Frans out for three months

Frans Steyn will undergo an ankle operation on Wednesday that will rule him out of rugby for the rest of 2012.

Steyn sustained the injury in training last week, and was not considered for the Test against Australia at Loftus Versfeld. The latest news from the Bok medical team is that Steyn’s injury is serious, and that immediate surgery is the best course of action in the context of his long-term career.

‘We made the decision to have the surgery, to get in there and clean it out properly,’ said Bok team doctor Craig Roberts. ‘He will be out for three months, which is a blow in terms of the coming game [against the All Blacks] and the end-of-year tour, but we felt it’s a good decision in the long-term.

‘Frans is a youngster and can play 60 more Tests if we manage him well. This is the right thing to do. We will get him into good shape before the 2013 season, and he will enjoy a full pre-season programme.’

Meanwhile, prop Coenie Oosthuizen won’t be available for the next Test against the All Blacks. Oosthuizen recently made his comeback from a neck injury, but Roberts is not happy that the prop has completely recovered. Roberts said the Boks will seek the advice of a specialist this week to determine whether Oosthuizen needs more time on the sideline.

Flank Jacques Potgieter picked up an abdominal strain when he played for the Bulls last week, and so is also unavailable for the Boks.

Of those that were hurt in last Saturday’s Test in Pretoria, fullback Zane Kirchner is the biggest concern. Kirchner came out of that clash with a bruised hip, the result of colliding with Wallabies centre Adam Ashley-Cooper’s head when he attempted to score a try.

Kirchner did not train with the Boks at St Peters College on Monday, but Roberts said the Boks would give Kirchner another two days to recover before making a call on his availability.

Bok coach Heyneke Meyer said on Monday that he wouldn’t change the starting line-up this week unless he had to. If Kirchner is fit, he will play at fullback. If he fails to recover sufficiently, Pat Lambie will wear the No 15 jersey.

Flyhalf Johan Goosen (ankle) didn’t train either on Monday, but Roberts said this was precautionary more than anything else.

The same applied to prop Jannie du Plessis and flank Willem Alberts, who did not take part in any of the training drills but are expected to be fit for the Rugby Championship finale at Soccer City.

Utility back Lionel Mapoe and loose forward Arno Botha have been called up to provide cover.

‘Seeing that Willem is also not 100% at the moment, we only have three fit loose forwards in the squad and needed someone to provide cover at blindside flank and No 8, which is why Arno is coming to join us. He was part of our Young Guns squad in June as has been in our plans before,’ said Meyer.

‘Lionel has been in great form lately and apart from providing cover in the midfield, he can also be used on the wing if necessary.’

By Jon Cardinelli, in Johannesburg

271 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All

• 151.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-146:
    the fact a player needs second opinions is information enough he shouldn’t be anywhere near a team sheet.

• 152.grant10: Reply to this comment

Wow…..if the WP suits pulled off the Janntjes deal I will need to eat some humble pie! That would be a wonderful coup!

Now just to get F Louw back and we go all out for a first Super rugby title in 2013!

• 153.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-147:

Meyer called him up.

Had a look and didn’t play him.

If anything the Cheaters are at fault for bringing him back too early.

Wake up sunshine.

• 154.Horings: Reply to this comment

@grant10-152: If you get Louw back and make him captain and play Brache and De Jong alongside Jantjies then the Stormers will be very hard to beat in a final.

• 155.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-151: In the article it says that Coenie was declared fit and at team practice started complaining that his neck was still a bit stiff, which is when they got a second opinion.

He’ll be out for sure.

• 156.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@gunther-153: OK you just said it better.

• 157.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

That first doctor might be in for one of Coenie’s famous “DP” ‘s if he’s not careful……

• 158.gunther: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-156:

It seems to me that when a prop that age has serious neck problems is likely to be overs cadovers on his career.

• 159.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@gunther-158: A big loss if so. Lots of potential unrealized.

• 160.Hop Hop Spinnekop: Reply to this comment

@grant10-152: The guy who has rice for breakfast will still get the nod ahead of Jantjies.

• 161.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@grant10-152:
    will you go all out like you did on 09?.. or 2010?.. or 2011?..

• 162.gunther: Reply to this comment

@grant10-152:

Humble pie?

That would make a change.

• 163.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

In other news i see we are back at no 2 in the IRB World Rankings.

• 164.RL: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-147: talk kak, when did Heineken play him? kaka droske would have folgged him cause he is playing in the relegation zone.

• 165.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@grant10-152: Seen that movie and all its sequels….it all ends in tears.

• 166.Hop Hop Spinnekop: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-163: Those rankings only count when you haven’t won a WC in 24 years. ;)

• 167.Puma: Reply to this comment

@grant10-152: If Jantjies goes to Stormers that would be the best for SA rugby really. Need all our top fhs to be in a different franchise starting each game and getting plenty game time.

• 168.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Puma-167: If Jantjies moves to the Stormers permanently and Lambie starts at 10 for the Sharks then it opens the door for Goosen to join the Bulls. Hougaard, Goosen, Venter, Serfontein, Basson, Engelbrecht and Taute will be a dream backline for me, but we will stick with Steyn, Olivier and Kirchner.

• 169.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Horings-168: Dream loose trio: Botha, Stander and Schoeman, but Bulls already messed that one up for me.

• 170.Karma-zaf: Reply to this comment

I would love to see this 26 Man squad go on the EOYT…..

15. Patrick Lambie / Zane Kirschner.
    14. J.P. Pietersen.
    13. Jaco Taute / Juan De Jongh.
    12. Jean De Villiers (c).
    11. Francois Hougaard / Lwazi Mvovo.
    10. Johan Goosen / Elton Jantjes.
    9. Ruan Pienaar / Sarel Pretorious.
    8. Duane Vermuelen.
    7. Marcell Coetzee / Arno Botha.
    6. Francois Louw / Keegan Daniels.
    5. Juandre Kruger.
    4. Bakkies Botha / Eben Etsebeth.
    3. C.J. Van Der Linde / Coenie Oosthuizen.
    2. Adriaan Strauss / Schalk Brits.
    1. Gurthro Steenkamp / Marcel Van Der Merwe.

Players rested / injured = Tendai Mtawarira, Bismark Du Plessis, Jannie Du Plessis, Flip Van Der Merwe, Andries Bekker, Schalk Burger, Willem Alberts, Pierre Spies, Morne Steyn, Francois Steyn, Bryan Habana.

• 171.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Horings-168: I think Goosen has signed with Cheetahs until 2014. So he is not going anywhere right now. I think it is best for Goosen to stay at Cheetahs, there he can play his natural game too.

I have read that Mapoe and Taute are heading to Bulls though.

• 172.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber-138: I disagree on Mapoe, I dislike him intensely (I’m a Sharks supporter) but he is really in form playing some excellent rugby but Arno who is not even a starter in a CC team coming last on the log in stead of Daniel??? That is a travesty! But as a Sharks supporter I am quite happy to have him stay at the Sharks!!!!

• 173.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Horings-168: Like I said I have heard that Taute is heading for Bulls. He will probably play fb there unless he will want to cement his place at 13 for Boks by playing 13 for Bulls. Would be interesting where Mapoe would play then if he headed to Bulls?

• 174.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Karma-zaf-170: Sarel is very good, but his defence and kicking game lets him down a bit. Cobus Reinach from the Sharks just might get a call up for eoyt. Has everything that Meyer will want in a scrumhalf. Definitely one for the future.

• 175.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

@Puma-171: Goosen has already turned down a really lucrative offer by HM no less, to join the Bulls, sais he whants to remain at the Cheetahs which suits his game. Clever fellow!

• 176.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-73: WTF are you talking about, are Cape Townians the ones that refuse to speak anything but Afrikaans to black people (see all Afrikaaners from Pretoria)? Our bloody union head is coloured, our coach is coloured, your beloved Blue Bulls fans are probably the most racist group in SA!

• 177.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Sharksgirl-175: Well he signed that contract last year already. His natural game style might be coached out of him by playing for Bulls. He needs to stay with Cheetahs.

• 178.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@175 Hi Sharksgirl…I’m not getting how a Bok national coach can influence a player to join a certain union..a conflict of interest that should not be tolerated

• 179.RL: Reply to this comment

@Sharksgirl-172: guppygirl, Arno Botha is an amazing player who will walk into any teat team in the world – his generation includes other u21 stars like Kolisi, Estebeth, Elton and the Goose.

Remember what Jake said, if you are good enough to star for the baby boks then you can star for the boks – Keegan Daniel did not even play for the baby boks.

• 180.Horings: Reply to this comment

@RL-179: II am sure the first time I saw him was for a junior Bok team, but I agree on Botha and he is first choice in the CC. Was injured a couple of time though.

@Puma-174: Good call regarding Reinach. Between him and Piet van Zyl we have some very talented scrumhalves.

• 181.David: Reply to this comment

@Puma-173:
    This is why we’ll never produce the consistency of the ABs. It’s ridiculous that the major provinces are able to stockpile players who should be getting regular game time at Franchise level.
    The S15 is where our Bok players are drawn from and for a franchise like the Bulls to hoard 3 current 13s who’e in the Bok mix, plus a couple of other youngsters is not good for SA rugby. BTW, I’m only using the Bulls as an example.

• 182.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-178: Te Regatira, this offer was made to Goosen before HM became National coach. When HM was still DOR at Bulls :)

• 183.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-146: i said this WAAAAAY back about Coenie and playing tighthead! everytime they switch him the disc falres up like Smit…

Grant, remember i told you about this, how Os also okay-ed this when he himself would never do it is beyond me…

• 184.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-178: HM was not at the Boks at the time he made the offer. He made the offer last year when he also bought Sadie and Engelbrecht

• 185.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

@Puma-177: Agreed Puma! I heard Jantjies has signed with Stormers, I would have liked him at Sharks, but he will probably get more game time @ Stormers so I suppose its a good thing :(

• 186.David: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-178:
    That was when HM was DOR at the Bulls.

• 187.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-183: Yip. Tightheads are born, not made.

• 188.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-183:

thats why you are a pro blogger.

• 189.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@182 & 184 Sorry guys….I need to do my homework

• 190.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

@RL-179: Not questioning his pedigree Relegated Lion! But if HM was picking on form, as he said at beginning of his tenure, then Daniel should have been the one called up instead. But I guess they needed someone big enough to carry the takle bags :twisted:

• 191.David: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-183:
    Os okayed it because he said that the tighthead has far less strain on his neck, due to the fact that both shoulders were engaged equally.

• 192.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

@puma-173:

Mapoe will play wing at the Bulls.

• 193.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Puma-173:

Taute to 15.

Mapoe to wing to replace Akona who has been a sterling servant of Bulls rugby.

@David-181:

that’s ok davey.

you always use the bulls as an example.

some of those thirteens will play 12 or wing.

some will get injured and some we will sell on to the minnows under the mountain.

• 194.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Sharksgirl-185: Far better for us SG. We have Lambie and he will be our 1st choice fh as he was this year until he got injured. Don’t underestimate Lambie at fh, he is a brilliant fh. We will see the best of Lambie’s play when playing fh next year. He is also very consistent there. Remember Lambie stared 8 games for us at fh this year until he got injured. As good as Fred was at the end, he was not consistent.

• 195.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@RL-179: “Keegan Daniel did not even play for the baby boks.”

SA U21 coach Peter de Villiers has picked his strongest side to play hosts France in Issoire on Saturday.

SA U21: 15 Scott Spedding, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Waylon Murray, 12 Brad Barritt, 11 Marius Delport, 10 Isma-eel Dollie, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Hilton Lobberts, 6 Keegan Daniel, 5 Wilheim Steenkamp, 4 Nikolai Blignaut, 3 Sangoni Mxoli, 2 Chiliboy Ralepele, 1 Heinke van der Merwe.
    Subs: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 Werner Kruger, 18, Alistair Hargreaves, 19 Adriaan Strauss, 20 Warren Malgas, 21 Morgan Newman, 22 Cedric Mkhize

This entry was posted on Thursday, June 15th, 2006

• 196.papaown: Reply to this comment

@gunther-188: hahaha
    I see you’ve caught on Gunther

Well originality is the ability to be able to conceal your source..unless the source is me and then i claim the professional blogger claim :-D :-D :-D

• 197.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@gunther-188: pro blogger se moer! :D

why am i the only one?

• 198.Puma: Reply to this comment

@mxhosa-192: @gunther-193: Well that could be reason he has Mapoe for Boks as well. Meyer must be thinking of him on the wing. Just have to remember though JPP will be back for the eoyt. Unless Habs does not travel and gets a rest, then it could be Mapoe with JPP on wing. Hougie just not playing very well there. Pity he has been messed about. Kinda still like him at sh. Though Ruan had a superb game this past weekend and needs to stay there especially now we have young Goosen starting at fh.

• 199.J.B. Cowper: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-145:

We’ll miss a player of immense all-round talent and intuition who has the mental strength not to be frightened or overawed by the All Blacks – who contributed significantly in two major wins on New Zealand soil; a big stage player with the confidence to win games in the dying minutes who will keep his compsure when the less experienced players lose it. He brings stability both in physicality and temperament to a young side, which needs these qualities at present.

• 200.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-195: hehehe. Good one there Transie… :wink:

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.