Springboks 31 Wallabies 8
29 Sep 2012
GARETH DUNCAN brought you live commentary from the Rugby Championship Test in Pretoria.
FULL TIME: SPRINGBOKS 31 WALLABIES 8
80 mins: The Wallabies restart and Hougaard is the receiver. The final hooter blows and he hacks the ball into touch. THE SPRINGBOKS WIN!
79 mins: SPRINGBOK TRY! Great interplay from South Africa and Louw finds space. The flank rushes forward and an accurate long pass puts Habana through for his hat-trick try. Great performance from the veteran wing. Pienaar pushes the conversion wide. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 31-8!
76 mins: Great counter-attack by the Springboks, as skipper Jean de Villier spots the gap after a turnover. Pienaar gets the offload and he’s taken down in the 22m area. Reserve centre Juan de Jongh runs on to a pop pass, and his go for the tryline is short. Scrum to the Wallabies.
72 mins: Some confusion about the sub rules from the Wallabies, and referee Alain Rolland forces the visitors to play with 14 men. Prop Ben Robinson takes over the lineout throwing for Australia.
65 mins: WALLABIES TRY! The Aussies get some consolation as reserve centre Mike Harris is put through thanks to an offload from Beale. Harris misses the conversion. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 26-8!
60 mins: SPRINGBOK TRY! Try No 45 for Habana, who is showing great form during the Rugby Championship. He has the speed to breakaway from the chasing Wallaby defenders, and dots down untouched under the posts. Pienaar converts. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 26-3!
58 mins: GREAT DEFENDING! The Wallabies try a smart lineout move from striking distance, and it nearly works out. But a strong tackle from Habana forces Wallabies hooker Tatafu Polota-Nau out of touch, and the ball slips loose. Reserve flank Marcel Coetzee pounces on the loose ball.
54 mins: SPRINGBOK TRY! From another strong driving maul, the Wallabies pack fails to restrict the hosts. Louw, who’s been all over the park today, finds his way through to the tryline. Pienaar misses the conversion. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 19-3!
52 mins: YELLOW CARD! Prop James Slipper is sin binned as the Wallabies are guilty for repetitive transgressions at the breakdown. Springboks have a one-man advantage.
44 mins: CRUCIAL TURNOVER! The Wallabies build the early momentum in the second half as Beale rushes into the Bok 22m area. However, Springbok flank Willem Alberts poaches the ball from Phipps, and South Africa escape.
41 mins: Beale restarts and it’s untidy as the ball is allowed to bounce. But the Springboks manage to clean things up and Pienaar clears.
HALF-TIME: SPRINGBOKS 14 WALLABIES 3
40 mins: Hooter blows as Wallabies scrumhalf Nick Phipps boots the ball into touch. The players head for the tunnel.
39 mins: Kirchner slips into touch as outside centre Adam Ashley-Cooper comes in for try-saving cover tackle. However, Ashley-Cooper gets his head in one the wrong side of the tackle, and he goes down hard. The Australian is stretchered off the field – sad sight.
37 mins: It’s a curse of the penalty for the Springboks – Pienaar hits the post from his second penalty attempt. No three-pointers for the hosts yet.
34 mins: WALLABIES PENALTY! Flyhalf Kurtley Beale opens the scoring for the tourists as he slots his first penalty attempt. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 14-3!
32 mins: Some good attacking play from the Springboks. Goosen might not have his kicking boots on today, but he’s attacking the line much flatter, making a good difference.
29 mins: SPRINGBOK TRY! Wing Bryan Habana equals Breyton Paulse’s Springbok record for the most tries against the Wallabies (seven tries). After some good attacking play, the hosts build continuity in the 22m area. Eventually, Habana pushes over for South Africa’s second. Pienaar converts. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 14-0!
27 mins: The Boks get another scoring opportunity as the Wallabies get penalised on the 50m line. However, Pienaar pushes his effort. Nine points have been misses now.
24 mins: TOUGH CALL! The Boks win a turnover at a lineout, and run the ball into the red zone on the counter attack. Louw puts Goosen into space, and the youngster is stopped short of the tryline. His support pushes him over, and Goosen gets up behind the whitewash. However, the TMO deems it a double movement. No try.
20 mins: SPRINGBOK TRY! South Africa’s rolling maul is doing some key damage, and the Wallabies defence finds itself on the back foot. After a few phases, the Boks attack wide and fullback Zane Kirchner powers over to score. Pienaar takes over the kicking duties, and converts the extras. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 7-0!
18 mins: Wallabies concede another penalty at the tackle point, good defence from the Boks.
15 mins: GOOD CONTESTING! The Springbok heavies are contesting well at the breakdowns. This time, No 8 Duane Vermeulen makes a telling turnover as the visitors’ attack were building momentum in the strike zone.
10 mins: The Boks are awarded another penalty minutes later, Wallabies flank Michael Hooper pinned for coming in from the side. However, Goosen misses his second penalty attempt from 36m out – some frustrating noise from the crowd.
8 mins: Lock Andries Bekker and flank Francois Louw contest well at the breakdown, and the Boks get a kickable penalty on the halfway line. Goosen steps up confidently, but pulls a tough effort from 50m out.
6 mins: Wing Francois Hougaard is pinned for an early chase from scrumhalf Ruan Pienaar’s box kick. However, Barnes misses the target
2 mins: Static attack by the Boks as the Wallabies easily restrict the hosts during a promising opportunity.
KICK-OFF: Springbok flyhalf Johan Goosen starts the game with a high kick-off. Wallabies take it in neatly, and Wallabies fullback Berrick Barnes boots a poor clearance.
Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jaco Taute, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermuelen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Coenie Oosthuizen, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Marcel Coetzee, 20 Elton Jantjies, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Pat Lambie.
Wallabies – 15 Berrick Barnes, 14 Dominic Shipperley, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Pat McCabe, 11 Digby Ioane, 10 Kurtley Beale, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Radike Samo, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Dave Dennis, 5 Nathan Sharpe (c), 4 Kane Douglas, 3 Ben Alexander, 2 Tatafu Polota Nau, 1 Benn Robinson
Subs: 16 Saia Fainga’a, 17 James Slipper, 18 Rob Simmons, 19 Scott Higginbotham, 20 Liam Gill, 21 Brett Sheehan, 22 Anthony Fainga’a

396 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 » Show All
29 Sep 2012, 18:54 pm
Hougie can be replaced – Habana showed real class today, he looked for work, defended like a trojan and had great urgency ! Well played Habs. Flo, Bekker, Eben and Ruan were also good
@kaksioek-292:
morne steyn deserves a break.
he has been played in to the ground.
I did not see much of the game but even those patches were enough, well done South Africa indeed. Real thumping.
29 Sep 2012, 18:55 pm
whatever poppa
whatever
get ready for a manshaming sweet pie
29 Sep 2012, 18:56 pm
my only regret is not putting more money on the boks to win the rugby championship
29 Sep 2012, 18:57 pm
Poor Aussies ran out of substitutions – brutal. They will lose in Argentina.
yep. all is wonderful in saffa land again.
first win in four games
I expect the new world order chant to begin shortly.
what does this make Meyers win percentage?
50?
if those tries had been scored and all penalties and conversions made final score would have been 65 – 13
29 Sep 2012, 18:58 pm
Well done Bokke!
Now for the Argies to pump those sheepshaggers tonight
29 Sep 2012, 18:59 pm
you’ve changed your tune Bakkies.
before the game you weren’t expecting a win
lol. you’re worse then them capesaders mate
flip flop flip flop
Look let’s take this win. Lotsa kicks missed and that score should have been closer to fifty! Well played – now to fark NZ up next week – judging by their last couple of games we can do it!!
flo,duane, bekker! STAND UP!!!!!
29 Sep 2012, 19:00 pm
@Transformation-312: And Groot Willie
29 Sep 2012, 19:00 pm
@poppa69-307:
Keep talking it up buddy.
You’ve got reason to be afraid for next week. Only won in Dunedin because of missed kicks and some Blue Bull stupidity.
Going to have to produce your best performance in 2 years if you’re hoping to win next weekend.
29 Sep 2012, 19:01 pm
WP rules
29 Sep 2012, 19:02 pm
The calls for Brussow can stop now – Flouw is the man.
Yo Poppa , get a life you Kiwi runt !
It was an insult to JdeJ to bring him on for 6 mins when Taute was the novice Bok and not playing well.
tottenham 2. man utd 0
c’mon you spurs!
29 Sep 2012, 19:04 pm
@kaksioek-316:
He’s playing pretty damn well, I’ll admit that.
Still think Brussow has a role to play though. He’s produced some match-winners for us.
29 Sep 2012, 19:04 pm
Pops changing the sport now?
29 Sep 2012, 19:05 pm
@poppa69-310:
i had deep reservations about the two pivots in the event the pack did not dominate, poppa.
but said all along i hoped they would click and they did do so. of course the pack did more than just dominate so it will be interesting to see what happens against the ab’s if the pack does not have its own way, whether the 9 and 10 will still be good getting the attack going forward.
29 Sep 2012, 19:05 pm
@David-318: Kak. Taute got better and better and would have scored the try de Jongh butchered.
29 Sep 2012, 19:06 pm
thank you ruan for not TOEING not even one ball!
29 Sep 2012, 19:06 pm
hendrik
next week will be too little too late for your boys.
ABs will wrap up the comp tonight. we won’t need a charge down to save our blushes
29 Sep 2012, 19:07 pm
@hendrikp-320: I think Louw is a must. Brussow may earn a seat on the bench – but probably not on Meyer’s watch.
29 Sep 2012, 19:07 pm
@Transformation-324: I saw him think about it once!
29 Sep 2012, 19:09 pm
for once in a long time we can say the backline was great as well as the pack.
kudos all round and to the coaches
if nz lose tonight
we win the competition
29 Sep 2012, 19:10 pm
Robbie’s come full circle from the uppercut he got from PdV’s team in 2008
anyways
congrats bokke fans
2 wins in 8 games against the Aussie sure is note worthy.
out for now.
been fun as always
Taute was on for the whole game and didn’t get close to the line.
29 Sep 2012, 19:12 pm
Will Meyer now realise that he was wrong?
29 Sep 2012, 19:14 pm
@RugbyStudent-332: Juan de Jongh butchered a try with his first touch – so, no, Meyer won’t.
@Transformation-312: I am incredibly proud of the Stormer contingent
The Duane haters will hopefully be few and far between this week…. especially that Capebull fellow…
@poppa69-325:
I could care less about the Rugby Championship.
What I do care about is the SA vs NZ head-to-head, and stopping NZ’s run of successive test victories.
@kaksioek-326:
Probably not. Still think he should be in the wider squad though, but as you say, probably not on Meyers watch. Definitely the very best alternative to Louw at this stage though, and one to keep him on his toes.
I find it hard trying to condone picking overseas players as well though.
If Louw is ahead of him, you can expect Brussow to be packing his bags for Europe or Japan very very soon. No point sticking around if overseas players get preference. And he’ll get paid very handsomely.
29 Sep 2012, 19:16 pm
@poppa69-330: I’m not cracking open any bubbly just yet. But I am helluva relieved the ‘Messiah’ has made a few mental shifts….even the walkie talkie wasn’t abused as much this evening.
29 Sep 2012, 19:20 pm
Francois Louw for Captain!!
29 Sep 2012, 19:21 pm
@hendrikp-335: I don’t think Brussow is the allround player that Flouw is. Brussow was a ball-stealing specialist under the old law interpretations, but didn’t offer much more than that. Flouw was everywhere today – making metres with ball in hand and throwing great passes. Unfortunately for Brussow, Meyer isn’t sold on fetchers at all – so I doubt we will see two in his 22. Brussow probably should pack his bags.
29 Sep 2012, 19:25 pm
@kaksoek he had 1 minute to make his mark. Taute had70 minutes and d id nothing
Superb.
Duane, Flo, Bekker, Goose and Habana we’re superb.
Naaice.
@RugbyStudent-339: The people in the SuperSport studio disagree with you – they include a former All Blacks coach and a former Boks coach
29 Sep 2012, 19:26 pm
@gunther-340: Hello Gunther
Did you see Duane ‘bring the fire’? Do you now see glimpses of what I see in him?
29 Sep 2012, 19:26 pm
I’d pick Deon Fourie over Brussouw
29 Sep 2012, 19:27 pm
The Springboks did what was expected of them. To win well and deny the Aussies a bonus point… Credit for getting the job done must be given.
BUT…
There are still many areas we need to improve on if we want to beat the AB’s next week.
1) Goal-kicking
2) Quicker ball from the breakdown when we are on attack.
3) Quicker support to the breakdown when one of our ball carriers hits the deck.
4) Our backline looked a bit disjointed at times. Might be because of the new players, but – needs to be sorted if we want to finish our opportunities.
5) More aggression on defense. I want to bully the All Blacks. Keep them honest and timid.
6) Don’t get caught napping… There were one or two occassions when the game went soft and we almost conceded tries against the Wallabies… (usually just after we’d scored a try)… We need to stay awake and hungry for every second of the match.
Well done Springboks all the same.
29 Sep 2012, 19:28 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-342:
He was superb my angel.
29 Sep 2012, 19:28 pm
Yes, and why dont they have real jobs?
29 Sep 2012, 19:32 pm
@gunther-345: He sureasfuckingshit was! He and Flo have always been sublime together though.
Our loose trio is bringing some serious pain to the opposition……..
29 Sep 2012, 19:33 pm
@Kaizan-344: yeah it seems the bok kickers are well below par, assuming Goosen is retained I wonder if Lambie will get drafted in to start at 15 for his goal-kicking.
29 Sep 2012, 19:35 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-347:
The balance looked very good.
29 Sep 2012, 19:35 pm
@David-318: I agree. De Jongh must be horrified at the way he is being treated. He deserved at least 30 minutes on the field, and there was no reason NOT to bring him on earlier, as Taute really wasn’t bringing IT.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 » Show All