Goosen’s season is over

Johan Goosen will be sidelined for the rest of the year as he undergoes surgery on his knee on Tuesday.

The 20-year-old Springbok flyhalf suffered a Grade 3 medial tear in his left knee during the first half of the Rugby Championship Test against the All Blacks last weekend.

Goosen confirmed to keo.co.za that he will go under the knife at 12pm on Tuesday. The final decision was made after doctors and specialists had different opinions on Monday.

It was believed that without surgery, there was still a chance for Goosen to recover in time to feature during the Boks’ end-of-year tour to Europe in November.

However, surgery will allow the player to enjoy a full recovery. He is expected to spend three months on the sidelines.

Goosen has had an unfortunate run with injuries in 2012. He suffered a dislocated shoulder during the Cheetahs’ 36-33 loss to the Highlanders in Bloemfontein in April. He also struggled with a heel niggle during the Rugby Championship.

Goosen’s absence will allow Morne Steyn, Elton Jantjies and Pat Lambie to compete for the Bok No 10 jersey during the November Tests.

874 Comments

Pages: « 17 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 1718 » Show All

• 551.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Horings-546: OK It seems that female
    bloggers like DV,s smile It must be that.Certainly not rugby ability

• 552.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-544:
    Remeber that he moved Habana, who played more than 70 test matches on the left wing, over to right wing to accommodate Hougaards on the left.

• 553.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-549:

That’s one of HM’s better selections.

Read will probably just have to f@rt to get KD out of his way.

• 554.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

I have said my say.Good night all.

• 555.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-553: DV was never in his way.

• 556.corporal punishment: Reply to this comment

@BokkeYouBeauties-542: I am not sure the AB’s are on an upward curve, but I do think they played to their potential the last two weekends. It was clear that the AB’s targetted Taute, Hougaard and Habana’s positioning (and weak tackling). I am not so sure the AB’s expected it to be so easy, but once they got that first try their eyes must have lit up – let’s do that again!!

The AB’s have some big challenges ahead of them in the next couple of years, in positions 1-3, 7, 12 and possibly 13 (I am not sure Conrad will hang in for the next World Cup). Even today, we are vunerable to injury at prop, No8, 12 and 13. This isn’t like in 2006 or 7, where the AB’s had capable international standard cover in virtually every position. So rather than seeing an upward curve, I tend to see us being at a pinnacle at present!

• 557.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Horings-545: who is the defence coach responsible for the LEAKY defence pattern we saw on saturday? why should he be spared the chop?

• 558.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

@nama1-547:

Mametsa was going about how white players earn significantly more than black players, and he made reference to JS who came from WP having achieved nothing there (yet he was on R1.6m), while a WC winning black player earned about half of that. Tim then stopped him before he could revealed the name…

• 559.corporal punishment: Reply to this comment

PS – I am gutted this is not a repeat of 1996, where we had 5 matches on a trot against SA. I reckon we would win at least 4 out of 5, given this AB team is at the height of its powers. It was the perfect chance for us to stretch out the lead a bit, before you guys even it up when we are rebuilding our own team!!!

• 560.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Horings-545:
    Surely you can see that the non-BEE appointments is not covering themselves in glory either.

Who is actually coaching the forwards? Meyer, who we know is a great forward coarch or van Graan, who at some stage was only the TV analyst for the Bulls? What the hell is he doing there? Are you satisfied with our defensive system under McFarlane? Why did the AB score 4 tries against us? What about the fitness coach? The AB seemed to be ending the game stronger than our players…and we were playing at altitude. Are our players fit enough?

Why don’t we see the same amount of criticism leveled at them also?

• 561.Horings: Reply to this comment

So, PDiv record in 2010 and 2011 with the most experienced Bok team ever. Played 23, lost 10. 3 of those played were against Samoa, Fiji and Namibia. Even though Meyer did not play against these low ranked teams yet he has played 9 and lost 3. This with a less experienced pack than even Jake White started his team with.

Many believe Jake picked a new pack, but John Smit, Os du Randt, Matfield, Bakkies, Juan Smith, Joe van Niekerk and Schalk Burger made their debuts before 2004. Eddie Andrews and Jaque Cronje made their debuts in Jake’s era and they were a big success, right?

• 562.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-557:
    Jislaaik man, how many four try bonus points did the Bulls leak this year? This was the same guy who was responsible for their defensive systems yet you don’t hear a beep about him.

People will now probably say that I am pro Loubscher but it is not that at all. Let us just be fair in our criticism, that’s all I’m asking.

• 563.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Coming November will be so much fun to watch ;)
    Seemed like WP aren’t in a great hurry to sign Jantjies, a fierce competition awaiting there from Coleman and Burton Francis?
    :-D

• 564.Horings: Reply to this comment

@nama1-560: When did Meyer have time to do fitness training? No, but they were part of successful teams at the highest level. Loubscher was not. They had very successful CVs, Loubscher did not. How can you not see that this was in fact a BEE appointment?

• 565.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-557: I’m loving how those who throw their Pep stores broekies at Meyer when he walks past them, are so keen to place all the Boks woes on the shoulders of Ricardo :)

Anything to escape from the truth in the cold light of day…….their Messiah (who can’t swim) has just heard the ssssssssssssssssssssssssss as the air escapes from his water wings.

How doff are these people? The ‘springbuck’ stops with Meyer, klaar. He has made it clear from day one the backline will be irrelevant to all of his Bok plans. Van Graan runs the attacking moves, and MacFartass does nothing. The less said about Louis Koen the better……
    The backline is neglected by the Head coach, which basically means Wayne Smith could be coaching them, but Meyer would still be less than interested in anything he had to say.

These Tswanetokkeloshies must spin me another one.

• 566.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-563: Back on birth control Paris?

• 567.saru1983: Reply to this comment

yoh i see heyneke is so kak and stuck in the dinosaur era that his even taken the first half of this blog into the past.
    ******* arguing abt if white was a good coach or not.
    **** what next

• 568.Horings: Reply to this comment

@nama1-560: I think you can critisize their appointment, but not because it was not on merit. They had good success. McFarland has been working with Meyer from the start. So has Basil Carzis (Spelling ???) as well as van Graan. They were part of the successful Bulls teams and they were never dropped or fired. Loubscher was appointed from nowhere and everytime this happens in South Africa it is suspicious.

I do not know if it is in fact Loubscher who is responsible for our backline play, but the point is he was not selected on merit. Whether Maria Ramos is responsible for Absa’s failures. Point is politics played a role in her appointment. Whether the new SAA board is the best for the job is debatable. Point is politics played a role. And this all my friend is correlated to this country going down in flames, whether you want to believe it or not.

• 569.BokkeYouBeauties: Reply to this comment

@Horings-561: Most of the supporter gripe during the PDiv era was just people not liking PDiv himself, not the state of the Springboks.

• 570.saru1983: Reply to this comment

At least with Heyneke as coach i can have a good laugh at all the stupidity, guessing what cfukwit scheme he’ll come up with next is part of the fun. A blerrie skaap and outwit this amoeba brained racist cnut

• 571.Horings: Reply to this comment

@saru1983-570: If you think you have a good laugh with HM as head coach, now you know how the rest of the world had a good laugh with snorre.

• 572.Horings: Reply to this comment

@BokkeYouBeauties-569: Up to 2009. From 2010 I got pissed as I saw the most talented Bok team up till then getting smashed againt the Aussies time and again.

• 573.saru1983: Reply to this comment

@Horings-571: and the rest of the world isnt laughing now?
    ha ha ha
    The Div said some stupid **** but Meyer’s skull is empty
    div was a comedian and meyer a clown

• 574.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Horings-564:
    Meyer appointed a fitness coach, didn’t he?

Is he doing his job if the Boks run out of puff against the AB, at altitude nogal?

Let’s for argument’s sake, agree that Loubscher is a AA appointment. Do you think it is fair that he is singled out for criticism while our attack coach (van Graan), our defensive coach (McFarland and our fitness coach (?) get of scot-free despit the Boks not being able to put together any sort of attack in the 1st half while the were dominating, leaked four tries and ran out of puff towards the end of the game?

Why don’t I see you criticizing these okes as well?

• 575.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Horings-572: But the player’s were coaching that Bok team apparently? You know those players in the ‘most talented’ Bok team?
    Or did they only coach when the Boks won? Divvy only coached when they lost?

Make up your mind. Either The Patron saint of tallfuckers everywhere, Matfield and his sidekick, the patron saint of traffic cops, du Preez coached the Boks or they didn’t. Which one is it?

• 576.saru1983: Reply to this comment

who the hell picked the assistants Meyer of course.As dumb as they r Meyer must have the iq of lint bcause now he has to do the work of three men and im guessing they r larry curly and moe

• 577.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Horings-561:
    This was JW’s pack for his 1st match in charge:

Os du Randt (39)
    John Smit (26)
    Eddie Andrews (0)
    Bakkies BothaBlue Bulls (11)
    Victor Matfield (24)
    Schalk (jnr) Burger (3)
    Pedrie Wannenburg (7)
    Jacques Cronjé (0)

Total caps: 110

Meyer pack for his 1st match in charge:

Tendai Mtawarira (32)
    Bismarck du Plessis (42)
    Jannie du Plessis (30)
    Eben Etzebeth (0)
    Juandré Kruger (0)
    Marcell Coetzee (0)
    Willem Alberts (9)
    Pierre Spies (47)

Total: 160 caps

Also keep in mind that Meyer had a chance to select a fit Heinrich Brussow (with 20 caps) but chose not to.

What was your point?

• 578.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@nama1-574: can you not comprehend what Horings is saying to you?

Meyer & the other ‘qualified’ blokes didn’t have enough timd to implement their systems, Loubscher on the other hand, regardless of the short prep time, is just incompetent!

finish & klaar.

• 579.saru1983: Reply to this comment

@Horings-568: this country started going down in flames in 1652

• 580.Horings: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-575: Sure Pdiv had a player based coaching team and all the credit must go to them for the success, but everyone knew such a stucture will not last and Pdiv was the decision maker. So we should blame him for the chaos in 2010 and 2011.

@saru1983-573: You are a racist and I will not talk to you.

@nama1-574: They should get critism. Point is the others were appointed on merit and Loubscher not.

Regarding the critism on the fitness issue. I think Basil Carzis was responsible for the best conditioning in SA rugby. I think it is unfair to critisize him as fitness should be the focus in the off season. This is the responsibility of the provinces and he should work with all the provinces to get our conditioning up to standard.

• 581.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Horings-568:
    Oh, I see. You don’t criticize them because they were appointed on “merit.”

What merit, if I may ask?

• 582.Horings: Reply to this comment

@nama1-577: Please get the number of caps for our first game against NZ, compared to Jake’s first team vs ABs.

• 583.BokkeYouBeauties: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-575: LMAO, love it.. People hated PDivvy based mostly on hearsay, even when the Boks were doing very well, po3s klapping the likes of New Zealand and Australia 6 love, people still hated the guy. I cant think of a single time where Divvy was accepted by the greater rugby supporting nation, i was glad to see him go, for his sake

• 584.saru1983: Reply to this comment

mallet, ashwin and smal for head coach back coach and fowards coach
    fire the lot of these twits in charge now

• 585.BokkeYouBeauties: Reply to this comment

@nama1-577: LMFAO… Nice one chaaina, nice one, i will sleep with an immovable smirk on my face tonite hahahahaha

• 586.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Horings-572:
    That “most talented Bok team” was at the end of their line then.

PdV should’ve cut them loose at the end of 2009 but in Feb 2010, SARU in all their wisdom gave them new two year contracts effectively forcing PdV to use them until the RWC in 2011.

• 587.saru1983: Reply to this comment

shite im a racist oh no!

• 588.Horings: Reply to this comment

@nama1-581: They were successful with super rugby teams and Ricardo was with the Vodacom Cup team. How do you not understand this?

@saru1983-579: Hehe, ja sorry I forgot Africa is at the forefront of the world.

• 589.BokkeYouBeauties: Reply to this comment

@saru1983-584: And what abeeout Naas :-)

• 590.Horings: Reply to this comment

@nama1-586:

“effectively forcing PdV to use them until the RWC in 2011.” Ag shame. PDivvy was forced into picking his favourites. I cannot believe you actually typed those words and believe it. I thought they joked about the state of this country’s education, but now I know it is no joke.

• 591.saru1983: Reply to this comment

@Horings-588: so what r u implying dont answer im not speaking to u now either
    bwahahaaaha

• 592.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-578:
    You know I’m an instrument baby. A bit slow, like Worsie. :lol:

@Horings-580:
    The RC started on the 18th August with the game against the Argies. By then, the coaching staff had the players for two weeks except the Shark players who played in the S15 final the previous week. So, our fitness coach had these players for about TEN weeks to improve on their fitness if he felt that the provincial trainers did not do a proper job.

Yet, he could not do it. They were tired towards the end of the game against the AB while the AB players looked fresh.

Don’t shift the blame.

• 593.saru1983: Reply to this comment

@BokkeYouBeauties-589: ha ha what Naas knows about Rugby is dangerous.

• 594.saru1983: Reply to this comment

@saru1983-593: less be onest wat naas knows is dangerous

• 595.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Seems Meyer was damned if he didn’t and damned if he did when it came to Goosens selection.

• 596.nama1: Reply to this comment

@nama1-581:
    Shifting the goal post now but I’ll duly oblige, my man.

Meyer’s pack: They lost by 10 points.

Tendai Mtawarira (38)
    Adriaan Strauss (15)
    Jannie du Plessis (36)
    Flip van der Merwe (17)
    Juandré Kruger (4)
    Francois Louw (11)
    Willem Alberts(14)
    Duane Vermeulen (26)

Total caps: 161

JW’s pack: They lost by 2 points.

Os du Randt (43)
    John Smit (30)
    Eddie Andrews (4)
    Bakkies Botha (13)
    Albert van den Berg (24)
    Schalk (jnr) Burger (7)
    AJ Venter (17)
    Jacques Cronjé (4)

Total caps: 142

Again what’s your point.

• 597.Horings: Reply to this comment

@nama1-592: OK, everyone played their part. Everyone under performed. But you are missing my point. No one was better equipped to coach the Boks than Meyer. Maybe AC, maybe Mallett, but they were not interested and Meyer had all the experience. McFarland was the defense coach of the Bulls for the last decade and very successful. Maybe Nienaber would have been a better choice. Johan van Graan has also been part of the Bulls coaching team for years and Matfield should be asked how good analyst he is. Maybe Plumtree, maybe Naka would have been a better choice as forwards coach. Like I said the conditioning coach is the best SA has to offer. The Bulls were miles ahead of other SA franchises for some years in terms of conditioning.

BUT all of Pieter Rossouw, **** Muir, Allistair Coetzee, Carlos Spencer, Hawies Fourie, etc have better CVs than Ricardo Loubscher, hence me saying he was not appointed on merit.

• 598.BokkeYouBeauties: Reply to this comment

Ysterbeth > 115kgs
    Bekker > 115kgs
    Alberts >115kgs
    Vermeulen > 115kgs
    and Strauss doesn’t really get around the park much, which doesn’t help at all.
    Laaik, what is the obsession with all of this heavy artillery.

Meyer should have taken his cue from Plumtree. The Sharks were very well balanced with Alberts at 4 playing his role as ball carrier and relentless defender.
    Then having an athletic skillful back 3 with Coetsee, Daniel and Kanko, who can get around the park more, hit the gaps and offload in the tackle. Note.. Alberts is a major part of this unit’s success. And you have Bismark who also is a lot more mobile than any of the loosies we have in the bok setup but with a ton and a bit more mongrel. Meyer must just have some vision sometimes.

• 599.Horings: Reply to this comment

@nama1-596: Vermeulen- 26???

• 600.Horings: Reply to this comment

@BokkeYouBeauties-598: So Meyer should have picked Bismark? I agree.

Pages: « 17 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 1718 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.