Frans out for three months
2 Oct 2012
Frans Steyn will undergo an ankle operation on Wednesday that will rule him out of rugby for the rest of 2012.
Steyn sustained the injury in training last week, and was not considered for the Test against Australia at Loftus Versfeld. The latest news from the Bok medical team is that Steyn’s injury is serious, and that immediate surgery is the best course of action in the context of his long-term career.
‘We made the decision to have the surgery, to get in there and clean it out properly,’ said Bok team doctor Craig Roberts. ‘He will be out for three months, which is a blow in terms of the coming game [against the All Blacks] and the end-of-year tour, but we felt it’s a good decision in the long-term.
‘Frans is a youngster and can play 60 more Tests if we manage him well. This is the right thing to do. We will get him into good shape before the 2013 season, and he will enjoy a full pre-season programme.’
Meanwhile, prop Coenie Oosthuizen won’t be available for the next Test against the All Blacks. Oosthuizen recently made his comeback from a neck injury, but Roberts is not happy that the prop has completely recovered. Roberts said the Boks will seek the advice of a specialist this week to determine whether Oosthuizen needs more time on the sideline.
Flank Jacques Potgieter picked up an abdominal strain when he played for the Bulls last week, and so is also unavailable for the Boks.
Of those that were hurt in last Saturday’s Test in Pretoria, fullback Zane Kirchner is the biggest concern. Kirchner came out of that clash with a bruised hip, the result of colliding with Wallabies centre Adam Ashley-Cooper’s head when he attempted to score a try.
Kirchner did not train with the Boks at St Peters College on Monday, but Roberts said the Boks would give Kirchner another two days to recover before making a call on his availability.
Bok coach Heyneke Meyer said on Monday that he wouldn’t change the starting line-up this week unless he had to. If Kirchner is fit, he will play at fullback. If he fails to recover sufficiently, Pat Lambie will wear the No 15 jersey.
Flyhalf Johan Goosen (ankle) didn’t train either on Monday, but Roberts said this was precautionary more than anything else.
The same applied to prop Jannie du Plessis and flank Willem Alberts, who did not take part in any of the training drills but are expected to be fit for the Rugby Championship finale at Soccer City.
Utility back Lionel Mapoe and loose forward Arno Botha have been called up to provide cover.
‘Seeing that Willem is also not 100% at the moment, we only have three fit loose forwards in the squad and needed someone to provide cover at blindside flank and No 8, which is why Arno is coming to join us. He was part of our Young Guns squad in June as has been in our plans before,’ said Meyer.
‘Lionel has been in great form lately and apart from providing cover in the midfield, he can also be used on the wing if necessary.’
By Jon Cardinelli, in Johannesburg

271 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 » Show All
1 Oct 2012, 22:06 pm
@PissAnt-97: I think both Botha and Mapoe are earmarked for the future. I do not think Deysel is in his plans and I think he saw Daniels potential but was not impressed with him at test level. He will not select him again. Botha on the other hand is a possible future Bok captain.
1 Oct 2012, 22:06 pm
I am out of here, another time.
1 Oct 2012, 22:07 pm
Herr Heyneke?
1 Oct 2012, 22:07 pm
@fitz1ella-95:
It’s a shame we don’t have the system like New Zealand where the players are all contracted to the NZRU and they contract them out to the franchises
Then players like Hougie and JdJ would have played for other franchises but at least they would have played and built up experience
Or we need a draft system where the smaller CC unions get the first pick, that way Griekwas and the Kings would have bristled with talent
Or the Blue Bulls CC side this year
I wonder if they could draft a coach ?
1 Oct 2012, 22:17 pm
@victoriabok-104: anyway like Pissant I reckon I’ve over stayed my welcome .. there are some moron posters around some threads who are a little too stupid to get out of their inherent ideological infirmity, and are simply not happy or satisfied till they flex their intellectually depraved muscles to try challenge their thinking or to display their stupidity in public, so either I continue to bash their incessant desire for their stupidity to be recognized head on or I go retire from this maltrap for awhile.
1 Oct 2012, 22:20 pm
@Sheriff-100:
Ja, jy’s reg, hy’t groot Afrikaner spelers vir die Bulle gekry, ouens soos Habana wat hy van ‘n goeie senter na vleuel geskuif het en die beste speler in die wêreld was in 2007
Nog ‘n groot Afrikaner was Guthro Steenkamp
En moenie die Super Afrikaner Chilliboy Rallepele vergeet nie, hy’t hom gaan haal toe hy in Matriek was by daardie ander Afrikaner Bastion, Boy’s High in Pretoria
If you’ve got a racial or political agenda just come out and say it?
1 Oct 2012, 22:31 pm
Seems Meyer is building up a core of young players probably for 2015 WC & beyond much like Jake White did with his core of players that won him the WC( JS,Victor,Bakkies,Habana.Burger,Juan,Percy,Os etc)
That’s the reason I think he is selecting certain players like Arno ahead of Daniel & jaco ahead of JDJ believe me he knows what his doing
From what it seems this is meyer favorable players
Taute
F.Steyn
Goosen
Hougard
Elton
Arno
Kolisi
Cotzee
Vermulan
Connie
Cillers
Eben
1 Oct 2012, 22:37 pm
@storiejoernal-107:
Yes, he wanted to blood a youngster and play an experienced player with him, ie Victor and Etsebeth, FdP and Goosen, Jdv and Taute
That way you still give them gametime and minimise the risk of the youngsters imploding
He had to alter his plans, that’s why we blooded two locks in the same test against the Poms
But they’ve accumulated some experience by now so they’re not that green anymore
1 Oct 2012, 22:46 pm
Very happy for Mapoe, he’s been playing good rugby at centre (thank you JM).
I don’t know if Arno Botha is the guy I would have selected. He should have looked at a teammate of Mapoe – Warren Whiteley if it was about form.
1 Oct 2012, 22:51 pm
meyer is only picking mapoe to shut up pdv
1 Oct 2012, 23:03 pm
i don’t get where this fallacy that pdv didn’t blood any youngsters comes from when the likes of jdj, flo, dewalt, stegmann, lambie, mvovo, basson, hargreaves, kruger, mujati, kirchner, hougaard, brussow, coenie, beast got their 1st caps under him.
1 Oct 2012, 23:08 pm
I’ve made peace with the fact that Jantjies and de Jongh are just there as stop gaps…
1 Oct 2012, 23:09 pm
Very sad about Frans not there on Saturday from an anticipatory point of view – he competes so well on the big stage and has the mental ability and self-confidence, apart from unprecedented talent – but with that said I fully endorse the decision to protect him and get him well; will miss him – it’s a crucial loss: with him I would back us to win – without him, probably not. He’s that important to us.
1 Oct 2012, 23:10 pm
Jeesus, I see it now. There is a conspiracy to halt the march of the Lions in this year’s Currie Cup. First Pat Cilliers gets called up, but we shuffle the front row and survive. Then Elton and Taute get whisked away together, leaving a moerse gap in the backline, but we give Butch a stern lecture and we do okay. Now they want Mapoe as well. And let me guess, between the four of them, only Taute will clock double figure minutes on Saturday.
Tell the next idiot who tries to complain that the Lions are “playing the CC with their Super Rugby team” to come and have an attitude adjusting talk with the katman.
1 Oct 2012, 23:12 pm
unlucky with steyn, the ideal combo would have been steyn and de jong, with hougaard and goosen at halfback, and the Bok backline would never have looked back.
i dont rate mapoe, rather have serfontein and rhule
i have absolutely no idea how arno botha can leapfrom brussow, elstadt or daniel – more bloubefokte keuse.
1 Oct 2012, 23:16 pm
@cab-115: I feel I must respectfully disagree with you there. Mapoe has been, by some distance, the stand-out midfielder in this year’s CC. And Arno Botha will play many games for the Boks.
1 Oct 2012, 23:19 pm
@katman-116:
fair enough katman, but i cant understand how they are being selected over the other players. Botha over Brussow – yessus this oke is not with the program, i dunno if the bloubul jnrs have to give him a bj or something cos there’s something fishy going on, just when u think hes eventually let his bloubul blinkers at home, and the Boks start winning, struse fk he goois them straight on again.
1 Oct 2012, 23:20 pm
@cab-115: arno is a future bok el kapitano…
heyneke knows he p.issed on stander now wants to keep botha smiling.
1 Oct 2012, 23:22 pm
@cab-117: arno is in for pottie @ blindside & 8 @ a stretch…
1 Oct 2012, 23:22 pm
Meyer wants to replace Potgieter with a similar big, strong ball carrier who can also jump in the line-out. Brussow ticks none of those boxes.
And Botha is already twice the player Potgieter will ever be.
1 Oct 2012, 23:23 pm
@Transformation-118:
liewe fok, let him play bloubultril kaptain van die skip, we got proven worldclass talent in brussow.
can someone please tell me when we actually going to get a coach who selects the best talent in SA, we should be slatting everyone with the current we presently have.
1 Oct 2012, 23:25 pm
HM needs to be reminded its a NATIONAL team. Not his pet project. Select players because they are the best in the country. Not because they are of a certain population group or the kind of shampoo they use. Botha is no even close to being Bok material yet. He clearly thinks he makes sense at press confrences just because he has a bigger voice then PdV.
1 Oct 2012, 23:27 pm
@katman-120:
**** we got two battlecarrier cruiser-class destroyers in alberts and vermeulen, and louw not too shabby himself in this role, then there’s coetzee who gives it a go, we need a backup fetcher, good god almighty brussow was sensational when he came on the scene, i dont think the Boks have lost with him on the field just about – i just cannot believe the rules can make such a difference that he cannot even make the Bok 30, he would probably literally walk into any other test squad in the world including the ABs and i doubt one can say that about any other SA players except for Bismark.
that poor Brussow, wtf can one do.
1 Oct 2012, 23:29 pm
@cab-123: One day, not too long from now, I’m going to remind you of this conversation. Arno Botha will make you eat your words. I was right about Alberts when he was a whippersnapper. I was right about Taute when he was still barely 20. And I’m right about this kid.
1 Oct 2012, 23:31 pm
@katman-124:
yes you were right about alberts and maybe taute, he tackled very well, but imo no-one to touch de jong on attack in the republic, if they gave him a chance outside goosen all hell could break loose. taute is a fullback, but im not unhappy with that selection.
1 Oct 2012, 23:34 pm
@cab-125: I agree about de Jongh. I’d love to see a backline wit Taute at 15 and De Jongh at 13 and JPP and Habs on the wings. Watch Taute this weekend. Both he and Goosen will have settled their nerves and should be a lot calmer.
1 Oct 2012, 23:34 pm
@cab-117: Player of the week – Arno Botha
23 August 2011
He is not 20 years old yet, but
Vodacom Blue Bulls flanker, Arno Botha, showed why he was
drafted into a starting position in the Currie Cup competition
already. For the young tearaway it is clearly a case of – if he is good enough, he is old enough.
Botha made his first run-on start a week after debutting off the bench against the Pumas and immediately showed against Griquas why he is rated amongst the top young players in the country.
He ran strongly, defended stoutly
and showed why his physical
approach to the game impressed
Director: Rugby, Heyneke Meyer,
who already indicated a while ago
that the 19-year old player might
be playing Currie Cup this year.
“We will be looking at blooding young players this year and Arno will be one of those players we will be looking at. He is big and
strong and works hard, all
attributes we are looking for,”
Meyer said.
Bio:
Physical: 1.90 & 102 kg
Date of Birth: 26/10/1991,
1 Oct 2012, 23:35 pm
hooper, pocock, warburton are some of the most destructive players on the planet right now under new laws – put brussow where he belongs in a Bok jumper.
1 Oct 2012, 23:39 pm
I’m off to bed. Catch you later.
1 Oct 2012, 23:42 pm
@katman-126:
Goosen was fantastic, he has made two linebreaks, one in the nz game and one in the oz game, that were actually phenomenal, i dont think ive even seen carter break like that, hes elusive goosen. i like your choice of taute at 15 and i dont mind jdj at 13 with steyn at 12, but without frans there i shift de jong straight into 12 – meyer is too scared, wants size but de villiers is not as good as dender as de jong, nor as good on attack tho he played a v good dame on sat. should be jdj at 12, jdv at 13, and taute or kirchener at 15. kirchener runs bladdy hard, ive seen it before, but when he starts with that HOOf skopkak every time thats when the remote goes sailing over the fence.
@Transformation-127:
ja interesting, ive seen him, he’s not that big or strong, he may be good in a season or two, arno is exactly the same as coetzee, not test standard yet, elstadt is seasoned vet, even juan in a different league as is josh strauss if you want a carrier, and kolisi way better too, there’s a few reason that wp are bo and not the bulle.
1 Oct 2012, 23:43 pm
night
2 Oct 2012, 00:40 am
Arno Botha??? How the f uk does this dude get into the squad?? Come on Meyer, you make some good moves like dropping Steyn then make up for it by putting on your friggn blue glasses again………..jeeeez!!
2 Oct 2012, 00:54 am
Man, those amongst supporters on this site calling incidents of this sort a blessing in disguise need to take a step back from the game and address your moral fiber.
2 Oct 2012, 06:27 am
@wnbb-64: Oh f… off , he did the same to Lambie and Goosen for a few tests … It aint colour d*ckhead its tactics.
So far its ok as long as no Spies or Morne …
2 Oct 2012, 06:30 am
@whatever-132: Just be grateful its not Potgeiter !
2 Oct 2012, 06:41 am
I sincerely hope this Mapoe selection is not a window dressing exercise
2 Oct 2012, 06:52 am
Good move Heineken, good move. Arno ove the useless Potgieter and the over-hyped Daniel guppy anyday anywhere anytime.
And congratulations to Mapoe who should have been in the squad ahead of Mvovo who cowards under the high ball and who fakes try saving tackles.
2 Oct 2012, 07:18 am
Lionel Mapoe??
what a joke
Venter(NTvl) deserves a shot, Where is Engelbrecht???
CJ Stander also unlucky
Arno botha leapfrog Daniels, Deysel, Brussouw??
Wonder how Daniel feel about now?
2 Oct 2012, 07:33 am
I think HM is just saving money on plane tickets.
2 Oct 2012, 07:37 am
@greatest13gerber-138: Venter and JJ better than Mapoe? LOL!!
2 Oct 2012, 07:41 am
@Hop Hop Spinnekop-140: My thoughts exactly.
I think he’s having a bit of a laugh.
2 Oct 2012, 07:44 am
Jantjies heading to Newlands according the SARugby mag
Grant10 must be in 7th heaven.
2 Oct 2012, 07:45 am
@wpstormerbok-142:
on loan for 2013, after which we’ll contract him when his Lions deal comes to an end in October 2013.
2 Oct 2012, 07:48 am
Mapoe is there as backup (quality player in his own right) so chances of making an appearance is slim and will only happen if an injury crisis occurs.
Dunno much about Botha, hope it isn’t another J. Potgieter clone.
2 Oct 2012, 07:55 am
What exactly will the Bokke miss from not having Steyn there?
2 Oct 2012, 07:59 am
Young Springbok prop Coenie Oosthuizen’s career has been cast into doubt after it was confirmed that there is renewed concern over his neck injury.
Springbok team doctor Craig Roberts, speaking ahead of the Rugby Championship encounter with New Zealand in Soweto on Saturday, confirmed that Oosthuizen would be flying to Durban for “second opinion” on the injury.
This is from Rugby 365. Go read the article there if you want more.
2 Oct 2012, 08:00 am
Coenie being injured is all Heyneke’s fault. Why call up the guy when he just returned from injury? He would of been better served playing low intensity Currie Cup. Sometimes it seems HM doesnt know what he is doing.
2 Oct 2012, 08:01 am
@greatest13gerber-138: guess you are the joke if you havent seen what Mapoe has been doing in the Currie Cup these last 5 games!
besides…its just a ploy to derail the Lions CC campaign. he wont get any game time!
2 Oct 2012, 08:02 am
Also, Brusow has been ruled out injured for the rest of the season.
2 Oct 2012, 08:04 am
The Lions are in the playoffs regardless.
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 » Show All