Koen keeps faith in Morne

Springbok kicking coach Louis Koen thinks pressure and fatigue could be the primary reasons for Morne Steyn’s goal-kicking struggles, but said he will recover and he could play a pivotal role on the year-end tour.

Steyn has battled this year but was backed by Heyneke Meyer on the basis of his match-winning ability with the boot. However, he crashed in Dunedin with the All Blacks on the ropes, missing a string of kicks that would have altered the result.

Koen was lost for an absolute explanation on Steyn’s form, but speculated that he was feeling the heat.

‘It is difficult to pin-point the exact reasons. We’ve been logging every single kick in training since before the England series, and for example, Morne has kicked around 620 kicks from all over the field since then and averaged about 88%, by far the best of the kickers,’ Koen said.

‘Technique-wise we’ve done a lot of analysis and I haven’t changed anything. So when it comes down to performance in a match, it is probably due to pressure and expectation. However, outside of the 2010 Tri-Nations, Morne has never achieved above an 80% success rate in any series he has been involved in. There’s a perception that he achieves 95% every time he is involved. The expectations were high and the pressure built on him. It became a question of handling pressure and he found that tough.

‘Also, a guy like Dave Alred (widely regarded as the world’s best kicking coach) believes the kicking game is as much mental as it is technical, so fatigue could be an issue. In Morne’s case he has played a lot of rugby in the last three years. [Fatigue] certainly could have been a factor.’

The Springboks’ coaching staff have, however, consistently stressed that Steyn’s Test career is far from over. Koen echoed that sentiment, suggesting that he may be re-installed at flyhalf sooner than some expect.

‘I believe with my whole heart that he’ll be back,’ he said. ‘He needs to regain his confidence in the Currie Cup. He still has a lot to offer South African rugby. If you look ahead at the year-end tour to Europe, where a more tactical approach is needed, I can’t speak for the coach but he can be very effective in that environment.’

The Springboks’ goal-kicking woes have extended to their other kickers as well, with Frans Steyn, Ruan Pienaar and Johan Goosen, who kicked at 86% in Super Rugby but missed with two from two attempts at Loftus, all failing to consistently hit the mark. Steyn and Goosen have, admittedly, tried a number of long-range pots, while Goosen also battled severe bruising on his planting foot at the weekend. Koen says Pienaar is likely to take the kicks against the Blacks at Soccer City.

He is also confident their success in this facet of play will improve over time.

‘[The goal-kicking] has been more disappointing than worrying,’ he said. ‘But it gives me confidence that a guy like Peter Grant, whom I’ve been working with since 2005 at the Stormers, was consistently one of the best in Super Rugby. It says I’m on the right track, but it is a process. It will take time to establish a relationship of trust. I want to get to the place where if one of our goal-kickers is struggling, I’ll be able to make immediate changes. I’m not there yet.’

By Ryan Vrede, in Johannesburg

Follow Ryan on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter

317 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 » Show All

• 251.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@willievz-247: agreed. did well vs. wp on the weekend.

• 252.willievz: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-246:

I am also 9-5, and currently a volunteer coach at club level.

The plan is to do a L2 at some point, but I need to take some annual leave to do that.

There are some interesting courses specialising in the different elements to the game that I am also considering.

• 253.Marty: Reply to this comment

@willievz-247: Groom Taute to become a specialist fullback for the long term. Have Aplon in the mix until he is ready. And then bring paul Jordaan into the mix at 13. We have a lot of options and very exciting times ahead for the boks. Rhule looks like a good prospect too. Let’s just hope that we implement specialist and not have the likes of Lambie filling in for fullback here and there.

• 254.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@willievz-252: In london? Which club?

• 255.RL: Reply to this comment

:sad:

• 256.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-237:

A group of 5 men and women are standing around. A person walks up and two guys beat him to the ground. They drag him away, the other 3 follow but do nothing, and the original two drown the victim. The court will find all 5 men and women guilty.

You are partaking in group self delusion about the realities of group dynamics and how our group (whites) are brainwashed to believe race doesn’t matter while the rest of the world use those group identities to garner special benefits. They are taught our history, identities and future does not matter as long as you don’t offend anyone. By going along with it you are guilty of the eventual genocide (yes, it will take a few generations but it happens nonetheless) and intervening discrimination they are already suffering.

It is the same as any person that voted for Labour during the last few decades are responsible for the Pakistani paedophile gangs that exclusively targetted white English girls. We are talking thousands of victims. Groups conflict and the poorer one will always be more jealous and lash out at his so called “oppressor”.

• 257.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@Atreides-238:

Funny how we can safely say ***** size differs between population groups but not IQ…

• 258.cab: Reply to this comment

the white afrikaaners started the SACP, yip marxist through and through, how’s about that?

thats your original identity when dirt poor and the engelse had the power. you watch ever stage of development of every economy or tribe in teh world, when they got nothing, they realise it should be about equality since they cannot compete, not because they inferior but because they simply have not developed the same instituions, but as soon as they get rich of course its about every man for himself cos then its easy to enrich.

• 259.willievz: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-254: No, in the Sussex area.

@Marty-253: Lots of talent there, but I would like to pick a back 3 as combination rather than 3 individuals.

A combination of Habana, JPP and A.Coetzee ticks many boxes. Coetzee adds a left boot to the mix (ok, so does Aplon) but Coetzee for me is more unpredictable than Aplon, has better distribution skills, decision-making skills and kicking skills (a former 10) and can attack the closer channels more effectively.

• 260.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@STBUR-256: @STBUR-257: I do not know where to begin your garbage so I am not going to bother. Join Poppa in seeking help.

• 261.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@cab-240:

Political Correctness is marxism in action. Take England for example. Mass immigration has been catastrophic in terms of rape, murder, riots, increased low-level labour problems, terrorism etc. Yet if anyone dares question that mass immigration might not be good for the locals they are immediately lampooned in the media as being Nazi’s and racists, regardless of what facts support their view. That is marxism in action. The stifling of descent to the party line.

• 262.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@willievz-259: OK. knew some folks out crawley way.

• 263.RL: Reply to this comment

‘It is difficult to pin-point the exact reasons. We’ve been logging every single kick in training since before the England series, and for example, Morne has kicked around 620 kicks from all over the field since then and averaged about 88%, by far the best of the kickers,’ Koen said.

That fitness oke said in 2010 that Plod was in great shape – like in 2007 shape. Yeah right spin it Keonie.

• 264.willievz: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-262: Hehe, we refer to them as the Creepy Crawleys :)

Very nice part of the world, Sussex that is

• 265.Lorenzo: Reply to this comment

end of the year tour?give him and us a break!

• 266.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@willievz-264: unfortunately they weren’t creepy. Suppose there has to someone who breaks the mould. Haven’t been out Sussex way much, but i do take you word for it.

• 267.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@Atreides-249:

Very emotive. Pol Pot Khmer Rouge was barbarism. Stalin’s Great Purge was barbarism. Hitler’s Concentration Camps was barbarism. Compared to that Apartheid was a bad idea. Else why don’t we talk about the 10ks of racial farm murders? Has that not been redress enough? I don’t see you shedding any tears there.

The white child that grows up in that broken home has the same barriers. No education, no role model, no financial support. How is that different?

On what ground is a rich black businessman’s child disadvantaged?

What don’t you understand about that?

BEE is racist. Redress does have to be couched in racial terms except if it is meant to explicitly disenfranchise white people.

• 268.cab: Reply to this comment

@STBUR-261:
    The US is the most powerful country in the world, it is based on mass immigration. There is a limit the country can support and it is right to question, which is what they do, you can do that in a country with a strong liberal tradition, it is one of the reasons it is so strong.

what you want to live in a homogenous society for, its like living in bloemfontein or welkom, u ever been to welkom? fksake you’d top yourself after 2 weeks..

• 269.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@cab-258:

Uhh.. so what? That doesn’t make BEE any less racist.

• 270.Transformation: Reply to this comment

explicitly disenfranchise white people :lol:

gym calls

• 271.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-260:

Stick your head in the sand my friend. BEE is racist. I don’t why you struggle to admit that.

Poppa, that Maori from NZ? He is as racist as our goffels in SA.

• 272.wnbb: Reply to this comment

I wonder whether Karl Marx would have been into rugga much had he been living in the 21st century?

• 273.Marty: Reply to this comment

@willievz-259: I haven’t seen much of Coetzee to be honest but will keep an eye out for him. You are right, combinations are important but long-term combinations. Brent Russel gave me a run-down on how he was screwed around and how it negatively affected him – what I am getting at is what is Lambie doing there sitting on the bench? Not a specilaist fullback, no future at 10 with Goosen and Jantjies there. Strictly speaking he is a waste of a resource.
    What do you reckon – does Heyneke have what it take to build the correct long term combinations?

• 274.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-244: That would make me a “Supertard”, not a “Superhero” :)

• 275.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-272: He would have supported the Stormers :)

• 276.cab: Reply to this comment

@STBUR-269:
    BEE is a form of protectionism, which is what every tribe with an identity has done since they year dot, look after their own, its not completely fair, but one can definitely see the argument for it in the SA context such is the extent of ppl being disadvantaged. White’s are hurting, the party’s come to an end, there’s a re-balamcing and a reckoning, not just between white and black, but east and west, thats the nature of it – sooner we forget about all this **** and create a more sustainable fkn economic system where there arent winner or losers, the better, then ppl can focus on the **** they enjoy doing rather than slogging away like braindead robots trying to get ahead.

• 277.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Personally i think Jantjies made a massive career mistake going on for that four minutes for SA.Meyer used him as window-dressing.Going to Jake or someone else in AUS could have been the better option

• 278.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-275: :D He probably would have tried to exterminate the Bulls.

• 279.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@cab-268:

Ah two old cultural-marxist chestnuts that they use to confuse the sheeple with.

(1) US = mass immigration. Yeah, dude, mass European immigration. The tensions was a lot less due to being closer in genetic and cultural terms.

Land was far more abundant and it happened over several hundred years as opposed to several decades.

Then of course there was severe internal violence between communities during those immigration years where they settled close to each other (Irish vs Italians for example). Oftenhowever different groups settled in separate parts of the US, i.e. in their own communities, such as Germans/Scandinavians in the mid-west. Now they are settling on top of each other.

The two situations are like night and day to each other. There is no logical basis for your argument, just a tenuous connection between two distant and unrelated time period.

(2) Homogenous societies = bad. Since when? That vast majority of people everywhere in the world automatically live amongst there own. Look in any area in the world where there are immigrants, they live in their own area.

This is a classic brainwash element that whites have under gone; reject your identity, it is bad and boring. BS dude. I love being white. I love living amongst white people. I am certainly not bored. People have lived happy, fulfilling lives for thousands of years with only their own people.

Stop projecting your likes as some sort of moral imperative.

But this raises the question, are you white? I can’t remember.

• 280.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-272:

No, he would’ve been a football fan as that is a game for “the people”.

• 281.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@cab-276:

So BEE is ok because the tribe in charge can take advantage. Well, I guess you must have been a fine supporter of Apartheid then.

But ultimately I am not so much fussed with the goffels and their BEE. I am incensed at my own people, the whites, to be hoodwinked by cultural-marxism and reject their identity and their children’s future. The goffels can’t do anything to us if we wish to survive.

• 282.wnbb: Reply to this comment

stbur and skop always good for a laugh on keo…well,at least skop knows his rugga unlike old cultural-marxism or is that now marxism-liberalism??The oke put too much stuff into his head and totally confuses himself it seems

• 283.cab: Reply to this comment

@STBUR-279:
    are u crazy, the two greatest wars were as a result of european tensions. the mass immigration over the last 30 years to the US has not been from europe but from south america, asia and africa.

i dont care what you want to do, i am happy to live among different cultures, i find it interesting, it is your moral imperative is to enclave and protect your identity, you want to do that, go right ahead, as i’ve said, omsingel the laager and bake the koeksusters.

but i can tell you right now you aint going to be startting no orania in SA, that country inhabited by other identities far richer and longer-lived and more deserving to the land they inhabit than yours, so what im trying to say is, you are farting against thunder.

• 284.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@cab-283: ‘farting against thunder’. :D Well,at least you got him to stop using the term marxism-liberalism.That’s progress in any man’s book. :D

• 285.cab: Reply to this comment

@STBUR-281:
    where u get this goffell **** from? they have everything to do with whether you wish to survive, you are completely outnumbered and outgunned if you going to turn it into a them vs us, there is not a thing you can do either, other than too play nice nice and say dankie baas for not driving me into the ocean after my toppie whipped your toppies toppie for eons.

i actually cant believe how laidback africans are all things considered – but orania by die see, forget about it, no chance.

• 286.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@willievz-252:

If you’re in CPT there is a level 2 course in October sometime…

• 287.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@cab-283:

I don’t know what the world wars have anything to do with BEE being racist or myself wanting to ensure that group’s identity and prosperity is safe.

Last 30 years… ja… exactly dude. It is not the same AT ALL as the immigration of the preceding centuries. That is why the current day immigration into the US is a demographic and social disaster.

There is no need to live in a laager. That is just your stereotype brainwashing showing up again. However, pride in ones history, identity and future is important. As is insisting that racist legislation like BEE should be scrapped.

I can always see when talking to guys like you how you don’t actually read what is being said. You have preconceived arguments, notions etc that paste over something even when completely out of context. Brainwashing my friend. And your children will pay the price.

• 288.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@STBUR-279: “I am certainly not bored. People have lived happy, fulfilling lives for thousands of years with only their own people.”

You call this fulfilling? I call it ageneticfuckupandinceston a ‘Hills Have Eyes’ scale.

Little groups of homogenous beings living in isolation is the stuff Hollywood Horrors are made of……

• 289.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@cab-285:

I use that since they insult us on here all the time.

But you are sad my friend. You have surrendered everything you are. We must be thankful for them? We harbour millions of their ilk in our homelands allowing them to live of the tax systems there.

If the goffels did “drive us into the sea” it would be the worse for them as it always has been. But I still don’t see how the threat of violence now suddenly substantiates BEE our how white people are brainwashed to reject their own identity.

• 290.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-288:

lolwot? People have always lived in homogenous societies dude. Otherwise there would be nation-states such as India, China, England, Germany etc.

• 291.cab: Reply to this comment

@STBUR-287:
    you can insist on what you want, what you will get is another matter entirely. what you can do is speak out about BEE, which is what you are allowed to do, and what was previously not allowed by your ‘proud’ heritage and identity. im not quite sure exactly who is brainwashed, its like the german wedding i went to recnetly where the toppie was speaking about his great history, and everyone’s thinking whens he gonna mention herr fkn goebbells, but nope airbrushed from teh collective consciousness – if pride in your identity makes you feel good, go for it, i feel fkall for it personally, but every koeksuster to himself i guess.

• 292.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-282:

Dude, rugby is only a thin cover for most of the bloggers here to spout their anti-white hate. That is the main reason I am posting. There are very few people here that talk rugby without a racial agenda.

• 293.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@cab-291:

There you going again trying to pretend Apartheid justifies BEE. BEE is racist period. You are destroying your children’s future with your eyes wide open.

So must every German btich and moan about Nazi’s? Why? Do the Zulus lament the genocide committed by Shaka at theirs?

Wring your little hands in self hate.

• 294.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@STBUR-287: Ok,stop this bleating about BEE now.You have been going on about it,if i have a quick look at the time you mentioned it in your first post today,roughly now for 4-5 hours.lets think in terms of solutions for your BEE problem,for whether you like it or not economic imbalances of the past will need to be addressed by the ANC government.Remember,no government can afford to have 40 million economic disgruntled citizens on their necks.If it’s not BEE than what do you propose as solution or do you want to keep the status quo whereby blacks are kept in the economic deprived trenches.

• 295.cab: Reply to this comment

@STBUR-293:
    everyone is worried about their children’s future, there is only so much of the koek to go around, your toppie ate most of it and its he who you should direct your ire at, cos he got vet and others got upset cos they got no koek, its not me whose now cutting the koek or can do a thing about it, its the millions who got no koek and trying to keep some morself to help their own – aint that how koek should be eat of hoe?

• 296.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Good one Atreides! Dongo! :lol:

@Skeppie I would happily go back to Cory’s fend!

• 297.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-37: Keegan was the best loose forwrd inthe S15. At least briing him in as an impact player. HM says he has the x faxtor HM put your money where your mouth is.

• 298.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Marty-273: I hope he does.

But I have serious reservations about his player ranking system.

Like ranking J.Potgieter and Arno Botha ahead of someone like, say, Josh Strauss.

• 299.groen: Reply to this comment

Saw elton signed for the stormers . Also in the cricket http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Choker

• 300.Transformation: Reply to this comment

proteas in major tourneys are kak…

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.