Springboks 16 All Blacks 32

GARETH DUNCAN brought you live commentary from the Rugby Championship Test at Soccer City.

FULL TIME: SPRINGBOKS 16 ALL BLACKS 32

80 mins: All Blacks get a penalty as the clocks ticks over the 80th minute. Replacement flyhalf Aaron Cruden steps up to kick some extra points, but he misses the penalty. Rolland blows the final whistle. ALL BLACKS WIN 32-16!

76 mins: All Blacks easing to victory. Forcing South Africa to play from their own territory. Poor kicks not aiding the hosts.

72 mins: ALL BLACK PENALTY! The All Blacks suffocating the Springboks, even with 14 men during this final quarter. Carter then punishes the hosts with his first penalty of the match. ALL BLACKS LEAD 32-16!

68 mins: Springboks on the front foot in the Kiwi red zone. However, South Africa lose the ball forward, 5m out from the tryline.

66 mins: YELLOW CARD! Dagg gets sin binned as the All Blacks give away another penalty. Rolland reminds the fullback that his team was on a warning.

64 mins: ALL BLACK DROP GOAL! Carter finds space and time at first receiver, and decides to pot an easy three-pointer. ALL BLACKS LEAD 29-16!

59 mins: Springbok attack gets going from the lineout, and they’re 5m out. However, a quick pass from Jantjies pops out from Habana’s grasps and the All Blacks escape.

58 mins: Springboks get a kickable penalty, but De Villiers orders the side to look for the try and they kick for touch.

56 mins: Springboks concede a penalty on the halfway mark. Carter has the chance to build on to this comfortable lead, but he pulls his effort.

54 mins: ALL BLACK TRY! From an 8m scrum, a smart backline move puts outside centre Conrad Smith through for a great try. Carter kicks the extras. ALL BLACKS LEAD 26-16!

52 mins: GREAT RUN! Gear showing his strength as ball carrier, bumping off three tackles as he rushes into the Springbok red zone.

49 mins: Jantjies misses his next goal attempt as it hits the post. Missing crucial points here.

48 mins: Rolland hands Richie McCaw and his All Blacks an official warning for poor discipline. This after New Zealand give away their ninth penalty away.

47 mins: Jantjies gets another shot at goal, kicks it flat, but misses.

46 mins: GREAT STEAL! Louw showing his quality in the Springbok No 6 jersey. He’s clearly made a difference since joining the team. Gives South Africa another kickable penalty.

41 mins: ALL BLACKS TRY! New Zealand score immediately. An offload from Dagg puts No 8 Kieran Read into space, and he’s tackled short. But he pops the ball up to Nonu, who dots down easily. Carter converts. ALL BLACKS LEAD 19-16!

41 mins: Carter gets things on the way again with a high kick-off, and lock Brodie Retalick steals possession. And from the resulting breakdown, the All Blacks are looking dangerous.

HALF-TIME: SPRINGBOKS 16 ALL BLACKS 12

40 mins: SPRINGBOK PENALTY! All Blacks concede another penalty as they crumble at scrum in centre field. Jantjies slots it, which is the final move of the half. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 16-12!

36 mins: SPRINGBOK PENALTY! Doesn’t take long for Jantjies to perform his duties as the All Blacks concede a penalty with inside centre Ma’a Nonu caught offside. The Lions flyhalf lines up and slots his first points in Test rugby. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 13-12!

34 mins: Goosen limps off early, and Elton Jantjies comes on for an early run-on off the bench.

33 mins: ALL BLACK TRY! Habana’s eye for the intercept allows the visitors to have an extra man out wide on attack. Fullback Zane Kirchner is drawn in, and wing Hosea Gear shades him on his inside and puts scrumhalf Aaron Smith through for the try. Carter converts. ALL BLACKS LEAD 12-10!

30 mins: Goosen struggling with a knee injury, and limping badly. Elton Jantjies warms up on the sidelines.

28 mins: All Blacks showing some good confidence. Whitelock beats lock Andries Bekker to the ball in the lineouts off a Springbok throw.

27 mins: ALL BLACKS TRY! From the counter-attack, New Zealand expose the space out side and lock Sam Whitelock bashes over. Flyhalf Dan carter misses the conversion. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 10-5!

25 mins: FANTASTIC COUNTER RUCK! The All Blacks burst into the Springbok 22m area after collecting a spilled ball inside their own red zone. Loosehead prop Beast Mtawarira and wing Francois Hougaard drive over the ball, and Boks get it back. Outside centre Jaco Taute clears, but it’s not out.

23 mins: Springboks commanding play in this match so far. All Blacks starved of possession.

21 mins: SPRINGBOK PENALTY! Goosen kicks over an easy penalty to stretch South Africa’s lead. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 10-0!

20 mins: Great attacking pressure from the Springboks. Doing very well against a strong All Blacks defence. Again, Rolland finds an offence in the visitors’ guard – this time, offside.

12 mins: SPRINGBOK TRY! From a set-piece from a midfield lineout, the Springboks force gaps into the All Blacks defence with clever interplay. While the ball looked like it went forward from flank Francois Louw, referee said it went back off a defender’s hand. Captain Jean de Villiers gathers the loose ball, and puts wing Bryan Habana into space. Goosen converts the easy extras. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 7-0!

8 mins: The All Blacks have been penalised twice at the lineouts so far.

5 mins: All Blacks contesting well on defence, but concede another penalty. This time, from a midfield scrum as flank Liam Messam tries to poach possession from the side. Goosen steps up again … and this time his effort hits the post. Things not going the kid’s way this afternoon.

3 mins: Goosen misses the 40m effort.

2 mins: Great defensive effort from the All Blacks, driving the Springboks back on attack. However, the concede a kickable penalty as the forwards drive through the breakdowns from the side. Goosen gets an early pop at goal.

KICK-OFF: Springbok flyhalf Johan Goosen starts the match with a deep kick-off. All Blacks take it in neatly, and fullback Israel Dagg clears the ball. Not much distance though.

Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jaco Taute, 12 Jean de Villiers (c), 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermuelen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Coenie Oosthuizen, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Marcel Coetzee, 20 Elton Jantjies, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Pat Lambie.

All Blacks – 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Hosea Gear, 10 Daniel Carter, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (c), 6 Liam Messam, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Andrew Hore, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Subs: 16 Keven Mealamu, 17 Ben Franks, 18 Luke Romano, 19 Adam Thomson, 20 Piri Weepu, 21 Aaron Cruden, 22 Tamati Ellison.

551 Comments

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 » Show All

• 501.JaffaBoy: Reply to this comment

Thought Habana was quite good today … only question I would ask is did he really have to go for the intercept? He might have been better pushing along the line … he is so quick he could probably have caught the last man. If he has one weakness, it is his hunger for the intercept try.

• 502.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

skop what about jpp

• 503.Kaizan: Reply to this comment

Forwards looking good. Backline needs work.

Heyneke Meyer has done himself (and South Africa) no favours by selecting Laubscherf, Louis Koen and John McFarland in the coaching set up. They have been monumentally poor for us.

• 504.dermie: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok-500: gotta stop celerbrating penalty kicks,like the poms and score tries.

• 505.corporal punishment: Reply to this comment

@491 strikers: I was teasing, not about janties but about the prospect of morne coming back.

I thought Elton played ok, and as you say this was a very tough game to come into with little test match experience. He looks like he has great skills, and hopefully with more confidence would challenge the line more. My only question mark would be about his defense, but this wasn’t a strength of goosen either.

The boks need to invest in 3 pr so talented fly halves with the skill set needed to set the bok back line up on attack, as well as possessing a strong kicking game. This position is very vunerable to injury, so you can’t afford to put all your eggs in one basket (something both the boks and the AB’s have been guilty of).

It will take time, but once Elton et al all are in douple figures of tests, you’ll be sitting pretty.

• 506.dermie: Reply to this comment

@JaffaBoy-501: i hear you,and he averages 1 try in every 2nd match, how many were intercepts?

• 507.saru1983: Reply to this comment

meyer is kakalakak if u dont believe me ask mitchell,mallet and ashwin

• 508.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

Coetsee
    Pietersen
    Serfontein
    De Jongh
    Rhule
    Le Roux
    Hougaard

Van Zyl, Jordaan

• 509.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-508:

This Backline would tear the Bok backs today to shreds

• 510.The Donkeys Egg: Reply to this comment

CRUSHED

at Home

with the ref in their pocket

• 511.The Donkeys Egg: Reply to this comment

@JaffaBoy-501:

its called “perpetually offside”

• 512.phil72: Reply to this comment

@The Donkeys Egg-510:

Ref kept us in the game for first 40min…..

• 513.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-508: Good backline.But caN THEY MAKE FIRST TIME TACKLES Would still have Goosen at fly half.Le roux full back.Kak disappointed.

• 514.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

Composite team w ould include Louw ,Etzebeth and… And?.And???

• 515.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

If this was a car race, the car in second place would have been lapped by the winner.

• 516.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

The biggest winning margin ever by the Boks vs NZ was a 17 point blanking back in 1928. Today the ABs won by 16 points. Four tries to one. Pilgrims, file this one under S for Snotting.

• 517.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

Tickles… In 1928 how much did a try count??? A 17 point margin then was more than 4 or 5 tries… 16 points today is just over 2 converted tries…

• 518.nama1: Reply to this comment

Congratulations to the ALL BLACKS.

Great game by a great team.

A few “excuses” by Bok fans were showed just to be that: EXCUSES.

1. Rolland being a “home town” ref.
    2. Traveling from west to east leads to “travel fatigue.”
    3. Goosen is the Messiah to lead the Bokke out of the doldrums.
    4. Heyneke Meyer is the Messiah to lead the Bokke out of the doldrums after all the “kak” by PdV.
    5. Kirchner is the worse Bok player in the team.
    6. Heyneke Meyer will give Juan de Jongh more game time this weekend.

• 519.nama1: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-514:
    Why would Flo be in a in a composite team?

Remember that Flo and McCaw play the same role in their respective teams despite wearing different numbers on their backs.

• 520.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@THE MAULER-517: Those 17 points back in 1928 came from one try, two penalties and two dropkicks. Back then a try was 3, a penalty was 3 and a drop was 4.

So how much would those scores add up to today, pilgrim?

See? It’s still 17!

• 521.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

Tackler… Point is 17 points then was at least 25 now… Like comparing $200 then to $200 now…

• 522.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

A converted try and 2 penalties and 2 drop goals now would be… 19…

• 523.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Cmon Donkey

Gimme a “peaches”

• 524.nama1: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler-520:
    Are you sure a try was worth 3 points back then?

There was a time when a try was worth only ONE point and kicks were worth more than a try.

Just asking.

• 525.puff: Reply to this comment

Gurthro Steenkamp
    Bismark Du Plessis
    Chill Ralepelle
    Bakkies Botha
    Danie Rossouw
    Heinrich Brussow
    Schalk Burger
    Siya Kolisi
    Juan Smith
    Ryan Kankowski
    Fourie Du Preez
    Francois Steyn
    Jacques Fourie
    JP Pieterson

That’s half a rugby squad and at least half of these players would start in an ideal first-choice Bok team!

Just saying…

• 526.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@THE MAULER-522: In 1928 the try the Boks scored in their 17-0 win in Durban went unconverted. (You can’t add in imaginary what-if scores.)

The one-point try came in in 1886 (when gold was discovered in Joburg) and it had 2 points for the conversion to make it a three point “goal”.

In 1891 the try counted two, and the conversion 3, making a total of 5.

In 1893 the two “goal” values were switched: the try counting 3 and the conversion 2. A drop-kick counted 4.

In 1948 the drop-kick was reduced to 3.

In 1971 the try went up to 4 points, and in 1992 to 5 points.

• 527.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@THE MAULER-521: No, the scores in Durban in 1928 which added up to 17 back then would still add up to 17 today, (despite the differences in value of the various components).

• 528.nama1: Reply to this comment

@puff-525:
    You are talking absolut KAK.

Bakkies, Danie, FdP, Kanko, Juan, Frans should not start in any “ideal” Bok team at the moment.

• 529.nama1: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler-526:
    OK, thanks.

Glad to see you on here. Even if it is only because the Boks lost against the AB’s.

Ek hoop jou gesondheid is nog goed????

• 530.bokke baiter: Reply to this comment

HI SOUTH AFRICA!!!!
    WHO”S YOUR DADDY!!!!!!!!!

• 531.KiaKahaNZ: Reply to this comment

Dawn – go to sleep. You’re boring us, you always have

• 532.Monty15: Reply to this comment

@KiaKahaNZ-531:
    Rather mean-spirited statement that, if I may say so.

• 533.Monty15: Reply to this comment

@bokke baiter-530:
    It’s gone midnight over there so probably not many, if any, Saffers has seen your very well thought out, constructive and witty comment.

• 534.nama1: Reply to this comment

@bokke baiter-530:
    NELSON MANDELA.

• 535.Monty15: Reply to this comment

@nama1-534: Nice one, lol

• 536.Yellowhairman: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-49: and Boks/Saffas cant stop moaning and whingeing…part of your DNA my man

• 537.Yellowhairman: Reply to this comment

@The Donkeys Egg-510: right….same old Saffa whingeing, it’s the REF….always an excuse to pull out to explain your Team’s inadequacies…keep it up my man

• 538.Yellowhairman: Reply to this comment

@puff-525: what are you saying…??? Puff the magic dragons…???even that team would not have won the game…sorry

• 539.Yellowhairman: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-488: you should be you Team got taught a lesson in rugby

• 540.Yellowhairman: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-395: oh here is the kettle calling the pot black again…not sure what it is with you but you seem to be continually negative in all of your posts…get a life, SA played as well as they can, result, NOT GOOD ENOUGH, the AB’s played very well, result, WIN number 16. and it will continue in the next Bledisloe game in Brisbane…Aussies like SA will turn up to play but look at what happened in todays game, the AB’s just soaked up the pressure that SA were applying, and then when it counted, PING, a try and another and another and another – SA could only manage ONE, but thats okay dipstick…SA will get better, you guys always do, but will it be good enough to challenge the AB’s, only time will tell and by then the WORLD RECORD for the winning streak will be 21 come the EOYT by the AB’s….I would imagine that SA will win all of their EOYT games…but please spare us your constant harping, otherwise I will think you are a Harp Seal…

• 541.KiaKahaNZ: Reply to this comment

532: Monty

I’ve copped some trash / cheap shots from Dawn, so why not a little retort ?

Most of you lot are good folk , and you know you’re rugby – as do we – but for the life of me many if you need to get over yourselves calling us cheats – it really is desperate.

And nobody likes to see desperation now do they

• 542.The Donkeys Egg: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-160:

160.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha:
    6 Oct 2012, 17:47 pm and we have been explaining jetjag to these palookas for how long…?..

“too”

• 543.The Donkeys Egg: Reply to this comment

@Yellowhairman-537:

“their”

• 544.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@nama1-519: Correct.Take him out.

• 545.nkqo6: Reply to this comment

ALL BLACKS GO , NYWEE NYWEEE NYWEE ALL BLACKS ARE THE BEST IN THE BUSINESS AND THATS WHY WE SUPPORT THEM AND THEY BEAT THEM WITH EASE DESPITE HAVING TO ENDURE ALL THE BITING ,EYEGOUGING AND HEADBUTTING . BOK FANS ARE JUST CRY BABIES ALWAYS LOOKING FOR EXCUSES . QHAQHA ALLBLACKS QHAQHA BAYEKE BALILE BODWA EZIZIDENGE

• 546.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-544: And then there was one.

• 547.thegreatanubis: Reply to this comment

What Did The Messiah Goosen Do? Bring Back Morne

• 548.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Eish !!!! First time that I have ever felt relieved that I could not watch a Bok game. I really thought we would win this one.

Some one please tell me the exact date Meyer started coaching our team, I always give a new coach one year to prove himself bearing in mind new players being introduced, team gelling and learning to play together, it is hard not to be critical though.

• 549.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

taking a cursory glance at the first half without giving any real, determined observation i have picked up just a few of the new zealanders infringements. of course the second half was / is far, far more littered with filthy play than the first (how else would they win):

1. driving off players without the ball.

2. hands.

3. macaw falling onto the wrong side of the ruck.

4. different players going onto the wrong side of the ruck.

5. hands.

6. offsides.

7. going off feet / to ground at ruck.

8. hands.

9. taking up position ahead of the ruck.

10. ab prop drops bind *should be an immediate penalty*.

11. disengaging early from scrum.

12. lineout distance infringement.

13. macaw blocking at scrum.

14. entering maul from side and continuing to play.

15. hands in ruck playing ball.

16. tackling support player without the ball intentionally – nonu.

17. *spear tackle* – retalick (is this even a debate…?..but i’ll bet you the citing commisioner if a saffa let it go).

18. offsides.

19. macaw slowing ball in ruck blatantly.

20. forward pass read – try.

21. sealing off at ruck.

22. obstructive running.

23. offsides again.

——————————————————–

THINGS TO REMEMBER:
    this is just the first half and is by no means a full and final assesment of their filth.

• 550.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@Yellowhairman-537:

very true!!

where the bokke fans saying they got a leg up by the refs last week???? IRB had to issue a statement they got it wrong against the wallabies!! not a single comment

now it is…all hell breaks loose just because the saffas dont get the result their way!!

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.