All Blacks deliver La Plata masterclass

GARETH DUNCAN watched the All Blacks clinch the inaugural Rugby Championship title with a 54-15 victory over Argentina in La Plata.

If you thought the Springboks were impressive during their 31-8 win over the Wallabies in Pretoria, the All Blacks were outstanding and reminded the rugby fraternity why they’re the No 1 team.

The world champions delivered a powerful performance and starred in all facets of play as they eased past the Pumas, scoring six tries. Wings Cory Jane and Julian Savea grabbed a hat-trick and brace respectively as New Zealand’s expansive approach was highly effective.

The continuity on attack through offloads and quick service at the tackle points were – no other nation can currently match them in this regard. The All Blacks heavies dominated the forwards battle for most parts of the match, creating the platform for the backs to run riot.

Flyhalf Dan Carter also impressed with the boot, slotting five of his eight goal attempts, while Aaron Cruden added two conversions and a penalty.

The Pumas shocked the visitors during the opening moments as they scored the first try thanks to a smart backline move. Fullback Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino ran the perfect angle as he was put into space, and he beat flank Richie McCaw and Carter to surge into the Kiwis’ red zone. A quick pop pass saw scrumhalf Martin Landajo have the speed and power to cross the chalk.

However, it was one-way traffic thereafter.

Clinical breaks from inside centre Ma’a Nonu and No 8 Kieran Read created opportunities for scrumhalf Aaron Smith and Jane respectively. Both scores came off the back of great multi-phase play.

Savea then completed a comprehensive opening 40 showing as he scored two tries in quick succession. The first came from a spilled ball during a Pumas attack, and the No 11 had the speed and skill to finish off a good kick-and-chase score. His second was a powerful strike from close range.

The All Blacks held a 37-8 advantage at half-time. Game, set and match.

Pumas wing Gonzalo Camacho scored shortly after restart, but this only proved to be consolation. New Zealand finished the game with Jane completing his hat-trick and Cruden kicking seven points.

The home crowd showed their appreciation for the entertainment on show as they gave the victors a standing ovation after the final whistle.

The All Blacks now add the Rugby Championship crown to their 10 Tri-Nations titles. They’ll head into their final tournament fixture against the Springboks with an unbeaten 2012 record.

What a game we should have between the two strongest Test powers in Soweto next Saturday.

223 Comments

• 1.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Abs by twenty.

• 2.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-1:
    DRAGONS.

• 3.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-1:
    I think about 12.

• 4.Nils: Reply to this comment

Looking forward to a good Test and inspired performance by the Pumas.

Blacks to win, hopefully thanks to their own power than Pumas crumbling to the pressure.

• 5.Nils: Reply to this comment

That was a powerful intro, another reason to be happy for Argentina finally arriving to the party.

And Pumas treated with the “new haka”. Nice. Leapfrogged Europeans.

• 6.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Thanks Nama

• 7.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Nils-4:
    I believe the Pumas will be very positive in this game.

Hope so.

Your boys will have to win it, I think.

• 8.Pencil: Reply to this comment

How many handling errors this time. 20?

• 9.nama1: Reply to this comment

Missed drop, Argies.

• 10.Pencil: Reply to this comment

Excellent try by Arg, splitting them wide open.

• 11.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Mean try

• 12.nama1: Reply to this comment

Try time argies.

GO, Go, go……………

• 13.Nils: Reply to this comment

@nama1-7: Most certainly I do hope Blacks 1) win, 2) have to earn that very hard way.

However, if Pumas do pull the mighty upset, I’m not going to be desparate, they are among those few teams, I have been very fond of since I started to follow rugby.

And now they have scored! :)

• 14.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Argue fb searing pace

• 15.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Beautiful try. Pumas are no joke – especially at home.

• 16.Guns: Reply to this comment

COMMON ARGIEZZ!! :D

• 17.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Great kick by Bosch – hard luck.

• 18.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Nils-13:
    I don’t think you have to worry boet.

AB’s know how to absorb pressure.

They’ll be under it for about 60 minutes.

As I said, AB’s by 12. :lol:

What time is it in your country now?

09H30 Sunday morning?

• 19.Guns: Reply to this comment

Looked like Reid knocked that on WTF.!?

• 20.Guns: Reply to this comment

He did! Fking cheats!

• 21.Guns: Reply to this comment

• 22.Nils: Reply to this comment

Blacks score powerfully, game on (lol).

• 23.nama1: Reply to this comment

SMITH… great support running.

Forget about the break by Nonu…

• 24.Nils: Reply to this comment

@nama1-18: Erm.. in my country it is 2:30 AM now. In am a European. :D

• 25.Guns: Reply to this comment

Ag fk thats prob game… The Dream over all ready… Kiwis get all this momentum after a clear knock on F blind incompetant ref..

• 26.Pencil: Reply to this comment

Nice break from Carter

• 27.Guns: Reply to this comment

Yep what a crock, Carter gets isolated No ruck McCheat ref give carter a f penaltie.. **** this ref shagging Sjr Richie?

• 28.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Ab line speed on d not good enogh

• 29.Pencil: Reply to this comment

Nice work from the blacks, good try.

• 30.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Nils-24:
    A European???

Only Europeans I’ve ever heard about is a white tribe on the southern tip of Africa. :wink:

People born on the continent of Europe call themselves French, Spanish, Greek, German, Italian etc but never European. :lol:

Try time.

• 31.poppa69: Reply to this comment

great run by Carter

ABs starting to find their rhythm

• 32.Nils: Reply to this comment

Nice finish. Blacks look mean. Vamos Pumas, make a close contest!

• 33.Pencil: Reply to this comment

@Guns-27:

Looked like the guy was half off his feet while he was grabbing the ball.

• 34.Guns: Reply to this comment

Read making mince meat of a feable defencive effort.. Great offload pass.

• 35.umfolozi: Reply to this comment

Jeez how’s that Cory Jane try- they make the game look simple sometimes

• 36.Guns: Reply to this comment

@Pencil-33: did he actually move the ball? Thought it came off carter..

• 37.Nils: Reply to this comment

@nama1-30: More specifically, I am a Latvian. That’s a small country in the North Eastern part of Europe.

Actually I like being a European (broadly speaking, as opposed to Americans, Africans, Asians etc.), not to say I am too ecstatic about the European Union but glad about living there nevertheless.

• 38.Pencil: Reply to this comment

@Guns-36:

yeah he fished it out, puledl it back with his hand.

• 39.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Amateur ref

• 40.Nils: Reply to this comment

Outrageous try and, I’m afraid, that’s it. Contest killed.

• 41.Pencil: Reply to this comment

Try against the run of play, Good speed displayed by Savea.

• 42.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Great tackle Read …..try Savea

• 43.nama1: Reply to this comment

Vokkit, the AB’s going to run away with it.

Good try.

• 44.Pencil: Reply to this comment

Looks like he first rugby champion trophy is heading NZ’s way.

• 45.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Well, that’s the game. ABs too good today.

• 46.SHARKattack: Reply to this comment

Argentina can do much Bette than this. Honestly, they just gifting abs with points.

• 47.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

I think the Boks will beat them in Soweto though.

• 48.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Nils-37:
    That means you are a Latvian then, not European. :lol:

All in good spirit OK. :wink:

• 49.Guns: Reply to this comment

McCaw pumped in a beaut of a the tackle!

• 50.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

I think the Pumas have put in the hardest tackles in this competition.

• 51.nama1: Reply to this comment

What a tackle on McCaw!!!

• 52.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Ritchie got smashed.

• 53.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

47 you reckon you can beat the world and RC champs?

• 54.umfolozi: Reply to this comment

With all due respect this ref better hope he’s booked on the first flight out of town. Still, clinical chance-taking by AB’s

• 55.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-53: Not me personally. But the Boks? Sure. Tune in next week and see for yourself.

• 56.Guns: Reply to this comment

@Pencil-44: It was theirs the minute Auz lost the first two games and Meyer persisted with out of form Morne and tool Greyling and Potsmacker..

• 57.nama1: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-47:
    Bokke gaan kak volgende week as julle se baas weer so lank wag om vir Jantjies en de Jongh op te bring.

Het jy die twee driee gesien wat Jantjies in 5 vokken minute gemaak het????

• 58.Guns: Reply to this comment

Should have had flow or brussow from the start.

• 59.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

And that for the ‘rugby boertjie’ mugs is the four try bonus point(even if the ABs lose the game) that puts this historic Rugby Championship beyond the reach of the also rans.

Congratulations to the RWC Champs.

• 60.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Come on Argentina.

• 61.poppa69: Reply to this comment

NZinchina

SA won their first game in four

there’s a new world order

you should know the arrogance levels skyrocket after a bokke win

• 62.nama1: Reply to this comment

All Blacks shifting o another gear.

Next week will be epic if Jantjies starts ahead of Goosen. :wink:

• 63.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

plenty of Bokke fans picking that we were going to get beaten today

• 64.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Revising to thirty five diff

• 65.Nils: Reply to this comment

@nama1-48: I am both, mate, and proud of it. :) Old history and other small things. Really happy to be here, unlike, say, US, different mentality despite their cultural invasion.

Oh my, those Blacks are killers. Ripping Pumas to shreads.

• 66.Pencil: Reply to this comment

The blacks look far more stable now Carter is back from injury. coincidence?

• 67.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Pops DC is back we’ll take them in Soweto.

• 68.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Guns-58:
    Who’s fault was that?

• 69.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

@Nils-65:

Another trophy in the cabinet.
    Is there enough space there? Just the bonus point does it.

• 70.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-61:

Carter is definitely the General. Now I understand why you worry when he is not there,
    I knew they would play it wide all day today to stretch the bulky Argies and tire their old legs.

• 71.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

A rugby lesson happening here

• 72.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Nils-65:
    Good for you. :lol:

All Blacks are freakin angry here.

I said earlier in the week that they will come back like they did in the 3rd test against Ireland earlier in the year.

There is just now way that they will play as if they are stuck in 3rd gear for the whole international season.

Next week will be epic, my friend.

• 73.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Neilanate-69: I am more satisfied with the performance, unlike previous squeezed games and great deal of luck involved vs Boks. Had no doubt about the trophy, that is secondary however to me, performance first.

And if Boks looked clearly better than in 1st part of the tournament, Blacks are smoking now, which leads us to potential humdinger next week.

The one sad thing is incoming thrashing for Pumas, hate to see that, even by the Blacks and certainly from anybody else.

• 74.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Perfect time here for rugby in USA for once
    4 pm start
    Great passion in this crowd but ABs have silenced them

• 75.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Neil

yep. the Cruden Nonu axis also didn’t work at the hurricanes

Criden will hopefully learn from the great man, as Cruden doesn’t control a game as well as Carter, yet.

• 76.Nils: Reply to this comment

@nama1-72: I am most definitely looking forward to that The Clash Of The Year. Simply can’t wait and the more hostile atmosphere (nothing compares to the angry okes in the Highveld), the more I am looking forward to it. :D

• 77.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

That is superb McCaw.

• 78.nama1: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-71:
    You’re right.

Good for the vArgies in the long run, I think.

• 79.nama1: Reply to this comment

Good try Argies.

Hammering away.

• 80.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

well done pumas 4 more please

• 81.Nils: Reply to this comment

Nice re-start for the Pumas, again scored first.

• 82.poppa69: Reply to this comment

good try argies.

• 83.Pencil: Reply to this comment

Good try ARg.

Blacks defense looking quite soft this week.

• 84.nama1: Reply to this comment

Coach, did you watch the Bokke game today?

If you did, what did you think of the center pairing and would you bring in Fransie against the AB’s next week?

PS: I was not THAT impress by Taute. Granted, it was his debut.

• 85.Nils: Reply to this comment

The Empire Strikes Back.

• 86.umfolozi: Reply to this comment

Steve Hansen shows about as much emotion as Ivan Lendl

• 87.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@nama1-84:
    yes HM will go back to Steyn and Jd v
    I think when Kirshner got injured I would have liked to see taute at 15 and Jdj at 13

• 88.umfolozi: Reply to this comment

Wonder what the Pumas biggest ever defeat is

• 89.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Taute is a god player but the spark to day was Goosen and quick ruck ball
    F louw stood out here

• 90.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

I dont know but i have to say it.
    The warining to pumas was rough. I understand why it was done but the ABs did the samething only 10 mins earlier. I believe the ABs did not get a warning…. or did they? I may have missed it.
    Other than that thre ABs are showing once again they play like no other team in the world. But unlike the GH era, these guys lack consistency. This needs to be sorted.

• 91.Nils: Reply to this comment

@umfolozi-88: 8-93 vs Blacks in 97. Not to be surpased in the foreseeable future.

• 92.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-90:
    Better bring your A game Sat :)

• 93.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

WOODCOCK NEEDS TO LEAVE.
    too old and slow and is a penlty give away machine

• 94.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-92:
    Coach, i think its the Boks that needs to bring the A game.

• 95.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

just some basic mistakes by Argies
    Hold on to the ball guys

• 96.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-94:
    Well up to now they have brought their C and D game and still win or play it close
    Imagine if they do bring their A game
    Watch out

• 97.Pencil: Reply to this comment

NZ taking off all of their stars having the game wrapped up.

• 98.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Yep Huri…..Woodcock not agile enough anymore

• 99.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Look out Bokkie we’re coming for ya.

• 100.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-75:

Hey Pops how did you like that Cruden break and feed to Nonu for the easiest of tries?

• 101.poppa69: Reply to this comment

good to see Cane get some game time.

• 102.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-99:
    BRING IT ON :)

• 103.umfolozi: Reply to this comment

Feeling a bit sorry for the Pumas-
    For the first time in the RC they look out of their depth, and playing at home to make matters worse. They gonna have to pick themselves up to finish strong next week

• 104.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-99:

It will be no contest for the new Champion ABs.

• 105.nama1: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-87:
    and Lambie then…? :lol:

No place for him if Taute is at 15.

What did you make of Jantjies putting JdV in a 50m gap and then Pienaar in a 60m gap with good passes? :lol:

Bothy leading to near tries.

• 106.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-96:
    Coach,what makes you think the ABs have hit there game yet.
    I see heaps of improvments, especially compared to the ABs over the last few years, this current batch.
    As said, you have to play your A game to win.
    ABs played useless in Dunedin but still won. You guys cannot get away playing like that.

• 107.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Argies will beat Aus next week.

• 108.poppa69: Reply to this comment

umfolozi

out of their depth?

they came within a charge down of beating SA and led the Aussies 19-6 at one stage in Australia.

• 109.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Neilanate-104:
    Hou op so gatkruip. :lol:

• 110.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

Why take the 3 points?

• 111.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Thing is guys Agries have been able to score some good tries and break the ABs defense There defense has been poor
    Boks will note what Argies can do on attack and their defense is going to be a lot tougher than Argies IMO

• 112.umfolozi: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-108: Read again brother-I said today is the first time in the Comp that they looked out of their depth

• 113.nama1: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-107:
    Nope.

I think this loss will break their spirit.

Aussies will beat them next week.

Easily.

• 114.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@nama1-105:
    HM loves big srong backs Taute is there either as a center back up or full back or even in place of Hougaard on the wing if he move to 9
    lambie seems a bit off form IMO

• 115.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Coach you dont think the Abs have played well 47 points and counting?

• 116.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-106:
    As i said
    Bring it on :)

• 117.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-114:
    No one can keep form when you get mucked around each week re Lambie.
    Poor guy.

• 118.umfolozi: Reply to this comment

You know you’ve got a good team when you can field Piri and still look mobile

• 119.poppa69: Reply to this comment

yeah but coach

the pumas are a much better attacking side then the boks.

we are seeing today why the ABs have an 80 percent win ratio compared to SAs 60

Soccer city holds good memories for the ABs, and Soweto has always been a grand area of SA support for the ABs.

• 120.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-115:
    yes they have played very well see my earlier post
    A rugby lesson

• 121.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-116:
    Coach, you know we will. We always do, rarely do we disapoint.

• 122.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Nama will they be even able to field a team, I hope the Bokke dont get too carried away after last night that was a 14 man Aus D team.

• 123.nama1: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-111:
    You’re talking about the defense in the back line.

Boks will never play the AB’s with their back line. Our best chance to beat them is to moer them up front and kick our penalties over when we get them.

• 124.Pencil: Reply to this comment

That argie tugging on Nonu’s locks out in the open for all to see.

• 125.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-119:
    It is a dumb venue
    hey where are al the saffa bloggers
    Geez i am alone here against ” the enemy ”

• 126.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

@nama1-109:

Snaaks dat jy dit wil skryf, maar volgens wat ek hier ‘n ruk in die verlede gelees het, is jy nie familie van Outa Dawid Kruiper en dus is jou naam mos Gat Kruiper, ‘aka’ Nama?

• 127.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@nama1-123:
    Afries not know for theur amazing attacking rugby
    More about the forwards
    We scored 5 agaisnt Oz and missed about 5 more :_

• 128.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Cmon we want 50.

• 129.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-125:
    Kiwis, lets get him

• 130.poppa69: Reply to this comment

coach. :)

if the argies were close you’d have a whole division with you

• 131.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-121:
    Ag Bok /Ab rugby still the best match up int he world
    regardless of the outcome

• 132.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

More silverware shortly.

• 133.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Yessssssssssss

• 134.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

Janes fend off again.
    This guys is the best in the fend, so strong.

• 135.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Jane must have one of the best fends ever

• 136.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Jane and Habana Best 2 wings in the world right now
    jane underrated but most likely the best all round wing in the world

• 137.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

very impressive all blacks. too much class. am gutted for the argies after they have competed so well this tournament. lets hope they can pick themselves up for next week.

• 138.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-132:
    Time to turn it off now :)
    Well done ABs very good win indeed

• 139.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Hurri

you had a few beers have we? midday is a great time to watch a test match.

• 140.umfolozi: Reply to this comment

Good to see the stadium fans applauding a great display of rugby

• 141.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

See you next week then Coach.

• 142.nama1: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-114:
    You do realize that I asked YOUR opinion. (p.84)

We’ve all, or quite a few of us, came to realize that HM is a doos actually. :lol:

@NZINCHINA-122:
    I think the Argies are done for.

It will take them another two year to get use to the pace of 6 top quality test matches in 8 weeks.

They are finished imo.

• 143.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Abs will take out Bok next week .Bok are a couple of years away from matching up man for man across the board with RC champs

• 144.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

kiwi boys
    just maybe after this high you come crashing down to earth in RSA next week :)

• 145.nama1: Reply to this comment

Bloody anti climax, this game.

What was the final score? :lol:

Richie is a real baas.

• 146.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@nama1-142:
    Yes you did thank you Hope i answered :)
    As you know I have not be too kind towards HM
    As i said when you get smacked over the head when you mess up every time eventually you change
    he is heading in the right direction

• 147.poppa69: Reply to this comment

15 straight.

Boks chance to stop the run next week.

if they don’t, we play Aus then the NH tour.

• 148.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Te Rangi as we discussed earlier in the week DC huge difference.

• 149.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-139:
    Midday is great time to watch the Champs :-)

@CoachPete-144:
    haha, Coach we will try our best to take you guys.
    SA different team at home.

• 150.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Neilanate-126:
    Dawid Kruiper was ‘n Boesman. Mag sy Boesman siel in vrede rus.

Was jy by sy begrafnis?

NS: Ken jy die verskil??? :wink:

• 151.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Ae China,Dan is the greatest

• 152.The Donkeys Egg: Reply to this comment

I’ll have my bife de chorizo

tenderised.

and velte y velte.

gracios.

• 153.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

Wow stats read a different game
    63% territory adv to Argies and 54% possesion.
    Yet ABs whacked on 50 points.

• 154.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-143:
    I don’t think it will be that easy.

1. Our front row will stand up to yours.
    2. We’ll win our own line out ball and may even steal some of yours.
    3. Our loose trio will be able to compete with yours on the ground.
    4. If Pienaar can reproduce the kind of game he played today (quick ruck ball, quick service), we’ll have forward momentum. You guys don’t like to play from the back foot.

At the end of it all, it will come down to ONE man: DANIEL CARTER.

If he has his kicking boots on and converts all the chances at goal, you’ll beat us.

• 155.poppa69: Reply to this comment

I think Goosen missed enough kicks for Morne Steyn to be reinstated as the first choice.

helluva game next week. boks seeking revenge for Dunedin, ABs wanting to prove try performed poorly versus SA so will be better prepared

promises to be huge

• 156.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Kidding aside
    We have our work cut out for us
    ABs performance was excellent
    Our performance was better but against a weak injury riddled Aussie team.
    Still its ABs? bok test and should be fantastic hopefully.
    Again well done ABs. Classic :)

• 157.Manona: Reply to this comment

2 good games. Jane & nonu finally back to form.

JdV & Habana finally back to form.

2 lineouts that work, 2 good scrums (Argies scrum is good too).

I just hope the boks don’t go back into their shell.

Can’t wait

• 158.nama1: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-146:
    He is heading in the right direction. You’re right about that.

A dramatic change in the next 24 hours that he should make:

Jean de Villiers to announce his retirement from international rugby TOMORROW.

Make Strauss the captain for the EOYT.

Prepare SA for Bissie to be the captain for the next few years until 2015.

• 159.poppa69: Reply to this comment

coach

always the best
    both team measure themselves against each other

as it has been

as it should be

• 160.nama1: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-155:
    We’re not seeking for revenge for Dunedin, Pops.

We just wanna moer you in our own backyard.

That’s all.

Do you think that you can beat us in the forwards? From what I’ve seen against us two weeks ago and again tonight, we will absolutely hammer you up front.

• 161.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@nama1-158:
    yes sadly i have to agree but HM does not
    We still need a 9 like your boy
    We have got rid of spies potgieter greyling and hopefull M steyn for good
    Yes Bismark will be back and a few more experienced loosies
    HM has finally realized we needed a fetcher your 7 or 6
    Brussow is avalable to
    Jamtjies is playing really well and Goosen is a potential star
    Locks looking better , except Flip needs to go and front row stronger with more choices especially props
    Taute now fit
    Add a few rising stars (le roux and A Coetzee) and we are back in business

• 162.nama1: Reply to this comment

“and again tonight”

and again against the Argies tonight

• 163.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

our 6 sorry

• 164.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Nama

we will have devised strategies. our coaches don’t panic. if we lose we lose

one out of 16 isn’t so bad :)

• 165.jet jungle: Reply to this comment

Well done Kiwiete
    Can’t be good for the Argies confidence on the big boys playground.
    I am sure they will eventually become everybody’s favourite second team.
    Next weekend for the big one,go bokke
    Have anybody seen Goosen’s fake skoppie over the defence which stop the whole defending line of the wallabies for a second to pass the ball to the right.
    Little things like that,that create holes and tries.

• 166.nama1: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-161:
    Let’s hope AC give Nic Groom enough game time in the S15 time next year to prove himself.

Jantjies is currently better than Goosen. (Btw, did he injured himself or what was the reason that he did not kick for poles?)

Best loose trio against the AB’s next weekend would be:
    6. Flo
    7. Coetzee
    8. Vermeulen

Alberts on in the last 25-30 minutes.

Hougaard on the bench. JdV starting on the wing and JdJ and Taute the centers.

• 167.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@154 Nama you forgot to mention your backs where Abs have the advantage in able to sniff a try…it is there where the Abs will win it in the Soweto

• 168.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Manona-157:
    What did Jean do today that convinced you that he is back to form?

• 169.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@nama1-166:
    Dont know about the goal kicking
    if you can run like he did he was not injured enough to not kick?
    he did have a heel injury in the week and maybe it had something to do with his run up and planting his foot when kicking
    yeah Jantjies playing really well
    To think HM ignored him and Goosen for Steyn FFS
    As for Jantjies starting
    Too small for HM

• 170.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@nama1-166:
    I agree with your 6,7,8 Albert off the bench
    But I think HM will want that power and grunt with Alerts starting against the ABs

• 171.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@jet jungle-165:
    Its called the goosen step :)

• 172.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-167:
    I can’t disagree with you there but…

….we’ll not allow you to use your back line.

So, you’ll have to beat us in the forwards and I can’t see that happening.

• 173.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@nama1-172:

nama you won’t hammer us in the scrums or the lineouts, the breakdown will be hotly contested, easy on the hammering talk mate it might bite you in the a rse

• 174.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-173:
    You tell him Nama :)

• 175.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-173:
    You have edge at 15 and 9 and maybe attacking in the centers
    Forwards even break down even with flow really doing well
    Scrums and lineouts even too
    Lets ho[e its a cracker
    @nama1-168:
    Name somehow i t thoughts you were a kiwi sorry :)
    Geez i get beat up here on keo by Kiwis at this time of day lol

• 176.jet jungle: Reply to this comment

CoachPete I do rate Jantjies very highly but if the Goose got his kicking boots on I do think hy is die antwoord. It is exiting having three potentially great flyhalves around (i think Lambie can be just as great, given the chance on flyhalve not 15)

• 177.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-174:

the Argies have pushed everybody close, we just put 50 on them and we are going to get hammered hard to work out that logic

• 178.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-175:

Flow really impressive he’s been the difference for you guys

• 179.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@jet jungle-176:
    I think he can kick fine I have a feeling it was his bruised heel that was a problem when planting to kick so thats why they went with Ruan

• 180.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-178:
    Vermeulen also at 8 a 100 times better than Spies
    Allows Alberts to be 7 where he is better

• 181.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-178:
    Although Flow is a a fetcher and is great at the break downs he can be a ball carrier
    Alberts is the main ball carrier but does great defense work and some times plays tight like a lock
    Vermeulen compliments them by been a classic 8 but plays fairly tight too
    Would have been nice to add Bismark to those 3

• 182.nama1: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-173:
    nobody moer nobody in the scrums or the line outs nowadays. We’ll just steal a couple of your line out balls. Scrums will be even but we just might moer you a couple of times if Beast get it right. Only a couple of times.

We’ll moer you at the break downs next week. Absolutely no doubt about that.

You’ll have to beat us with your backs next week….. and that is, if they can get quality ball…

You better hope Dan is back at hie majestic best next week if you want to beat us in Soweto.

As I’ve already said, he may or may not be the difference next week.

• 183.jet jungle: Reply to this comment

Yes Coach,at least Meyer is not banging his head against the same tree seven times in a row. Must be difficult though, he is learning although slowly.
    I am very impressed with Flo and would not mind seeing him as a future captain. Hy het daai hoofseun look.

• 184.nama1: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-175:
    With a nic like Nama?

I would’ve understand if I called myself Mana. :lol:

An honorary name in Maori culture according to some of our AB friends on this site.

@NZINCHINA-177:
    That was the Argies. Next week you’re going to play against the Boks.

Moerse difference.

• 185.nama1: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-179:
    Is it bruised enough for him not to start next week?

If that is the case, I just fear that HM will start with Morne because he does not trust Jantjies enough.

• 186.aliboy: Reply to this comment

@nama1-184: Mana isn’t a name. It is a word used to describe the respect in which someone is held (in a loose translation). It is actually quite a useful word as it is not one that the English language has a really good translation for.
    Abs vs the Boks next week going to be good. AB’s finally starting to click a bit better and the Boks feeling high after putting away the Wallabies. Then again, one team put away a normally tough opposition by 50 points away from home, and the other playing at home put away a B team that lost another third of its players to injury during the game. Can’t really use the two games to compare much other than to say that both attacks were in better shape than they have been recently. I am picking though that the Boks will ‘revert to type’ and try to smash it up the middle. They won’t want to risk giving turnover ball to the AB backs wide of their defensive center. If the Boks try to play too wide they lose. If they keep it tight, they are in with a shout. AB’s by 7 – 10.

• 187.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@172 Nama I think the Abs are better in the forwards so I will wait till next week for my justification

• 188.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Mama can be a name,just a hard name to live up to.

.I

• 189.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Phone sux..
    ..Mana can be a name

• 190.nama1: Reply to this comment

@aliboy-186:
    My mistake.

Thanks for the explanation.

“I am picking though that the Boks will ‘revert to type’ and try to smash it up the middle. ”

We see it the same way.

The difference now is that the Boks have a loose trio where the players complement each other much better. Man for man, they might not be as talented as the AB’s trio but as a unit they are very, very good.

A score like 15-12 or something like that, won’t surprise me at all.

The Boks having 15. :wink:

• 191.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-187:

15 straight test wins says we are alot better, Nama talking a big game on KEO though

• 192.aliboy: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-191: Don’t remember too many AB supporters going into a game saying they expect to lose either NZC ;-) . Next weekend we will know Nama1.

• 193.aliboy: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-191: Might be 15 straight, but only 1 of those against the Boks? I think the AB’s got a beating last time they visited SA??

• 194.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@aliboy-192:

yes thats true but he’s talking about a hammering, that wont be happening

• 195.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@aliboy-193:

yes we did lose we can’t win all the time just most of the time, this AB unit will be too strong in Soweto the Bokke are far from a polished unit, they won’t last over 80 minutes

• 196.nama1: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-194:
    Read again…I said we’ll moer you up front.

my prediction is something like 15-12 in our favor.

That’s not a hammering, is it? :lol:

• 197.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@nama1-196:

ha fair enough I think the score will be higher than that though too many finishers playing

• 198.aliboy: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-194: A bit of discussion and he is now forecasting 15 – 12 rather than a hammering. Whether the AB’s win will depend on how much of a motivational hangover they have after todays game. They have the team to put the Boks away quite convincingly, but the challenge of getting up that high for a dead rubber game is going to be a tough one.

• 199.nama1: Reply to this comment

I also said this: (p. 154)

“At the end of it all, it will come down to ONE man: DANIEL CARTER.

If he has his kicking boots on and converts all the chances at goal, you’ll beat us.”

How you can say I predict a hammering only you will know. :lol:

…but, well moer you in Soweto. That’s for sure.

PS: hopefully JdV will not pull a John smit and miss Nonu in the 78th minute on the half way line. :lol:

• 200.nama1: Reply to this comment

@aliboy-198:
    Where did I talk about a hammering?

I said our FORWARDS will moer you. Nowhere did I talk about a hammering wrt the scoreline.

You can copy and paste if you want. :lol:

• 201.nama1: Reply to this comment

Do you think that you can beat us in the forwards? From what I’ve seen against us two weeks ago and again tonight, we will absolutely hammer you up front.

OK, I see. This is the part that you read and then you sommer decided that I was ” talking about a hammering” (p.194) or that after ” bit of discussion and he is now forecasting 15 – 12 rather than a hammering.” (p. 198)

Come on boys, you are much better than that.

PS: We’ll beat you in any case. :wink:

• 202.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

You’ll hammer us up front and beat us by 3 points he he time for you to get some rest when the masses awake we will be told about a new world order and Bokke domination you’re going to be busy!

• 203.KiaKahaNZ: Reply to this comment

if our passes connect next week like they did today, boks will leak 30 points plus to the AB’s. The AB’s have been threatening all comp to do this, and for a while, even today, too many unforced arrors. Once they were tidies up, it was always going to be a bit too much for Argie to keep pace

We need to tidy our defence

problem for the boks – will they get carried away with defending their record at Loftus and recording a sound win, against what has to be a very ordinary Aus team by all comparisons.

Predict a final margin of 19 points to the AB’s next week

• 204.posts: Reply to this comment

Who cares, the cups won. At least the boks are playing watchable rugby again so the 80-100,000 spectators wouldn’t have completely wasted their money.

• 205.W.P: Reply to this comment

Boks will beat the AB next week. Foundation will be laid in the forwards.

• 206.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@W.P-205:
    Good luck with that

• 207.aliboy: Reply to this comment

@W.P-205: We will see. When you do a man for man comparison up front there isn’t much in it. AB’s won the set piece battle in Dunedin and the Boks won the breakdown battle, but not much in either call. I don’t think you will see the AB’s come 2nd at the breakdown again if they can get their motivation right. They killed Argentina at the breakdown today and no one else has managed that in this comp. If they take that form into the Bok game the Boks will be in trouble.
    Only weapon that the Boks have that might ‘scare’ the AB’s is the maul. Pretty sure that will be a focus this week for both teams. On the other hand, the AB’s have a backline that must be the best in world rugby by a good margin at the moment. If they get enough possession, they will score tries. Great thing I liked tonight was that the coaching staff had worked out the Arg defensive system and how to counter it. I wasn’t sure that without Smith and Henry the current coaching team would be able to do that. Pat on the back for Fozzie.

• 208.Predawn: Reply to this comment

Any rugby purists out there will agree that the Boks have a less than impressive midfield. The Aussies were not at their best yesterday. keo and others will have you believe that the game we played was an improvement, but the truth is, nothing has changed from the week before.

Our backline is a few light years behind the Kiwis in every way, shape or form.

de Villiers ran into players as per his usual style and those saying he had a good game are simply playing into the mind games produced by the keo writers. Habana, Goosen and Ruan Pienaar were the pick of the bunch. The kicking coach needs a boot up the a-hole. Clearly he is not any good. Klaar.

If one goes back to watch the game again it will quickly become clear that once again the forwards were the Boks saving grace from another potential embarrassment. Every moment of brilliance came from those guys. They set up moves that lead to several tries, they defended like Trojans and contested the Aussies into bleeding masses of pulp.

Manne, our backline is terrible. Therin lies the big big problem for the Boks. de Villiers on the run yesterday I would bet, could not even outpace Spies in open play. He is old and slow and lacks imagination on the pitch. if he were not the captain I would have replaced him with one of the new youngsters three games ago.

The backline game plan is almost a farce. There is no clear pattern to break the line besides running hard into defenders. This would have been noted by the Kiwis.

Take note: The game against them will be lost through our midfield.

• 209.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Predawn-208:

Yes, HM should bring in Whitehead, Jordaan, Meyer Bosman and lets hope Frans Steyn will be fit next week.

• 210.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Damn

I missed Corey’s fend!

• 211.Predawn: Reply to this comment

Even de Jongh and the other laaitie need a run.

• 212.aliboy: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-210: All 3 of them?

• 213.Dawn: Reply to this comment

There were three?

Damn.

He has the best fend in rugby.

• 214.The Donkeys Egg: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-98:

“Woodcock not agile enough anymore”

Do you think the AB pack will be questioning a props agility when he is holding up 900kegs of Bok beef in Soweto ?

• 215.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@The Donkeys Egg-214:
    Point is Woodcock is no where near what he use to be. In fact he is slow getting back and alotof the time just does not go back and finds himself offside.
    The game has changed and agility is something all players needs especially with the way the ABs are looking to play. Aswell he collapses alotof the scrums and give a alotof free kicks amnd penalties away.

• 216.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

Only 216 posts?
    Really odd. Seems like a few SA are disappointed at the way the ABs took a part the Argies,they have nothing to say.
    I reckon it would be hitting the 1000 posts if the ABs lost with HG and Bakkies spear heading the way…..tossers.

• 217.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@The Donkeys Egg-214:
    “Do you think the AB pack will be questioning a props agility when he is holding up 900kegs of Bok beef in Soweto ?”
    Kia ora Donkey, the answer would probably be no….we know if a test prop is hopeless at scrum time his lifespan in test rugby are numbered, yet the way the game has evolved, props must also be good in other areas, one of these is being able to defend against speedy, stepping backs, where one must be agile in mind and body.

• 218.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-217: kia ora bro..

“one of these is being able to defend against speedy, stepping backs”

its SA this weekend, we know thats not gonna happen :D

• 219.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-216: hehehe Im waiting for Bakkies dissemination of the game this weekend..

I think he will state emphatically that Peyper is the new Lawrence

as for HG, he’ll be happy with the one win in four the Boks have achieved recently, the adjectives fat maori, © boom ™ and kings cross security guard will be used exceedingly before the test this coming weekend..

as an aside, do you know what France is like in October?

• 220.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-218:
    Kia ora Bro…..E pehea ana koe? Hehehe…..yes, don’t think Woodcock needs to take up yoga in preparation for this weekends game.

• 221.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-220: all good here bro, yourself?

he had a poor game in Dunedin, but the whole pack werent playing as a unit then… still think he has something to offer ( might be my Auckland bias :D ) the tight five were so much better versus the Argies, and I think they bring the same level of physicality that the boks do…

if they can bring the short passing game one or two off the ruck, I think that will go a long way to beating the boks…

• 222.The Donkeys Egg: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-217:

the point being that you don’t pick an ‘agile’ prop vs Arg in Arg or vs SA in SA or Eng in Eng or Fr in Fr if he can’t fkn scrum, 1st and foremost

Woodcock looked fairly agile carving thru the middle of the French lineout last Oct. Pick an agile loosehead like Crockett or B.Franks or McIntosh and watch your advan slowly erode away in the face of easy pen points. Woodcocks work rate is immense, hitting rucks etc. And, whilst scrum pens seem to be a lottery where no prop is safe (from an Aussie hoodwink, for e.g.), Woodcock wins more contests than most.

• 223.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@222 agree with your comment about the need to select a good scrumming prop when up against those sides,and yes wouldn’t go with those others you mentioned,but let me say this,Woodcock needs to smash those Boks

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.