Blacklash buries Boks

JON CARDINELLI, reporting from Soccer City, watched the All Blacks punish the Springboks in the latter stages of Saturday’s Test to win 32-16.

Usually you have to wait until the end of a game for the climax, but for the South African fans at Soccer City, the best time to be around was in that period before kickoff, and the 20 minutes thereafter.

The Calabash wasn’t filled to capacity, but then 80 000 people can still make one helluva racket. Picture the majority of that 80 000 screaming the lyrics of Nkosi Sikelel iAfrika and then drowning out the Kapa o Pango, the All Blacks’ special haka reserved for big contests. If you didn’t feel the prickle of gooseflesh in that opening salvo, you must be made out of stone.

And then the Boks played. They clattered into the collisions. They pilfered lineout ball and assaulted the All Blacks’ scrum. They used that set-piece platform to good effect, scoring from a lineout near halfway.

Not many teams score against the All Blacks, and very few do it from first phase. And to go 50m for that five pointer – well it would have to be something special. It certainly was.

From the lineout, the ball flew to Duane Vermeulen who immediately turned his back to the opposition and offloaded to team-mate Francois Louw. Louw then did the same, and the move worked in that the other member of the Bok loose trio, Willem Alberts, was free to hit the gap.

The All Blacks managed to bring Alberts down but not before the big man tossed the ball up for a support player. The All Blacks attempted to intercept this pass, but only succeeded in knocking it further backward and out of reach. Jean de Villiers succeeded in coming through and winning the ball, and then finding the omnipresent Bryan Habana. When the winger rounded the poles, the crowd erupted. It was a thrilling standalone moment.

Johan Goosen had missed two difficult penalty attempts earlier in the half, but he made no mistake with this conversion or his subsequent penalty attempt. The result was a 10-0 advantage for the Boks. Against all expectations, the underdogs had raced to a commanding lead.

But soft moments – a phrase coined by Heyneke Meyer to describe his side’s tendency to lapse – have cost the Boks all season, and it was a series of soft moments that saw the Boks relinquishing this big lead.

The Boks lost concentration in the period before half-time. Bad decisions and unforced errors allowed the All Blacks back into the game, first through a try by Sam Whitelock and then another by Aaron Smith.

Elton Jantjies, on for the injured Goosen, kicked some important goals to keep the Boks in front, but as the two teams headed down the tunnel, you got the sense that the momentum had shifted in the visitors’ favour.

This was confirmed when the All Blacks scored in the first movement of the second half. The kickoff wasn’t claimed and the ball was shifted wide. Kieran Read found space down the right-hand flank and raced 40m before popping the ball to Ma’a Nonu for the try.

The Boks’ defence went from bad to worse. The All Blacks succeeded in stretching them out wide on a number of occasions, and worryingly, the Boks were starting to fall off tackles.

It was an embarrassing moment when the All Blacks cantered in for their fourth try, Conrad Smith scoring from a first-phase move. Having trailed by 10 points at one stage, the All Blacks were now 10 points ahead.

There was no way back for the Boks. Dan Carter, who looked all too mortal at times with some unforced errors of his own, began to find form as the game progressed. He booted a 60m monster of a penalty to extend the lead to 13, and then nailed a drop goal a few moments later to widen the gap to 16.

A 16-point win can’t be called ugly. The All Blacks came to play the Boks on the Highveld, and while they had already secured the Rugby Championship title, they needed to win to keep their dream of breaking the record for most consecutive Test victories alive.

The pressure was on, and when it mattered, they delivered.

The Boks played well in patches, but their effort and precision wasn’t on point in the second stanza.

They will lament the mistakes that led to try-scoring opportunities for the All Blacks, and what amounted to a hiding on the scoreboard will serve as a reminder that while they are rated No 2 in the world, they’re still a long way behind this mighty All Blacks side.

591 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 1112 » Show All

• 251.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Nils-248:
    Yeah i wondered that. I thought the Bok started in 3rd place on the rankings or were they 4th when the played England?

• 252.nama1: Reply to this comment

@snivelling little kiwi pricks-242:
    What is it that you and others don’t understand? We don’t play counter attacking rugby and therefor we don’t need a FB who can attack from the back.

Kirchner was, I think, the FB with the 2nd most tries in the S15 (behind Taylor), an indication that he can join the line and score tries.

You guys have started something wrt Kirchner without any real evidence and you are going to run with it no matter what. That’s your prerogative.

Lambie has started 6 matches a FB without scoring a try. What does that say about his attacking ability from the back? Absolutely VOKKOL.

Taute and Coetzee are not even worthy to be discussed AT THIS STAGE. Let them go and perform at CC level. They are good at it.

We are talking INTERNATIONAL level here.

PS: Taute did not do well in his two chances so far.

• 253.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-250:

Hurri the greatest player ever, its scary to think that he’ll also lead us to glory in 2015. That was a magnificent performance last night in the heart of enemy territory.

• 254.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-250: @NZINCHINA-245: Since he was appointed as skipped in May 2006 Blacks have lost mere 13 Tests from 90. In those Tests, played mainly vs the best of both hemispheres, only 4 teams – South Africa, Australia, France and Barbarians have enjoyed their rare moments under the sun.

The ratio vs the big boys

South Africa 12 – 6
    Australia 18 – 4
    France 9 – 2
    England 6 – 0
    Wales 6 – 0
    Ireland 9 – 0
    Scotland 3 – 0
    Argentina 4 – 0

That is quite a notable result.

• 255.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Nils-248:
    That was a cheap shot by HM when he told the media that he got a 4th ranked team and already took them to 2nd. Guess it was a little jibe at PdV.

I’m actually asking about the RC log? I see that supersport has SA at no.2 because of a better points difference (+11 vs Aus -36) even though both teams ended on 12 points.

Don’t you look at “games won” first where Aus won 3 and SA 2? What is the rules in the RC wrt this?

• 256.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-251: Technically, Meyer got the Boks as 4th ranked as he was appointed in February. Yet Boks first played in June while then 3rd ranked France got a disasterous 6N and thus crashed down the ladder.

• 257.Nils: Reply to this comment

@nama1-255: The SANZAR site have final standings with Boks 3rd.

• 258.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Nils-254:

incredible really, now to defend Bill in 15′, a knighthood and he’s done

• 259.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Boks 3rd, Agries saved them from another wooden spoon.

• 260.kwas: Reply to this comment

Keo the rugby genius had Boks by 7. Instead they got gangraped by a superior side in every aspect of the game. Jean Div – time to call it quits, bud. You were absolutely dreadful on attack. The All Blacks backline did everything at pace and destroyed Jean’s hopeless padres.

• 261.nama1: Reply to this comment

I had an interesting discussion with a friend of mine yesterday. The topic of discussion was deans and his 58%(?) record as coach of Aus.

His defense in favour of deans was that Deans’ performance against the rest of the world must be around 80% and that it is only his weak record vs NZ that is a black dot on an overall very good record as coach for AUS.

Can anyone maybe put his stats out there? Overall stats and the stats minus All Blacks.

• 262.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

KEO just flips a coin.

• 263.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Nils-257:
    That makes more sense to me.

Thanks.

• 264.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Nils-254:
    “The ratio vs the big boys
    South Africa 12 – 6″

…and 5 out of the 6 was when PdV was coach, no? :wink:

Interesting….

• 265.Nils: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-258: To be honest, injuries and/or honourable age may prevent him to be in full glory in the next WC. I’d be pleasantly surprised if he proves me wrong and does well like Thorn last time. Let’s wait and see.

Of course, he is a legend – either loved or hated. (And most of those haters would be happy to have him on THEIR side.)

About the knighthood – well, IMHO, that’s nothing but a shiny royal toy. I’d better see him politely declining that useless thing.

@nama1-261: Deans have 67 Tests as Aussie coach. 40 wins, 1 draw, 26 losses (18 of them from the Blacks).

• 266.Nils: Reply to this comment

@nama1-264: Well, no wonder as Boks has one dominant 3N season with 3-0. Ahem, followed by 0-3. ;)

• 267.Nils: Reply to this comment

@nama1-261: My apologies, I got it wrong. Deans has lost to the Blacks 13 times, not 18.

• 268.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Nils-265:
    Do you mean 18 losses against NZ or 18 matches?

@Nils-266:
    Hahaha…

I was just getting it in there. Many Kiwis saw PdV as a joke but he still has one of the best records against NZ as coach. 11 games, 5 wins and 6 losses. :lol:

• 269.Nils: Reply to this comment

@nama1-268: One thing I can tell you, I miss PDV’s verbal controversies. He was the Entertainer.

• 270.Nils: Reply to this comment

@nama1-268: Alright, mate, it’s 5 AM and soon little bullies will try to wake me up, so I have to hit the pillow fast if I hope to avoid being zombie tomorrow.

Cheers!

P.S. Yes, PDV has a nice record vs the Blacks. Almost 50% which selected few have ever managed worldwide. Although one must say only in one 3N season his chargees were making the opponents quake in their boots, while BIL series were, to put it mildly, controversially won and straight after glorious 3N season wheels came off never to be fitted back properly again. Plus, his debut season wasn’t too flashy either.

• 271.kwas: Reply to this comment

What a waste of time – trying to compare Meyer’s record vs PDivvy. PDivvy is gone. We honestly don’t give a sh#t about his record. We just care about the here and now.

And Bryan – you don’t have to cut inside every goddamn time you get the ball. It is so predictable it makes us sick. Elton gave you the perfect pass to score in the corner. Instead you cut inside and the ball bounces off your shoulder. And again you rush up in defense and the All Blacks flous jou and score.

• 272.The Donkeys Egg: Reply to this comment

Dont cry for Sth Africa, Argentina

Truth is, the Spoon never left them.

All through the TriNations

Their bad existence

They’ll broke their promise

And run in to the distance.

• 273.nama1: Reply to this comment

@kwas-271:
    Ag man, I just remembered how people compared Divvies record in 2008 with that of JW in 2004 after their respective 1st years as coach. A lot was made of the fact that JW won the 3N in his 1st year then.

You sure you not one of those who did that? :lol:

Agree with your point re Habana and him cutting inside when he should’ve stayed wide and went for the corner.

• 274.Yellowhairman: Reply to this comment

@cab-113: you think the Boks are better….? HELLO and wake up…

• 275.Yellowhairman: Reply to this comment

@humblekiwi-116: happy to do that, I am just throwing it right back at them…they have no such conscience when doing it to us…I am more than happy to give credit where credit is due….but I despair at the constant search for excuses, it’s the ref, of it’s the captain, or it’s whatever. Yes I agree the Boks will come back one day, but from where I sit I cant see them displacing the AB’s and that is not NOT BEING HUMBLE – just a fact…but point taken.

• 276.Brads: Reply to this comment

@nama1-261:
    Played Wins Ratio
    Total played 66 39 59.1%
    Versus NZ 17 3 17.6%
    Versus SA 14 9 64.3%
    All Others 35 27 77.1%

• 277.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

Spouth Africans never cease to amaze. Last week, Keo incuded, all were adamant that the Boks will defeat the Blacks. Based on what? Duneden where the All blacks had an off day? Or the win against the Aussies? It helps to be objective and leave emotion out of these things. It is difficult I know. As that great man united once said something to the effect _ football is more important/better than life itself.

I think everyone has been brought down to earth now. All Blacks are carrying the torch now and it has been the case for a looooooong time. Unpalatable truth to some unfortunately. But I think it is good for rugby with the attractive rugby played by the Blacks. Imagine if Boks were winning with their donkey rugby? Almighty have mercy on us.

• 278.Black Power: Reply to this comment

After a good nights sleep you Yarpies must be keen to watch the highlights of the test match, click on link below

http://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/rugby/our-experts/7780405/Untouchable-All-Blacks-take-game-to-next-level

• 279.catleya: Reply to this comment

@nama1-255: That’s nothing new. It’s vintage Meyer. He turns on his players on a whim. Even his legends like Matfield, Bakkies, Gurthro, Danie R, FdP were part of that 4th ranked team. In his eyes back then they were the best there was. That was less than a year ago. Now he belittles them and sells them short because now it is all about him and his narcisism. He has to be seen as the Messiah at all costs from his perspective. What an absolute idiot! Why not admit we were beaten by a better team and he hasn’t gotten everything right first time round? There is no shame in being wrong occassionally. Why try to garner justification through lame statements like that? What and ego!

• 280.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

We have moved backwards… He has issued jerseys to every Tom, D ick and Sally, especially to being true to blue…

We are wasting our time on this messiah… his bark is bigger than his actual bite. HM is the weakest link….GOODBYE…

• 281.Dawn: Reply to this comment

China you are a real hoot!

• 282.catleya: Reply to this comment

In fact, if he had his way, every one of those would’ve been part of his team. See what I mean? Give him enough rope and he hangs himself.

• 283.nkqo6: Reply to this comment

kumnandi ke uvathela ezizibhanxa , zithetha kakhulu . allblacks masithi gqolo ukuthela igwanqa kwaba

• 284.Dawn: Reply to this comment

“NZINCHINA Says:
    October 7th, 2012 at 3:00 am
    @Hurricane-250:

Hurri the greatest player ever, its scary to think that he’ll also lead us to glory in 2015. That was a magnificent performance last night in the heart of enemy territory.”

• 285.Black Power: Reply to this comment

South Africans are in awe of Richie McCaw
    LIAM NAPIER IN JOHANNESBURG
    Last updated 05:00 07/10/2012

Richie McCaw World Cup
    IAIN MCGREGOR
    MORE PLEASE: Richie McCaw holds aloft the Webb Ellis Cup in 2011.
    Related Links
    Richie McCaw: ‘I won’t just hang around’ Richie truly is McCaw-some Mission impossible: Meads vs McCaw McCaw greatest exponent of the game
    All Blacks
    All Blacks outclass the Springboks in Soweto Dan opts to play as Tokyo tempts Nonu South Africans are in awe of Richie McCaw Sky the limit for All Blacks, says Boks skipper Reluctant recruit Jane proves his wares All Blacks face season-defining test in Jo-burg Hosea needs to get in gear against Springboks Savea ‘given a breather’ for Springboks game All Blacks kick back, Springboks talk kicks Dagg’s new appreciation for All Blacks jersey

Richie McCaw is respected and revered in South Africa – and hated.

His cult-figure status is not confined to New Zealand.

Our greatest rugby foes loathe to admit it, but they, too, believe he is superhuman – a cut above most of their legends.

Esteemed figures such as Naas Botha, Danie Craven, Joost van der Westhuizen, Francois Pienaar, John Smit and Frik du Preez were superb Boks. None are of McCaw’s stature.

“It hurts to say this, but simply put, possibly the best rugby player that has lived,” said Gary Gold, Springboks forwards coach from 2008-11.

Gold’s view is commonly held, but a strong level of animosity towards the inspirational All Blacks captain is also prevalent.

“He has a few detractors here who think he cheats a bit, but which opensides don’t?” former All Blacks and Lions coach John Mitchell said.

“I tend to get my pistols up a bit when I hear the cheating calls.

“He’s like a good politician. The good ones stay in power.”

McCaw’s understanding of rugby’s intricacies allows him to exploit the laws and referees. His status as one of the greatest players means he gets away with infringements others could not.

In this arena, Springboks coach Heyneke Meyer feels McCaw lives on the edge better than anyone.

“For the South African public he is a guy they sometimes hate, but it’s because he’s so professional with the referees he gets away with it,” Meyer explains. “In South Africa if they hate you, you are a cult figure. It shows the respect because they know he is such a great competitor at the breakdown.”

Down the line, when the 31-year-old retires, his place on the pedestal is assured worldwide. But, until then, he will continue to cause outcry.

“I’ve seen it with guys like Sean Fitzpatrick, once they finish playing the respect is even more and they accommodate those guys, but when they’re playing there’s a different feeling,” Meyer said.

McCaw’s status is reflected in the way the Boks have targeted him – often illegally – over the years. There’s not just been one enforcer; many have had a crack, tried to provoke him during a match, take him out altogether.

“Sometimes I don’t know how he can walk but he just keeps on going,” Meyer said.

Some staunch South Africans believe McCaw deserves everything he gets.
    Ad Feedback

Dean Greyling was the latest to use thuggery – the prop’s elbow to McCaw’s head in Dunedin was a brutal, but not rare, act.

In many respects the impulse to lash out is a badge of honour for the All Blacks captain; recognition that his ability on the floor, work-rate and leadership frustrate the opposition to breaking point.

“I normally had my big friend Bakkies [Botha] so I got him to try to sort him out,” former Bulls captain and Boks centurion Victor Matfield recalls. “If you couldn’t sort him out at the breakdown, the chances of winning the game were very tough.

“Although he plays close to the law he doesn’t give a lot of penalties away. He’s very clever at getting away with things.”

Matfield believes no-one is exempt from admiring McCaw now he has played over 100 tests and won a world cup.

“When he talks to the referees, they listen to him. He can get the referee to make certain calls because of what he’s done in his career. He’s very influential.”

Those examples illustrate the love-hate relationship South Africans have with McCaw.

While some Boks supporters enjoy seeing him targeted off the ball, a compelling level of respect also exists among those with measured, valued opinions.

Former Boks coach Nick Mallett believes McCaw is the best openside flanker in history, describing him as tireless, courageous and understated.

“It is his captaincy that sets him apart,” Mallett said. “Leading from the front and always setting the example. Modest, he is the perfect New Zealand captain.”

Meyer reckons McCaw’s presence is worth 10 to 15 points to any side.

And Gold’s remarkable statistics back up those assertions.

After some in-depth analysis, the now Bath director found McCaw often had more than 70 contributions per game – incredible considering the ball is in play for 40 minutes on average. That’s almost two contributions per minute and 92 per cent of those were positive.

“If you look at the games South Africa has beaten the All Blacks, not many of those Richie has played. I’ve never seen him play a bad game,” Meyer said.

“Personally, the thing that impresses me most is the type of person he is. He’s always humble in victory and gracious in defeat, although he hasn’t lost a lot of test matches.”

In 2006, after the All Blacks played at Loftus Versfeld, Meyer took his son, Vic, to meet McCaw, who spent 10 minutes with the star-struck youngster.

It is an occasion he will never forget.

“My kid is a big Richie McCaw fan,” Meyer said. “After the match he gave his boots to my son. That’s the type of thing the public doesn’t always see.”

Those boots are now a framed memento.

Some South Africans have an unfavourable perception of the great No 7. But the large majority agree with Kiwis that he is a great player, and person.

- © Fairfax NZ News

| S

• 286.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Still waiting for that “Peaches”

• 287.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@Black Power-285:

A win against a very average Bok side and now he is the messiah too…

Too many messiahs at the moment… :lol:

Richie is a great player and person yes. The best ever, well that is debateable…

• 288.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Us girls love Reechie

• 289.garth: Reply to this comment

1. Dropped iPhone in the toilet.
    2. Remembered it’s dead brothers birthday.
    3. Boks loose like little biatches.
    4. Dad dies.

Good times!

• 290.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Yellowhairman

Are you new here? Are you Jerry?

• 291.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Garth that isn’t funny

• 292.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

Our Currie Cup has become a watered down competition with very little interest in it anymore. The sooner the powers that be incorporate it into the Super Rugby competition the better. Vodacom Cup is the place where youngsters should be groomed. Who actually cares who wins it? Our rugby is regressing at the rates of knots and we need some sort of injection to ensure that we can become competitive with the Kiwis… The playing style of our Bok team hasn’t changed for years now – just a different person in charge. We need to become inventive and creative and stop putting the blame on a young team, etc… We need to take accountability for our poor style and accept the fact that we will be losing more than winning if we continue in this style.

Only Province supporters were vocal at first but now the whole country is singing from the same page…

• 293.RL: Reply to this comment

After sleeping on it I have come to the solution -Heineken and his Bully assistants must go! Fokof polisie car I say to them.

2 from 6 and 2 from 3 is a pathetic 44% win ratio. Wtf Heineken I wanted 80% you thick plank.

• 294.Black Power: Reply to this comment

Gumboots

Yesterday you were all saying that the Boks are world beaters, now they are average. Strange lot you Yarpies

• 295.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@Black Power-294:

Please show me where I said that. You obviously don’t follow what I say… I have been very vocal about SA rugby, not only now, but for some time. We are playing stupid rugby and I have said forever we can play who we like and we will continue losing… Before you make statements make sure of your facts…

Well done with your team. As I have said many times they are light years ahead of any other…

• 296.garth: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-291: Not a good day.

• 297.cab: Reply to this comment

Yes McCaw is indeed the greatest (cheat) to ever pull on a rugby jersey – hw can’t help himself, did you see yesterday when kirchener was tackled and nothing emerged from the ruck – and astruse kakapo who was at tge bottom of tge ruck tricky fingers mccaw. That bugger is worth 20 pts to the abs such is his proficency in the dark arts. As a player, I think IRS all a bit of hyperbole – he’s a very fit slow player who gets through alot of tackles, as a cheater, he is magnificent.

• 298.RL: Reply to this comment

@cab-297: he should be targeted not on the face but on his knees and ankles – take the filthy cheat out where it hurts and end him.

• 299.cab: Reply to this comment

Then there was the incident when he was tackled and got up on the wrong side of the ruck and fumbled all over it pretending to try get up – that bugger would do columbo proud acting the bumbling fool – and that’s just the **** we can see – magnificent.

• 300.cab: Reply to this comment

RL – that’s what the boks try do – they get furious and want to moer him – which he likes evenmore cos then they get sent off or penalised – there are prob better opensides in NZ but he is an irreplaceable genius at cheating. Worth 20pts at least.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 1112 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.