Heyneke keeps faith in Boks

Heyneke Meyer has made no changes to the Springboks’ starting line-up for the Rugby Championship Test against the All Blacks.

The Boks had several injury concerns following last Saturday’s clash against the Wallabies, but Meyer has confirmed that Zane Kirchner (hip), Johan Goosen (heel), Willem Alberts (hip), and Jannie du Plessis (stiffness) all trained with the team on Wednesday, and are all expected to start.

News that Coenie Oosthuizen has been cleared of a serious neck injury has prompted Meyer to include the Cheetahs prop on the Bok bench. Oosthuizen replaces Pat Cilliers, who featured against Australia last week.

‘Coenie is a superb athlete, a player whom I believe has the potential to be one of the all-time greats,’ said Meyer. ‘I will never gamble on a player’s health. We know that there is no risk to playing Coenie this weekend.

‘He has been out of action [due to a neck injury] for some time, but he understands our systems and what’s required of him having been with us since the beginning of the year.

‘In these types of games you need an impact player who can produce something special when he comes off the bench, and Coenie fits the bill.’

Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jaco Taute, 12 Jean de Villiers (c), 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermuelen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Coenie Oosthuizen, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Marcel Coetzee, 20 Elton Jantjies, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Pat Lambie.

By Jon Cardinelli, in Johannesburg

313 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 » Show All

• 251.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-245: wtf you on about?

the bitterbek gets more foul as the night grows longer.

this is a sad trend.

wake up.

• 252.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-248: lol, that was out of the blue.

• 253.rangerman: Reply to this comment

sheesh, china has been hitting the booze haha.

he sounds like a middle aged man battling impotence and trying to find meaning in the deeds of others.

• 254.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-251: That piece of garbage trash fckup useless overweight pathetic ponce did more damage to Bok legacy than you dumb guppieyuppie morons will ever realize .. just check that last loss at Soccer City.. WHO fckd it UP.. your fckup moron hero the twat who couldn’t fck OFF when the time was right .. and the NET result was John Smit MISSED the tackle that gave the AB’s the win on full time..

How more PATHETIC could that useless piece of overweight garbage trash ever have been..?? To kiss his OWN pathetic glorified self serving immortality Good f’ng BYE..!!

• 255.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-254: cmon, he is a wc and 3n winning cappie.

he is a bok legend.

you are a maintenance chappie ffs, you really overestimate your contribution to bok rugby pellie.

in short, smittys legacy is in no threat from you :lol:

• 256.rangerman: Reply to this comment

i reckon the boks will beat the kiwi cheats this weekend.

by 8 pts.

• 257.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-254:

Jissus, skop, you’re about to blow a gasket. After one peek at a video.

That was the past. Let it go.

Grab onto the future. For it is bright.

Always walk on the sunny side of the street.

• 258.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-257:

or the bright side of the road as van would sing.

• 259.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-255: he is outright garbage that should have listened to his glorified mentor jake the fake white and RESIGNED when the time was RIGHT for him to do so..

John garbage Smit fck’d the Boks through his overweight backside 1000 times worse than you moron’s will ever realize.. The Boks went DOWN under the non existent leadership since 2009.. Down the goddamn drain under the hopeless self serving ego rampant idiot who needed to be more of a ‘legend’ than he was ever possibly capable of being..

He LOST almost EVERY game he captained the Boks since Eoyt 2009.. 90 % LOSSES under that hopeless overweight overrated twat.. and that LOSS at Soccer City epitomized the stupefied delusion the entire rugby fraternity were living in watching that fatfunk moronic dunce belly flop on his fat guts and watch Nonu skipping off into the distance to BURY the legacy into the Soccer City turf… and you idiots still want to bow down and kiss the arseholes feet for doing so.

• 260.rangerman: Reply to this comment

anyone got a link to luke mccallisters obstructive runninf that earned him a yellow in 2007 vs france?

surely that is worth a bit of a revisit? :lol:

• 261.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-259: i think you need to let it all go snoeky.

its not good for you.

• 262.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-250:

LOL, ingxowa yamazambane.

Just checked that other new signings will be announced next week Wednesday for the Kings. Damn, I want them to succeed and shut up Cheeky’s haters. It is gonna be tough though!!

• 263.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-259: Aren’t you more interested in this Saturday than Saturday’s long gone?

• 264.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-256:

Dream on!! Man to man, All Blacks have too much fire power and talent.

• 265.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Breakthrough game coming for Ruan. Big kicking day, and a try.

Boks by 4.

Oh my nerves.

• 266.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-255: Bushy Vs Skops. A fine tradition.

• 267.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Peter Mkata-264: yes yes peter.

but you are a south african all black supporter so that puts your opinion on the level of poopa for me bud.

i think this all black team are about as average as an all black team gets which makes them very beatable buddy.

lets see shall we.

• 268.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-256:
    Nope, i think the ABs will beat the land of the gouges this weekend

• 269.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe-266: :lol:

• 270.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-267:
    I think the ABs are not average.
    Personally i believe they have a problem with consistency. An average team does not beat Ireland by 60 points or zips Ozzie.

• 271.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

I actually don’t care who wins Saturday..

If Boks play like cowardly arseholes and start kicking the damn ball in the air .. then let them lose again… that will be their just rewards for chickening out and reverting to their entrenched archaic fearful cowardice..

if they take the AB’s ON and run them ragged and Goosen plays like a young warrior and tears into the gain line and off loads to his support runners and MISSES some kicks at goal.. and we lose after PLAYING the game at the coal face of opportunity … then I will be FAR happier than if we kick it skywards and fluke a lucky packet win.. which won’t happen.. because if they kick it sky wards you can rest assured they gonna lose.. because that is the way the nature of the universe is ordained..

Fear and cowardice brings loss and failure and bravery and courage brings reward and success…. simples.

• 272.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-268: fair enough hurri but i dont see it happening bud.

the bok forwards have the beating of your bunch imo.

and with a backline not being led by morne you guys may be in trouble.

i could be wrong but i see the boks winning this one and ending the streak.

p.s. the travel will be a factor but dont worry, we will understand if its mentioned because unlike kiwis, we understand that it is an issue.

• 273.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Peter Mkata-264: firepower? the same all blacks we had under the kosh in their own backyard in otago?

even before that game i recall predictions of “if the quick passes stick SA will cop it”

yet it was mcguyver greyling who ended up being all black MVP

• 274.rangerman: Reply to this comment

what i find funny are references to the klwis “gruelling travel over the last two weeks” :lol:

they have flown to argie and then to saffaland.

the boks flew to argie, then aus, then nz?

are they just made softer ther in nz and thats why they are wrapped in cotton wool?

• 275.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-271: thats why we dont actually give a toss what you think :lol:

@Hurricane-270: sorry bud, i just dont think the abs have the same aura about them.

the boks smashed them in dunedin. any other reading of the game is wishful thinking.

too many over the hill players or rookies in that ab side bud.

• 276.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-274: that’s why they get only 3 week tours for super rugby form SANZAR instead of the straight FOUR we’ve lived with for years.

• 277.rangerman: Reply to this comment

the abs must just be thankful they do not have to face bizness and JPP this weekend or it might have got nasty.

i hope etsebeth ragdolls a few abs like he did to that geriatric sharpe last weekend. f uk me i havent seen a lock smash another lock like that since bakkies sent that pom flying at the 2007 wc :lol:

• 278.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-276: yes its because they cant live away from the shire for too long or they end up like gollum.

or they lose rugby games.

the way superrugby is going though, they are in trouble.

• 279.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-274:
    I saw an interview with a couple of players from the ABs.
    The travel was mentioned, they laughed and said they travel more in the Super 15.
    I would believe the players than any fans or media.
    Travel is nothing if players conditioned right and prepared.

• 280.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-279: good man, no excuses i like it.

• 281.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-276:
    @rangerman-278:

OH no, its the travel thing, what next? Poaching…oh thats been done already.

• 282.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

nope its all wishful thinking.. you just trying to wishfully think harder than somebody else who’s wishfully thinking his wish is the one that gets heard

The best team will win.. and the strongest resolve will come through..

that is why I actually don’t care who wins.. let the bravest and most resolute team win.. that is the way the order of things are and will always be..

If Boks cower and revert to fearful negative tactics.. then they got no business winning.. If they brave and resolute and courageous in the face of the occasion and play the game at the cutting edge of their capacity.. then there is no reason they should not come away victorious..

ALL depends who got the big match temperament on D day.. HM’s hour of realization is dawning on him.

• 283.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-281: i hope to see the abs embark on a tour next year where they fly to perth, then travel to argieland and bus to mendoza and then bus back to buenos and fly to south africa.

its really not hard seeing how they are amazingly conditioned.

• 284.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-282: :lol:

no one cares snoeky, its your decision how you want to approach your rugby viewing.

• 285.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-283:
    Yep, we shall see.
    But you wont hear a peep out of me about travel if the ABs lose.
    I will probably blame you guys for the lose :-)

• 286.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-285: :lol:

fair enough hurri.

if you ever visit my country i will stand you for beer and show you the sights ok.

• 287.rangerman: Reply to this comment

i am really looking forward to the game on sat i must be honest.

its gonna be a cracker.

i also have the feeling that this bok team will become something special with all the amazing young talent we have coming through.

is sat too early? time will tell.

• 288.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

you bullshitting yourself

its a game of rugby and you trying to convince yourself that your big bugbear the big bad All Blacks are there for the taking.. so you wishfully thinking much better that they are not up to scratch for the big match on Saturday…

rather focus on how prepared and positive the Springboks are.. if they are up for the occasion they should be able to do the trick after all it is a HOME game so by rights Boks should win…and your conclusion that AB’s are soft underbelly well that wishful thought might just be a fallacy in your imagination or else it may prove correct..

Whoever going to win has already done so in the grander scheme of things.. only the trick is you don’t know it nor have a clue how its going to unfold just yet.

• 289.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-286:
    Mate i would love to go to SA.
    Places to go on my list is SA and Egypt :-)
    Me and my wife are looking to go somewhere beginning next year. Went to Canada last year….what a place. So we try to do a country a year.
    I have stated i am sure i can find a few to help us out when we get to SA.

• 290.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-288: so i could be right or i could be wrong but its all been decided already?

whattaloadofartsyfartsybullshit :lol:

wake up.

• 291.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-289: well the offer stands bud.

sa will blow your mind i promise you.

egypt might be a bit dodge for the immediate future.

more dodge i mean.

• 292.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-281: hahaha

• 293.rangerman: Reply to this comment

ok, bygones all, keep well.

• 294.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

nope the fact is you don’t know fckall about whats going down around your deluded little brain so you build up wishfully thought up scenarios to bolster your wishful thought up desires and hopes and dreams..

but the reality of the situation is everything that ever was going to occur has already happened.. unbeknown to you.. so the best you can do is shelve all your wishful thinking and face facts square in the face that whatever is about to happen will happen whether you want it to or not.. that is the REALITY of what exists.. not what you wishfully dream it may ever be. Best you or anyone can do is your best.. and forget about playing wishful thinking god in your wishful imaginations..

• 295.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-288: skop these ABs came to PE and we beat them, we went to Dunedin & we had their measure up until meyer’s stubborn nature & kak substitutions sabotaged our efforts.

i’m not scared of them!

• 296.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

there nothing to be scared of they just as human as everyone else with the same frailties and the same incapacity built into their frail psyches and bodies.

So there absolutely nothing to be afraid of or in awe of of the big bad AB’s.. what Boks should do is simply be the best they can be to themselves and not try out psyche or out wishfully think their opposition.. or God.. just do their best and leave all the rest to providence.

• 297.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

The Coenster -the only prop with a goose step to rival Campese…

• 298.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-291:
    Yeah wife told me i am mad thinking of Egypt, still interesting place.
    So we will see.
    And thanks for the offer Ranger, and of course same back at you. Always have a place to stay in Christchurch if ya visit.

• 299.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-295:
    PE?
    Are you talking about last year?

• 300.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

Hmm not a fan of this

Woulf have played De Jongh at 13, Taute at 11, Lambie at fullback leaving the bench as 20 Francois Hougaard 21 Elton Jantjes 22 Lwazi Mvovo / Zane Kircher (Bring back Aplon)

The pack looks physical enough to take on the All Blacks. Perhaps Coebie is there as impact sub but I woulnt have risked him and instead played Cilliers who has done a good job.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.