Goosen’s season is over
9 Oct 2012
Johan Goosen will be sidelined for the rest of the year as he undergoes surgery on his knee on Tuesday.
The 20-year-old Springbok flyhalf suffered a Grade 3 medial tear in his left knee during the first half of the Rugby Championship Test against the All Blacks last weekend.
Goosen confirmed to keo.co.za that he will go under the knife at 12pm on Tuesday. The final decision was made after doctors and specialists had different opinions on Monday.
It was believed that without surgery, there was still a chance for Goosen to recover in time to feature during the Boks’ end-of-year tour to Europe in November.
However, surgery will allow the player to enjoy a full recovery. He is expected to spend three months on the sidelines.
Goosen has had an unfortunate run with injuries in 2012. He suffered a dislocated shoulder during the Cheetahs’ 36-33 loss to the Highlanders in Bloemfontein in April. He also struggled with a heel niggle during the Rugby Championship.
Goosen’s absence will allow Morne Steyn, Elton Jantjies and Pat Lambie to compete for the Bok No 10 jersey during the November Tests.

874 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 » Show All
10 Oct 2012, 08:54 am
@sharks_lover-695: Pretty impressive backline. I like the look of Reinach. He’s got that energy that you need in a scrummie. Looks good technically too.
@Gumboots-699: Morning boet
10 Oct 2012, 08:55 am
Jantjies to the Stormers, great news
The dream back line is forming: Jantjies, Habana, Bracha, JdJ, Aplon, little Joe!
Will be great to watch!
Would it signal the end of AC too
10 Oct 2012, 08:57 am
@Gumboots-697:
Looooong S15 season buddy.
As we’ve seen this year, depth and the quality of that depth is crucial.
Whitehead, Jordaan, Frans and even Meyer will be crucial to the Sharks success next year. Sharks finally have some quality centres to unleash Jp an the rest.
10 Oct 2012, 08:58 am
@gumboots-697:
Tim would be a great fit at the Kings… Especially if JJ comes home too. Sommer bring back the Potgieters as well. The Sharks can have Andries Strauss back.
10 Oct 2012, 09:03 am
Actually the Sharks also do have 3 junior Bok Props in their ranks and they are comming along just great.
Dell who cam on as a sub for the Sharks last weekend and did very well.
Danie Mienie
Nick Schonert
and Hooker/Prop Franco Marais
These are all junior Bok team members, so long term not looking bad at all
10 Oct 2012, 09:08 am
@Sharks_lover-705:
Don’t forget Redelinghuys, Chadwick, Cooper and Hadebe all former baby boks…
10 Oct 2012, 09:11 am
@stormersboy-701:
Morning mate! I hope you are well.
@John Galt-703:
Ja, Sharks looking good for next year…
@mxhosa-704:
He would too…
10 Oct 2012, 09:14 am
and prolly the most impressive depth is at loose forward.
Daniel
KAnko
Deysel
Botes
PSDT also plays 7
Chris Cloete ( Fetcher )
Franscios Kleinhans ( Fetcher )
Khaya Majola
Terra Mthembu
I know there is another fella and cant think of his name, impressive strong loose forward in the Alberts Deysel mold
10 Oct 2012, 09:15 am
@mxhosa-706: Yeah forgot about Redelinghuys and have not mentioned Hookers yet boet, but thanks
10 Oct 2012, 09:19 am
@sharks_lover-705: No no no no no no no! Stop worrying about next year’s super 15, your getting distracted from the task at hand – the boks EOYT! Honestly, this Saffa provincial focus is unbelievable
In all seriousness, there is virtually no interest in player movements amongst the nz super sides. The only talking point has been garth anscombe going to the chiefs, but this is mainly because he is associated with the blues train wreck.
10 Oct 2012, 09:19 am
Hookers:
Bissy
BUrden
Cooper(also covers LH prop)
Monde
Franco MArais
10 Oct 2012, 09:20 am
@corporal punishment-710:
mate not checking player movements, just cheecking the Sharks prsent player depth situation
10 Oct 2012, 09:23 am
SL you forgot Coetzee among the loosies…
10 Oct 2012, 09:24 am
@corporal punishment-710:
here is an article with some player movements in Kiwiland
All my attention now – ‘rugby-wise’ is focussed on the negotiations for Super players as the end of the month is the deadline for the New Zealand Super 15 Squads to be announced. With the 2013 squads allowed to be up to a maximum of 32 players with an additional 8 wider training group players also in the full-time mix for the first time, New Zealand Super Squads could be up to a maximum of 40 full-time playing members. In all reality that will not be the number with squads hovering around the 35 mark more likely.
Business, rumours and plenty of gossip is doing the rounds as player agents, coaches and players themselves try and secure that last player position on a Super franchises roster. Most squads are close to complete with just a few spots being left open for any last minute bargains.
Which leads me to the latest piece of concrete business done in the last 24 hours:
Gareth Anscombe has picked up a move to the Super Champion Chiefs side for 2013.
Anscombe’s has been offered a one-year deal with the reigning champions, where he will play back-up first five-eighth to All Black Aaron Cruden.
Ansscombe was among a host of Blues players that have been culled from the cellar dwellers from this year.
Player movement to date:
Blues:
Kane Barrett (Loosie from Taranaki)
Brendon O’Connor (Loosie from Crusaders)
Bryn Hall (Halfback from North Harbour)
Baden Kerr (First-five from Counties Manukau)
Chris Noakes (First-five from Highlanders)
Waisake Naholo (Wing from Taranaki)
Marty McKenzie (Fullback from Southland)
Chiefs:
Nick Crosswell (Loosie from Highlanders)
Bundee Aki (Centre from Counties Manukau)
Charlie Ngatai (Centre from Hurricanes)
Gareth Anscombe (First-five from Blues)
Crusaders:
Dominic Bird (Lock from Canterbury)
Highlanders:
Tony Woodcock (Prop from Blues)
Joe Wheeler (Lock from Crusaders)
Jason Emery (from Manawatu)
Hurricanes:
Ben Franks (Prop from Crusaders)
10 Oct 2012, 09:26 am
@THE MAULER-713: :shockl: how could I, lol thanks mate, yeah LF is looking very strong
It must get to the point where Plum can rotate many players and not lose strength.
10 Oct 2012, 09:26 am
@sharks_lover-712: I rest my case!
Tho I would be interested to see how janties went in an
NZ super side
10 Oct 2012, 09:28 am
@corporal punishment-716: Imagine Lambie anf Fransie Steyn if they were coached in Kiwi??
10 Oct 2012, 09:29 am
SL the Sharks need to start strong… Not like this year… Maybe then they will have a chance… Depth is there… Time to do the job…
10 Oct 2012, 09:36 am
@THE MAULER-718: exactly.
I know thet start will still be without BISSY, great pity.
Just so glad our Locks are starting to mature nicely, that was a concern area this year.
Bresler os playing bgreat rugb y, pity other supporters dont see this, they to worried about the okes looks and hairstyle
10 Oct 2012, 09:37 am
same story as years past, we get told about sharks depth and how they’re going to cruise super rugby *yawn*
10 Oct 2012, 09:40 am
@Transformation-720:
Check the Corporal’s response!
He cant believe this provincial kuk.
10 Oct 2012, 09:41 am
@sharks_lover-717: Fran’s in the blues playing outside piri – what a sight!!! Those two would get on. Lambie would go well at the highlanders outside Aaron smith, or at the canes outside peranara (assuming Barrett goes back to fullback).
Actually, I don’t think either frans or lambie need any coaching, they are skillful players who could adapt to the different style of play in nz quite easily. Lambie in particular would be well suited to it.
In return, can you take victor Vito for a year to harden him up a bit? Wonderful athlete and skills, butbhenis too nice (went to a posh inner city wellington private school)
10 Oct 2012, 09:42 am
@Transformation-720: Where has anyone said we are going to cruise the Super 15?? bored again dude??
Some of us are merely discussing who and what players the Sharks have for the new season?? why does it bother you so much as to what other people discuss anyhow??
10 Oct 2012, 09:43 am
@THE MAULER-718: And so the same old stirrers will seek attention, just watch them come out the woodwork
10 Oct 2012, 09:44 am
@corporal punishment-722:
Send Vito to me
I will harden him up.
10 Oct 2012, 09:45 am
@corporal punishment-722:
yeah send him along, we will have him eat lots of Mieliepap
and lotsa red meat
10 Oct 2012, 09:45 am
@Dawn-725: Isnt he kinda young for you granny??
10 Oct 2012, 09:46 am
@Dawn-725: sounds like you have the time on your hands for that dawn
10 Oct 2012, 09:47 am
@corporal punishment-722: CP i thinnk the problem is here in SA the coaches seem to coach the natural talents out of players, with so called structured game plans etc etc etc
10 Oct 2012, 09:48 am
@Dawn-725: Sies man. Harlot.
10 Oct 2012, 09:48 am
Dawn – could you have stiffened Isaac Ross??? He’s definitely one of ours who needed it!
10 Oct 2012, 09:49 am
@corporal punishment-731:
10 Oct 2012, 09:49 am
Nope … not my style
Victor is a whole different kettle of fish
10 Oct 2012, 09:50 am
Besides
Whoever heard of an Irish AB
10 Oct 2012, 09:52 am
@corporal punishment-710: you must understand to the parochial sharks fans here as soon as meyer dropped keegan “christian cullen of loosies” daniel, benched lambie for eons, dropped mvovo, benched their favourite marcell coetzee, they LOST all interest in the Springboks
they only want to talk about the Boks if it is chock full of sharks! you should’ve see the glee on here when meyer announced the loose trio of coetzee, alberts & daniel for the newlands test
that’s our guppy gang for you
10 Oct 2012, 09:54 am
Isnt there a new thread
This one reeks of HG SL cheap cologne
10 Oct 2012, 09:58 am
@Dawn-736: yes run along, transie with you, 2 of you smelling up the place
10 Oct 2012, 09:58 am
Too true…..
Time we put Bok rugby first
by Brenden Nel 08/10/2012, 11:31
It was never more apparent than during Saturday’s Castle Rugby Championship test victory by the All Blacks over the Springboks that they are simply a class above the rest of the world at the moment.
And while we can look to place blame at someone’s doorstep – whether it be the coach, players, Saru, the weather or even the stadium – which now boasts a 0-2 record against the New Zealanders – there are certain things that cannot be argued.
For not only are the All Blacks a better side at the moment, but there is little argument that their central contracting system has done wonders for the way they condition their players, and their depth is a strength that few nations across the world can match at the moment.
Of course it was disheartening to see the Boks fail to stop the World Champs in the second half, but we can carry on demonising players and coaches, living from victory to victory, or we can actually do something about matching the best team in the world on a consistent basis.
Saturday was a reality check. It was the cold light of day and sobering dusk at a magnificent stadium to remind us that we aren’t all we think we are. Our rugby is not as strong as we believe it to be.
Those who argue this point should remember we have twice – in Jake White’s era and Peter de Villiers’ – sent a B-team on a Tri-Nations journey and have twice been handed massive hidings. While both those trips were masked by the bigger picture of a World Cup later in the year, they were also constant reminders that our depth in player ranks is not as good as we believe it to be.
South African rugby has survived over the years because every now and then we get things right. We manage to stumble onto success every few years because we simply cannot shoot ourselves in the foot that often.
We have a massive pool of talent, but we rip into players at the first sign of weakness, not to mention the fact that virtually every single provincial coach in this country has not done enough to develop the vast untapped resources of up-and-coming black talent in the country.
Instead, we think along provincial lines and complain about those South Africans who wear All Black jerseys and abuse our Springbok players who they see as the enemy, but feel nothing when our own fellow Bok supporters do the same to the players they claim represents them on the field.
Every test defeat is treated as the end of the world, and virtually every single Springbok coach is on his way to being fired the day he is appointed to the job.
Compare this to New Zealand who have just seen Graham Henry hand over the coaching reigns to an assistant who has been with the team for more than 100 tests, after an eight-year reign himself.
Compare this to the legacy of success which runs through the veins of New Zealand rugby, where the central contracting system allows for coaches and players to be supported by their peers.
There is a sense in New Zealand that everything flows upward, that every decision or movement, every game-plan, is used to benefit the All Blacks. Everything is done for a singular goal.
Of course there are failings in every system, and of course there are some examples of where they get it wrong, but when last did you hear a provincial coach complain about an All Black coach the way John Plumtree did this weekend about the Boks?
Never mind the way Jake White savaged Peter de Villiers during his reign, or the way White was subjected to a panel of ex-Bok coaches when he was trying to see the Bok squad through a difficult time.
And before you accuse this column of wanting to stifle dissent, let me state clearly that criticism is indeed part of the game, and – where warranted – always has a place. All I’m trying to say is that you never seem to see it in New Zealand rugby.
There will always be those who will disagree with me, and will believe the fault lies with a coach/player/administrator, and will blindly believe we are better than the All Blacks at the moment and it was our own failings that cost us victory.
We can carry on like that for years to come and no matter who the coach is, they will face the same barrage of abuse and criticism. They will find it difficult to move in a system that doesn’t put the Springboks first. And inevitably, they will fail.
But this is also not advocating self-defeat. Because there is a load of light at the end of the tunnel, if we choose to use it wisely.
We need to admit that on Saturday we were not good enough. We weren’t on the same level as the All Blacks. But then we need to do something about it. The South African rugby community needs to do something about it.
Provincial administrators need to help Saru find a way of implementing a central contracting system that will benefit all provinces AND the Springboks, and help keep our best players fresh.
Provincial coaches need to help and support the Bok coach, whoever he may be, and not offer public help while behind the scenes working against his every move.
Players need to be backed to succeed, given the right amount of game-time and not played into the ground. They also need to be developed according to a national plan, with the whole system moving in the same direction.
Lastly, fans need to be patient. To learn that not every defeat or victory is the be all and end all of rugby life. To learn that there is a process in every team, a cycle that they build on and if they get it right, the Boks will be able to consistently challenge for the number one spot in the world.
And national administrators need to fight harder for competitions that won’t kill off our chances because players are injured, played into the ground or mentally exhausted, just so we can add more dollars to the bottom line.
South African rugby needs to find a common vision. One that can be backed and one which has a succession plan.
We have an enormous amount of young talent coming through – especially if you look at the SA under-20 squad that took the IRB Junior World Cup and the six under-21 players in the current Bok squad.
The chance is there to draw a line in the sand and work together across the board to make the Boks the most feared team on the planet.
Or we can simply carry on waiting for every team, every player, and every coach to fail.
10 Oct 2012, 10:01 am
@katman-730: Harlot is putting it nicely
10 Oct 2012, 10:03 am
@Atreides-738: Never gonna happen untill we get a foreign coach that wont care what province you play for.
10 Oct 2012, 10:04 am
@sharks_lover-723: “why does it bother you so much as to what other people discuss anyhow??”
discussing? to you this is akin to w.anking man
“oh we got bresler [underated (sic) ] *shuffle, shuffle, shuffle*
yuck!
10 Oct 2012, 10:06 am
@Transformation-741: Straight into sexual conatations, why am i not surprised?? NOw FO ******
10 Oct 2012, 10:07 am
Farking Mpondo’s
10 Oct 2012, 10:08 am
YAwn…………………..
10 Oct 2012, 10:11 am
@sharks_lover-739:
Ooooo!
We trying to be nyasty today!
10 Oct 2012, 10:12 am
@Transformation-741:
OMG!
10 Oct 2012, 10:17 am
@Transformation-735: LOL
10 Oct 2012, 10:18 am
@sharks_lover-743: wazini ke wena ngamampondo ngoba awuyiyo ne nenzule
10 Oct 2012, 10:20 am
As i said, same little attention seekers pop out of the woodwork like rabid toads.
10 Oct 2012, 10:20 am
@sharks_lover-714: There was also talk of Brad Thorn heading to the Highlanders. They’re starting to put together quite a nice tight five. I have no idea how the guy keeps going
Pages: « 1 … 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 » Show All