Sharks out-boot Bulls
28 Sep 2012
JON CARDINELLI reports on the Sharks’ 13-12 victory against the Bulls at Kings Park on Friday.
The scorecard will confirm that the Bulls were the better side in terms of successful shots on goal, but in the context of a rain-afflicted clash, the Sharks’ line-kicking game proved decisive to the outcome.
The Sharks played in the right areas, and it was a superior kicking game that pressured the Bulls into costly errors.
The Bulls took an early lead via a drop goal by Louis Fouche, but it was a garryowen that led to the game’s first try for Sharks wing Paul Jordaan.
Fouche would kick two more penalties to steer the Bulls to a 9-5 lead, but it was clear they were struggling to live with the Sharks’ kicking game. Coach John Plumtree made a tactical switch before kickoff, moving Riaan Viljoen to flyhalf and Meyer Bosman to centre. It was a savvy move in that Viljoen’s strong kicking game was well-suited to conditions.
However, Plumtree would have expected more of Bosman in terms of goal-kicking. The weather couldn’t have been worse and it is never easy to kick at Kings Park, but Bosman missed two conversion opportunities in the first half, and a crucial penalty in the second.
The Sharks did score a great try in the second stanza that handed them a 13-9 lead, a sizeable advantage considering the conditions. Cobus Reinach broke from the lineout and found captain Keegan Daniel in support. Daniel fended the cover defence and corkscrewed his way over the tryline.
Unfortunately, the Sharks’ effort began to flag in the final half hour. Following Bosman’s missed conversion and wayward penalty attempt, the Sharks were pinned in their own half.
The Bulls applied the pressure and looked to have finally crossed the line when referee Mark Lawrence stopped play. A brief consultation with the TMO resulted in Sharks hooker Pieter Dixon being red-carded for kicking an opposition player. It meant the Sharks would play the final 11 minutes with 14 men.
This is where the Sharks showed their mettle. They absorbed the pressure, and eventually won a scrum penalty on their own 22. They cleared to touch and lost the ensuing lineout, but the Bulls failed to punish that mistake. In fact, after a bout of kicking, it was the Bulls who eventually conceded possession and with that a last opportunity to win the game.

74 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All
28 Sep 2012, 19:01 pm
swimming pool in durbs. kak
28 Sep 2012, 19:34 pm
The sooner Paul Jordaan plays for SA the better.
28 Sep 2012, 19:35 pm
Fantastic turnover for the try. Paul well played
28 Sep 2012, 19:38 pm
Ja good try by Jordaan. Looks like the Sharks are the team specialising in wet weather play.
28 Sep 2012, 19:42 pm
Dewalt Potgieter is imo one of the most underrated players in SA.
28 Sep 2012, 20:08 pm
@Robzim-5: Agreed. But I don’t think he’s that underrated.
I’d have him in the bok side before Potgieter, Keegan any day of the week.
28 Sep 2012, 20:11 pm
Don’t sharks know how to drain field
28 Sep 2012, 20:13 pm
Am I hearing them naming Peter Dixon (the ex WP and Bath hooker) ??
28 Sep 2012, 20:15 pm
Sharks must be so bevok that Dixon is playing for them
28 Sep 2012, 20:16 pm
Kick kick skop skop
28 Sep 2012, 20:16 pm
@stormersboy-8:
The same one. Came back to get married and got a Sharks contract as a wedding present.
28 Sep 2012, 20:23 pm
@I am a stormer-11: OK. I actually rated him. Great all-round player.
28 Sep 2012, 20:29 pm
@stormersboy-12:
Sadly he is over the hill now. WP/Stormers will also have to find another hooker to assist Ntubeni as I believe Fourie will be going overseas next season.
28 Sep 2012, 20:37 pm
@Robzim-13:
And Tiaan?
28 Sep 2012, 20:38 pm
At ;least yellow
28 Sep 2012, 20:40 pm
@David-14:
I clean forgot about him
We still need another one i guess (at least as backup)
28 Sep 2012, 20:47 pm
It is painful listening to andy cap with his shark glasses on. Supersport needs to address this.
28 Sep 2012, 20:55 pm
@onerb-17:
He is terrible indeed- nearly bursted out in tears when Dixon got the red card.
Sharks did well to hold out though.
28 Sep 2012, 20:59 pm
@Robzim-18:
@onerb-17:
So I’m not the only one who thinks Andy Capp is a Sharks praise singer.
28 Sep 2012, 21:03 pm
Time for the Bulls to boot out that useless coach they imported from Bloemfontein. Pine Pienaar is dragging the Bulls’ name through the mud.
@Robzim-18: There is no way that Dixon deserved a red card though – the kick was unintentional.
The reserve hooker, however, is very lucky not to have been red-carded at the death for putting his hand in Potgieter’s face on the ground – which could also have handed the win to the Bulls via a last-minute penalty.
@onerb-17:
So you want a WP supporter always on commentary?
You want Gavin Crow_More_WP to comment on every game?
Worst of the worst provincialistic commentators for sure.
WP supporters are a bunch of jokers. They even cry foul when their team isn’t playing.
Typical loser mentality and why, as a sufferer living in Wp I will never support them until there’s a level playing ground.
Grow up children, sad to be associated in any manner with you tossers.
28 Sep 2012, 21:04 pm
Oh, and Andy Cap is a pain in the @ss.
28 Sep 2012, 21:06 pm
@Robzim-18: Supersport doesn’t care a dime about the quality of the commentating. If they did, Braindead Brosh a.k.a. the two note Pavarotti, would not have been at the stadium.
28 Sep 2012, 21:12 pm
@kaksioek-23: I agree. Andy cap should not be commentating when the Sharks are playing. His black-and-white pantyliners are showing.
28 Sep 2012, 21:13 pm
@OCO-22:
Ha ha hhaaaaa. You just support a k@k team. Jealous poe$!
28 Sep 2012, 21:17 pm
@OCO-22:
Relax. Your team won.
Kick off those high heels and enjoy the weekend.
28 Sep 2012, 21:19 pm
@kaksioek-21:
Both were tough calls – Dixon probably deserved a yellow for reckless play at most. Mark L was on the spot for the hand in the face incident and said it was only a push, so i guess nothing further will come from it.
28 Sep 2012, 21:21 pm
My Sweet Lord, how the language of the people of England is bastardised by the ‘rugby boertjie’ grouping here daily.
” bursted out into ….”?
What about simply burst into . It is present and/or past tense too. And “out” is redundancy at its best.
You can easily tell the ‘rugby boertjie’ by his confusion with the tenses, prepositions,pronouns, singular or plural forms etc., etc.
Is or are, was or were, has or have or had or has been, for or from or about, who or whom or whose are some of the many situations that are so hilariously revealing.
28 Sep 2012, 21:21 pm
@OCO-22:
Hey, go and climb a tree in the backyard of the old age home in pinelands.
Damn traitor
28 Sep 2012, 21:23 pm
@Mostofyou-29:
Vok off, Soutpiel. England se moer. English is bad German, teef.
28 Sep 2012, 21:31 pm
@Robzim-16: Ja I was wondering if I’d missed something.
28 Sep 2012, 21:40 pm
@stormersboy-32:
Hopefully the boks will have a good lead going into the second half tomorrow for Tiaan to get some decent game time and to remind us that he is still alive and kicking.
28 Sep 2012, 21:47 pm
@KeurboomPark-31:
Is jy ‘n egte rugby boertjie nou? Wat het nou van Bier(man) Meyer geword? Aanvaar jy nou sy ‘Walkie-Talkie’ kaskenades ?
Het jy nie “non-white blood” soos Victoria nou vir die egte boertjies wil he(jy weet mos daai kappie op die ‘e’)?
My bloed is altyd rooi en dit is mos “non-white”(nie wit), nie so nie?
28 Sep 2012, 21:47 pm
#20 Lang Giel I agree with you 100% as the bulls are playing pure shite since pienaar came to loftus our playing standard has dropped to the level we now play which is SHITE.Tonight`s game was one of the worst i have seen,but to be fair to both teams the conditions were atrocious,but any rugby played came from the sharks.I am now really pissed off watching this **** rugby the bulls are playing.
28 Sep 2012, 21:51 pm
Fark missed the Sharks vs Pinkies game… I hate biased commentators glad was not subject to this andy ct@p the pommies are still worse make my ears bleed.. as with the Auzies well they halerius actually
Well done sharks!!
Plum is a good coach.
28 Sep 2012, 22:18 pm
The ever cheerful OCO
28 Sep 2012, 22:23 pm
@blueboy-35: @Lang Giel-20:
Pine is k@k, ons het met hom laasjaar die semi’s gemis en die jaar gaan ons promosie relegasie teen die Kings moet speel
28 Sep 2012, 22:38 pm
@Mostofyou-34:
Jy praat uit jou hol uit, pielneus. Gaan soek jou ma.
28 Sep 2012, 22:52 pm
The Sharks scored 13 points.
The maximum tries they could have scored with that points haul is 2.
But this article says:
“However, Plumtree would have expected more of Bosman in terms of goal-kicking. The weather couldn’t have been worse and it is never easy to kick at Kings Park, but Bosman missed two conversion opportunities in the first half, and a crucial penalty in the second.”
and then:
“The Sharks did score a great try in the second stanza that handed them a 13-9 lead…”
This article would have you believe the Sharks scored 3 tries. Get it right Jon.
P.S. what is a “stanza”?
28 Sep 2012, 22:54 pm
@Mostofyou-29: If you want good grammar
and syntax,then David is the one to read.I defer to him on the English Language.
28 Sep 2012, 22:56 pm
@KeurboomPark-39:
Hallo Boom, hoe gaan dit daar?
Dink jy ons gaan die Wallabies wen?
28 Sep 2012, 23:18 pm
@KeurboomPark-39: dis die eenegste egte rugby liefhebber hier wat eintlik saak maak.
die res van die onnoselike onderstebo draad trekkers wat hier onlangs beweeg is of regs of links of onderstebo deurmekaar doose wat niks van egte rugby weet.
dis die eenegste egte regte rugby kenner wat haar storie eintlik ken .. dis ontmoontlik dat sy n man is want sulke sogenaamde manne wat hier rondbeweeg is dom soos droer boerewors wat onderstebo in die kalahari se agterkombuis hang.
28 Sep 2012, 23:21 pm
@victoriabok-42: het jy nou skielik second thoughts geeis.. gister was jy heeltemal positief ons gaat hulle deur hulle geel nulle en reg deur hul waltzing maaitjies se holle uittrek.
28 Sep 2012, 23:26 pm
@fitz1ella-43:
Daar’s ‘n tyd en ‘n plek vir alles, hier praat ons rugby
As jy wil verder struggle soos Extraball moet jy eerder na M&G se website toe gaan
28 Sep 2012, 23:33 pm
@fitz1ella-44:
We’re blooding a flyhalf, albeit a very good one, AND now a new centre
It could bite us against the clever Wallabies, espceially with Beale, he’s a better player than Cooper
I’ll still back Goosen, did you see the look in his eyes when he came on the field against the Wallabies?
Oozing self confidence, unlike Morne ek’s-jammer-dat-ek-lewe Steyn, and I liked his “I’m in charge, let’s get to work boys” attitude
28 Sep 2012, 23:55 pm
@victoriabok-45: wat die fok is M&G se website.. is jy ook een van die wat skielik n bietjie kort hare op jou tande mis wat jy gedink jou blou ballas vol draad was.
die vroutjie KP hier bo se dit reguit sonder misverstand.. sy se dit reguit sonder pragtige prestasies en blyvooruitsig menings .. as die ‘manne’ dit nie kan vat nie.. dan gee sommer die heilige game oor na die vroumense want dit lyk asof van hulle meer ballas het as die sogenaamde ‘sterke’ seksoort
29 Sep 2012, 00:04 am
@victoriabok-46: yes I am having exactly the same misgivings.. Meyer wants to suddenly gamble all his cards on a revitalized ‘new’ game plan..
He should have started De Jongh at 12 and played De Villiers at 13 with Taute either at 15 or off bench.. now he might actually come short with his cowardly approach at playing Pienaar at 9.. when Hougaard should always be his go to bust a gut option at the cutting edge behind the breakdown ruck or scrum.. even Goosen with all his burgeoning talent can’t make up for a stuttering Pienaar if he decides to try emulate that other fckup box kicker gone wrong Fd de Poepoldoos…and now Goosen has to try take the entire game on his raw uninitiated shoulders…
If Meyer can’t trust De Jongh rather kick him back to CC and play all his blou blooded boertjies in tandem and stop pretending his closed minded and non evolved thought processes are wide awake when its a rather poor excuse at shadow boxing when all he’s really doing is dancing around the color coding smokescreen to make it look like he cares.. when back at the ranch he don’t.
29 Sep 2012, 00:08 am
Colin Montgomerie reckons the Ryder Cup is the 3rd most watched sporting event in the world after the Olympics and the Soccer World Cup.
Yeah right.
Pull the other leg Monty.
There are more than a billion Indians who all live and breathe cricket do nothing other than to wait 4 years for each cricket world cup and not even 0.001% of Indians will have even heard of the Ryder Cup.
More people will watch the Rugby World Cup than the Ryder cup too.
No, the Rugby and Cricket World Cups are much bigger draws than the Ryder Cup.
29 Sep 2012, 00:24 am
@fitz1ella-48:
De Jong would be like playing Lambie or Grant at flyhalf, a stopgap measure, we have the up and coming talents of Goosen and Taute we need to blood them
HM had to contend with injuries of the (few) senior players left as well as their new replacements, so his squad is only now starting to look like he would have liked against England
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All