Goosen’s season is over
9 Oct 2012
Johan Goosen will be sidelined for the rest of the year as he undergoes surgery on his knee on Tuesday.
The 20-year-old Springbok flyhalf suffered a Grade 3 medial tear in his left knee during the first half of the Rugby Championship Test against the All Blacks last weekend.
Goosen confirmed to keo.co.za that he will go under the knife at 12pm on Tuesday. The final decision was made after doctors and specialists had different opinions on Monday.
It was believed that without surgery, there was still a chance for Goosen to recover in time to feature during the Boks’ end-of-year tour to Europe in November.
However, surgery will allow the player to enjoy a full recovery. He is expected to spend three months on the sidelines.
Goosen has had an unfortunate run with injuries in 2012. He suffered a dislocated shoulder during the Cheetahs’ 36-33 loss to the Highlanders in Bloemfontein in April. He also struggled with a heel niggle during the Rugby Championship.
Goosen’s absence will allow Morne Steyn, Elton Jantjies and Pat Lambie to compete for the Bok No 10 jersey during the November Tests.

874 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 18 » Show All
8 Oct 2012, 22:13 pm
The thing is I could see where White was fcking up same as I can see where this doos is fcking up.. but neither of them could see it for themselves.. until somebody with MORE sight and experience would show them… Jones saved white.. who is gonna save Meyer.?. Louden ain’t here no more.. and Rassie is not the siener that people think he is.. its either Mallet or a rugby guru from somewhere else.. because at this level you have to have a sixth sense of ingenuity about what foot to follow the next.. you cannot blunder on without any insight or feel or ingenuity.. you have to be able to use a little sixth sense of intuition.. and if you got none then you are fck’d .. then you need SOMEBODY in your stable who does.
8 Oct 2012, 22:15 pm
@fitz1ella-51: Jy kon fokkol sien, pappie. Jy’s grootbek na die tyd. Maar baie ander poepolle is ook.
8 Oct 2012, 22:16 pm
Jones never win a world cup, he don’t ‘see’ any better than White at all, by any accounts.
8 Oct 2012, 22:16 pm
Are you still goddamn deluded that White without Jones would have won the world cup.. How F’ng deluded ARE you.. go ask White himself you imbecilic DUNCE ask him WHO saved his arse.. if he got ANY kind of real true admission in his arrogance he’ll tell you the truth that it was Eddy Jones.. go ask him you moron. Ask White WHO took him by his self doubting little shaking hand and led him to win the WC.. ask WHO did that.. if he don’t tell you it was Eddy then he’s a liar..outright.
8 Oct 2012, 22:19 pm
Jones took Woodward to extra time.. White without Jones was FCK’d and he knew it.. even though arsehole idiots like you don’t know it White HIMSELF knew that if he don’t get SOMEBODY with vision and experience he was a goner.. go ask him.. see what he tells you.. ask him if he went into the WC without Eddy Jones does he honestly think he would have won the WC with Smal and Coetsee alone.. If he tells you he would have.. then he’s a goddamn liar.. which I wouldn’t put far past him .
8 Oct 2012, 22:20 pm
@mxhosa-47: yeah…the draught was sweet on friday so they’ll definitely sluk to their heart’s content…
if paul perez is on fire like he was last match, them they’ll enjoy it.
8 Oct 2012, 22:21 pm
What a prize A mamparra – that is exactly what u looked like when White won the thing and then with all your voorspellings – u got every single one of them completely wrong – u are the gdam dunce – catch a fkn wake-up
8 Oct 2012, 22:22 pm
I have no clue how to fix the HMS bOK…….
bUT i KNOW HOW TO BREAK IT UP 6 LOVE…ALL OVER ROVER…..GOODNITE NURSE…
Just go back to Spies and M Steyn….then we well and truly farked….
If we get spooked now and go backwards we well and truly farked….
this new path gonna take some balls and vasbyt……going to be tricky…..but hell we cant look back…..gotta sommer just vokvoort….
8 Oct 2012, 22:25 pm
The truth is that u got White so wrong, makes me think meyer might be an 80% coach yet.
I reckon a good barometer is whatever u reckn is going to happen is about exactly as far away from the truth as u can get.
You should be called domdoos van rensberg.
8 Oct 2012, 22:34 pm
White was a self seeking pumped up poephol… Meyer is actually a better individual in certain respects .. he has his own set of blindness to deal with same as White was totally blind .. and I didn’t get any voorspelings wrong regarding White .. go do your google thingy like katmankunty did and come show me which voorspelings I got regarding White wrong…
He fluked a non contested WC that is ALL White ever got right.. he beat England and Argentina in a WC where nobody above rank 6 contested the semi finals. And he did it under Jones who did all the coaching.. White wore the blazer in the soap box parade.. Eddy wore the tracksuit on the training field.
He also sported a 33 % win ratio vs NZ and a 25% win ratio vs France with 0 wins on Eoyt vs Ireland and a 33% win ratio vs England on Eoyt.. Bottom line White was as mediocre as Meyer or Streauli.. only a fluked non contested WC gave him any credibility at all.. and that wasn’t even done by him.. it was done by Eddy Jones.
8 Oct 2012, 22:37 pm
@cab-59:
now this is the cabby i know
8 Oct 2012, 22:39 pm
Bullshit ou doos you got everything wrong about White from start to finish – as for his kosherness or otherwise WTF knows? You know him well do you?
You don’t know him from a bar of soap, same with meyer and yet u hold forth with these grand proclamations if personal character that u supposedly got insider knoweledge on.
You fancy yourself as sigmund fkn Freud of hoe?
I thought all you fknbtuts meant to be these great compassionate folk, you the most judgemental poepholle out there and also the gdam most flawed.
8 Oct 2012, 22:47 pm
@fitz1ella-60:
White would’ve won the wc with or without Jones. England twice and Argentina, those are the only top 6 sides his team faced in that tournament (he’d beaten those teams before without Jones)… It’s hardly his fault that Aus and NZ lost in the 1/4 finals.
Luck of the draw mate. The record shows that the springboks were world champs in 2007 and JW is a world cup winning coach… As kak as he was!
8 Oct 2012, 22:51 pm
@fitz1ella-60: Look at you, you fcken phony. Making a mess of yourself here in fromt of everyone again. Like the uncle with the dodgy hats who always pisses himself after 4 drinks.
Why don’t you do us a favour and give us a nice handy summary of your rugby background. Not the full version, just the highlights. Achievements as a player, as an analyst and finally, as a coach.
Be sure to also mention your peers so we can contextualise your greatness.
8 Oct 2012, 22:51 pm
White was a vindictive arrogant idiot who belatedly learned a little about rugby coaching via the auspices and good will of some assistance by his mentor and savior and bosom buddy friend Eddy Jones.. now you and every dickybird head think White is so goddamn grand because he fluked a WC which he had not that much to do with…
Meyer is just a confused bewildered stuck in his own archaic philosophy which he may get to grips with realizing his limitations.. just like White eventually had to do.. and face facts that somebody got to give him a leg up…Meyer may yet come t the realization that all his preconceived stuck in the mud rugby principles are off the mark and he got to use a little bit of common sense ingenuity and get out the rut..
White now reckons fetchers are the bees fckng knees in his new found rugby ideology.. since when is Pocock and Hooper the first names on the team sheet.. when back in Whites dark dismal denial driven delinquency days the word fetcher was a swear word you only uttered on the way to fetching a beer out your dumb fck delusional fridge.? F’ing dumb delusional moron imbecile idiot if ever I saw or heard one Jake White is IT..
8 Oct 2012, 22:54 pm
I thought White was a good coach, not a brilliant coach, but def one if the better coaches we’ve had for several reasons – throughout his career he has been successful at virtually whatever level he has coached at.
Your man carel dup came out with a 37% win record – it was completely horrific.
8 Oct 2012, 22:56 pm
@katman-64: fck off you miserable little fanny arsed knt who asked you to stick your fanny faced nose where it don’t belong little fucknut dweeb who knows absolutely fckall about anything relevant to anyone worth anything
@mxhosa-63: yip as kak as he was he fluked a non contested WC.. as luck would have it he fluked a WC he didn’t have much to do with.. Jones was coaching his team and NZ got side swiped by Wayne Barnes and France, and England took out Australia..
Yet without Jones I reckon Tonga or Fiji would have sent him home early.. that is how kak White would have been had Jones not steadied his ailing ship before the WC in 2007..
8 Oct 2012, 22:56 pm
time for j d v to walk away now
jdj must play now at 13
8 Oct 2012, 22:59 pm
Hougaard gonna get shafted unless he starts playing at 9….those kiwis too big for him on the wing
when JPP back its tickets for hoogaard
8 Oct 2012, 23:01 pm
eoyt
Ireland
scots
poms
fark me….we lose a couple of those HM gonna sweat bullets
The ABs play the way White said which is that everyone should fetch – mccaw dies not fetch, instead it’s players like hore and whitelock who effect turnovers. Coenie and Bismarck fo the sane for the Boks. So was White so wrong, when that is in fact what all the sides are telling their players to do? Hooper and pocock are big boys. Hooper’s like louw. I think White and meter are not completely right on the size, it def is important, but a player of brussows caliber should be picked everytime – without question.
@fitz1ella-67: Why don’t you fck off, you wrinkled old peckerwood. You think this is your blog to stink up every goddamn night with impunity? You think you the big cheese here? You’re just a fcked in the head old man with nothing else to look forward to other than bashing out a few naughty, angry words on a rugby blog. You don’t get to tell anyone to piss off, and especially not me. I own you here in every bloody respect, so you’ll take it from me, whether you like it or not. Got it, old poepol?
8 Oct 2012, 23:07 pm
@katman-72: you fck off kntface I’m telling you to fck off fckwit now do as the uncle says little fanny faced arsewipe fckface and fck off runtcunt.. nobody asked you little fuckwit to come stick your wet behind the ears little fucknut nose where it don’t belong so do everyone a favor and fckoff you little runtcunt sniveling little know nothing arsehole
8 Oct 2012, 23:09 pm
@katman-72: you the kind of little kn’t that needs to get the hiding of your f’ng life you little piece of over inflated fckface garbage
8 Oct 2012, 23:11 pm
@fitz1ella-73: Ha ha, you’re getting worse. How long is it now between contractions?
8 Oct 2012, 23:11 pm
@cab-71: Hooper is identical to Watson of 2005.. identical.. nowhere near to Louw.. Hooper is a carbon copy of Watson of 2005.. White was in absolute denial.. that why he fck’d up by 49-0 that’s how far in denial he was… and you just making up fat excuses to make him look far better than he ever was..
8 Oct 2012, 23:12 pm
@fitz1ella-74: Are you going to do that, old timer? Shall I meet you somewhere with zimmer frame access?
8 Oct 2012, 23:13 pm
@katman-75: come stick your little fuckface nose here kntface I wipe your little snot nose so clean you think you belong in Mr. Beans kindergarten where you belong pisswilly little ignoramus fckface supreme.
8 Oct 2012, 23:13 pm
I know that this is not what your discussion is about but just something interesting. The amount of matches that Jake White played and won against 2nd tier teams. I did not take results against the other top 7 nations into account (NZ, Aus, Eng, Fran, Wal, Arg, Ire (SA being the 8th of the top 8 countries in general)
Jake White: Played 54, Won 36 (66.6%)
17 Jul 2004 Pacific Islands Win: 38-24 Express Advocate Stadium, Gosford
27 Nov 2004 Scotland Win: 45-10 Murrayfield, Edinburgh
11 Jun 2005 Uruguay Win: 134-3 Basil Kenyon Stadium, East London
10 Jun 2006 Scotland Win: 36-16 Kingspark, Durban
17 Jun 2006 Scotland Win: 29-15 Boet Erasmus, Port Elizabeth
09 Jun 2007 Samoa Win: 35-8 Ellispark, Johannesburg
15 Aug 2007 Namibia Win: 105-13 Newlands, Cape Town
25 Aug 2007 Scotland Win: 27-3 Murrayfield, Edinburgh
09 Sep 2007 Samoa Win: 59-7 Parc des Princes, Paris
22 Sep 2007 Tonga Win: 30-25 Stade Felix Bollaert, Lens
30 Sep 2007 USA Win: 64-15 Stade de la Mosson, Montpellier
07 Oct 2007 Fiji Win: 37-20 Stade Velodrome, Marseilles
As can be seen, White played a total of 12 matches against 2nd tier teams and won them all meaning that exactly a 1/3 of his victories came against 2nd tier teams.
PS: Have a look at the amount of matches that White played against 2nd tier teams in 2007 (7 in total), boosting his winning percentage from about 59% to where it ended up at 66%.
8 Oct 2012, 23:14 pm
So grant was right on brussow, katman on alberts, and ou doos on fourie (tho he made about about 84 bok selections in 2007).
8 Oct 2012, 23:14 pm
@katman-77: Come fckface I fix you one time like you never been fixed before you little runtcunt piece of sniveling moronic trash..
8 Oct 2012, 23:16 pm
@nama1-79: if you take White’s wins against top 6 or top 5 teams I reckon his win – loss ratio would be perhaps less than 50%
8 Oct 2012, 23:17 pm
Wtf okes? Aah , i see its the daily skop/katman/cab brawl
you okes should lighten up and remember its just a farkin blog. Now whered grant disappear to?
8 Oct 2012, 23:17 pm
@fitz1ella-78: Have you ever done anything like that, old man? I’m going to be honest here, you don’t come across as someone who can take even a mild poesklap, let alone hand one out. So methinks your grootbek is writing bouncy cheques that your geriatric old arse has no hope or intention of ever cashing.
8 Oct 2012, 23:18 pm
Let the KEO WWE begin,
And on my right i have Katman………….
And on my left i have someone with a walking stick………….. is that you skopppie???
now now gents no low blows or you will be disqualified
8 Oct 2012, 23:18 pm
I don’t think Watson was anywhere close to hooper – maybe I didn’t see enough of him – Watson was a clever and determined player but hooper brang immense physicality / it was an outstanding game he had v boks in which his pack was battered to a pulp.
Watson was competing with Schalk Burger who in his prime was up there with McCaw and won IRB player of the year – I, and many others outside of SA, would not have selected Watson over burger, never in a month of Sundays – Watson was good but never better than burger – never ever.
8 Oct 2012, 23:19 pm
@grant10-68:
Agree. I said it after the test against Aus already.
Time for JdV to call it a day. Let Strauss lead on the EOYT and make Bissie captain going forward from next year.
8 Oct 2012, 23:20 pm
@cab-86: Correct
8 Oct 2012, 23:21 pm
Evening slappes – grant in the tub already.
8 Oct 2012, 23:21 pm
@Slappes-83: I’m as chill as a crisp Sauvignon Blanc. Just having my fun with the old doos. This is better than watching those painful FAIL compilations on YouTube.
8 Oct 2012, 23:27 pm
Watson is actually more like mccaw than hooper.
8 Oct 2012, 23:27 pm
@grant10-69: Hougaard should never have been playing anywhere but 9.. these idiots don’t know the first thing about rugby.. they reckon Pienaar is the way to go at 9.. Pienaar another f’ng FdP box kicking clone who hands all the possession back to the opposition..
Did you see how Mallet was seething about the dumb STUPID one on one pick and drive Boks were doing 2 mts out from AB’s goal line when AB’s were down to 14 men.. our scrum half STILL popped all the little FdP style passes to the forwards to LOSE possession again on the AB’s try line..
How many times this going to happen under these archaic fckng dead end Meyer – White – Streauli.. garbage f’ng Bok rugby voetsek so called ‘strengths’..they are NOT strengths they are WEAKNESSES.. get it through their dumb fck heads.. they are playing to our WEAKNESSES not our strengths.
8 Oct 2012, 23:31 pm
@cab-86: Watson was WAY better than Burger by Miles and Miles.. which Brussow eventually proved to yours and the coach and everybody else’s befuddled dismay.. Hooper of 2012 is identical to Watson of 2005 .. closer than those 2 you won’t get.. Burger was NEVER an open side flanks backside.. Watson WAS… White was an outright IDIOT.. only IDIOTS lose by 49-0 nobody else does.. not even Heyneke Meyer.
8 Oct 2012, 23:31 pm
Am I right when I say that Pienaar will now go back to Ireland and Flo to Bath where they will play club rugby and that they will not be available for any training camps by the Boks in SA after the CC final?
How will it work when we go to Europe?
8 Oct 2012, 23:33 pm
@katman-84: come try your luck fckface.. see how far your little fanny faced nose gets put out of joint.
8 Oct 2012, 23:36 pm
93 bullshit Fitzella – even mallett said only as a backup to burger. Burger was better than Watson, not even close.
8 Oct 2012, 23:38 pm
@cab-91: Watson is far more like Hooper.. Burger or Coetsee more like McCaw..
Strange how Jake does 180 degree about turn from a Watson hater .. fetcher denier .. f’ng two faced liar .. to a Hooper / Pocock lover .. f’ng duplicitous two faced self absorbed underhand arsehole of the absolute worst kind.
8 Oct 2012, 23:39 pm
Yip JW raised won the RWC, only 1 other SA coach has done that, not even mallett did that.
And here these great kenners are giving their 2cents on his inner soul. Bullshitters unite.
8 Oct 2012, 23:41 pm
@fitz1ella-97: You are one angry mutha fucka
8 Oct 2012, 23:41 pm
White rebuilt a team that was completely screwed after Strauli who was totally insane. Without White the Boks would now be 8th in the world the way they were heading. Jones came in and tweaked a few things at the end but I can guarantee you the hard work had been done long before that. PDV wanted to change the Bok style without changing the players which is hard to do especially in SA where everything is still so political and never just about the game. So in the end he just stuck with what he had and didn’t really blood any new players properly. Meyer needs to stand up to the flak he will get from the fickle SA rugby community just like White did and carry on building the team. If he can do that then the Boks will be awesome in a year or two make no mistake. I just wish everyone would calm down and give the guy a chance; when coaches think their job is on the line they start to take less risk and want to win at all cost without looking at the long term. Deans is currently in that situation…
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 18 » Show All