All Blacks deliver La Plata masterclass
29 Sep 2012
GARETH DUNCAN watched the All Blacks clinch the inaugural Rugby Championship title with a 54-15 victory over Argentina in La Plata.
If you thought the Springboks were impressive during their 31-8 win over the Wallabies in Pretoria, the All Blacks were outstanding and reminded the rugby fraternity why they’re the No 1 team.
The world champions delivered a powerful performance and starred in all facets of play as they eased past the Pumas, scoring six tries. Wings Cory Jane and Julian Savea grabbed a hat-trick and brace respectively as New Zealand’s expansive approach was highly effective.
The continuity on attack through offloads and quick service at the tackle points were – no other nation can currently match them in this regard. The All Blacks heavies dominated the forwards battle for most parts of the match, creating the platform for the backs to run riot.
Flyhalf Dan Carter also impressed with the boot, slotting five of his eight goal attempts, while Aaron Cruden added two conversions and a penalty.
The Pumas shocked the visitors during the opening moments as they scored the first try thanks to a smart backline move. Fullback Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino ran the perfect angle as he was put into space, and he beat flank Richie McCaw and Carter to surge into the Kiwis’ red zone. A quick pop pass saw scrumhalf Martin Landajo have the speed and power to cross the chalk.
However, it was one-way traffic thereafter.
Clinical breaks from inside centre Ma’a Nonu and No 8 Kieran Read created opportunities for scrumhalf Aaron Smith and Jane respectively. Both scores came off the back of great multi-phase play.
Savea then completed a comprehensive opening 40 showing as he scored two tries in quick succession. The first came from a spilled ball during a Pumas attack, and the No 11 had the speed and skill to finish off a good kick-and-chase score. His second was a powerful strike from close range.
The All Blacks held a 37-8 advantage at half-time. Game, set and match.
Pumas wing Gonzalo Camacho scored shortly after restart, but this only proved to be consolation. New Zealand finished the game with Jane completing his hat-trick and Cruden kicking seven points.
The home crowd showed their appreciation for the entertainment on show as they gave the victors a standing ovation after the final whistle.
The All Blacks now add the Rugby Championship crown to their 10 Tri-Nations titles. They’ll head into their final tournament fixture against the Springboks with an unbeaten 2012 record.
What a game we should have between the two strongest Test powers in Soweto next Saturday.

223 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 » Show All
30 Sep 2012, 02:26 am
good to see Cane get some game time.
30 Sep 2012, 02:26 am
@NZINCHINA-99:
BRING IT ON
30 Sep 2012, 02:27 am
Feeling a bit sorry for the Pumas-
For the first time in the RC they look out of their depth, and playing at home to make matters worse. They gonna have to pick themselves up to finish strong next week
30 Sep 2012, 02:27 am
@NZINCHINA-99:
It will be no contest for the new Champion ABs.
30 Sep 2012, 02:28 am
@CoachPete-87:
and Lambie then…?
No place for him if Taute is at 15.
What did you make of Jantjies putting JdV in a 50m gap and then Pienaar in a 60m gap with good passes?
Bothy leading to near tries.
30 Sep 2012, 02:29 am
@CoachPete-96:
Coach,what makes you think the ABs have hit there game yet.
I see heaps of improvments, especially compared to the ABs over the last few years, this current batch.
As said, you have to play your A game to win.
ABs played useless in Dunedin but still won. You guys cannot get away playing like that.
30 Sep 2012, 02:29 am
Argies will beat Aus next week.
30 Sep 2012, 02:30 am
umfolozi
out of their depth?
they came within a charge down of beating SA and led the Aussies 19-6 at one stage in Australia.
30 Sep 2012, 02:32 am
@Neilanate-104:
Hou op so gatkruip.
Why take the 3 points?
Thing is guys Agries have been able to score some good tries and break the ABs defense There defense has been poor
Boks will note what Argies can do on attack and their defense is going to be a lot tougher than Argies IMO
30 Sep 2012, 02:33 am
@poppa69-108: Read again brother-I said today is the first time in the Comp that they looked out of their depth
30 Sep 2012, 02:35 am
@NZINCHINA-107:
Nope.
I think this loss will break their spirit.
Aussies will beat them next week.
Easily.
30 Sep 2012, 02:35 am
@nama1-105:
HM loves big srong backs Taute is there either as a center back up or full back or even in place of Hougaard on the wing if he move to 9
lambie seems a bit off form IMO
30 Sep 2012, 02:36 am
Coach you dont think the Abs have played well 47 points and counting?
@Hurricane-106:
As i said
Bring it on
@CoachPete-114:
No one can keep form when you get mucked around each week re Lambie.
Poor guy.
30 Sep 2012, 02:37 am
You know you’ve got a good team when you can field Piri and still look mobile
yeah but coach
the pumas are a much better attacking side then the boks.
we are seeing today why the ABs have an 80 percent win ratio compared to SAs 60
Soccer city holds good memories for the ABs, and Soweto has always been a grand area of SA support for the ABs.
@NZINCHINA-115:
yes they have played very well see my earlier post
A rugby lesson
30 Sep 2012, 02:38 am
@CoachPete-116:
Coach, you know we will. We always do, rarely do we disapoint.
Nama will they be even able to field a team, I hope the Bokke dont get too carried away after last night that was a 14 man Aus D team.
@CoachPete-111:
You’re talking about the defense in the back line.
Boks will never play the AB’s with their back line. Our best chance to beat them is to moer them up front and kick our penalties over when we get them.
That argie tugging on Nonu’s locks out in the open for all to see.
30 Sep 2012, 02:39 am
@poppa69-119:
It is a dumb venue
hey where are al the saffa bloggers
Geez i am alone here against ” the enemy ”
30 Sep 2012, 02:39 am
@nama1-109:
Snaaks dat jy dit wil skryf, maar volgens wat ek hier ‘n ruk in die verlede gelees het, is jy nie familie van Outa Dawid Kruiper en dus is jou naam mos Gat Kruiper, ‘aka’ Nama?
30 Sep 2012, 02:40 am
@nama1-123:
Afries not know for theur amazing attacking rugby
More about the forwards
We scored 5 agaisnt Oz and missed about 5 more :_
30 Sep 2012, 02:40 am
Cmon we want 50.
30 Sep 2012, 02:41 am
@CoachPete-125:
Kiwis, lets get him
30 Sep 2012, 02:41 am
coach.
if the argies were close you’d have a whole division with you
30 Sep 2012, 02:42 am
@Hurricane-121:
Ag Bok /Ab rugby still the best match up int he world
regardless of the outcome
30 Sep 2012, 02:43 am
More silverware shortly.
Yessssssssssss
Janes fend off again.
This guys is the best in the fend, so strong.
Jane must have one of the best fends ever
30 Sep 2012, 02:44 am
Jane and Habana Best 2 wings in the world right now
jane underrated but most likely the best all round wing in the world
30 Sep 2012, 02:45 am
very impressive all blacks. too much class. am gutted for the argies after they have competed so well this tournament. lets hope they can pick themselves up for next week.
30 Sep 2012, 02:45 am
@NZINCHINA-132:
Time to turn it off now
Well done ABs very good win indeed
30 Sep 2012, 02:46 am
Hurri
you had a few beers have we? midday is a great time to watch a test match.
Good to see the stadium fans applauding a great display of rugby
See you next week then Coach.
@CoachPete-114:
You do realize that I asked YOUR opinion. (p.84)
We’ve all, or quite a few of us, came to realize that HM is a doos actually.
@NZINCHINA-122:
I think the Argies are done for.
It will take them another two year to get use to the pace of 6 top quality test matches in 8 weeks.
They are finished imo.
Abs will take out Bok next week .Bok are a couple of years away from matching up man for man across the board with RC champs
30 Sep 2012, 02:47 am
kiwi boys
just maybe after this high you come crashing down to earth in RSA next week
30 Sep 2012, 02:48 am
Bloody anti climax, this game.
What was the final score?
Richie is a real baas.
30 Sep 2012, 02:49 am
@nama1-142:
Yes you did thank you Hope i answered
As you know I have not be too kind towards HM
As i said when you get smacked over the head when you mess up every time eventually you change
he is heading in the right direction
30 Sep 2012, 02:50 am
15 straight.
Boks chance to stop the run next week.
if they don’t, we play Aus then the NH tour.
30 Sep 2012, 02:50 am
Te Rangi as we discussed earlier in the week DC huge difference.
30 Sep 2012, 02:51 am
@poppa69-139:
Midday is great time to watch the Champs
@CoachPete-144:
haha, Coach we will try our best to take you guys.
SA different team at home.
30 Sep 2012, 02:51 am
@Neilanate-126:
Dawid Kruiper was ‘n Boesman. Mag sy Boesman siel in vrede rus.
Was jy by sy begrafnis?
NS: Ken jy die verskil???
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 » Show All