will bliksem the Messiah & Devotees back to reality
28 Sep 2012, 14:27 pm
@capetown-54: Unfortunately for de Jong is that he is there for one reason only. I dont think Meyer rates him
28 Sep 2012, 14:31 pm
I think we can safely assume that the backline has not been displayiing their ability with Morne there so I am holding thumbs.
28 Sep 2012, 14:34 pm
Overweight and slow no great loss.
28 Sep 2012, 14:35 pm
Why is several people so concerned about Taute leapfrogging JdJ. Who said there was a waiting list. JDJ is not on form and neither is Frans Steyn since his return. HM has the right to pick who ever he wants in what ever sequence. PLayers must standup and deliver. There is nothing much wrong with HM’s gameplan. There is a lot wrong with the players’ execution of the gameplan.
28 Sep 2012, 14:36 pm
@wallabie.-52:
I’m afraid not.
It’s just your poor convict personal hygene.
28 Sep 2012, 14:37 pm
@Chris4Lions-57:
Meyer not big on small frames
28 Sep 2012, 14:38 pm
Aren’t you fellows watching e-cricket?
28 Sep 2012, 14:40 pm
@Amerifikaner-60:
Its very poor player management …. along with a good few other examples
According to “broad” opinion, with PdV losses were due to the coach and wins the players
As per your post, with Meyer losses are due to players
Please explain how these opinions are determined from a couch
28 Sep 2012, 14:40 pm
@greatest13gerber-62: Well i guess every coach including me will pick a good big player over a good small player. Unlucky for de Jongh
28 Sep 2012, 14:41 pm
As we are taalking centtres here the current crop is not that special> I am waiting for the likes of Jordaan and JP du Plessis ato come though – Taute? not sure but he may come though. JDJ is no loss.
28 Sep 2012, 14:44 pm
@capetown-54: de jongh dances after scoring tries, meyer hates that!
28 Sep 2012, 14:45 pm
got the Pakistanis well and truly on the ropes now!
Heeeehaaaaaaaa
28 Sep 2012, 14:47 pm
@Transformation-67:
He is taking SA rugby back into the dark ages – on and off the field
But okay, have to endure till end of 2013, at which point Brendan Venter will take over in 2014
28 Sep 2012, 14:48 pm
@Transformation-67: In his defence though, that doesn’t happen very often
28 Sep 2012, 14:50 pm
Let’s count Taute’s ” unfortunate ” knock ons” tomorrow
28 Sep 2012, 14:51 pm
@Transformation-67:
@Chris4Lions-65:
true true
28 Sep 2012, 14:53 pm
wp under 21 vs sharks a bit later….transie…if you read this watch Swiel at 10 for wp…….would like to get your opinion on him….on supersport
28 Sep 2012, 14:54 pm
I rate JdJ but he has gone missing in some big, tight games.
Most recently against the Sharks in the S15 semi. JP had a stormer and ran over and/or round him twice.
Thats probably what has held him back.
28 Sep 2012, 14:55 pm
oh hell…Pakistan back with a vengeance!!!!!
28 Sep 2012, 14:55 pm
@capetown-69:
The darker players will bring back the light!
28 Sep 2012, 14:56 pm
@Transformation-67: why are the guppies so quiet – said that we were going to target Kircher after Morne. No movement from them at all, weak very weak.
28 Sep 2012, 14:56 pm
oh fark….no ball…..this is hectic stuff…
28 Sep 2012, 14:58 pm
proteas going pear shaped
28 Sep 2012, 14:58 pm
To add to the ****
Bigger, kicking Kirchner over smaller, running Lambie is supposedly due to colour not Kirchner’s size and Meyer’s preferance
Bigger Taute over smaller JdJ is supposedly due to size and Meyer’s preferance
What a crock of sh*t by the Messiah and his Devotees
28 Sep 2012, 14:59 pm
If anyone happens to know of a sniper in the stands, give the call to take Albie out, NOW.
@grant10-78: is there choking going on?
@John Galt-74:
Too small and already into the self preserving mode after his knee operation
He can’t/doesn’t pass to his right but that not a pre-requisit for those centres, JdV also doesn’t pass left or right
28 Sep 2012, 15:00 pm
Proteas not choking they’re just bowling way too short!
28 Sep 2012, 15:01 pm
For all the Albie Morkel fans. Admit he’s k@k.
28 Sep 2012, 15:02 pm
Ok sniper, take the other Morkel out as well, NOW. Forfucksakesmanthesemorkelscanmakesofuckingangryattimes. Bowling se ma.
28 Sep 2012, 15:03 pm
@pompies2-85: He has fans?
28 Sep 2012, 15:03 pm
@grant10-73: ok, will check him out for sure, heard a lot from stormersboy, pedigree & robzim about him…
28 Sep 2012, 15:08 pm
@RL-77: eish, since meyer has now dropped their boytjie with the stupendous stats marcell and with lambie growing a forest on his bum, the guppys can’t get themselves to even TALK about the Boks, you go to Sharkwsorld and the topic of discussion is Meyer Bosman moving to FLYHALF
28 Sep 2012, 15:08 pm
This Meyer still got the wrong modus operandi running through his brain..
He will still come unstuck
JdJ should have gone to 12 .. it was actually a gift sent out of heaven that Frans Steyn was injured but now HM has fckd up AGAIN by going with his big blond boertjies and fckd the little brown dynamite in the eye one more time in pursuit of his bigger is better fck up white is right supremacist stance.
Good luck Herr Heyneke I reckon you gonna need it.
Pienaar at 9 and JdV / Taute in midfield with Kirchner at back is WRONG again.. and same one dimensional nonentity going to unfold with Goosen having to try create miracles out of nothing because every one else around him is one dimensional vokmavoort inaccuracy personified.
28 Sep 2012, 15:09 pm
Have you ever seen such poor bowling…
Bowling fast bowlers when the spinners are doing the trick…
Captaincy…
@RL-82: fark….chaos out there….i cant keep up bud….13 from 11 required for Pakistan….3 wickets left…
@pompies2-85: John Galt wanted Albie Morkel
28 Sep 2012, 15:11 pm
@Gumboots-91: Honestly, beyond belief this. Unfuckingreal.
28 Sep 2012, 15:11 pm
Choking early… LOL
28 Sep 2012, 15:12 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-94:
Can you believe it… Like obsession with size in rugby – the obsession with fast bowling here…
Joke
28 Sep 2012, 15:14 pm
fark….Pakistan need 9 from 6 balls
2 wickets standing
28 Sep 2012, 15:15 pm
9 from 5 balls now
28 Sep 2012, 15:16 pm
Morne Morkel is the Morne Steyn of cricket…..Remind me why we watch sport, someone? Anyone?
28 Sep 2012, 15:16 pm
Can you believe it….
Full toss no sqaure leg
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 » Show All