Frans fails late fitness test

Frans Steyn has been ruled out of Saturday’s Test at Loftus having failed to recover sufficiently from an ankle injury.

This means Jean de Villiers will shift to 12, Jaco Taute will make his Test debut at 13, and Juan de Jongh will warm the bench.

Coenie Oosthuizen also failed a late fitness test and has been replaced by Pat Cilliers.

‘Frans went for a number of scans and X-rays this week and after specialist consultation it was decided that he should rather not play against Australia,’ said Springbok team doctor Craig Roberts. ‘Coenie, who played 35 minutes of rugby for the Free State Cheetahs last weekend, had stiffness in the neck and shoulder area after the game.

‘After sitting out training on Monday, he felt much better and took part in the field sessions on Tuesday and Wednesday, but based on the nature of his injury and the initial symptoms early in the week, we felt that it would be better to withdraw him from the Test. Coenie is a young player who has a lot of rugby ahead of him and with injuries like these it’s always better to gradually build him back to full match fitness.’

Springboks (revised) – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jean de Villiers, 12 Jaco Taute, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermuelen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Pat Cilliers, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Marcel Coetzee, 20 Elton Jantjies, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Pat Lambie.

267 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 » Show All

• 101.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-93:
    ODI’s Transie.

Not this biff bosh bash stuff.

I mean, Umar Farking Gul…

• 102.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-100: AB has made a few fuckups with his field……more than a few.

• 103.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@grant10-98:

What a joke… Poor captaincy…

• 104.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

Well done Pakistan….

Weakest captaincy in the history of cricket…

What a joke…

• 105.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

Deargodsofcricket. Well done Pakistan, UmarGulyoufuckwit….

And the sporting weekend starts off with a fuckingBOOM instead of a BANG.

• 106.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

Don’t want to single out players but jir the Morkel bro’s leaked too many.

Still in the competition though, hope Dale will be ok for Sunday.

Backs against the wall now.

Fok.

• 107.RL: Reply to this comment

Chokers be choking – why did Morkel bowl? Were the spinner tired.

• 108.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Dont care too much for this form of the game.

Good for a bit of fun but i dont get riled up at all about it.

• 109.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok-106: Single them out, they were KAK. I have never got the ‘obsession’ with these 2….

• 110.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-93: Can believe that. Another thing. What is it with the Morne’s? Seem to be eating too much peanut butter and bread.

• 111.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

4 overs of spin left and he bowls fast bowlers on a spinning wicket….

Dumb dumber dumbest….

• 112.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-101: Do you recall our conversation regarding Robbie” no name” Peterson vs Albie Morkel, until white /black south africans start looking at things on merit not on perception, our teams will continue to battle.

• 113.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-104:

calm down.

you’ve said that five times already.

dry your ***** and move on.

very poor captaincy by de villiers.

slow and low to win the day.

• 114.grant10: Reply to this comment

Ai man…..

Kak start to sporting weekend….

Farkit!

• 115.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@gunther-113:

Ja you need brains to captain a cricket side mate. You have also just said it. Kudos to you.

• 116.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@gunther-113: We still in it, but under seriousfuckingpressure already.
    Yes Gunther – dreadful captaincy. The Pretoria sportsmen are truly screwingwiththenationalteams :)

• 117.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-116:

They are messing up our sport! :lol:

• 118.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-112:
    Read my reply to Trans.

Wasnt referring to this form of the game.

And you’re the only one making it a black white thing. Every time you bring it up. Without fail.

Are you still ‘owning’ people at knowledge? hehehe.

• 119.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

HD in the studio calling AB’s decision to use the fast fellows, a “blip” in his decision making. More than a fuckingblip I dare say……

• 120.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-117: In the national interest, I feel a tent should be deposited over Tswane and it’s outlying areas, thereby sparing the rest of us any more of their “sporting greats”.

• 121.gunther: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-116:

@Gumboots-115:

calm down girls.

he admitted he’d made a few errors.

crazy to have bolwed Morkel instead of Duminy.

also 133 off 20 for only six wickets?

what’s up with that?

spinners paradise out there, should have played faf instead of levi too.

he can’t bat any worse he gives you another spin option and is a far better fielder.

• 122.gunther: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-112:

it’s not an either or.

why is it always about colour with you?

in my opinion they both play.

stop whining and hurry up with my new chequebook.

• 123.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@gunther-121:

Admitting doesn’t change the result mate! We lost when we should have won. Like our rugby I guess…

• 124.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

Woah John Galt what a cop out.

You rate Albie yet you’ve never rated Robbie but since it’s turning out Robbie is more accomplished of the two you’re suddenly ‘not taking this form of the game very seriously’?

No dispute it doesn’t carry as much weight as Tests but neither of these 2 have proven themselves at that in any case.

• 125.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

Oh my! The testosterone pinkies? In a moment of dire need it is always the brutish(from brutus beefcakes) , ugly, violent, thuggish, bully, forcing-the -unworkable option they turn to. Long my the Kalli-Morkels live.
    Violent speed from big, monster pinkies on a 300% spinner’s wickets, violence in the thugby (and even tomorrow), ugly association football. What more?

No guile, no finesse just plain unadulterated brutality is the call – that is the PINK fashion response.

• 126.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

Am I reading correctly? Is Taute playing 12 and De Villiers 13?

• 127.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

Because PINK too is a colour , that’s why.

• 128.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@Neilanate-127:

Pretoria’s provincial colours…

• 129.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-123:

it happens in sport.

it’s not the first time and it won’t be the last.

he still has a lot to learn and he’ll be the first to admit it.

if you know of someone bettter than write to the UCB.

dry your eyes first though,

• 130.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

Is the unthinkable, sick hope (never mind expectation) that both India and Australia can be beaten on a spinner’s wicket which becomes more so with every completed game?
    Oh! The romantics are out in force again with their Keo-like romanticism.

• 131.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-128:

How apt.
    Is the team playing in Pretoria PINK too tomorrow? And the Wallabies in their green option?

• 132.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@gunther-129:

You seem to be crying! I’m laughing at his stupidity. A school under 9 captain would have noticed that the spinners were really hard to get away and the fast bowlers were travelling. Anyways we lost so the result won’t change. It is a blog and we are all entitled to our opinions and not just you. Remember that, unless you own the blog of course…

• 133.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

Aussies going to be in kak here batting 2nd on this wicket. 3 Spinners for India…….

• 134.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

John Galt & Gunther , it is about perception and perception is brought about by environmental influence and race is linked to environment, hence I have to my black friends when they all the same, eg, Dean Furman is a better centre mid than Thanduyise Khuboni. John’s dismissal of Robbie P smelt of exactly the same blatant ignorance, until we address racial stereotype we kidding ourselves

• 135.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-132:

You didn’t answer my question?

• 136.grant10: Reply to this comment

go India….!

hope moer of a double whammy for the Aussies…starting now and ending with a clobbering at Loftus tomorrow….heeehaaaa

• 137.grant10: Reply to this comment

anyway this 20 over stuff is kiss and cuddle….but I still hate losing …

• 138.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

Poor pedigreed dogfood does not even want to belief and thus acknowledge that Yuvraj and Raina are better spinners than the best the Proteas can offer?

You reap what you sow stupid.

• 139.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-134:
    Boet, I seriously dont have the energy for this.

Let me just say that its all in your head. Its your sh it that you need to deal with.

Im out.

• 140.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@gunther-135:

I think I did! An under 9 captain would have done better. Choose one!

• 141.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

Sri Lanka is truly one of the coolest countries I have had the pleasure of visiting. In terms of friendliness,joyful noise and living each day as a celebration; they are only matched by the peoples of India.
    Funny how when returning from Sri Lanka or India, one realises just whatamiserableandfuckingbitterbek nation we South Africans are. (Obviously there are exceptions to each of my generalisations)

• 142.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-141:

I have had the pleasure of visiting India too! The people are great. Most have very little but they don’t make excuses about anything. Loved it.

• 143.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Puma-19: 100% correct

• 144.katman: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-71: Look at you, brave impi, willing the white man to fail. Give this man a farm.

• 145.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-134:

As you have them on the ropes reeling, they cowardly withdraw.
    What can you expect from the always sidetracking, misleading, just-’joking’ , sarcastic , distorting, twisting, dishonest ones?

• 146.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-142: Exactly. Which is why our national sports of whinging, bitterness and ‘freeze the miserable facial expressions’ really depresses me for the 1st few days back home…..(and then sadly, one get’s sucked up in our national psyche of misery again).

The Indian and Sri Lankan people KNOW how to live, and I reckon they also have the answer to that age old question: “Why am I here?”.

• 147.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Neilanate-138: Where did I mention our spinners vs India’s? All I said was that the Aussies are going to deflate quickly (almost as fast as your erection will when the Proteas beat Australia) batting 2nd on this wicket facing the Indian spinners….

Yes, I do believe our spinners can cause Australia some strife.

• 148.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Neilanate-138: there you are celebrating a Proteas loss ExtraBallas!

• 149.katman: Reply to this comment

O god, da kommie alibama oek nou.

• 150.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-132:

Who said you weren’t an entitled to an opinion?

You got called for bleating like a five year old.

So who for captain?

@XhosaKid-134:

It always seems to be on a Friday too.

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.