Koen keeps faith in Morne
2 Oct 2012
Springbok kicking coach Louis Koen thinks pressure and fatigue could be the primary reasons for Morne Steyn’s goal-kicking struggles, but said he will recover and he could play a pivotal role on the year-end tour.
Steyn has battled this year but was backed by Heyneke Meyer on the basis of his match-winning ability with the boot. However, he crashed in Dunedin with the All Blacks on the ropes, missing a string of kicks that would have altered the result.
Koen was lost for an absolute explanation on Steyn’s form, but speculated that he was feeling the heat.
‘It is difficult to pin-point the exact reasons. We’ve been logging every single kick in training since before the England series, and for example, Morne has kicked around 620 kicks from all over the field since then and averaged about 88%, by far the best of the kickers,’ Koen said.
‘Technique-wise we’ve done a lot of analysis and I haven’t changed anything. So when it comes down to performance in a match, it is probably due to pressure and expectation. However, outside of the 2010 Tri-Nations, Morne has never achieved above an 80% success rate in any series he has been involved in. There’s a perception that he achieves 95% every time he is involved. The expectations were high and the pressure built on him. It became a question of handling pressure and he found that tough.
‘Also, a guy like Dave Alred (widely regarded as the world’s best kicking coach) believes the kicking game is as much mental as it is technical, so fatigue could be an issue. In Morne’s case he has played a lot of rugby in the last three years. [Fatigue] certainly could have been a factor.’
The Springboks’ coaching staff have, however, consistently stressed that Steyn’s Test career is far from over. Koen echoed that sentiment, suggesting that he may be re-installed at flyhalf sooner than some expect.
‘I believe with my whole heart that he’ll be back,’ he said. ‘He needs to regain his confidence in the Currie Cup. He still has a lot to offer South African rugby. If you look ahead at the year-end tour to Europe, where a more tactical approach is needed, I can’t speak for the coach but he can be very effective in that environment.’
The Springboks’ goal-kicking woes have extended to their other kickers as well, with Frans Steyn, Ruan Pienaar and Johan Goosen, who kicked at 86% in Super Rugby but missed with two from two attempts at Loftus, all failing to consistently hit the mark. Steyn and Goosen have, admittedly, tried a number of long-range pots, while Goosen also battled severe bruising on his planting foot at the weekend. Koen says Pienaar is likely to take the kicks against the Blacks at Soccer City.
He is also confident their success in this facet of play will improve over time.
‘[The goal-kicking] has been more disappointing than worrying,’ he said. ‘But it gives me confidence that a guy like Peter Grant, whom I’ve been working with since 2005 at the Stormers, was consistently one of the best in Super Rugby. It says I’m on the right track, but it is a process. It will take time to establish a relationship of trust. I want to get to the place where if one of our goal-kickers is struggling, I’ll be able to make immediate changes. I’m not there yet.’
By Ryan Vrede, in Johannesburg

317 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All
2 Oct 2012, 10:52 am
Please just give the guy a break! He can rest and regain form in next year’s SR comp, even though he wont be one of our top 10s!
2 Oct 2012, 10:52 am
Why is Koen kicking coach?????
Why didn’t Meyer get Vlok Cilliers, the guy who coached Morne when he was a 90$% kicker??
Koen was an average tactical kicker, and a slightly above average place kicker. I’m not sure why he’s there.
2 Oct 2012, 10:54 am
@Jeez-1:
I just loved how Meyer said Morne needed a rest, and then played him in every test.
His player management has been dodgy to say the least. JJ E and Daniels also spring to mind.
2 Oct 2012, 10:57 am
Never achieved above 80% in a series? I find that surprising. If that is indeed the case he should have been dropped ages ago. I would expect Dan Carter to regularly do 80% plus. Surely the best kicker in SA should be able to achieve that and should be in the bok team, either at flyhalf or fullback.
2 Oct 2012, 10:58 am
Since HM took over, our kickers have been about as accurate as a cumshot. All signs point to Louis Koen.
2 Oct 2012, 10:59 am
I say leave him out of the year end tour – let him rest … let him rest for all furure test matches cause he will not be missed.
2 Oct 2012, 11:00 am
Eesh, now Pienaar will kicking and Morne will be back at the end of the year as flyhalf. If that is indeed the case you can kiss the next WC goodbye.
2 Oct 2012, 11:05 am
@RL-6:
Agree, EOYT is the time to give your golden boy some time at 10.
I still think Elton will be better utilized at the Stormers by the way
2 Oct 2012, 11:12 am
@londonshark-2: I suppose he couldn’t get another Bull on the coaching team. Having said that, Meyer should get Vlok in to work with Morne: obviously the 2 have developed a good working relationship over time. Koen can’t change Morne’s kicking style etc. When MS is back with the Bulls he can’t revert back to his previous style (I hope I’m making sense) of Koen. It will simply confuse MS
2 Oct 2012, 11:19 am
All the Bok kickers could kick before being “tutored” by Koen…I say get rid of Koen…never been above average himself at any stage…
2 Oct 2012, 11:23 am
What about Braam van Straaten, O’Connor was raving about him, and i think he did
some good work with Elton Jantjies.
2 Oct 2012, 11:25 am
What about Carlos
2 Oct 2012, 11:25 am
So Koen thinks that Morne may be re-installed sooner than we expect? WHAT? WE have 3 world class fhs and they all 22 years and under and we must still consider having Morne at fh? Move on please Meyer. Don’t go back to Morne. Back Goosen or Jantjies as those are the fhs that he seems to be backing right now. We also have Lambie. Please we should have moved on from Morne in 2010.
2 Oct 2012, 11:26 am
Elton.
2 Oct 2012, 11:29 am
Koen should leave and bring in Braam Van Straaten. Think he was Elton’s kicking coach for a bit last year and Lambie’s also O’Conner from Oz. For now not sure who is Elton’s kicking coach, as he is kicking more over than any other. Also Goosen kicked just about all over in Super Rugby, who is Goosen’s kicking coach at Cheetahs? We need to be looking at those kicking coaches not Koen.
2 Oct 2012, 11:31 am
@Puma-13:
Morne should have been dropped for the 2011 WC.
I know he kicked well there, but Bryce aside, I think we might have taken Oz if we had Butch at 10. And Bizzie at 2. And Hougie at 11.
But we’ll never know.
2 Oct 2012, 11:34 am
@Puma-15:
Spot on.
This a typically example of a Bok coach picking who he works well with, instead of who works well with the players.
If your 1st choice 10 is from the bloody Mpumalanga Puma’s, you consider the Puma’s kicking coach. It makes sense.
Or even don’t have a place kicking coach, rather leave that to the local unions. I really don’t think we need a full time kicking coach, maybe an advisor (like Braam), but not a coach.
2 Oct 2012, 11:37 am
@Puma-15: I know Elton changed his kicking style for a while (sometime early last year I think) but it didn’t work. Therefore he went back to the “old” style and voila he is kicking extremely well again.
A Bok kicking coach can’t really do much to the kickers’ styles IMO. He can perhaps suggest a few subtle changes at most, but I agree with your point about the coaches at the unions – they are the ones doing the hard / good work.
2 Oct 2012, 11:38 am
@londonshark-17: An advisor yes, but a full-time kicking coach is a bit of a waste of money
2 Oct 2012, 11:42 am
@londonshark-16: Peter wanted to play Lambie. The reason he went on the away tour as fh in Tri-Nations last year. Lambie was great even great in a 3rd rate Bok team that was sent. Then they came back and somehow it was Morne AGAIN! My feeling it was Matfield and Fourie du Preez having a say there, as we can see their coach still pulling the strings for Morne. Unbelievable. The very reason Lambie missed out since 2010 from playing fh. Missed talent there for sure. Now he is shoved to fb. So really don’t want to see these other youngsters getting messed about. Meyer must back Goosen and Elton who he has for FH.
2 Oct 2012, 11:44 am
@PissAnt-14: yes
2 Oct 2012, 11:46 am
@CharlesM-18: I know when Elton had Braam coaching him he started kicking superbly. So did O’Conner and Lambie last year before picked up a hand injury before we play Saders in London. Lambie was slotting just about all over, he said it was the coaching of Braam. Felt like he could not miss, I remember him saying. So said O’Conner and Elton. We should be looking to bring in Braam. Right now Elton is our best goal kicker.
2 Oct 2012, 11:48 am
@londonshark-17: Feel the same. We just need Braam from time to time to correct the kicking.
2 Oct 2012, 11:48 am
@Puma-20:
Ja, we’ve missed a trick with Lambie.
I still think he’s better than Elton, although Elton now as the inside lane because he’s been playing 10 and only 10.
I don’t like Lambie at 15 (the Sharks have Ludik) and Boks should be using Aplon. Plum has said Lambie will now be a 10, and only a 10, so next year will provide more answers.
Either way, with Goosen, Lmbie and Elton, Morne should get no where near the Bok jersey.
2 Oct 2012, 11:51 am
@Puma-20: Matfield (when he captained the Boks on the EOYT 2010) was the reason Lambie didn’t get a start at 10. I recall reading an article about this thing – and the journalist clearly said that Matfield as captain put a spanner in the works.
Which is why I found it very interesting that Frans Steyn, on rejoining the Boks for the WC last year, said clearly in an article that he was ‘looking out for Lambie’, as he (Steyn) had experienced some serious bullying from the senior Bulls players in Jake’s WC squad in 2007 – those who felt he didn’t deserve to be there, and that Johan Roets did.
Matfield and du Preez ran SA rugby mate…….Spies, Morne and a few others, were the direct beneficiaries.
Hell on tv a few weeks back, Matfield had the utter cheek to call Pierre Spies WORLD CLASS (and how the Boks are missing him and his experience). That about tells me all I need to know…
2 Oct 2012, 11:51 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-25: @The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-114: hehehehehehe Q&A with HM
Armand asked:Good morning Sir
I have to say I am very impressed by your undertaking of this Q & A! Much criticism and questions have been directed towards your current coaching and selection methods.
Do you feel that this criticism is truly unfair and unfounded, or did you make a few mistakes on the tour that if given the chance, would be rectified by playing other players in certain positions, especially referring to Morne and perhaps giving Pat a few more minutes?
Good luck for the weekend and rest assured that the Bokke and yourself will have all the backing needed to make a success of this team!!H
Heyneke Meyer answered:
One thing I’ve come to realise is that it’s impossible to please everyone all of the time, and I always look at myself first to see where I could improve.
However, I will always listen to fair criticism and want what is best for the team and South Africa – it’s not about me. Then it’s always easier to look back at things that happened and decisions that have been made. I am only human and do make mistakes, like anyone else, butwhen I change things, like today when I announced that Johan Goosen will be at flyhalf and not Morne, it’s not an admission of a possible mistake, but rather doing what is best for the team.
I select players on a series of good performances over a period of time and one or two bad performances by a player do not make him a bad player. As coach, it’s my job to work with players who have lost confidence to regain it and be in a position to deliver their best yet again for the Springboks. I also have a long term plan with certain players and will not change my vision for them, and on the short term you can’t chop and change every week just because of performance. You will always migrate towards your long term goals.
long-term players, anyone?
i’ll start Arno Botha.
2 Oct 2012, 11:52 am
@PissAnt-14: @RL-21: Agreed.
2 Oct 2012, 11:54 am
@londonshark-24: Reminder how he’s better than Jantjies?
2 Oct 2012, 11:55 am
When I see Lous Koen’s name mentioned the first thing that springs into mind is his diabolical kicking and all-round performance in WC03 vs the English.
@londonshark-24: Missed talent for sure at fh. Should have been playing fh for Boks since eoyt 2010. Pity.
Well at least we still have him at Sharks at fh. He was our first choice this year too until injury. We have to remember that Lambie played 8 games this year at fh for Sharks. Many of those Fred sat on the bench, or played scrummie. Pat only started at fb against Stormers when we needed both there. Then came the England tests and he picked up a injury. Then Fred played all games at fh, which is understandable. Lambie will again be our first choice fh next year. Play him there all the time and he will be even better. I rate him highly at fh. One of our best. SA right now have 3 brilliant fhs. Morne should never ever be considered. They will do to Goosen and Elton what they done to Lambie if they keep in insisting selecting Morne ahead of the talented youngsters.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-25:
Matfield is a prime example of a brilliant brilliant player, who should never be allowed to talk.
Our obsession with getting ex-players as commentators is getting out of hand. I would take a guy Llike Dan Retief any day ahead of Matfield, Owen etc.
2 Oct 2012, 11:58 am
@pompies2-28: He has more body and bounce in his hair.
2 Oct 2012, 11:58 am
@pompies2-28:
Personal opinion mate. I think one area where Lambie has a serious edge is upstairs. He’s mentally very cool, and makes very few errors.
Elton does tend to have a couple brain farts every now and again. But to his credit, he’s worked on this, and is getting better every day.
But like I said, personal opinion.
2 Oct 2012, 11:59 am
@londonshark-24: see Elton has the balls to tell all of his coaches that he is a 10 and will only play 10 or not at all – Pat is the little Lamb that tells his coaches that he is not sure what his best position is and that he wouldn’t mind being selected as a fullback.
Well little Lambster you asked to be stuffed around all over the park so you will be stuffed around like the utility player you sell yourself as – do not blame blame Plum and do no blame Heineken for treating you like the utiliy you are.
Nuff said we have the Goose and Elton, proper 10′s who demand to play 10, who will be the tip of the Bok sward for the next 8 years.
2 Oct 2012, 12:01 pm
@Puma-30:
I’m glad you mentioned that.
These idiots on here forget that Lambie was the Sharks 10, and only moved to 15 after injury to allow Freddie to settle. And because the plan to play Freddie at 9 backfired (he’s a kak kak scrummie).
If Lambie stayed fit, Freddie would have warmed the bench all year long.
@londonshark-33: Fair enough. BTW. My flyhalf at the start of the RC would’ve been Lambie. RIght now, not so sure. I think his mental state might do him no favors. Definitely can’t discard him though.
Glad HM called up Mapoe. He has been the form 13 and probably backline player in the CC.
Just wish he applied the same selection criteria in selecting another loosie.
Daniel is so far ahead of any loosie playing the game in the CC this year, it actually beggars belief.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-25: Good post. I agree totally there. As I have said it here quite a few times too.
2 Oct 2012, 12:02 pm
@Transformation-26: They should let me interview thatsneakyfucker. I’ll twist him and his words like a fuckingpretzel. **when he talks sh y te like this, he deserves to be ripped into**
He is purely calling Arno Botha up as a move to counter the CJ Stander fuckup. Although he does seem to idolise Botha more than poor old Stander
Big, strong whoofuckinghoo.
(I like Arno Botha as a long term prospect though, must be honest)
2 Oct 2012, 12:02 pm
@RL-34:
RL, first up, let’s just agree to disagree on the 2.
2ndly, Elton can’t play anywhere but 10. He never ‘told’ anyone.
It’s a fact.
2 Oct 2012, 12:03 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-25: more Q&A
B van Wyk asked:More Heyneke,
Almal praat oor “off-loads” soos die All Blacks en die Sharks dit doen. Ons sien dit nie sommer in Springbok rugby nie en wil net weet wat is jou gevoel ivm dit? Gaan ons dit binnekort sien of is stampkar rugby n beter opsie? Groete
Heyneke Meyer answered:
Iets wat min mense weet, is dat ons meer ge-“offload” het as die All Blacks in Dunedin. Dit gaan oor die regte tyd en die regte plek om die “offload” te speel.
Op hierdie vlak moet ons die spelers toerus met die vaardighede en kennis om te weet wanneer dit aan is en wanneer nie. Hoe hoër die vlak van rugby, hoe minder spasie is daar op die veld en dit maak effektiewe offloading moeiliker.
Jy sal ook sien dat langer spelers, soos Sonny Bill, is van nature beter offloaders, want hulle kry hulle hande deur die tackle. Ek glo beslis nie aan die sogenaamde stampkar-rugby nie (van my vorige spanne het van die meeste driee in hul onderskeie kompetisies gedruk), maar as goeie afrigter moet jy die spelers leer om die regte besluite te neem en dit kom met tyd. Onthou, ons is nog maar nie eens twee maande saam as ‘n span nie.
2 Oct 2012, 12:03 pm
@Puma-30: To be honest Puma, Fred was the better FH this year for the Sharks..
2 Oct 2012, 12:05 pm
@pompies2-36:
Yep, Lambie needs to go back to the Sharks and just play his natural game.
The kid just wants to play rugby.
2 Oct 2012, 12:07 pm
So many retards here.
Goosen is getting his chance, and so will Jaintjes. What is the point of throwing Morne Steyn away when he has the kind of experience he does? We know he has BMT he has shown it before, and he has also shown some real ability at times too.
Give the guy a break. Meyer has dropped him and we have two exciting youngsters coming through who are going to be playing. Meyer always said Goosen was the future and part of his plans, yet twits on here keep suggesting Meyer will drop him first chance he gets?
And to back them up if they get injured or fall out of form, we have Morne Steyn who will probably start coming right.
All this talk about Bulls bias needs to stop. He started two Bulls on saturday.
No, Im not a bulls fan, Im a lions supporter.
Some some common sense please people.
Most of the people complaining about provincial bias are mostly guilty of it themselves. The only people who are biased are the idiot fans who for some reason seem to think they have a bigger swinging **** when their sides players represent the boks.
I want the boks to win, dont care what provinces they come from. And for all the talk of Aplon and De jongh, they sure as hell could not get over the whitewash this season either with any regularity.
Ive been following this sight closely for the last few months, at times I lmao for the banter, sometimes I respect really insightful comments, but then, at times i get so annoyed with the mentality of South African fans. Morne has proofed to be a match winner, a man that can step up at when needed. However, he’s form is gone, call it fatigue, call it pressure, call it what you want! He will however be back, because he is that good. Remember when Naas was stripped of kicking duties and given to johann heunis? Remember Percy? Why cant we just get behind morras, help build his confidence back in stead of totally destroying a loyal servant to springbok rugby. When on form, he is the best kicker in the world. He is a dropkick specialist. Undoubtably goose is our 10, but a confident morne on the bench will allow to change the gameplan totally when required and when goose has a bad day. Common morras, get back to form and kick us to victory when we need it most, ala loftus 2009!
@londonshark-35: For sure. We will see just how good he is next year. Think his distribution is brilliant. We will see just how good Fransie is too next year playing along side Lambie. Lambie and Reinach as our half backs are going to be awesome. Also with Jordaan at outside centre. Going to be great.
2 Oct 2012, 12:09 pm
@theOracle-42: spot on and totally the reason why the guppies got into the playoffs – if they Elton on loan then they may make it again into the final.
2 Oct 2012, 12:10 pm
@theOracle-42:
Not sure about that. I think the whole team fired when the Sharks fowards decided to arrive for the season (Alberts and co).
With that front foot ball, Freddie did look good. Having said that, Freddie was very very good. But let’s not forget, Freddie has played 50+ tests, he’s supposed to be good!!
2 Oct 2012, 12:11 pm
@Kiefpant-44:
No bias here, just Morne Steyn bias.
He’s not our best 10. In fact, he’s probs 5th in SA.
No bias, just facts.
2 Oct 2012, 12:12 pm
@londonshark-40: no, check the SA rugby mag archives – in it Elton and Jantjies snr reveal that they tell coaches 10 jersey or stuff you.
It is true.
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All