ABs reaping benefits of Kiwi system

JON CARDINELLI writes the All Blacks avoid mass injuries and burnout because the NZRU manages the country’s top players accordingly. Why can’t Saru do the same?

A good question was asked of All Blacks assistant coach Ian Foster this week. Why is it that the All Blacks seem to sustain fewer injuries than their Australian and South African counterparts?

Why is it that we are now into month 10 of the 2012 rugby season and the All Blacks aren’t missing key players because of injury and fatigue?

‘We do it differently,’ was Foster’s curt reply. ‘And I’m not going to tell you exactly what that entails.’

Foster doesn’t have to, it’s no big secret. The New Zealand Rugby Union has long looked after its most prized assets, that is its players.

Through a central-contracting system, it ensure that the cream of the crop don’t play too much rugby during the Super Rugby competition. The national team is viewed as the priority, and to compromise the success of that national team wouldn’t make much sense. Right?

Unfortunately, there is a different outlook in South Africa.

Every union and franchise looks after its own interests. Top players are contracted to a union as well as to Saru.

What this means is that a franchise has the option to start a Bok player in every Super Rugby game. Ultimately it is the franchise’s success that matters most to the franchise, not the success of the Boks.

It’s for this reason that we have players who arrive for Bok duty overplayed and fatigued. For example, Andries Bekker has long been considered indispensable to the Stormers’ Super Rugby cause, and has started the majority of the matches over the past three seasons. That workload has taken its toll on his body, and injuries have prevented him from playing more games for his country.

There are other examples across all of the South African franchises, and the point is that if South Africa employed the same system as New Zealand, the Boks may have more fit players available for the most important period of the season, that is the Rugby Championship.

The current system has been a handicap to every Springbok coach in the professional era. The system rewards the franchises when it should be geared towards propelling the Boks to that No 1 ranking. It is something that incumbent coach Heyneke Meyer has also made note of on several occasions.

On Wednesday, Meyer pointed to the example of Richie McCaw, the All Blacks captain and veteran who will enjoy a six-month sabbatical next season. This course of action will prolong McCaw’s career, and possibly allow him to play at the 2015 World Cup.

The NZRU keeps tabs on all of the All Blacks throughout the Super Rugby season, and ensures that nobody is overplayed before they join the national set-up for the June Tests or the Rugby Championship.

It’s been an intense season, the most congested in history, and still the All Blacks were able to produce their best performance of the year in Argentina. They are now in South Africa preparing for a physically taxing clash against the Boks on the Highveld, and still there is a sense that they are favourites. Why?

‘New Zealand manages their players very well,’ Meyer said on Wednesday when probed on the subject. ‘You can see what’s been done with Richie McCaw, and there are overall not as many injuries. Everybody seems to be working towards a common goal.’

Keeping players fresh allows for continuity in selection, and as Meyer suggests the All Blacks were able to win the 2011 World Cup because of that continuity. There aren’t as many injury disruptions because the NZRU is doing everything it can to prevent burnout and fatigue-related injuries.

Every South African franchise is chasing results and trophies, and every team is inclined to believe that the more they play their best players, the better their chances of achieving those lofty objectives.

And in that unfortunately all too real scenario, the national team is the biggest loser.

By Jon Cardinelli, in Johannesburg

425 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 » Show All

• 351.The Donkeys Egg: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-44:

since neutral refs (1992):-

68% win ratio vs Boks

81% in NZ

56% in SA

not even Hansie could doctor those figures

• 352.willievz: Reply to this comment

@SEEBRIES-350: Go to Temple Walkabout, by Temple tube station

• 353.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@The Donkeys Egg-351:

There’s only one guy I know that talks like that. How’s it hanging bp?

Then we get an Irish ref last week who stuffed up the last substituion for the ozzies.

And we’ve all seen decisions going wrong – even in a techno world.

• 354.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-353:

substitution – that’s better

• 355.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

@David-321: @David-326:

Well you fortunately corrected a gross error.

But even today, judging from the shameless glorification and celebration of dishonest self-advancement, laziness and the illegal and illegitimate enrichment by the posts prior to yours and of the last few days(STBUR episodes X 2), the lesson still has not been learnt and it is all just a joke to these miscreants.

Tens of thousands of good honest hard-working people lost their life-long, and for many, only possessions while Ministers of a ‘verkrampte’ government stole from them.
    Most of those cheated died in hovels, far from Dist.6. Woodstock and even Walmetr Estate, which had hastily been slapped together; the Manenbergs, Heidevelds Bonteheuvels, Steenbergs(township) and more.

• 356.SEEBRIES: Reply to this comment

@willievz-352: Thanks, will do.

• 357.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@willievz-352:

Willie, I saw one of your posts recently noting you approved of the way Duane has slotted in. I think he had Bok material written all over him from the word go. I think he has impressed a good few and shut the mouths of more. But as a Bok he will be pushing on and know that someone will want his place – the competition for places is there. But Heyneke is slowly but surely refining his squad.

Also that little blonde 6 at the Griquas is one to keep an eye on. He looks like a busy player.

• 358.Dawn: Reply to this comment

How’d he get from Black Panther to Donkey’s Egg

• 359.Kaizan: Reply to this comment

This is quite a good video. Apart from Lambie and the bench, I agree with the selections based on who is available right now.

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Yb0TG6uYyP4

• 360.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-358:

The style of writing. Just guessing. Wait till he puts in a little peaches. Then you’ll know.

• 361.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-357:

Yes, Marnus Schoeman was released to play for Griquas by FL and Pine in their infinite wisdom

We’re running short on loosies, Stegmann has been injured the whole year, Dewald will get injured like he always does and Tecklenburg is going to the Lions

• 362.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

@David-321:

Even before D6 the abominable Group Areas Act got rid of people of colour somewhat more silently but effectively from all of Constantia, Sea Point, Newlands(upper included),Upper Wynberg and Claremont and many, many more areas. Not a single area in Greater Cape Town was not inhabited by the genuine Cape indigenous folk.
    And thereafter the rest of the country where the ‘verkramptes’ had their eyes on.

You seem to be sitting on a mausoleum-load of disgusting information. Why did you not shock STBUR and supporters with it?

• 363.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-361:

Didn’t know that. A Griquas contract is something looked at carefully by youngsters. They play CC and available for Super Rugby via Cheetahs. Even Matfield went that route.

We have loosies falling over each other. But this is one guy to keep an eye on. He knows that the shortest way between 2 places is a straight line.

• 364.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Jeez I miss that “peaches” thing

• 365.willievz: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-357: Howzit bud,

Yep, I am very impressed by Duane, and it is with absolute pleasure that I say I’ve been wrong about him.

I honestly thought S15 was his ceiling, a sentiment I thought PDivvie shared too. I had some concerns about his ball carrying technique in that he lifted his legs too high before colliding with the defense. He looks to have shaken off this problem, to some extent.

But it is his defensive work and defensive support lines that is absolutely top dollar. His reading of the game is what allows him to be so effective at the breakdown.

It is clear that he is a defensive lynchpin at the Stormers and could well become an indispensible Bok in years to come.

A massive improvement on Spies.

• 366.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-361:

I meant SA as a whole have got plenty loosies.

What I can’t understand about the Bulls is how they let CJ Stander go. That guy has Bok written all over him. I know guys here punt Arno Botha. But i like the way Stander plays. At 7 or 8.

• 367.willievz: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-366: I agree wholeheartedly about Stander.

Best loosie at the Bulls.

• 368.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@willievz-365:

Deon Fourie would be an improvement over Spies

Any other club loosie would be better

• 369.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-366:

Stander, Arno and Marnus Schoeman?

That would have been a loose trio and replace one with Dewald Potgieter or Okkie Kruger

• 370.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-366:

> What I can’t understand about the Bulls is how they let CJ Stander go

P-iss poor management, they’re making lot’s of money with sponsorships and said they sold a huge lot of pink jerseys

That’s why they can buy any player they fancy

But they have an average Super coach (FL) and a useless CC coach (Pine)

So player management is poor

• 371.willievz: Reply to this comment

CJ Stander is a former SA Schools Captain too.

A born leader.

I read somewhere that Corne Krige is the only player ever to captain both SA Schools and the Springboks.

This tells you a lot about how we identify, manage and develop our rugby leaders.

• 372.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@willievz-365:

I know I’ve been biased but I liked the way he slotted in at the Cheetahs. I just felt at the time that WPRU had made a good choice. He is one of those 80 minute players. It is balls to the wall all day long. I like the way he is able to read the game. Something Spies is unable to do. At 8th man, a lot also depends on anticipation – following the attacking player or ball carrier, falling back when necessary to assist the full back, going corner flag on defence, a line-out option.

I was at a breakfast with HM prior to the first Bok squad announcement – Ian Mac as MC – when Heyneke was asked about the composition of his loosies. First name out of his mouth was Vermeulen. HM then went on to say less than complementary comments about Spies. Particularly at the breakdown point. He said Spies in open play is a different – but how many opportunities do you get like that in a test match.

• 373.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

Very interesting on this website!!!

If the referree balls up of last weekend happened to be south africa on the receiving end this website would still be blowing up about a conspiracy. IRB declared rolland got it wrong against australia and should have allowed australia 15 men…..in any other ball sport any opposition playing with an extra man or down a player warrants for a null and void game to be declared.

If it were south africa on the receiving end like i said…..we would not be hearing the end of it! But alas as the boks are in the plus on the ledger not a peep. Just shows you saffa supportes are not principled!!

• 374.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-334:

And ox Vincent at keeper.

• 375.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

Or we could get a cryogenic tank like the AB’s… like the one teh Welsh used when preparing for teh world cup, and which made such a difference in recovery times and fitness for them.

• 376.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.-373:

Mate, initially the IRB came out and said that the ref had got it right.

Then today a 5 man IRB commission ruled that the substitution officials had stuffed up. And that Faainga (sp)should have been allowed on as the Aussies still could take advantage of one more technical sub – being one in the front row. I was at the game and being in the stands you are clueless as to what is happening not having the commentary. This went on for far too long. I agree – the Aussies were hard done by.

• 377.Kaizan: Reply to this comment

@wallabie-373: This takes the award for stupidest comment of the week. Wrong on so many counts.

1) if it was a stuff up, then it was a stuff up by the ref. not the players and not the fans. So go bark up the refs tree.
    2) The boks completely and utterly outplayed the wallabies.
    3) youre talking down to us about principles whilst trying to suggest that the game should have been rendered null and void even though that isn’t a rule in rugby and more importantly, its not in the SPIRIT of rugby.
    4) you are upset because we haven’t flooded this site with comments about how hard done by the wallabies were. What do you want, a f**king ballad?
    5) and this one is my personal favourite, youre on a SOUTH AFRICAN website.

Dumbass.

• 378.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Kaizan-377:
    “1) if it was a stuff up, then it was a stuff up by the ref. not the players and not the fans. ”

If it was a stuff up against the Boks, what would the Boks fans have said?

I think that is what he was alluding to.

Habana scored a try from a 3m forward pass last Saturday, for example.

Question: If Gear score a similar try on Saturday, and it is awarded, will the Bok fans come onto this site and CRY about it for the next two weeks/year or will they accept the refs (and touch judge’s) call?

• 379.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-364:
    Howzit Peaches?

@Kaizan-377:
    Read again what you said. You’re the dumbass.

• 380.nama1: Reply to this comment

The difference between the Boks and the AB bringing the “2nd string players” through:

Look at Savea and Romano and how they (their coach) put trust in them playing 80 minutes in specific games.

Not 4 minutes, like our coach uses certain players.

• 381.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@willievz-163:
    hahahaha
    This smack of arrogance.
    Willevz, you are dreaming. Stop posting in fact, you are embarrassing the good bloggers that know there rugby.
    Disgusting

• 382.nama1: Reply to this comment

@flanka-10:
    I rest my case.

You already said what I was going to say.

@race of tan-73:
    “Take M Steyn for instance, from 2009 that man had not had a break from internationals or Super rugby”

He had a break from the 9th October 2011 until the start of the S15 in late February 2012.

That’s about 4 months. Isn’t it what the good doctor, Tim Noakes, prescribed?

• 383.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

I see Bekker has been quoted as saying this Bokke team is special and will be the best pack in the world, what does he base the special part on 4 wins from 8 or the fact they beat Aus C at home, I think these boys might be getting ahead of themselves as right now there is nothing special about this Bokke team.

• 384.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.-373:

Let us forget for a moment that it took the irb two goes and 5 days to work out it was actaully wrong. What I have noted in almost all the Wallaby games in the RC that they will sub one of the props very early on in the match, anything from 20 to 35 minutes in the first half. Then halfway through the second half they will bring back the swapped player. Do you think that is within the laws of the game.

PS Did the same on Saturday and the main reason they ended using 7 subs…

• 385.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Kaizan-377:
    You have totally missed the point Wallabie was making.
    For a start, you favourite at the end. Who really cares if this is a SA website. This Website is on the world web……. we all own it.
    Did you see any Kiwis or Ozzies bitching about the mistakes or missed calls the ref or touch judges did?
    I have not seen one. Look sat it this way. When NZ play Another team and the ABs win…..guess who complains about the refs…… South Africans, even if you guys are not even playing. But if either OZzie or the ABs are on the receiving end of bad calls, you all go silent. Bakkies is a prime example of one eyed and arrogant supporter. I thought he was all for a fair game but Ozzie vs the Boks last week seemed not to be fair…. and where is bakkies now? Enjoying the moment on how invincible his Bok team is lol.

• 386.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@nama1-382:
    lol Mr Noakes.
    What happened to Mr Noakes anyways?
    Was he a fake?

• 387.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-386: He suffered concussion in a very heavy tackle and changed his mind about everything…. heh heh.

• 388.whatever: Reply to this comment

Noakes made an a rse out of Tackler as as such tackler is a bitter man and takes any little dig he can!

• 389.whatever: Reply to this comment

Hurricane, it’s a little rich you calling saffas one eyed when you and your kind do exactly the same, and whinge for similar reasons. Anyone would think you fu kkers are squeaky clean, when we all know that is not the case, so wind your neck in you dooooos.

• 390.whatever: Reply to this comment

And just a reminder, the bitching and whinging after the 2007 fwd is still a world record, f uk it went on for years. Shake your head your brain is in neutral, you deluded idiot!

• 391.husky: Reply to this comment

Duh and this is new?? NZ rugby is very different to SA rugby and better; hence their win ratio. Rugby in NZ is THE sport; hence everyone, politicians, officials, refs, coaches, the rules (if the laws were properly applied; McCaw would have been long retired) and players work for NZ rugby; with only a grumble here and there. That’s why Henry, McCaw et al are treated as national treasures for being gifted a RWC they scraped home in (thanks Craig). Although it’s an industry that imports many PI players to keep going, I suspect it’s also financially very wobbly so winning the RWC was essential.

I think rugby in SA is very different. Just about every individual works for himself. From keo, Oberholzer, Hoskins, Mallett/Guiness/Solomons, King Watson, refs, most of the provincial bosses and many of the players realise that SA rugby is not going to look after them so they need to look after themselves. The politicians are either anti Boks (Manuel) or ambivalent; certainly not supportive; well maybe selectively but that is almost worse. Politics is against excellence. The idiocy of the SWC stadiums in Durbs and CT is but one example.

The result is that, despite good traditional, groundswell support, a large player base and relatively good financial health, SA rugby is mediocre and fragmented. Until their are big charges in politics, rugby administration, coaching and officialdom, SA rugby will continue to under-achieve. And I don’t see any changes on the horizon. On the coaching front, Meyer’s team hasn’t impressed me so far. Smacks of baadjies for boeties.

Just an aside; I suspect that GPS, instrumentation and player tracking will show that the kick, chase and defend game takes more out of the players than a more open, ball in hand game. That may be why SA players suffer so many injuries – they have to play harder.

• 392.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-385: Hurri I’m curious to see Bakkies’ take on this one… ;)

• 393.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@whatever-389:
    Surprise surprise.
    Whenever a kiwi hits up a South African about being one eyed, guess who pops up with Doos comments.
    So do you have anything to say about Kaizans post?
    Did you even realise what i was trying to say or did you just turn green into the incredile doos caller and bring piss all to the thread ….once again.
    Yawn.
    @Atreides-392:
    mate i would love to see what I love aka “I want a fair game” Bakkies has to say about that.

• 394.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@whatever-390:
    You bringing up 2007 once again??
    Do you guys ever stop complaining about 2007, its been over 5 years now.

And by the way….Show me some respect clown.
    I pay for your unemployment benefit here in NZ, while you play with yourself surfing the net for Kiwis to have a go at.
    Grow up little fella, you are way out of your league against Hurricane.

• 395.Kaizan: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-385:

> Did you see any Kiwis or Ozzies bitching about the mistakes or missed calls the ref or touch judges did?

Yes, wallabie is doing it right now. Not to mention the forward pass in the 2007 quarter final against France. AB fans are still bitching about it today…. Bitching about reffing decisions is something all fans do. Can you name me one rugby nation who’s fans are emotionless when refs get it wrong against them?

> Who really cares if this is a SA website. This Website is on the world web……. we all own it.

It seems it is YOU who has missed the point. I am aware we all own the web dumbass. My point is that that wallabie is confused why we haven’t flooded this site with comments about how hard done by the Ozzies were. I’ll try and make it really simple for your really simple mind: This is a SOUTH AFRICAN website. Of course the fans on this website are going to be less emotional about a reffing decision than the Ozzie fans. If he is looking for sympathy, he should go to an Ozzie website. Just like if you. You’re obviously looking for humiliation, so you’ve come to this website and talked absolute nonsense.

> Look sat it this way. When NZ play Another team and the ABs win…..guess who complains about the refs…… South Africans

“To generalise is to be an idiot.” – William Blake

• 396.cuntlyn: Reply to this comment

@husky-391: Good read, thanks

• 397.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Kaizan-395:
    Idiot.
    Wallabie made a point, yet all you came up with was its a South African website….. So your point is South Africans cos its a South African website dont ewant a fair game…as Bakkies has been preaching.
    About 2007 show me where did we bring that up….thats right a South African bought that up, not a kiwi. You guys complain about the RWC 2007more than us, you guys still bring it up, this thread has just proven that. Dummies complaining about Kiwis complaining.
    And the truth is you guys will complain about a ref….only if you lose or the Kwiw/Ozzies win against another team…its a fact.Been on here longer than you so i know.

• 398.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Kaizan-395:
    “Look sat it this way. When NZ play Another team and the ABs win…..guess who complains about the refs…… South Africans

“To generalise is to be an idiot.” – William Blake ”

True, but did i say all South Africans…..nope.

• 399.cuntlyn: Reply to this comment

willievz I had to go to 163 to see why you pissed Hurricane off that much. MMM…I can see. Although you probably put the kaksoek bait out there, and Hurricane fell for it. :D hook line and sinker
    Hurricane don’t take the bait man, these guys will reel you in !!!

• 400.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@cuntlyn-399:
    hehehe actually Willie made a mistake and corrected himself a few posts later.
    I was a bit quick….shot from the hip and no aim.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.