Boks aim to squeeze Blacks

Heyneke Meyer says the Springboks’ best chance of beating the world champions is through a superior forward showing as well as a pin-point tactical kicking display.

The Boks thrashed the Wallabies last Saturday, running in five tries. It was a superb all-round effort where the Boks executed their game plan perfectly and a change at flyhalf made all the difference to their attack.

The Boks have not, as some fans and critics suggest, changed their game plan. Meyer has made it clear that not much will change when the Boks tackle the All Blacks at Soccer City, although he did concede that it would be a far tighter match, a real arm-wrestle.

‘We will never beat them by playing them at their own game,’ Meyer said. ‘We won’t out-manoeuvre or out-run them. No, if we’re going to beat them we must force them to play our game. We will have to put the necessary pressure on them, on defence, at the breakdown and through our kicking game.’

The Bok pack has been in outstanding form recently, turning in a powerful display in Dunedin that unfortunately wasn’t translated into scoreboard dominance.

The forwards produced another platform-setting performance in Pretoria, and Meyer lauded the collective after Saturday’s game. On Monday, he was still reaching for the superlatives, and stating that another hard-nosed display was needed to upset the All Blacks.

‘I’ve been very happy with them, and I think [assistant coach] Johan van Graan must take a lot of the credit too. We’ve suffered some big losses this year. We lost three quality locks [Victor Matfield retired, while Bakkies Botha and Danie Rossouw are now playing abroad]. We’ve also lost a number of loose forwards to injury [Schalk Burger, Juan Smith and Pierre Spies to name a few], but the forwards that have come in have done an outstanding job.

‘They were superb in that loss in Dunedin, and again in Pretoria. I think Andries Bekker played his best Test last Saturday, he had a very high work rate. He is really starting to hit form. Francois Louw and Duane Vermeulen have also stepped up, and I’m happy with the way that loose-forward combination is working, also with Marcell Coetzee coming off the bench.

‘Suddenly we’re competing against the best in the world,’ Meyer continued. ‘It will be another huge test for us again this Saturday.’

The Bok coach did concede that dominance up front is meaningless if you can’t convert that pressure into points. Last Saturday was the first time that the Boks played with confidence and converted their attacking chances. Meyer hopes this will be carried through to the next Test, and that the Boks will also improve on their erratic goal-kicking.

He intimated that the side that fronts the All Blacks won’t differ from the one that started against the Wallabies, unless of course injuries force his hand.

‘I like to plan for the long-term, I don’t like to chop and change. They are playing with more confidence, and they are starting to execute the game plan. That confidence can be contagious.

‘Somebody told me today that we are now ranked No 2 in the world. I don’t like to talk about myself, but when I started we were ranked No 4. So we are doing something right. It’s a process, and if we win this weekend, we would have not lost a home game in 2012. It will show that we’ve come a long way.’

By Jon Cardinelli, in Johannesburg

133 Comments

• 51.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@mako-48: youre not SA are you? thanks for the gracious post, and I agree, the Boks look like they are on an upward curve…

• 52.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Hurri -you must understand though mate..

most SA fans were happy the Argies joined the comp because coming last 10 times out of 16 was getting unbearable… they seen it as a sure fire way to avoid their collection of wooden spoons spilling forth from the bare cupboard.

now an AB win and an Argie win on the weekend just could see them finish last yet again.. a different spoon, but a spoon none the less

no wonder some of them are a bit uppity :mrgreen:

• 53.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Brads-49:

Yep

Masochists the lot of you.

• 54.Nils: Reply to this comment

@boktillzero-34: 40-18. LOL

Do you really think this lot is able to do what every single mighty Bokke teams (bar ONE game more than 80 years ago) have failed, i.e, beating Blacks by more than 15 points?

And okes are lecturing about the arrogance. :D

• 55.Brads: Reply to this comment

@mako-48:
    Well said Mako.

The win over Aus was not a sure thing before the game, but it became clear they were not up to the challenge and the result speaks for itself.

There are questions being asked whether the AB’s will get their heads together to match the Bokke’s reinvigoration.
    The assumption being the AB’s might have the mindset the contest is over.

However, that also assumes the Bokke haven’t bought into the media hype of the win over a depleted Aussie team.

• 56.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-53:

they are just returning serve.

poor ickle things.all the nasty saffers are so beastly.

yet still the little lambs come back for more day in day out.

masochists indeed.

• 57.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Brads-47:
    Yeah Brads.
    A few on here see that going North is a bad idea, but a couplebad eggs thinks its great. Thes eare the ones that blame NZ/OZ and the refs for losing.
    And not only that but our rugby could suffer as well,Boks have made us better.
    Thing is ABs and Bok are getting better, of course Ozzie by playing the 3 best team in the world.
    Basic stuff really.

• 58.Brads: Reply to this comment

@gunther-56:
    And you love it

• 59.mako: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-51: As South African as Biltong and Boerewors mate! I just happen to be realistic…
    I also love watching the All Blacks play rugby. They are the benchmark, and it is always great to have the opportunity to see where we are at by playing against them.
    I think this weekend is going to be an important match for us as Springbok fans. It will show just how far we have come, and how much we still need to do. I have been pleasantly surprised by our Bokke as the season has progressed. They are doing well, considering the fact that critical guys such as Bismark, JP Pietersen etc are out of the mix.

• 60.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@gunther-56:
    Naa you are not at all nasty Gunther, quite harmless really.

• 61.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@boktillzero-34: If you’re comparing Habana and Jane you need to squeeze Dagg in there somewhere. He was quiet last week but he loves to score vs the Boks.

Habana is always talked about as a potential center but do you think he could cover FB? Otherwise Hougard will be dropped to the bench when JP gets back and I’m sure that’ll be the end of him in SA. Lambie to take the other bench position. Ditto

• 62.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@mako-59: ultimate game this weekend mate… and I think players from both sides will always see this as the biggest game in test rugby…

it takes baby steps , and continual improvement is what the team should be striving for.. your team can certainly beat us this weekend, without question, but its applying that same standard to every test rather than just when its the ABs that will get your guys win percentage up to where the majority of bok fans would like it to be

• 63.Brads: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-53:
    Broad brush comment that..

• 64.gunther: Reply to this comment

two fishies.

a pair of snoekies.

• 65.mako: Reply to this comment

@Brads-55: I am sure the AB’s will be fully up for it. They don’t go into any game with less than 100% commitment, which is one of the main reasons that they have the record that they do. There is also a 15 match winning streak that they would dearly love to continue, so I don’t expect any lack of intensity at all this weekend. I just hope that the Bokke keep their feet well on the ground after last week’s effort and bring their commitment with them to Soweto. The only way we beat the AB’s is when our players want it so much they would rather die than lose.

• 66.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Brads-63:

Anyhoo like I said elsewhere

Cory is here

I am happy

• 67.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-66:
    awwww how cute

• 68.mako: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-62: Agreed 100% Poppa, I have noticed that the main difference between our teams is the sustained level of commitment. Your guys play every single test as though it is their one and only. When we do that we get it right too, but for some reason the Bokke need something extra to lift their intensity to that level, and only get it for some games. If we had a motivating coach, who could get the team up every week like your lot, we would be 20% better.

• 69.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@mako-65: yep, hope the game lives up to expectation myself, happy to lose if it is an exciting game..

obviously would prefer another fairytale finish, like last time :D

• 70.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-67:

Am so happy!

• 71.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-62: The mutterings coming from the Messiah Meyer’s mouth at the moment have me really worried. Talk about forcing his gameplan on NZ, and tactical kicking etc etc and other sorryassedshyte being spat out by him once again.
    He is living in a false bubble in which he reckons all his ‘critics’ have forgiven and forgotten his arrogance and incompetence after one win against a train wreck of an Aussie side.

I have a bad feeling that the sneakyfuckerthatisMeyer might have one or 2 selection surprises (of the unpleasant kind) in store for us long suffering Bok fans…….

• 72.Brads: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-62:
    Agreed.
    The targeting of specific games or tournaments is an excuse for explaining away loses.
    The IRB needs to push out the deadline on when the WC qualifying and seeding extends.
    Make all countries pitch up and play all tests with the intention of winning, not disguise any loss as development or completing sponsorship obligations.

• 73.mako: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-69: Hmmm, that is where your fairytale is my nightmare! I am afraid we won’t gift you a Dean Greyling this week! I think it is going to be a great game, probably the game of the year in terms of intensity and player effort. I am with you in terms of the reult being less important than the game itself in this case. One team has to lose, however well they play.

• 74.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-67:

He has a great fend

• 75.Brads: Reply to this comment

@mako-65:
    I agree, there should be no excuse if the AB’s fall over.
    Enough motivation exists to make this test an epic.

• 76.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@mako-68: real hard for any team to be up continuously though… I think its more that your team often doesnt prepare as well during the week, I imagine the intensity will be in their training sessions this week, but when you play teams like Scotland sometimes the players are a bit lacksidaisacal… and if you dont train as you intend to play it can cause real problems..

• 77.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Brads-75:

No-one is talking about Cory’s fend!

What is it with you people.

• 78.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-71: he could be indulging in some subterfuge perhaps? I dont foresee too many changes this weekend for you guys, maybe Morne which everyone doesnt want, but he is surely smart enough to note the improvement? I would hope so..

@Brads-72: couldnt agree more mate, every test should count towards qualification for the world cup, obviously with a cutoff at the start of the WC year? would then not get teams like Eng etc snding second string sides to the SH… especially now that they have reverted to june tours again (which is great imo)..

@mako-73: no shame in us losing to you guys, thats for sure.. the more we win the closer a loss gets, and it only ever takes one bounce of the oddly shaped ball..

• 79.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-77:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2dsSp1j9kyg
    There we go

• 80.Brads: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-76:
    That is a scheduling issue.
    And as for playing lesser teams, NZ has done it consistently in the last 17 years.
    Put out a team that is capable of beating the opposition.
    Which has worked by and large, expect against our regular enemy Aus and SA.
    Farking about with the team mix against either team has tended toward less than satisfactory results.

• 81.mako: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-76: Yep, definitely something missing in some games, which means getting caught napping at times. That won’tbe the case this week though. This is the game our boys have been waiting for. All Blacks at home is our big chance and makes or breaks our season. If we win HM and the Bokke will be considered a success for their first season together, and rightly so. If we lose, well the it is a case of how we played. If we play well and it is a close game than I reckon above still applies.

• 82.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-78: Well Goosen sat out training with a bruised heel yesterday. And Meyer waffled on about how Goosen has to be 100% at his best to take on the AB’s……..and blah blah blah…..which (ok, maybe I’m paranoid as hell) could mean that he might see an opening to shunt the M.Steyn back in, because he won’t start with Elton J (fuckknowswhy), and Frans Steyn is already out…

So all this kicking talk, with Goosen a little iffy at the ankle, no Frans Steyn, and the Messiah not trusting Jantjies – ohdearhellno…..Nope, this must be my Meyer paranoia kicking in. Hope so.

@Dawn-77: It was glorious :)

• 83.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Brads-55: The AB’s won’t have any mindset issues. Regardless of some of the arrogant comments from our AB brothers on this site the actual AB players seem to have a lot of respect for bok rugby and will see this as a big challenge. This is the old rivalry, trophy’s and championships aside.

• 84.Brads: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-77:
    Well I know you didn’t see it live, so you must have taped it and rewound the play a few times.
    So what is you critic on Cory’s fends before scoring that try?

• 85.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-83:
    Skeppie,40 points to 18 is the call around here to the boks…… what were you saying about arrogant again?

• 86.mako: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-85: Bud you have to understand the sort of mentality where a score prediction like that comes from. We are talking about the guys you may find lining up at soup kitchens for a hot meal in other parts of the world.

• 87.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Brads-80: something SA should be able to do too, but they seem to fall down often in this regard… fitness levels perhaps? Ive always thought that the ABs conditioning has been a factor that has set them apart…

@mako-81: if they show improvement from last week, even if they lose against us, then most Bok fans should be happy, but many wont.. long term I do think they will get better and better, its taken Meyer a few tests and hes leanrt from them too I belive… time will tell on that one though :D

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-82: every reason to be suspicious, but it may just be precautionary from Meyer. still only tuesday, maybe he just doesnt want him further aggravating it? so long as its not a deep haematoma (sp?) it should come right in time..

• 88.Brads: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-83:
    When AB fans wank on about how good our team is, where we can win anywhere, it is always in the mode of ignoring the elephant in the room.

Winning in SA is still the hardest task.

Stats prove it.

• 89.poppa69: Reply to this comment

out for now, later all…

• 90.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-85: Who gave that prediction? Certainly wasn’t any of the more rational thinking Bok fans……. Bakkies maybe?

• 91.Brads: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-87:
    I don’t have an answer there but to be fair. NZ rugby is a different animal than it was 30 years ago.
    The 1987 AB team set a benchmark and style of play that had never been seen consistently by any living person.
    Modern rugby started its era at the 1st RWC.

• 92.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@82 Pedigree……mate you have every right to be wary of the Meyer.His comments of late are of a man that resorts to type even when he has the players who have the skillset to play the fluid game.Meyer IMO is the weakest link.
    PS Duanne has exceeded my expectations…respect

• 93.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-85: Look I mentioned some of our Kiwi’s friends arrogance I did not deny it works both ways. Personally I think we have a great chance of knocking over the AB’s but anything more than 5 points will be great. Giving you guys 40 points is crazy…I would love it but I think my countrymen are smoking their socks.

• 94.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-79:

It is a good fend indeed!

• 95.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Brads-84:

No critic whatsoever

He has a fend which is the envy of many

• 96.race of tan: Reply to this comment

Just to think if the Boks had got more of their kicks in Dunedin we may have squeezed a win in New Zealand.
    However the loss finally forced HM to drop M Steyn, so maybe a blessing in disguise!

As for the FNB, the Boks better not think the ABs will take their foot off the accelerator as the ABs donnot think like that, there philosophy is to win every game.

• 97.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Brads-88: Yeah it’s what keeps the rivalry going. The AB’s take the cake historically but at least we give you guys the hardest time while doing it. Incidentally the reason I have so much respect for the AB’s is the way most (not all but most) of your players conduct themselves. Listened to snippets from Sam Whitelock and Sam Cane on Blitz Bulletin over here….very humble and respectful.

• 98.Dawn: Reply to this comment

He can fend me anytime

• 99.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@race of tan-96: Spot on….and that for me is their biggest advantage over us. They seem to be 100% for every game no matter who they are playing. If you beat the AB’ it’s a truly great acheivement whereas we have given away some silly games in the last few years. Scotland, Ireland etc…

• 100.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@mako-86:

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-90:
    I know,it wasnt Bakkies. He thinks the whole world is against SA so that many points would never happen.

@Skeppie-93:
    You guys have a great chance to win. If Ozzie beat you i feel that we would have gone to SA and won.
    But with the way you guys won, does not matter if Ozzie were missing alot of players, the ones that played are very good players.
    The way you guys turned it on in Dunedin was a highlight of what could be coming. We know exactly what to expect from SA and it aint pretty.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.