Springboks 31 Wallabies 8

GARETH DUNCAN brought you live commentary from the Rugby Championship Test in Pretoria.


80 mins: The Wallabies restart and Hougaard is the receiver. The final hooter blows and he hacks the ball into touch. THE SPRINGBOKS WIN!

79 mins: SPRINGBOK TRY! Great interplay from South Africa and Louw finds space. The flank rushes forward and an accurate long pass puts Habana through for his hat-trick try. Great performance from the veteran wing. Pienaar pushes the conversion wide. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 31-8!

76 mins: Great counter-attack by the Springboks, as skipper Jean de Villier spots the gap after a turnover. Pienaar gets the offload and he’s taken down in the 22m area. Reserve centre Juan de Jongh runs on to a pop pass, and his go for the tryline is short. Scrum to the Wallabies.

72 mins: Some confusion about the sub rules from the Wallabies, and referee Alain Rolland forces the visitors to play with 14 men. Prop Ben Robinson takes over the lineout throwing for Australia.

65 mins: WALLABIES TRY! The Aussies get some consolation as reserve centre Mike Harris is put through thanks to an offload from Beale. Harris misses the conversion. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 26-8!

60 mins: SPRINGBOK TRY! Try No 45 for Habana, who is showing great form during the Rugby Championship. He has the speed to breakaway from the chasing Wallaby defenders, and dots down untouched under the posts. Pienaar converts. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 26-3!

58 mins: GREAT DEFENDING! The Wallabies try a smart lineout move from striking distance, and it nearly works out. But a strong tackle from Habana forces Wallabies hooker Tatafu Polota-Nau out of touch, and the ball slips loose. Reserve flank Marcel Coetzee pounces on the loose ball.

54 mins: SPRINGBOK TRY! From another strong driving maul, the Wallabies pack fails to restrict the hosts. Louw, who’s been all over the park today, finds his way through to the tryline. Pienaar misses the conversion. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 19-3!

52 mins: YELLOW CARD! Prop James Slipper is sin binned as the Wallabies are guilty for repetitive transgressions at the breakdown. Springboks have a one-man advantage.

44 mins: CRUCIAL TURNOVER! The Wallabies build the early momentum in the second half as Beale rushes into the Bok 22m area. However, Springbok flank Willem Alberts poaches the ball from Phipps, and South Africa escape.

41 mins: Beale restarts and it’s untidy as the ball is allowed to bounce. But the Springboks manage to clean things up and Pienaar clears.


40 mins: Hooter blows as Wallabies scrumhalf Nick Phipps boots the ball into touch. The players head for the tunnel.

39 mins: Kirchner slips into touch as outside centre Adam Ashley-Cooper comes in for try-saving cover tackle. However, Ashley-Cooper gets his head in one the wrong side of the tackle, and he goes down hard. The Australian is stretchered off the field – sad sight.

37 mins: It’s a curse of the penalty for the Springboks – Pienaar hits the post from his second penalty attempt. No three-pointers for the hosts yet.

34 mins: WALLABIES PENALTY! Flyhalf Kurtley Beale opens the scoring for the tourists as he slots his first penalty attempt. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 14-3!

32 mins: Some good attacking play from the Springboks. Goosen might not have his kicking boots on today, but he’s attacking the line much flatter, making a good difference.

29 mins: SPRINGBOK TRY! Wing Bryan Habana equals Breyton Paulse’s Springbok record for the most tries against the Wallabies (seven tries). After some good attacking play, the hosts build continuity in the 22m area. Eventually, Habana pushes over for South Africa’s second. Pienaar converts. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 14-0!

27 mins: The Boks get another scoring opportunity as the Wallabies get penalised on the 50m line. However, Pienaar pushes his effort. Nine points have been misses now.

24 mins: TOUGH CALL! The Boks win a turnover at a lineout, and run the ball into the red zone on the counter attack. Louw puts Goosen into space, and the youngster is stopped short of the tryline. His support pushes him over, and Goosen gets up behind the whitewash. However, the TMO deems it a double movement. No try.

20 mins: SPRINGBOK TRY! South Africa’s rolling maul is doing some key damage, and the Wallabies defence finds itself on the back foot. After a few phases, the Boks attack wide and fullback Zane Kirchner powers over to score. Pienaar takes over the kicking duties, and converts the extras. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 7-0!

18 mins: Wallabies concede another penalty at the tackle point, good defence from the Boks.

15 mins: GOOD CONTESTING! The Springbok heavies are contesting well at the breakdowns. This time, No 8 Duane Vermeulen makes a telling turnover as the visitors’ attack were building momentum in the strike zone.

10 mins: The Boks are awarded another penalty minutes later, Wallabies flank Michael Hooper pinned for coming in from the side. However, Goosen misses his second penalty attempt from 36m out – some frustrating noise from the crowd.

8 mins: Lock Andries Bekker and flank Francois Louw contest well at the breakdown, and the Boks get a kickable penalty on the halfway line. Goosen steps up confidently, but pulls a tough effort from 50m out.

6 mins: Wing Francois Hougaard is pinned for an early chase from scrumhalf Ruan Pienaar’s box kick. However, Barnes misses the target

2 mins: Static attack by the Boks as the Wallabies easily restrict the hosts during a promising opportunity.

KICK-OFF: Springbok flyhalf Johan Goosen starts the game with a high kick-off. Wallabies take it in neatly, and Wallabies fullback Berrick Barnes boots a poor clearance.

Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jaco Taute, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermuelen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Coenie Oosthuizen, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Marcel Coetzee, 20 Elton Jantjies, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Pat Lambie.

Wallabies – 15 Berrick Barnes, 14 Dominic Shipperley, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Pat McCabe, 11 Digby Ioane, 10 Kurtley Beale, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Radike Samo, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Dave Dennis, 5 Nathan Sharpe (c), 4 Kane Douglas, 3 Ben Alexander, 2 Tatafu Polota Nau, 1 Benn Robinson
Subs: 16 Saia Fainga’a, 17 James Slipper, 18 Rob Simmons, 19 Scott Higginbotham, 20 Liam Gill, 21 Brett Sheehan, 22 Anthony Fainga’a