Sharks, Stormers in line for Jantjies
3 Oct 2012
Elton Jantjies is set to join the Sharks or Stormers on loan for the 2013 Super Rugby campaign, while WP and the Sharks have already snapped up other Lions’ stars.
Media reports on Tuesday suggested that the Stormers had already agreed terms to sign Jantjies on a loan deal. However, Lions CEO Ruben Moggee confirmed to this site that nothing has been finalised yet.
Confirmation will only be made after the Springboks’ Rugby Championship Test against the All Blacks in Soweto.
‘Elton has had several chats with different franchises,’ Moggee told keo.co.za. ‘From my understanding, he’s had chats with the Stormers, Sharks, Bulls and Kings.
‘However, the Lions and the player would want a franchise that will offer a decent amount of game time. When you consider the flyhalf situation at the different franchises, the Sharks or Stormers should be the likely destinations.’
The loan terms are simple.
Jantjies is still contracted as a Lions player until October 2013, but the Super Rugby clause in his deal allows him to feature for another team next season with the Johannesburg franchise relegated.
The team will have to pay the Springbok pivot’s salaries for the duration of his stay. That amount will be agreed between the player and interested party. So rumours of Jantjies having a R2.5 million asking price could be true.
The player will also have the final decision on where he wants to play, but the Lions will have the opportunity to pass on their advice to him.
The Stormers can offer Jantjies the No 10 jersey during the opening rounds of Super Rugby because of Peter Grant’s Japanese club commitments, Demetri Catrakilis’ departure to the Kings and injuries. However, Moggee believes the Sharks can also offer the 22-year-old starting opportunities.
‘Elton could start at the Stormers or the Sharks,’ said Moggee. ‘When it comes to the Stormers, their disadvantage is their defensive style of play. There are concerns whether Elton can fit into their game plan. They also have to explain their situation with Peter Grant. Yes, he could miss the opening rounds. But will he be first-choice when Peter Grant is ready to play again? Will he be preferred ahead of Elton?
‘The Sharks also have to discuss their plans. While they have Pat Lambie in their squad, they could decide to play him at fullback because that’s the position he’s playing for the Springboks. If they pick Pat at 15, then Elton will get game time at flyhalf.’
Meanwhile, SuperSport.com claims that Lions prop Pat Cilliers and flanker Michael Rhodes have signed for Western Province, while EWN reports that lock Franco van der Merwe has signed for the Sharks. Lionel Mapoe is set to be loaned out to the Bulls with Jaco Taute also having expressed his desire to play Super Rugby next year.
Moggee said loan deals can only be confirmed next week, once all the players have returned to the team base in Johannesburg after the final Rugby Championship Test and the Golden Lions’ Currie Cup clash against Griquas in Kimberley this Saturday.
‘We realise that our best players need to play at the highest level. And that is Super Rugby,’ said Moggee. ‘We are still planning to play in an alternative tournament with European, American and South Sea clubs next season, so we’ll need to have a competitive squad.
‘But we can afford to loan out a few of our best players to other Super Rugby franchises, if they can get starting opportunities. We won’t loan them out to be benched.
‘We will handle these cases individually. There are teams that have expressed their interests.’

300 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All
3 Oct 2012, 11:30 am
@garth-144:
think about what you have just typed and come back to me when you’re feeling better.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-124:
no.
you were talking kak.
Proteas got it wrong massively in terms of tactics and selection.
Coach and the Captain have to carry the can for that.
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-126:
You mean that after all the training camps he held around the country, he still did not have a clue who the best 30 players in the country was. Granted some of his 1st choice players (according to some people) were injured.
12 debutants in 8 test matches is a bit excessive, no?
Coenie Oosthuizen
Eben Etzebeth
Juandre Kruger
Marcell Coetzee
Jaques Potgieter
Pat Cillier
JJ Engelbrecht
Tiaan Liebenberg
Duanne Vermeulen
Johan Goosen
Jaco Taute
Elton Jantjies
Some of them will not play for the Boks again or rather SHOULD not.
@Brigadier Van Zyl-147:
What extra dimension does Spies add apart from the odd spectacular run?
3 Oct 2012, 11:31 am
personally, I never ever considered the proteas as potential t20 champions.
far to orthadox to play t20.
not that i am a fan of t20, yes, great for a laugh…but way to much luck involved for me,personally. You can lose 3 quick wickets and it is curtains, likewise, as we saw vs the Pakis, you can have 1 poor over, and it is over.
3 Oct 2012, 11:31 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl-147:
What extra dimension does Spies add apart from the odd spectacular run in the odd game?
3 Oct 2012, 11:32 am
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-145:
Can it just be bad luck.
The Stormers are exactly the same, they don’t seem to embrace the moment as a collective unit.
3 Oct 2012, 11:33 am
“fokopalypse” fuckng LOL
3 Oct 2012, 11:33 am
@David-155:
Sorry about the duplication.
3 Oct 2012, 11:34 am
@David-149: Huge trick missed. He would’ve been a handfull in those conditions. I am still quite surprised with those wickets. Not the typical wickets for that part of the world but hats off to them.
3 Oct 2012, 11:35 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl-147: They may not be the quickest over 40m, and none of them are ripped like Spies. But Louw, Alberts and Vermeulen aren’t any more one-dimensional than McCaw, Messam and Read.
3 Oct 2012, 11:35 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-138:
Sjoe!, maar jy het ‘n vuil bek aan jou vir ‘n vrou
3 Oct 2012, 11:37 am
news24:
NZ will destroy Boks – Spencer
@David-149:
According to cricket “experts” Vernon gets flustered when batsmen start to get hold of him.
@Jeraldjay-141: ***shaking head with hunched shoulders*** There really is NOT legitimate and acceptable reason for this sad state of affairs.
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-145: Tragic!!!!! I must be honest, I didn’t listen to AB’s exit speech – just couldn’t do it.
3 Oct 2012, 11:38 am
@nama1-152: Having a look at those new caps…..
Coenie Oosthuizen
Eben Etzebeth
Juandre Kruger
Marcell Coetzee
Jaques Potgieter
Pat Cillier
JJ Engelbrecht
Tiaan Liebenberg
Duanne Vermeulen
Johan Goosen
Jaco Taute
Elton Jantjies
Apart from JJ and Tiaan the rest deserved their shot.
3 Oct 2012, 11:39 am
@David-155: He is a magnificent physical specimen? ***eyerolling and more eyerolling***
3 Oct 2012, 11:40 am
Problem was the Proteas was that they did not have one batsman, at least, who were in devastating form like a Watson this year, KP in the West Indies or Afridi (with bat and ball) when Pakistan won it.
This is the one tournament where ONE player can win it for his country.
3 Oct 2012, 11:40 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-164: I walked into the room as it was on…..sort of like walking into the bedroom when your granparents are ********……..sies bliksem…..
3 Oct 2012, 11:41 am
@Jeraldjay-163: And he is a length bowler suited to test bowling and test conditions, not a “mix up your length” bowler with variations required for T20.
Is Fanie de Villiers too old to make a comeback? He was the pioneer of one day bowling (and figuring out that you need to bowl differently to be successful in ODI’s).
3 Oct 2012, 11:42 am
@Mr Black-161: I swear like a sailorette.
3 Oct 2012, 11:43 am
@Jeraldjay-163:
I’m not just talking about his bowling.
3 Oct 2012, 11:44 am
Tiaan Liebenberg deserved his shot
Jaques Potgieter and JJ did not
They both will play in the future and get better
3 Oct 2012, 11:45 am
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-165:
Potgieter didn’t.
3 Oct 2012, 11:46 am
@gunther-151: No I was sharing my Meyernoia with a fellow doubter, whilst fishing. I was hoping Bakkies would bite though, as the fellow seems a little depressed lately. A good dose of Meyer anointing (by him, Taccy, the Brig, you and a few others) usually puts him in a better mood.
Agreed. Coach and capitano to take a few klaps.
3 Oct 2012, 11:46 am
@bakkies-109
“that morne steyn is a kicking flyhalf only is one of those foolish eternally perpetuated sort of urban myths. ”
DREAM ON!! You are a Heyneke Meyer apologist. You are Whitewashing the truth about his bias driven quirks & embarrassing mistakes. You were devastated when Morne was left out of the last 22, only for the team to win comfortably
3 Oct 2012, 11:47 am
Don’t worry about the T20 guys.
I’d far rather be the number one Test team than the T20 world champions
3 Oct 2012, 11:48 am
@nama1-167:
Australia/Watson was the only one in our super 8 group. Essentially our batsmen just didn’t perform.
@Mongril-169:
Very interesting comment re. Vernon being a length bowler.
But he did managed to pin KP in the second test when the English were going for the runs.
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-165: Who would you have picked in Tiaan’s absence, given the hookers available at the time?
3 Oct 2012, 11:53 am
@David-171:
True.
He would’ve added more value than Albie.
3 Oct 2012, 11:53 am
@David-173: He had a good S15 David and given the injuries I reckon it was worth a shot.@willievz-179: True Willie so I guess it was the better choice at the time
3 Oct 2012, 11:54 am
Gotta run
Adios
3 Oct 2012, 11:58 am
@willievz-113:
shifting of the goalposts is it..
next you’ll be telling me about how much better it is to ‘win’ a conference trophy than to make it to a super rugby final
@Mr Black-119:
you’re a headless horseman
@Jeraldjay-127:
i’m no professional blogger like transie, but i do try my best
3 Oct 2012, 12:00 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-183: How you get to that thought after reading my 113, only you will know.
Did you enjoy the thrashing we gave the Aussies?
3 Oct 2012, 12:02 pm
@Jeraldjay-180:
they both should have been in the squad instead of Wayne.
Levi should have been tanked as well.
3 Oct 2012, 12:02 pm
@nama1-167:
The shorter the version of Cricket,
the more lady luck plays a part.
BUT.
Only a very, very good Teams win these things, just the same.
I’m going for Sri Lanka.
3 Oct 2012, 12:12 pm
@garth-140:
@Mongril-148:
oh contraire, dear friend.
thank you for the thoughts and suggestions but you should know the bulls at present are well invested in the flyhalf stocks.
with morne, fouche, lionel, jantjes, schoeman and handre the bulls are looking good.
3 Oct 2012, 12:13 pm
@gunther-185:
Vinnie Barnes was pushing for Wayne’s inclusion.
Don’t know what happened to Parnell but he was averaging over 140, 3 years ago and bowling yorkers at will.
If it was about variation they should’ve given Tsotsobe a go.
3 Oct 2012, 12:13 pm
Yo Keo, for how much longer must we have these pink cars screaming across our screens every time we enter the site?
I realise it’s for a good cause but it really is irritating & if I wanted to watch cars racing around I’d tune into Top Gear!
Every time I see it I think it’s all the Bulls supporters rushing to Loftus for their playoff game against The Kinks…
3 Oct 2012, 12:14 pm
@David-177:
True.
I think you’ll find that the eventual winner will have at least one player who is in top form. That’s why I think Aus will play in the final because they have Shane Watson in top form.
I also hope that people’s infatuation with Albie Morkel will stop now after this tournament. He has done nothing in the Protea shirt since the very 1st T20 WC in South Africa in 2006 already.
3 Oct 2012, 12:15 pm
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-165: kwagga Jacque Potgieter is only deserving of a public flogging.
3 Oct 2012, 12:15 pm
@viewer-175:
it is true i was highly concerned for the boks chances of winning the game when morne was left out.
my fears were happily proven unfounded.
3 Oct 2012, 12:17 pm
@cane-186: My money is on the Sri Lankans too. All R10 of it.
Lasith Malinga looks like he means business.
3 Oct 2012, 12:17 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-187:
” the bulls at present are well invested in the flyhalf stocks…………………..ets, etc, etc……………………………etc…………………….. the bulls are looking good”.
The Bulls may well be (well) stocked with 10′s…………………………………..But in Pink they will never be looking good.
3 Oct 2012, 12:18 pm
@gunther-185:
No way they were going to drop Levi. That century vs NZ will carry him for quite a few years. Just like Albie’s exploits during the very 1st T20 WC in South Africa did for him.
@cane-186:
True.
You need some luck on your side as well.
3 Oct 2012, 12:18 pm
@cane-186:
To this day I don’t know why Richard Hadlee opted to play for the Kiwi’s. He should have crossed the Tasman as a youngster.
Sorry, Sir Richard Hadlee.
3 Oct 2012, 12:19 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-192: In fact, if Morne came on when Elton did with 5 min to go and only a 20 odd point lead we could have still lost the test!
Bakkies, I’m glad you’re not a selector. You make Heyneke look positively progressive and open to new ideas!
3 Oct 2012, 12:19 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-174:
i am able to see what naughty ttricks you are up to most times. heyneke’s ‘winning ways’ spirit guides me.
on the ginger story,
you know what they say… ginger on the ginger on the….(dot dot dot).
3 Oct 2012, 12:20 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-189:
Live with it.
Not doing you any harm there.
3 Oct 2012, 12:20 pm
@willievz-184:
yes, immensively.
of course, we left 20 points worth of kicks on the field that day….
but i am happy all the same.
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All