Boks drop to third
8 Oct 2012
The Springboks have fallen below the Wallabies in the latest IRB rankings.
Last week, the Springboks’ Rugby Championship win over the Wallabies in Pretoria saw the victors jump up to second place. However, Saturday’s 32-16 defeat to the All Blacks sees them drop back down to third with rating points of 84.69.
The Wallabies’ 25-19 win over Argentina in Rosario sees them elevate to second place.
The All Blacks still enjoy a comfortable lead at the top of the standings (93.35 rating points), while the Pumas find themselves in seventh place.
IRB RANKINGS (Top 10):
1 NEW ZEALAND 93.35
2 AUSTRALIA 85.92
3 SOUTH AFRICA 84.69
4 ENGLAND 83.09
5 FRANCE 83.03
6 WALES 82.26
7 IRELAND 79.85
8 ARGENTINA 78.63
9 SCOTLAND 77.97
10 SAMOA 76.23

21 Comments
8 Oct 2012, 14:34 pm
What?
Bakkies…Blik, i think the IRB ranking officer is cheating. Surley Boks are not #3.
I have a funny feeling thats its a kiwi ranking officer as well.
Blik, tell the chinese and Indians, i am sure they will back you.
8 Oct 2012, 14:38 pm
@Hurricane-1: And points difference
between both teams is equal now to SA vs 11th ranked Italy.
8 Oct 2012, 14:40 pm
@Nils-2:
hehehe way thats amazing.
What would happen if SA lose 3 tests in the NH?
They could fall to 5th….maybe?
8 Oct 2012, 14:47 pm
Meyer after the game saying: “When I got the Boks, they were 4th in the world, and I’ve managed to bring them to 2nd so we must be doing something right….”. I knew those words were spoken a few hours too early.
8 Oct 2012, 14:49 pm
@Hurricane-3: No, I do not believe that can happen, they are better than that, way better.
8 Oct 2012, 14:51 pm
@Nils-5:
True. Boks are better than that.
8 Oct 2012, 14:53 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-4: Heineken fogot to tell us how many months later did he have his first involvement in the raking-makings.
He had not anything to do with France’s fall from 3rd, but quick to grab the glory, cheap-shot.
And there he is – started with 3rd, ended with 3rd.
8 Oct 2012, 15:15 pm
Hope all are aware that Australia, with their horrible injury list and very few player resources managed to finish ahead of us in the Rugby Championship and now occupiy 2nd place in IRB rankings. They had no problems dispatching Argentina away from home. I mean we are all quick to compare ourselves against the AB’s but we have not graduated to topping Aus yet. Just like us, Aus will re-build and come back with their 1st choice players next year and we will be in the moer again. Australia were bad on all levels from Superrugby to their test matches…yet we could not manage to finish ahead of them in the RC. Some people are staying hopeful and asking that our coache/s get more time but seriously…I can’t ever forget how we drew with Argentina and came 3rd (technically last if under last years 3 nations) behind arguably the worst Australian side in the professional era. I knew all those initial selections and gameplan of Meyer’s were going to hurt at some stage!
8 Oct 2012, 15:42 pm
So who was it that said Meyer will win more than he loses in his first season. I count 4 wins, 2 draws and moerse klomp losses.
8 Oct 2012, 15:45 pm
Sorry Bokke but even if NZ beats Oz by 300 in the next match, you’ll still be ranked 3rd. It sounds like Meyer doesn’t plan to blood anyone during the AI besides the young guys in the current squad so fingers crossed you can move up later this year
8 Oct 2012, 17:28 pm
@Hurricane-1: At least they don’t wear blinkers
8 Oct 2012, 19:06 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-4:
What do you expect? Meyer taught geography at school level, not maths. No ways he could do the calculation correctly without a calculator.
8 Oct 2012, 20:27 pm
“when i got the boks they were 4th in the world and i’ve managed to bring them to second so we must be doing something right”
haha I could eat a bowl of alphabet soup and **** out a smarter statement than that.
9 Oct 2012, 05:44 am
@Smallzm-8: to be honest that draw with the args was probably stemmed more by mentality more than anything (like most games), they like everyone else underestimated argentina, All the orig. tri-nations side had at least one difficult game with them as well.
9 Oct 2012, 11:36 am
@GoodGame-14: Understood that Argentina were tough this year and it was a tough game, but we have never lost to them…with an kuk Bok team! I always hear people going on about this massive loss of players we have had, hence why we have only won 4 games this year. Well Australia also lost alot of players this year, yet they have more wins and are better than us in position and rank. How did they end up above us in IRB and RC ranking? Can somebody explain how they could do this with their scarce player resources, turmoil in the team (Cooper debacle) and an under pressure coach? In other words, why should we be satisfied with Meyer when a country with way less players and a similar loss of important players can beat us in rank like they did this year? His excuses just do not add up when you look at a team who faced similar circumstances.
9 Oct 2012, 20:59 pm
@Smallzm-8: wake up you fukkkin idiot argies are not good conditioned and we had them fresh!!! we had it quite a bit tougher like that. argies were easy beats when playing for nothing and won out. that was always gonna be their biggest hurdle they have never done a campaign like this in history so fukkiing be realistic!! and also we missed so many kicks it was fukkking ridiculous. thats the only reason we lost away to new zealand and arseholevania. that makes a big ****** difference mate but you ******** keep fukkkin being sour tozzers. nothing on this fukkking planet will make you fukkking skunk anal plumbers happy.
9 Oct 2012, 21:00 pm
@saru1983-13: you wish you could you stupid fukkking ****.
9 Oct 2012, 21:04 pm
@Smallzm-15: lets put it this way einstein. we lost better quality players than australia fukkking lost. they only lost barnes and ashley cooper as quality players. we started without matfield, bakkies, juan, schalk, spies, fourie, du preez, rossouw, steenkamp (all of those are best in their positions except maybe spies and rossouw)!!! and then lost frans, jp, coenie and had other injuries too. fukkking hell we did fukking well how many teams outplayed new zealand in kiwi town lately bud? but he gave the fans what they wanted on the weekend and it turned to a big steamy pile of shiiiit. a backline of fukking turnstiles and pilons werent gonna cut it im afraid. but its fukking perspective you arseholez dont have.
9 Oct 2012, 22:16 pm
Oz players lost/injured:
Horwill-captain
Pocock
Genia
Kepu
Moore
Simmons
Higginbotham
Palu
McAlman
Cooper
Barnes
Ashley-Cooper
O’Connor
Horne
Mitchell
Keep talking out your a r s e Blitzbok
Matfield and co were never coming back anyway.plus they were there last yr and still ended 3rd behind oz
9 Oct 2012, 23:57 pm
Well, of the three old 3N nations the Boks are once again in their customary 3rd spot. And they have inferior win/loss ratios than either NZ or OZ since the 3N commenced.
10 Oct 2012, 12:09 pm
@Blitzbok-18: You have low standards from a SA rugby perspective dude. Aus are 2nd in the world and their public are still putting pressure on Robbie Deans? Granted its his 4th year as coach but still he is under pressure? Why are you being so understanding of HM and why should we as the public be satisfied? I don’t want him fired but I want accountability. Loss of players does not mean you get to only win 4 games in a season and we all say that’s OK. That’s a big fail mate! I have yet to hear him list the things he could have done better this year. Bar the last game against NZ where he apparently “gave the public what they wanted” do you think he has been an excellent coach so far? And this time without the rabid writing style please.