Koen keeps faith in Morne

Springbok kicking coach Louis Koen thinks pressure and fatigue could be the primary reasons for Morne Steyn’s goal-kicking struggles, but said he will recover and he could play a pivotal role on the year-end tour.

Steyn has battled this year but was backed by Heyneke Meyer on the basis of his match-winning ability with the boot. However, he crashed in Dunedin with the All Blacks on the ropes, missing a string of kicks that would have altered the result.

Koen was lost for an absolute explanation on Steyn’s form, but speculated that he was feeling the heat.

‘It is difficult to pin-point the exact reasons. We’ve been logging every single kick in training since before the England series, and for example, Morne has kicked around 620 kicks from all over the field since then and averaged about 88%, by far the best of the kickers,’ Koen said.

‘Technique-wise we’ve done a lot of analysis and I haven’t changed anything. So when it comes down to performance in a match, it is probably due to pressure and expectation. However, outside of the 2010 Tri-Nations, Morne has never achieved above an 80% success rate in any series he has been involved in. There’s a perception that he achieves 95% every time he is involved. The expectations were high and the pressure built on him. It became a question of handling pressure and he found that tough.

‘Also, a guy like Dave Alred (widely regarded as the world’s best kicking coach) believes the kicking game is as much mental as it is technical, so fatigue could be an issue. In Morne’s case he has played a lot of rugby in the last three years. [Fatigue] certainly could have been a factor.’

The Springboks’ coaching staff have, however, consistently stressed that Steyn’s Test career is far from over. Koen echoed that sentiment, suggesting that he may be re-installed at flyhalf sooner than some expect.

‘I believe with my whole heart that he’ll be back,’ he said. ‘He needs to regain his confidence in the Currie Cup. He still has a lot to offer South African rugby. If you look ahead at the year-end tour to Europe, where a more tactical approach is needed, I can’t speak for the coach but he can be very effective in that environment.’

The Springboks’ goal-kicking woes have extended to their other kickers as well, with Frans Steyn, Ruan Pienaar and Johan Goosen, who kicked at 86% in Super Rugby but missed with two from two attempts at Loftus, all failing to consistently hit the mark. Steyn and Goosen have, admittedly, tried a number of long-range pots, while Goosen also battled severe bruising on his planting foot at the weekend. Koen says Pienaar is likely to take the kicks against the Blacks at Soccer City.

He is also confident their success in this facet of play will improve over time.

‘[The goal-kicking] has been more disappointing than worrying,’ he said. ‘But it gives me confidence that a guy like Peter Grant, whom I’ve been working with since 2005 at the Stormers, was consistently one of the best in Super Rugby. It says I’m on the right track, but it is a process. It will take time to establish a relationship of trust. I want to get to the place where if one of our goal-kickers is struggling, I’ll be able to make immediate changes. I’m not there yet.’

By Ryan Vrede, in Johannesburg

Follow Ryan on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter

317 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 » Show All

• 101.Doughnut: Reply to this comment

I see Morne is being blended in again, this is BS we need maximum time on the field for Goose and Jantjies .. They will learn plenty EOYT.

The issue of Captain is more pressing, is Strauss the official VC ? I thinK Biz will do ok and it may add some maturity to his red mist moments ..

• 102.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-92: If Taute makes the loan move to CT, is this an admission that the return of Joe P wasn’t as good as it seemed?

I’ve stated this ad nauseum that Joe P (mini Percy) isn’t super rugby quality. I called him a vanilla player. Thus far, he’s done nothing except to enhance my sentiments. However some here thought it was master stroke to bring back a player who wasn’t quite good enough to make it in the french leagues. go figure.

• 103.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Louis Koen !!!!????

I can only imagine how he made it onto the Springbok coaching staff…..Heyneke has no shame in bringing in all his kerk en braai gabbas. It’s incredible. Completely shameless.

• 104.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@Ho3n3r-76:

Lambie was thrown in against the All Blacks with a 2nd string team around him.

Is that what you call ‘getting his chance’? Come on boet, think before you post.

But all this arguing is pointless. Next year we’ll have Goosen, Lambie and Elton all starting for good teams (well, the Cheetahs are okay).

Then we can talk.

By the way, Goosen is number 1, I want to see who the backup is going to be after 2013 Super Comp.

• 105.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-100: I pay close attention. His game v Ireland U20 was not good. His play in last years U20 was average. He has some deficiencies in his basic ballskills. Admittedly this has improved thanks to his involvement with the SA 7′s, But he’s still far off a international 13. His strength is his strike running. Cut this off and he doesn’t any supplemental skills.

What’s you take other that being caught up in his hype.

• 106.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-2: Vlok’s tannie doesn’t make as nice koeksusters….and doesn’t bring kondensmelk koekies with to prayer meeting.

• 107.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-102:

Yep, Joe is a good player. In fact, I think he’s a very good Super Rugby player.

But a Bok. Nope. But then again, he’s no worse (or better) than Zane.

• 108.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Puma-13: Of course. Morne’s mommy phoned and k@k’d out Louis after the game. She said she is going to send ‘Oom Steyn’ there with the sjambok if they dont get Morne back into a jersey as soon as possible.

• 109.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-105:

Ha ha, boet, NO ONE was good in that first game against Ireland. Not one player.

I never said he was an international 13 yet, but after next year’s comp (if he stays injury free), I think he’ll be very close to Bok selection.

But ja look, he can improve. I’m counting on it.

Lambie, Steyn, Jordaan, JP, Mvovo, Ludik. Sharks backs are looking good.

• 110.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-104: We are in a transitional period. Goosen is not Nr 1 yet. He does look the goods, but there is a way to go before he stamps his name on the Bok Nr 10 jersey.

From my perspective I would agree that he currently looks the most promising.

• 111.2k3: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-96: I would rather we get knocked of the tournament the support the aussies.

• 112.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-107: Joe’s CC level.

• 113.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-105:

On his skills, I think he’s very strong on defense, and reads the game very well. His positional play was outstanding for the baby boks in the playoffs. His strength in the tackle is also top notch. He was the only player to threaten the Chiefs in the Super Rugby final.

Then there’s his pace. The way he pulled away from Aplon against WP during the Currpe Cup was impressive. You can’t coach speed.

• 114.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-110:

True.

But Goosen does have the inside lane, no doubt about that.

• 115.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-113: He’s very good in open play, but not very creative.

• 116.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-114: The young Shark you should be raving about is PSDT. Classy and seems to make the right decisions more often than not.

• 117.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-114: Yep so did Jaco Vd. Westhuisen. Can you recall the HUGE boohaai made about Jaco being the next messiah at flyhalf ?

Lets give Goosen his chances and remain respectful of the fact that there are other players that could easily have done what he did this past weekend. It was a good victory for the Boks (in a very unusual scenario with the Aussies running out of reserves), but I am not joining the sheep baaa baaa baaa’ing about how great Goosen played. He played well – nothing that stamps 10 on his back in green and gold.

We need a goal kicker by the way. In modern rugby where the strength vs. strength contests are going to be so close – we need a flyhalf that is able to convert his goal kicks. I can give you an example of very important tournaments (like a Lions tour) that South Africa would have lost if it weren’t for a goal kick !

• 118.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-115:

I hear you. Yeah look, he’s no playmaker. But don’t forget, he is a winger who has moved to 13.

He’s not trying to be a 12 or a 10.

I guess it depends on what you think the key skills of a 13 should be.

• 119.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-114: For that reason I would like to see Elton Jantjes given more time at 10. He is an accurate goal kicker and I believe can bring just as much to the game as Goosen.

I am not joining the Goosen discipleship yet mate. He is good, talented kid – the new Bok 10 ? Not yet.

• 120.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-117:

To be fair to Goosen, he was injured (still is). So it does hurt every time he kicks. Hell, Koen said he hadn’t kicked for poles once in 2 weeks before the Aus game.

His kicking will come right.

Jaco (to his credit) was very good in 2004. Then he lost his marbles.

• 121.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-119:

Elton still needs to prove himself at Super Rugby level I’m afraid. Maybe not his fault (playing for the Lions), but still, next year will provide answers.

• 122.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-120: Well that’s exactly my point. Before I sign up for a membership in the church of Johan Goosen, I need a bit more evidence. That’s all I am saying.

He improves his kicking, he is looking good. At least he ran the ball a few times, not like Morne ‘let me kick it away before I get tackled’ Steyn.

• 123.Seismic: Reply to this comment

What are the chances of Jaoo Taute taking longer kicks?? I know he has done for the Lions, but the management might feel it is putting too much pressure on him. Pienaar has a fairly long range at altitude it must be said, hopefully he is accurate on Saturday. Lambie could be an option if he plays instead of Kirchner.

• 124.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-121: I dont agree. Jantjes has done just as much to deserve a shot as Goosen. You can’t judge Jantjes by his Super rugby team’s performance otherwise there would be no Goosen in the team either.

Look – I am not arguing with you buddy. You’re sold – I am not. Lets leave it at that.

• 125.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-122:

I hear you.

Potentially though (talent wise), Goosen has more talent in his pinky toe than Lambie and Elton combined.

But reaching that potential is the key.

Bring on 2013!!!

Has anyone tried to buy Goosen by the way?????

• 126.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-124:

Fair enough. :)

• 127.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

Without a ball being bowled in their game against India Abe Div, Kallis, the Morkels ,Steyn, Levi and the rest are scurrying to find their passports and tickets. They need to get off the island in mere hours. They are unwanted visitors.
    This time they cannot even make the KO stage thanks to momentous captaincy.

• 128.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

And these natives, ALL, do not even whisper anything vaguely cricket.

• 129.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Neilanate-127:

What’syourfuckingproblem now again

• 130.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-124:

Goosen did lead all flyhalf stats until he got injured though (and that was despite playing for the Cheetahs).

Elton has picked up some good things from the Lions. I think Mitchell sorted out his weight issue (he was tubby in 2010/early 2012). And Spencer would have done some good too.

• 131.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-124:

Good to see you here in daylight.

Was beginning to think you were a vampire

• 132.grant10: Reply to this comment

Fark..Proteas done and dusted…bliksem and dorner man…

• 133.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-125:

Yes , the Boeremag tried but then changed their mind when they saw him crying during the singing of the black national anthem.

• 134.grant10: Reply to this comment

pakistan beat Australia by 33 runs…..

Proteas play India for some pride only….

• 135.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@Neilanate-133:

LOL, okay, that was funny :)

• 136.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-135:

You think?

• 137.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

Trust you to explain that “coloured slang” for the ivory tower dwellers whose arses give comfort to maggot-types

What do they say again “takes one to know … ?

• 138.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-125: Potentially so does my buddies unborn son. So that is a excellent example of a very subjective, unsubstantiated nothing statement. I want to see him bring it. If he does – I will believe.

Leading the stats also means very little apparently. Players like Lwazi Mvovo and Keegan Daniel also sport stats much better than some of the seasoned Springboks still waking up in a Springbok sponsored hotel room every morning at the moment.

• 139.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

“Koen says Pienaar is likely to take the kicks against the Blacks at Soccer City.”

After his goal-kicking performance in the last match?

• 140.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-131: I have been traveling in different time zones Dawny. Thanks for caring.

• 141.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit-139: Who kicked better ?

• 142.Doughnut: Reply to this comment

@Neilanate-133: Hey ho … you an enlightened chap are’nt you ..

• 143.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit-139: I could hear Loftus humming like a bee hive after Goosen missed his first two kicks. I can just imagine what was being said in the stands because you see – at Loftus a flyhalf must kick.

What the crowd might have failed to realise is that Goosen was immeasurably better than Steyn in open play. I do agree though that a Bok flyhalf has to kick 80 to 85% or there must be someone else on the field that can – finish and klaar.

At the moment, we cant find a player that can do that it seems.

• 144.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-138:

Not really. Goosen has kicked penalties at school from 70m out and unlocked Super Rugby defenses. Your buddies unborn son hasn’t (yet).

And kicking stats are very different from a wingers (or an 8th mans).

But let’s just let 2013 decide for us. :)

• 145.Doughnut: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-138: What are you saying that Mvovo should get another chance to stuff up a Bok performance ? No way, I would take Aplon over him anyday.

Keegan is unlucky, but are you going to drop any of the current run on ?

• 146.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit-139:

Only due to Goosens heel injury. Pienaar is the best we got if Goosen can’t kick.

Only other option is to start with Lambie at 15, and let him kick.

• 147.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Doughnut-145: No. Read again.

• 148.Doughnut: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-143: Give Goose a few games, we gave MS about a year .. Jantjies must also be given some matches ..

• 149.Doughnut: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-147: yes ok .. mea culpa ..

• 150.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-144: Really ? Where do you see these stats ? I am genuinely interested. Maybe then I can also see this ‘light’ of the messiah.

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.