Common sense must prevail
9 Oct 2012
JON CARDINELLI writes that the decision to include or exclude Springboks in the Currie Cup should be made in the national team’s best interests.
Welcome to South Africa, where the provincial tail wags the Test dog.
For too long Super Rugby franchises have been permitted to run their Test players into the ground before the Test season has even commenced. And for too long, those players have been forced to play in the final rounds of the Currie Cup.
Last week, Heyneke Meyer admitted that New Zealand has got it right in terms of player management. He didn’t go so far as to say South Africa is getting it wrong, as a statement like that may have been constituted as a slur against his employers.
But then he didn’t have to. Those of us with eyes and ears will know that the current system is geared towards ensuring the success of the provinces rather than that of the national team.
Right now we should be talking about which Springboks should play in the Currie Cup, and which players should rest ahead of the European tour. It should never be a case of the provinces forcing every one of their Test stars to compete at this stage of the season.
It’s true that the provinces have ambitions to win titles, but those ambitions should be considered secondary to the sustained success of the Springboks.
I’m not talking about dealing in absolutes. It does nobody any good to say that every Bok must play Currie Cup rugby, or that every Bok player must be excused.
There are players returning from injury who desperately need the game time, as well as the bit-part players who haven’t featured much in the Rugby Championship who could use the opportunity to sharpen their game.
Jaco Taute started the last two Tests, but would still benefit from an extended run at outside centre for the Lions. Taute’s inexperience in this channel has been clear over the last two matches, and he needs to come to terms with his defensive responsibilities if he is going to feature there for the Boks in November.
Some say that the returning Boks should have to prove themselves before replacing an existing Currie Cup player. What nonsense.
The Currie Cup is the lower tier, it’s an opportunity for younger and less experienced players to prove themselves ahead of the Super Rugby season. It should also provide top players returning from injury with a chance to regain their fitness or sharpen their game ahead of the Boks’ end-of-year-tour.
JP Pietersen is sure to benefit from an extended run with the Sharks. The Bok wing injured his thumb ahead of the Rugby Championship, but has since returned to action in the Currie Cup. Come the Tests in November, he won’t be wanting for game time.
Tiaan Liebenberg, Coenie Oosthuizen, Juandre Kruger, Juan de Jongh, and Pat Lambie have been used sparingly in the recent Sanzar tournament. They too will gain much from a run in the Currie Cup.
Of course, there are those that will be forced to play for overseas clubs in the coming weeks, and that is something that Saru cannot change. Francois Louw and Ruan Pienaar have made some valuable contributions to the Boks this year, and Meyer will be hoping like hell that the pair avoids injury before the Test window reopens in November.
But there are Boks currently in South Africa who shouldn’t be pushed to play. It was reported on Monday Jean de Villiers was nursing two injuries, and that Western Province were still confident that he would feature in their last league match. Why, oh why, should he even be considered?
De Villiers has enjoyed a relatively injury-free 2012, and this has led to him playing the majority of the Super Rugby matches and in all of the Boks’ nine Tests. Why should he be risked in a Currie Cup game when he still has an important role to play on the end-of-year tour? With all the injuries that have plagued the Boks this season, they could ill afford to lose their captain before a tour that is important in terms of results.
I’m not suggesting that WP are to blame. It is the system that is it fault, as when you have a system that allows for the overuse of players at provincial level, then which province is not going to take advantage? ‘Everybody’s doing it, so why shouldn’t we?’ is the mentality. Indeed, why should WP rest De Villiers when, for example, the Sharks are pushing Willem Alberts to play?
The provinces have a title to win, and that is their mandate. It’s the wrong way to look at things, but then they are only operating within the framework that Saru has provided.
And until Saru gets its priorities right and implements a central contracting system that will prioritise players over provinces, Bok coaches like Meyer will always be operating with depleted national teams.

75 Comments
9 Oct 2012, 05:12 am
Common sense and saru goes together as well as JC and journalistic genius…
Bigger change of me flying home on a DRAGON tonight than seeing common sense from saru…
9 Oct 2012, 05:36 am
“It’s true that the provinces have ambitions to win titles, but those ambitions should be considered secondary to the sustained success of the Springboks.”
The provinces will never see it that way and expecting them to is ludicrous at best, remember, at the end of the day they have made a huge investment in their Springbok players, they are the ones forking out the big bucks.
One one hand the simplistic keo journo’s (and I am saying journo’s in the broadest sense of the word) are shouting to the heavens as to why are SA provinces not retaining players going overseas, and on the other they say, a player must play in SA, as long as he doesn’t play for the province paying his salary.
9 Oct 2012, 05:40 am
SA has to reverse course. In NZ, no rugby decision is made without first answering the question “Is this beneficial to the All Blacks?” The #1 priority is ensuing the ABs are the best team in the world.
The Springboks will be second best until they can say the same.
9 Oct 2012, 05:55 am
@thesaint-2:
Howzit Saint, onlangs enige hoenders vermoor?
Tough as it may be but as long as we have a Super X the CC will suffer. The big money being paid is to see them play in the Super comp and not the CC. NZ realised that a long time ago, I think we will never…
9 Oct 2012, 05:56 am
@DAS-3:
Jawellnofine don’t hold your breath…
9 Oct 2012, 06:01 am
You have to admit that it is not ideal to have the Bok coach get his men worn out and not conditioned to peak in the RC, and then have to nurse them through teh RC, to have them smashed in teh CC in time for the end of year tours. It should be accepted that there will be no Boks in the CC, and it is the breeding ground for futuire stars, and for nebies to force their way into the year end tours.
The Bok coaach should have a 30 man squad with him for a couple of months, conditoning them and getting them to test the systems out on themselves, learning how to adapt to play on the move. The AB’s have taken a step up to a new level over the last three consecutive coahcing appointments, in whcih no intellectual property has been lost, their systems have remained constant, and it is all second nature to teh AB players now.
If we want to catch up, we need something special. We need to make them doubt their consistency in appointment and make the NZ public clamour for a new coach, thereby making them lose their IP. All of our guys must QUICKLY get to know each other like the back of their hands. They can only do this by them putting in extra time and effort together, and making up for lackof experience by a focussed, intense experience making up for lost time. then when teh players are up to spec, we must ensure continuity of coaching and no loss of IP.
Appoint the next Bok coach as the assistant coach with 2 years to go, and have him be the understudy, learning the ways from teh oald coach first hand. He can change things when its his to change (hopefully for the better), but at least he will know how things work by the time he comes in. Also appoint a board of ex Bok coaches and renowned provincial coaches to share what they have learned from experience.
And if SARU even thinks about replacing HM in the next 8 years, I will personally hunt them down. It is time for some consistency.
9 Oct 2012, 06:32 am
@SjamBok-6:
Wow, 8 more years of Meyer otherwise you will throw your toys.
Henry never had an individual contract that ran that long, and his record from the get go was nearly 82% in the first year compared to Meyer’s 44.4%
You better hope he improves those stats on the end of year tour.
9 Oct 2012, 06:41 am
@SjamBok-6:
Hmmmm, your post got me thinking, what if Meyers Intellectual Property isn’t any good, then the Bokke would be really stuffed.I wondered also did Meyer ever have any series of meetings with Pdiv to garner any of his IP when he started out as coach?
9 Oct 2012, 06:54 am
The ugly truth: Most of the Boks are signed to multi-million Rand contracts with their Unions. Thus the provinces can justify their inclusion in the closing rounds of the CC.
And this is what happens every year: There’s a “big” union or two who need maximum points to try & secure a semi-final place. The unions include the boks also for this reason & in order to sell a few more tickets because inevitably attendances have been mediocre to poor.
9 Oct 2012, 06:59 am
@Te Rangatira-8:
If they discussed the weather first up they could have done it in under 10 minutes…
But I bet you it did not happen, all the Meyer found was a few colouring in books and a used packet of crayons in the top drawer…
9 Oct 2012, 07:00 am
@Te Rangatira-8: Please don’t ever place the words ‘intellectual property’ anywhere close to the name, MEYER, in any sentence, ever again. It’s an insult to all of those who actually DO possess or have rights to, any valid and legitimate IP.
The 2nd part of your question is simple to answer. NO. The Messiah does not ‘do’ meetings with others full stop. He is not a fan of opinions that differ to his own……(hence Rassie’s expulsion from the coaching box)and the ‘safe’ assistant appointments.
8 Years of Meyer?
Meyer should be in politics or leading some sickasfuck cult, not coaching a national team. His ego, personality and various traits make him ideally suited to a long and distinguished career in pumpkin politics.(Or alternatively, perched on a gold throne somewhere, dressed in blue robes, ordering his adoring foot soldiers to hand over all their earthly goods in order to achieve Nirvana.) Pffffffffffffffft.
9 Oct 2012, 07:02 am
@Brads-7: The team that John Mitchell took to the RWC was actually pretty good (apart from some weird selection decisions in the backs made no doubt by Robbie Deans) and included some young players that Mitchell introduced that went on to become All Black stalwarts like Ali Williams. So Graham Henry & co took over a good team in 2004, and improved it by amongst other things giving Carter the N0 10 role and investing in Nonu in the midfield (according to Henry’s book, the Canterbury coaches including Deans didn’t think Carter had the skillset to play No10!!).
The problem Meyer has is that the Bok team in 2011 had at its core a group of very experienced but aging forwards who retired (from or were invalided out of) international rugby after RWC 2011. This was bound to harm his results, and is a very very different situation to that which faced Henry.
9 Oct 2012, 07:18 am
@viewer-9:
you think you so fokkenn smart, dont you…
9 Oct 2012, 07:23 am
@Slartibartfast-10:
I surmised from your comment you are not a fan of the loveable Pdiv, or colouring books either. At the end of the day it is probably Meyers loss, cause abit of colouring in calms the nerves.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-11:
Oh Pedigree, where to now, methinks deeper into The Meyer.
9 Oct 2012, 07:29 am
@Te Rangatira-14:
Yes, he does not make my top 10 list of coaches.
The Meyer uses walkie talkies to great effect to calm his nerves, crayons will be no match for him…
9 Oct 2012, 07:30 am
What would be in the best interests of our national team is for JDV to play this weekend, get injured and be out of the EOYT.
9 Oct 2012, 07:33 am
@Slartibartfast-15:
I had a geography teacher who was partial to throwing chalk at the students too,a loose bunch those geog teachers.
9 Oct 2012, 07:38 am
@mxhosa-16:
@Te Rangatira-17:
You must be as old as I am, these days they will lock up the teacher…
9 Oct 2012, 07:40 am
Agree JC certain Boks need to be rested others need game plans.
9 Oct 2012, 07:45 am
Bakkies how’s the blood pressure today, these big matches can’t be good for you mate.
9 Oct 2012, 07:46 am
Bok team for EOYT
1. Beast, Coenie
2. Strauss, Chiliboy, Tiaan
3. Jannie, Cilliers
4. Eben, Flip
5. Bekker, Kruger
6. Flo, Daniels
7. Alberts, Coetzee
8. Vermeulen, Kanko
9. Pienaar, Hougaard, Vermaak
10. Goosen(if fit), Jantjies, Lambie
11. Habana, Rhule
12. JDV
13. JdJ, Taute, Mapoe
14. JPP, Basson
15. Kirchner
Guys like Mapoe and Rhule need to be introduced to the Bok system and rewarded for their showings in the currie cup.
9 Oct 2012, 07:47 am
@Slartibartfast-18:
Probably, the same teacher would carry around a long ruler and sneak up behind you and whack the top of your head for giving a wrong answer.Being in a boys college we would have dorm fights and it would be all on,he stayed in a flat at the end of the building and would open the door and throw a few punches.Great rugby coach though and the most popular teacher in the school
9 Oct 2012, 07:48 am
@NZINCHINA-20: Bakkies is not here. He is hastily putting together his Youtube package of Kiwi cheating, for an 11am upload and premiere.
I asked him to do this, for the benefit of his fans, both here in SA and beyond our borders
I’m expecting big things from this expose. It will be far better than that 5 minute clip some Aussie fella slapped together in 2010.
@Sasuke-19: Others need divine intervention.
9 Oct 2012, 07:49 am
@Sasuke-21: Starting 22
1. Beast
2. Strauss
3. Jannie
4. Eben
5. Bekker
6. Flo
7. Alberts
8. Vermeulen
9. Pienaar
10. Goosen (if fit, if not then Lambie)
11. Habana
12. JDV
13. JdJ
14. JPP
15. Kirchner
16. Chiliboy
17. Coenie
18. Flip
19. Coetzee
20. Hougaard
21. Lambie/Jantjies
22. Taute.
9 Oct 2012, 07:51 am
23 he he and I thought I go over the top on KEO sometimes he’s lost the plot
9 Oct 2012, 07:52 am
@Slartibartfast-18:
of in ander woorde:
spaar die kind en le die lat in.
i am a firm believer, then and now, that the stongest, straightest trees are made when the braches are young. the best thing you can give a young boy is a good solid hiding. he will appreciate the good things you give him a whole lot more.
9 Oct 2012, 07:55 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-26: Bakkkkkkkkkkkkies. I hope you are busy putting that Youtube expose together. Who knows, if it’s as special as what I think it will be, you might convert a few doubters…..
9 Oct 2012, 07:58 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-26:
Ja Bakkies but these days parents get taken to court for assaulting their kids…
9 Oct 2012, 07:59 am
at the end of the day china, i will walk away from all this knowing i had the good fortune of backing a better team.
sorry you cant say the same.
9 Oct 2012, 08:00 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-23:

you give me no option, i will have to
9 Oct 2012, 08:01 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-27:
@Slartibartfast-28:
the world is going to hell, slarti… to hell….
9 Oct 2012, 08:02 am
@Slartibartfast-28:
lord knows those dishonest kiwis could have done with good parenting, time and again.
absolutely no morals, no honour, no self respect.
shame.
9 Oct 2012, 08:19 am
@corporal punishment-12:
i was just thinking(before i saw this post) that had carter been south african he wouldn’t have been playing flyhalf. smith would be sent to box kick school, israel dagg would be off to europe allready having been told he is to small and nonu would have been converted into a hooker. read and mccaw would be the center pairing.
9 Oct 2012, 08:22 am
@Sasuke-21:
I’d swap a few of thsoe around:
-
Tiaan LiebenbergCraig Burden-
Keegan DanielHeinrich Brussow – Brussow a specialist, and Daniel never going to fit the mould for what Heyneke wants. I can’t see how bringing in a ‘smaller’ loosie helps us.-
Ryan KankowskiArno Botha – Well, Kankowski is playing in Japan until early next year and is unavailable. Arno the most promising nr. 8 behind Duane currently.-
Lionel MapoeFrancois Steyn – Come on now… Frans is a sure thing. Probably the first name you should put in every week. A decent CC for Mapoe shouldn’t mean Springbok honors. He’s been on-and-off through his career and has been moved around the backline plenty. Don’t see where he can fit in.I like the rest though.
9 Oct 2012, 08:24 am
@Sasuke-24:
Think Coenie might have cost him a place in the 22 with his woeful scrummaging against the All Blacks.
Really needs to improve on that if he wants a future in the Bok jersey.
9 Oct 2012, 08:32 am
@Te Rangatira-17:
So did I. It must be part of the geography teachers training course.
9 Oct 2012, 08:37 am
It’s quite obvious that the whole NZ system is superior and that the lack of a similar system in SA is destroying our rugby or certainly ensuring that it isn’t where it could or should be.
What will it take for things to change. Meyer has been diplomatic. When he says NZ manages their players very well, the implication is obvious. If his employers really had the best interests of SA rugby at heart, they’d welcome his identification of the problems that hold us back. After all, isn’t that what you employ an expert for?
But it doesn’t seem to be the case in SA as things are. We’ll be in for a few more whippings from the Kiwis before anything changes. Or maybe the SARU establishment and the provinces will make more money from the status quo. Let’s hope not.
9 Oct 2012, 08:38 am
i thought coenie did pretty well in the scrum actually. he gave woody a hard time
9 Oct 2012, 08:39 am
The Rugby Championship log on this website is incorrect.
9 Oct 2012, 08:39 am
Thing is, I don’t think WP can beat the Cheetahs without their Bok players at the moment. They are going through a horrible run of form which is showing up the younger players as mostly pretenders at this level.
Guys like Duanne, Eben, Andries, Juan De Jong will make a huge difference to the team.
I saw Gerhard Vd Heever and Rynard Elstadt at gym last night. Working hard they were.
9 Oct 2012, 08:42 am
Coenie shouldn’t be considered for Bok honours if he cannot get his temper under control. You are better off having Stephen Kitshoff at loosehead cover. Much better all-round player. never misses a tackle and hardly ever gives away a penalty.
Coenie needs to show that he is serious about his career and cut down on his transgression rate, it will cost the team a win most days.
9 Oct 2012, 08:43 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-32:
haha so great parenting is in SA?
I can just imagine senior Bakkies and moma Bakkies teaching their son,” Now Bakkies junior, when you lose at anything….cry and cry your heart out. Remember it is never your fault, its everyone elses”
Yep, great parenting there imust say.
9 Oct 2012, 08:44 am
KP claim ‘rubbish’
SOUTH AFRICAN cricket bosses have blasted ECB chief David Collier for talking “rubbish” over the Kevin Pietersen affair.
Collier accused the Proteas of provoking England’s star batsman into sending them inflammatory texts during this summer’s Test series. Collier said the South Africans had a “definite policy” to antagonise Pietersen, who was subsequently dropped.
But Cricket South Africa’s acting chief exec Jacques Faul hit back: “This is absolute rubbish. “What is particularly disappointing is that I met with Mr Collier when in London for the Lord’s Test.
“He did not raise this allegation with me and I’d have thought as a matter of courtesy he’d have spoken to me before going public.
http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport/cricket/4579160/South-Africa-insist-claims-Kevin-Pietersen-was-provoked-into-sending-inflammatory-texts-are-rubbish.html
9 Oct 2012, 08:47 am
@stormersboy-41:
Huh? First of all, Coenie was TH cover on Saturday and second, what temper? He got penalised in one scrum for dropping, a scrum where Woodie had his hand on the ground yet again and a second time for going off his feet at a ruck.
9 Oct 2012, 08:52 am
@mamma_lou-38:
You must have been watching a completely different game.
He was annihilated.
9 Oct 2012, 08:53 am
@Slartibartfast-44: I’m not talking about Saturday, I’m talking about his general penalty count.
9 Oct 2012, 08:54 am
@Slartibartfast-44:
Don’t bother with that.
His temper is not an issue, unless he’s out drinking apparently.
He just needs to pick his moments better, rather then giving away penalties right in front of the sticks…
And also needs to improve his scrummaging. That was embarrassing. Needs serious work.
9 Oct 2012, 08:55 am
@stormersboy-46:
Coenie is a much much better ball carrier. He’s also got a much higher workrate on defense.
If he stops giving away silly penalties in our own half then we might be onto something.
9 Oct 2012, 09:01 am
@hendrikp-45:
why did woody keep putting his hand on the grass?
9 Oct 2012, 09:03 am
@hendrikp-48:
Temper is probably the wrong word to use. Temperament is really what I meant.
He is a better ball carrier that’s true. I am just of the opinion that he may give away more than he brings if he cannot bring his penalty count down. Plus he’s never been a great scrummager. So really what you have is a great big part time loose forward.
Not convinced, but he’s welcome to prove me wrong.
9 Oct 2012, 09:09 am
coenie is penalty masjien sos mcguyver greyling & he is proving not to be tighthead’s arse.
9 Oct 2012, 09:13 am
I wonder if Poop’s pilot has found the landing strip yet?
Seems not.
9 Oct 2012, 09:17 am
@Transformation-51:
after less than half a game against arguably the best loosehead in the world? i didn’t think he did too badly
9 Oct 2012, 09:20 am
Poor SARU, they cant get anything right. They agreed to the extended and ridiculously long super rugby seasons for years now (without central contracts) and it started to backfire. There has been no leadership and concern for all SAs players then, why should there be for the boks now?
Central contacts would not be necessary if they had put the players first. There is just too much rugby! Super Rugby is such a boring spectacle and imo most supporters would have been happy if the season ended before the mid year international window or even earlier. Why not just play each super team once and have extended playoffs? It can all be over in 5 months!
The duration of super rugby is the biggest culprit… but greed prevailed and SARU agreed to the extended season and had no regard for the currie cup.
Now even the SAs media and supporters want the boks not to play currie cup! Its suppose to be the best sa players vs the best, otherwise whats the point ? But playing the boks now is even more ridiculous after the missed most of the tournament anyway!
Super rugby can be shortened considerably. But that wont happen. So just give the boks central contracts…But currie cup wont be the same, but who cares if you can support your super rugby team with their boks for the whole year!
Somehow at some point SARU or the rugby public will have to ask for a shortened super rugby season… This will solve a lot of problems… Never again should a bok team only have a week to prepare for a test!
I say somebody should start a boikot on facebook or a blog or something. If fans stayed away for 2-3 super rugby games that just might cause SANZAR to start looking out for the players and shorten the season… Come one Keo it could start here!
9 Oct 2012, 09:23 am
i’m off cheers
9 Oct 2012, 09:27 am
@Jeez-54: 100% agreed with you.
Less is more.
9 Oct 2012, 09:29 am
@Jeez-54:
i think most people on this site would agree with you and some have made similar posts, but sadly such common sense is drowed out by the kwan. show me the money jerry. i’m off for real this time
9 Oct 2012, 09:38 am
@mamma_lou-57:
Will most supporters be part of a boikot then?
9 Oct 2012, 09:46 am
@mamma_lou-53: he gave away a penalty straight away, since when is woodcock “arguably the best loosehead in the world”?
in super rugby coenie was giving away penalties cheaply too, no argument there!
9 Oct 2012, 09:49 am
You can’t blame SANZAR for the problems facing SA.
The management of the players is an internal problem, not the tournament itself.
Aus had how many teams in the playoffs? 1
SA had 3
NZ 2
Aus have been crippled by injuries but still managed to hold their 2nd ranking after the RC.
So if you have a problem, look in-house at SARU not SANZAR,
9 Oct 2012, 09:50 am
@Transformation-59:
Agree, Woodcock is way past his best years. Even then i dont think he was ever the best, or one of the best. He was just a good player, now he seems to be not able to get back onside and gives a few penalties away.
9 Oct 2012, 09:52 am
@hendrikp-34: Dude Brussouw and F.Steyn is injured and wont make the EOYT squad. Thats why i didnt include them. They will be in my team yes if fit.
Not convinced about Burden yet, he needs more time. Tiaan is a seasoned campaigner and has played a season or 2 in europe. Will be great experience.
If not Keegan then i will go with Deysel (if he is not injured). I havent seen much of Arno yet, so still unknown quantity i guess.
Mapoe has been great at 13 this season, I hope he gets a good run at 13 for Bulls next year
He might be in the plans next year for the boks .
9 Oct 2012, 09:55 am
@Hurricane-61:
I think he saw the writing on the wall at the Blues, and buggered off to the deep south as his retirement plan rather than the traditional offshore contract.
He might not earn the same coin there, but is likely to snare another central contract to compensate.
9 Oct 2012, 10:00 am
@Brads-60: If Aus didnt have all those injuries dont you think their international season would have gone much better? So even the Aussies can complain. SANZARs greed is deforming the quality of the international season… and SARU not doing much to stop it and is indeed part of the problem. imo
9 Oct 2012, 10:05 am
@Jeez-64:
Aus have the depth of a tide pool, there is none.
They have a different issue altogether from SA to sort out.
9 Oct 2012, 10:06 am
@Sasuke-62:
Whoops haven’t really been keeping up with the injuries
9 Oct 2012, 10:13 am
There is a great article by Tony Johnson on the Super Sport Website:
http://www.supersport.com/rugby/blogs/tony-johnson/Boks_will_be_world_beaters
He goes into a little detail around the “resting” process that we debated last week,
Worth a read.
9 Oct 2012, 11:37 am
@stormersboy-67: yep, answers flanka’s question from last week re only mccaw and carter have been rested by nzru, tj confirms that the all blacks are given time after byes to stretch back in super rugby something we don’t see in SA.
9 Oct 2012, 12:21 pm
@mxhosa-16: Who cares? J de V. is a loss leader at best.
9 Oct 2012, 12:23 pm
A player who’s never been on fire can’t suffer from burnout. Let everybody play CC.
9 Oct 2012, 13:07 pm
“And until Saru gets its priorities right and implements a central contracting system that will prioritise players over provinces, Bok coaches like Meyer will always be operating with depleted national teams.”
Well said JC, it’s been happening for a decade now and SA have to a degree, squandered some of the finest players the world has ever seen through poor player management while NZ have maximised their potential (WC ’07 aside).
9 Oct 2012, 13:38 pm
The past four year the Keo brigade was all for the Bok coach to rest the players for the EOYT in order for them to have a good rest for the following year. We read many an article where the coach was slammed for not resting certain Bok players for the EOYT.
Now they are talking about Bok players to be rested for the last part of the CC in order for them to be ready for the EOYT. We now see that they are blaming SARU for not implementing central contracts so that they can have control more over players. Nothing about the role of the Bok coach in this regard.
What changed?
Oh yeah…the Bok coach. The previous coach was not a favorite of theirs.
9 Oct 2012, 15:42 pm
Of course its brain dead to not have central contracting. SNARU prove their dofness. It’s simple – buy out the players contracts and pay them less S15/CC TV revenue to balance. To me it will have at least two positives. Boks will get much needed rest and coaching. Then the guys in CC will get a chance to shine and move up to S15 and maybe Boks.
But SA Rugby is not about SA Rugby; like the SA government is not for SA, it’s for the benefit of the individuals (very polite) in the hierarchy. Until this changes, SA Rugby (and SA) will battle.
9 Oct 2012, 15:50 pm
Everyone is going to use their Boks….for sure. Who shouldn’t use their Boks Keo ? Let me guess – everyone except WP ? LOL !
Nice try.
9 Oct 2012, 18:55 pm
#69- ???