Goosen’s season is over

Johan Goosen will be sidelined for the rest of the year as he undergoes surgery on his knee on Tuesday.

The 20-year-old Springbok flyhalf suffered a Grade 3 medial tear in his left knee during the first half of the Rugby Championship Test against the All Blacks last weekend.

Goosen confirmed to keo.co.za that he will go under the knife at 12pm on Tuesday. The final decision was made after doctors and specialists had different opinions on Monday.

It was believed that without surgery, there was still a chance for Goosen to recover in time to feature during the Boks’ end-of-year tour to Europe in November.

However, surgery will allow the player to enjoy a full recovery. He is expected to spend three months on the sidelines.

Goosen has had an unfortunate run with injuries in 2012. He suffered a dislocated shoulder during the Cheetahs’ 36-33 loss to the Highlanders in Bloemfontein in April. He also struggled with a heel niggle during the Rugby Championship.

Goosen’s absence will allow Morne Steyn, Elton Jantjies and Pat Lambie to compete for the Bok No 10 jersey during the November Tests.

874 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 1118 » Show All

• 151.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-148:

The ‘offload’ off the knees (which NZL does very well) is a bit dodgy in my eyes.SBW does it right (he offloads in the air), but many of the other Kiwi’s get tackled and then pop it (or flick it).

Just something I’ve noticed which could lead to a rule change (kind of how Brussow forced it in 2009).

But, those are the rules for now I guess.

• 152.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

Morne will be back! Heineke loves him too much.

• 153.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-148: If it’s childlike simple, we must be special needs retards in the grey matter stakes, cos our lot sure as sh y te don’t get it.

• 154.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-149:

I agree, a more enhancing superrugby competition with half the amount of test matches is the way forward for me if sanzar are to continue.

boks with 20 odd (what ever the recommended threshold gametime is?) games can then be excluded from CC.

• 155.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Saturday’s match is best summed up by Steve Hansen’s smile that was captured on camera towards the end of the game.

Of course, at the same time Heyneke was sitting there shaking his head. Why? Because we WERE AGAIN NOT TAKING OUR CHANCE/ OPPORTUNITIES.

That is so pathetic, really!!!

It would seem that South African coaches cannot grasp this simple fact: the backline players are suppose to score the tries. They are best equipped with speed and skill to work the overlap.

And then every time the ABs does exactly that, he calls it ‘soft moments’

It’s not a soft moment. It’s simply a basic understanding that the ABs have that if you move the ball around gaps will appear. And if the gaps appear, make sure that there are at least 2 support runners to complete the move.

It’s as simple as that.

Phrases like: we did not take our opportunities and ‘soft moments’ are as already mentioned simply ‘PATHETIC’

There is none so blind than those who do not want to see.

• 156.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-153:

I personally do not see the “offload” as a particularly taxing skill, hell, we do it great daily in touch rugby.

I see it more as an attitude, a confidence, a disregard for failure at proffessional level.
    technically i would say that the kiwis see the ball going to ground and setting up another ruck as the very last option in keeping the ball alive. We see the setting up of a ruck as the only option.

• 157.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-156: Which means we are either, a) doff for not realising this or b) Even DOFFER for refusing to see this particular skill or ‘attitude’ as something that needs work.

Either way, we are stunted.

• 158.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

Shame! Morne did not even get one vote in the poll. Elton and Lambie at 50/50.

• 159.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-156: Or as the first option. Great observation.

• 160.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

so sick of heyneke and his BS selections and excuses post game
    the whole ‘inexperience cost us’ excuse was old after the england series

choose the correct players, in their preferred position and you will see a major difference in attitude and execution of the players available

hougaard is NOT a wing
    lambie is NOT a fullback
    taute is NOT a centre

how hard is that to figure out?

heyneke out!

• 161.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-157:

and why do you assume that the coaching staff do not realize this?
    Do you honesty expect to see the entire mindset of SA rugby players change in a season?
    do you see that as a realistic short term target.

• 162.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri-158: Its because he is super kak!

• 163.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

I’m sure it has been mentioned here but anyway here goes.

Why did Heyneke not take Goosen off when he was injured????? They were leading at the time. Now because Goosen could not kick the ball went to Taute and the rest is history.

Bob Skinstad actually remarked: the reason why that try was scored was because Johan Goosen is still on the field. So again, we see that decisions to do with Jantjies we see what has become an all too familiar pattern – his reluctance to let the boy play

I have said from the beginning that I dont think this bloke (Meyer) is the right culture fit for this job.

The more you believe in structure the more you fall behind. The only positive of this type of stubborness is that if he adheres to it, it will end his days as coach a lot quicker. So maybe we should encourage this stubborness.

• 164.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@jacoshark-160: Agree.

Hougaard on the bench covering scrumhalf and wing.

Lambie at 10

Taute at 15??

• 165.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@jacoshark-160:

Coenie is not a tighthead at international level

You cannot take the player out of his comfort zone at the higher level of rugby.

• 166.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-161:
    without the shark players ie bismark, steyn, jpp and coetsee in the starting team
    the skills (offloading) within the team is pretty much non-existent

yes duane and flo have played well but they offer nothing more than strong defence and a willingness to tackle themselves into the ground

no attacking threat whatsoever from duane vermuelen especially

• 167.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-163: lol

• 168.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-164:
    i woulda liked to have seen lambie at 10 and the goose at 15
    but thats never gonna happen

if youre gonna pick taute, then give him the proper opportunity in the position he feels most confident
    playing taute at 15 is not rocket science

• 169.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@jacoshark-160:

Yep. Taute played center for the worst team in Super Rugby (and leaked a ton of tries) but get’s a crack in the starting 15.

Lambie has played his best rugby at 10, and I’ll be the first to admit he’s not quick enough for a fullback.

Hougie has played some good rugga at 11, so I’ll let it slide.

Our fullback should be Aplon, and our outside center should be JDJ (with what we have at the moment).

• 170.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-162: :lol: I wonder whether he will be playing in the Currie Cup this weekend. All the Boks are released.

• 171.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-165: True. These are quite amateur errors that HM is making. I mean we here on Keo know you cannot do that to a player. Who does Heyneke think he is?

Coenie should start next season for the Cheetahs at tighthead.

I would like to see Trevor Nyakane also get some decent game time next year. He can be very good. Fast and powerful!

• 172.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-169:
    im not sure if im the only one who thinks goosen is our future 15?
    he has everything to become the best in that position

the speed, the boot, the decision making
    hes clearly too soft atm to play flat at test level
    maybe a run at fullback will utilise his skill set best

• 173.viewer: Reply to this comment

By the time this Dragon is 21, he’ll be so patched up with metal pins that he won’t be able to walk through an airport scanner

• 174.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

See Meyer will walk away from every test and think: we were right in there, how did we lose it?

And the answer for every single game going forward will be the same.

You lost boerseun because you do not grasp this game. It’s not wrestling. It’s rugby union. All you want to do is create an overlap or mismatch in defence. It’s that simple.

You can select players that are 2.5 metres tall and weigh 150 kg and all 100% muscle, you will lose if your opponent is technically more proficient.

It will take Argentina maybe 1 year or so and then they too will beat the Boks consistently with Meyer there.

Why do tries that the ABs score against us look so easy? In reality it’s not that easy but as their approach to the game is simple or uncomplicated, they make it look easy. Create a gap, look for a support runner and try time, every time.

• 175.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri-170: He wasnt even part of the kicking practice schedule of the bulls! It was Fouche, Jurgen Visser and Lionel Cronje!

• 176.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@jacoshark-172:

Never thought of it, but you are actually right.

Hell, he’s more of a fullback than Lambie (Goosen is taller and quicker, with a bigger boot).

Interesting……..

• 177.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@jacoshark-172: You might be right.

• 178.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-176: Problem is Cheetahs did try Goosen at 15 and his play under the high ball was very suspect

• 179.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

I think it was the ABs plan to not go all out in the 1st half; they were mindful of the Boks coming out guns blazing and knew that the real opportunity will be in the 2nd half if they speed up the game.

See the reason they laugh is because the game developed according to their script. That’s how they anticipated it and it worked out exactly like that.

The only thing they make sure is they praise the Boks for their physicality and historically a tough opponent. A simple recipe but they understand how that resonate with Boer genes. They know the Boks will think: they respect us, we are big, we are strong

The truth is: they don’t respect your rugby because it’s stupid rugby. Only idiots will try the same thing and expect a different result.

So the ABs are not only physically smarter but also mentally smarter because they feed you the rubbish you want to hear about yourself and you believe it every time. Shame.

• 180.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-176:
    he will be devistating with his big boot and broken field running
    but realistically, its never gonna happen though

lambie is a better defender, is tougher in contact, and decision making (ie when to run, when to kick) is the best we have in terms of no.10s in south africa

theres a big difference between a good test match flyhalf and a good super15 flyhalf- lambie is a thoroughbred test match flyhalf
    and he’ll kick at 80% if hes ever given a chance

• 181.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-178:

But he can learn to take a highball I reckon. He’s got time on his side.

• 182.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-178:
    if he cant learn how to catch a high ball, he shouldnt even be playing professional rugby

• 183.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@jacoshark-180:

Agree. Lambie is the most complete flyhalf in SA (behind a firing Goosen). I know many Elton fans would argue you that, but that’s just my opinion.

Cool, level head. Rock on defense. Hit’s the gainline, and like you said, kicks at 80% when given the kicking tee.

• 184.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-161: Can I be perfectly honest with you? Our mindset hasn’t changed since the dawn of the ages my friend. I don’t bank on it changing anytime before the dawn of the next age.
    For that reason, we will remain the team who wins one game against the AB’s out of every 6 we play, and that will be enough for most of Bok fans.

Just find it sad.

• 185.blik: Reply to this comment

What I have been saying all along. So has Bakkies:

http://blogs.sport24.co.za/markusaurilius/2012/10/09/all-blacks-are-dirty-but-good-at-it/

• 186.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Having said that, Elton has played all season at 10, while Lambie has battled injury and being used at fullback, so if Elton plays on the EOYT I won’t really have a problem with it.

But, if Lambie plays 10 for the Sharks all season (and Elton for the Stormers), I reckon Lambie will come out on top. I just think he’s a more complete footballer.

• 187.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-184:

Yep, it is sad. With our resources we should be winning 60% of our games against the All Blacks. And 80% against Aus.

But poor coaching and poor selections nail us more often than not.

I shudder to think how good the Boks could be with a Kiwi coaching staff (with no SARU).

• 188.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

All Blacks Are Dirty, But Good At It

Posted on October 9, 2012

Well the game against the All Blacks in Soweto was lost. The All Blacks won quite easily in the end, after it threatened to be a close game.

Their were two differences between the sides on that day. The one is that when the All Blacks had the opportunity to score then they did. The other was that when South Africa had the ball the All Blacks used dirty tactics to slow our ball or win it.

Please don’t get me wrong, the All Blacks deserved the win and were the better team, but the one thing I do have an issue with is how they manage to get away with playing dirty so regularly. No daylight in tackles or holding on to the tackled player. McCaw always slowing the ball down by lying on the wrong side, etc. The one thing the All Blacks are masters of, and will probably always be masters of, is the bending of the rules on the pitch.

Now the All Black fans might take offence to this but the All Blacks are cheats, and bloody good at it. We deserved to lose the game against them because what the Boks couldn’t do in the second half was adapt to the spoiling tactics employed by the All Blacks. Once the All Blacks realized that just playing the game wasn’t working they changed tact in the second half and it worked.

That shows up one of the big problems in the Bok game. Their is no deviation from a plan. There was no switch in tactics when we were being outsmarted. When Heyneke and the media talk about us being behind in development then the only thing that comes to mind is smart rugby. On an equal footing, playing fair rugby, I believe the Boks and the All Blacks are almost equal. However when it comes to using your brain we are far behind.

Two people should shoulder the blame for the All Blacks getting away with “murder” on Saturday, actually three to a degree. Ruan Pienaar mostly, he hardly “pointed out” the issues to the ref. Scrummies are meant to be chirpy fellows, however Ruan is, in my opinion, too quiet and more could have been done from his side to point out the problems ala Joost. He should have been like a Kevin Putt on Roland’s shoulders. Jean is the other culprit. He was also not trying his best to point out the obvious spoiler tactics used.

To a lesser degree I blame Roland. I have reffed and the one thing I can tell you is that it is difficult to spot everything. You have split seconds to make decisions. However to miss that many obvious transgressions so often… I think he was concentrating on other things a little too much. As a ref I have experienced this. You go into the game with a mindset. Sometimes that mindset can be to focus on particular areas of the game. This sometimes impacts your ability to spot other transgressions as you are not as focused on them.

All in all we deserved to lose. Meyer has been weighed and measured in this tournament and as the national coach I have deemed him wanting. He seems short sighted and prone to knee jerk reactions. He can’t decide on a team but the one thing he has proven is that he has favourites and that he has players he would rather not want to pick.

Lambie and co can be felt hard done by a man who believes he has all the answers even if evidence of their talent and form stares him right in the face. He is steadfast in his decision that Lambie is not a rugby player of note. I would have started with Lambie at flyhalf in every game.

Another person who should be singled out as a failed favourite is Taute. The kid can go far, of that there is no doubt. But his inexperience as an outside centre was showed up by the All Blacks. His defence was rubbish at best. Someone like de Jongh who has given anyone no reason to doubt in his abilities, should have played. He tackles like a demon, he has a vicious step and hand off and more importantly knows how to defend in the centre channels. Taute is a fullback, 13 is not his position.

When you look at the All Blacks one will see that they value skill and creativity. Israel Dagg is not a heavy chap, Cory Jane only weighs about 88 kilos or so. Yet they are chosen on formand the skills they possess. Dagg made Taute look like a fool on two occassions. Our coach is so besotted with size he seems to forget that a level of skill is needed to play the game. That doesn’t bode well for the players like Lambie, Aplon, de Jongh, Daniel and co who have all the skills but lack the “size” requirement.

Anyway I will now take a stab at the match day 22 that Meyer will most probably pick for the tour to the northern hemisphere.

Meyer’s too obvious match day 22:

15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaco Taute, 12 Jean de Villiers (c), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermuelen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Eben Etsebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Tendai Mtwarira.

16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Coenie Oosthuizen, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Marcell Coetzee, 20 Francois Hougaard, 21 Patrick Lambie, 22 Juan de Jongh.

Here is the team as I would like to see it:

My pick for match day 22:

15 Jaco Taute, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Jean de Villiers (c), 11 Brian Habana , 10 Patrick Lambie, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermuelen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Eben Etsebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Tendai Mtwarira.

16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17, Coenie Oosthuizen, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Marcell Coetzee, 20 Sarel Pretorius, 21 Elton Jantjies, 22 Francois Hougaard

I would also like the following guys to tour with the main team:

Tim Whitehead, Keegan Daniel, Rynhardt Elstadt, Jean Deysel, Wille le Roux, Paul Jordaan, Marnus Schoeman, JC Janse van Rensburg, Jan Serfontein, Francois Venter, Ryan Kankowski, Joe Pietersen, Martin Muller, Raymond Rhule, Pieter Labuschagne, Craig Burden, Pieter Steph du Toit, Lwazi Mvovo, Bjorn Basson, Siya Kolisi (if not injured)

I’m sure there are a few other that we can add to that list.

• 189.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

So, the Golden Goose not quite as Golden as the majority of Keo dumbfucks made him out to be.

• 190.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-186: Agree 100%

• 191.blik: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-188: I don’t understand why more people don’t pick up on this. They cheat full stop. Watch the 2nd half again.

• 192.PielNeus: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-148: vokkon dom… you got degree, but dom gat rerig..
    My heaven you classic case of deluded tonsil yourself. Offload childlike – hehe yissssssss oh my my shame.
    How does it feel in the cave when humanity now in houses and cars?
    lonely, much?
    Must call UCT ancient man foundtaion, we got a live one here, liewe vok.

• 193.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-186:
    the difference between lambie over the past few seasons, and jantjies and goosen is that lambie plays in matches that actually count.

yes jantjies has played well in the currie cup and goosen has played well in half a cc and s15 season
    but they both play in teams where winning is not necesarily first priority
    they are allowed to express themselves in s15 with no pressure on them to produce results- throw the ball around in search of tries

lambie on the other hand, plays for a team that consistently challenges for major honors, in big games regularly and has produced in knock out games regularly

how jantjies and goosen are ahead of him in the pecking order is beyond me

• 194.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@jacoshark-193: wanna know how??

• 195.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Because Hm and Laubscher decided lambie is only a 15, like Laubscher knows what??? HM proving that he would not recognise talent if it was starring him between the eyes

• 196.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-188: You know what the top point of ‘stupid’ is don’t you? Going to school everyday and allowing the bullies to steal your lunch either by beating the sh y te out of you, or simply taking it from under your nose. Even stupider,is going back tommorrow and expecting the bullies to stop stealing your lunch just because you moaned about it to your parents the night before.
    What does work…..is fighting smart, and beating the bullies at their own game, but that of course takes some level of intellectual ability – something we just don’t seem to have.

• 197.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

I really feel like a one eyed King in this blogospheric land of the blind…

- Golden Goose not quite as good as the worshippers made him out to be… I saw this years ago, and I told you dumbfucks
    - Taute is no Top International 13… Heck he is not even a top CC 13… Never has been. And I told you dumfucks this.
    - Donkey De Villiers is no longer an International centre at 13 OR 12. His leadership is shy.te to say the least. He inspires no-one. I also told you dumbfucks this.

Meyer has tunnel vision, is irrational and is a bad selector. He will retreat into a laager. Meyer’s tenure of the Boks, and the results of the Bulls in S15 and CC demonstrate that the Bulls way is well and truly history… It needs to be shelved and forgotten…

Of course I will be giving you intellectual midgets an “I told you so” about this repeatedly.

• 198.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-195:
    things will never change as long as heyneke is in charge

i would really like to see paul jordaan and rhule given a chance on the EOYT
    but theres probably no chance of that, given HMs pathetic start to his tenure

he really screwed this one up

• 199.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@PielNeus-192: :)

• 200.Rage: Reply to this comment

@ 188 SL

Pal I didnt bother to read past this sentence ” when the ABs had the opportunity to score, they did”.Because everything that followed after that we already heard ad nauseum since Saturday.

Fact of the matter is, SA can go on and cry about the ref all they like… it wont change nothing. ABs will still beat them more often than not OR SA can harden the f up and start playing some real rugby.The ABs got their first penalty 15min into the 2nd half and still scored 3 tries before then. How did they score those tries… by cheating their way to the goal line ? Did they blindfold the BOK defence?

No, they constructed the tries by exploiting poir Bok defence. ABs are better than the Bokke right now. It is what it is.

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 1118 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.