Sharks, Stormers in line for Jantjies
3 Oct 2012
Elton Jantjies is set to join the Sharks or Stormers on loan for the 2013 Super Rugby campaign, while WP and the Sharks have already snapped up other Lions’ stars.
Media reports on Tuesday suggested that the Stormers had already agreed terms to sign Jantjies on a loan deal. However, Lions CEO Ruben Moggee confirmed to this site that nothing has been finalised yet.
Confirmation will only be made after the Springboks’ Rugby Championship Test against the All Blacks in Soweto.
‘Elton has had several chats with different franchises,’ Moggee told keo.co.za. ‘From my understanding, he’s had chats with the Stormers, Sharks, Bulls and Kings.
‘However, the Lions and the player would want a franchise that will offer a decent amount of game time. When you consider the flyhalf situation at the different franchises, the Sharks or Stormers should be the likely destinations.’
The loan terms are simple.
Jantjies is still contracted as a Lions player until October 2013, but the Super Rugby clause in his deal allows him to feature for another team next season with the Johannesburg franchise relegated.
The team will have to pay the Springbok pivot’s salaries for the duration of his stay. That amount will be agreed between the player and interested party. So rumours of Jantjies having a R2.5 million asking price could be true.
The player will also have the final decision on where he wants to play, but the Lions will have the opportunity to pass on their advice to him.
The Stormers can offer Jantjies the No 10 jersey during the opening rounds of Super Rugby because of Peter Grant’s Japanese club commitments, Demetri Catrakilis’ departure to the Kings and injuries. However, Moggee believes the Sharks can also offer the 22-year-old starting opportunities.
‘Elton could start at the Stormers or the Sharks,’ said Moggee. ‘When it comes to the Stormers, their disadvantage is their defensive style of play. There are concerns whether Elton can fit into their game plan. They also have to explain their situation with Peter Grant. Yes, he could miss the opening rounds. But will he be first-choice when Peter Grant is ready to play again? Will he be preferred ahead of Elton?
‘The Sharks also have to discuss their plans. While they have Pat Lambie in their squad, they could decide to play him at fullback because that’s the position he’s playing for the Springboks. If they pick Pat at 15, then Elton will get game time at flyhalf.’
Meanwhile, SuperSport.com claims that Lions prop Pat Cilliers and flanker Michael Rhodes have signed for Western Province, while EWN reports that lock Franco van der Merwe has signed for the Sharks. Lionel Mapoe is set to be loaned out to the Bulls with Jaco Taute also having expressed his desire to play Super Rugby next year.
Moggee said loan deals can only be confirmed next week, once all the players have returned to the team base in Johannesburg after the final Rugby Championship Test and the Golden Lions’ Currie Cup clash against Griquas in Kimberley this Saturday.
‘We realise that our best players need to play at the highest level. And that is Super Rugby,’ said Moggee. ‘We are still planning to play in an alternative tournament with European, American and South Sea clubs next season, so we’ll need to have a competitive squad.
‘But we can afford to loan out a few of our best players to other Super Rugby franchises, if they can get starting opportunities. We won’t loan them out to be benched.
‘We will handle these cases individually. There are teams that have expressed their interests.’

300 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 » Show All
3 Oct 2012, 12:22 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-198:
you know what they say… ginger on the ginger on the….(dot dot dot). = you know what they say… ginger on the TOP ginger on the….(dot dot dot).
3 Oct 2012, 12:23 pm
@gunther-151:
It is called choking mate! Remember the five year old comment!!!
As I said – for the guys to perform on the big stage they need to have the right mindset…
Take it or leave it…
3 Oct 2012, 12:24 pm
Stormers team for next year
1. Kitshoff
2. Liebenberg
3. Cilliers
4. Etzebeth
5. Bekker
6. Kolisi
7. Burger
8. Vermeulen
9. Schreuder
10. Jantjies
11. Habana
12. JDV
13. JdJ
14. Joe Pietersen
15. Aplon
16. Ntubeni
17. Brok
18. De Kock/Elstadt
19. Koster
20. Groom
21. Grant
22. Van Den Heever
3 Oct 2012, 12:24 pm
Monty is clearly a better kicking coach than Louis Koen
3 Oct 2012, 12:25 pm
@cane-194:
correct me if i’m wrong but i think technically it is called ‘cerise’, cane.
@Mongril-197:
you will find a friend in garth.
your souls are in alignment.
3 Oct 2012, 12:26 pm
@garth-204: Monty is English-speaking so that immediately counts against him
3 Oct 2012, 12:27 pm
@willievz-206:
Braam Van Straaten.
3 Oct 2012, 12:28 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-205:
Ag Bakkies – don’t take it all too seriously!
Think man – on the bright side we don’t need to pick Hougie at 11 any more!
Since Morne isn’t at 10 any more we don’t require 2 scrumhalves passing in tandem to get the ball back to the flyhalf in the pocket any more! LOL!
3 Oct 2012, 12:29 pm
@cane-186: @katman-193:
Jayawardena &Lasith vs Shane Watson in the final.
3 Oct 2012, 12:29 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-198: Good to see you smiling again Bakkies….. Heyneke Meyer’s ‘willing ways’ indeed.
3 Oct 2012, 12:30 pm
@katman-193:
Can you make bets that small in SA?
Personally, like the Sri Lankans.. When they come to NZ they are fantastic Tourists. The very best in my humble opinion.
The Indians also.
Poms, SA and WI sometimes all a bit too serious.
Pakistans adopt a siege mentality. ( against NZ………..FFS.)
Australians………………………………………………..they never forget to be competative. Even in media Interview.
3 Oct 2012, 12:31 pm
@Jeraldjay-207: Ja, verseker, het wondere verrig met die Aussies.
Ek sou egter vir Monty behou het.
3 Oct 2012, 12:35 pm
@willievz-212:
Ja en Monty is ‘n Bok legende, maar ek dink Braam sal in die nuwe “Bok kultuur” beter pas.
3 Oct 2012, 12:37 pm
@cane-211: You are spottttttttttttttt on. Gumboots and I were talking about this a few days back. The Sri Lankan people are 2nd in ‘happiness to be alive, and living each day as a blessing’ only to the Indian people. On returning to SA after visits to Sri Lanka or India, I have been kicked back to earth by the negativity and all round miserable attitudes of we South Africans in general. Whingers in the extreme.
The Lankans and Indians just GET life – and the general ‘spirit’ in both countries is something to behold.
3 Oct 2012, 12:38 pm
Springbok fans know that The Boks are the truly great team in world rugby. Our team has every disadvantageous handicap that can possibly be thrown at one team:
- political instability
- quota policy in player selection
- quota policy in coach selection
- lose more players to foreign clubs and national teams than any other country
- poach camps in South Africa trying to lure our players to New Zealand
- dishonourable kiwi refs (google search for “teach the Japies a lesson”)
- changing rules whenever the Boks get the number 1 ranking (2007 and 2009)
And still, we are able to become world champions on multiple occassions. We still have the best world cup win percentage of any team (2 from 5).
Its no wonder Hollywood made a movie about the heroics of the Springboks. We are the true heroes, and in the end, the heroes always beat the cheating villains (all blacks).
Go bokke!
3 Oct 2012, 12:42 pm
@the authority-215: Mrs Bakkies? Is that you?
3 Oct 2012, 12:43 pm
“Sri Lankan police arrested three British women who were found socialising in the hotel rooms of West Indies players, including star batsman Chris Gayle, early on Wednesday, police and hotel sources said.”
Dawn won’t like this one bit.
This is even better.
“On September 24, a Sri Lankan broke into the rooms of two Australian cricketers at the same hotel and offered them ***. He was fined 1 000 rupees (around eight dollars) and handed a one-month suspended jail term.”
Now now….
3 Oct 2012, 12:45 pm
@Jeraldjay-196:
Sir Richard played for NZ,
for the same reason,
Juan plays for the Bloemtown Rats.
I cannot find a world for it.
It’s not loyalty,
it’s not financial,
it’s something internal………………………………………………….passion is not the word…………………………………….tribalism! maybe.
Even LOVE……………………………………………………a possibility.
3 Oct 2012, 12:46 pm
@cane-211: Regardless what you’re classifying, don’t EVER put us in a category together with the Poms again. We have more in common with the Inuit of northern Canada than with the Poms.
3 Oct 2012, 12:46 pm
@nama1-217:
Was he pre-lubricated.
3 Oct 2012, 12:50 pm
@the authority-215:
Pre-1992 all these excuses you mentioned were not in place. Why did the Bokke just win about 63% of their games back then.
Just like they are doing from 1992
Now also tell us, who are the quota selections in the current team?
A team with a “merit” coach but they only have a 50% win record at the moment…and with two draws to boot in 8 games.
3 Oct 2012, 12:53 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-216:
Are you saying Bakkies is in drag?
3 Oct 2012, 12:53 pm
@cane-220:
3 Oct 2012, 12:55 pm
@katman-219:
No Inuit sporting Team,
I have ever encountered,
has a Cappy like Graeme Smith.
3 Oct 2012, 12:57 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-214:
Talking about negative South-Africans……
Take your “Nic” for example.
Instead of having a positive nic about your team, you have a negative nic towards an opposing team that threatens you.
3 Oct 2012, 12:58 pm
Same starting line up for Saterday
3 Oct 2012, 12:58 pm
I love the Sri Lankan team.
Will always remember them playing against Griquas when I was still a laerskool laaitie. Asked Arjuna Ranatunga for his autograph whilst he was padded up in the pavilion with SL batting, and he invited me to sit down and watch the game with him for a while.
Also remember the constant smile on Aravinda da Silva’s face when signing autographs.
On my return to my seat, I stumbled past some drunk Afrikaner-omies, who told me to “fokkof uit ons view en gaan speel daai kant”. Puts things into perspective, doesn’t it.
3 Oct 2012, 13:00 pm
@cane-224:
How do you know? Have you spoken to their wives?
3 Oct 2012, 13:01 pm
@nama1-221: We went through very bad periods and extremely good ones where we beat everyone in sight. We also beat all other teams more than they beat us. So the winning percentage doesn’t tell the whole story (e.g. winning a series 2-1 as opposed to 3-0).
3 Oct 2012, 13:03 pm
frvking “British women”
Cant get enough of Black
Shame on you Chris!
3 Oct 2012, 13:04 pm
@mikeybrass-229: I have an issue with Bok and Protea teams winning series 2-1 after taking a 2-0 lead.
We never go for the kill.
That, IMO, is why we will never be a great sporting nation. We are a very good one, but not a great one.
Great teams were the Aussie cricket team of the 2000s and most NZ Rugby teams since the mid-90s.
How long is Jaque Fourie’s contract in Japan? Will he be back in SA when done?
Dawn has broken.
3 Oct 2012, 13:06 pm
@nama1-221: hi nama, Im glad you have chosen to be educated by the authority. A wise choice I must say.
The Springboks had a win record over the all blacks in the amateur era. The new zealand rugby administration then decided to turn the game professional, but to do everything in their power to put the odds in their favour (much like rats). They lobbied for kiwi refs to control senior positions in the IRB and since then, new zealand have a higher penalty to yellow card count than any other team in world rugby along with a higher penalty in the red zone to penalty try count.
I suggest you do some research on the matter. It will really help you on your path of enlightenment.
To quote Winston Churchill “… Never again shall they conspire to cheat the rest of the world without our knowledge. They have chosen the path of darkness and we in turn call them All Blacks. We shall keep outplaying these All Blacks not only in rugby but in the game of honour too.”
3 Oct 2012, 13:06 pm
@cane-222: I’m saying that the vibe I got from @the authority-215: <———- that post, has the distinct beat (or bleat) of something that might be played in the Bakkies household. So my guess was Mrs Bakkies, but it could be Jnr Bakkies…..
3 Oct 2012, 13:09 pm
@Dawn-199: You’d be surprised.
I know ignoring it is not going to make the bad memories go away but this is not the place for me to discuss it.
I’m sure u understand.
3 Oct 2012, 13:13 pm
@willievz-227:
Two great champions Willy.
3 Oct 2012, 13:13 pm
@nama1-221:
Chris Gayle has layed more pipe than British Petroleum.
3 Oct 2012, 13:16 pm
@gunther-238:
3 Oct 2012, 13:17 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-236:
Indeed
My apologies
3 Oct 2012, 13:17 pm
@Mr Black-225: Nope. ‘Negative’; Mssr Black; is the person who fails to look any further than their own (woefully inaccurate) perceptions when deciding what is, and what isn’t the truth
If my nic bugs you that much, you take rugby (and life) far too seriously. (Which brings me back to my original post, about negativity amongst SA’s peoples when compared to the peoples of Sri Lanka or India)
3 Oct 2012, 13:18 pm
@mikeybrass-229:
No Mikey, that excuse just don’t hold water.
Before 1992, the Boks played a total of 174 test matches.(genslin). They won 112, lost 47 and draw 15.
Why were they not able to have a better win ratio when all these things that The Authority mentioned (p. 215), were not in place. I mean, you even had home town refs for all the test matches played in SA and you could still only managed to average 60% odd win ratio.
3 Oct 2012, 13:18 pm
@mongril-197
“In fact, if Morne came on when Elton did with 5 min to go and only a 20 odd point lead we could have still lost the test!”
3 Oct 2012, 13:20 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-235:
I did enjoy post 215
3 Oct 2012, 13:23 pm
What am I looking at here . . .
3 Oct 2012, 13:26 pm
@the authority-234:
That’s why I want us to talk about the PRE-1992 era.
You know the time BEFORE rugby became professional, when there were no quota players or quota coaches, when NZ did not hold camps in SA to poach players, when rules were not changed every 2nd year, when SA were the undisputed no. 1 rugby team in the world.
Just tell me why the Boks were not able to have winning percentage much better than what they are having since 1992?
3 Oct 2012, 13:29 pm
@nama1-242: Hmm since when are facts an excuse? It’s what happened.
And the other countries had hometown refs when we played overseas.
3 Oct 2012, 13:30 pm
@willievz-231: Yes, the killer instinct for a 3-0 all the time (sometimes we got it right). We’ve always been happy winning the series.
3 Oct 2012, 13:37 pm
@willievz-244: i can believe that!!!
3 Oct 2012, 13:37 pm
@Mongril-208:
no worries, mongril.
its all good man.
and believe me morne steyn will be back.
and fyi, i dont think pienaar is our best scrummie.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-210:
if you build it… victories will come….
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 » Show All