Stormers need Jantjies

GARETH DUNCAN says the Stormers need to make a move to sign Lions flyhalf Elton Jantjies on loan for next year’s Super Rugby.

In 2011, the Stormers struggled with a flyhalf injury crisis. It got so bad that head coach Allister Coetzee reeled in Earl Rose (who’s currently playing club rugby in Cape Town’s Premier League B) to provide pivot cover.

This year, a loose forward injury crisis affected the Cape franchise’s campaign. To ease their woes, Coetzee signed Canadian international flank Jebb Sinclair, promoted his WP Vodacom Cup flanks and shifted specialist hooker Deon Fourie to No 8.

While we’re just over the halfway stage of the Currie Cup, the 2013 Super Rugby campaign is just over four months away. And the Stormers could struggle with another flyhalf crisis if they don’t make a plan soon.

WP first-choice flyhalf Demetri Catrakilis will make a move to the Kings after the domestic scene. Back-ups Gary van Aswegen and Kurt Coleman are both injured, while Burton Francis’s frustrations after a third transfer failure (following the Bulls and Lions) has seen him seeking game time at SWD in the First Division.

Peter Grant will be back, but as experienced this year, he is likely to miss the opening rounds of Super Rugby because of his Japanese club commitments with the Kobe Steelers.

So there’s certainly a headache for the Stormers management. In fact, if Catrakilis gets crocked, fullback Joe Pietersen or scrumhalf Louis Schreuder will spearhead Province for the rest of the campaign.

So who should Coetzee bring in to solve this potential flyhalf crisis?

Elton Jantjies.

The Lions have been relegated. While there are plans for the Johannesburg franchise to compete in an alternative international tournament, most of their players have confirmed that they want to compete in the top tournaments, like Super Rugby.

The Lions have committed most of their troops until October 2013, which president Kevin de Klerk has stressed will prevent a mass player exodus. However, Jantjies has a clause in his contract that will allow him to represent another franchise next year.

The Stormers need to lure the Springbok flyhalf to Cape Town.

When I interviewed Stormers and WP backline coach Robbie Fleck on Thursday, he spoke about how the team is building a stronger attacking game during the Currie Cup to mould a more effective game plan for Super Rugby.

There have been improvements as WP have emerged as the best attacking and defensive outfit of the Currie Cup, according to statistics.

When I queried Fleck about the flyhalf predicament he said: ‘The flyhalf crisis is here and we need to sort it out. I don’t want to comment on the contracting side of things, because I’m not involved with that. But yes, we could use a guy like Elton Jantjies. He will fit into our game plan .’

It’s rumoured that Jantjies has a R2.5 million asking price. It’s steep, but worth it as the 22-year-old has the attacking and kicking attributes the Stormers need to ensure their attacking improvements extend into 2013.

A stint in Cape Town will also be good for the player.

At the moment, he’s one of the fringe players in the Springbok squad. He’s set to make his Test debut off the bench against the Wallabies on Saturday, and he’ll need to be playing Super Rugby to prove to Heyneke Meyer he deserves his spot in his team.

Like Lions utility back Jaco Taute told me earlier this month: ‘Super Rugby allows you to play against some of the best players in the world. That’s the only way you can measure yourself.’ Taute, who’s also set to make his Test debut in Pretoria, is expected to make a move to another franchise.

The Bulls have Morne Steyn, the Sharks have Pat Lambie, the Cheetahs have Johan Goosen and the Kings will have Catrakilis. The Stormers need Jantjies.

Follow Gareth on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter

67 Comments

• 1.Lions_Soutie: Reply to this comment

“A stint in Cape Town will also be good for the player” . Just like it was good for Big Joe, Jaque Fourie and countless others? The only player who actually got better down there was Anton van Zyl

• 2.GarethDuncan: Reply to this comment

@Lions_Soutie-1: Stormers have acknowledged that they need a better attacking game: http://keo.co.za/2012/09/27/wp-setting-new-stormers-blueprint/

If they can keep up the attacking improvements, a stint in Cape Town for Jantjies will be a win-win situation.

• 3.STBUR: Reply to this comment

I have been saying for ages that Grant/Duvenhage were the reason for the Stormer’s problems.

• 4.RL: Reply to this comment

He is going to the guppies. They will have Elton the star at flyhalf and Lambs at fullback. They will need depth to this thing next year.

• 5.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@GarethDuncan-2: @RL-4: well it seem like KdK is “punishing” all the unions that didn’t vote for them @ SARU’s Kings meeting. unless WP make it very worthwhile for the GLRU then elton might be a guppy playing behind the anti-dandruff wonderkid.

• 6.Boks_Forever: Reply to this comment

“The Sharks have Pat Lambie”?? He’s a fantastic fullback in a country where we don’t have any decent fullbacks!

Jantjies to the Sharks – where they at least try to score tries. Let the Stormers rot with their “best defensive team that ever walked the planet”. Live a little!

• 7.GarethDuncan: Reply to this comment

@Boks_Forever-6: With Michalak gone to Toulon, I think he’ll play flyhalf for the Sharks. RIaan Viljoen and Louis Ludik will contest for the No 15 jersey.

• 8.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

From your pen to Alistair’s ears Gareth! (or whoever holds the chequebook at WP).
    Elton would be awesome behind the Stormers pack! With Schruder giving him good ball, and the talent in the backline, a flyhalf like Jantjies will be AWESOME and good for the Stormers evolution I believe

• 9.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

the question really is whether ac has the guts to attack, otherwise its a pointless excercise other than a depth development.
    sharks a much better fit and considering the rigours of the tournament, having two good flyhalves will stand them in better stead. they can rest and rotate between the two of them.

@RL-4:
    you liking this

• 10.David: Reply to this comment

2.5 million for the S15 on loan only is pure larceny, if that’s the figure that the Lions or Janties want. Could Keo inform us who’s asking that much? If he remains a Golden Lions player during the loan period the GLRU will also pocket SARUs compensation for him playing in the S15 and Bok squad.

• 11.katman: Reply to this comment

Fck em, we don’t loan our players to traitors. Not to the Kings and not to anyone who voted for the Kings. Kevin is with me on this one. You sht your bed, you lie in it. Sorry.

• 12.David: Reply to this comment

@David-10:
    Besides, if Jantjies has an escape clause in his GLRU contract, why would he agree to a loan move, rather than a permanent one from a province/franchise that can’t be guaranteed a return to the S15 , and even if they do it will be with a depleted squad that will probably prop up the S15 table again?

• 13.David: Reply to this comment

@katman-11:
    Traitor? What does WP owe the GLRU? I suppose you’re referring to the major union old boys club.

• 14.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@katman-11: And so say all of “us”!!!

• 15.Hop Hop Spinnekop: Reply to this comment

@David-12: It’s not a escape clause. The clause is that he may represent another union in Super Rugby if the Lions don’t play S15. After the S15 he goes back to the red and white.

• 16.katman: Reply to this comment

@David-13: Really? WP sided with the Kings and voted in favour of sinking the Lions franchise and jeopardising the careers of dozens of its players. And now the Lions must put all that behind them and play ball because WP has a flyhalf crisis? Surely you’re having me on. This has zero to do with any “old boys club” and everything to do with common sense.

This is like asking a guy whose ex-wife ran off with another man and then cleaned him out in a divorce settlement, to lend them his car so that they can go away on honeymoon because theirs broke down.

• 17.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@David-13:
    promises made and broken.
    those two faced wp presidents told kdk they would vote in his favour only to show their hand at the executive council / genreal meeting.

• 18.David: Reply to this comment

@Hop Hop Spinnekop-15:
    Are you sure? As I read it, that would apply to all the Lions players as SARU is contractually bound to field all SAs top players in the competition. In other words, the GLRU doesn’t have the right to withhold players from the S15 in much the same way as they can’t prevent players from playing for the Boks.

• 19.David: Reply to this comment

@katman-16:
    I’m not questioning the GLRUs motives, just your use of the term traitors.

• 20.katman: Reply to this comment

@David-19: I changed it from traitors to weasels to scum to c0cksuckers and back to traitors before hitting submit. I think we ended up in a happy space.

• 21.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-9: the 47 pts the WP kids put on your bulletjies should answer your question :D

• 22.Craven: Reply to this comment

R2.5m for one Super season? Pull the other one Elton.

At this rate you will be playing in whatever stupid backwater competition the Lions play in next year.

I am sure not the Sharks nor the Stormers will pay that money on a once-off deal for one Super season.

• 23.grant10: Reply to this comment

Elton is a hugely talented 10…..would love to have him fronting the Stormers backline…..but sadly I have zero faith in the WP suits….in fact less than Farkall….

• 24.Rooibaard2000: Reply to this comment

@katman-20: Quite right! Kings, WP and Cheetahs all cut from the same cloth. F*** ‘em all. IF my leeutjies are able to survive their time in the wilderness, they should come back a lot stringer and FAR better managed than before. Trial by fire, but it seems that was the only way to effect the changes required. Go KdK et al. you have our support but please jetison that Ellis Park property company structure….. it is toxic and one of the major reasons GLRU is broke. Incorporate EP into GLRU or sell it off and move to a more conducive space. Love the rugby we are playing at the moment!

• 25.Craven: Reply to this comment

@katman-20:

Maybe payback for all the years where the Lions took points of other SA teams only to roll over and take it up the backside against Kiwi/Aus teams and gift them bonuspoints?

• 26.David: Reply to this comment

@katman-20:
    I can’t see why the Lions are so bitter. The relegation proposal has been hanging over them for a few years. All they had to do was ensure it wasn’t them. Instead they financially screwed their partners in order to try and rescue themselves.

• 27.Transformation: Reply to this comment

i see SARU has agreed that the Kings can field 6 overseas players, lekker :twisted:

• 28.katman: Reply to this comment

@David-26: You’re deliberately speaking to a different issue here to somehow muddy the waters of the argument. Which was how I could call them traitors, not how the Lions landed in financial dire straits. This is about WP’s vote to kick the Lions out (after assuring them they’d go the other way), and then their indignant disbelief at the Lions’ unwillingness to help them out. Traitor is a relatively kind word here.

• 29.katman: Reply to this comment

@Craven-25: Yawn. That line of argument is not worth responding to.

• 30.Craven: Reply to this comment

@David-26:

David it is quite clear that Lions fans feels it is ok to screw over your franchise partners and not keep your word, but not ok if other unions lie to the Lions.

Double standards all round. It is just a case of chickens comming home to roost and the Lions have nothing to complain about.

• 31.David: Reply to this comment

@katman-28:
    What indignant disbelief?

• 32.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Rooibaard2000-24: KdK won’t do that because he earns money through his fake BEE company Inza that is in partnership with Orlando Pirates. the company apparently has no tax number of its own or has ever payed PAYE on its earnings…sweet for KdK :D

• 33.Rooibaard2000: Reply to this comment

@David-26: You are a **** and are conflating financial troubles with relegation. the two are completely seperate. Besides which relegation was not confirmed PRE-season so don’t come with that kak.

SARU and the Kings will be the death of the game in SA. If Lions have a real crack at an EU comp of note, I reckon they would be far better off than in the current snakepit!

• 34.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@Rooibaard2000-33:

David is probably the most objective blogger I have ever encountered.

• 35.katman: Reply to this comment

@David-31: Yours, for one.

Okay, maybe indignant disbelief is not the exact right phrase, but there certainly seems to be a view amongst the Province administrators and fans that the Lions have no reason not to help them out. And that’s crazy. They couldn’t have double-crossed them any more than they did, and yet they now want them to help out.

@Craven-30: You’re just being extremely dof with that line of “reason”. Can you see the grown ups are talking here?

• 36.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-34: indeed.

• 37.Rooibaard2000: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-32: And the headlines surrounding this clear case of corruption are where exactly? thought so. KdK is working at the GLRU for the love of the game and his union. He is not one of your Eastern Cape ilk transie. You know, like the Watsons etc. Looking forward to watching the demise of your Kings next year china.

• 38.katman: Reply to this comment

@Rooibaard2000-37: Cheeky doesn’t even care that much. He’s got his new Range Rover Sport out of the deal.

• 39.umkhonto: Reply to this comment

@Craven-30: SO why argue, the Lions will loan their players to whom they like and if you want one and the money is right so be it, otherwise sit without a flyhalf and dribble about why the Lions won’t loan their players out, and we will become bitter and twisted about the yellow streak running down WP suits backs.

• 40.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@Craven-25: LOL how farken true is that

• 41.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

@Hop Hop Spinnekop-15: That is right, and rumour from very reliable sources close to the Sharks have said that both Jantjies and Van De Merwe have signed such a loan agreement with the Sharks. It looks like they are on their way to Durban.

• 42.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@katman-35: are you suggesting that Thelo Wakefield promised KdK that they will vote for them if it comes to the Kings vs Lions and reneged on that promise?

• 43.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@katman-38: I heard. Wonder if Luke and Frolick will also gett ones to match Cheeky’s?

• 44.katman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-42: That’s what I’ve heard from several sources.

• 45.RL: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-32: there is some broderbond shitee happen at the GLRU – KDK and his mate Altman are deep on it.

• 46.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

@Sharksgirl-41: Jantjies, Van der Merwe, Lions and Sharks have signed such a deal :oops: loooong day today!

• 47.David: Reply to this comment

@katman-35:
    I don’t think I’ve seen any comments from fans or the WP admin expecting the GLRU to help them out. Sure we’d love to see Jantjies at WP/Stormers, but only if we can entice him to move to a winning environment.

@WP-Forever-34:
    @Transformation-36:
    Thanks guys, I try to be, apart from the odd dig at our Sharkie and Bulls bloggers. :lol:

• 48.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@katman-28: As an outside observer, I pretty much think the Lions playing like absolute sh ite for so many years had more to do with it than a couple of provincial votes. Sure it contributed, but this would never have happened if they’d pitched up to a few more matches

• 49.Hop Hop Spinnekop: Reply to this comment

@Craven-25: Don’t worry now you will get your bonus points in 2013.

• 50.katman: Reply to this comment

And there goes Djy Pee Dominee too. We’ll be lucky to get to 140.

• 51.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@katman-44: Fatboy telling porkies? Say it ain’t so!

Jeepers I’d think 2, 3 or 136 times before I believed anything that walrus said. Maybe there weren’t enough sausage rolls at the meeting and he swore bitter revenge

• 52.katman: Reply to this comment

@David-47: A winning environment? Where will WP find such a thing?

Anyway, the Kings found out the hard way that you don’t dump a team out of the competition and then expect them to turn around and help you out with players. And now WP are learning this too. Cause and effect.

• 53.RL: Reply to this comment

@David-26: .very true, speak the truth! Guma was screwedd by Reyneke who was doing Altmans dirty work.

If the deal had gone through all would be well – minus all the pricks that ruined the Lions.

• 54.katman: Reply to this comment

Can we defend 133 in 20 overs? I don’t bloody think so.

• 55.David: Reply to this comment

@katman-50:
    I thought we’d got over our weakness against spinners. :roll:

• 56.RL: Reply to this comment

@Rooibaard2000-37: KDK be a doos, he voted to include the Kings in 2013 – poephol at the time didn’t understand that 6 cannot fit into 5.

• 57.katman: Reply to this comment

@David-55: Seems not. Now we’ll have to bamboozle them with Robbie Peterson.

Oh frabjous day…

• 58.umkhonto: Reply to this comment

@RL-45: I see you bring up this Broederbond thing again, I hope you have some substance to such claim, KDK is the only rugby person in the executive the rest a political apointees, so if you so enlightened please do inform us or is this just speculation thet you heard from your mom.

• 59.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-21:
    keep talking, smart guy :grin:

• 60.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-27: They’re gonna need more than just six and even then won’t be competitive.

Viva “Transformation,” viva!!!

• 61.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

Peter Grant is better than Steyn and Ketrakilis and should have been in the bok squad this year

However to sign Taute and Jantjes would be perfect for the Stormers. Also maybe they should try to bring back Kockott or sign Pienaar

• 62.gunther: Reply to this comment

iwicki!

• 63.grant10: Reply to this comment

yes man….our spinners making havoc!!!

• 64.gunther: Reply to this comment

bookmakers ruling this one.

• 65.grant10: Reply to this comment

moer hulle proteas…moer hulle stukend!

• 66.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Rooibaard2000-37: you want headlines, i’ll show you headlines boytjie! :D

• 67.Transformation: Reply to this comment

KPMG Report on the Lions finances…

The KPMG report also raises
    questions about the deal brokered in 2007, where EPS entered into agreement with Orlando Pirates and a little-known empowerment company, Inza.

The deal gave Pirates and Inza
    51% of EPWOS, leaving EPS with 49%.

Inza is said to have been brought in by Kevin de Klerk as BEE partners before he became Golden Lions president.

The KPMG forensic report makes
    serious reservations about the
    EPWOS deal. It states the company
    didn’t have a VAT number nor
    complied with PAYE, income tax
    nor did it operate the necessary
    company bank account since
    inception in 2007.
    Instead, it used the EPS bank
    account and VAT number to bill
    clients, which was illegal according
    to the Companies Act and also
    exposed its directors to criminal
    investigation.
    Furthermore, rugby revenues had
    been passed through to EPWOS,
    leaving EPS/Lions exposed to
    undeclared tax and liabilities.
    The report also points out that
    Pirates had played very few of
    their games at Ellis Park, contrary
    to the shareholders agreement.
    EPWOS had a staff complement of
    40, with CEO Paul Appalsamy
    earning R1 million a year.
    None of the three EPWOS general
    managers identified by KPMG
    seemed to be properly qualified
    for the positions they hold. The
    general manager of operations
    was a former paramedic and fire instructor, it said.

EPWOS has never declared any
    profit or paid dividends.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.