Defence key to Boks’ success

RYAN VREDE writes that defence, not attack, should be the national obsession.

So much has been said about the Springboks’ attack, many lamenting the impotency thereof up until Saturday when they ran in five tries against Australia at Loftus. However, that attacking performance was rooted in brutal, accurate and disciplined defence that pressured the Wallabies into taking risks, on which the Springboks capitalised.

With defences of elite teams so sophisticated in the modern game, turnovers and penalties forced through a strong tackle fight and breakdown contest is a primary source of points. The Springboks’ potency in these facets of play is highly encouraging.

They had struggled in this regard against Argentina and when facing Australia in Perth, with those opponents consistently bossing the gainline and controlling the flow and tempo of their attacks. The Springboks were regularly made to defend with an unset line, which complicated their task.

There was, however, a dramatic improvement against the All Blacks in Dunedin and against the Wallabies in Pretoria at the weekend. The Blacks looked decidedly ordinary in the face of a highly impressive defensive effort. Both their tries stemmed from individual errors – the first a poorly aimed kick that presented a broken field opportunity and the second through poor defensive positioning from prop Dean Greyling. Australia’s lone try at Loftus came when the Springboks had already sealed the result. They had never seriously threatened the whitewash prior to that.

There are a handful of reasons for the Springboks’ rise. Firstly, the team has had time to learn and understand defence coach John McFarland’s approach. Continuity in selection has aided their cause here as well. There is a growing cohesiveness about every aspect of their defence.

Furthermore, Francois Louw’s inclusion in the starting line-up has been significant. Coach Heyneke Meyer has previously stressed that he believes in the value an opensider brings, but wouldn’t include a specialist whose prowess didn’t extend to effective ball carrying. Louw fits that bill, but his ability to steal or slow the recycle remains his main asset. Eighthman Duane Vermeulen has made important contributions as well, particularly at Loftus. The Springboks’ threat in this regard will be amplified when hooker Bismarck du Plessis recovers from injury.

I understand the importance of the Springboks’ attack improving, but disciplined, pressure defence is what will create the opportunities, often against a scattered line, against the best teams in the game. For this reason I’m encouraged by what I’ve seen from the Springboks in their last two Tests. Defence must be the bedrock upon which they mount their challenge in the coming years.

Follow Ryan on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter

101 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All

• 1.capetownrambler: Reply to this comment

Who would have thought that defense is important in rugby? Stellar observation Ryan!

• 2.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

Wake me up when the Boks are not getting counter-rucked off their own ball and are rucking/counter-rucking as a unit in the tight-loose in quick succession… and add the pick-n-drive-at-pace to the above…

This was the Australian C side playing with a farcical 14 men by the end at a ground where they have a woeful history … the Aus B team has been beaten by both Scotland and Samoa at ‘home’ within the last year… quite frankly the ‘hysteria’ from many has been pathetic…

Perspective…

• 3.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz-2:

Did you let the local Aboriginals out of there chains today. How many babies did you take from their mothers?

• 4.Lions_Soutie: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz-2: Most Bok supporters aren’t getting too excited. Just happy to see some tries after a frustrating period.

• 5.Transformation: Reply to this comment

oh here we go, now it was australia’s C-team…

• 6.Transformation: Reply to this comment

now it’s clear why barnes & deans were blowing smoke up msteyn’s arse :-)

• 7.papaown: Reply to this comment

@Bryce…some perspective for yourself mate!

The Oz franchises in this years S15 sucked big time, we had 3 teams in the top 5. There is no reason why this year we shouldn’t have cleaned out Australia with similar or better scorelines than like what we saw on Saturday.

Yes they also have injuries but so do we but the personnel that dominated in S15 is what we have available , should be using and in 2012 should be expecting to paste this sorry bunch of wobblies

That’s what happened on Saturday and as Bok fans we should expect nothing less!

That loss to Oz 3 weeks was a disgrace IMHO and am happy HM has put Bok rugby before his ego of wanting to show every1 how he can “coach” players into form!

• 8.papaown: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-6: Dean’s admission at the end of the game about players needing visa’s to go to Argentina was quite telling.

Poor planning in my eyes, I understand you can never plan for who all will get injured but to voice out how you may not have a full team due to visa’s @International rugby level smacks of a lack of professionalism IMHO

• 9.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz-2: It wasn’t a C team it was a unconditioned team, so many OZ playing lying around like they just went to war.

The woblies could not take the pace of the game and even less the physicality!

• 10.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

Reading reports that McCaw’s in line for his 100th Test victory @ Soweto.

We should do a Nonu on Barney on him.

• 11.RL: Reply to this comment

They have 10 first line players out and suddenly it is a c team – the Boks have 7 missing first line players and yet it is still the Boks.

Hahaha try another one convict – rather watch the world champions take on the worl no.2 team this weekend at soccer city and save yourself the embarrassment of watching your c team lose to the Argies B team.

• 12.viewer: Reply to this comment

Isn’t it good that the players started expressing themselves later in the game e g Duane’s dummy one handed basketball lob to put Bryan in space. The ability to attack is there but are they allowed to go for it?
    Speaking of number 8′s, Kieran Read’s back of the hand off load was simply ridiculous

• 13.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@RL-11:

Who are the 7 players missing from the bok starting lineup who can really improve the team?

• 14.Hoops: Reply to this comment

I am not shouting and screaming here, but hell that was better. It is simply a mindset…..

That is what Goosen brought and Jantjes also…..where in the past Morne would just hoove it up they decided to let the player in a better position make the call and we saw how JDV made a break from one mindset change!

Also would like to say JDV is a 12…….dont play him at 13……

We can build with this and make sure we stop this AB 15 in a row nonsence!!!!!

• 15.Pencil: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-5:

It kind of was by the end of the game lol.

It was a b team going in though.

• 16.Hoops: Reply to this comment

@viewer-12: I wonder what games some people watch some times, but it was Flo who did the dummy…..no wonder some people still believe Morne was missed?

Where is I love you bakkies who was so worried about Morne?????

• 17.grant10: Reply to this comment

A lot of bloggers have advocated the role of the opensider….

a lot of bloggers have stated that Spies, M Steyn and a lack of the classic opensider has been the problem…

to those bloggers …respect.

What a difference when you have all 8 forwards competing….a specialist at 6….a flat lying skilled 10…..

and a proper 8 that actually competes ….

nomore free lunches kiwis….

the boks are back, and we mean business…

• 18.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@viewer-12: that was Flo :D

• 19.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10-17: no free lunches! :mrgreen:

• 20.blueboy: Reply to this comment

#2 Bryce in oz you are correct up to a point that was a poor oz team and the boks were expected to win and they did.There is no hysteria among the fans we were just happy to see the boks winning and scoring a few tries after some poor performances by the boks that is all, the real test will be on saturday v ab`s that will tell us how good or bad the boks are.

• 21.The Bok Identity: Reply to this comment

@12 It was Flo who made the dummy lob and then fired a bullet pass to Habana that Larkham would have been proud of.

• 22.husky: Reply to this comment

Eish gwanty back as a fanboy. Now the Boks are in kak. Well at least the Lions and WP players are used to defending. Twil be a tight game, I hope. Boks have home ground avantage and AB’s may be a bit relaxed having taken the cup. But Carter vs Goosen hmmmm. Elsewhere I think we kan ons man staan. FFS, the SA S15 teams (Sharks & Capies) stood up well to the NZ teams (the Bulls et al let us down a bit) so the Boks should be competitive. Anyone spot the difference?

• 23.Bouts: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz-2: Bryce, no one said anything about the poor Aussie team. We know their troubles… mostly due to bad man management. (PS: You do remember that we’re missing a string of players as well… but that should never matter.)

We couldn’t care less about the opposition, the fans were annoyed with the style of play of the Boks and only that, and we finally got what we’ve asked for… and we were right.

The result is not that good. The Boks should have won by much more, but finally we’re seeing what we wanted to see.

Finally Meyer listened to us.

• 24.COUCHCOACH: Reply to this comment

The reason for the better defence was simply that JDV was back at 12 where he belongs. He had Goosen and Taute on either side of him and he still managed them like the true champion that he is.

The attacking formation was also not something new – it was merely a return to the basics of the game with a 10 that runs straight and flat and the players on his outside running into the spaces. The impressive part was that he was able to find those players with accurate passing and precision timing. It will be different against the AB’s as they will close down the space, but there will be opportunities and I am confident that we will be able to take them. The big factor that is going to hamper our attacking play against the Blacks will be F Steyn at 12. He is slow and never passes. Taute was brilliant on Saturday – he took the step up in his stride. Please Heyneke, lets stay with the skill and pace in the backline that we had on Saturday and let the carthorses go to the nearest gymkhana on Saturday – far away from Soweto

• 25.David: Reply to this comment

I still have a nagging doubt about who’ll be at 10 against the ABs. This report that Goosen had an ankle injury and the ABs will be a much tighter game seems to leave the door open for HM to sneak Morne into the starting lineup as a “safety” tactic. Of course I could just be suffering from paranoia.

• 26.The Analyst: Reply to this comment

Lots to be positive about. But Aussies WERE all over the place. It seems like they are on the decline now, even with Pocock, and Co. back and firing.

For Boks – one good game does not make a season. They have a LONG way to go, starting this Saterday.

If they put it together again and maybe even move up a gear, AND manage a win, then I would say it is a good sign that they will really begin to threaten next year.

Just hope the Boks can do this, as it will then be a cracker of a game on Saterday.

• 27.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@Lions_Soutie-4:

I agree…

@Transformation-5:

So you sweeping the issues amongst the forwards in the tight-loose aside too then old chap?

There have been some steps into the right direction the last two tests… but unlike most I don’t wax lyrical about it hysterically against a team that on Saturday’s personnel not to mention the events to follow ending in farcical circumstances as some kind of new dawn as many are…

IMO any team in the top 8 would have pumped that broken/injured/disjointed defence at home…

• 28.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@RL-11:
    7 players?
    What 7 players are injured from the bok team?Bryce is correct on what he has said. The Ozzies were in trouble from the get go. Keo even mentioned the Ozzies injured players. We all know missing so many players well effect the team. But really i amomore interested in the 7 Bok players that are injured and out.

• 29.rangerman: Reply to this comment

well i enjoyed the rugby weekend immensly.

the cricket was a stuff up.

i am all in all a happy man today.

• 30.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@grant10-17:
    Thats good Grant.
    One good game at home and you are back.
    It will take more than that to think the ABs are back. In fact even after the mauling of Argentina i am still not satisfied that we have got things right.

• 31.Doughnut: Reply to this comment

@The Analyst-26: Lets hope we are injury free for Saturday, FSteyn is a quandry but his D will be welcome against AB as Goose and Pienaar hardly the most aggressive. Would be great if FH was brough back with JPP slotting in at wing ?

I hear Kirch is injured ? If so I would put Tauta in at 15 and bring up JdJ at 13. I though Tauta defence at 13 was fantastic and considering this was his debut test after 1cc game back … that is one hell of a performance.
    Vermullet is going to be our no8/Read type player .. Good to see Flo there, he will find life much harder this weekend.

• 32.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@blueboy-20:

Oh there is plenty of hysteria from many (not all)… many on here deeming it a win ‘because Steyn was not there’ despite the Aussies losing almost an entire 15 before and during the game and then the farce we saw heading into the end… and glossing over the weaknesses for the flash…

This was not a win against any Aussie team the Boks have played so far in the last decade…

• 33.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@COUCHCOACH-24: ah, another one suddenly punting JdV as the answer to the boks 12 position.

its laughable man.

the oke played in a wp backline given awesome ball by a very strong pack and couldnt find his way to the tryline with a gps and all of a sardine he is the answer at 12 because a 10 finally gives our backline room to play?

no man, fransie will make the 12 his own for years to come. funny thing is that i didnt really see jDV making any try assist offloads but i did see goosen goose stepping and drawing a defender to create the space that nearly saw zane over the line.

the only reason JDV will be in the team is because he is cappie but i would have strauss over him anyday and JdJ or taute in at 13 permanently.

• 34.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@The Analyst-26:

Definitely going to have to change gears even more, with more cohesion AND kick their damn PK’s… time to stop the ‘consecutive wins’ record attempt again from the AB’s and redeem the last lost Nasrec test…

• 35.rangerman: Reply to this comment

not to mention that JDV falls off tackles like an old man.

i did enjoy him planting beale on his ar se with a nice bash it up once though but as i recall he was also turned over once (maybe more?).

• 36.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-29: That about sums it up.
    Oh and the Golf has me a bit bleary eyed this morning but it was worth it. One of the best underdog stories of the year so far, and a lesson to those who think that the result is sometimes inevitable.

• 37.rangerman: Reply to this comment

viewer as everyone said, it was flo with the one handed pop.

habs and flo had absolutely amazing games.

pienaar played well but our ruck protection clearly still needs work.

• 38.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-33: You had me until you said Strauss.

• 39.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-36: i dont watch golf but know the exhiliration sport can bring when its a fairytale underdog story.

• 40.viewer: Reply to this comment

Damn! It was Francois Louw. My mistake :oops:
    Was simply Sublime !

• 41.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-38: or flo.

i said strauss because he will be there for the immediate future and captains his franchise.

JDV was once indisputably a great player but he is not coping at 13 and is not as good as fransie imo.

he can play off the bench.

• 42.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@viewer-40: it was, the one handed dummy sold that aussie 9 cheap cheap :lol:

• 43.rangerman: Reply to this comment

goosen was a revelation for me.

the lad has pure class imo.

his break was fantastic and that goose step to draw the defender and open up the overlap for zane was something special.

morne will never do that imo.

• 44.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz-27: i’m sweeping nothing, our forwards acquitted themselves admirably against new zealand in dunedin and theirs was NOT a C-team!!!

what you call hysteria is more like relief from true Bok fans who have been pining for enterprise from their team. When PdV sent a C-team to Australia last year and your lot beat them the Test counted like many others! Poppa, NZINCHINA, Wallabie etc were all counting 1 out of 7 and articles coming out of australia titled “The Boks are out Bunnies” were floating around without ANY mention of Bok C-teams fronting the wallabies.

the team that runs on to the park is Australia and when they get dispatched, they’re still Australia!

• 45.blue and white stripes: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-36:
    Just love seeing those Americans beaten in their own backyard.

They thought they just needed to pitch up.

• 46.Doughnut: Reply to this comment

@blue and white stripes-45: Fantastic indeed, the crowd were foul. Applauding loudly at errors by the Europeans .. .

• 47.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

More South Africans should go and play in England and come back better players like Flo. The guy can actually use his brain as well as his brawn now. Absolutely great performance. Schalk Brits should also be in the team. Probably the second best hooker in the world behind a fit Bismark.

• 48.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@grant10-17:
    Easy there big guy. Lets not get ahead of ourselves.

Yes the Boks look a far more balanced unit and scoring 5 tries is not something we’ve seen from them in quite some time.

But lets not forget that they were without 5 or 6 players that make up the fulcrum of the Aus side.
    Horwill, Moore, Pocock, Genia, Cooper. Those 5 players alone would make most test sides in the world right now and were instrumental in winning the last Tri Nations.
    Without them, Aus are less than half the side they usually are.

This weekend is going to a totally different prospect. Not even comparable actually.

• 49.blue and white stripes: Reply to this comment

@Doughnut-46:
    Yes. That was disgusting.

Came back to bite them in the end.

• 50.viewer: Reply to this comment

ranger-@35
    True, JdV conceded a penalty for holding on. & he’s slowed down quite a bit but still had a field day @ 12. His best outing in a while. Whole team did well bar a couple of lapses

Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.