Koen keeps faith in Morne

Springbok kicking coach Louis Koen thinks pressure and fatigue could be the primary reasons for Morne Steyn’s goal-kicking struggles, but said he will recover and he could play a pivotal role on the year-end tour.

Steyn has battled this year but was backed by Heyneke Meyer on the basis of his match-winning ability with the boot. However, he crashed in Dunedin with the All Blacks on the ropes, missing a string of kicks that would have altered the result.

Koen was lost for an absolute explanation on Steyn’s form, but speculated that he was feeling the heat.

‘It is difficult to pin-point the exact reasons. We’ve been logging every single kick in training since before the England series, and for example, Morne has kicked around 620 kicks from all over the field since then and averaged about 88%, by far the best of the kickers,’ Koen said.

‘Technique-wise we’ve done a lot of analysis and I haven’t changed anything. So when it comes down to performance in a match, it is probably due to pressure and expectation. However, outside of the 2010 Tri-Nations, Morne has never achieved above an 80% success rate in any series he has been involved in. There’s a perception that he achieves 95% every time he is involved. The expectations were high and the pressure built on him. It became a question of handling pressure and he found that tough.

‘Also, a guy like Dave Alred (widely regarded as the world’s best kicking coach) believes the kicking game is as much mental as it is technical, so fatigue could be an issue. In Morne’s case he has played a lot of rugby in the last three years. [Fatigue] certainly could have been a factor.’

The Springboks’ coaching staff have, however, consistently stressed that Steyn’s Test career is far from over. Koen echoed that sentiment, suggesting that he may be re-installed at flyhalf sooner than some expect.

‘I believe with my whole heart that he’ll be back,’ he said. ‘He needs to regain his confidence in the Currie Cup. He still has a lot to offer South African rugby. If you look ahead at the year-end tour to Europe, where a more tactical approach is needed, I can’t speak for the coach but he can be very effective in that environment.’

The Springboks’ goal-kicking woes have extended to their other kickers as well, with Frans Steyn, Ruan Pienaar and Johan Goosen, who kicked at 86% in Super Rugby but missed with two from two attempts at Loftus, all failing to consistently hit the mark. Steyn and Goosen have, admittedly, tried a number of long-range pots, while Goosen also battled severe bruising on his planting foot at the weekend. Koen says Pienaar is likely to take the kicks against the Blacks at Soccer City.

He is also confident their success in this facet of play will improve over time.

‘[The goal-kicking] has been more disappointing than worrying,’ he said. ‘But it gives me confidence that a guy like Peter Grant, whom I’ve been working with since 2005 at the Stormers, was consistently one of the best in Super Rugby. It says I’m on the right track, but it is a process. It will take time to establish a relationship of trust. I want to get to the place where if one of our goal-kickers is struggling, I’ll be able to make immediate changes. I’m not there yet.’

By Ryan Vrede, in Johannesburg

Follow Ryan on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter

317 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All

• 51.Puma: Reply to this comment

@theOracle-42: During the last few games. He was not that great against the Brumbies or Canes. Those were the first two games he played at fh, before that it he played scrummie or on the bench. Once Lambie got back from injury there he was left on the bench against the Blues. Lambie started and was great and every game after that. Chiefs, Force, Landers Lambie was mom there. We do forget the games that Fred was not great. He was great from the Bulls game. Fred was outstanding in the Bulls game and Reds and again against Stormers.

Anyhow all done and dusted. Looking forward to next year.

• 52.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@Puma-46:

Yep, very good backline.

Jordaan might just be knocking on the Bok door next year. But Meyer might see him as being too small. Frans and him will make a lethal combo. Frans punches the hole and offloads to a flying Jordaan.

He’s the quickest 13 in SA by a mile. Hell, he might be the quickest player in SA, period. A bit injury prone though.

• 53.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma-51: mom against Landers.

• 54.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@theOracle-42: even Plum admitted by playing Lambie @ Fullback!

• 55.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@RL-50:

So Elton has a better agent :)

But it does help he can’t really play anywhere else.

Besides, if the Bok coaches offers you a national contract (but as a fullback), no player (not even Elton Snr) would say no.

Hell, even Saint Smit stayed on for the Boks when he knew he was finished. Money, aka a contract, talks.

• 56.RL: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-41:

“. Jy sal ook sien dat langer spelers, soos Sonny Bill, is van nature beter offloaders, want hulle kry hulle hande deur die tackle”

This is why shorties like JDJ and the short ilk will always be secobd to the Taute’s.

• 57.BrisbaneBok: Reply to this comment

@Kiefpant-44:
    “…Morne start coming right..” You are talking as if he was once good and just struggling on form. The only thing he was ever good at was kicking.

Last weekends game was the first time in many seasons where I saw our back line do anything. Previously it had been all up to our forwards and kicking penalties to get any points.

The reason people think he will drop Goosen was because Meyer irrationally kept playing Morne for so long despite Goosen being on the bench and Jantjies being available.

• 58.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-54:

Not really.

The Sharks were very thin at 15 when Lambie came back. Ludik only found form very very late in the comp.

It was more about having a good 15 (and a good 10), rather than just a good 10.

• 59.Puma: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-52: Jordaan is fantastic at 13.

Not sure how injury prone really. He played brilliant for the U20′s jwc against England. His tackling there was ferocious. It was that commitment where he picked up the hammie injury that he had for a very long time. Super skills and bloody fast, also his defence is from the top drawer. I think Meyer might over look him too because of his size. What a pity. Just pleased he is at the Sharks. How was that ball he won on Friday night? Just taking out their hands at will and off for a superb try? He is a special talent for sure. Combus Reinach is another great talent for next year. Our backline is looking very sharp. Can’t wait for Super Rugby.

• 60.theOracle: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-33:
    “I think one area where Lambie has a serious edge is upstairs. He’s mentally very cool, and makes very few errors.”

Boet, when was the last time you watched Elton play? 2010? :lol:

The new and improved Elton is a general on the field…

• 61.Puma: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-58: Agree.

• 62.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma-59: meant – Cobus

• 63.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Mapsticks-45: nobody is saying “morass” should never play for the boks again, just that he has been kak the WHOLE season and actually LOST the Boks (i don’t care if he f.ucks up for the Bulls) 3 games that we should’ve won!

when that happens, the coach imo shouldn’t play him at the expense of the team’s results!

when he regains his general form (not only his kicking) in the currie cup THEN he should be in a Bok jersey and i will cheer him on too.

isn’t it amazing that when PdV backed january the likes of Keo tore into him and called for him to be dropped yet now they want players to be allowed to play themselves into form against the All Blacks…

• 64.Puma: Reply to this comment

Okay I am out of here.

Cheers everyone.

• 65.RL: Reply to this comment

@theOracle-60: Lambie saved his worst for the Super final 2012, the Currie cup final 2011 and the Super playoff match 2011 – all at fullback where he was the worst player on the field.

• 66.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-58: Ludik was on fire at the time but was shafted to accommodate lambie.

• 67.theOracle: Reply to this comment

@Puma-59: I like the look of young Reinach, reminds me of another Shark 9, was it Davids?

• 68.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-52: Jordaan’s got a way to go yet. Very individualistic. Poor distributor and average defense. Reckon he might crack it as a wing though.

• 69.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@RL-56: Such kak. That’s a convenient excuse. Think Coope. Hell most NZ backs are able to do this. Got nothing to do with arm length. Mindset, vision and the ability to execute are required. Spatial awarenes plays an important role in recognising the space and how best to manipulate defenders. Lang arms? Dan sal aape mos beter rugby speel as mense.

• 70.RL: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-69: That is what Heineken said – he likes his langarm musiek and his langarm players. :razz:

• 71.grant10: Reply to this comment

oh hell man Loiuise Koen!!

Are you a nutcase??

Just leave M Steyn at the Bulls man….vokkit!

The thought of him and Spies wearing Bok jersys again makes me feel sick….seriously…

• 72.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@RL-70: This is akin to “Div-ism”

• 73.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

This is just team speak by Koen, being supportive of one of his charges.

It’s up to Maverick and Goose to make the spot their own. If they do then Morne will have played his last test for SA. If not then he has a shot at getting back.

Time will tell….

As it always does.

• 74.gunther: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-73:

Ah the quiet voice of reason.

• 75.the authority: Reply to this comment

Jordaan could be a brilliant outside center and should definitely be considered in the near future. If not at 13, then on the wing potentially.

JP Pietersen is also a shout for outside center.

Jan Serfontein should also get a look at inside center soon, although Frans Steyn is a fantastic player when he has a flyhalf other than Morne Steyn.

Jean De Villiers days should be numbered. He is still good and made some excellent captaincy decisions on Saturday, but it is very nearly time to start giving a new youngster 15 minutes at outside center every game. A succession plan is needed soon, otherwise we will pay for it later.

• 76.Ho3n3r: Reply to this comment

You must be crazy to think Lambie is better than Steyn, Goosen or Jantjies. He got his chance in the Tri Nations last year, and was found seriously wanting. I am wondering where all the hype started – probably all the Sharks fanboys.

Goosen and Jantjies are the future.

But do not discount Morne – if he plays the way he did in 2009, there is no better test flyhalf in the country. And no, a test flyhalf’s only requirement isn’t only to run around and look spectacular.

• 77.Ho3n3r: Reply to this comment

Agreed on Paul Jordaan – he is looking the real deal.

Much better than overrated JJ here at the Bulls. Most Bulls supporters do not even rate him.

Look how many tries the Bulls leaked when he was starting. Coincidence? I think not.

• 78.Gazelle: Reply to this comment

Fck morne hes done, faith in him kicking good? Thats all he offers.

• 79.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

Meyer has been very good at contradicting himself since taking the job. One of his key points has been that he will only select players that can handle the pressure and yet he continued with morne no matter what.

• 80.Porra: Reply to this comment

but does
    morne
    has faith
    in koen
    ?

• 81.Porra: Reply to this comment

@Porra-80:

it’s
    have

• 82.The Bok Identity: Reply to this comment

Morne doesn’t have the ability to make those around him look good. He must first learn that particular skill and regain his kicking form before we can consider him for the bokke.

• 83.wnbb: Reply to this comment

SA Time: 02 October 2012 13:46:20
    Jantjies to play for Stormers in 2013

October 2 2012 at 12:14pm
    By Ashfak Mohamed

Comment on this story
    iol spt oct2 Jantjies

Newly capped Springbok flyhalf and hot star Elton Jantjies has signed a loan agreement to play for the Stormers in next year’s Super Rugby tournament.

Jantjies, who made his Test debut in the past weekend’s 31-8 win over Australia, has a clause in his current contract with the Lions that allows him to play Super Rugby for another franchise if the Johannesburg-based team is relegated from the competition.

The Cape Times has established that Jantjies has finally decided to come to Cape Town next year and play for the Stormers, after he was also courted by the Sharks.

WP and Stormers coach Allister Coetzee said yesterday that while he had not yet received confirmation that the 22-year-old would be joining his team next year, he was hopeful that it could happen.

Coetzee had a smile on his face yesterday when asked for comment by the Cape Times. “I have not yet received a signed loan agreement from Elton. I will only believe it when the papers are signed and I have it in front of me.

“Elton can only come on loan to us, as he is contracted with the Lions until the end of 2013. But it would be positive news if he has now decided to come here.

“There hasn’t been much talk between us and Elton lately, as he is obviously busy with the Springboks at the moment. I hope to announce all our signings in two weeks’ time.”

Jantjies’s arrival in the Cape next year would be a significant boost to their chances of going those two steps further and winning the Super Rugby title after finishing as losing semi-finalists for the last two years. The Stormers also reached the 2010 final, losing to the Bulls.

Peter Grant is likely to miss out on the first few rounds of next year’s tournament once more due to his club commitments in Japan, and so Jantjies will be even more valuable to the Stormers.

While Grant has been a solid and consistent performer for the Cape side in the last few years, Jantjies could provide that attacking spark that is desperately needed to complement the superb defence that has proved to be the best in the competition.

Coetzee is currently experiencing a flyhalf crisis with Western Province in the Currie Cup, with Kurt Coleman and Gary van Aswegen out for the season due to injury and Burton Francis having joined the SWD Eagles. Incumbent Demetri Catrakilis is the only recognised pivot in the WP squad, but he will join the Southern Kings next year.

The Stormers have already signed young Lions and Baby Bok lock Ruan Botha on a two-year deal from next year, and are also chasing a number of other Lions stars such as Springboks Jaco Taute, Pat Cilliers and Bandise Maku, lock Michael Rhodes and hooker Callie Visagie.

• 84.catchlightuk.com: Reply to this comment

In Simon Cowels reality shows, they always pick someone kuk to make it into the finals. It adds drama, gets people emotional. The coaches seem to be using morne to engineer some emotion.

• 85.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

Even if Morne kicked 100% I till wouldnt select him

• 86.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@catchlightuk.com-84: Who is Simon Cowell?

• 87.grant10: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-83: Would be a major coup for Stormers…..very exciting talent Jantjes…

• 88.catchlightuk.com: Reply to this comment

He makes women’s tv shows-xfactor, pop idols, etc.

• 89.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

@BrisbaneBok-57: Spot on

• 90.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Yeah good move from Jaintjies.

More game time to be had at the Stormers.
    Next years S15 is going to be baie interesant.

• 91.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@grant10-87: Certainly.The ‘i hope to announce all our signings in two weeks time’ is a very interesting line.Are we in for a surprise or two?

• 92.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-90:

Taute and Pat Cilliers also.

• 93.catchlightuk.com: Reply to this comment

At flyhalf, we have 3 good options in the squard, excluding morne. If we give a position in the squard to morne, we miss out on creating depth in another position. Who plays 12 if jdv goes down?

• 94.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-92:

Sorry that was for @wnbb-91:

• 95.Kaizan: Reply to this comment

Glad that Jantjies is going to the Stormers and not the Sharks… Had he gone to the sharks and become a regular starter at flyhalf, we would be in danger Lambie to a foreign club.

Same goes for Burden at the moment… Great player, but plays behind Bismarck. Will never be a regular starter with Bissie there. I wouldn’t be surprised if he up and moved abroad…. And he would still be eligible to play for another country too!!

Losing players to foreign clubs (and national teams) is a huge problem for South Africa at the moment.

• 96.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

These farken Aussies can’t get one off the square.

Don’t know how we got to this point where our destiny is in the hands of these convicts.

• 97.Transformation: Reply to this comment

now for Lionel to come to the Kings :D

• 98.grant10: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-91: Personally I would break the bank for F Louw….

But certainly Taute, Cilliers and Rhodes would all lend real value to Stormers squad imo….

Its about quality depth as we constantly find out in the Super 15…..

A player like Jantjes is enough to make me want to go buy a season ticket….

Now we just need AC to buy into a more expansive game plan and then we in for a very interesting Super 15…..

Reckon the Sharks will be the most powerful SA Team on paper….but we wont be too far behind…

• 99.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-92:
    Both on loan?

Wonder if there’s a get out of jail card in their Lions contracts.

• 100.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-68:

I disagree on every point :)

Especially the ‘average defense’ bit.

Have you actually watched him play. And not just from around the braai.

The kid is class (class he showed last year and during the u21 WC).

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.