Meyer demands more of Boks

Despite a five-try victory over the Wallabies, Heyneke Meyer says the Springboks will need to be more clinical when they play the All Blacks next week.

The Boks thrashed the Wallabies at Loftus Versfeld, recording a four-try bonus point for the first time in the 2012 Rugby Championship. This result also marked an end to South Africa’s four-Test losing streak against the Wallabies.

The opportunity to win the tournament has long passed, but Saturday’s result is one to celebrate for a Bok team that is still building.

While Meyer was pleased to record his first win since the Boks beat Argentina in Cape Town, he said that people shouldn’t get too excited after the Wallabies thumping, and that there is much to improve before the Boks’ next Test against the All Blacks.

‘We have very high standards, and there were three more tries that we should have scored,’ the Bok coach said. ‘It’s great to come home and win, and we haven’t beaten the Aussies for some time, but we have to start taking those opportunities.

‘We would like to score more tries next week but we are aware of the challenge of playing the world champions.’

The Boks produced their best attacking performance of the year against the Wallabies, but then they owe that success to the superior showing up front.

New flyhalf Johan Goosen certainly provided the Boks with more impetus on attack, but there was no change to the game plan, as Jean de Villiers confirmed afterwards.

‘We haven’t changed one thing,’ said the Bok captain. ‘The thing that has changed is that we are now capitalising on the pressure we put on the opposition.

‘We have shown that we can create, and now we are starting to finish. It’s not that we went out there with a more attacking mindset. It was more about playing the situation.

‘If the opposition leave men back, then obviously there is more space to attack from close. If they bring men up, then you will kick to the back to find the space. No defence is watertight, there is always space. It’s about finding out where that space is and exploiting it.

‘We played fantastically today in terms of territory,’ De Villiers added. ‘We spent most of the game in their half. I was also very pleased with the way we pressured them at the breakdown.’

Meyer built on this statement, lauding his forwards for such a fine effort. He also singled out Francois Louw and Duane Vermeulen, not for their linking play, but for their efforts at the rucks.

‘I thought our loose forwards were awesome against New Zealand,’ said Meyer. ‘And today – Flo, that’s the type of player I want. I thought he was really outstanding, and both he and Duane have added an extra dimension with what they offer on the ground.

‘I’m not happy that we didn’t finish those three opportunities, but we were good at the breakdown. We also scrummed superbly and the lineout was very good.’

But again, Meyer tempered all of this praise by putting the Boks’ situation into perspective. The Boks have a date with the All Blacks in Soweto on 6 October, and there’s little doubt that the All Blacks will be far more difficult to breach.

‘New Zealand are a very settled side. In terms of defence, they have a number of experienced players who have been in that system for ages. They’re the world champions and one of the reasons for that is their defence.

‘It’s going to be really difficult to create and score against them. We will need to be more patient with ball in hand, more tactically astute. If we get scoring opportunities, we will need to make them count.

‘We are the only team that has played three matches away in a row. The All Blacks will come here now [after being in Argentina], and we are hoping that South Africa will get behind us. It is always harder for visiting teams to win on the Highveld too,’ he added.

By Jon Cardinelli, at Loftus Versfeld

235 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All

• 1.FRIKFORCE: Reply to this comment

First for the first time…Boks forever.

• 2.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

Only watched the part of the 2nd half, Woblies looked pathetically weak, seeing them with only 14 men because of too many subs was a double blow for Deans, he won’t last the year.

• 3.goforthegap00: Reply to this comment

@FRIKFORCE-1: big up

• 4.gecko: Reply to this comment

Meyer, tell Pienaar to pick the bloody ball up behind the ruck and not complain to the ref when the opposition counter-rucks. We lost attacking ball 3 times due to him fuffing about.

• 5.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@gecko-4:
    I have no clue why he slows the rucks down
    When we ran with quick ruck ball (like the Abs) we were great especially with Goosen there

• 6.Westlyn: Reply to this comment

@gecko-4: @gecko-4: you’re just clutching at straws now…face it he played the game that will keep Hougie on the wing or the bench!

• 7.gecko: Reply to this comment

No clutching at straws. 3 times we lost attacking possession.

• 8.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Westlyn-6:
    I have to agree with Gecko on this one
    When he went wide quickly our backs had more space
    When he slows the ball at rucks 2 things happen
    1. Defense set and drives ballcarrier back
    2. or a turnover form a counter ruck

I am not sure Pienaar is the answer

• 9.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Pienaar was much better this time, but as people are saying he should not slow the ball down. That is a Bulls disease, no doubt under instruction from Herr Meyer.

• 10.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-9:
    Plus his kicks are still too deep. This was ok with a depleted Oz back 3 but against ABs we can kick too deep and allow them to counter

• 11.pattyfries: Reply to this comment

I just demand that the Boks land all their kicks. It is becoming a very strange pattern that every kicker who has stepped up so far this season is doing a rather embarrassing job. If we can’t land our kicks against the All Blacks, we’ll never be able to put them under huge pressure.

• 12.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@pattyfries-11:
    Yes very important
    But i cant see us having another bad kicking game after maybe 3-4 in a row now
    Just the law of averages says we will have a better kicking day next week :)

• 13.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

In defense of Pienaar: He was very cool, and show BMT. He took the pressure off The Goose on his debut and I am sure the young man breathed a sigh of relief when Pienaar’s first kick went over. Also, JdV made some astute decisions today, taking the pressure off The Goose and he also made some good breaks.

• 14.Greenies: Reply to this comment

DuPreez was just as big a culprit as Pinaar, DePreez peed me off countless times for the same thing, but he was argubaly the best in his position.
    Cant believe the rave little goose is getting, he screwed up many a time.

• 15.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

i have to say that little elton put flouw into that gap beautifully in the short time he was on. pretty impressive. i would like to see more of him. maybr 20 minutes next time?

• 16.RL: Reply to this comment

Heineken now has to build on continuity and allow this team to settle down and gain cap experience. He will have more options available when players like Frans, Burger, Chili, Coenie, JPP and. Kolisi return from injuries.

Now he just needs to bring in a quick 9 with a bullet pass who can get the ball to the goose and bang. Then he needs to look at finding better players replacement for JDV, Bekker and Kirchner.

• 17.UptheGuts: Reply to this comment

Just fix the breakdown issues! Asap! there is no other team that gets shunted off the ball as easily as us. Referees seems reluctant to penalise a team for falling on the otherside after a good counter ruck. So FIX IT!!!! It won’t solve a single thing if you throw your hands in the air at the injustice of it all (looking at you Ruan…). At your next team meeting you should fckn speak up and demand we do something about our technique

• 18.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@RL-16:

look at Smith this morning, superb pass DC does the rest and we have 50+ points

• 19.BULLET: Reply to this comment

Going to be a cracker weekend next week!
    AB’s are on a serious momentum roll. 15 straight victories, playing superb rugby should be favourites.
    Bok’s starting to believe in eachother more, the gameplan more & the coach more.
    They will be hard to beat in Soweto.

Does not get better than this.

• 20.RL: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-18: congratulations on your half ton, world champion performance- the Boks could have put 50 past the convicts too but they will get there soon enough. DC still has the legs it seems. Magnificent line break from him to rip the Argies apart – he be an older slower version of the Goose :razz:

• 21.cab: Reply to this comment

Goosen a revelation and well overdue – when was the last time we had a flyhalf that attacks the gainline – he’s a better runner than ever carter and has immediately made the Boks far more of a threat.

Once bismark and coenie return and if hougaard goes to 9 with JP on the wing, this side could be nigh on unbeatable. Kirchener played v well and actually ran the gdam ball instead of hoof everytime and he runs hard and well. Taute is a good selection for the squad and fullback, made some outstanding tackles, but jdj should be 1st choice – 5mins at the end is complete window-dressing insult. Bok forwards been far better and v good the last two games with the correct players flo and vermeulen making a huge difference – however we are still getting counter-rucked way too often – protecting the ball should be a bok strength.

However, credit where it’s due, the Boks were generally fantastic and it must be said that Habana looks a completely different transformed player under meyer.

• 22.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

Boks demand more from Meyer

Don’t take half the season to make the obvious changes. In summary your 10 and how you manage the breakdown are prob the most important facets to rugby at the moment!!! Not rocket science

• 23.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

15 sjam completely agree. Also started the break from our 22. Morne should be 4th choice at best

• 24.cab: Reply to this comment

1. Beast 2. Bismark 3. Coenie 4. Etsebeth 5. Bekker/Kruger 6. Flo/Brussow 7. Alberts 8. Vermeulen

9. Hougard 10. Goosen 11. Hanana 12. Frans 13. JdJ/jdV 14. JP 15. Taute/Kirchener.

Yoh.

• 25.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@cab-24:

Cabbie you omitted the obligatory footnote ” this team will…….”

Well done to your boys, depleted weak Aus team but you backline can catch and pass now, did you catch the Argie game destroyed them DC the best around.

• 26.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@RL-20:

Ha The Gooooose looks like he’ll serve you guys well in the future

• 27.blue and white stripes: Reply to this comment

Well done Bokke.

Finally the we break our losing streak against the Aussies.

HM is a slow learner but I think eventually we will come right.

Hougie is lost at wing, when JPP gets back he should move back to scrumhalf.

• 28.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Cab re watch the Lions 05′ tour Goosen is not there yet my friend, he has a long long way to go before he emulates the “great” Dan Carter, lets not forget in 09′ you told us Morne was as good as Carter if not better LOL I think you were on the sauce that night

• 29.cab: Reply to this comment

Hello NZinCN

Missed the Nz game – yip yours is still the team to beat but I reckon could just happen next week , but I suspect the injury to bismark might be tge difference between tge sides, neverless Boks will be keen to halt you taking their unbeaten test match record..

• 30.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Apologies Cab, I didn’t read your post 21 thoroughly, you mentioned unbeatable again perfect at least you’re consistent!

• 31.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@cab-29:

There is everything to play for, going to be a cracker if we get parity at the breakdown which we rectified in Argie land this morning we’ll win, despite you guys scoring some good back tries we are still better outwide. DC runs a show like no other.

• 32.cab: Reply to this comment

Yip NZ I was about too say u missed it.

Ozzie no 7, hooper fantastic, samo huge too and Ozzie hooker that got shoulder injury is v good too, Beale out of this world skillful – should be starting at 10 permanent.

• 33.Horings: Reply to this comment

The funny thing is Goosen is a better goal kicker than Steyn. He will have a 90 percent goal kicking record in his career and most of the kicks he missed for the Cheetahs this year were from his own half. His drop kicking accuracy is out of this world and he has a huge boot.

Goosen was good on attack, but as a complete flyhalf he should be twice as good next week as his first start is out of the way.

In saying this Carter has been as good and for most parts of his career better and he has done it all. Goosen needs some luck and plenty more to reach the same level as Carter, but there are only a few players with the talent to reach these heights and Goosen has it.

• 34.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@cab-32:

ha yip they did pretty well I thought considering their injuries etc far better Australian sides have gone to Loftus and been beaten so this team didn’t stand much chance, sets it up nicely though for the two best teams in the world to play next week, Hansen wants that world record more than a RC as Henry fell at the hurdle a few years back.
    Was very impressed with your backrow we’ll have to get on top of them next week.

• 35.RL: Reply to this comment

“I have never seen anything like that in terms of carnage,” Deans told reporters.

A fine gift to the Argies who can take the crims to the cleaners and pick up their first win inm the RC.

• 36.Horings: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-34: You will struggle with the travelling this week.

• 37.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@RL-35:

Not Deans’ style to make excuses but they must have been missing at least 10 if not more frontline starters by the final whistle last night.

• 38.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Horings-36:

Of course you are in a better position there but no other team comes anywhere near our away record, it’ll be a factor but the senior guys like Ritchie were pulled early this morning when the game was won so they’ll still have the legs and the desire. I can’t remember the last time I saw an AB side in the last 20 home or away fade, they are very well conditioned.

• 39.GreenFan: Reply to this comment

@gecko-4 et al

We cant always see on the screen for what reason they may be trying to slow the ball down on attacking ball. They know better than anyone that quick attacking ball is a good thing. It could well be that we ourselves are disorganised in the backline or the Aussies are just well organised on defense and they want to start again or any other number of reasons. Pienaar had a really good game yesterday – best by a scrumhalf since Fourie left. Hougaard was disappointing in bok jersey this season.

Whatever the reason we have been vulnerable to counter rucking throughout the tournament but I guess its about striking the balance between committing to any given ruck and making sure you have resources available to win the next one. Overall we won the breakdown easy yesterday. But its an international against one of the top 4 teams in the world. You have to expect to turnover a few balls. Decent opposition and they not just standing there watching the game you know.

• 40.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@38 yep China….that is one of the defining differences between Abs & Boks, superior fitness & conditioning

• 41.W.P: Reply to this comment

Well played Bekker. We know what he’s capable of and I hope he gets over that back injury for good now! I’ll say it again, Juandre Kruger is a shadow of the tall man, stay fit Bekker!

• 42.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

Guys going on about Pienaar not clearing the ruck fast have got to get glasses. In the cases where this happened the ruck ball was not presented properly because the tackler was not rolling away , hence the hands in the air. The responsibility is on the tackled player to present the ball and if he is prevented from doing so either by the defender slowing it down, in most cases illegally, or the support arriving late how the hell can that be Ruan’s fault. He has the best pass of any of the SA scrummies including FDP

• 43.boktillzero: Reply to this comment

I wonder what happens when Juan, Burger, Spies become available again?
    FLouw, Vermulen and Alberts are getting the Job done but the 3 guys above are proven when on form of course.

what happens when FDuP , JPP, JFourie become available who gets dropped or rather who doesn’t get picked

• 44.Brendope: Reply to this comment

@gecko-4:

Geks I gotta disagree, I thought Pienaar was very good today, took a lot of the tactical kicking responsibility, passed excellently and varied the tempo of our game plan well. He was also involved in several attacking movements and got the assist for Habana’s try.

I think the criticism will be 2 from 5 kicks at goal which is fair, but one was off the post and another from long range. He stepped in to take the pressure Goosen which was the right thing to do, if he were given an extended run as kicker I would wager he would achieve a good success rate.

• 45.Brendope: Reply to this comment

Pienaar has the best pass in SA and the best appreciation of variety and tempo. I am also a big fan of hougaard who offers something different.

• 46.bokgat1: Reply to this comment

if loose 3 keep improving, there may be no room for Schalk once he returns from injury. Perhaps at the expense of Willem

• 47.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

45 Hougaard has offered nothing this season for the Bokke.

• 48.papaown: Reply to this comment

@pattyfries-11:

• 49.papaown: Reply to this comment

@pattyfries-11: Blame the kicking coach for that…nind you, who is our kicking coach

• 50.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

SA are choking big time in the cricket. At the first sign of pressure the choke commences… a loss here and they are out.

Parnell is ****!

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.