Springboks 16 All Blacks 32

GARETH DUNCAN brought you live commentary from the Rugby Championship Test at Soccer City.

FULL TIME: SPRINGBOKS 16 ALL BLACKS 32

80 mins: All Blacks get a penalty as the clocks ticks over the 80th minute. Replacement flyhalf Aaron Cruden steps up to kick some extra points, but he misses the penalty. Rolland blows the final whistle. ALL BLACKS WIN 32-16!

76 mins: All Blacks easing to victory. Forcing South Africa to play from their own territory. Poor kicks not aiding the hosts.

72 mins: ALL BLACK PENALTY! The All Blacks suffocating the Springboks, even with 14 men during this final quarter. Carter then punishes the hosts with his first penalty of the match. ALL BLACKS LEAD 32-16!

68 mins: Springboks on the front foot in the Kiwi red zone. However, South Africa lose the ball forward, 5m out from the tryline.

66 mins: YELLOW CARD! Dagg gets sin binned as the All Blacks give away another penalty. Rolland reminds the fullback that his team was on a warning.

64 mins: ALL BLACK DROP GOAL! Carter finds space and time at first receiver, and decides to pot an easy three-pointer. ALL BLACKS LEAD 29-16!

59 mins: Springbok attack gets going from the lineout, and they’re 5m out. However, a quick pass from Jantjies pops out from Habana’s grasps and the All Blacks escape.

58 mins: Springboks get a kickable penalty, but De Villiers orders the side to look for the try and they kick for touch.

56 mins: Springboks concede a penalty on the halfway mark. Carter has the chance to build on to this comfortable lead, but he pulls his effort.

54 mins: ALL BLACK TRY! From an 8m scrum, a smart backline move puts outside centre Conrad Smith through for a great try. Carter kicks the extras. ALL BLACKS LEAD 26-16!

52 mins: GREAT RUN! Gear showing his strength as ball carrier, bumping off three tackles as he rushes into the Springbok red zone.

49 mins: Jantjies misses his next goal attempt as it hits the post. Missing crucial points here.

48 mins: Rolland hands Richie McCaw and his All Blacks an official warning for poor discipline. This after New Zealand give away their ninth penalty away.

47 mins: Jantjies gets another shot at goal, kicks it flat, but misses.

46 mins: GREAT STEAL! Louw showing his quality in the Springbok No 6 jersey. He’s clearly made a difference since joining the team. Gives South Africa another kickable penalty.

41 mins: ALL BLACKS TRY! New Zealand score immediately. An offload from Dagg puts No 8 Kieran Read into space, and he’s tackled short. But he pops the ball up to Nonu, who dots down easily. Carter converts. ALL BLACKS LEAD 19-16!

41 mins: Carter gets things on the way again with a high kick-off, and lock Brodie Retalick steals possession. And from the resulting breakdown, the All Blacks are looking dangerous.

HALF-TIME: SPRINGBOKS 16 ALL BLACKS 12

40 mins: SPRINGBOK PENALTY! All Blacks concede another penalty as they crumble at scrum in centre field. Jantjies slots it, which is the final move of the half. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 16-12!

36 mins: SPRINGBOK PENALTY! Doesn’t take long for Jantjies to perform his duties as the All Blacks concede a penalty with inside centre Ma’a Nonu caught offside. The Lions flyhalf lines up and slots his first points in Test rugby. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 13-12!

34 mins: Goosen limps off early, and Elton Jantjies comes on for an early run-on off the bench.

33 mins: ALL BLACK TRY! Habana’s eye for the intercept allows the visitors to have an extra man out wide on attack. Fullback Zane Kirchner is drawn in, and wing Hosea Gear shades him on his inside and puts scrumhalf Aaron Smith through for the try. Carter converts. ALL BLACKS LEAD 12-10!

30 mins: Goosen struggling with a knee injury, and limping badly. Elton Jantjies warms up on the sidelines.

28 mins: All Blacks showing some good confidence. Whitelock beats lock Andries Bekker to the ball in the lineouts off a Springbok throw.

27 mins: ALL BLACKS TRY! From the counter-attack, New Zealand expose the space out side and lock Sam Whitelock bashes over. Flyhalf Dan carter misses the conversion. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 10-5!

25 mins: FANTASTIC COUNTER RUCK! The All Blacks burst into the Springbok 22m area after collecting a spilled ball inside their own red zone. Loosehead prop Beast Mtawarira and wing Francois Hougaard drive over the ball, and Boks get it back. Outside centre Jaco Taute clears, but it’s not out.

23 mins: Springboks commanding play in this match so far. All Blacks starved of possession.

21 mins: SPRINGBOK PENALTY! Goosen kicks over an easy penalty to stretch South Africa’s lead. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 10-0!

20 mins: Great attacking pressure from the Springboks. Doing very well against a strong All Blacks defence. Again, Rolland finds an offence in the visitors’ guard – this time, offside.

12 mins: SPRINGBOK TRY! From a set-piece from a midfield lineout, the Springboks force gaps into the All Blacks defence with clever interplay. While the ball looked like it went forward from flank Francois Louw, referee said it went back off a defender’s hand. Captain Jean de Villiers gathers the loose ball, and puts wing Bryan Habana into space. Goosen converts the easy extras. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 7-0!

8 mins: The All Blacks have been penalised twice at the lineouts so far.

5 mins: All Blacks contesting well on defence, but concede another penalty. This time, from a midfield scrum as flank Liam Messam tries to poach possession from the side. Goosen steps up again … and this time his effort hits the post. Things not going the kid’s way this afternoon.

3 mins: Goosen misses the 40m effort.

2 mins: Great defensive effort from the All Blacks, driving the Springboks back on attack. However, the concede a kickable penalty as the forwards drive through the breakdowns from the side. Goosen gets an early pop at goal.

KICK-OFF: Springbok flyhalf Johan Goosen starts the match with a deep kick-off. All Blacks take it in neatly, and fullback Israel Dagg clears the ball. Not much distance though.

Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jaco Taute, 12 Jean de Villiers (c), 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermuelen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Coenie Oosthuizen, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Marcel Coetzee, 20 Elton Jantjies, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Pat Lambie.

All Blacks – 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Hosea Gear, 10 Daniel Carter, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (c), 6 Liam Messam, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Andrew Hore, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Subs: 16 Keven Mealamu, 17 Ben Franks, 18 Luke Romano, 19 Adam Thomson, 20 Piri Weepu, 21 Aaron Cruden, 22 Tamati Ellison.

551 Comments

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 » Show All

• 451.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

Love Ashwin. He says, What are the defence coach and kicking coach doing? Are they doing anything? :)

• 452.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-422:
    have a good night, hurri

• 453.grant100: Reply to this comment

2 big lessons for lions rugby supporters…Elton only good vs weak teams…. Lions are kak….. Easy to beat sharks, wp, bulls and cheetahs c teams

• 454.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

Hougaard to 9
    Now Goose is gone its the end of the line at fly half who’s next

Mallet is the only fundie in this country qualified to run this game. Meyer is way out of his league.

De Jongh the only midfield presence who would keep that gain line clean. Taute is a shocker.

• 455.dermie: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-428: got the ABs 13+but missed h/t margin ABs 1-7,nearly though.

• 456.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-449:
    Cheers Rob.

• 457.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

Well done AB’s.

The!r ?s no subst!tute for sk!ll.

Why go for the p!ck and dr!ve when you play?ng aga!nst 14.

• 458.Mostofyou: Reply to this comment

All these ‘rugby boertjies’ focussing on real crumbs.

Blame you deceitful pinkiepig media for half of them say SOWETO and the tv read Orlando Park Stadium.
    Now in terms of 1976 black history how more emotive can you get than those two names of ORLANDO and SOWETO?

• 459.chch: Reply to this comment

@Ex-445:

Which would only be the 400th error by our media this week. Our media are pretty poor for accuracy.

• 460.cab: Reply to this comment

421 you nonu’s big mama?

Abs backs carved bokke a new ******* today – and still boks don’t pick attacking centres – they’ll concentrate in their fkn DEFENCE again – attack gdam morons united.

• 461.dermie: Reply to this comment

habanna?intercepts,low% look what happens when it doesn’t come off,plus can’t tackle to save his life.

• 462.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cab-443:
    ek h.oor jou, cab
    geniet die res van die aand
    tjeers

@Hurricane-448:
    i will post the definitive list of all the nz infringements sometime tomorrow, hurricane.
    i may miss some but will do my best to give a blow by blow account

• 463.corporal punishment: Reply to this comment

A few points to note:

- the ABs coped with the travel factor ok, didn’t empty the bench. Altitude not a factor either.
    - richie gets his 100th win, at a nearly 90% success rate. Incredible. Others will hit 100′wins in the future with the amount of rugby being played, but hard to see anyone, including from the all blacks, doing so with that winning percentage
    - winning 6 out of 6 in the rugby championship is no mean feat either. That won’t happen too often.
    - all blacks have a game against the wallabies at the end of the month to equal the bok\ab record of 17 consecutive wins. Shapes as a banana skin match for the all blacks. Can they really keep this level of intensity going? And whon will the bok fans be supporting in that match??

• 464.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-452:
    Bakkies, just need to cooldown and relax brother, I saw what we did at some breakdowns
    , some were illegal. Conrad covered the ball,Reid collapsing the maul 5m from the line which
    should have been either a penalty try or a sent off.
    But not all the game was plagues with bad play like that. Boks got away with a bit but
    your backs need help.

• 465.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-456:

Good man… an well done to your team, they were awesome during the last two weeks.

• 466.Mostofyou: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-457:

See my post #44 and #375

• 467.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Orlando Park stadium?

Where is that

• 468.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-462:
    Cool,make sure you include all the Boks ones as well…. :-)

• 469.grant100: Reply to this comment

Boks looked good with goosen… When the bushman came on, things went pear shaped…..

• 470.cab: Reply to this comment

Naand Bakkies – toe maar volgende keer kom die bokke miskien reg.

ET is happier than n pinkiepig in die poeperig.

• 471.toby: Reply to this comment

To all the Bok supporter’s who have been saying this is a very average All Black team….your disrespect just bit you in the bum…..

Most Kiwis will never say the Boks are an average team we respect them….and to all those bagging Habana I say **** you..he is a legend of the game….

• 472.dermie: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-468: ie,a couple of shocking forward passes missed.

• 473.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-468:
    what bok infringements..?… :grin:

@cab-470:
    ek is lus om vir et uit te vloek
    maar hy’s dit nie werd nie

tjeers almal

• 474.dermie: Reply to this comment

@toby-471: not tonight he wasn’t.

• 475.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

So…
    Nienaber and Mallet/Mitchel are urgently needed if we’re going to catch up with or, more likely, blunt the AB’s anytime soon. There are a whole lot of other first class coaches but not sure if they’d be interested/available coaching/assisting the Boks. Aussie Todd Louden was Meyers ace in the hole that helped thaw his ice age tendencies and provide some ideas back at the Bulls.

Only after the brains of the operation are in good working order we can start sorting our ridiculous back-line out:
    Kirtcher- OUT once and for all finish and klaar. A.Coetzee or Le Roux in.
    De Jongh at outside centre first choice remains Steyn/De Villiers.
    Hougaard to 9 Pietersen to wing.

• 476.toby: Reply to this comment

@dermie-474: Whos the been scoring the try’s for you guys in the last 2 games….everyone makes mistakes get over it.

• 477.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

Why the fark are these farken AB’s so good………

• 478.strikers: Reply to this comment

@dermie-474: Yes tonight he was, sure he made a bad call, but 3 on 1, he had to commit or it would have been a draw and pass try. He still looked for work, shows some great skills in air and to pick ball up at feet at pace. The one he missed was from cutting in field so he didnt get thrown into touch = same result as knock on… And it was a Bullet pass from Elton, and Habs only missed 1 other tackle that then didnt lead to a try and he got back to make it.

Habs was one of the better SA players on the pitch, along with most of the forwards. Rest of the backs were avg. at best

• 479.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

@Spiesisworthless1-475: Jordaan the future at outside centre.
    12- Steyn 13-Jordaan .

• 480.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

@Spiesisworthless1-479: And Serfontein .

• 481.strikers: Reply to this comment

@toby-476: Agree! Who do we have that is better. Im sick of SA mupits knocking Habana for the last 5+ years, he is a strong player and would make most other teams, more than I can say for the rest of our backs

• 482.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

@grant100-469:
    That is a racist statement. You have shown who you really are: Anti South African.

• 483.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-473:
    hehe,i know i didnt see any. I was hoping you may have seen some Bok infringments.

• 484.corporal punishment: Reply to this comment

Morne back in with goosen injured and Elton a bit out of his depth?

• 485.Jared: Reply to this comment

Hey Dawn. We are all cocky after a win mYe. That is not to say I don’t respect this young South African side. Anyway, just quit your crying as my New Zealand bias supporting attitude is at least justified. Unlike yourselves. That’s the price you pay got our world domination. I had to put ip with it for a year do I suggest you do the same. But don’t worry, it can’t last forever brother.

• 486.strikers: Reply to this comment

@Spiesisworthless1-480: Jordaan has barely finished 1 game without leaving injured, and test rugby is at least 50% more intense. Sure, he can run like no one else, but his defense is weak too. Would be a big mistake, maybe in a couple years. Right now JPP is most likely the best option at 13, with Steyn at 12 and Mapoe on the bench as impact 13/11/14 cover

• 487.toby: Reply to this comment

@strikers-478: I’m a bit pissed of with some your supporters..they don’t appreciate the great players you have..Habana would easily make it into the All Black’s

• 488.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I’m not crying

• 489.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-465:
    Thanks Rob.
    Yeah the AB team has shown some good passages of play over the last couple months.
    But we still need to work on some things. Our forwards are still getting bossed around a bit. Not their fault as i think the Boks have better forwards or better forwards for the rough stuff.
    But something to work on.

• 490.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-488:
    yeah you are crying :-)

• 491.strikers: Reply to this comment

@corporal punishment-484: What did Elton do wrong in your eyes? He has only played 10 mins of international rugby before tonight, he was decent for poles, made all his tackles and distributed well, bottom line is NZ were rampant in 2nd half so boks had no ball anywhere other than their own 22.

• 492.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Hurricane

Cory disappointed me

That’s the only reason I might shed a tear

• 493.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

@strikers-486: And JFourie might be an option too. He’ll be 31/32 but one of the finest centers in the world over the years.

• 494.dermie: Reply to this comment

@toby-476: i’m an ABs supporter,mate he’s the intercept king and i hate intercept tries even when the ABs do it.

• 495.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-492:
    You picked up on what i meant…lol

• 496.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Spiesisworthless1-480:

Pine never gave him game time

• 497.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

toets 1 2

• 498.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

I said it long ago Pienaar must play 10 or off bench, Hougaard 9, De Jongh to come on at 76th minute is a travesty of coaching idiocy. De Jongh the only back liner capable to shut that AB attack down. Taute was abysmal at center.

Kirchner got to go

Coetsee 15
    Rhule to 11
    De Jongh 12
    JdV 13
    Habana 14
    Le Roux 10
    Hougaard 9

Pienaar, Lambie bench

Vermeulen / Daniel
    Alberts / Coetsee
    Louw
    Bekker
    Etzebeth
    Cilliers
    Strauss / Fourie
    Beast / Vd Merwe

• 499.dermie: Reply to this comment

@toby-487: your kidding,whose spot is he going to take?

• 500.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

well done abs deserved victors Poor defence frim bokke and yoo many missed scoring chances Forwards impressed once more but centre combo is boks achilles at the moment

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.