Sharks out-boot Bulls

JON CARDINELLI reports on the Sharks’ 13-12 victory against the Bulls at Kings Park on Friday.

The scorecard will confirm that the Bulls were the better side in terms of successful shots on goal, but in the context of a rain-afflicted clash, the Sharks’ line-kicking game proved decisive to the outcome.

The Sharks played in the right areas, and it was a superior kicking game that pressured the Bulls into costly errors.

The Bulls took an early lead via a drop goal by Louis Fouche, but it was a garryowen that led to the game’s first try for Sharks wing Paul Jordaan.

Fouche would kick two more penalties to steer the Bulls to a 9-5 lead, but it was clear they were struggling to live with the Sharks’ kicking game. Coach John Plumtree made a tactical switch before kickoff, moving Riaan Viljoen to flyhalf and Meyer Bosman to centre. It was a savvy move in that Viljoen’s strong kicking game was well-suited to conditions.

However, Plumtree would have expected more of Bosman in terms of goal-kicking. The weather couldn’t have been worse and it is never easy to kick at Kings Park, but Bosman missed two conversion opportunities in the first half, and a crucial penalty in the second.

The Sharks did score a great try in the second stanza that handed them a 13-9 lead, a sizeable advantage considering the conditions. Cobus Reinach broke from the lineout and found captain Keegan Daniel in support. Daniel fended the cover defence and corkscrewed his way over the tryline.

Unfortunately, the Sharks’ effort began to flag in the final half hour. Following Bosman’s missed conversion and wayward penalty attempt, the Sharks were pinned in their own half.

The Bulls applied the pressure and looked to have finally crossed the line when referee Mark Lawrence stopped play. A brief consultation with the TMO resulted in Sharks hooker Pieter Dixon being red-carded for kicking an opposition player. It meant the Sharks would play the final 11 minutes with 14 men.

This is where the Sharks showed their mettle. They absorbed the pressure, and eventually won a scrum penalty on their own 22. They cleared to touch and lost the ensuing lineout, but the Bulls failed to punish that mistake. In fact, after a bout of kicking, it was the Bulls who eventually conceded possession and with that a last opportunity to win the game.

74 Comments

• 1.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

swimming pool in durbs. kak

• 2.Robzim: Reply to this comment

The sooner Paul Jordaan plays for SA the better.

• 3.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Fantastic turnover for the try. Paul well played

• 4.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

Ja good try by Jordaan. Looks like the Sharks are the team specialising in wet weather play.

• 5.Robzim: Reply to this comment

Dewalt Potgieter is imo one of the most underrated players in SA.

• 6.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-5: Agreed. But I don’t think he’s that underrated.

I’d have him in the bok side before Potgieter, Keegan any day of the week.

• 7.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Don’t sharks know how to drain field

• 8.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Am I hearing them naming Peter Dixon (the ex WP and Bath hooker) ??

• 9.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Sharks must be so bevok that Dixon is playing for them

• 10.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Kick kick skop skop

• 11.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-8:

The same one. Came back to get married and got a Sharks contract as a wedding present. :D

• 12.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-11: OK. I actually rated him. Great all-round player.

• 13.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-12:

Sadly he is over the hill now. WP/Stormers will also have to find another hooker to assist Ntubeni as I believe Fourie will be going overseas next season.

• 14.David: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-13:
    And Tiaan?

• 15.Robzim: Reply to this comment

At ;least yellow

• 16.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@David-14:

I clean forgot about him :)

We still need another one i guess (at least as backup)

• 17.onerb: Reply to this comment

It is painful listening to andy cap with his shark glasses on. Supersport needs to address this.

• 18.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@onerb-17:

He is terrible indeed- nearly bursted out in tears when Dixon got the red card.
    Sharks did well to hold out though.

• 19.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-18:
    @onerb-17:

So I’m not the only one who thinks Andy Capp is a Sharks praise singer.

• 20.Lang Giel: Reply to this comment

Time for the Bulls to boot out that useless coach they imported from Bloemfontein. Pine Pienaar is dragging the Bulls’ name through the mud.

• 21.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-18: There is no way that Dixon deserved a red card though – the kick was unintentional.
    The reserve hooker, however, is very lucky not to have been red-carded at the death for putting his hand in Potgieter’s face on the ground – which could also have handed the win to the Bulls via a last-minute penalty.

• 22.OCO: Reply to this comment

@onerb-17:
    So you want a WP supporter always on commentary?
    You want Gavin Crow_More_WP to comment on every game?
    Worst of the worst provincialistic commentators for sure.
    WP supporters are a bunch of jokers. They even cry foul when their team isn’t playing.
    Typical loser mentality and why, as a sufferer living in Wp I will never support them until there’s a level playing ground.
    Grow up children, sad to be associated in any manner with you tossers.

• 23.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Oh, and Andy Cap is a pain in the @ss.

• 24.Lang Giel: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-18: Supersport doesn’t care a dime about the quality of the commentating. If they did, Braindead Brosh a.k.a. the two note Pavarotti, would not have been at the stadium.

• 25.Lang Giel: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-23: I agree. Andy cap should not be commentating when the Sharks are playing. His black-and-white pantyliners are showing.

• 26.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@OCO-22:

Ha ha hhaaaaa. You just support a k@k team. Jealous poe$!

• 27.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@OCO-22:

Relax. Your team won.

Kick off those high heels and enjoy the weekend.

• 28.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-21:

Both were tough calls – Dixon probably deserved a yellow for reckless play at most. Mark L was on the spot for the hand in the face incident and said it was only a push, so i guess nothing further will come from it.

• 29.Mostofyou: Reply to this comment

My Sweet Lord, how the language of the people of England is bastardised by the ‘rugby boertjie’ grouping here daily.

” bursted out into ….”?

What about simply burst into . It is present and/or past tense too. And “out” is redundancy at its best.

You can easily tell the ‘rugby boertjie’ by his confusion with the tenses, prepositions,pronouns, singular or plural forms etc., etc.
    Is or are, was or were, has or have or had or has been, for or from or about, who or whom or whose are some of the many situations that are so hilariously revealing.

• 30.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@OCO-22:

Hey, go and climb a tree in the backyard of the old age home in pinelands.
    Damn traitor :)

• 31.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@Mostofyou-29:

Vok off, Soutpiel. England se moer. English is bad German, teef.

• 32.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-16: Ja I was wondering if I’d missed something. :)

• 33.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-32:

Hopefully the boks will have a good lead going into the second half tomorrow for Tiaan to get some decent game time and to remind us that he is still alive and kicking.

• 34.Mostofyou: Reply to this comment

@KeurboomPark-31:

Is jy ‘n egte rugby boertjie nou? Wat het nou van Bier(man) Meyer geword? Aanvaar jy nou sy ‘Walkie-Talkie’ kaskenades ?

Het jy nie “non-white blood” soos Victoria nou vir die egte boertjies wil he(jy weet mos daai kappie op die ‘e’)?
    My bloed is altyd rooi en dit is mos “non-white”(nie wit), nie so nie?

• 35.blueboy: Reply to this comment

#20 Lang Giel I agree with you 100% as the bulls are playing pure shite since pienaar came to loftus our playing standard has dropped to the level we now play which is SHITE.Tonight`s game was one of the worst i have seen,but to be fair to both teams the conditions were atrocious,but any rugby played came from the sharks.I am now really pissed off watching this **** rugby the bulls are playing.

• 36.Guns: Reply to this comment

Fark missed the Sharks vs Pinkies game… I hate biased commentators glad was not subject to this andy ct@p the pommies are still worse make my ears bleed.. as with the Auzies well they halerius actually ;)

Well done sharks!! :) Plum is a good coach.

• 37.Dawn: Reply to this comment

The ever cheerful OCO

• 38.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@blueboy-35: @Lang Giel-20:

Pine is k@k, ons het met hom laasjaar die semi’s gemis en die jaar gaan ons promosie relegasie teen die Kings moet speel

• 39.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@Mostofyou-34:

Jy praat uit jou hol uit, pielneus. Gaan soek jou ma.

• 40.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

The Sharks scored 13 points.

The maximum tries they could have scored with that points haul is 2.

But this article says:

“However, Plumtree would have expected more of Bosman in terms of goal-kicking. The weather couldn’t have been worse and it is never easy to kick at Kings Park, but Bosman missed two conversion opportunities in the first half, and a crucial penalty in the second.”

and then:

“The Sharks did score a great try in the second stanza that handed them a 13-9 lead…”

:?:

This article would have you believe the Sharks scored 3 tries. Get it right Jon.

P.S. what is a “stanza”?

• 41.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Mostofyou-29: If you want good grammar
    and syntax,then David is the one to read.I defer to him on the English Language.

• 42.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@KeurboomPark-39:

Hallo Boom, hoe gaan dit daar?

Dink jy ons gaan die Wallabies wen?

• 43.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@KeurboomPark-39: dis die eenegste egte rugby liefhebber hier wat eintlik saak maak.

die res van die onnoselike onderstebo draad trekkers wat hier onlangs beweeg is of regs of links of onderstebo deurmekaar doose wat niks van egte rugby weet.

dis die eenegste egte regte rugby kenner wat haar storie eintlik ken .. dis ontmoontlik dat sy n man is want sulke sogenaamde manne wat hier rondbeweeg is dom soos droer boerewors wat onderstebo in die kalahari se agterkombuis hang.

• 44.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-42: het jy nou skielik second thoughts geeis.. gister was jy heeltemal positief ons gaat hulle deur hulle geel nulle en reg deur hul waltzing maaitjies se holle uittrek.

• 45.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-43:

Daar’s ‘n tyd en ‘n plek vir alles, hier praat ons rugby

As jy wil verder struggle soos Extraball moet jy eerder na M&G se website toe gaan

• 46.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-44:

We’re blooding a flyhalf, albeit a very good one, AND now a new centre

It could bite us against the clever Wallabies, espceially with Beale, he’s a better player than Cooper

I’ll still back Goosen, did you see the look in his eyes when he came on the field against the Wallabies?

Oozing self confidence, unlike Morne ek’s-jammer-dat-ek-lewe Steyn, and I liked his “I’m in charge, let’s get to work boys” attitude

• 47.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-45: wat die fok is M&G se website.. is jy ook een van die wat skielik n bietjie kort hare op jou tande mis wat jy gedink jou blou ballas vol draad was.

die vroutjie KP hier bo se dit reguit sonder misverstand.. sy se dit reguit sonder pragtige prestasies en blyvooruitsig menings .. as die ‘manne’ dit nie kan vat nie.. dan gee sommer die heilige game oor na die vroumense want dit lyk asof van hulle meer ballas het as die sogenaamde ‘sterke’ seksoort

• 48.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-46: yes I am having exactly the same misgivings.. Meyer wants to suddenly gamble all his cards on a revitalized ‘new’ game plan..

He should have started De Jongh at 12 and played De Villiers at 13 with Taute either at 15 or off bench.. now he might actually come short with his cowardly approach at playing Pienaar at 9.. when Hougaard should always be his go to bust a gut option at the cutting edge behind the breakdown ruck or scrum.. even Goosen with all his burgeoning talent can’t make up for a stuttering Pienaar if he decides to try emulate that other fckup box kicker gone wrong Fd de Poepoldoos…and now Goosen has to try take the entire game on his raw uninitiated shoulders…

If Meyer can’t trust De Jongh rather kick him back to CC and play all his blou blooded boertjies in tandem and stop pretending his closed minded and non evolved thought processes are wide awake when its a rather poor excuse at shadow boxing when all he’s really doing is dancing around the color coding smokescreen to make it look like he cares.. when back at the ranch he don’t.

• 49.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

Colin Montgomerie reckons the Ryder Cup is the 3rd most watched sporting event in the world after the Olympics and the Soccer World Cup.

Yeah right.

Pull the other leg Monty.

There are more than a billion Indians who all live and breathe cricket do nothing other than to wait 4 years for each cricket world cup and not even 0.001% of Indians will have even heard of the Ryder Cup.

More people will watch the Rugby World Cup than the Ryder cup too.

No, the Rugby and Cricket World Cups are much bigger draws than the Ryder Cup.

• 50.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-48:

De Jong would be like playing Lambie or Grant at flyhalf, a stopgap measure, we have the up and coming talents of Goosen and Taute we need to blood them

HM had to contend with injuries of the (few) senior players left as well as their new replacements, so his squad is only now starting to look like he would have liked against England

• 51.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-48:

> cowardly approach at playing Pienaar at 9.. when Hougaard should always be his go to bust a gut option at the cutting edge behind the breakdown ruck or scrum.. even Goosen with all his burgeoning talent can’t make up for a stuttering Pienaar

We need the experience of Pienaar to settle Goosen in his first test

Hougie hasn’t impressed at scrumhalf, not for the Bulls and not for the Boks

Maybe playing with an attacking FH would help his game as well?

• 52.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-50: De Jongh is only a stop gap measure in some brandewyn induced mindsets… De Jongh has been stuffed around from pillar to post while every little overfed boertjie tries and fails at the position he De Jongh can do most damage in.. if it wasn’t that fckup nonentity Olivier for how many unrewarding attempts.. its been either JdV or Frans Steyn at midfield with Morne Steyn and FdP fcking almost every promising ball to hell and back.. and now Pienaar takes up the sidesaddle stop go gap… go and COUNT all the WINS we have enjoyed while watching FdP, Steyn, Olivier, JdV, Frans Steyn and even Jacque Fourie gooi weg and p!ss against the wall since 2009.. go and count them one more time again..

Aussie done us in 6 times on the trot so far under this delusion of a game plan and with only one game in between in 2010 otherwise its been a crescendo of Aussie inflicted back slammers since the 49-0 fiasco.. and all along we been relying on so called superior kicking games from either FdP or M. Steyn to carry the can and suffice..

• 53.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-52:

> De Jongh is only a stop gap measure in some brandewyn induced mindsets… De Jongh has been stuffed around from pillar to post while every little overfed boertjie tries and fails at the position he De Jongh can do most damage in

He didn’t get that much game time at the Stormers either, AC didn’t pick him last year?

• 54.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-51:

Pienaar will stifle and starve Goosen like he has done the past 3 games vs Argy, Aus and AB’s.. Morne got all the flak for missing all his kicks.. BUT the rot started with Pienaar..

if Meyer had played Hougaard at 9 through Mendoza, Brisbane and Dunedin.. notwithstanding Morne’s implosion of kicking BMT.. Boks would still have won at least 2 from those 3 and maybe all 3 instead.. I’m pretty convinced of that..

Hougaard brings 100 times more fire and determination to the Bok back line.. it was always Morne stopping the momentum.. and actually in the Argentina game in Mendoza Hougaard was about the ONLY Bok back firing.. the only one TRYING to push on through.. him and JdV were TRYING while the rest were faltering… until Pienaar came on Boks were producing some action off the back foot.. Pienaar kills the game off at source.. and I fear he may be even too detrimental for Goosen to flourish..

Hougaard – Goosen is 1000 times a better combination than Pienaar – Goosen…. I don’t have a whole lot of confidence in Pienaar at 9.. never have and never will.. Pienaar should have stuck it out at 10 where Eddy Jones wanted to play him and create another Larkham out of him.. that is where Pienaar could have been a great rugby player.. at 9 he’s just a very poor replica of a rather dismal disenchanted FdP trying to be just one more one dimensional SA type box kicking scrum halves.. Hougaard is FAR closer to a raring to go Joost Vd W type 9 and alongside Goosen could actually be a devastating combo.. rather than Pienaar could ever hope to ever become.

• 55.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-52:

> Aussie done us in 6 times on the trot so far under this delusion of a game plan

And JdJ would have won those games for us?

Wasn’t he also injured for a while?

• 56.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-53: So that makes him a ‘stop gap’ because all the dumb struck rugby coaches in this country got sh’t for brains..

De Jongh ALWAYS makes forays into and through the opposition.. De Jongh HARDLY misses a tackle even vs guys twice his size.. and De Jongh is twice as nimble and fleet of foot as either F. Steyn or JdV and I venture to add Taute through the oppo gain line.. De Jongh is about as close as we have to a player like Digby Ioane except better suited at inside center where Ioane made his mark at 11 like Habana..De Jongh would have been lapped up at Wallabies where they would have made him into a star.. here he’s a bit part stop gap to fill the quota and bench spot options to keep the politico’s quiet from knocking at HM’s blue eyed door.

• 57.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-54:

> Hougaard is FAR closer to a raring to go Joost Vd W type 9 and alongside Goosen could actually be a devastating combo.. rather than Pienaar could ever hope to ever become.

If Hougie fires at 9, he hasn’t so far, him and Goosen might be the new Joost and Lem

• 58.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-56:

Some players are unlucky or born at the wrong time, like JdJ, he was always going to be behind JdV and Jacque Fourie

Sarel was always going to be behind FdP and Bekker behind Victor, you can only play 15 plus reserves at a time

• 59.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-57: It was NOT Hougaard at fault ever.. it was BB management trying to clone him into their f’up box kicking held FdP… Hougaard should ONLY play Hougaard style of scrum half play..which is flat out balls to the wall aggressive fast action run it at the opposition type game .. just like Joost at his prime used to do… Hougaard got 1000 times more rugby ballas than FdP would EVER hope to ever have… and Hougaard – Goosen. could and most likely WOULD be the new Joost – Lem type partnership.. if ONLY Meyer will get RID of his love affair for the dead end delusional FdP fck it up into the heavens style of game plan.

• 60.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-59:

> It was NOT Hougaard at fault ever.. it was BB management trying to clone him into their f’up box kicking held FdP

They’ve recognized his talent, decided he had to be on the field and played him on the wing

Instead of letting him play Vodacom and CC for the Blue Bulls at no 9, so now you have a player who has played scrumhalf at U20 level and never since especially at Super or Test level, and his lack of experience at this level shows

• 61.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-60:

> was BB management

Don’t get me started on the Bulls management, they’ve brought in that useless Pine Pienaar to f-up our team

Barend van Graan doesn’t care, they’re making money off sponsorships and dooses buying pink jerseys, the brand is strong, they don’t need to win anything

• 62.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-60: He should NOT be played at wing .. WRONG position and another COMPROMISE .. like playing Smit at 3 or JdV at 13 (although I still claim with Hougaard at 9, Goosen at 10, De Jongh at 12 JdV would be a success at 13)

Hougaard should ALWAYS play at 9 and definitely ahead of Pienaar who is slower than a grandmother deciding if she wanna scratch her crotch or cross the road while waiting for the jay walk light to change between amber and red at the cross roads…

• 63.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-59:

> Hougaard got 1000 times more rugby ballas

I know, we used him as the model for the Blou Balsak you hang under your bakkie :-)

• 64.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-62:

He should have been released to play CC for this season to get as much gametime as possible

While Pienaar helped to blood Goosen, and then used Hougie on the EOYT

• 65.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-61: beginning of the long slip sliding away vortex back to the bottom of the pile if they not careful.. every great civilization went cavorting into extinction for that very same reason.. starting with the Medes, the Greeks, the Romans, the Saxons, the Normans, the Moguls and the British.. the BB’s are not immune to implosion from within..

• 66.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-65:

Oh I know that, but tell it to Barend

He thinks he can manage it like some of the English Football clubs who never win anything but the fans still come to watch the games and buy jerseys, programmes, beer and food

The Bulls fans are notoriously fickle, they demand high standars or they vote with their feet

It’s been two years since we’ve won anything

It’s time for Barend to go

• 67.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-64: Nope he should have played 9 and Morne should have been ditched along with FdP after 2009 Eoyt .. and that archaic excuse of a one dimensional garbage game plan that FdP and Smit entrenched under White and HM’s heilige skop jag patroon from 2007 should have been outlawed as non conducive to long suffering Bok legacy rugby and chucked onto the garbage heap where it always belonged…

Hougaard would have been a success at WC 2011 same as Bismark and Alberts.. instead they played FdP, Smit and Spies..and Morne at 10 where it should have been Pienaar … and WHERE did they land up.. ONE more loss to Aussie when they should have WON..

• 68.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-67: actually 10 should have been either of Peter Grant or Pienaar throughout 2008 -2011 under PdV.. and boks would NOT have lost the last 11 from 13 tests against top 5 opposition… M. Steyn is like a Dallas Cowboy Nasty Booter who only needs to come onto the field when its a field goal looming.. otherwise Morne Steyn was ALWAYS a one dimensional dead duck on any rugby field.. Morne Steyn NEVER got his back line away .. anytime EVER.. under ANY circumstances.. least of all when he was cow tailing it to his messiah on his inside FdP…

• 69.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

nag .. eks uit.. slaap tyd loer in my oogies wat nog te wyd in hul stryd probeer bly.

• 70.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-69:

Mooi loop, en hou duimvas vir die Bokke

• 71.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-70:

Hoesit, Vik. We are going to do surgry on the Wallabies tomorrow. Ons gaan die “original” in hulle “ab”domin diep steek. Kurtley won’t know his beale from his piel.
    @fitz1ella-69:
    Ek gaan met my uncle visvang vanuit Kalkies die Sondag oggend. Ek hoop ek sal babelaas wees. Bokke!!!!!!
    Taute lyk ne soos Magnum in die ou tv serries.

• 72.husky: Reply to this comment

@fitz-whatever; typical SA rugby fan. No stats or analysis, just blind rant and avoid answering questions like why AC didn’t pick JdJ if he is so wonderful and better than any centre ever produced in SA. The new Danie Gerber. You are not getting any cleverer or more sensible on the tik diet. Try Noakes not coke s. Bit like your mentor keow.

By the way; I quite like JdJ and think he hasn’t been helped by any of his recent coaches.

Bring back the Jake and John show!

• 73.Hondo: Reply to this comment

The Epic Pitch Battle of the Ndunganes it was!

• 74.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-62: nice imagery there

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.