Retallick punished for Bekker tackle
8 Oct 2012
Brodie Retallick received an off-field yellow card for his dangerous tackle on Andries Bekker during Saturday’s Test at Soccer City.
The incident occurred during the 20th minute, inside New Zealand’s red zone. Springbok second-rower Bekker was picked up and dumped to the ground, with his legs still in the air.
Referee Alain Rolland believed it was a fair tackle, but on further review of the match footage, the citing commissioner issued All Blacks lock Retallick an off-field yellow card.

90 Comments
8 Oct 2012, 07:47 am
What a thug of a Dragon.
8 Oct 2012, 07:57 am
Off field yellow, I hear wet bus ticket…but water under the bridge, time to move on.
8 Oct 2012, 07:59 am
Dumped Bekker on his arse! LOL!
Great young lock for the All Blacks ….. in a tough, mean bokke lock mould!!! I love it!! He should be a South African!!
Must say, great to see such quality young players coming through for the ABs as well – I thought this youngster was immense. Him and Eben to have some huge battles in years to come.
Was disappointed for the Boks, but hey, they have a whole lot to do on the over all planning, continuity and player management before they can HOPE of playing tests at the ABs level in such a jam packed season.
Clearly the ABs are a step ahead in this regard. Great team and management effort from them, and fantastic performance on the field by the players. Well done to them.
8 Oct 2012, 08:03 am
@The Analyst-3:
Oh yes, and lest I forget …..
Heyneke has done a great job under tough situation i.e. hospital pass from the administrators!
BUT, SARU needs to give him the support structures he needs, amongst other things. Most important, he needs a back line coach and a defensive coach, and needs a conditioning program for his players to be fitter than the ABs and to plan their game time for the whole year.
8 Oct 2012, 08:05 am
What is the point of that I wonder?
8 Oct 2012, 08:45 am
Is he an “enforcer”?
8 Oct 2012, 08:50 am
I have a problem with the off field yellow card ruling, unless there are some other consequences.
The only one I can assume would be applicable is that the yellow card for the dangerous tackle would be taken into consideration if he was cited in the future for the same offence, and therefore judged to be a serial offender.
8 Oct 2012, 08:54 am
Nothing wrong with that tackle IMO. He put Bekker on his backside, no where near neck area. Who cares now anyway?
8 Oct 2012, 09:10 am
@Braders-8:
Sorry, I know it might be a little PC, but in today’s environment, if a tackle looks dangerous, then it should be pounced on.
Where safety in the tackle is concerned. players need the concept burnt into their brains.
There is no comfort to anyone after the event if the guy claims poor technique and another fellow spends the rest of his life in a wheel chair.
8 Oct 2012, 09:16 am
Hmmm yellow of field card… What exactly does that do?
They should have sent him to bed early without and tea.
Anyway the tackle was seen by ref and he said it was ok.
It was borderline but if a player decides to lift anyone, he needs to make sure
its not in a dangerous fashion. Should have been a penalty and warning.
8 Oct 2012, 09:20 am
I think everyone and their dog saw it as a yellowcard on the spot, only the irish oke and his 3 blind mice did not.
8 Oct 2012, 10:04 am
Most of us are laymen & thus my understanding is that an off field yellow is of the same force & effect as an on field one except for the one obvious consequence. Thus I deduce that Brodie’s record will henceforth reflect Saturday’s indiscretion & especially its seriousness (tip tackle) & this will prejudice him to whatever extent should he appear in a judicial hearing.
That said, Bekker seemed to recoil after landing & a different ref could have sent him off.
8 Oct 2012, 10:11 am
Should have been off-field red.
That’s what the rules say.
8 Oct 2012, 10:32 am
@the authority-13:
If you have a link to these rules, perhaps you can post a copy so we can all share in your “assumed” wisdom.
If not, I will assume you are the authority responsible for looking after spilled sewage, and doing a poor job to boot.
8 Oct 2012, 10:36 am
thats all the filth gets…?..
as expected
what a larf
like their stiff arm neck tackles
par for the cheaters course
8 Oct 2012, 10:38 am
stiff arm neck and head tackles
8 Oct 2012, 10:45 am
@Brads-14: nothing in the new rules about “off-field red cards”
SANZAR is to trial new disciplinary rules during the 2012 Super Rugby & Rugby Championship competitions, CEO Greg Peters announced.
Rule 2 Citing Commissioner issues an “Off-Field Yellow Card”
Instances where a Citing Commissioner observes a serious act of foul play that is close to but not quite a red card
The Off-field yellow card is logged on the player’s disciplinary record in the same manner as an On-Field yellow card
8 Oct 2012, 10:51 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-15: such a sad-*** arent ya.
Go share ya man love for bakkies somewhere else – Im sure even he would be embarrassed by you
8 Oct 2012, 10:57 am
If anybody still have the game on tape, go and have a look at 66:57 minutes into the match. This was shortly after the yellow card of Dagg. The Boks took the ball up after a lineout close to the AB’s line. Strauss was deemed to have knocked the ball but it is clear that McCaw played the ball while lying on the ground. He “slapped” it backwards – this was a professional foul but the referee missed it completely (although it happened right in front of him). It should have been a yellow card to McCaw as well.
I’m not taking anything away from the All Blacks – they played very well in the second half but McCaw should have been punished !!
8 Oct 2012, 11:05 am
@CharlesM-19: haha, that was downright brilliance from cheatie mccheat.
8 Oct 2012, 11:06 am
@Please view the rules for “Rugby Union” at the following link: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spear_tackle
To make it easier for you, I have pasted the relevant line: “The International Rugby Board (IRB) has ruled that a dangerous tackle of this type, sometimes also called a tip tackle, should be punished with a straight red card”.
I hope this answers your question and I am glad you have chosen to be educated by The Authority.
Not much use to the victim now, the perpetrator escaped when it mattered most.
@Brads-14:
Please see the “Rugby Union” rules at this link: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spear_tackle
To make it easier for you, I have pasted the relevant line: “The International Rugby Board (IRB) has ruled that a dangerous tackle of this type, sometimes also called a tip tackle, should be punished with a straight red card”.
I hope this answers your question and I am glad you have chosen to be educated by The Authority.
8 Oct 2012, 11:08 am
@rangerman-20: My point exactly but he should have been punished
8 Oct 2012, 11:09 am
I thought the tackle ticked all the boxes for a red card.
Then I realised that the ABs get a yellow for every 43 penalties, and that the ABs never receive red cards.
Has any All Black ever seen red?
8 Oct 2012, 11:10 am
Umaga
Thorn
Retallick
All spear tacklers. All unpunished.
8 Oct 2012, 11:17 am
@willievz-26: you forgot Mealamu – who also does a nice line in headbutts on prone players
8 Oct 2012, 11:21 am
the thuggery from the nz players is nothing new.
happens in almost every big game.
it is targetted and very intentional.
thats why they may be the best but they are the most unloved team in world rugby imo.
8 Oct 2012, 11:23 am
“The International Rugby Board (IRB) has ruled that a dangerous tackle of this type, sometimes also called a tip tackle, should be punished with a straight red card.”
The official ruling of the IRB… Only, it doesn’t apply to the All Blacks.
8 Oct 2012, 11:24 am
@Big Hit-27: Will never forget that thuggish act.
Not a spear tackler though, so did not make that particular list.
8 Oct 2012, 11:25 am
it is quite simple, if a player is lifted past the horizontal and not put down by the tackler it is a yellow.
bekker was lifted and turned therefore an on field yellow was mandatory but i wasnt really expecting it tbho.
8 Oct 2012, 11:40 am
@CharlesM-19:
even funnier was the bok driving maul which went a few meters out from nz’s line and the nz number four (i think) blatantly coming all the way around the side of the maul and attempting to rip the ball from the ball carriers’ grasp (who was still legally bound to the back of the bok players in the maul and which was driving forward with rights).
this after the ‘official team warning’ and right in front of the nz line IN THE RED ZONE…. but hey…. the filth dont get blown for the little stuff….
8 Oct 2012, 11:48 am
F.uck me did any of you lot see this innocuous hardly worth mentioning tackle.
No harm done.
Players record noted.
End of.
-First comes the heartbreak.
-Then the finger pointing.
-Then shouts for the Coaches blood.
-Then they focus on every televised pixel, in slo-mo, to find fault with the opposition.
-Soon they turn on one another…………………………..Sharkie attacks Cheetah, Brokebacks slap on the KY jelly, Bully Boys leave town for R-Talk. Griqua’s ponder new ways to deliver the dirt. Kings sing hallelujah into the face ot the lion.
Stage Two: Reconciliation.
This about 3 months off. After meaningless wins against Italy and the Englanders.
8 Oct 2012, 11:51 am
@cane-33: you forgot the 500 enquiry, the referee death threats, the coach’s match-fixing accusations…oh wait that was another test nation
8 Oct 2012, 11:51 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-32:
In a rolling maul …………………………………..every player ahead of the ball carrier is technically off-side.
The sooner this aberration is removed from the game the better.
8 Oct 2012, 11:54 am
@Big Hit-34:
Still,
We don’t turn on Our Coach like rabid dogs Bigglies.
Are we playing your band of Mercenaries later this year?
8 Oct 2012, 11:57 am
@Big Hit-34:
P.S.
I threw in “The Englanders” bit,
knowing you were loitering in the shadows.
8 Oct 2012, 11:59 am
@cane-36: I seem to recall quite a few turned on old leatherface Henry, and didn’t fans spit in John Hart’s face after a prior WC exit?
Last match of test of the season for NZ is at Twickenham. It’s a new young England team so expectations are low but rest assured they will not roll over.
8 Oct 2012, 11:59 am
@cane-35:
no mention of the professional foul commited and what should at the minimum have been a penalty try then…?..
or at the most a penalty try and sending off….
mkay….. as expected….
8 Oct 2012, 12:03 pm
25 Willie I was surprised how easily your boys folded on the big stage they have plenty to learn about BMT, we gonna slaughter the united nations of England at Twickers in a few weeks, who can stop the black tide.
8 Oct 2012, 12:04 pm
Off-field yelow – 10 mins in the off-field sin bin. He can sit them out in front of the telly.
8 Oct 2012, 12:04 pm
Oh no are we doing the ref thing today?
I always thought a spear needed to go past horizontal and figured seeing as he landed flat on his back, not shoulders first, it wasn’t a spear. But after reading the laws I see back first, then legs is a spear. So yes, he should’ve been carded but it was borderline so i can see why the ref let it go at the time.
@willievz-26: If you’re talking about the BOD incident, it wasn’t really Umaga. That was just the British press vilifying our captain. If you rewatch the incident, it was centre vs centre, evenly weighted, then Mealamu came in and upended BOD. So add Mealamu to your list
8 Oct 2012, 12:07 pm
@Big Hit-34: “the referee death threats, the coach’s match-fixing accusations…oh wait that was another test nation”
Well, yes it really was. I do recall one coach saying something like this well before the tourney even started and all those death threats thereafter.
8 Oct 2012, 12:13 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-39:
LOL,
get yourself off to a Psychiatrist bakkies..
They will have a lot of fun with you.
The Inkspot Test:
Psychiatrist: “What do you see here bakkies?”
Bakkies: “Clearly that is Ritchie McCaws hand in the ruck, you cannot see his number, or face,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,but plainly you can see the horns on his head”
You are the stuff of future textbooks……………………………….articles in medical magazines, The Shrink that works you out will get a Nobel Prize.
8 Oct 2012, 12:15 pm
@Nils-41:
In front of the telly…………………………………………watching his Teams finest hour.
8 Oct 2012, 12:16 pm
Look out Lithuania, here we come.
8 Oct 2012, 12:19 pm
Nils big titty will get his annual b eating in a few weeks time. He’ll talk a big game right up until kick and then roll out the yearly excuses, rinse and repeat for next year.
8 Oct 2012, 12:31 pm
@NZINCHINA-47: He won’t talk big game. You see, there hasn’t been full-strenght English side since .. ermmm …. oh, yes, exactly – since the last time they neat the Blacks 9 years ago. Since then it’s always B side, always rebuilding like Rome – never to end.
8 Oct 2012, 12:43 pm
19 charles
there was no tackle or ruck when mc caw found himself playing the ball while on the ground.
this is not penalisable
8 Oct 2012, 12:50 pm
@NZINCHINA-47:
Easy NZC,
The Englanders,
beat us regularly.
Once every ten years.
They are due.
Biggles………………………………beware,
This Team feeds off atmosphere.
8 Oct 2012, 12:51 pm
@cane-36: is that why you lot spat on John Hart when he lost in the world cup?
is that why in an interview John Hart says he was treated by the New Zealand public worse than any rapist apprehended in that country – for losing a rugby game
8 Oct 2012, 12:53 pm
@norman-49:
but surely if you are on the ground you are out of play so you are not entitled to even grab the loose ball, you have to get to your feet first?
…just like a player on the ground is not entitled to make a tackle until he gets onto his feet?
I’m sure that is the rule…if you are on the ground off your feet you are out of the game altogether.
8 Oct 2012, 12:56 pm
Here is a list of only a few of the famous infringements which the all blacks have got away with (bear in mind, there are countless others which have not been included in this list):
- Saturday’s spear tackle. Should have been red. Instead there was no penalty and he was only given an off-field yellow.
- Ali Williams multiple punches to the face of Johan Muller – should have been red and suspension. Instead, there was no punishment. Not even a penalty. Infact, the ref went as far as telling Ali Williams it’s been excellent so far and telling Johan Muller to keep his hands to himself.
- Brad Thorn off-the-ball spear tackle on John Smit AFTER the whistle had been blown in front of the ref. Should have been red and suspension. Instead, only a penalty was given.
- Mealamu and Umaga spear tackle on Brian O’Driscoll within minutes of the opening match of the Lions tour. Should have been double-red. Instead there was no punishment.
Rugby is a heated sport and these things happen, but the inconsistent and unfair distribution of punishment which sees All Black players being unpunished for infringements, refs calling the All Black players by nickname, and officiating bodies disobeying their own rules in the post-match rulings of infringements is despicable…. Let us not forget that these same refs and ruling bodies have consistently unfairly punished Springbok players not only on the field, but in the post-match analysis too. The disdain shown to Springbok players is obvious and certain referees have dishonoured themselves.
When you dig deeper, you see that for many years, the head of the IRB referees has been a New Zealander.
This type of cowardly cheating by New Zealand is something that needs to be brought to the public attention.
8 Oct 2012, 13:02 pm
@gonzo-42: “I always thought a spear needed to go past horizontal and figured seeing as he landed flat on his back, not shoulders first, it wasn’t a spear. But after reading the laws I see back first, then legs is a spear. So yes, he should’ve been carded but it was borderline so i can see why the ref let it go at the time.”
how was it “borderline”? the same allain rolland red carded sam warburton at the world cup for the same offence but brodie retallick only gets a message from the ref?
that is inconsistent!
the off-field yellow proves it
8 Oct 2012, 13:02 pm
@norman-49: you cannot play the ball on the ground sonny.
end of.
wtf are you on about?
8 Oct 2012, 13:13 pm
@CharlesM-19: Yep, refs are not allowed to card Richie, it’s the law
8 Oct 2012, 13:19 pm
@the authority-53:
” Ali Williams multiple punches to the face of Johan Muller – ”
That was after Ali had tried to slap away Mullers hand five times, because Muller was holding this throat. (strangulation).
Ali should have buried that mother in the turf. Bit his balls off, and spat them down his throat.
Muller was nothing but a c unt……………………………..most likely still is.
As stand in Captain for the Boks, he had the grace of Idi Amin.
may he rot in hades.
8 Oct 2012, 13:25 pm
It is quite common in NZ for kids to bring cookies to school for the teacher. The All Blacks are the IRBs pet.
8 Oct 2012, 13:25 pm
@the authority-53:
“Brad Thorn off-the-ball spear tackle on John Smit AFTER the whistle had been blown in front of the ref. Should have been red and suspension. Instead, only a penalty was given”.”
Perhaps the Ref, saw Lard-arse Smit knee Thorn in the back. Half a second earlier.
The Ref might have seen it……………………………but a one eyed coc k sukker like you wouldn’t, …………… now …………….would he.
Call yourself an analyst.
yeah right.
8 Oct 2012, 13:27 pm
53 brigadier Van ZYL
you are correct that when you are on the ground after a tackle you cannot play the ball or any player with ball.
however there is a law in rugby which allows you to fall on the ball provided you react according to the other laws
this would not stop you from playing the ball while lying on the ground unless there had been a tackle or you picked up the ball in a ruck.
8 Oct 2012, 13:29 pm
@cane-57:
You are incorrect and I believe that (consistent with your national culture of dishonour) you are fabricating a story which never happened.
Please click the link below to see the incident. As you can see, Johann Muller did NOT strangle Ali WIlliams at any stage.
Your lies have been uncovered and you now look very silly… I suggest you and your countrymen try to conduct yourself with more honour.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jBN_hBZCcbE
8 Oct 2012, 13:34 pm
55 rangerman
you left out the words while lying on the ground.
your comment did not make sense without those words
however show me the law book which says i am wrong
8 Oct 2012, 13:37 pm
@the authority-53:
“Saturday’s spear tackle”.
You ****** sissy’………………………………….a warning at best.
Are you Bokkes or are you whining girls.
c…unts like you give me grave doubts. grave grave doubts.
For example………………………………………….no way in a thousand years would an Australian make such a high pitched squeal over such an incident. There was no malice, no injury,,,,,,,,,,,,…………………………………………….but suddenly it’s CRIME OF THE CENTURY!
8 Oct 2012, 13:44 pm
@the authority-61:
WTF,
I could give you list of Bakkies indiscretions that could outstrip most Continents.
Girls, girls, girls.
You pricks had 3 convicted 3 Eye Gougers (players convicted of indiscretions about the area of the eyes) playing in Your pack at the same time.
NOT EVEN FRANCE COULD BOAST THAT FEAT.
Not
8 Oct 2012, 13:45 pm
ag lets not get too excited.
the abs deserved their win.
8 Oct 2012, 13:45 pm
@norman-49: Norman, McCaw made a tackle on Strauss, he fell on top of Strauss, clearly leaving his feet and was therefore not allowed to play the ball !! Yet he played the ball but the ref did not see it or prefered not to see it: it happened right in front of him. Go and have a look at 66:57 minutes. Unfortunately I don’t have a link to the incident.
If you can’t see that it wasn’t a tackle then I suggest you get your eyes tested !!
@norman-60: There was a tackle – therefore McCaw was not allowed to play the ball
8 Oct 2012, 13:50 pm
@cane-64: @cane-63:
You have now proven yourself to be an idiot and therefore unworthy of my time.
If you read my original post again (instead of ranting total nonsense), you will see that I said “Rugby is a heated game and these things happen”… It is the inconsistent reffing (headed up by the Kiwi Paddy O’Brien) which is cause for concern.
In light of the above, you should be focussing on the reffing, not on how many infringements the Boks and France have had by comparison…. You have failed to do this and as a result, proven yourself to be unqualified at this level of debate.
You are therefore dismissed and no further comments from you will be considered.
I am The Authority.
8 Oct 2012, 13:57 pm
@the authority-67:
“You have now proven yourself to be an idiot and therefore unworthy of my time”.
I have always be an idiot.
Nothing new there.
But you are now a whining whinging girl.
An ungracious LOSER. and a disgrace to your Cuntry.
Signed: by a higher authority.
8 Oct 2012, 13:57 pm
@cane-59:
what kak…even that point of view is inconsistent.
like…what if the ref had see cowan trip botha 5 seconds before botha then head butted him?
errm
kiwis get away with it again…..
8 Oct 2012, 13:58 pm
@the authority-67:
Paddy is not the head ref.
But yes alotof the time things do not get caught. But they mostly do know.
Things like when Burger eye gouged and got away with it. Matfield took out Kelleher and Carter very late and high, got away with it. Happens alot.
Lets hope these things stop, and lets just start with the Biffo, no late shots, or cowardly eye gouger. Just standup and fight…..thats alot better.
8 Oct 2012, 14:01 pm
@blik-58:
yeah we bring cookies,you guys take guns and knives and anger….and if you are a bok fan you take a box of tissues to school.
8 Oct 2012, 14:07 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-69:
Brigadier ……………………………..another victim.
Do you too sit down to piss.
8 Oct 2012, 14:12 pm
two kiwi c.unts sitting in a tree
K
I
S
S
I
N
G
8 Oct 2012, 14:15 pm
66 charles
if there was a tackle as you say then the tackle is over if the ball is not within a metre of the tackle
however i do not have a ruler to measure.
but to have my eyes tested is sound advice for which i thank you
8 Oct 2012, 14:21 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-73:
Do you know how childish that is?
This is better for you and ya new friend.
Two South African h0m0s sitting in a tree.
E
Y
E
G
O
U
G
I
N
G
8 Oct 2012, 14:23 pm
@Hurricane-75:
Childish…i know but Bakkies always seems to have all the fun. With his wild comments about the game,he knows how to have fun.
8 Oct 2012, 14:24 pm
@Hurricane-75:
you lot are filthy, hurricane
as filthy as they come
by all means, enjoy your empty victories and gloat away…. but you’re filth all the same…
8 Oct 2012, 14:39 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-77:
Enjoy……………………………..yes we do bakkies, we enjoy.
(soothing music with rain and wind chimes).
As we gaze upon:
-The World Cup,
-The Rugby Championship Cup,
-The World 7′s Championship.
-The Freedom Cup.
-The Bledisloe Cup ( the finest of them all). And they don’t whinge when they lose……like you.)
-The Womens WC.
-Super 15.
Fcck me …………………………………….is our Trophy Cabinet big enough for all this gold and silver.
Should we **** in one and send it bakkies?
8 Oct 2012, 14:54 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-77:
These Victories are not empty bakkies.
You are like a RAT on a SINKING ship.
You are a Giant Rodent caught in a trap..
8 Oct 2012, 14:55 pm
@cane-78:
keep glaoting caner, your day will come
8 Oct 2012, 14:59 pm
@cane-79:
only rats around here are the pacicific rats
8 Oct 2012, 15:05 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-80:
It will for sure bakkies.(my day that is).
But none of my Countrymen will ever be as ungracious as you. EVER.
We might be sourly, disappointed and even heartbroken.These are understandable.
But your constant whining about cheating has gone too far.
8 Oct 2012, 15:12 pm
@cane-82: Come now, Cane.
Kiwis moan and whinge about results that did not go their way too.
Remember Suzie? Or Wayne Barnes?
Just a few examples.
8 Oct 2012, 15:14 pm
And Graham Henry thinks the 2007 WC was fixed.
8 Oct 2012, 15:18 pm
@willievz-83:
I remember Suzie and Barnsey very well Willy.
And when I see them in Hell,
I have every intention of poking them in the eye with a big stick.
8 Oct 2012, 15:26 pm
@cane-82:
oh the irony
8 Oct 2012, 15:34 pm
@Transformation-54: borderline because Bekker landed flat on his back compared to on his shoulders and head like the tackle vs France. Besides, don’t get me started on why Rolland shouldn’t be reffing France anyway
8 Oct 2012, 16:48 pm
@gonzo-87: Program on ESPN last week
calles VintaGE Rugby.Showed series of matches between
AB,s and LIONS.
If a player lay on the wrong side he had the**** rucked out of him.
Head,back,legs…Nothing sacrosant.Beautiful to watch when players enforced the rules.
8 Oct 2012, 21:10 pm
@gonzo-87: bekke is over 2 metre tall man, how do you expect him to hit tje deck with his head or shoulders even though his legs have been taken past the horizontal?
9 Oct 2012, 09:19 am
66 charles 53 brigadier van zyl 55 rangerman
charles i took your advice and had my eyes tested and got some spectacles.
then i watched the game again and there definetly was a tackle as you correctly said.
the ball was still within 1 metre of the tackle and Mc caw was not entitled to play the ball as he was lying on the ground.
the ref should have awarded a penalty to the springboks.
my apologies for not agreeing with you in the first instance but at least some good came out of it as i now am able to see much better than in the past and this will make me a lot happier .