Koen keeps faith in Morne

Springbok kicking coach Louis Koen thinks pressure and fatigue could be the primary reasons for Morne Steyn’s goal-kicking struggles, but said he will recover and he could play a pivotal role on the year-end tour.

Steyn has battled this year but was backed by Heyneke Meyer on the basis of his match-winning ability with the boot. However, he crashed in Dunedin with the All Blacks on the ropes, missing a string of kicks that would have altered the result.

Koen was lost for an absolute explanation on Steyn’s form, but speculated that he was feeling the heat.

‘It is difficult to pin-point the exact reasons. We’ve been logging every single kick in training since before the England series, and for example, Morne has kicked around 620 kicks from all over the field since then and averaged about 88%, by far the best of the kickers,’ Koen said.

‘Technique-wise we’ve done a lot of analysis and I haven’t changed anything. So when it comes down to performance in a match, it is probably due to pressure and expectation. However, outside of the 2010 Tri-Nations, Morne has never achieved above an 80% success rate in any series he has been involved in. There’s a perception that he achieves 95% every time he is involved. The expectations were high and the pressure built on him. It became a question of handling pressure and he found that tough.

‘Also, a guy like Dave Alred (widely regarded as the world’s best kicking coach) believes the kicking game is as much mental as it is technical, so fatigue could be an issue. In Morne’s case he has played a lot of rugby in the last three years. [Fatigue] certainly could have been a factor.’

The Springboks’ coaching staff have, however, consistently stressed that Steyn’s Test career is far from over. Koen echoed that sentiment, suggesting that he may be re-installed at flyhalf sooner than some expect.

‘I believe with my whole heart that he’ll be back,’ he said. ‘He needs to regain his confidence in the Currie Cup. He still has a lot to offer South African rugby. If you look ahead at the year-end tour to Europe, where a more tactical approach is needed, I can’t speak for the coach but he can be very effective in that environment.’

The Springboks’ goal-kicking woes have extended to their other kickers as well, with Frans Steyn, Ruan Pienaar and Johan Goosen, who kicked at 86% in Super Rugby but missed with two from two attempts at Loftus, all failing to consistently hit the mark. Steyn and Goosen have, admittedly, tried a number of long-range pots, while Goosen also battled severe bruising on his planting foot at the weekend. Koen says Pienaar is likely to take the kicks against the Blacks at Soccer City.

He is also confident their success in this facet of play will improve over time.

‘[The goal-kicking] has been more disappointing than worrying,’ he said. ‘But it gives me confidence that a guy like Peter Grant, whom I’ve been working with since 2005 at the Stormers, was consistently one of the best in Super Rugby. It says I’m on the right track, but it is a process. It will take time to establish a relationship of trust. I want to get to the place where if one of our goal-kickers is struggling, I’ll be able to make immediate changes. I’m not there yet.’

By Ryan Vrede, in Johannesburg

Follow Ryan on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter

317 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 » Show All

• 201.Fern: Reply to this comment

I van watch Diners,Drive-ins and Dives or read the k ak posted here…
    cheers all the good people.

• 202.Fern: Reply to this comment

I can watch Diners,Drive-ins and Dives or read the k ak posted here…
    cheers all the good people.

• 203.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

Is that the only Gugs slang you are limited to?

• 204.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Neilanate-197:

Where do you get off calling people dogfoodshit and maggots, you piece of wet tripe

You think you are sooo fecking intellectual and smart but your vocabulary gives your pea-size brain away every time.

You think it’s classy and smart and shows what a big man you are to belittle women and call them names you wouldn’t call your wife? (or maybe you would)

You f ucking a s s hole

• 205.Dawn: Reply to this comment

You dont know Claremont and Wynberg and Bonteheuwel and Manenberg anymore you d ooos because you highfuckingtailed it to the USA

Yes STBUR

He’s in the States

Take him. Vat hom.

• 206.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Neilanate-203:

Address your posts, and people will answer you.

Stop talking to the empty air.

Therein lies madness.

You f uck

• 207.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@cab-192:

In my own words…

The type of person that forgoes his own identity in an ill-advised effort to not offend any other group in the world even to the extent where his own children will suffer punishment and eventual extinction. It is a place of self hate masquerading as enlightenment, kinda of like a religious cult but without the supernatural bits.

It is a mutated form of liberalism where we deny that group dynamics exists in politics, economy and in society. It focuses on the “individual” in a very duplicitious sense. You can be an individual only as long as you do not argue or object to what the state and its propaganda tells you to believe. In this case that you must reject your group identity. That is the marxist angle “to submit to the mass”, “to squander free thought”, “to not question”. Any objection is punished economically and socially, the latter being the most effective part.

What whites must realize is no one else in the world believes this fairytale. BEE is a prime example.

• 208.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

Now look in the mirror and try to smile.
    ‘Pens en pootjie kerrie is heerlik.’

• 209.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@willievz-182: Hey Willie. What are your thoughts on Vermeulen’s performances so far?

• 210.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@Horings-194:

Good example. It is also ok to say West Africans are good long distance runners, Maori are exceptionally gifted rugby players but do NOT dare to suggest there is any difference in intelligence between racial groups. For some reason that is sacrosant. So much so that instead of investigating and proving how we are all equal the marxist-liberals would rather ban any mention of it. Much easier to hide unwanted truths, right?

• 211.charo: Reply to this comment

@Horings-194:

hahahahaha

even though both are true!

• 212.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@Neilanate-196:

You are still a racist for supporting BEE. Obfuscation won’t help you one wit.

• 213.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@STBUR-191: Campfires burning, Campfires burning…..
    @Neilanate-196: Draw nearer, Draw nearer……

Ladies and Gentlemen, I give you, the poster children of the Fokopolypse…..

• 214.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

That “empty air” is in your empty skull-vault which suffered a massive haemangioma some time back

Bye now maggiemaggot.

• 215.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@willievz-200:

I’ll stop once the retards on this blog stop their anti-white hate. Or when I get bored…

• 216.willievz: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-209: Hey Pompies,

I tip my hat to him. We’ve had our disagreements on him, and I am happy to announce that I have been pleasantly surprised.

A lot of focus has been on his breakdown skills but he is very good at reading the game and for the first time in a while we have a nr8 that runs a defensive line behind the backline.

I was disappointed in Hougaard and Taute on the weekend.

• 217.cab: Reply to this comment

@STBUR-207:
    but the first bit of you definition got nothing to do with either marxism or liberalism. they are at completely opposite terms, marxism is all about state control of the economy, equality, whereas liberalism is zero govt and survival of the fittest.

BEE is kak, but it pales in comparison to what was done in reverse.

as for preserving identity, if its life or death important to you, go for it, but you sure you know what your identity is – we all come from africa, then from the sea, and then maybe from uranus.

• 218.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

@STBUR-212:

Substantiate this too. You do not make the rules to suit your purpose anymore now.

Your guess-list is growing. Signs of desperation?
    Don’t answer

• 219.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-213:

Your children are still being exposed to a greater chance of rape and poverty due to your wilful ignorance. It is a shame though that you will be blissfully ignorant of all the other suffering that your collective self delusion will cause.

• 220.cab: Reply to this comment

@Neilanate-208:
    wat is verkeerd met lekker kerrie en groot boeppens? hou jy nie van biltong jou dom doos ET?

• 221.willievz: Reply to this comment

@STBUR-215:

But is this really the place to have these discussions?

Never argue with an idiot. They bring you down to their level and beat you with experience.

• 222.willievz: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-209: By the way, I am in the process of doing a few RFU coaching courses in England, really enjoying it.

• 223.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@willievz-216:
    I was convinced wing would suit Hougaard’s game but he appears to be lost in that position.

Once Goosen gets more settled I hope HM gives him another go at scrummie.

• 224.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@cab-217:

Well marxist-liberal is maybe better named cultural-marxism. Because otherwise people place too much emphasis on the liberal part which is essentially a grotesque mutilation of its original ideals.

BEE is either wrong or right. It is racist and should be repealed and should definitely not be accepted by the rest of the Western world in light of their hooha over Apartheid. Whether I kill one person or 20 it is still murder.

Life and death or me… that is a common sort of statement and grave error. Yes, I can do what I want and raise my children how I will but neither they nor my children live in a vacuum. Their futures are partly determined by their circumstances and if the group they belong to collectively take actions that is to our detriment it is very much a problem. That is why people like Sharkspedigree is really the great problem; not the ANC or d.arkies in general. The people really hurting us are the self deluded fanatics in our own midsts. They are laying the ground work for our social and cultural implosion.

• 225.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@Neilanate-218:

I already substantiated it. BEE discriminates against whites based on their race, thus it is racist.

• 226.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Neilanate-218:

“Dont answer”

Why mustn’t he answer, bang gat

• 227.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@willievz-221:

Maybe not but it is a place. And also, where is that place then Willie? Because everyday I see post after post of anti-white hate and baiting on here. And most of you have gotten so used to it that you don’t even see it anymore. But this place is just a sympton of the wider problems.

If you bring it up in a socially setting you are also bound to have someone say “but this is not the place”, “they don’t want to think about it” and other head in the sand comments. And that is exactly the problem, most of us whites know there is a serious problem but they are afraid of admitting it because they don’t want to be called “racist” or too lose their cozy PC rep.

But unless we talk about it, unless we accept the reality of the situation and say no we will succumb. I am not talking about drunken braai talks about the goffels and how k8k they are. That achieves nothing. I am talking about discussing our own identity, that it is important, that it is worth preserving for the future. That it is important that our historical homelands are protected. That we reject racist laws like BEE. There are far too many whites that tacitly go with it. If we can’t even be indignant about it here in SA then why the hell would our cousins in the rest of the Western world give a toss?

• 228.cab: Reply to this comment

@STBUR-224:
    BEE is meant to be about economic distribution, its an incredibly complex question, because there has to be someway to redress the past, not just with laws giving open access in theory only, but in practice – since all of us benefitted from it – this is the redress. All things considered, its a small price to pay. You cant expect ppl to compete on an equal footing when they’ve been handicapped for generations. ANC makes the BEE laws, since they are the first democratically elected party in SA’s history, no-one else.

• 229.Fern: Reply to this comment

people here entertaining this discussion have nothing better to do with their time.
    sad really.

• 230.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Fern-229:

What are you doing here then

• 231.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@willievz-222:

If you are in England then you are in the perfect place to actually have this type of conversation. People there do not know how racist BEE is. Mainly because the media is controlled by cultural-marxists lefties. Every little bit helps.

The English themselves are taught to hate themselves. How bad they are. Bring that up. Tell them it is BS. They have a lot to be proud of and have a duty to preserve both their cultural and racial identity into the future. Mass immigration is the bane of that future.

It doesn’t help to say “oh what can I do, I am just one guy” because yes if everyone says that then yes nothing can be done. Don’t be that guy that sticks your head in the sand because it is easier.

• 232.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@STBUR-225: lol, when old lardball starts spewing even more unintelligible gibberish than usual you know he’s rattled

• 233.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@Fern-229: Didn’t you just enter it?

• 234.willievz: Reply to this comment

@STBUR-231:

I’m not sticking my head in the sand because it is easier.

I am doing so because this is a rugby forum.

• 235.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-226: How has discussion moved away from Corey Janes magnificent fend?

• 236.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@willievz-234: That’s like calling Pierre Spies an eighthman….at first, on the surface, it does appear to be true

• 237.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@STBUR-224: I am a fuckingsuperhero(ine). I am obviously rather powerful…..with many special gifts. I can initiate genocide with my thoughts…….I will single handedly be responsible for the implosion of white culture…….

The stuff of Marvel Comics this.

I’m trying to think of a suitable name for myself:

Wonderfuckinggenocidewoman maybe…..or, Bleedingliberalwhosgrandkidswillhateherwoman….

• 238.Atreides: Reply to this comment

And in other news, SA men rank 6th in the world for p enis size.

1st place is Congo..so from now I shall refer to it as Dongo

And the last 3 will be wherever Shaun, Poppa and ET live, because their micro-penises drag the average down so much

• 239.Marty: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-223: No guys! After one game where Hougie didn;t receive much ball he gets slated. Remember the his performance the first time Heyneke switcjed him to wing – everyone commented he was the answer at wing. WC 2011 showed he his dynamite at wing and it is my opinion that it is his best position. Watch a replay of the last try against the Aussies – Hougie set that up brilliantly.

Great defense, beats one on one most of the time and blitz off the mark and over 40 meters. Strong as hell in close contact as well – perfect winger dimensions for me.

• 240.cab: Reply to this comment

@STBUR-231:
    the english are defined by liberalism, there are very few marxists among them, a kind old marxist bugger of theirs recently karked it, but by and large theirs is probably the longest history of liberal thought, which imo is good, and liberal economic policies, which imo is not such a good thing. Neo-liberal capitalism, which the yankees and white south africans have taken onto new heights, is imo cruel and backward, and ppl only adopt it when they have power.

• 241.cab: Reply to this comment

@Atreides-238:
    6th is not bad.

• 242.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@willievz-216: LOL. Where never fully know the ability of players till they’ve been exposed to the highest echelons.

Duane does loads of grunt work which takes some pressure off the tight five.

I’d have no hesitation in having Hougaard back at 9. His natural determination would be to prove everyone wrong, so he’ll come right. If fact, for me, there’s not much to choose between Pienaar and Hougaard.

Althought Taute’s been a bit lucky to get his cap, it’d be harsh to judge him after 1 game. In saying so, JdJ should be the incumbent. Happy for Mapoe too.

• 243.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@Marty-239: I think if he played his more natural game, rather than try to turn himself into Fourie, he’d be great, esp with someone like Goosen next to him

But could be an awesome wing too.

• 244.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-237: How about “isecretlysupportthesharksgirl”

• 245.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@cab-228:

Firstly, redistribution should be based on need. There is zero need for any racial wording. They could’ve couched it in socio-economical terms, i.e. certain thresholds of parental income, schooling level, designated residential areas (some ideas are better than others but you get my drift).

Why are rich businessmen’s kids getting BEE preference – where is his “historic” disadvantage”? Why is a white kid with absent father and alcoholic mother not being preference – where is his “historic” advantage?

No, my friend, BEE is couched in racial terms because it is not about redress. It is about disenfranchising the white group, plain and simple. Why else is the ANC attempting to remove Afrikaans as an official language? Why else is Stellenbosch under pressure to give class in English or black students encouraged to go there when they can’t speak to the language? Why is there even talk among government minister about why white neighbourhoods/schools are not integrating? What does it matter so long as everyone has accommodation and education?

Because it is not about redress, it is about breaking us down as a group, eradicating us. It is revenge, not redistribution.

And I am sure you have heard the term “democracy is tyranny by the majority”. It is ironic how the same BEE supporters also support protection laws for minorities in other Western countries. The self delusion is maddening! BEE will never end here until whites have been completely impoverished or removed as a distinct group. And then you think they will implement protection? *lol*

• 246.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@willievz-222: I’m jeaolus. Just came back from a trip the her majesty’s empire.

I’d love to do some coaching courses, but my 9-5 makes it difficult. you on L2?

• 247.willievz: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-242: And I’d still like to see Andries Coetzee in the mix.

At 15.

• 248.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@willievz-234:

Like I said, I would not be doing this if I did not see post after post of anti-white hate on here. I am just returning some fire. But don’t worry I run out of steam after a while.

• 249.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@STBUR-245: That makes no sense. The barbarism of apartheid was based on race, so redress in this instance wouldn’t apply to poor whites, as they did not have the same barriers to financial success as black people did.

• 250.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-226: Dawn, please don’t entertain. Not worth it.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.