All Blacks deliver La Plata masterclass

GARETH DUNCAN watched the All Blacks clinch the inaugural Rugby Championship title with a 54-15 victory over Argentina in La Plata.

If you thought the Springboks were impressive during their 31-8 win over the Wallabies in Pretoria, the All Blacks were outstanding and reminded the rugby fraternity why they’re the No 1 team.

The world champions delivered a powerful performance and starred in all facets of play as they eased past the Pumas, scoring six tries. Wings Cory Jane and Julian Savea grabbed a hat-trick and brace respectively as New Zealand’s expansive approach was highly effective.

The continuity on attack through offloads and quick service at the tackle points were – no other nation can currently match them in this regard. The All Blacks heavies dominated the forwards battle for most parts of the match, creating the platform for the backs to run riot.

Flyhalf Dan Carter also impressed with the boot, slotting five of his eight goal attempts, while Aaron Cruden added two conversions and a penalty.

The Pumas shocked the visitors during the opening moments as they scored the first try thanks to a smart backline move. Fullback Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino ran the perfect angle as he was put into space, and he beat flank Richie McCaw and Carter to surge into the Kiwis’ red zone. A quick pop pass saw scrumhalf Martin Landajo have the speed and power to cross the chalk.

However, it was one-way traffic thereafter.

Clinical breaks from inside centre Ma’a Nonu and No 8 Kieran Read created opportunities for scrumhalf Aaron Smith and Jane respectively. Both scores came off the back of great multi-phase play.

Savea then completed a comprehensive opening 40 showing as he scored two tries in quick succession. The first came from a spilled ball during a Pumas attack, and the No 11 had the speed and skill to finish off a good kick-and-chase score. His second was a powerful strike from close range.

The All Blacks held a 37-8 advantage at half-time. Game, set and match.

Pumas wing Gonzalo Camacho scored shortly after restart, but this only proved to be consolation. New Zealand finished the game with Jane completing his hat-trick and Cruden kicking seven points.

The home crowd showed their appreciation for the entertainment on show as they gave the victors a standing ovation after the final whistle.

The All Blacks now add the Rugby Championship crown to their 10 Tri-Nations titles. They’ll head into their final tournament fixture against the Springboks with an unbeaten 2012 record.

What a game we should have between the two strongest Test powers in Soweto next Saturday.

223 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 » Show All

• 51.nama1: Reply to this comment

What a tackle on McCaw!!!

• 52.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Ritchie got smashed.

• 53.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

47 you reckon you can beat the world and RC champs?

• 54.umfolozi: Reply to this comment

With all due respect this ref better hope he’s booked on the first flight out of town. Still, clinical chance-taking by AB’s

• 55.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-53: Not me personally. But the Boks? Sure. Tune in next week and see for yourself.

• 56.Guns: Reply to this comment

@Pencil-44: It was theirs the minute Auz lost the first two games and Meyer persisted with out of form Morne and tool Greyling and Potsmacker..

• 57.nama1: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-47:
    Bokke gaan kak volgende week as julle se baas weer so lank wag om vir Jantjies en de Jongh op te bring.

Het jy die twee driee gesien wat Jantjies in 5 vokken minute gemaak het????

• 58.Guns: Reply to this comment

Should have had flow or brussow from the start.

• 59.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

And that for the ‘rugby boertjie’ mugs is the four try bonus point(even if the ABs lose the game) that puts this historic Rugby Championship beyond the reach of the also rans.

Congratulations to the RWC Champs.

• 60.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Come on Argentina.

• 61.poppa69: Reply to this comment

NZinchina

SA won their first game in four

there’s a new world order

you should know the arrogance levels skyrocket after a bokke win

• 62.nama1: Reply to this comment

All Blacks shifting o another gear.

Next week will be epic if Jantjies starts ahead of Goosen. :wink:

• 63.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

plenty of Bokke fans picking that we were going to get beaten today

• 64.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Revising to thirty five diff

• 65.Nils: Reply to this comment

@nama1-48: I am both, mate, and proud of it. :) Old history and other small things. Really happy to be here, unlike, say, US, different mentality despite their cultural invasion.

Oh my, those Blacks are killers. Ripping Pumas to shreads.

• 66.Pencil: Reply to this comment

The blacks look far more stable now Carter is back from injury. coincidence?

• 67.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Pops DC is back we’ll take them in Soweto.

• 68.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Guns-58:
    Who’s fault was that?

• 69.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

@Nils-65:

Another trophy in the cabinet.
    Is there enough space there? Just the bonus point does it.

• 70.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-61:

Carter is definitely the General. Now I understand why you worry when he is not there,
    I knew they would play it wide all day today to stretch the bulky Argies and tire their old legs.

• 71.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

A rugby lesson happening here

• 72.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Nils-65:
    Good for you. :lol:

All Blacks are freakin angry here.

I said earlier in the week that they will come back like they did in the 3rd test against Ireland earlier in the year.

There is just now way that they will play as if they are stuck in 3rd gear for the whole international season.

Next week will be epic, my friend.

• 73.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Neilanate-69: I am more satisfied with the performance, unlike previous squeezed games and great deal of luck involved vs Boks. Had no doubt about the trophy, that is secondary however to me, performance first.

And if Boks looked clearly better than in 1st part of the tournament, Blacks are smoking now, which leads us to potential humdinger next week.

The one sad thing is incoming thrashing for Pumas, hate to see that, even by the Blacks and certainly from anybody else.

• 74.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Perfect time here for rugby in USA for once
    4 pm start
    Great passion in this crowd but ABs have silenced them

• 75.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Neil

yep. the Cruden Nonu axis also didn’t work at the hurricanes

Criden will hopefully learn from the great man, as Cruden doesn’t control a game as well as Carter, yet.

• 76.Nils: Reply to this comment

@nama1-72: I am most definitely looking forward to that The Clash Of The Year. Simply can’t wait and the more hostile atmosphere (nothing compares to the angry okes in the Highveld), the more I am looking forward to it. :D

• 77.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

That is superb McCaw.

• 78.nama1: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-71:
    You’re right.

Good for the vArgies in the long run, I think.

• 79.nama1: Reply to this comment

Good try Argies.

Hammering away.

• 80.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

well done pumas 4 more please

• 81.Nils: Reply to this comment

Nice re-start for the Pumas, again scored first.

• 82.poppa69: Reply to this comment

good try argies.

• 83.Pencil: Reply to this comment

Good try ARg.

Blacks defense looking quite soft this week.

• 84.nama1: Reply to this comment

Coach, did you watch the Bokke game today?

If you did, what did you think of the center pairing and would you bring in Fransie against the AB’s next week?

PS: I was not THAT impress by Taute. Granted, it was his debut.

• 85.Nils: Reply to this comment

The Empire Strikes Back.

• 86.umfolozi: Reply to this comment

Steve Hansen shows about as much emotion as Ivan Lendl

• 87.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@nama1-84:
    yes HM will go back to Steyn and Jd v
    I think when Kirshner got injured I would have liked to see taute at 15 and Jdj at 13

• 88.umfolozi: Reply to this comment

Wonder what the Pumas biggest ever defeat is

• 89.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Taute is a god player but the spark to day was Goosen and quick ruck ball
    F louw stood out here

• 90.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

I dont know but i have to say it.
    The warining to pumas was rough. I understand why it was done but the ABs did the samething only 10 mins earlier. I believe the ABs did not get a warning…. or did they? I may have missed it.
    Other than that thre ABs are showing once again they play like no other team in the world. But unlike the GH era, these guys lack consistency. This needs to be sorted.

• 91.Nils: Reply to this comment

@umfolozi-88: 8-93 vs Blacks in 97. Not to be surpased in the foreseeable future.

• 92.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-90:
    Better bring your A game Sat :)

• 93.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

WOODCOCK NEEDS TO LEAVE.
    too old and slow and is a penlty give away machine

• 94.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-92:
    Coach, i think its the Boks that needs to bring the A game.

• 95.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

just some basic mistakes by Argies
    Hold on to the ball guys

• 96.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-94:
    Well up to now they have brought their C and D game and still win or play it close
    Imagine if they do bring their A game
    Watch out

• 97.Pencil: Reply to this comment

NZ taking off all of their stars having the game wrapped up.

• 98.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Yep Huri…..Woodcock not agile enough anymore

• 99.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Look out Bokkie we’re coming for ya.

• 100.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-75:

Hey Pops how did you like that Cruden break and feed to Nonu for the easiest of tries?

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.