Heyneke keeps faith in Boks

Heyneke Meyer has made no changes to the Springboks’ starting line-up for the Rugby Championship Test against the All Blacks.

The Boks had several injury concerns following last Saturday’s clash against the Wallabies, but Meyer has confirmed that Zane Kirchner (hip), Johan Goosen (heel), Willem Alberts (hip), and Jannie du Plessis (stiffness) all trained with the team on Wednesday, and are all expected to start.

News that Coenie Oosthuizen has been cleared of a serious neck injury has prompted Meyer to include the Cheetahs prop on the Bok bench. Oosthuizen replaces Pat Cilliers, who featured against Australia last week.

‘Coenie is a superb athlete, a player whom I believe has the potential to be one of the all-time greats,’ said Meyer. ‘I will never gamble on a player’s health. We know that there is no risk to playing Coenie this weekend.

‘He has been out of action [due to a neck injury] for some time, but he understands our systems and what’s required of him having been with us since the beginning of the year.

‘In these types of games you need an impact player who can produce something special when he comes off the bench, and Coenie fits the bill.’

Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jaco Taute, 12 Jean de Villiers (c), 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermuelen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Coenie Oosthuizen, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Marcel Coetzee, 20 Elton Jantjies, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Pat Lambie.

By Jon Cardinelli, in Johannesburg

313 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 » Show All

• 201.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-195:

> He missed 2 kicks and then was relegated to being the link man and Pienaar took charge of the entire game..

By your “reluctant” captain that is…

> I didn’t like that scenario at all.. a Gaffie setup if ever there was one.. Goosen should have been chucked straight back into the firing line against Aussie to build up confidence

And if he missed again, what then?

It would have permeated his game and messed up his head

Rather ease him in, we’ve got other kickers, albeit all k@k at the moment, let him do what he’s here fore, making the line straight and getting the backline away

• 202.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Bokkeyoubeauty and then what?

• 203.cab: Reply to this comment

Goosen was fantastic, no need to worry about kicking at all, give it to pienaar if necessary, i dont feel that makes any difference, he is naturally a talented place-kicker, longer than morne and pienaar, and more accurat than frans – but i rather he is just there to offer the Boks another dimension.

There’s not going to be nearly as much space in this game tho, with nz forwards being strongr than aussies – goosen must run hard and not hoof alweer.

• 204.cab: Reply to this comment

sorry, goosen = kirchener, no more bladdy take 2 steps and then DOEERRR daar gaan hy kak.

• 205.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-195:

Skop, have you not considered the fact that Goosen was hampered by a bruised heel. Which effected his place kicking. But not his general play. Be fair to HM. There is a reason for everything. Goosen even took it lightly at practice on Monday. The kid is doing ok.

• 206.nama1: Reply to this comment

@posts-199:
    Taute, “the best full back,” playing at outside center. Why?

Jordaan showed real talent in the latter part of the S15 but let him complete a 2nd Super rugby season before we go on declaring him another Messiah.

There is also his size. Is he big enough for HM? :lol:

• 207.BokkeYouBeauties: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-194: lol, its going to be a great game, the All Blacks hardly if ever devalue their jersey, they certainly will bring some, rugby will win, ALONG SIDE DIE BOKKE, Go you good things man..

• 208.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Cabbie was ok not fantastic Aus missing 13 frontline players nobody wins at Loftus except us we average 40 points there last 3 test last lost there in 76 but we all know Gerty fixed the 76′ series who can blame him hes was white and they were still going to lynch him

• 209.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Dirty Gerty.

• 210.BokkeYouBeauties: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-202: and then what, what after we’re done p03sklap yous upfront, we scrore Traaiz after that my NZ chaaina.. TRAAI Time

• 211.cab: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-208:
    mate – he has made 2 linebraks that were gdam sublime in the last couple of games

• 212.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Maybe as long as Gerty aint around ” ya listen boys you can go home but I have to live here” he was honest but farking dum – black by enough.

• 213.BokkeYouBeauties: Reply to this comment

@BokkeYouBeauties-210: lol, spelling on purpose : SCRORE = SCORE

• 214.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Cabbie Getroud was one of my all time favourite Bokkes.

• 215.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-186: like i said earlier, look at the
    gear/savea situation where hansen is rotating both even though gear is the more experienced. nothing about who has bmt & who doesn’t.

lambie sat on the bench for close to THREE matches, was that racial or meyer was doing what he thinks is best?

@nama1-188: “chances they DESERVE” hhmm that is very subjective…francois louw left for Bath becausr he didn’t think he was getting the “chances he deserved”

is heinrich getting the “chances…….”

we know joe pietersen left because he felt that under PdV he wasn’t going to get the chances he deserved.

any chance one gets to wear the green jersey must be savoured let’s forget who we think deserves what.

keegan might think he is not getting “the chances…..”

see where i’m going?

• 216.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Gertrouds legacy lives on

• 217.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Tranny when your not professional blogging, what the f uck else do you do?

• 218.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-216:

Change the record, my china.

• 219.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

You’re a superb rugby bumanaylst but what else?

• 220.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Stormer when you come clean

• 221.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Gerty blew hard but he was bent we can all agree on that.

• 222.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-197: Good.

• 223.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@nama1-206: because ZK is totally
    reliable.

• 224.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-220:

You say what?? hahaha

That’s kind of cute, my china. You guys are laugh a minute.

SA rugby is pure as the driven snow. :D

• 225.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Oops nobody wants to comment, 76′ he was bent and he said so – black by plenty in the village of Soweto.

• 226.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-219: you seem to be having a bummer of a day/night and are being really anal about it.

• 227.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Treefucker i’ve had a great night Gertie was as bent as they come, the truth will set you free.

• 228.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-225:

You’re a lot older than i thought. You’re a toppie!

• 229.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Stormer yip KEO. keeps me young but the truth never changes.

• 230.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-208:
    Let’s see what the ABs will do without Kaino and Thorn
    And don’t forget the referee too, he already pocketed 1st instalment

• 231.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Hondo you have borderline referee disorder, black by enough.

• 232.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

I cannot wait for Saturday’s game. I hope it is a good and great entertaining game like last time round. I was there and really was entertained by both teams. this time will be joined by my wife who has never watched rugby live at a stadium. I just hope the klipdrift brigade behave themselves.
    Just cannot see the Boks beating the All Blacks though.

• 233.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Pete enjoy the game.

• 234.Black Power: Reply to this comment

Something to cheer up you Yarpies
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zve1YKt_Ex4

• 235.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-215:

Hi Transie

I am not sure if you are into cricket especially the 70s to mid 80s era. Just watched a documentary film on Dstv 202 channel. Bit of history about the all conquering West Indies team and some SA connection to it. Really eye opening stuff re- rebel tours of that era and that outstanding West Indian Viv Richards.
    It will be repeated again tomorrow at 08:45. very educational, you will enjoy it.

• 236.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-233:

Definitely will.

• 237.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-217: live life…

• 238.BokkeYouBeauties: Reply to this comment

15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jaco Taute, 12 Jean de Villiers (c), 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermuelen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira

I’m for the first time since, at peace with Heineken’s selection for Saturday, is it bcos we won on Saturday? Nope, i think that these players have proved themselves, and through some difficult trial and tribulation. Whether they are the best individuals we can field is unknown, but whether we’re putting our best foot forward and playing our best team, i think is beyond doubt.

Springboks, by a few on the scoreboard, and then some in terms of street cred.

• 239.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Black Power-234:

What comes around, goes around.

Always remember that. And we will remind you as well. That’s a promise.

• 240.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@BokkeYouBeauties-238:

There is nothing like give confidence to a team that maintaining the status quo. And I won’t be surprised if Goosen and Taute step up a gear. Now that they have their first full test behind them.

• 241.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Peter Mkata-235: i was at gym when it started i couldn’t listen as i didn’t have my headphones…it looked very interesting…

saw the clips of lillie & thommo & how those okes moer each other with the ball.

• 242.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-231:
    Ever heard of Craig Joubert?
    Then you should know all about it, and then your compatriot, that s/shagger Bryce Lawrence, not too difficult to understand I hope?
    Even for a ‘Kiwi’?
    :-D

• 243.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-227:liewe fok !!! You really are a pathetic little tosser arnt you..calling someone treefucker does not enhance your status dumdum. Cut back on the noodles.

• 244.BokkeYouBeauties: Reply to this comment

@Black Power-234: That was a brilliant bit of play from players who will remembered in rugby history as greats, and personal favorites, not just for winning a world cup. Great try, and epic win for NZ.

• 245.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

John Smit you fat useless hump of overrated fng pathetic lardarse

that goddamn loss was down to YOU and YOU only you pathetic self aggrandized piece of me first f’ng pathetic moron who was aching for his goddamn overrated name up in lights..

That last loss by Boks at soccer city was John Smit’s 100th game in a Bok jersey.. and the coup de gras irony of the whole fckup scenario was that it was the SAME John Smit that missed the tackle on Nonu that buried his OWN f’ng legacy in the casket in the ground..

How goddamn APT that should John Smit NEVER have been on that field and Boks would NEVER have lost.. but BECAUSE that piece of over aggrandized goddamn self serving idiot had to try become immortalized in the eyes of all his stupefied groupie hail f’ng Mary praise singers.. John Smit was ACTUALLY the catalyst that LOST that goddamn game.. and his legacy went DOWN the hole with that last belly flopping attempt at a tackle on a center in the middle of the park when the CORRECT scenario should have been that John Smit was FAR AWAY from ever being on the field at that stage of the game.. and Boks would NOT have LOST John Smit’s 100th centenary game.

Karma — Yeah – Perfect is as the die that was cast before anyone ever opened their stupefied ignorant self aggrandized ego bamboozled eyes and brains.

• 246.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-241: And there were no helmets then. They were really vicious to each other. Aussies beaten at their game.

A cricket team going for 15 years unbeaten in test cricket? Master blasters at their best!! LOL.

• 247.nama1: Reply to this comment

Johannesbburg – Springbok flyhalf Johan Goosen has been cleared to take over the kicking duties again in this weekend’s Rugby Championship match against the All Blacks at FNB Stadium.

According to the supersport.com website, Goosen underwent a kicking test on Wednesday afternoon and both he, kicking coach Louis Koen and the team doctor Craig Roberts pronounced themselves satisfied that he has recovered sufficiently from the bruised heel he has been struggling with to take over the kicking duties again.

• 248.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-245: LOL did you sommer get annoyed all over again? :D

• 249.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@nama1-247:

Koen also said that all the kickers – Morne, Goosen and Lambie – were kicking over 80% – Morne at 88%!.

Ruan was only at 65% success at training because he was concentrating on his tactical kicking – hopefully not too much of that. Because some of that was also poefie.

• 250.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Peter Mkata-246: saw the other guy carried off the field ingathi yingxowa yamazambane! :lol:

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.