Meyer demands more of Boks
30 Sep 2012
Despite a five-try victory over the Wallabies, Heyneke Meyer says the Springboks will need to be more clinical when they play the All Blacks next week.
The Boks thrashed the Wallabies at Loftus Versfeld, recording a four-try bonus point for the first time in the 2012 Rugby Championship. This result also marked an end to South Africa’s four-Test losing streak against the Wallabies.
The opportunity to win the tournament has long passed, but Saturday’s result is one to celebrate for a Bok team that is still building.
While Meyer was pleased to record his first win since the Boks beat Argentina in Cape Town, he said that people shouldn’t get too excited after the Wallabies thumping, and that there is much to improve before the Boks’ next Test against the All Blacks.
‘We have very high standards, and there were three more tries that we should have scored,’ the Bok coach said. ‘It’s great to come home and win, and we haven’t beaten the Aussies for some time, but we have to start taking those opportunities.
‘We would like to score more tries next week but we are aware of the challenge of playing the world champions.’
The Boks produced their best attacking performance of the year against the Wallabies, but then they owe that success to the superior showing up front.
New flyhalf Johan Goosen certainly provided the Boks with more impetus on attack, but there was no change to the game plan, as Jean de Villiers confirmed afterwards.
‘We haven’t changed one thing,’ said the Bok captain. ‘The thing that has changed is that we are now capitalising on the pressure we put on the opposition.
‘We have shown that we can create, and now we are starting to finish. It’s not that we went out there with a more attacking mindset. It was more about playing the situation.
‘If the opposition leave men back, then obviously there is more space to attack from close. If they bring men up, then you will kick to the back to find the space. No defence is watertight, there is always space. It’s about finding out where that space is and exploiting it.
‘We played fantastically today in terms of territory,’ De Villiers added. ‘We spent most of the game in their half. I was also very pleased with the way we pressured them at the breakdown.’
Meyer built on this statement, lauding his forwards for such a fine effort. He also singled out Francois Louw and Duane Vermeulen, not for their linking play, but for their efforts at the rucks.
‘I thought our loose forwards were awesome against New Zealand,’ said Meyer. ‘And today – Flo, that’s the type of player I want. I thought he was really outstanding, and both he and Duane have added an extra dimension with what they offer on the ground.
‘I’m not happy that we didn’t finish those three opportunities, but we were good at the breakdown. We also scrummed superbly and the lineout was very good.’
But again, Meyer tempered all of this praise by putting the Boks’ situation into perspective. The Boks have a date with the All Blacks in Soweto on 6 October, and there’s little doubt that the All Blacks will be far more difficult to breach.
‘New Zealand are a very settled side. In terms of defence, they have a number of experienced players who have been in that system for ages. They’re the world champions and one of the reasons for that is their defence.
‘It’s going to be really difficult to create and score against them. We will need to be more patient with ball in hand, more tactically astute. If we get scoring opportunities, we will need to make them count.
‘We are the only team that has played three matches away in a row. The All Blacks will come here now [after being in Argentina], and we are hoping that South Africa will get behind us. It is always harder for visiting teams to win on the Highveld too,’ he added.
By Jon Cardinelli, at Loftus Versfeld

235 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] Show All
30 Sep 2012, 21:40 pm
louw turned in the best performance.
simply awesome.
If anything, his inclusion ahead of brussow settles any screams for brussouws inclusion currently.
Decent performance allround really, we can definately step it up a gear and become more clinical.
Just as an afterthought, why does Jannie Dup always seem to be the one that gets the chop in bloggers imaginary teamsheets? He had a very decent performance yesterday significantly more value than the beest. And Jannie is only 24 if the teamsheets were correct. He will become a bok tighthead legend if that is the case.
biggest dissappointment yesterday was the Argies choosing that game to unveil their new expansive approach. Was it because they were not playing in Mendoza on a pitch with limited width?
bladdy nutjobs.
Or was Ted involved in this.
Why would they not just have stuck to their armwrestling approach, I genuinely felt they would have had a shot.
But of course, trust a kakky SA ref like Piper to be the only oke to have the bollocks to blow the Argies at the breakdow as well.
30 Sep 2012, 21:40 pm
@stormersboy-200: Quinn Roux ? Yes I hope he’ll return and that the WP top brass didn’t feed us BS about him returning (and then opting to stay there). He should definitely be back – solid, hard worker, good in the lineout and aggressive as well
30 Sep 2012, 21:42 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-201: Agreed on Jannie. He played fine.
Wouldn’t mess with the front row at the moment.
Or any of the forwards. Bench or run on team.
30 Sep 2012, 21:44 pm
@stormersboy-203:
can’t help but laugh at you boys that think the likes of spies,etc are just going to roll over and play dead.
be careful, bulls generally always come back strong after dissappointment.
30 Sep 2012, 21:46 pm
@CharlesM-202: That’s the man, really hope he comes back.
If he does we’ll have 3 good no 4 locks (Eben, Quinn and Elstadt) and only one class 5 (Bekker obviously).
In the interests of rotation and injury cover Eben may have to run out with 5 on his back a game or 2.
Elstadt is primarily a 7 I know, it’s obviously just nice to have him as 4 cover if needed.
We also have that Bulls lock we signed at 5, but I’m not sure if he is able to make the step up (yet).
30 Sep 2012, 21:46 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-201: No I think he made his debut for the Boks at the age of 24. I think Jannie was born in 1982 – that will make him 30 this year. I don’t know if it is correct but seeing that he is a qualified doctor, which will add 7 years (internship included) already – and he has qualified quite a number of years ago – he can’t be 24 IMO
30 Sep 2012, 21:48 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-204: You can laugh all you like, but I’d like to know when I said that or gave you the impression that I did?
30 Sep 2012, 21:48 pm
Well let’s see what an AB a side is like as oppose to Ozzie b side first. I reckon NZ prob shade it without Bismarck there, but the Bok backrow is awesome at the moment.
30 Sep 2012, 21:49 pm
@stormersboy-205: Yes Eben can stand in at 5 from time to time – he sure is tall enough and he has played there as schoolboy. It seems that Elstadt should stay at 7, depending on guys returning from injury (or not, e.g. Schalk)
30 Sep 2012, 21:49 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-204: And apart from Spies, who is the etc that you are referring to?
Naas Botha?
30 Sep 2012, 21:51 pm
@CharlesM-209: Roux made the move I think because of the number of 4 locks Province had at the time: remember Elstadt was used as lock primarily before all the injuries to the loosies
30 Sep 2012, 21:52 pm
@CharlesM-209: Ja as it stands we’ll have a first choice combo of Duanne, Elstadt and Kolisi as starters with guys like Koster and then the rest.
Not convinced that Schalk (or Carr) will be back
30 Sep 2012, 21:52 pm
If u think spies got anything on vermeulen you got ricks in the head – what’s changed between a team that drew to argy is that vermeulen and louw were picked and alberts and beast jo longer fighting a lone battle. Start spies or potgieter or even Coetzee behind that tight 5 and you’ll have same problems again.
30 Sep 2012, 21:56 pm
Bulls craven week flyhalf heading for Provine, seemsfair swop for Pollard. May not be ready for next year but as talented as Jamtjies, Goosen and Pollard. Still like tosee Lambie at FH for Boks. 2 or 3 years ago showed immense composure and flair. Remember his try under posts after bumping off Schalk and his demolition of Bulls same seaon? I’m a Bull and it hurt. Deserves opportunity
30 Sep 2012, 21:56 pm
The fact is, Pierre’s finger isn’t healing as anticipated so he will miss the end of year tour, so the earliest that he will be in contention for another Bok cap is next year June? So for now he’s not even remotely relevant to this discussion.
30 Sep 2012, 22:01 pm
The bloubul sharks bias is dwindling, and it’s for the better, first potgieter went to make way for vermeulen, then Coetzee for flo, then morne for goosen – hell who knows by 2015 we might even have the best players in SA actually selected for the Springbokke..
30 Sep 2012, 22:19 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-204:
Nothing like healthy competition for places, but like most of us we dont think Spies and Potgieter are any good, or steyn
Remember Spies had been playing behind a good tight five including Bakkies and Victor and was dragged along with them and had some decent 6s and 7s
Now they are gone its a different bulls pack Add to that players like Greyling and potgieter (who is all brawn and no brain) the results show for themselves
These 4 players should not be considered for a bok team unless they show some brilliance (which they have yet to do)
Spies
Greyling
Potgieter
Steyn
Kirshner needs to continue to have solid games or he will lose out to either lambie or taute
Kruger needs to step up when on the field so he is to be watched
Flip has stepped up recently to give him credit
30 Sep 2012, 22:20 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-204:
I am lesbian and I am proud to be. You mus come out of the closet and give Spies a call. He will never play Bokke again. He is available for your worship.
30 Sep 2012, 22:22 pm
@KeurboomPark-218: lol
30 Sep 2012, 22:23 pm
@cab-216:
Good one Cab Love it
30 Sep 2012, 22:41 pm
yip old bloubevok meyer is starting to get things right by default.. or by some little birdy by the name Mallet whispering sweet words of comforting wisdom in his blundering blou gebliksemed ears
First Spies pulls a plumb out his thumb… then Potgieter goes thank the blue heavens.. then Kanko fcks off and Daniel is dropped and Coetsee gets planted on the bench
Louw and Vermeulen actually saves the entire ship from going belly up and Bekker gets a new lease of life from out of left field with his old pals Vermeulen and Louw rooting for him sterk…
No place for Schalk he’s as past tense as inspector clueso on the midnight express..
He slowly getting the combo’s right.. BUT he still fck’d up on Saturday..
Hougaard must go back to scrumhalf and Goosen must take charge of the back line not Pienaar.. Jantjies must back up off bench and if things going pear shaped or Goosen gets damaged Jantjies must come on earlier.. Pienaar to bench to cover for Hougaard and utility back with Lambie
Taute to 15 or 14
JdV 13, De Jongh 12
Habana back to 11
Goosen 10, Hougaard 9
bench : Pienaar, Jantjies, Lambie .. Frans Steyn is not the answer in the midfield either.. so either Steyn to 15 Taute to 14 or drop Steyn to bench.. him or Lambie.
If they think that Kirchner and Pienaar going to pull it off again vs AB’s they not the same kettle of fish as a disenchanted decimated Oz side reeling with injuries
1 Oct 2012, 00:24 am
The Boks has the advantage on Saturday, simply the mass ratio against a light weight ABs and a sound half back combo will do the job
The role of the Test referee cannot be overstated too
The luxury of having 3 midgets on the bench may not repeat itself, it also should serve as a clear indication that HM and his staff were well informed of the situation in advance
1 Oct 2012, 00:47 am
@Hondo-222:
you mean the boks didnt have the better “mass ratio” in Dunedin?
have the ABs ever beaten a Bok side with a bigger pack before?
just stick to your racism mate, at least then we know you have some expertise in the area..
1 Oct 2012, 00:58 am
@brigadier-201: The river del plate is a soccer stadium, so the pitch was narrow an also probably short. So there goes your threory that the Mendoza stadium was somehow harder on the boks!
Yesterday the AB’s played with a level of pace and precision that no side would have lived with. Unfortunately the ABs don’t manage to do this every game, but credit where it is due please.
Probably the biggest factor facing the argues was fatigue. They have played 3 very hard games on the road in short succession, with horrendous travel and, let’s face it, limited depth to draw on to share the load around as the AB’s and the boks can do. They just seemed to lack the urgency they showed in NZ, which is a shame but they have still performed blardy well overall.
1 Oct 2012, 01:01 am
@hondo222: keep on thinking size wins rugby tests please. And voila, the AB’s winning ratio over the boks will continue to improve as it has consistently done since 1992!
I can’t remember the last time the AB’s fielded a bigger pack than the boks…..
1 Oct 2012, 01:58 am
@corporal punishment-225:
32 to 14 since 1992..
but the new world order is upon us, just like in 2009
looking forward to a brutal, uncompromising and exhilarating test match next weekend… can we make it 16 straight? we have a good chance to if we can replicate the pace we played at yesterday..
1 Oct 2012, 03:14 am
@poppa 226 I dearly hope we can make it 16, then go on to take the outright record. Beyond that, I would dearly love a 100% record this season. Although we have come agonisingly close about 3 or 4 times, we haven’t achieved that feat since (I think) 1988 or 89?
Unfortunately, it is usually these dead rubber away matches that trip us up. Add to that we are travelling from a physical match in Argentina, and the Bok side is starting to gel, I would only rate out chances as 40/60 (whereas if it was at home with the RC at stake I would say 70/30).
What do you think of the Bok side now? My feeling is they are gelling into a good side. Very strong back row, talent at lock and no10 (goosen and janties), and habana is back to top world class form. I think this is the strongest team the AB’s will play this year.
I think the Ab’s have the edge in the experience of our tight 5. Captain and in fan carter, plus we have more strike weapons in the back line. Still, fast forward a couple of years with us losing some older players and the boks become more experienced, I can see the boks challenging for the no1 mantle.
1 Oct 2012, 04:03 am
Captain
can’t disagree with your statement, the boks are always our toughest opposition regardless of form. we too have some good youngsters, Romano, Cane, Retallick, Cruden etc. coming through. we will struggle losing McCaw and carter, but in Barrett I think we have another genuine decent 1st five.
interesting times ahead for sure
50/50 into this weekend for me, AB forwards know they were out played and will want a much better showing imo.
1 Oct 2012, 04:15 am
Pops, yep, if the all blacks forwards want to prove a point after getting pushed around in Dunedin, it will be a cracking game. I wish we could maul properly, like the boks. It would be sweet to see us set up a maul early in the Bok 22, and maul over for a try. Would that be sweet.
1 Oct 2012, 04:34 am
@corporal punishment-229:
Like you corporal, I’m quite fond of the aesthetics of a good driving maul, alas it is an art form that seems forgotten here in Nz. Yes it would be sweet if Abs were to trample Bok on way to tryline with a rolling maul.
1 Oct 2012, 04:44 am
@Te Rangatira-230: the rolling maul is easily countered through illegal tactics. I would much rather see the awesome All Black backline run the Bok backs ragged with their blistering speed and unique skills. The Bok backs are big, old and tired looking and they clearly lack outright pace ala Savea, Dagg, etc.
1 Oct 2012, 04:59 am
@corporal punishment-229: @Te Rangatira-230: @kwas-231: not a fan of the maul myself, I see it as legalised obstruction…surely the ball carrier shouldnt be able to hide behind a pack of bodies? how does that ensure a fair contest for possession? I know I’ll probably be in the minority but thats how I see it..
1 Oct 2012, 05:27 am
@poppa69-232:
When I see the Bok trying to form the maul, a feeling of dread seems to come over me and I start yelling for someone to get in there and try to collapse it, legally of course. I just accept the practice of the driving maul as part and parcel of the game, but yes when I see a head pop up with ball tucked under a arm from behind a phalanx of behemoths trudging up the field, its beauty is definitely in the eye of the beholder.
1 Oct 2012, 06:37 am
This weekend has been seriously dangerous on my health, but bakgat on my mind. Bring it on, Richie! I still have the legs to squeeze you
1 Oct 2012, 07:18 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl-201:
i think you just answered your own question there.
the argies decided to go wide because they read the ref for the match and were playing to his interpretations.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] Show All