Preview: Boks vs All Blacks
5 Oct 2012
JON CARDINELLI analyses the key match-ups and picks a winner of the Rugby Championship Test in Soweto.
In the one corner we have the resurgent Springboks, who produced their most balanced showing of the season when they pulverised the Wallabies last week. In the other is the world champions, who have just come off their most convincing performance of 2012, a 54-15 bashing of Argentina.
The Rugby Championship title is no longer up for grabs, but there is a sense that this final Test of the competition could still prove to be the climax, a game and occasion to remember.
The All Blacks have plenty to play for. They haven’t lost to South Africa this year, and will be determined to maintain that mental hold over their fiercest foes.
They’ve won 15 games in a row, and four more victories will see them surpassing Lithuania for the most consecutive Test wins. A loss to South Africa this Saturday would scupper those ambitions.
The Boks have much to gain, and their desperation to win will be patent. Coach Heyneke Meyer revealed this week that his most realistic short-term goal has been to finish his first season with an undefeated home record. Victory at Soccer City would see Meyer and the Boks realising that ambition.
They’ll be driving for that minor milestone, and will use that massive, passionate crowd at the Calabash for extra motivation. Above and beyond that, there will be a belief that they can beat the All Blacks, having so nearly achieved this rare feat in Dunedin three weeks ago.
It was a day where wayward goal-kicking and poor option-taking by the halfbacks let them down. The forwards dominated at the point of contact, at the breakdowns, and through a much improved rolling maul. If the Boks can replicate that forward performance, it should create sufficient opportunities to win the game in Soweto.
The tight five has been excellent over the course of the last two games, and the loose forwards have thrived off such a powerful platform. The introduction of Francois Louw and Duane Vermeulen to the starting side, as individuals and as part of a balanced loose trio combination, has been telling.
The Bok forwards will need to be on point in terms of clearing away the likes of Richie McCaw and Andrew Hore from the breakdown, as these All Blacks players excel at not only stealing possession but slowing opposition momentum. On the other hand, men like Louw will have a big role to play in stalling the Kiwis’ attack. The extent to which Louw is able to do so will determine the outcome of the game.
It’s not going to be a try-fest, and I’m not even going to apologise. The best matches, the most absorbing and tightly contested games, are those where both sides come to the party with outstanding defensive systems and kicking games. It takes something special to break the line, let alone score a try. And when that happens, it is all the more reason to celebrate.
The Boks may have produced a strong all-round showing against the Wallabies last week, but they have some way to go before they can boast the All Blacks’ balance between attack and defence.
Meyer has already said this week that the latter strength is more concerning than the former. How are the Boks going to fracture that World Cup-winning All Blacks’ defence?
It won’t be enough to win the forward battles, they will need to with the tussle for territory too. Ruan Pienaar assumed the tactical kicking duties last week, but he will need Johan Goosen to contribute more in a game of this nature. The accuracy of this pair will be crucial, as the All Blacks’ back three all have the potential to punish poor kicks.
Winning territory also won’t be enough, the Boks will need to put points on the board once they have the opposition on the ropes. Goosen has brought a spark to the Bok attack, but he will also be required to convert all shots on goal. It’s a lot of pressure for a 20-year-old to deal with in only his second Test start.
The All Blacks have subtly suggested that they will target Goosen when they are on the attack. What will make the young flyhalf’s task slightly easier is a superior showing by the Bok forwards. Dan Carter and his backline will present less of a gainline threat if they are operating with back-foot ball.
I believe Meyer is doing the right thing by backing Goosen, and I believe that the forwards have the potential to stand up to their All Blacks counterparts. The Calabash is a special place, and there could be another record crowd through the gates tomorrow. Don’t underestimate the galvanising impact that number of people can have on the home team.
But then again, it wasn’t enough before. In 2010, it seemed as if Soccer City had worked it’s magic until the All Blacks snatched a late try at the death.
It will be another close loss for the Boks this Saturday. Their goal-kicking hasn’t been nearly good enough, and that is a big handicap when you are playing the world champions. The All Blacks boast one of the best ever in this respect, namely Dan Carter.
To beat the world champions and stall their world record run would be an outstanding achievement, especially since the Boks aren’t operating at full strength.
However, it is because the Boks aren’t at full strength that a narrow loss should not be seen as a train smash. A close defeat to the All Blacks would not signify a lack of progress.
JC’S PREDICTION: All Blacks by 3
Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jaco Taute, 12 Jean de Villiers (c), 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermuelen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Coenie Oosthuizen, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Marcel Coetzee, 20 Elton Jantjies, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Pat Lambie.
All Blacks – 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Hosea Gear, 10 Daniel Carter, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (c), 6 Liam Messam, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Andrew Hore, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Subs: 16 Keven Mealamu, 17 Ben Franks, 18 Luke Romano, 19 Adam Thomson, 20 Piri Weepu, 21 Aaron Cruden, 22 Tamati Ellison.

285 Comments
5 Oct 2012, 05:02 am
Gangnam Style!
5 Oct 2012, 05:03 am
Will replace the Haka!
5 Oct 2012, 05:54 am
Might put off the ABs big-time if the Boks did a quick Gangnam Style after the haka ! (And kept a Macarena in reserve for special occasions).
5 Oct 2012, 05:55 am
ABs by 15.
5 Oct 2012, 06:19 am
The AB’s are going to target the Bok midfield
Boks have an inexperienced midfield partnership
With the AB’s combination of brawn and brain they are bound to exploit the lack of cohesion and experience in the Boks midfield
Of course, Messiah Square Pants In Round Hole basis selections on brain over brawn
In this case its not about the individual players rather the rational behind the Bok midfield selection
JdJ has greater test experience
JdJ has greater experience within the Bok setup
JdJ has greater experience playing with JdV
JdJ and JdV formed part of the best defensive unit in Super Rugby
Taute has superior size over JdJ
So as per Messiah Square Pants In Round Hole thinking: “Taute is grooter, ons kies hom”
Sound thinking at its best
Boks to be competitve up to around 60 minutes
AB’s to take the match thereafter scoring out wide
JdJ to come on once the Boks as a team are flat on their feet and losing shape
JdJ and Kirchner specifically to take the Devotee’s blame
AB’s by 7
5 Oct 2012, 06:35 am
Boks played well last week but the abs played better and away to the argies who as the boks know from experience it is not an easy hunting ground.
as mentioned by capetown their mid field is untest and will be exposed by the abs.
Abs by 12
5 Oct 2012, 06:48 am
ABs clear favorites with the bookies. so i have bet on the boks.
5 Oct 2012, 06:50 am
Damn those Lithuanians
5 Oct 2012, 06:52 am
Played golf with some of the AB’s on Wednesday and they were very complimentary of the Boks and predicted a very tough game. Who knows if they were just being polite? Management actually pulled Carter and Cruden out of golf in the morning because it was too hot and they wanted them to rest. Ended up with Israel Dagg and Berrick Barnes playing and Barnes especially spoke very highly of the Boks! C’mon Bokke!
5 Oct 2012, 07:02 am
ABs by 10.
5 Oct 2012, 07:09 am
All black reign is coming to an end Saturday no doubt
5 Oct 2012, 07:17 am
low cheats should never prosper
break them boks
break them
5 Oct 2012, 07:20 am
Bakkies you propered until Gerty and his ilk for decades
5 Oct 2012, 07:21 am
prospered
5 Oct 2012, 07:24 am
@shark4life-9:
are you their caddy?
5 Oct 2012, 07:28 am
there is a quiet air of certainty in my soul
boonop dit het niks minder as 3 predikante saam met my oor hierdie saak gestem
good will triumph evil on saturday
a new day shall dawn
5 Oct 2012, 07:30 am
@KeurboomPark-15:
5 Oct 2012, 07:30 am
@KeurboomPark-15: Lol…the way I played I should have been! But they weren’t much better except for Barnes and Barret. My mate is their liaison person in SA and they asked me to organise a game for some of them. So I just included myself and a few other mates in the booking
Genuinely nice guys though.
5 Oct 2012, 07:32 am
Yes reading in the cold light of morning AB hold the cards … However Boks have a good chance and if they can get the forwards working I reckon they will only have the mental block of putting AB away .. Boks by 3 ..
5 Oct 2012, 07:36 am
I think the Bokke are going to take this one.
pooper is going to watch her team lose whilst in nz.
beeyyoouuutttiiifffuuuulllll
no china, that was your area of expertise
11 MINUTES of extra time and then a penalty at eden park
to this day no single expert in the laws of the game can answer what the penalty was for.
filth much…?…
@capetown-5: JdJ has greater test experience
JdJ has greater experience within the Bok setup, but Taute may be a better player.
JdJ has greater experience playing with JdV, but Taute may be a better player.
JdJ and JdV formed part of the best defensive unit in Super Rugby, but Taute may be a better player.
Taute has superior size over JdJ
Forget the size, province, colour issues. Is JDJ better than Taute? I don’t know. The jury is still out on that one and I am happy for HM to give him a run for now.
5 Oct 2012, 07:37 am
Keurboom I hope you are feeling a bit brighter after your girlfriend left you.
Keep the faith,you will hopefully soon meet the man of your dreams.
5 Oct 2012, 07:37 am
I sincerely hope they dont’ boo the Haka. It is extremely rude.
5 Oct 2012, 07:41 am
@24
It is seen offensive to the ngemoari if their haka is not challenged.
the all black haka is just a market gimmick,the irb has made a ruling that no side may walk up to them when they do the haka.
the all blacks are the irb’s teachers pet.
why dont the all blacks get some nuts and ask the irb to scrap the ruling?
this is just a stupid little jazz hands dance,done for entertain,ent cause the irb said so.
the all blacks have sold their souls by not challenging the irb’s new rule.
5 Oct 2012, 07:42 am
@jamisz-24: Which? The ka mate or kapa o pango?
5 Oct 2012, 07:45 am
Sharkie @ 9:
Are you aware that Berrick Barnes plays for the Wallabies (not the AB’s), & supposedly has a punctured lung. How was his golf swing???? (Are you sure you were there?)
5 Oct 2012, 07:47 am
i wont bother mentioning the OBVIOUS nz scrum wheeling on the lh ashworth’s side or the sideways crimping / shuffling / crabbing of knight….
or the larfably bullshitt freekick against the bok hooker
you know nothing man
5 Oct 2012, 07:49 am
we’ll beat you despite your cheating
5 Oct 2012, 07:51 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-28:
Who’s ref tomorrow?
5 Oct 2012, 07:51 am
Boks by 20.
Yes, I said it.
5 Oct 2012, 07:52 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-28: according to you the abs are cheats but yet they are the number one team and have been unbeaten in 16 games, so i guess cheats do prosper. One dimensional game plans dont.
5 Oct 2012, 07:56 am
cheers all,have a nice day/eve and weekend.
Go Bokke!
5 Oct 2012, 07:56 am
ref = rolland
ar = poite
ar = garner
tmo = veldsman
5 Oct 2012, 07:57 am
@Jeraldjay-30:
sorry, post #34 for you
5 Oct 2012, 07:58 am
@BillTong-27: Yip, very aware. he could not fly with the wallabies because of the punctured lung and had to stay behind at the sandton sun where the AB’s happen to be staying. so when carter and cruden pulled out they asked him to play. his golf swing was actually fine and he played quite well.
we played at serengeti. enough facts to satisfy you?
otherwise i have photos i could show you?
5 Oct 2012, 08:00 am
Bakkies you dont have an 80 minute game to beat us, you’re playing for pride we’re playing for world records. Now if Gerty was reffing you’d be a certainty ‘ ja listen boys you can go home but I have to live here”
5 Oct 2012, 08:01 am
Come guys, it’s Friday, let your imaginations run wild here please…
What would happen if Chiefs & Pirates happened to arrive at the stadium at 2.00pm for their important PSL fixture tomorrow?
Who would “win”?
5 Oct 2012, 08:02 am
Boks will win tomorrow. AB forwards don’t have enough grunt.
5 Oct 2012, 08:03 am
it will be something new for the All Blacks … there will be more ppl at this game than there were at NZ vs Aus & NZ vs Boks put together … don’t know what it is .. but rugby in NZ isn’t that big …. or at least ppl don’t bother to attend the games!!
5 Oct 2012, 08:04 am
@melkiwi-32:
its all coming to an end, dear friend.
heyneke is here now and in all likelyhood the boks will employ an old bulls trick, which has worked for the boks before, of moering those dirty little inclinations right out of you.
we wont be waiting for the ref to do his duty, no sir. think of the new bok team as the judge dredd’s of the modern, dystopian, lawless game which rugby has become thanks to you lot.
we will be judge, jury and executioners all in one… dispensing justice all over the park as is fit….
my advice for you…. slit your wrists…. rugby will never the same for you again…
5 Oct 2012, 08:04 am
WP we are on a 15 test streak and hold every trophy there is, think again.
5 Oct 2012, 08:09 am
anything for the win at eden park, hey china….
even 11 minutes of extra time and a host of dubious penalisations.
is it true norling bought a boat in 82?
5 Oct 2012, 08:11 am
Boks to w?n by 8 as the k?w?b?rds run out of steam and start throw?ng up on the s?del?nes l?ke ?n 95 when they couldnt handle the pace.
5 Oct 2012, 08:12 am
Norling is not a Nzer, Gerty admitted it.
5 Oct 2012, 08:14 am
Then the crying will begin about how they were poisoned when we all know the flat track bullies lose their nerve and their guts when the going gets tough.
5 Oct 2012, 08:14 am
a bit like you in Dunedin
5 Oct 2012, 08:15 am
@rangerman-44:
Ranger do you have a Blackberry 9900.
I have the same problem with my “i”‘s it comes out as ?.
5 Oct 2012, 08:16 am
you actually take pride in such dishonestly aquired accolades
shame
5 Oct 2012, 08:16 am
@trupisero-26:
I think both are a little off…
5 Oct 2012, 08:17 am
This is the warmest week in Joburg this year. It is at altitude. All Blacks travelled East for the first time when travelling to SA and the Boks have confidence after last week. For these reasons the Boks should win.
We do not need to worry about the kicks. Goosen will slot one from 65m in his 6/7 kicking performance.
5 Oct 2012, 08:17 am
answer the question
5 Oct 2012, 08:18 am
@Horings-51: Since Winter
5 Oct 2012, 08:22 am
Mr. Meyer it should have been : 12. JdV 13 Juan de Jongh
I get a sneaky feeling the ABs have something up their sleeve for J Taute
5 Oct 2012, 08:22 am
@Horings-51:
would love to see goosen slot 3 or 4 drop goals.
beating them with kicks will be sweeter for me.
5 Oct 2012, 08:24 am
JDJ is kak
5 Oct 2012, 08:24 am
So much confidence for a team on a 1 win streak.
5 Oct 2012, 08:25 am
LOL @ NZinChina …. a NZ cannibal in China – you can’t top that … its like being a drug dealer in Hillbrow …. clever move …!
5 Oct 2012, 08:26 am
@NZINCHINA-57:
Are you like this in real life?
5 Oct 2012, 08:27 am
what a realist?
5 Oct 2012, 08:28 am
@NZINCHINA-57: Neutral venue you will win, but Fleck in 2000 and Joubert in 2004 shows even if the Boks are not the no1 team they can beat the All Blacks well when all the highveld factors are taken into account. A possible 16-52 scoreline is also on the table given the inexperienced Bok team.
5 Oct 2012, 08:30 am
Horings anything is possible, you beating Aus just proved that.
5 Oct 2012, 08:33 am
@NZINCHINA-62:
You like one of those Maltese poodles who yaps all the time
5 Oct 2012, 08:35 am
What haka they coming with this week.
The Panga?
5 Oct 2012, 08:36 am
@Jeraldjay-59:
i view it as a good works, social / mental health upliftment bit of personal sacrifice.
i do realise that i may have bitten off a lot more than i can chew but i will endeavour to help him as best i can.
5 Oct 2012, 08:37 am
Keeping it real Dawn.
5 Oct 2012, 08:39 am
@Dawn-64:
to be horribly honest, i really dont care.
i’ve lost any respect for it a long time ago and use the time to get beers and snacks before kickoff. it works great as a sound que for the match kickoff.
5 Oct 2012, 08:40 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-65: What was your take on the referee’s mistake on saturday?
5 Oct 2012, 08:40 am
@Dawn-64
Nope! The Panga dance is property of striking miners
5 Oct 2012, 08:41 am
@NZINCHINA-66:
You know what?
We get it already.
5 Oct 2012, 08:41 am
every young South African player dreams of facing it
5 Oct 2012, 08:42 am
NZINCHINA : The Boks showed enough in Dunedin – even with Morne Steyn – that they’re capable
5 Oct 2012, 08:43 am
@Dawn-70:
Agtermiddag waar hy is, seker al half gesuip. Los maar.
5 Oct 2012, 08:43 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-67:
Set the PVR to Autotune for the start of the game.
No pangas, no anthems.
5 Oct 2012, 08:45 am
Wp most teams are capable, very few actually do it, coulda shoulda woulda’s count for nothing.
5 Oct 2012, 08:45 am
We gonna send our striking hoardes with their weapons to face this panga.
See what the ABs do then.
5 Oct 2012, 08:47 am
73 ni shuo shen me?
5 Oct 2012, 08:47 am
My oh my, some wild and hopeful predictions by both camps.
On one point I agree with Cardinelli, the game will be close. A converted try will separate the teams.
But who will win is another issue.
Either team can win on merit, and that is as it should be.
That said, I obviously favour the AB’s and believe they have the experience and talent to see off the Bokke.
SA are putting way too much pressure on your Goosen to deliver.
5 Oct 2012, 08:48 am
South Africa 2.75 New Zealand 1.46
Also only get 1.34 for Boks to loose by more than 12…
5 Oct 2012, 08:49 am
Except Cory of course
He will be protected
5 Oct 2012, 08:49 am
@NZINCHINA-42: Not the the junior rugby world cup
5 Oct 2012, 08:52 am
Goodstuff the boys cup? he he ok you got me
5 Oct 2012, 08:52 am
@bakkies-67
Wow. Your aversion & antipathy towards all things New Zealand is disturbing
5 Oct 2012, 08:53 am
@Brads-78:
Yes Brads, it will be close and I don’t understand the odds given by the bookies. Take into consideration the highveld and travel and surely the odds must be closer.
5 Oct 2012, 08:54 am
@Brads-78:
The Goose has the mental toughness of our golfers.
Ernie Els, Charl Schwartzel and his namesake Retief.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-67: I still quite enjoy the Haka but somehow the white dudes fail horrifically in pulling off them scary faces. They tend to resemble those fakkers down in Cape Town trying the same thing without the front toofs.
@W.P-72:
Yes, they did, but they only managed to force penalty’s in the marginal kicking range of Morne.
This notion that every long range penalty attempt should have been a certain conversion is okay, so long as you accept that every missed judged off load by the AB’s represented an even more amazing number of scoring opportunities.
@Slartibartfast-84: Dobbel jy weer jou geld weg gomgat?
5 Oct 2012, 08:55 am
@NZINCHINA-82: You do have all the ‘senior’ trophies, the AB’s doing well, but built on the back of the 2011 crew. No Brad Thorn makes the AB pack a bit skiddish.
Guess the same for us without Bakkies, I still believe Pocock would not have had a chance agaisnt the boks with Bakkies there.
5 Oct 2012, 08:55 am
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-86:
Howzit pajama D! Nope, Haka turned into a farce the moment the irb declared the opposition is not allowed to do anything.
5 Oct 2012, 08:57 am
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-86:
Stop talking your stereotypical kuk please
5 Oct 2012, 08:58 am
@Slartibartfast-90: Ja that was kak. IRB protecting the golden boys again…….etters
5 Oct 2012, 08:59 am
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-88:
Check maar net, kan lekker geld maak die naweek ek dink.
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-92:
Right, ek pak op, genoeg gewerk vir een dag. Chat weer later.
@Dawn-91: Sin vir humor noem mens dit Dawn. Joune weer vir n bol gegaan vanmore?
5 Oct 2012, 09:00 am
@Slartibartfast-94: Cheers ou maat.
@Slartibartfast-90: Not a farce, but yes the IRB have become to sesnsitive, how awsome have the very important matches been when the AB’s are marched upon by their foes? Think of 2007 France vs. NZ and 1995 AB’s vs. South Africa or even the Welsh vs. AB’s when both teams refused to back down and Kaplin had to force them to start the match.
But now the pufter old men at IRB make rugby more and more like soccer.
@NZINCHINA-82:
China I missed the Haka against the Argies.
Was it the special one or the kamate for unworthy opponents.
5 Oct 2012, 09:01 am
@Slartibartfast-84:
Working out the odds must be a nightmare, but the motherfecker bookies all seem to survive no matter what the result.
5 Oct 2012, 09:02 am
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-92:
What is there to protect??
What can you guys do to hurt us while we are doing the Haka?
IRB rules and not ours.
5 Oct 2012, 09:04 am
@Atreides-68:
And Bakkies logs off,way to scare him off.
5 Oct 2012, 09:05 am
@Hurricane-100: That was meant with tongue in cheeck Hurri. I must admit I used to enjoy watching the odd stand off after the Haka. Just added that extra bit of spice.
5 Oct 2012, 09:09 am
@Jeraldjay-85:
Says you with nil evidence to back it up!.
Yes, he may well have all of that fortitude, but there is no history to demonstrate he can be relied upon.
Hopeful expectation is fine for a pre-match wank, but you are endorsing what I stated previously.
“SA are putting way too much pressure on your Goosen to deliver.”
5 Oct 2012, 09:11 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-21:
Did you realise they stopped the game for over that time. To clean flower bombs and i think one of the ABs was hit, that took alot of time.
Should have been 15 minutes extra time. So dont use that as an excuse.
5 Oct 2012, 09:14 am
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-102:
I dont get it.
I am Maori and really any challenge we put down, we expect at aleast recogntion that the challenge has been accepted or challenged back. The other team not allowed to respond or
actually do anything is a joke. IRB clueless on that.
5 Oct 2012, 09:14 am
The haka should be reciprocated as is the way of the Maori
5 Oct 2012, 09:15 am
@Hurricane-100: I enjoy the haka .. it also fuels the fire for us ..
The ABs do fear the Boks, they are the only team that scare them and if we do complete our game plan then AB are going down.
More likely by 2013 I think we will have a blueprint of players and plan that will worked on leading up to 2015…
Theres confidence for you !
5 Oct 2012, 09:15 am
Dudes please stop arguing about what happened in 1976 and 1981. Move on. This is 2012. Gonna be a good game on Saturday between the world’s 2 best teams. ABs favourites but this will be no easy game.
5 Oct 2012, 09:16 am
@Brads-103:
I agree, the pressure on the kids shoulders is immense.
But if he comes through tomorrow he will be able to deliver on any stage and it will lay the foundation for future success.
5 Oct 2012, 09:19 am
Dawn choose already! Cory Jane or did you dump Eben?
5 Oct 2012, 09:21 am
@Doughnut-107:
Mate,if the ABs feared the Boks, we would not be winning many against you.
I think the word is respect. I mean you have to shohw respect to all teams but there are the teams where you just cannot put your guard down, repect for the whole game….Boks are oneof those teams.
I think the ABs do this well against the Boks.
Hats of to your boys for bringing the best out of the ABs….cos you do. Rarely do we play a bad game against the BOks. Normally if we lose we are just out played, simple.
5 Oct 2012, 09:22 am
@Atreides-68:
the substitution issue?
notice how the irb falls over themselves to say they made a fault when its friends of kiwis involved.
@Dawn-74:
thanks for the advice.
its not my cup of tea.
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-86:
i dont like it and like the welsh did to them, would prefer they did it in the toilets before they came out.
5 Oct 2012, 09:24 am
@Jeraldjay-109:
Fair enough.
Yes, if he delivers he will stamp his mark on where he stands in SA rugby, but expecting him to do so before the match is another animal altogether.
What happens if he falls short, do you look to the next wunderkind as the answer to all SA problems.
5 Oct 2012, 09:25 am
@Te Rangatira-106:
We gonna send our strikers
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-112:
haha
You wanted a fair game but it did not happen, yet you still blamed us?
LOOOOSSSSEEEERRRR
The Welsh fans complained bitterly about that, actually booed the ABs.
So what happened next time? We did the Haka on the field. All were happy.
Dont really expect that from a bitter fool like you Bakkies.
@viewer-110:
Cory has a fend
5 Oct 2012, 09:26 am
JC has put the kiss of death on the AB’s
5 Oct 2012, 09:26 am
@Hurricane-104:
not true.
get a copy of the full test and time it.
it was conclusivley proved a number of times by audio visual and television experts.
including all game time stoppages for any and all reasons, the flour bags and everything else, there was still and extra 11 or 12 minutes of time added after all this.
but what do you know
5 Oct 2012, 09:27 am
meeting out for now.
5 Oct 2012, 09:28 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-118:
I watched live, saw the ABs win….game over. Let it go little fella.
5 Oct 2012, 09:29 am
@Delki-108:
Agreed FFS
Flour is so 1980′s
5 Oct 2012, 09:31 am
@Brads-113:
Tomorrow game will provide clarity on Goosen’s defensive abilities more than his attacking skills.
I think all true rugby lovers hope’s he comes through with flying colours.
5 Oct 2012, 09:32 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-112:
Well that is one take on it.
The other is the Ref’s are human and make mistakes.
Deal with it.
5 Oct 2012, 09:37 am
Take it up with Clive Norling and the Welsh Rugby Union is you have a beef over the way he blew the match.
The Welsh hate up more than you guys.
5 Oct 2012, 09:37 am
Boks should win with their 90 000 African supporters……
Wonder how the game will really play out – RC over and nothing else that counts… except the fact it is a test match . to win or lose.
Nice stuff.
(But no ? Surely I don’t know why they will have to have a shield or plate or cup for this game too)
5 Oct 2012, 09:39 am
@Jeraldjay-122:
Well to be fair, I hope he plays well, but not this coming through with flying colours business.
5 Oct 2012, 09:40 am
It can easily explode into a running game try fest on both sides….
5 Oct 2012, 09:41 am
Hi everyone!
It amazes me how little the general rugby public actually knows about our current springbok players and what they are capable of or more importantly who is behind them.
There is always this feeling of fear when so called know it all rugby writers and the general rugby public talks about facing the current All Black side. This, coupled with the thought of the All Blacks doing the haka sends shivers down their spine even before the game has started. Respecting the opposition is one thing which should apply to all opposition but when it comes to the All Blacks it seems that many in their minds have lost the game for the Boks before it even started. Sure, nobody would argue that the All Black achievements warrants credit and like the old saying give credit where credit is due but this negative mindset only says one thing…how little you actually know about the capabilities of our current players even though so many of the top players (in your mind) are currently injured. These same people will be the ones that will use the currently injured players as a reason or excuse if and when the Springboks lost or performed badly. The All Blacks have already won the Championship but the stakes are higher than they have ever been. In All Black minds, if a so called second string Springbok side beats them on Saturday, it will destroy their season, their win record will come crashing down, and of course the biggy it would question their status as being the top side in world rugby at the moment especially as they have their best possible team bar Sonny Bill Williams playing. In their minds they cannot have that happen. I mean if they can’t beat a second string Bok side what will they do when all the “top” Bok players come back, right?
Wrong! Allow me to open your eyes and wake you up a little. The Boks have a new head coach and management. With new coaches and management comes new styles, new rules, new everything. How it will impact a team and the time it takes before positive results show depends on how good the new management and coaching staff are. New coaches and management will unsettle a team and affect their results, any team. Allow yourself to imagine removing all the current All Black coaching staff and team management and and swapping them with the current Bok management and coaching team or the other way around. The All Black or Bok results will instantly be affected in a bad way. Sure even a fool will agree to that. Now, let’s forget about previous Springbok coach De Villiers and his coaching staff as the whole world even non rugby followers knows that he was a clown and didn’t have a clue and didn’t belong there. The new Springbok coach and management team however are not clowns. They are the real deal. They are what the All Black guru’s would fear and with good reason. They know what they doing and they know where they going. Heyneke is no clown. He is a rugby brain with immense talent that the Bok supporters have longed for since Nick Mallet was replaced as coach. Glimpses of him and his coaching staff brilliance was shown in the last test in Dunedin and the last test against the Wallabies. Now let’s forget about injuries here as the Wallabies have as many as the Boks. The Bok performance in Dunedin and last test against the Wallabies confirms what very few are starting to realize. This Bok side without all the so called top players not only has the potential (but not consistently showing it yet) to beat anyone, but in fact this current Bok side as a result of a great head coach and coaching staff aren’t joking when they claim that they will be the best team in world rugby. They are the real deal even though many don’t see it yet! I do. I didn’t think it will happen so quickly after new coach and management but it is happening whether you like it or not.
So here is a calculated prediction for you for Saturday. This current second string Bok side (even though in my mind under Heyneke not second string as he has a unrivalled skill in bringing out the best in everyone) will not only beat the All Blacks on Saturday, they will hammer them and will win by at least 15 points. Write this down, copy this post and mark my words carefully. Oh I know I will be one of very few willing to make a statement like this, but there are very few people who actually know what the new coach is capable to get from his players.
A new era is about to begin, the sign are there, jump on is going to be a hell of a ride. The Springboks will dominate world rugby as long as Heyneke is there, forget about targeting Goosen or Habana or Taute as the media suggested earlier this week, Heyneke will be the All Blacks worse fear for years to come.
5 Oct 2012, 09:43 am
@MADaboutrugby-128:
Who are all the top Bok players to come back?
And do you believe this is a Bok B team?
5 Oct 2012, 09:44 am
@MADaboutrugby-128:
Kuk man
5 Oct 2012, 09:45 am
@shooter-127:
Got guns?
5 Oct 2012, 09:46 am
@shooter-125:
Are you talking about the Freedom Cup?
Is that up for grabs?
5 Oct 2012, 09:48 am
Funny post Mad. Really funny.
5 Oct 2012, 09:50 am
@Dawn-131: first fast loose draw
@Brads-132: i dont know.. is there
5 Oct 2012, 09:50 am
@MADaboutrugby-128:
You would be perfectly correct if the volume of someone imagination were put into words and dumped on a blog.
5 Oct 2012, 09:51 am
@120 MADaboutrugby
Go take your meds, boet.
5 Oct 2012, 09:51 am
@MADaboutrugby-128:
Oh right you did, so NZ are rooted!
5 Oct 2012, 09:53 am
@viewer-110: Eben is what is called a “Sidesmash”, Cory is the main dish…
ne Dawn?
5 Oct 2012, 09:55 am
Found a report on the game. 11 minutes of injury time as you suggested was incorrect….of course.
Referee Clive Norling awarded the penalty nine minutes into injury time when the scores were locked at 22-all.
“He (Norling) was the sole judge of time – thank goodness he was.”
The park was being strafed by a light plane, the match was marred by numerous stoppages including All Black prop Gary Knight being felled by a flour bomb – accounting for the extended injury time
As i said, the injury time was for all the stoppages, but lets not worry about you being wrong, Let look forward to the game this weekend
5 Oct 2012, 09:56 am
@Transformation-138:
I dig that fend, man
@shooter-134:
Sorry, you suggested there was a cup to play for.
The big gong is in the bank, so I assumed you were talking about the Freedom Cup.
The Freedom Cup clearly doesn’t have the Mana that goes with the Bledisloe and it never will have if no one cares about it.
@Hurricane-139:
bakkies is in a meeting
5 Oct 2012, 09:58 am
@Dawn-142:
Oh the Doctors.
Yeah, i think its his normal 1 hour talk about those voicesin the head.
5 Oct 2012, 09:59 am
One small step for Andries Bekker,
one giant leap for Pat Lambie
5 Oct 2012, 09:59 am
@Brads-123:
On a scale of 1 – 10 how much of a rabid AB are you?
5 Oct 2012, 10:00 am
Boks by 15.
5 Oct 2012, 10:02 am
@Liewe Luiperd-146:
5 Oct 2012, 10:02 am
@Hurricane-143:
That fend that fend that fend
All I want to see is that fend
5 Oct 2012, 10:05 am
@MADaboutrugby-128: Ok Heyneke thanks for the post … That is a very big call, I for one agree with your enthusiasm and belief we are headed in the right direction .. However 15points is a very long score considering AB at home with Boks still carrying MS got 11points over the Boks .. Now AB have DC back and Boks are at home so i am going for the win but by a penalty kick … The biggest challenge for Boks will be their kicks at post ..
5 Oct 2012, 10:05 am
Well done JC. By predicting the AB’s to win you have just ensured that the Boks will win this game hands down. Are you perhaps Heineken’s secret weapon? I am definitely putting a few sheckles on the Boks after reading this article. Thanks mate
5 Oct 2012, 10:06 am
@Dawn-148: We get the picture …. already !
5 Oct 2012, 10:06 am
@Liewe Luiperd-146: Same here.
Boks by 15.
5 Oct 2012, 10:07 am
@Dawn-145:
What is rabid mean?
1 . Hate the team and want them to always lose and every player burn in hell..
10. Sacrificing my first born if the team required it.
5 Oct 2012, 10:09 am
@Dawn-148:
I dont know if my meaning of fend is the same as yours.
5 Oct 2012, 10:09 am
@Brads-153:
You know Bakkies posts……. there is rabid.
5 Oct 2012, 10:13 am
@Brads-141: You guys care about the bedisloe cup?
5 Oct 2012, 10:13 am
@Golden Boy-150:
Be sure to post a link to where ever it is you can prove you have emptied your wallet with such confidence.
A facsimile of of your betting stub will be all we need.
5 Oct 2012, 10:14 am
@Hurricane-154:
5 Oct 2012, 10:17 am
@goodstuff-156:
Yep we sure do.
Why wouldnt it?
Its a cup that we have fought over for along time.
5 Oct 2012, 10:17 am
@Brads-153:
What’s with the definitions
Just on a scale of 1 – 10!
5 Oct 2012, 10:18 am
How come Pops is unavailable for a week.
No internet in NZ
5 Oct 2012, 10:18 am
@goodstuff-156:
Less and less I have to be honest, we have held it for 8 odd years..
It became bloody important when we didn’t own it. Helped without question by the Aussie crowing when they took it off us.
5 Oct 2012, 10:21 am
@Doughnut-149: it’s not only Heyneke/MADaboutrugby that thinks the Boks are dangerous…
Wayne Smith on:
The All Blacks’ rivals
“I was pretty impressed with the Springboks in the second Test against England, in the first half. They had real attention to detail in their attacking ball … they’ve still got a bit of work to do in the way that they use that ball, but they are certainly very good at the speed of ball, their ball retention. So if they can reach those levels and maybe vary their game a bit more, they’ll be dangerous.”
5 Oct 2012, 10:23 am
@Dawn-161: his waka don’t have wi-fi, only a cannon.
5 Oct 2012, 10:25 am
@Dawn-160:
I was deeply depressed in 1995, 2003 and 2007
Is that an answer that will satisfy you?
5 Oct 2012, 10:30 am
@128 – a wide ranging faux theoretical equivalent of brain diarrhoea splattered in a post containing semi truths & falseheaded points of view mixed with factoids which while plausible, could only sway the supine, sedentary & infantile amongst the sheeple who soak up & find to be irresistable what indisputably appears in the intermission amongst the numerous words as fawning over the new gaffer who is impulsively worshipped as a superior being to the previous verbose & hirsute incumbent & his overly rotund captain leading the meek to anticipate a false dawn whereafter perusing those voluminous paragraphs they would in any event not be endowed with the sense & clarity expected from an expansive treatise which nonetheless is rather anorexic in its content
5 Oct 2012, 10:35 am
@Transformation-163:
Wayne Smith is a damn good coach, but he would bore you to tears with his “analism”.
That’s a new word I just created to describe Wayne Smith’s intensity
5 Oct 2012, 10:37 am
@Brads-165:
So that’s a 10
5 Oct 2012, 10:38 am
@viewer-166:
What
5 Oct 2012, 10:38 am
@Brads-167:
Don’t go there. Transie worships the ground Smith walks on.
5 Oct 2012, 10:41 am
@Dawn-161: Pops is in Sydney.
A massive Maori-doorman keoing from his Blackberry whilst on shift.
5 Oct 2012, 10:43 am
@willievz-171:
Pops caught a flight back to NZ yesterday
5 Oct 2012, 10:44 am
@Brads-141: I’d probably care about it if the Boks won it a few times in a row and started bragging about it like the Aussies did. I’ve seen interviews with ABs in the 80s and they were pretty annoyed at the Aussies going on about it when they ABs barely knew what the Bledisloe was considering they hadn’t lost it in 30 years.
Still not sure how the Freedom Cup works – wikipedia tells me we defended it 1-1 last year. Not sure if it’s on points difference or if like the Bledislow the holder retains it after 1 win
5 Oct 2012, 10:45 am
@willievz-171:
Pops dont use blackberry,thats so 2004. I reckon pops is a Samsung or iphone fella. He has class.
5 Oct 2012, 10:47 am
@Dawn-172: I see. He is probably jetlagged so catching up on some sleep. Or had some shaky lamb curry on the plane. Kiwis in general struggle with jetlag and food poisoning.
@Hurricane-174: True, I reckon his fingers are too big for the Blackberry keys!
5 Oct 2012, 10:51 am
@willievz-175:
hmmm did he catch South African airways?
Boy imagine that flight. Pilot complaining all the way to NZ. Flight Crew complaining about air NZ cos… they dont know why but they will think of something.
And a nice lady serving odd food called senior suzie.
5 Oct 2012, 10:51 am
As a Springbok supporter I obviously want them to win. There are a number of significant factors on their side which don’t need repeating……………..but, the ABs know how to win (15 in a row)by whatever means necessary. New Bok team is still learning how to win and a far from the finished article. Very little can be taken out of the Ozzie game as Oz were painfully weak and weakened even further by injuries during the match. My big worry is the way we lost shape in the last 10 minutes against them – if we do that against NZ we will get smashed…..ABs play for 91 minutes !!!
I hope it will be a fantastic game, in the long tradition of Test Match battles between these two great rivals.
Sitting on the fence is most uncomfotable and for that reason I will pin my colours to the mast….hate to say it but I think the ABs will win. Boks right up there for 55-60 minutes and then ABs will score two tries and put us away by >15.
5 Oct 2012, 10:53 am
@willievz-175:
He said he would be unavailable for a week until he got back to Aus
5 Oct 2012, 11:00 am
@gonzo-173: I’ll answer my own question. Looks like we won the cup in Dunedin. Wikipedia surprisingly slow to be updated
5 Oct 2012, 11:02 am
@Brads-167: didn’t come across that way to me.
5 Oct 2012, 11:08 am
@Jeraldjay-170: kwaaaaaaaaaaa nah, i just appreciate genius
5 Oct 2012, 11:12 am
@viewer-166: Yes, but what of the finite continuam ?
5 Oct 2012, 11:14 am
I think that it will be the Boks by 10-15 as well. Let me explain why I think so. The AB’s have struggled to gel up until now and one may argue they got it right on Sat against the Argies and this in itself will be a confidence booster. What strikes me though is that the AB’s did this against a team that in 4 weeks prior to the 1 week rest had travelled from Argentina to SA , back to Argentina then onto Oz and NZ and back to Argentina before playing the AB’s. I believe that this had an impact on the Argies performance last weekend (I may be wrong but I do think this to be case).
The Springboks on the other hand have settled into a nice combination and carry with them the realization that had they converted their points in NZ, they would have won without the lock pairing that is playing tomorrow. I believe that Eben and Becker are better at putting doubt into the AB’s at lineout time which means the Boks can afford to play the territory game on Sat. Add to that the fact that we have a genuine flyhalf general capable of sparking a backline it means different options in the AB’s half for us.
The AB’s will also be at a disadvantage travel wise when compared to the Bokke. All of the above leads me to predict that the Bok can win by at least 10-15 points on Saturday.
5 Oct 2012, 11:14 am
@Transformation-180:
Mail me that pic of Siya and Eben pls?
5 Oct 2012, 11:16 am
@gonzo-173:
Quite right Gonzo.
The Bledisloe Cup wasn’t even a consideration in matches between Aus and NZ.
Then out of the blue Aus noticed they had the cup in the cupboard and trumpeted the **** out of being the holder.
Red rag to a bull stuff like that to the average Kiwi, let alone the AB’s.
Now we can’t stand the concept of those ******** holding the cup
5 Oct 2012, 11:18 am
NZ Media reports this week had it that Pienaar is set to take the kicks at goal.
Boks by 25.
5 Oct 2012, 11:19 am
@bananaboy-183:
Don’t be so conservative, get ambitious and call as you really see it.
NZ are ****, and the only reason the AB’s staggered to 16 wins on the trot is luck.
5 Oct 2012, 11:20 am
@gonzo-179:
So why don’t you update it?
5 Oct 2012, 11:20 am
@wpstormerbok-186:
What are the odds if other players take the kicks?
5 Oct 2012, 11:22 am
@Tiptackle-182:
by at least 10 to 15 points so a 20 point hiding is on the cards, oh dear one win against a depleted Aus C team and you are going to beat the world champs by at least 10 – 15 points
5 Oct 2012, 11:22 am
@willievz-175:
It’s probably QUANTAS and is still circling trying to make an emergency landing with only one engine.
5 Oct 2012, 11:23 am
That was meant for 183 Banana
5 Oct 2012, 11:29 am
@NZINCHINA-190: Dude, what are you talking about ??? looks like the finite continuam has gotten the better of you……
5 Oct 2012, 11:30 am
@NZINCHINA-192: Sorry ! Just saw you meant a BANANA !!
5 Oct 2012, 11:33 am
@Dawn-184: ok
5 Oct 2012, 11:35 am
This is going to be close. One moment of brilliance will decide this match.
5 Oct 2012, 11:36 am
@Dawn-161:
Jury Duty.
5 Oct 2012, 11:38 am
@rossoneri-196: Agree with you, i dont see a wide margin by either team
5 Oct 2012, 11:42 am
By the way, who is the ref handling this matter?
5 Oct 2012, 11:43 am
@rossoneri-199: Date: Saturday, 6 October 2012
Kick-off: 17.00 (15.00 GMT)
Venue: Soccer City, Soweto
Expected weather conditions: Mostly cloudy with a high of 30°C, dropping to 15°C
Referee: Alain Rolland (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Romain Poite (France), Greg Garner (England)
TMO: Shaun Veldsman (South Africa
5 Oct 2012, 11:43 am
@cane-197: That’s a joke, right?
There’s supposed to be a screening process. Poeps wouldn’t even make the jury in a Jim Carey movie.
5 Oct 2012, 11:44 am
@cane-197:
Had forgotten what I said
That was back at 161
5 Oct 2012, 11:45 am
Oh my hat
Pops doing jury duty?
5 Oct 2012, 11:46 am
What BS – “Heynecke has revealed that his most realistic goal was to remain unbeaten at home this season”. Why did he not say that before he took the job? Seems like he is drinking his own Kool Aid as he keeps moving the goalposts of his ambition and we are expected to believe the **** he is trying to sell. If, as Springbok coach, your goal is to have an unbeaten home record then perhaps you should get another occupation.
5 Oct 2012, 11:50 am
@Dawn-203: Unless it’s one of those redneck reality TV shows where a “jury” votes on some cosmetically challenged family member’s tacky make-over. That would be Poepa’s cup of tea.
5 Oct 2012, 11:54 am
Where’s Cane to explain this travesty of justice.
5 Oct 2012, 11:56 am
Well isn’t Poeps in Oz? Probably a kangaroo court then.
5 Oct 2012, 11:59 am
The game of the season for me. Nothing beats Blacks vs Boks played in South Africa.
And if Blacks win, the record will be broken for bloody sure.
5 Oct 2012, 12:00 pm
@sharks_lover-200: Rolland. Ok. Thanks Sharks lover.
5 Oct 2012, 12:00 pm
@katman-207:
No man
He flew back to NZ yesterday for a week
No communication, he said
5 Oct 2012, 12:01 pm
Canes formula to determine the victor.
Front Row……………….Even.
Locks………………………slight advantage SA. 0.5 points.
Loosies…………………..Even.
Halves…………………….Advantage NZ 1.0 point.
Midfield…………………..Advantage NZ 1.0 point.
Back three………………Advantage NZ. 1.0 point.
Crowd Home Advantage………………………….SA…….1.0 point.
Home Town Subliminal effect on Ref…………SA 1.0 point.
Desire to win…..Slight advantage SA…………….0.5 points.
Current form based on last match…………………..even.
Over-all. That makes it a draw. 3 points each.
Bugger……………………………I’ll need to find a point somewhere else to engineer this thing.
Oooh ……………………………………..Ritchie is going for hist 100th test win……………1.0 point NZ.
5 Oct 2012, 12:01 pm
Vok I hope the accused isn’t South African
5 Oct 2012, 12:03 pm
@Brads-189:
I mentioned that Pienaar will kick for goals (according to NZ Herald reports) because JC has it in his match prediction that Goosen will have that added pressure.
Doesn’t really matter who takes the shots at goal though.
Conditions are perfect for Boks to ambush the AB’s.
Therefor, Republic of South Arica, by 25.
5 Oct 2012, 12:07 pm
@cane-211:
Ritchie going for his 100th victory
Tier 1 Test Record
I hope it blows up in your faces like it did for Boks (J. Smit 2010) and the 17 streak Boks (Twickenham)
5 Oct 2012, 12:08 pm
@wpstormerbok-213:
I wanted to say Boks by 25 but was scared that people will call me crazy.
I do, however, think the Boks will smash the Kiwis tomorrow. By at least 2 scores.
5 Oct 2012, 12:09 pm
@cane-211: Has he 99 wins?
Think about it, he helped to screw the baddies cappie’s ton there, it would be fitting to get himself a winning ton in the exact awesome stadium.
5 Oct 2012, 12:12 pm
@cane-211: Ah, but your calculations didn’t take into account The Golden Goose shaking off his first match jitters and unleashing the full might of his potential on the opposition: 1.0 points right back at ya.
5 Oct 2012, 12:20 pm
@cane-211:
Oooh … Reechie’s 100th
Did you come in your pants slightly?
5 Oct 2012, 12:24 pm
People are slow to respond here
Or maybe this strike just gives me too much time on my hands
5 Oct 2012, 12:26 pm
@David-188: I considered it but I can’t remember my wikipedia log in details and it’s in table format so i’ll need to figure out how to add another row for 2012. That’s beyond me. Posting on here is about as Web 2.0 as i get. I’ll leave it to the professionals
5 Oct 2012, 12:27 pm
@Hurricane-176: Nice one!
5 Oct 2012, 12:28 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-221:
For goodness sake
“Nice one” to something 60 posts back.
5 Oct 2012, 12:29 pm
CANE
Different topic, but I understand you dislike my Griquas?
Is it because we have always won the fight against the ABs?
Do you remember oom Jimmy Young’s red card in 1974?
The beating the NZ Maoris (including Zinzan and Aran Pene) took in 1994 – both the fight and the game?
The 18-18 draw in 1996?
Schweet
5 Oct 2012, 12:30 pm
@willievz-223: sorry 76 not 74
5 Oct 2012, 12:34 pm
@willievz-223: I don’t think Kiwis have the heart to play rugby on an asphalt pitch,actually nobody should.
5 Oct 2012, 12:37 pm
@Dawn-218:
It would be awesome feat Dawn. Unprecedented in the History of International Rugby.
Maybe, never to be repeated.
And hey…………………………………………………………lets keep things seemly.
@katman-217:
The Goose has not yet laid a Golden Egg…………………………………No point allocated
5 Oct 2012, 12:39 pm
@Dawn-222: Could be 160 back, I don’t care…nice ones deserve “applause”!
Been busy and sometimes these threads fill up so quickly it’s irritating.
Specially for a meaningless dead rubber like tomorrow…
5 Oct 2012, 12:41 pm
@cane-226: If you want to see a golden egg, watch young Johan on Saturday. However, you can watch just about half the AB team if you’re into poached eggs.
5 Oct 2012, 12:42 pm
@cane-226:
I am very seemly.
@BrumbiesBoy-227:
You should try striking. Gives you lots of time.
5 Oct 2012, 12:42 pm
@wnbb-225: Do they wear tennis shoes on that “field”? They must have damn thick skin. No way our backs would be taking contact. Kicking and hospital passes galore
5 Oct 2012, 12:47 pm
@willievz-223:
I don’t “dislike” the Griqualand West Rugby Team Willy.
I despise them.
5 Oct 2012, 12:49 pm
@gonzo-230: If the Bulls don’t have the heart for it,than i don’t expect the Kiwis to have any.Kuk stadium and kuk field.Nothing more to add to it.
5 Oct 2012, 12:50 pm
@willievz-215:
On Keo you can basically say whatever you like,
even when you’re wrong,
misplaced your can of whoop @***,
fallen in then out with Meyer on the basis of him not picking your franchise captain,
or in extreme cases even if you sometimes forget to take your meds and just come online to vent your frustrations on a blog,
you can still come back the next day just a bit more braver.
5 Oct 2012, 12:52 pm
@Dawn-229:
I work for a large fruit & veg company in Jhb & one of our drivers was in a precarious situation in Heidelberg, Tvl last week; he was instructed over the radio to “drive, drive, drive & knock them over if they get in your way.”
Funny now but a colleague & I were watching him on satelite tracking at the time and in a very short space of time it showed us…Speed 0km/h..27km/h…54km/h…63km/h…until he was out of immediate danger.
Not bad for a 4-ton truck!!!
5 Oct 2012, 12:53 pm
@cane-231: But why?
5 Oct 2012, 12:55 pm
@wpstormerbok-233:
I was directed to a Sharks fan wesbite, sharksworld I think? I see they are now cockahoop about the Currie Cup playoffs, and how Lambie at 10 for them, is first going to destroy Goosen in the semi-finals, and then as an afterthought ruin Elton Jantjies in the CC final
5 Oct 2012, 12:55 pm
@gonzo-220:
5 Oct 2012, 12:57 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-236: “I was directed to a Sharks fan wesbite, sharksworld I think?”
Oh dear, get away from that site as quickly as possible!! It’s dangerous to your health!
5 Oct 2012, 12:58 pm
As one blogger once put it:
“I always liked the Sharks until I met their supporters online”
5 Oct 2012, 12:58 pm
@Nils-216:
How do you feel about, the very slight possibility, that the AB’s might surpass your brother Lithuanians.
5 Oct 2012, 13:01 pm
@willievz-239:
All 6 of them….
5 Oct 2012, 13:01 pm
@willievz-238: @willievz-239:
Yeah, the folk do seem to be a little ‘obssessed’ in a Jack Torrance sort of way…..
They take it all very seriously…and personally it seems
5 Oct 2012, 13:05 pm
@katman-228:
JC’S PREDICTION: All Blacks by 3
Springboks – 1 to 22………………………………….Scambled Eggs.
All Blacks – 15 Israel Dagg, 14 The Fender Jane, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Top Gear, 10 Daniel, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 the next god, 7 god (c), 6 Liam Messam, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Andrew Hore, 1 Tony Timberdick.
Subs: 16 St. Keven, 17 Ben Franks, 18 Luke Romano, 19 Adam Thomson, 20 Piri Weepu, 21 Aaron Cruden, 22 Tamati Ellison.
5 Oct 2012, 13:10 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-227:
“nice ones deserve “applause”!
And vice versa.
5 Oct 2012, 13:16 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-41:
SALUTE!
5 Oct 2012, 13:24 pm
@cane-243: JC’s prediction? Gimme a break. He couldn’t predict Christmas.
Hang on, we’re talking “JC” Cardinelli here and not the son of god, right? Let me not get on the wrong end of a lightning strike.
5 Oct 2012, 13:30 pm
@katman-246:
You will not know the day or the hour of the strike.
But you will fry.
……………………………………………..sunny side up.
5 Oct 2012, 13:36 pm
@cane-247: Hey, why don’t you eggsaggerate a little?
5 Oct 2012, 13:39 pm
@katman-248: You shouldn’t yolk about these things
5 Oct 2012, 13:42 pm
@Atreides-249: I shell try not to, but cane cracks me up.
5 Oct 2012, 13:46 pm
@katman-250: Don’t egg him on
5 Oct 2012, 13:48 pm
@Atreides-251: I think you can do better, but omelette you get away with that one.
5 Oct 2012, 13:51 pm
@katman-252: it’s not ova. I’ll never be beaten!
5 Oct 2012, 13:53 pm
@Atreides-253: Hah, soufflé.
5 Oct 2012, 13:56 pm
@katman-254: We clearly need to get laid
5 Oct 2012, 13:58 pm
Both of your minds are scrambled…
5 Oct 2012, 14:00 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-236: ag shame still hurting from the SR semi? must have hurt shame!
5 Oct 2012, 14:01 pm
Albumentioning how poor that one was to Katman
5 Oct 2012, 14:03 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-256:
Don’t egg on these two clowns BB.
5 Oct 2012, 14:06 pm
@cane-259: Think I should chicken out?
5 Oct 2012, 14:09 pm
The UK odd makers put the AB to win at 1 to 1.8, NZ bookies put its a 1 to 1.1
Our Bookies will take a Abs a 1:2, not much faith there
Got to be close, Rolland has his integrity already questioned by the ABs with Paddy so he won’t be able to swindle it as he did against the Wallabies, he will be VERY careful this time
Not great news for the Boks, also, with none of its forwards based at altitude, here goes away another friend of the Boks
The Boks can win it but only if HM could keep JdJ and Jantjies long enough on the bench
The match will go 5-8 for the Boks
5 Oct 2012, 14:15 pm
@Atreides-251: @katman-252: @BrumbiesBoy-260:
Goodnight. You clever bastarrds.
5 Oct 2012, 14:17 pm
@Atreides-258: That’s better. Not quite a pullet surprise effort, but commendable.
And with that I’ll make my egg sit.
5 Oct 2012, 14:18 pm
@cane-262: Cheers caner….
5 Oct 2012, 14:19 pm
@katman-263: Cheers i’m f ucking oeuf too
5 Oct 2012, 14:22 pm
White people going home early again
No wonder we have to strike
5 Oct 2012, 14:23 pm
@cane-262: ‘Night Cane, don’t brood over tomorrow’s game too much.
5 Oct 2012, 14:28 pm
Good article by Graeme Joffe on news24. He’s criticizing Keo again about his hidden agenda’s regarding the Kings… Haha
5 Oct 2012, 14:28 pm
@Dawn-266: We have you people to do the work for us
Now just have to figure out how to stop you farking everything up when we’re not around to keep an eye on you
ke ke ke ke
5 Oct 2012, 14:29 pm
@Atreides-269:
No problem
We just strike!
5 Oct 2012, 14:31 pm
you don’t strike me as the striking type. Though you are quite striking, apparently
5 Oct 2012, 14:35 pm
@Atreides-271:
Totally
5 Oct 2012, 14:38 pm
Wonder where the Maverick’s plane is today
5 Oct 2012, 14:42 pm
@Atreides-273:
Pilot got bored of flying around in circles
5 Oct 2012, 14:43 pm
Back later.
Just going to visit the bookies re: tomorrow’s war.
But am not going to put them all in one basket…
5 Oct 2012, 16:29 pm
@viewer-54:
Some people just post any old thing to support their race agenda. Yes, I am talking about you.
5 Oct 2012, 18:24 pm
@NZINCHINA-71: The old ones just smile.
5 Oct 2012, 18:27 pm
@Te Rangatira-106: With Boere danse??
5 Oct 2012, 18:30 pm
@ryecatcher-278: 5 minutes of volkspele.
Kappies and all
5 Oct 2012, 18:37 pm
This could be taken out of context or maybe it’s just his English isn’t exactly poetic but is this something Becker would really say? From rugbyheaven.co.nz
=============
Becker had no problems with Stormers second-row partner Eben Etzebeth head-butting Wallabies opposite Nathan Sharpe recently.
Etzebeth also copped a two-week ban for those actions, but, turns out, Becker encourages that sort of behaviour.
“A guy like Eben you don’t need to speak a lot to him. You just tell him ‘listen, go out and hurt people’,” Bekker said.
“You need to pitch up with physicality against the All Blacks. If you don’t, they’re going to give you 50 points.
“You know when you tackle a guy hard and his shoulder pops, it’s not by mistake. It’s good work from our team. We back ourselves as the best pack in the world. Confidence-wise that’s a big boost for us.”
5 Oct 2012, 18:38 pm
@STBUR-276:
Pompous idiot. What’s race got do with that comment?
5 Oct 2012, 18:39 pm
@gonzo-280: For starters, they’ve spelled his name wrong
5 Oct 2012, 18:58 pm
Is STBUR and Tacitus the same blogger?
5 Oct 2012, 19:16 pm
@willievz-283:
Nah, Tac has far more class that that.
6 Oct 2012, 01:46 am
@cane-240: Perfectly fine, in any case Lithuanians have stamped their name in history books already.
And I would not say, it’s “slight” possibility, IMHO, Blacks are more than capable to deal with hosts today and in case of mission accomplished in Highveld there is almost no chance for Ozzies in their current state of disarray/injuries (alright, it’s Australia so I won’t write them off completely even now) and then it’s definitely no chance for Scots and Italians. So basically only Bokke stand in the way.