Meyer demands more of Boks
30 Sep 2012
Despite a five-try victory over the Wallabies, Heyneke Meyer says the Springboks will need to be more clinical when they play the All Blacks next week.
The Boks thrashed the Wallabies at Loftus Versfeld, recording a four-try bonus point for the first time in the 2012 Rugby Championship. This result also marked an end to South Africa’s four-Test losing streak against the Wallabies.
The opportunity to win the tournament has long passed, but Saturday’s result is one to celebrate for a Bok team that is still building.
While Meyer was pleased to record his first win since the Boks beat Argentina in Cape Town, he said that people shouldn’t get too excited after the Wallabies thumping, and that there is much to improve before the Boks’ next Test against the All Blacks.
‘We have very high standards, and there were three more tries that we should have scored,’ the Bok coach said. ‘It’s great to come home and win, and we haven’t beaten the Aussies for some time, but we have to start taking those opportunities.
‘We would like to score more tries next week but we are aware of the challenge of playing the world champions.’
The Boks produced their best attacking performance of the year against the Wallabies, but then they owe that success to the superior showing up front.
New flyhalf Johan Goosen certainly provided the Boks with more impetus on attack, but there was no change to the game plan, as Jean de Villiers confirmed afterwards.
‘We haven’t changed one thing,’ said the Bok captain. ‘The thing that has changed is that we are now capitalising on the pressure we put on the opposition.
‘We have shown that we can create, and now we are starting to finish. It’s not that we went out there with a more attacking mindset. It was more about playing the situation.
‘If the opposition leave men back, then obviously there is more space to attack from close. If they bring men up, then you will kick to the back to find the space. No defence is watertight, there is always space. It’s about finding out where that space is and exploiting it.
‘We played fantastically today in terms of territory,’ De Villiers added. ‘We spent most of the game in their half. I was also very pleased with the way we pressured them at the breakdown.’
Meyer built on this statement, lauding his forwards for such a fine effort. He also singled out Francois Louw and Duane Vermeulen, not for their linking play, but for their efforts at the rucks.
‘I thought our loose forwards were awesome against New Zealand,’ said Meyer. ‘And today – Flo, that’s the type of player I want. I thought he was really outstanding, and both he and Duane have added an extra dimension with what they offer on the ground.
‘I’m not happy that we didn’t finish those three opportunities, but we were good at the breakdown. We also scrummed superbly and the lineout was very good.’
But again, Meyer tempered all of this praise by putting the Boks’ situation into perspective. The Boks have a date with the All Blacks in Soweto on 6 October, and there’s little doubt that the All Blacks will be far more difficult to breach.
‘New Zealand are a very settled side. In terms of defence, they have a number of experienced players who have been in that system for ages. They’re the world champions and one of the reasons for that is their defence.
‘It’s going to be really difficult to create and score against them. We will need to be more patient with ball in hand, more tactically astute. If we get scoring opportunities, we will need to make them count.
‘We are the only team that has played three matches away in a row. The All Blacks will come here now [after being in Argentina], and we are hoping that South Africa will get behind us. It is always harder for visiting teams to win on the Highveld too,’ he added.
By Jon Cardinelli, at Loftus Versfeld

235 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 » Show All
30 Sep 2012, 18:33 pm
@Gumboots-98:
yes agreed no need to mess him around he is a quality player
30 Sep 2012, 18:35 pm
@Kaizan-93:
Who gives a **** what you want, you know fuckall about rugby china.
30 Sep 2012, 18:36 pm
@Kaizan-99:
HM may have played his cards with Taute
if he wanted Taute at 15 he had the chance to move him there when Kirshner got injured.
I get the feeling he likes taute at 13 or 14
@Kaizan-99:
I hear you and think JP had a few good games at 13. Is he going to be a great 13, time would tell? I for one think he will make a difference to the Bok team back at 14. He is big and HM is obsessed with size!
Nice chatting boys… over and out.
30 Sep 2012, 18:38 pm
@Matfield-102:
Really? This is a blog and everyone has a right to their opinion.
30 Sep 2012, 18:38 pm
@Matfield-102:
Hey be nice its his opinion just like anybody He is entitled to it.
This is just a debate about possible changes
30 Sep 2012, 18:39 pm
@Kaizan-105:
Nice chatting cheers
@Matfield-102: Relax, life is short. Just express opinions and enjoy chatting and debating with fellow rugby enthusiasts… If you disagree with someone, just give your view-point.
Anyway, I gotta go. Cheers ou’s.
@Gumboots-106:
Snap
30 Sep 2012, 18:40 pm
@Kaizan-109:
Cheers boet!
30 Sep 2012, 18:41 pm
@Kaizan-109:
Dont worry about it, we acknowledge your opinions
30 Sep 2012, 18:42 pm
@CoachPete-110:
LOL! I enjoy good banter but detest insults…
30 Sep 2012, 18:45 pm
@Gumboots-113:
Yeah sure we all have our different opinions and prefer one player over another
Sometimes reading good posts with valid points about different options is good
Even if someone comes up with some wild comment about using some obscure player it can be questioned in a civil manner
30 Sep 2012, 18:46 pm
Just a(nother) troll. Ignore.
30 Sep 2012, 18:47 pm
@Gumboots-111:
Glad to see you a bit more positive about the Boks. It’s amazing what a win can do.
The thing is, with Morne out of the picture, there are so many other options available to Heyneke.
Lambie is the 2nd choice fullback. So i don’t think HM will shift Taute there. Personally, I would like to see an unchanged team against the AB’s. But i reckon Hm will bring back Frans at 12. And I feel Frans, who also has a good step, will be brought more into the game by Goosen. But then again as everyone is saying Ruan needs to speed things up for Gossen to take the ball quickly on the fron foot.
30 Sep 2012, 18:48 pm
@CoachPete-114:
For sure! A few really good bloggers and respected bloggers have left due to the new breed of blogger. It used to be really great here, but at times I would rather just log off.
30 Sep 2012, 18:49 pm
Like yesterday some one was blaming De jonge for messing up that try (the runaway Pienaar play)
The fact that Jdj recognized he was not going to make it and sprinted to support him was well done . The fact that he was inches short was unlucky basically caused by a good tackle.
For me as a coach i stress supporting the ball carrier or always having a player to pass the ball to anywhere anytime
Just watch the ABs they always have a supporting player
30 Sep 2012, 18:51 pm
@I am a stormer-116:
Howzit buddy! I am more positive mate and have always believed in winning being the number one goal. If you keep winning it becomes a habit. HM is starting to listen to us, right?
@stormersboy-115:
Also missed your comments mate…
30 Sep 2012, 18:51 pm
The Proteas are hanging on by their fingernails in this tournament.
So we need to smash India and hopefully the Aussies do the same to Pakistan.
That’s the way I read it.
30 Sep 2012, 18:52 pm
@I am a stormer-116:
Did you go to the game? Something makes me think you did…
30 Sep 2012, 18:53 pm
@I am a stormer-116:
You know with Goosen at 10 I think steyn with see more space I can see it
Steyn has the step and the size and some speed
I have seen it time and time again where a good running 10 can open things for his 12
@I am a stormer-120:
I think we are out mate… I work with most of them and the mind plays silly games at times…
@BrisbaneBok-71:
he misse 4 from 7 kicks (2 pen and 2 con).
he was a lottery at the best of times.
cannot imagine what he would have done if the pack dd not dominate and the oozies were not stricken by injurues.
30 Sep 2012, 18:54 pm
@Gumboots-119:
I hate losing more than i like winning
30 Sep 2012, 18:56 pm
@CoachPete-125:
Ja for sure. I can never get the guys who say there positives when we keep on losing. I don’t buy it at all.
30 Sep 2012, 18:57 pm
@Gumboots-119:
Howzit Bill. HM took a while to drop Morne. He hung on there for too long with him. He has now seen the future and it is bright. There are so many options available to him.
But the AB’s will be a totally different kettle of fish. But we can take them. Am looking forward to next Saturday. And being there.
And Easties was a blast yesterday once again.
30 Sep 2012, 18:58 pm
@I am a stormer-127:
Howzit
Lucky bugger
30 Sep 2012, 18:58 pm
To all the kirchener haters out there i think zane must be giving you lot the middle finger,as has NOT let the boks down in any of his perfoemances to date in the RC
and he seems to be getting better with every game,so if he does not do it i will give you lot the middle finger.
30 Sep 2012, 18:59 pm
@I am a stormer-127:
I’m trying to organise something for next week too. I’m sure it was. Loftus was a bit empty yesterday, unlike when we went to the Stormer game…
Too few pink buggers in the team is my guess…
30 Sep 2012, 19:00 pm
@Gumboots-121:
I sure was. Pity about the empty seats. Loftus was fuller at the Stormers v Bulls game.
True story.
30 Sep 2012, 19:00 pm
@blueboy-129:
No need mate! I think most said he had a good game. The first for some time. Give credit when due is what I say…
30 Sep 2012, 19:01 pm
@blueboy-129:
We acknowledge he was good yesterday
Making good decisions and joining the backs at the right time
He was usually in position taking the high balls well
So yes but at times he can be very predictable and one dimensional
Glad to see him shake out of that yesterday
30 Sep 2012, 19:01 pm
@CoachPete-125:
@Gumboots-126:
ag look, there’s little difference between winning and losing, except you feel better after winning.
30 Sep 2012, 19:02 pm
@Gumboots-119: Hey Bill. Been around, not just as often. Started getting a bit much for a while, discuss/post more on some of the other forums now too, so less time on keo.
You well?
@I am a stormer-131:
I might see you there. My daughter got married last weekend. You met my son in law last time. We have a lot of family from the Cape still here. She married a Blue Bull… Shame she doesn’t know better though…
@I am a stormer-131:
Yeah whats with that ? Seats expensive?
30 Sep 2012, 19:03 pm
@CoachPete-128:
Howzit coach. Loftus was good. But now looking forward to seeing a match with 80,000 others seeing I missed last year’s game.
You keeping well?
30 Sep 2012, 19:04 pm
@stormersboy-135:
I am mate! I’m also very scarce. Get a bit gatvol at times but then just leave…
I’m missing UFO though. You heard anything from him?
30 Sep 2012, 19:04 pm
@Gumboots-136:
Ag shame poor girl lol
30 Sep 2012, 19:05 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-134:
Howzit Whitney! Your take on the Goose?
@I am a stormer-138:
Ja thanks I enjoyed boks yesterday Just nice to see them moving the ball
Very nice
@Gumboots-139: Chat to hime via email, he’s fine, also got gatvol.
30 Sep 2012, 19:06 pm
@I am a stormer-138:
I was there last year, so don’t want to miss it this time around…
30 Sep 2012, 19:07 pm
@CoachPete-140:
@stormersboy-143:
Ja I know. Tell him I send my best. I miss his take on rugby though.
30 Sep 2012, 19:07 pm
@Gumboots-136: geluk!
Ja sometimes you have to just let them makes their own mistakes
Thats not too bad I guess…
30 Sep 2012, 19:09 pm
@stormersboy-146:
Dankie boet! He is a really good guy. Some are!
Not many though. We have been here for twenty years now – time to move back to the Cape though…
30 Sep 2012, 19:11 pm
@I am a stormer-138:
Yes should be a great game hopefully
Some factors favouring us:
playing at home
Boks improving with a 10 who is not predictable
ABs know mentally its the boks and boks are always up for ABs
Travel factor (not as big a deal these days)
Abs just coming off an almost perfect game Vs Pumas and a big high so could come down to earth hard .
We will compete at breakedown for sure
30 Sep 2012, 19:11 pm
@CoachPete-137:
Not sure. Can’t put my finger on it. Might have something to do with the fact that a couple of their favourite sons weren’t playing. Maybe they’re gatvol the way the Bulls are performing in the CC right now. And yes, seats aren’t cheap particularly if you want to take a family. They’re a lot more expensive than Super 15. Our seats yesterday were R600. Super 15 you can get in for R70.
And next week seats are R450. The more expensive ones went very quickly. So I think we might have a full Soccer City.
30 Sep 2012, 19:14 pm
@CoachPete-148:
I think the pack is almost spot on and the backs getting there. We need to have 30 really good players and keep them together for a period of time.
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 » Show All