SA up to No 2

The Springboks have jumped up to second place in the IRB rankings after their 31-8 victory over the Wallabies last weekend.

South Africa dropped from the No 2 spot after their 2011 World Cup quarter-final defeat to the Wallabies. However, their convincing showing in Pretoria last Saturday was enough to see South Africa (85.61 rating points) leapfrog the latter (85.21).

The All Blacks still hold first place, with their 54-15 drubbing of Argentina in La Plata seeing them top the standings by a margin of 6.82 rating points (92.43).

The Pumas find themselves in eighth place with 79.34 rating points.

IRB Rankings:
1 NEW ZEALAND 92.43
2 SOUTH AFRICA 85.61
3 AUSTRALIA 85.21
4 ENGLAND 83.09
5 FRANCE 83.03
6 WALES 82.26
7 IRELAND 79.85
8 ARGENTINA 79.34
9 SCOTLAND 77.97
10 SAMOA 76.23

53 Comments

• 1.logie_Jumpbuck: Reply to this comment

MEANS NOTHING. boks will probably gaib 2 points for beating the blacks…..maybe.

• 2.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

prepare yourselves you filthy rank thieving vermin… we’re comin…

• 3.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-2: If we beat you, you’re back down to third. Better pray the Argies come through for you

• 4.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-3:
    if you beat us, boet… if….

• 5.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-4: haha, i’m just kidding. I’m not too optimistic. We never string together two good games in a row and the Boks will be hungrier. I’m on the fence right now

• 6.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-5:
    if they win it clean i will laud the ab’s for being able to maintain their hunger for a dead rubber after winning the comp.
    reason says it should be the boks at home with the crowd behind them and they are looking to be clicking…. of course the ab’s are never an easy beat.

i just hope its clean.

• 7.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-6: Noted, filed % diarised!

• 8.JohnPierre: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-6: Oh this is from a Team that specialises in elbows to the face of a player unable to defend himself….you bunch of THUGS…nothing has changed in Bok rugby, once a THUG always a THUG. AB’s to win by superior play, nouse, intelligence, attacking rugby, athleticism and fitness…go the AB’s

• 9.gunther: Reply to this comment

@JohnPierre-8:

Ritchie was only defenceless because he was off his feet at the ruck and was trying to play the ball on the ground.

Makes a change from trying to trip kick chasers up.

• 10.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@JohnPierre-8: forgive me for my interpretation but you sound as judgemental as those Saffas who call you guys cheats. No doubt Greyling was an idiot and an embarassment to South African rugby but don’t ring-fence the lot of us into that mindset. You’d be dead wrong.

• 11.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@gunther-9: **** excuse Grunter. Also a tad dumb if you ask me.

• 12.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

personally I don’t think Deano will get to drag on the Green and Gold again. Ever. Aside from the lousy attitude he’s simply too dof to play the game at this level it would seem.

• 13.gunther: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-11:

What excuse?

I was just explaining why he was defenceless.

Grey long should never play for the boks again.

And no I didn’t ask you.

• 14.whatever: Reply to this comment

@JohnPierre-8:

A reminder you twat, that Richard Loe invented eye gouging and skinner and the AB coaches invented cheating and intentional dirty play. F u k off back to to hole!

• 15.Esoteric: Reply to this comment

@JohnPierre-8: You’re an All Blacks fan with a conveniently selective memory. Your team are no angels either – just ask Brian O’Driscoll and John Smit.

• 16.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@whatever-14:
    Did Loe invent the gouge did he??
    Proof please.

@Esoteric-15:
    Of course we are not angels, but we get called cheats and scum after every game we win. Things seem to quieten down when we lose.
    Smit asked for it so dont put him in the sentnence, any person that rubs a guys face in the mud in a ruck should be prepared to get fronted. Smit got found out to be a girl…..thank you Thorn.
    Brians was not on purpose, its a fact. Accidental, we could go over it but you guys have made your own mind up,like the Baby black that was let off the rape claims….. he was guilty on here from day one.

• 17.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-16:

Never heard of it before him………….give me proof of poisoning ………………….

• 18.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-16:

hahahaha, so now retaliation as in Thorns case is okay, but bakkies giving cowan a peck on the back of the head for pulling back on his jersey is not okay? You f ukkkers love to have your cake and eat it hey?

And who said the BOD incident was accidental? Mealamu? The same bloke who said he never headbutted in the ruck? Yeah right!

• 19.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@whatever-17:
    lol , one eye and dumb, not a good mix.
    Proof of the poisoning, read Nelson Mandelas body guards book. He actually was at the Hotel when it all went down. All Blacks spewing on the side lines as well.
    You may not want too believe it but others have said that were not Kiwis that something hit the team.
    How far do you want to go back in you trying to prove some sort of point?
    1970? how about 1940? How about shutup.
    @whatever-18:
    No Tana said it was accidental, i know him, he would not do anything like that on purpose. You name another time when Tana was involved in anything dirty, i cant recall.

• 20.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-19:

yeah yeah yeah, so because some bodyguard wanted to sell a book that makes it true???

Rob Louws book stated that Clive Norling said time was up and then played an extra 4-5 mins and then gave a dubious penalty in ’81, must be true then because its in his book? His watch was also gold…..

The point is, you dumb f uk, that you guys are not squeeky clean yet come on here throwing the mud? Makes you look like the tossers you are……….

Tana said it was accidental, maybe his side, but Mealanu’s was not, between them they “took out” a player………dirty f uks………

• 21.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-19: Allow me to enter here, please.

In ’95 I took leave from work and worked as a volunteer in the Media Centre at Ellis Park for the duration of the tournament.

Managed by a woman from Brisbane, the MC was tasked with assisting journalists with their accreditation, match tickets, seating etc and the MC staff consisted of people from all walks of life & of various nationalities.

What I can say is that one of the staff was a New Zealander who appeared to be fairly well-connected with the AB team and what I later found out from a colleague was that this guy had come into the Media Centre on the morning of the final with reports that “more than half of the team” had been rather ill at the hotel…

More than that I do not know but it still rankles me all these years later…

• 22.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@whatever-20: life on the north shore of Auckland getting you down a bit is it? its school holidays, you should be enjoying yourself down at the park, did the other kids not let you play on the swing?

Well done Boks at getting to number 2, considering your season in TRC… still almost 7 points adrift of NZ at number 1.. is that the biggest margin between first and second in the rankings ever? going to be tough for the boys this weekend, the loss of Frans Steyn a plus for SA…

I do look forward to Morne starting though :D

• 23.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-2: what a difference a week makes huh?

where is the Bakkies who was losing it because Morne wasnt selected?

flip flop flip flop flip flop..

• 24.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-7:
    good.
    you wont be disapointed :-)

• 25.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@gunther-9: what a laugh..

have a look at the whole incident..

McCaw enters the ruck legally (he was the first one to the player ) he is not cleaned out porperly by JDP from memory, so still on his feet contests the ball, then he is cleaned out by Vermeulen who flies into the ensuing ruck, as he is getting back up after this that is when greyling comes over with his cheap WWF move..

no wonder you guys see things, half of you have no real understanding of the laws..

• 26.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-23:
    i gotta flip flop right here for you, chump.

had your eggs yet..?..

• 27.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-25:
    way to talk shitt straight out your bumhole….

fark

what a load of shitt

• 28.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@JohnPierre-8:
    loop kak jan, yours is a collection of scum.

the way you guys cheat is also despicable to me. perhaps if you played it harder dirtier with intent to hurt i would respect you more

no, rather you take every available opportunity to pull some snivelling low rat cowardly conciencless trickery, like those poofta footballers

diving, pulling, stomping, cheap shotters extraordinaire

like dirty little gypsies

• 29.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-26: what are you doing out of the kitchen? are them eggs ready yet?

so I see youve done the complete 180 and now are backing the boks? not like last week huh?

some supporter you are, thats disgusting..

• 30.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-29:
    my support never wavered, only my concerns for winning given the selection choices being made.
    which to my delight was proved unfoundered and i was wrong.

i would gladly play the fool every week before a bok test if it means they go bos on you dirty anzacs.

so then, i’m really not comfortable with our side to face the ab’s…. i think meyer’s gambling… its a disaster coming…

• 31.poppa69: Reply to this comment

saw this on another blog and thought it perfect for the game this weekend

http://gotheforce.com/uploaded/1741/1249443839.jpg

• 32.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Corey’s in SA

I’m happy

• 33.Dawn: Reply to this comment

He has a good fend.

• 34.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-31:

• 35.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@whatever-20:
    So a made up e-mail that dosnt even state anything was real?
    If you want more proof than even some of yuour own people that viewed the ABs at the time then so be it. Some of you guys dont want to even think that 1995 may have been cheated. You guys are the only ones to cry and call us scum and cheats when we win the RWC, yet when ABs are being sick on the sideline, South Africans that were near the team said they were sick seems a bit odd.
    And why call me a dumfuk?
    This is where i know i have got you, you always do the name calling posts.
    You bought up the RWC not me, i already sadi we were not Angels.
    Come back to me a bit later, when you have better material.

• 36.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-21:
    Yeah, its all over with nowmate but it gets a bit annoying when someof these guys rub our faces in the RWC 1995.
    Once we say we were sick or anything of the sort, even if a South African said it,they dont believe it.
    But they can accuse us of paying off refs or the IRB to win the RWC 2011 without one little bit of proof.

• 37.Bouts: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-35: Hmmm… earlier this year when the Cheetahs toured to your side of the world, half the team got the flu. Hmmm…

The percentage of people who get sick when travelling is very high. Food poisoning the most common. The ones to blame would be team management for not being stricter. The story goes that about half the team went to town and skipped dinner. Probably bought things from the street. That is stupid. That is why you won’t ever hear their version of the story… embarrassment!

But the other posters has a point. You’re the one who started the ‘Give me proof.’

• 38.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Bouts-37:
    I gave proof and there is alot more, but some dont want to agree but can accuse us of match fixing etc.
    I agree, flu and being sick is part of it and can been contained by better management but of course it never happened in 1995 did it.
    We were accused of paying of Bryce, but where is the proof. Whatever said Low invented the eye gouge, i asked for proof…..none.
    It seems a few South Africans live of no proof to make them feel better.
    Your justice system must rock.

• 39.Jake_White: Reply to this comment

What will happen if we beat NZ ?

• 40.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Jake_White-39: you’ll stay second..

• 41.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Jake_White-39:
    Well it starts with chest beating followed by SA is the best. Then out comes the ref was the best,then moves to NZ rugby is KAK

• 42.gunther: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-25:

“trying to get to this feet”

that would be a first.

why was he still trying to play the ball though?

I would quit whilst I was behind if I were you and stop trying to lecture other people on the laws you think you know.

You aren’t looking too bright buddy.

• 43.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@gunther-42: says he who thinks hes bright? hahahaha

I imagine youd be the gutless type just like greyling too huh?

• 44.gunther: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-43:

I expect you imagine a lot of things Poep.

• 45.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-36: Yeah mate, it’s really sad and we’ll probably never know the truth.

But you must admit that was a really special day (for obvious reasons) and I’ve got a few thoughts I’d like to share about 24 June 1995; unfortunately time prohibits that right now but I will post again within the next four hours.

Cheers for now.

• 46.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-36: Hurricane sickness is no excuse for anyone, neither are injuries. In the greater scheme of things this will happen to all teams and it’ll all even out. Those suggesting that NZ match mixed or cheated or whatever else are deluded. I have no problem with people pointing out a reffing error such at 2007 with you guys and 2011 with us but that is also part of the game, it’s always going to happen.

• 47.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-45:
    Yeah,the sickness of the ABs was not suppose to take away the great day in SA history.
    Seriously no country deserved it more than SA. A proud day for all South Africa.
    From an outsiders view it seemed the whole country was united. Now coming from a past that was plagues with issues, amazing what a game of rugby did. Of course thats what i saw, dont really know actually what is was like in SA.Would really like to know

• 48.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@JohnPierre-8:

The only reason NZ is stronger than SA since readmission is because of your political hypocrisy. You cost us a generation of players and subsequently the loss of 20% of our rugby player population. If not for that the ABs would still be trailing 55-45%.

• 49.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-47: Believe you-me what you saw was pretty much the way it was, I defy ANYBODY who was in that stadium that day to deny that they shed a tear or two, regardless of who they supported.

It all started a month earlier with the “surprise” 27-19 win over Australia at Newlands, and of course the presence and proud support shown by the Great Man there & at the final still sends shivers down my back.

My two best rugby memories stem from that day. Arrived at the stadium around 07:30 in the morning and went into the stands to get a “feel” for the great event which was coming. I kid you not when I say that I was literally the only person in the stadium at that point and this overwhelming feeling of something-special’s-going-to-happen-today” came over me.

I watched as police snipers/marksmen arrived & took up their positions high in the roofs of the east & west stands (and probably elsewhere too). After about an hour I returned to the Media Centre to start my day’s work.

The rest of the morning is rather blurry right now but once the game had started there was no ways I was going to watch it on the Media Centre’s TVs and went and found a place squashed in the aisles between the seats underneath the famous Touchdown Restaurant. Look closely at any pictures of that game and you will not see many, if any, empty aisles in that stadium…where those extra thousands of people came from and how they got into the stadium is still beyond me.

At halftime the tension became too much & I went to stretch my legs behind the stands. Apart from a young, very drunk dinosaur wrapped in an old South African flag and muttering incoherently to himself, I came across one of the good old Jhb traffic cops. I said to him: “Excuse me, but if we happen to win today, would it be alright if I drove home with my hazards on & hooting all the way?” His reply to me was: “Meneer (Mr) if we win today you can drive home kaalgat (bare-bum) for all I care”!

The rest is history but my second greatest rugby memory is the celebrations in the MC once the formality press conference etc had been completed. MC staff were rewarded as follows: “Bill” had now become “Boet” and what I’ll never forget is drinking official sponsors Heineken’s product out of him and still treasure the photos from that night!!

Ah, memories…

• 50.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@STBUR-48: Glory be, what planet do you come from?

Are you blaming New Zealand for Apartheid?

• 51.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-49:
    Wow what a treasure of a memory.
    Just think my memory of that day was alot different, at least someone enjoyed that day, cos i know 3 million kiwis did not :-)

• 52.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-51: Yeah, I really felt for you guys that day. That New Zealand guy in the MC put on a brave face but was obviously hurting deep down inside.

Other memories from that day: Squashed next to me in the aisle was a young African ice cream vendor of about 16 years-old (middle of winter I know but this is South Africa, we’re very hospitable people and will give you ice in winter)! She obviously had the hots for James Small and went ballistic every time he got near the action, but when Joel Stransky put over THAT drop, she hugged me like I thought my ribs were going to crack. (I’ve covered in goosebumps as I type this!)

Such good memories and I still wonder to this day how that Jhb traffic cop celebrated that night!!!

• 53.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-52: I’ve = I’m

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.