Wounded Wallabies brace for Pumas

Australia have made five changes for their Rugby Championship match against Argentina in Rosario.

Mike Harris and Nick Cummins replace the injured Berrick Barnes and Dominic Shipperley (who is relegated to the bench) at fullback and right wing respectively, Ben Tapuai comes in for the injured Adam Ashley-Cooper at outside centre, while James Slipper starts at loosehead prop, with Benn Robinson moving to the bench.

‘We know that the Pumas will be coming straight at us, and will be looking to profit in the collision in the same way that the Springboks did last week,’ said Wallabies coach Robbie Deans. ‘We’ve addressed that, both internally in our discussions, but also with our selection, where we have gone for the players we feel are best suited to that approach.’

Wallabies – 15 Mike Harris, 14 Nick Cummins, 13 Ben Tapuai, 12 Pat McCabe, 11 Digby Ioane, 10 Kurtley Beale, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Radike Samo, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Sitaleki Timani, 5 Nathan Sharpe (capt), 4 Kane Douglas, 3 Ben Alexander, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 James Slipper.
Subs: 16 Saia Fainga’a, 17 Benn Robinson, 18 Dave Dennis, 19 Scott Higginbotham, 20 Liam Gill, 21 Brett Sheehan, 22 Dominic Shipperley.