Basson boost for Bulls

Wing Bjorn Basson will make his comeback from injury in the Blue Bulls’ Currie Cup clash against Western Province in Pretoria on Friday.

Basson has struggled with a tear to his intestine since the Super Rugby wildcard play-off against the Crusaders in May. He takes over from Sampie Mastriet in the No 11 jersey.

With flank Arno Botha called up to the Springbok squad, Jean Cook is promoted to the loose trio. Hooker Chiliboy Ralepelle also makes a return from a knee injury and features on the bench.

There is a potential change as loosehead prop Dean Greyling, who has been dropped from the Springbok squad after his ban for a professional foul on All Blacks Richie McCaw, is bracketed with Morne Mellet.

Blue Bulls – 15 Jürgen Visser, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Francois Venter, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Louis Fouchè, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 CJ Stander, 7 Jean Cook, 6 Dewald Potgieter (c), 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Willie Wepener, 1 Morne Mellett/Dean Greyling.
Subs: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 Frik Kirsten, 18 Grant Hattingh, 19 Warwick Tecklenburg, 20 Ruan Snyman, 21 Lionel Cronjè, 22 Ulrich Beyers.