All Blacks brace for all-round assault
2 Oct 2012
Israel Dagg says that the All Blacks will expect the unexpected when they travel to Soccer City for Saturday’s showdown with the Springboks.
The Boks produced their most balanced performance of 2012 in last Saturday’s hammering of the Wallabies. The forwards were at their fearsome best, while the backs used that platform to devastating effect. The kicking game was also on point, ensuring the hosts won the territorial battle.
Bok coach Heyneke Meyer said after that victory that the players are starting to understand and execute the game plan. They are starting to play the game in the right areas, and then create and finish try-scoring opportunities once in opposition territory. It is not, as Meyer confirmed again on Monday, as if the game plan has changed.
Be that as it may, the All Blacks have taken note of the Boks’ five-try display at Loftus Versfeld. Dagg described the showing as ‘exciting’ and said it was clear that the Boks are now playing with more attacking intent. Dagg said that this will make the Boks doubly dangerous this Saturday, as the hosts will also use the kick-chase tactic at some stage.
‘We just have to expect the unexpected,’ the All Blacks fullback said.’They were great in that game against the Wallabies with ball in hand, but I’m sure they’ll try and Test us with a few high balls. In that respect, we will be prepared. We pride ourselves on our high-ball skills.’
When assistant coach Ian Foster was asked if he thought the Bok game plan had changed, his reply suggested that one player has certainly made a difference to how they attack.
‘They have a different guy at 10,’ said Foster. ‘They were looking to play with more width against Australia. I think it’s going to be a traditional South Africa vs New Zealand Test, but they will throw a few different things at us on attack. But we won’t change much with regards to our own plans.’
Flyhalf Johan Goosen is expected to start his second Test this Saturday, and the All Blacks will certainly look to target the 20-year-old. Foster played down the suggestion that the visitors would gun for one opposition player specifically, although he admitted that the South African flyhalf channel can expect a great deal of traffic.
‘He’s got a good all-round game, but he is still finding his feet in international rugby. We’ve got our own game plan and we will highlight one or two areas where we want to attack. Obviously a No 10 at this level is expected to make a lot of tackles. So hopefully if we attack well we can expose him in a one-on-one situation.’
Much of the All Blacks’ attacking success, and the Boks’ for that matter, will depend on the performance of the forwards.
Some of the All Blacks are still feeling the effects of a brutal encounter with Argentina, with Luke Romano and Conrad Smith sporting some ugly facial cuts. But that physical encounter has not diminished the appetite for a physical fight nor the will to win in South Africa, as senior statesman Keven Mealamu confirmed.
‘The Boks are playing with a lot of energy, and we saw that when we played them in Dunedin,’ Mealamu said. ‘We will be prepared for that [physicality].
‘Beating the Boks in South Africa is not an easy thing to do. Not many teams can do it. It’s always the Test you look forward to as a player, so we will definitely be up for it this Saturday.’
By Jon Cardinelli, in Johannesburg

148 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All
3 Oct 2012, 07:00 am
@bryce_in_oz-95: please…mujati came to SA off his own volution, after high school in zimbabwe he got on a bus & went Lions trials in Johannesburg nobody recruited him from zimbabwe…he made the Lions juniors & Rassie Erasmus “poached” him for the Stormers under the Lions’ noses as his student visa had apparentky expired meaning his junior contract was the void…
Mujati wanted to be a Bok.
The SA media with their tendencies harassed Mujati on the eve of his Bok debut peppering him about stolen farms and all sort of kak!
3 Oct 2012, 07:01 am
@Te Rangatira-49:
And how could we have forgot Benoit Dauga, rated by Danie Craven as one of the Top 5 players of the game, in history? Not surprising the French thought of it first.
Roger Utterly was, after Dauga and Spanghero, the one who was first tested by more more orthodox teams in this ‘lateral thinking’ in the 1974 Lions tour of SA – it was roughly the same side that won in NZ in 1971, minus Barry John, who was well substituted by Phil Bennett. Utterly was not used in this role in the Kiwi tour – but the Lions were spolit for choice: they HAD to play McBride and Gordon Brown and Utterly, a lock until then, was too good to leave out – I am pretty sure he was the first hyrid convert to flank and it was devastating.
Thereafter he played 8th Man for England; brilliant player, but he was the first.
Simalarly, in WC 1995 we had three good locks and had to play them all; the best coach we’ve ever had (Kitch Christie) had the inspiration to move Andrews to No. 8 in the finals, where he performed suitably – it would probably be a stretch to say he was a hybrid.
I’ve thought a lot about your comment and have to conclude the reason NZ didn’t convert their locks to loose forward was, a) the calibre of AB loose forwards is abundant and sensational (Tremain, Nathan, Lahore, Kirkpatrick, Mouire, Mexted, Shaw, Jones, Brooke, McCaw, et al) and very often demanding of a speed that locks can’t have because of their bulk, and b) no great, great locks in NZ history that I can think of to justify the switch – Colin Meades aside, of course (experiment could work with him undoubtedly, but you’d want him mixing it up in the tight exclusively).
Final thought – if I had to pick an all-time Bok XV we have the same problem of three locks that have to play: Matfield, Bakkies and Frik du Preez. Given Frik’s amazing speed, and that he was only 6’2″ in height, I would groom him into a number 8 (Ellis and Greyling as fetcher and carrier to compliment). Frik in this position I believe would be colossal.
3 Oct 2012, 07:26 am
@Kaizan-87:
Quite right, it is old news, and just like you, it appears your media are just as dull when it comes to investigating stories before blasting into print.
This was put to bed as a non event and deservedly so.
http://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/rugby/super-rugby/3726625/Crusaders-deny-South-Africa-poaching-claims
3 Oct 2012, 07:45 am
@J.B. Cowper-102:
Yes J.B, the 71 Lions are still remembered as one of if not the best touring side to come to our shores, my Dad still goes on about Barry John and JPR.
Nz unlike Sa are always looking for big,tall athletic locks…..the tall timber is difficult to come across in these parts, so there has been quite a few players over the years that have been converted to lock from the loosies, one who comes to mind who was successful was Robin Brooke.As for the other way around, lock to loosie, can’t think of any probably due to the reasons you mentioned and because a good lock is such a valuable commodity here in Nz
3 Oct 2012, 07:46 am
This issue of poaching is really getting tired.
Yes, there are a few private schools in NZ that offer scholarships to gifted young boys and girls, including Pacific Island children, but that is a program run by the schools to bolster their own sporting codes success stories. Similar programs are run by US Universities to bolster their image to the hefty fee paying audience they are looking to impress.
But all that has nothing to do with the NZRU.
What is more, if students who have entered NZ on a scholarship decide to stay on in the country, the IRB residency commitment of 36 months does not commence until they have finished their schooling.
3 Oct 2012, 07:56 am
Anyway back to the article, SA look great with Goosen leading the charge. It seems his first instinct is to run the ball which is great, meaning this will be another awesome game.
Still dont think SA has what it takes to beat the blacks this weekend. Looking at last weeks game OZ where off there feet apart from sharpe most of the team looked disinterested. The blackness will be a different story and are out to get the world record.
3 Oct 2012, 08:04 am
@melkiwi-106:
I don’t dismiss the “rising to the occasion” motivating factor this game will mean to the Bok’s for one second.
This game will be huge!
As for the record, I predicted a week or so back that the winning streak will only be halted by SA.
I am hoping that effort will be next years highlight, or the year after…
3 Oct 2012, 08:08 am
@melkiwi-106:
Yep, the introduction of Goosen to the Bok brings a whole new dimension to their team and to this weeks game in general. Going to be a cracker.
I agree the Abs will be hunting the record, even though they would not admit it and if our forwards can omit the silly errors from the breakdown that occurred in Dunedin along with the influence that Dan will bring to the game, then my friend its party time…..Soweto stylez.
As for the Aussies, they were farked and could not get their defence in order after the Bok forwards put multiple phases together. Oh and I thought Bryan Habana was awesome in that game and the Abs need to watch him closely.
3 Oct 2012, 08:19 am
The best current odds available for each of the teams for Saturday’s match between the Boks and the All Blacks are as follows:
Boks – 5/2
All Blacks – 51/100
At these odds the implication is that the market thinks it is 5 times more likely that the All Blacks will win than the the Springboks.
In the Argentina v Australia match the odds are:
Argentina – 11/10
Australia – 10/11
In other words pretty even.
Given that:
- the championship has already been won by the All Blacks
- The Boks confidence must have sky-rocketed after last Saturday
- match is on the highveld
- the travel factor is against the All Blacks
- and there is a genuine belief that we are looking at a potentially outstanding future Bok team, albeit in the making,
I think these are very generous odds on the Boks and well worth a punt. There is no ways that the All Blacks would win 4 out of every 5 matches against the Boks in SA, which is what the odds are implying.
Regarding the match in Argentina probably worth a punt on Argentina as well, although the odds seem more reflective of reality in my opinion.
3 Oct 2012, 08:27 am
@Mtbmike-109:
Those odds are pretty much what is offered on the NZ TAB.
to win
SA $2.60
NZ $1.45
Aus $1.87
Arg $1.87
3 Oct 2012, 08:30 am
the old poaching angle, desperate saffas trying to explain why their team has only beaten us 14 times in 20 years… laughable
Our talent scouts are so good, we go into the Fales in the islands and offer three goats, two very nice trinkets, some axe heads and some of our fresh fruit and steal away the 6 month old babies of the locals…
because thats how good our scouts are, they know these babies are going to be world beaters..
their families never emigrated to NZ during the 70s and 80s for work reasons, nah, we have imported over 200,000 islanders to our shores because we have managed to turn 40 or 50 of them into All blacks.. they couldnt be third or even fourth generation New zealand born players of island origins, thats not how the world works when youre hidden behind the safety of your gated community is it?
Sodajoe, respect, one of the few Saffas not looking for reasons other then the obvious your team just hasnt been good enough..
3 Oct 2012, 08:31 am
and to add to my comment above if one converts the current results of the poll on the Keo site the odds look like:
Boks – 13/10
All Blacks – 10/13
I think governed by sentiment rather than reality!
3 Oct 2012, 08:36 am
@Brads-110: The NZ Tab odds are more realistic, although still good odds on SA I think.
3 Oct 2012, 08:36 am
@the authority-63:
“New Zealanders are indeed poachers.
I am the authority”.
Your opinion is noted, but is erroneous.
3 Oct 2012, 08:49 am
@Mtbmike-113:
I will bow to your expert knowledge.
I am totally confused by the odds offered by British bookies.
3 Oct 2012, 08:54 am
This whole record business is so juvenile, did any of you know that the current record holder for the most IRB sanctioned test wins is Lituania? Yes farking Lithuania! The current state of international rugby makes these kinds of records redundent and lowers their value, I mean the highest try scorer in international rugby is a Japanese winger!
The AB’s might or might not get the record, all I know is that after the boks of ’98 almost broke that record, that was the start of the worst period in SA rugby history.
3 Oct 2012, 09:04 am
@goodstuff-116: would it be different if the boks held that record? would it be different if a bok was the leading tryscorer? of course it would, its why so many mention that before Isolation SA led the head to head..
dont be jealous of the fact since 1992 your rugby has been absolute ordinary, but you have maintained a 60% win average over the course of your rugby history..
should they not record the records at the olympics?
who didnt know Lthuanian holds the most test wins consecutively, do you really think it carries any credence when they play 2nd or 3rd tier? if it was SA shooting for 18 straight victories, you would be all for it..
3 Oct 2012, 09:07 am
@Mtbmike-109:
Very interesting and a game of titantic proportions in the making – the LONG travel of the AB’s, softening by the Argies and the match played in Soweto (the new Ellis Park? – which traditionally they don’t like at all) will counteract the immense McCaw-Carter experience to a significant degree: but I feel that Frans Steyn has the MENTAL TEMPERAMENT/CONFIDENCE for his teammates to feed off will be crucially missed; close game – anyone’s call, probably slight All Black advantage: but only slight.
3 Oct 2012, 09:07 am
how else are we to measure teams, players, individuals if we do not maintain records?
would you say that 98 Bok team was one of the best bok teams ever? if so, how else would come to this conclusion if you do not record their efforts?
3 Oct 2012, 09:24 am
@goodstuff-116:
Give it a break.
The AB’s have almost broken the record several times – in the last decade.
Breaking a winning streak does not herald a period of weakness.
3 Oct 2012, 09:26 am
@goodstuff-116:
wow, green is your colour.
3 Oct 2012, 09:28 am
@goodstuff-116: True.
I’d be gutted in the All Blacks break Lithuania’s record.
In fact, I will enter a state of depression.
3 Oct 2012, 09:31 am
@willievz-122:
Quite right.
It must have crushed the average Bokke supporter when Lithuania muscled passed their treasure.
3 Oct 2012, 09:32 am
@poppa69-117: The only record that really matters is the W/L ratio. Regardless of any game being a WC Final or a series dead rubber. That should be the yeardstick…how many times have I beat you against how many times you have beaten me…simple. The only question is over what timespan to measure.
3 Oct 2012, 09:33 am
@goodstuff it’s true Lithuania do hold the record but just because they are not a tier 1 nation it doesn’t mean it not impress. You have to remember the record was made playing teams at their level.
I would bet you anything if SA where in same position you wouldn’t dare call it juvenile but rather proof of SA dominance in international rugby
3 Oct 2012, 09:33 am
@Brads-123: The average Bokke supporter does not know where Lithuania is on a world map!!
3 Oct 2012, 09:36 am
@melkiwi-125: I dont agree with that. Yes they are playing against teams their own standard but a smallish improvement may allow them to dominate their competition to a skewed level. The AB’s/Boks holding a record of this nature is simply more impressive than a T2 nation.
3 Oct 2012, 09:41 am
@Skeppie-127:
To get the current record, as a team playing in the Rugby Championship, you pretty much have to win all your home and away games in the RC for two consecutive seasons in non-WC years, or all your games at a WC and all your games home and away in at least one RC before or after that WC.
A very, very difficult task.
3 Oct 2012, 09:42 am
@Skeppie-124:
The only time span to measure that is worth considering is over a specific frame of reference.
Pre isolation is a time slot on its own.
Post isolation is a separate one again.
Professional era – that is where we are at today
3 Oct 2012, 09:44 am
@willievz-128: Exactly
3 Oct 2012, 09:46 am
@Brads-129: I reckon you would need to look at it in a similar way to the cricket ranking which is around 4 year cycles I think. In a year that we clean sweep the AB’s we can righly lay claim to being the current best side but if they beat us similarly the preceding two years and the year after then it shows their dominance over us over a period of time and I suppose that’s a fair reflection.
3 Oct 2012, 09:46 am
@Skeppie-127: I would have agree with that considering the record based on the fact that the 17 wins was over a four year period. But consider Lithuania is a third tier nation where everyone will no doubt be non professional and with the lack of resources they’ve managed to achieve something most countries would be proud of
3 Oct 2012, 09:50 am
@Skeppie-130:
And it is nice to see this AB outfit values winning every test, and not just trophies.
Unlike the RWC Champions over the last 3 tournaments.
3 Oct 2012, 09:53 am
@Brads-133: Personally I am proud of the Boks WC record, it shows we have the ability to win some really important games but that said I would far rather have the AB’s W/L ratio than any number of WC’s.
3 Oct 2012, 10:10 am
@Skeppie-134:
Quite right, SA have won two titles, the first of which was particularly meritorious.
Those RWC’s were major gongs worth crowing over.
However, the IRB’s WC can not be compared to FIFA’s WC and the status that has for the winner in the pecking order of their code.
I don’t know where to rate the winning of the RWC, because the format is so much like a lottery.
3 Oct 2012, 10:54 am
@poppa69-117: Last I checked in 1998 we reached the win record that was held by NZ. Also since 1992 we have won two world cups, a lions tour and three tri-nations. So I would not call it ordinary at all.
We get it poptart, NZ rugby is all there is, we other nations trying to emulate your gods of sport are but ants to your greatness. What can we do but grovel at your feet. (please add extreme sarcasm).
Don’t get me wrong, a top tier country holding the record deserves the acolades, but I just think it is pathetic that the current holder of the record has never qualified for a WC. But your rant was entertaining!
3 Oct 2012, 10:57 am
@Skeppie-134: Nah, we have the proteas who win regular games a lot of the times but fail to win any true international tournaments, I’d rather keep the world cup memories.
Winning all the time gets you arrogant idiots like Poptart.
3 Oct 2012, 11:01 am
@Brads-123: You forget that the treasure you talk about was shared with NZ.
3 Oct 2012, 11:05 am
@Hurricane-121: Not really, the AB’s deserve any achievements they well…achieve.
It will be funny one day when the eventual dry spell appears for NZ rugby and the quality of players thins out for a couple of seasons. But I can only hope.
3 Oct 2012, 11:53 am
I see Goosen is limping and unable to practice place kicking.
Morne, Morne,
wherefore art thou Morne.
3 Oct 2012, 12:54 pm
BEST TIGHTFORWARD PACK IN THE WORLD – EASILY: TOULON TEAM
ANDREW SHERIDAN, SEBASTEIN BRUNO, CARL HAYMAN = FRONT RANK
SIMON SHAW, BAKKIES BOTHA = LOCKS
LOOSE TRIO – LOBBE, JOE VAN NIEKERK, GEORGE SMITH
JOHNNY WILKINSON AT FLY-HALF
COACH = BENARD LAPORTE
DOES IT GET BETTER THAN THIS? POSITION IN FRENCH LEAGUE = NUMBER ONE (THE STRATEGY IS OBVIOUS – BASH THEM DOWN, JOHNNY CONVERTS – IN TRUTH IS THERE A TEST TEAM PLAYING AT PRESENT WHO CAN MATCH THIS PACK? NONE THAT I KNOW OF).
3 Oct 2012, 13:00 pm
@Transformation-101:
Er… yet muppets suggest that Kiwi Islanders and Aussie Islanders that have been in the country since their early teens have been poached???
Give me a break… next we are going to hear the Beast didn’t actually get a place at the Sharks Academy ‘after’ school and that Raymond Rhule isn’t really Ghanian…
Pull the other one pal… personally I could not give a toss it’s a world game… and the Japies should do even more to harness their bigger built African neighbours…
3 Oct 2012, 13:04 pm
@J.B. Cowper-141:
Money Rules J.B.
That pack must have cost the owner US$20 million to assemble. (given the term of each individual contract…………………………….maybe even more).
3 Oct 2012, 13:08 pm
@J.B. Cowper-141:
Half of those guys are over the hill and would get run ragged by a top 4 test team… their set-pieces might be fine… but they’d get destroyed in the SH…
Awesome names though… in their prime they’d have been scary…
3 Oct 2012, 14:03 pm
@cane-143:
Worth every penny
3 Oct 2012, 14:06 pm
@bryce_in_oz-144:
You’re probably right – though Hayman, Bakkies and Joe are still delivering top-quality rugby – and we know so too is Lobbe … but you’re right, their set-pieces are an art form and that French club rugby is actually bloody good and bloody fast
3 Oct 2012, 15:05 pm
@J.B. Cowper-146:
And ferocious…
3 Oct 2012, 22:58 pm
and I laugh at your rant good stuff
fact is, if nz weren’t a couple of games off the record, I doubt you’d even mention it.
it’s like the calls for SA to go up north.
they come up when saffa supporters just can’t cope with the ABs success anymore.
how sad for you. .
Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All